View Full Version : Match Updates Sunday's Games

11-03-2012, 10:46 AM
For us to have any chance to win the SC this year we need to avoid Celtic, this game is massive for us.

Godsahibby
11-03-2012, 10:52 AM
If anyone is bored waiting for the afternoon games to start stick on ESPN, NAC Breda v PSV, currently 2-1 after 20 mins and could have been a lot more goals in it. Cracking game so far!

11-03-2012, 10:58 AM
boro v super leeds 12:15 on BBC 2

Godsahibby
11-03-2012, 11:05 AM
boro v super leeds 12:15 on BBC 2

Also on BBC HD (Sky 143)

11-03-2012, 11:09 AM
If I was a neutral and a betting man (of which I'm neither) I'd put £25 on the Arabs winning the SC.
I think they're the form team & have the best chance.

(BTW, I hope I'm wrong come the end of May :wink:)

EuanH78
11-03-2012, 11:15 AM
For us to have any chance to win the SC this year we need to avoid Celtic, this game is massive for us.

Dont entirely agree mate, to win the cup you have to beat the teams that are put in front of you. If that happens to be Dundee Utd, well all the better for it but lets not get defeatist on the might and might nots of what could happen.

Let's just beat who gets put in front of us, whoever they are.

11-03-2012, 11:18 AM
Also on BBC HD (Sky 143)

good timing ta :aok:

11-03-2012, 11:25 AM
I agree don't think we have a real chance of winning the cup unless Celtic are out. I'd also add hearts to that imo. Those two teams out and maybe, just so very maybe...

11-03-2012, 11:35 AM
1-0 leeds :cb snodgrass again

11-03-2012, 11:42 AM
I agree don't think we have a real chance of winning the cup unless Celtic are out. I'd also add hearts to that imo. Those two teams out and maybe, just so very maybe...

While possibly not wrong that is very defeatist. Personally I would LOVE to play Hearts in the final.
Hibs fans could take they defeat if the worst came to the worst but Hearts fans would be on suicide watch for weeks if managed to break the 110 year hoodoo against them.

11-03-2012, 11:44 AM
becchio 2-0 get in :cb

11-03-2012, 11:55 AM
The worst defending and goal keeping you will see this weekend.

11-03-2012, 12:00 PM
I'd like to knock Hearts out...obviously getting beat by them is horrendous but I would like revenge

Dundee United are playing well so I won't be surprised at all if they win today...

11-03-2012, 12:28 PM
United been the better team so far :aok:

11-03-2012, 12:29 PM
there is some guff on the telly today football wise, none of the bigger teams on. i'll eat a hat if the norwich game ends 5-4.:wink:

11-03-2012, 12:29 PM
Undoubtedly our chances of winning the SC will improve greatly if Celtic are knocked out today, so come on Utd.

:pfgwa

11-03-2012, 12:32 PM
I always want Rangers and Celtic to get beat...only exception is Hearts sometimes

Even when technically it suits Hibs more for Rangers or Celtic to win, I can't ever root for either of them in any way

Mon the Arabs

11-03-2012, 12:45 PM
Greasy caveman been sent off for United :grr:

11-03-2012, 12:45 PM
What a ****ing idiot. :rolleyes:

11-03-2012, 12:46 PM
Cannae see the Arabs winning now...

11-03-2012, 12:47 PM
Shocking challenge, that was terrible and no need. Game over now.

11-03-2012, 12:49 PM
will he miss the game at ER?

Hibees07
11-03-2012, 12:51 PM
Stupid sending off but didn't the ref look so delighted producing that card out his back pocket.

11-03-2012, 12:52 PM
Hearts twat :bitchy:

11-03-2012, 12:53 PM

He'll miss their next game which is against the Huns next Saturday.

Only if Utd get through and we draw them at home.:greengrin

Hearts twat :bitchy:

Once a Jambo always a Jambo, for most of them anyway, always hated Dave Bowman, even when he was playing for the Arabs..

11-03-2012, 12:54 PM
He'll miss their next game which is against the Huns next Saturday.

Is a straight red not a 2 game ban?

11-03-2012, 12:56 PM

Oh I think it is now aye, he'll then miss the Hibs game unless this game today goes to a replay which would be before the Hibs game.

11-03-2012, 12:57 PM

Is violent conduct not a three match ban? :confused:

11-03-2012, 12:58 PM
What did he actually do?

11-03-2012, 01:00 PM

Was it not 2 yellows within the space of about 10 mins? That's what the Beeb text updates has it as.

Thomson just about got decapitated in the Boro game there - hope he's ok, looked a real dull yin.

11-03-2012, 01:00 PM

Steven Thompson of St Mirren got sent off against Ross County for an elbow and missed two games.

11-03-2012, 01:01 PM
Was it not 2 yellows within the space of about 10 mins? That's what the Beeb text updates has it as.

Thomson just about got decapitated in the Boro game there - hope he's ok, looked a real dull yin.

It was a straight red card, though he had got booked just before.

11-03-2012, 01:02 PM

Yellow for the first, then a straight red for the elbow.

11-03-2012, 01:03 PM
What did he actually do?

Stepped onto the playing field sporting long greasy hair, a beard and a hairband. Then proceded to elbow a Greek gypsy.

Sent off for crimes against fashion, hygiene and football.

11-03-2012, 01:05 PM
Stepped onto the playing field sporting long greasy hair, a beard and a hairband. Then proceded to elbow a Greek gypsy.

That has to be a straight red and a lifetime ban.

11-03-2012, 01:16 PM
Typical Jambo loser. United up an until then the better team. No chance now. Just watch - we will get Celtic in the semi final draw later.

11-03-2012, 01:19 PM
You know that scene in Kickboxer where Van Damme puts his hands in the glue and then the glass, before he fights the big bad guy......well, Darren Jackson looks like he's done the same but with his heid. Dipped in glue then shredded brillo pads mixed with pubic hair. Whats that all about?

11-03-2012, 01:20 PM
Typical Jambo loser. United up an until then the better team. No chance now. Just watch - we will get Celtic in the semi final draw later.

It'll be a hard game no matter who we get, no doubt all the teams left in it want to draw us in the semi!

11-03-2012, 01:23 PM

"Elbow a Greek GYPSY"? :rolleyes:

:bitchy: Lives in a caravan and sells clothes pegs during the week, does he?

11-03-2012, 01:26 PM
1-0 Celtic

11-03-2012, 01:27 PM
Inevitable really 1-0 Celtic :rolleyes:

11-03-2012, 01:27 PM
"Elbow a Greek GYPSY"? :rolleyes:

:bitchy: Lives in a caravan and seels clothes pegs during the week, does he?

Dearie me!

11-03-2012, 01:28 PM
Leeds beat boro 0-2. man u and man city both 0-0 but swansea missed a pen in the city game, now celtic have just scored 0-1

11-03-2012, 01:35 PM
Willo flood in HD, ouch.

11-03-2012, 01:36 PM
Willo flood in HD, ouch.

Did you just get a static shock from kissing your tv screen?

11-03-2012, 01:40 PM
1-0 Man utd. Rooney 36

11-03-2012, 01:45 PM
2-0 Celtic

11-03-2012, 01:45 PM
game over.

11-03-2012, 01:47 PM
ho got it?

11-03-2012, 01:48 PM
ho got it?

Samaras header from a Mulgrew freekick.

11-03-2012, 01:53 PM
Stokes misses open goal.. :rolleyes:

11-03-2012, 01:54 PM
Half time Cougars 8 fev 6.

Cougars

11-03-2012, 01:55 PM
Arabs haven't played badly too, had to take those chances though...

11-03-2012, 01:58 PM
So, Celtic In the final if we both got there would mean Europe, right?

11-03-2012, 02:00 PM
stokes 3 nil

11-03-2012, 02:02 PM
So, Celtic In the final if we both got there would mean Europe, right?

11-03-2012, 02:02 PM
I hate Celtc.

11-03-2012, 02:03 PM
Pen to Celtic. Soft.

11-03-2012, 02:04 PM
0-4 brown pen 90

11-03-2012, 02:04 PM
scott brown 4 nil

11-03-2012, 02:05 PM
Just me or did anyone else think the keeper could have done better there? went the right way but didnt even seem to extend his arm fully to get to the ball..? :confused:

11-03-2012, 02:41 PM
I see Swansea have scored, this should be fun!

11-03-2012, 02:42 PM
Swansea 1 Man City 0

11-03-2012, 02:43 PM
Just me or did anyone else think the keeper could have done better there? went the right way but didnt even seem to extend his arm fully to get to the ball..? :confused:

It looks like he pulls his arm back to make sure he is not saving it. :agree:

11-03-2012, 02:47 PM
FFS 1-0 Swansea. :brickwall

If I was a neutral and a betting man (of which I'm neither) I'd put £25 on the Arabs winning the SC.
I think they're the form team & have the best chance.

(BTW, I hope I'm wrong come the end of May :wink:)

That's why I'm not a betting man :greengrin

I see Swansea have scored, this should be fun!

Only for the glory hunters? The rest won't care.

11-03-2012, 02:48 PM
Good entertainment tho!

11-03-2012, 02:49 PM
1-0 Sheep

11-03-2012, 02:50 PM
1-0 Sheep, Fallon. :thumbsup:

11-03-2012, 02:53 PM
United top of the league. :cup: :thumbsup:

Get used to it :aok:

11-03-2012, 02:54 PM
Sheep come close to 2-0. :agree:

And another good attack, good save Randolph.

11-03-2012, 03:00 PM
Sheep come close to 2-0. :agree:

And another good attack, good save Randolph.

Looking good for sheep.

Citeh fold at wrong time, Utd's wins at Norwich and Spurs were the game changers- they'll win it by 5-8 points now.

11-03-2012, 03:13 PM
Penalty Well.

Well Pen Saved :faf:

Great save.

11-03-2012, 03:16 PM
Not wells day it seems!!

11-03-2012, 03:16 PM
Not wells day it seems!!
Here's hoping :agree: Would happily take the sheep in the next round! :pray:

11-03-2012, 03:18 PM
Here's hoping :agree: Would happily take the sheep in the next round! :pray:

totally agree, let the grunts play Celtic in the semi.

11-03-2012, 03:22 PM
Why not let St Mirren play them?

11-03-2012, 03:23 PM

Because I think those spawny inbreds will win the replay, much as I hope they don't.

11-03-2012, 03:26 PM
Aberdeen in the semi-finals please :aok:

11-03-2012, 03:26 PM
2-0 Dons.

HiBremian
11-03-2012, 03:27 PM
Aberdeen in the semi-finals please :aok:

2-0 to the sheep!

Aberdeen playing well (pardon the pun)

Jammy *****!

2-0 Dons.

Dropgoal,

You best post without doubt on this thread.

Aberdeen in the semi's please.

11-03-2012, 03:28 PM
Dreadful defending, but a cracking volley.

11-03-2012, 03:29 PM
Jammy *****!

Defending well and being clinical is not being jammy at all.

11-03-2012, 03:32 PM

Because I think those spawny inbreds will win the replay, much as I hope they don't.

11-03-2012, 03:33 PM
Defending well and being clinical is not being jammy at all.

And scoring from what was never a corner..

11-03-2012, 03:38 PM

I'm assuming you're talking about the first goal, I missed the first one so not sure how it came about. The second one was very well taken though.

Sometimes decisions like that go for or against you. Fact of the matter is, Aberdeen still scored from it while Motherwell failed to defend it.

If Aberdeen can defend well and take every chance that comes their way, they'll have a pretty good chance IMO.

11-03-2012, 03:38 PM
And you cannot really blame the ref as the sportsound mob did,what about the cheating Aberdeen player who knew it was not a corner, the only way football will redeem itself is if the players start being honest. That will never happen as they are taught to cheat soon as they sign for a team whether it is professional or amateur. That is the root cause, not the referree.

11-03-2012, 03:41 PM
Stuart McCall sent off in the tunnel

JennaFletcher
11-03-2012, 03:43 PM
Has someone been rubbing a balloon on Richard's hair during the 1st half?! :greengrin

11-03-2012, 03:44 PM
And you cannot really blame the ref as the sportsound mob did,what about the cheating Aberdeen player who knew it was not a corner, the only way football will redeem itself is if the players start being honest. That will never happen as they are taught to cheat soon as they sign for a team whether it is professional or amateur. That is the root cause, not the referree.

Really.

11-03-2012, 03:48 PM
Really.

Yeah, really.

Love the Green
11-03-2012, 03:48 PM
Only for the glory hunters? The rest won't care.

Hate to say this about another Hibby but u ar a plonker
Glory hunters don't follow teams who win 1 torphy in 20+ years, they follow the old firm, liverpool and manure as they know or knew in liverpools case they always win something every year or at least every 2nd year.

"keep the true faith"

11-03-2012, 03:49 PM
Glory hunters don't follow teams who win 1 torphy in 20+ years, they follow the old firm, liverpool and manure as they know or knew in liverpools case they always win something every year or at least every 2nd year.

"keep the true faith"

Depends what you mean by following.

11-03-2012, 03:51 PM
Yeah, really.

You're full of nonsense.

Manager: Are you good at cheating?
Player: Umm.... aye?
Manager: Alright, just sign here...

11-03-2012, 03:53 PM
Yeah, really.

Oh well, you learn a new thing everyday.

11-03-2012, 03:54 PM
You're full of nonsense.

Manager: Are you good at cheating
Player: Umm.... aye?
Manager: Alright, just sign here...

And you are thick, I never said that but as long as cheating is approved by managers and teams the game will always be bent. Yes professionals are encouraged to cheat to help their team, if they weren't then you would see more players being punished by their managers. It will never happen

11-03-2012, 03:55 PM

"keep the true faith"

I'll take been called a plonker. Been called worse.

However, if your not a glory hunter why reply? Simple really.

There is glory hunters on here though, no doubt about it. Dropgoal is one.

11-03-2012, 03:56 PM
Pity Dundee Utd couldn't manage the double over the Old Firm and knock Celtic out today. They're certainly the team to avoid in the semis and hope that someone else can somehow beat them.

Thought their penalty was very harsh and Dundee United really should have been ahead even before Neilson got sent off.

Looking as if Aberdeen will be in the semis as well. Shocking decision by the officials to award that corner that lead to their first goal and I can understand why McCall was upset at half time. He's obviously overstepped the mark though.

As for the English games, what a turnaround it's been at the top. That's United 1 point clear now with 10 games left. City certainly look as if they could be heading for a bit of a wobble.

Is the pressure getting to them?

11-03-2012, 03:56 PM
Any chance we can drop the personal stuff? :wink:

Love the Green
11-03-2012, 03:58 PM
Depends what you mean by following.

You have me thinking about that one.
Possibly people who wallow in teams winning multi trophys and never attending any matches..people who post on here and sit in the pub watching teams benefit from cheating refs and never giving any teams (who have the audacity to beat them) praise.

That ok for you?
"keep the faith"

11-03-2012, 04:01 PM
Any chance we can drop the personal stuff? :wink:

I agree but when you come out with anything controversial, or doesn't comply with the norm, people cannot reply with a constructive arguement, they have to have a dig. It has been proved numerous times that players are cheats and it is accepted, therein lies the problem..

11-03-2012, 04:05 PM
Pity Dundee Utd couldn't manage the double over the Old Firm and knock Celtic out today. They're certainly the team to avoid in the semis and hope that someone else can somehow beat them.

Thought their penalty was very harsh and Dundee United really should have been ahead even before Neilson got sent off.

Looking as if Aberdeen will be in the semis as well. Shocking decision by the officials to award that corner that lead to their first goal and I can understand why McCall was upset at half time. He's obviously overstepped the mark though.

As for the English games, what a turnaround it's been at the top. That's United 1 point clear now with 10 games left. City certainly look as if they could be heading for a bit of a wobble.

Is the pressure getting to them?

Agree, City are done now. Don't rate that Man U side compared to past vintages but Shralek has got them believing and coming good at the right time. Their away form will carry them to the title with points to spare.

Celtic are the ones to avoid as the winners of the other tie are most playing for a European slot.

11-03-2012, 04:10 PM

Even if the award was wrong.they still had to score from it, only 5% of corners result in goals so its not like a penalty decision or a ball over the goalline thing. McCall needs to grow a pair.

11-03-2012, 04:15 PM
Poor tackle by Lasley, Well down to 10.

11-03-2012, 04:15 PM
Lasley sent off for an awful challenge, surely no way back for 'Well now

11-03-2012, 04:16 PM
Terrible challenge by Lasley there, red card fully deserved.

11-03-2012, 04:16 PM

Looks a bad one for the lad Fyvie

11-03-2012, 04:17 PM

I think 'filthy' is more appropriate.

11-03-2012, 04:19 PM

Lasley is a cretin....

11-03-2012, 04:19 PM
That was a temper tantrum if ever I've seen one.

No excuse for that and he should have the book thrown at him.

11-03-2012, 04:20 PM
I think 'filthy' is more appropriate.

I don't like to describe these tackles as "filthy", because I'd like to think that stud challenges aren't intentional majority of the time and just come down to poor concentration.

11-03-2012, 04:20 PM
He should get an extra ban for that assault

11-03-2012, 04:21 PM
Looks a bad one for the lad Fyvie

You hate to see that happen in any game.

11-03-2012, 04:21 PM

So the referee or linesman make a mistake and because the player doesn't inform the ref that they have made a mistake then they are cheating.

The root of the cause is that the refereeing in this league is very poor, nothing to do with players cheating.

11-03-2012, 04:23 PM
I don't like to describe these tackles as "filthy", because I'd like to think that stud challenges aren't intentional majority of the time and just come down to poor concentration.

Unfortunately that one looked very much deliberate.

I agree but when you come out with anything controversial, or doesn't comply with the norm, people cannot reply with a constructive arguement, they have to have a dig. It has been proved numerous times that players are cheats and it is accepted, therein lies the problem..

Who had a dig. :confused:

Agree, City are done now. Don't rate that Man U side compared to past vintages but Shralek has got them believing and coming good at the right time. Their away form will carry them to the title with points to spare.

Celtic are the ones to avoid as the winners of the other tie are most playing for a European slot.

:rolleyes: thats quite confident given the GD and they have to play each other at Man City

Good result for Man U given how well West Brom have been at home though.

11-03-2012, 04:24 PM
2-1 Law

Life was so much easier when people just argued about Man Yoo and Citeh :greengrin

aww sheeeeeeeet

Life was so much easier when people just argued about Man Yoo and Citeh :greengrin

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/smilies%202/handbags.gif

11-03-2012, 04:25 PM
Yes!! The linesman or the ref cannot see everything as is proved every game, but the players involved know the truth, I bet they don't cheat at golf, because it is not allowed and is also a personal thing, if that was employed oin football cheating would disappear.
Nothing to do with the players!!!!!!!!!!!
How blinkered can you be ... unbelievable

11-03-2012, 04:25 PM

And its been proved many times that referees make mistakes, therein lies the problem surely.

11-03-2012, 04:27 PM
And its been proved many times that referees make mistakes, therein lies the problem surely.

It wouldn't' be if the players were honest !!!!!

11-03-2012, 04:27 PM
Who had a dig. :confused:

You :greengrin :wink:

11-03-2012, 04:31 PM
Any idea what the score is between Motherwell and Aberdeen?

2-1 sheep. 5 mins to go. Well down to 10 men and missed a pen

11-03-2012, 04:32 PM

2-1 Dons, but Well all over them, 5 mins to go :panic:

Anyone got a link for the radio :wink:

Motherwell 1 Aberdeen 2 :thumbsup:

11-03-2012, 04:37 PM
Cheers for the footie updates :thumbsup:

Still 2-1, 91.56 on click playing up to 5 mins injury time.

11-03-2012, 04:40 PM
Still 2-1, 91.56 on click playing up to 5 mins injury time.

:aok: hope the draw will be getting updates :greengrin

11-03-2012, 04:40 PM
Sheep miss an open goal after the well keeper went wandering up for a corner.

Game over.

11-03-2012, 04:42 PM
Dons v Hibs :pray:

11-03-2012, 04:43 PM
Dons v Hibs :pray:

Pretty pretty please :-)

11-03-2012, 04:43 PM
It's the adverts on Sky at the moment, Nationwide are on your side and Dyson have invented a new vacuum cleaner

11-03-2012, 04:44 PM
:aok: hope the draw will be getting updates :greengrin

The balls are in the bag......... :cb

11-03-2012, 04:45 PM
No radio link floating about :confused: :thumbsup:

11-03-2012, 04:46 PM
The balls are in the bag......... :cb

There are indeed in this house too:wink:

11-03-2012, 04:46 PM
Magnificent away support from Aberdeen. Rangers fans must be asked to pay more to get into away games, if only their supporters are keeping other teams alive. What would Aberdeen be taking away, if they had a chance of winning the league.

11-03-2012, 04:48 PM
Aberdeen v Hibs

11-03-2012, 04:50 PM
:hibees

11-03-2012, 04:57 PM
:rolleyes: thats quite confident given the GD and they have to play each other at Man City

Good result for Man U given how well West Brom have been at home though.

I'm basing it on away form and the run-in. City haven't been as strong away and have to go Highbury to face Arsenal. If you get into the habit of losing at Swansea and Sunderland then games at places like Stoke suddenly become problematic. I think they won't relish their next home game against Chelsea. United are playing mostly dross other than City away which they could lose and still retain the title.

I think City have the better players but can't match United's esprit de corps and will to win.

11-03-2012, 06:23 PM
****** the Hun lovers Man Citeh. Mon United :flag:

11-03-2012, 06:58 PM
I'm basing it on away form and the run-in. City haven't been as strong away and have to go Highbury to face Arsenal. If you get into the habit of losing at Swansea and Sunderland then games at places like Stoke suddenly become problematic. I think they won't relish their next home game against Chelsea. United are playing mostly dross other than City away which they could lose and still retain the title.

I think City have the better players but can't match United's esprit de corps and will to win.
City have had the luxury of playing the dross already. When those teams were dross. Now they're fighting tooth and nail for position and avoiding relegation.

as I've said before, Utd have the experience that city lack when it comes to grinding out results.
Its going to be an interesting run in, but I agree Utd have played the higher placed teams, but the lower placed teams the still have to play, have arguably more to play for.

Some of city's football this season has been phenomenal, they just lack that team togetherness. Next season, if Mancini is still there with the same players, will be their season.

I also think they've missed Tevez. Utd only need to slip up once (and it wouldn't be unexpected) to let city back in. IMO they've kept him out too long, to the detriment of their league title hopes.

11-03-2012, 07:15 PM
Another couple of goals each for Ronaldo and Messi this weekend I see.

11-03-2012, 08:02 PM
Another couple of goals each for Ronaldo and Messi this weekend I see.

On here Messi's will be hailed as works of art. Ronaldo's won't be mentioned.

11-03-2012, 08:04 PM

i think Hutchy did mention them. And you quoted him to say they won't be mentioned. :greengrin

11-03-2012, 08:06 PM
i think Hutchy did mention them. And you quoted him to say they won't be mentioned. :greengrin

11-03-2012, 08:12 PM

Dropgoal,

Messi's goals were different class, fantastic goals. The pen was best I have ever seen.

Ronaldo who? Shouldn't be on the same page as Messi.

11-03-2012, 08:13 PM
Dropgoal,

Messi's goals were different class, fantastic goals. The pen was best I have ever seen.

Ronaldo who? Shouldn't be on the same page as Messi.

Who's dropgoal? :confused:

11-03-2012, 08:17 PM

Yeah no one has mentioned Jake Moult's for Alfreton Town in the Blue Square Premier either boohoo :(

11-03-2012, 08:21 PM
Yeah no one has mentioned Jake Moult's for Alfreton Town in the Blue Square Premier either boohoo :(

Has Jake Moult got a better strike rate than Messi?

11-03-2012, 08:22 PM
City haven't been as strong away and have to go to Highbury

Hope Balotelli doesn't set fire to any of the kitchens there.

11-03-2012, 08:22 PM
Hope Balotelli doesn't set fire to any of the kitchens there.
Every team needs a balotelli :greengrin

11-03-2012, 08:24 PM
Every team needs a balotelli :greengrin

Ours = :giruy:

11-03-2012, 08:42 PM