View Full Version : Semi Final Draw (Hibs v Aberdeen)

11-03-2012, 10:35 AM
When is it?

11-03-2012, 10:38 AM
Straight after this afternoon's Motherwell-Aberdeen game.

11-03-2012, 10:38 AM
Efter the Mothers game.

11-03-2012, 02:17 PM
Sky Sports 3.

11-03-2012, 02:26 PM
What's the betting we get Celtc in the semi.

Very dissapointed about today's result.

11-03-2012, 02:32 PM
What's the betting we get Celtc in the semi.

Very dissapointed about today's result.

Celtic vs Hibs - 12.15pm KO on the Saturday 14th of April :rolleyes:

11-03-2012, 02:34 PM
Celtic vs Hibs - 12.15pm KO on the Saturday 14th of April :rolleyes:

Not bad.

At least the pubs will be open for kick off.

11-03-2012, 02:38 PM
They will both be 3pm kick offs...won't they?

Thomson1875
11-03-2012, 03:37 PM
Most are usually 3pm with one on the saturday, one on the sunday?

None the less looking forward to it.

11-03-2012, 03:40 PM
They will both be 3pm kick offs...won't they?

Cannot see that being allowed for the Sat game as it will clash with league matches

11-03-2012, 03:41 PM
Most are usually 3pm with one on the saturday, one on the sunday?

None the less looking forward to it.

Won't they both be on TV? So one at 12:30pm on the Saturday and one at 3pm on the Sunday. Both at Hampden.

11-03-2012, 03:54 PM
Anyone know if this is on Sky Sports News?

EuanH78
11-03-2012, 03:55 PM
Anyone know if this is on Sky Sports News?

Sky sports 3 only I think

11-03-2012, 04:01 PM
take the dons!

11-03-2012, 04:38 PM
Anyone post a radio link :wink:

11-03-2012, 04:42 PM
On SS3 after the break :greengrin

11-03-2012, 04:42 PM
Aberdeen or St Mirren please.

11-03-2012, 04:43 PM
coming up in a few minutes... genuinely got butterflies :worried:

11-03-2012, 04:44 PM
I need a radio link, someone must have it :confused: :thumbsup:

11-03-2012, 04:46 PM
Sheep please :aok:

I hope the final ends up being the Edinburgh Derby. Yeah, it would be torture, but it would be an awesome occasion, and a huge game for Scottish football. 60,000 Edinburgers showing everyone that we don't need the OF.

coming up in a few minutes... genuinely got butterflies :worried:

Same here, just do not know how im going to cope with nerves if we have to play a derby at hampden, will either be the best day ever if we win or agony if we get beat again!

my crystal ball is saying hibs v sheep

11-03-2012, 04:48 PM
Hibs v Aberdeen

Decent

HiBremian
sheep v hibs

Sheep vs Hibs :thumbsup::thumbsup:

11-03-2012, 04:49 PM
We get the Sheep :thumbsup:

my crystal ball is saying hibs v sheep

well done me :thumbsup:

We are due them for the semi we chucked away.

We can take them!!!:thumbsup:

:thumbsup::thumbsup:

DarrenSQH
Great draw!

alan1875
Will be a great day! Both will have a good support too!

11-03-2012, 04:50 PM
Happy with that. Hard game but got a chance.

Sheep fans will be happy they got us as well.

Should be a good day out!

Tremendous :thumbsup:

Richard Gordon punching the air in delight apparently. THIS IS OUR YEAR GORDON so GIRUY.

Great draw, defo a chance of the final now :flag:

Niffy
Who did the other 2 get though ?

ha ha ha

11-03-2012, 04:51 PM
Best draw we could get - totally winnable. If so then final v Celtic (so guaranteed Europe) or St Mirren (totally winnable) or v Yams (ya beauty!!).

Delighted - great weekend.

:flag::flag:

Drawn against a team who can only score against us if they con the ref. Perfect draw :greengrin

Could be 90 mins from Europe. Unlikely a few weeks ago! Does the SC spot also not put that team just one round from the league stage?

that'll do :thumbsup:

Bring them on!

Brilliant, glad we avoided the hearts, hopefully they get dumped out and we don't have to play them at hampden (seriously couldnt cope with the nerves of that fixture again!)

Aberdeen in the semi then st. mirren in the final :pray:

Will be a great day! Both will have a good support too!

That will be a massive Crowd as biggest game in years for both teams....with both having good prospects.....very happy

11-03-2012, 04:52 PM
Bring them on!

Definitely winnable

shamo9
Sheep fans will be happy they got us as well.

Well that's just too bad for them then:flag:

Good stuff. We can get on and get the date and the ticketing sorted asap.

NYHibby
Since we were in the first pair out, do we get the Saturday game?

fantastic draw, buzzing for it already! :thumbsup:

Nice 1 expect a sell out giruy sheepies

francobaresi
Mon the HIBS, Saturday will do me fine :wink:

Perfect, absolutely perfect.

Our luck is turning at long last.

Hibby D
It's brilliant to have a SF to look forward to. I dreaded us getting a draw against a team I'd dread us playing against.

:dizzy:

11-03-2012, 04:53 PM
Its not going to be easy but never is at this stage, Mon the Hibs:flag:

what day is ours? is it Saturday since we were the first game out?

Bob Box Fish
Best draw we could potentially get :)

Hope it's a Sat

Oh yes.

We can win that one. They'll be thinking the same obviously, but this is a great chance to get to the final.

Bring them on..... and c'mon you Saints!

11-03-2012, 04:54 PM
Could be 90 mins from Europe. Unlikely a few weeks ago! Does the SC spot also not put that team just one round from the league stage?

Did the ruling not change so that you need to WIN the final now to get Europe?

HibeeEmma
fantastic draw, buzzing for it already! :thumbsup:

:flag::pfgwa

Everyone who can go through needs to go though and support the team, no excuses.

TheEastTerrace
Let's hope it's a 3pm KO whichever date we get. Selfish, but hope we get the Sunday as I'm working on the 14th.

The Sheep struggle against lower league sides in the cup :greengrin

11-03-2012, 04:56 PM
We should've beaten them at ER a few weeks ago, we're definitely capable. Please, Hibs. :greengrin

11-03-2012, 04:57 PM
Perfecto, couldn't have worked out better for us, although I cany remember the last time the dons got beat...

11-03-2012, 04:58 PM
Perfecto, couldn't have worked out better for us, although I cany remember the last time the dons got beat...

April the 14th.

Excellent draw.

I'm hoping to be there, and at the final. :greengrin:

I think that applies if you play a team that has already qualified for the europa league, but if you play a team that has qualified for the champions league then the runner up still gets the place.

Anyway, we are going to win, shhh, don't tell anyone! :agree: :greengrin

Not taking anything for granted but still a prospect of a Hibs v hahahahearts final. Now that would be something

Aberdeen's last defeat was on Christmas Eve against ICT.

Have to be happy with that draw though, on the day we can certainly beat them. :thumbsup:

11-03-2012, 04:59 PM
What's the rule with runners up and Europe?

Only if you win it.

The Scottish Cup winners get the Play-off round.

Third in the League get the Third Qualifying Round.

Fourth in the League get the Second Qualifying Round.

If the Cup Winners are in the Champions League the runners up take the place in the Second Qualifying Round and other qualifying teams are bumped one place up.

Rangers and Hearts are unlikely to get accounts in on time and will probably not get a European licence for next season.

Bring them on! :thumbsup:

I'm ****ting it :greengrin

11-03-2012, 05:00 PM

No they have not.

The Scottish FA have been trying to do this for ten years but keep getting knocked back by UEFA.

Yuillsy
11-03-2012, 05:01 PM
Let's hope it's a 3pm KO whichever date we get. Selfish, but hope we get the Sunday as I'm working on the 14th.

Snap. I work saturdays until 1pm.
Hopefully the game's Sunday and i can roar the boys on to another trip to Hampden in May!!!

April the 14th.

Ha,,,,,I'm sitting here saying its no been that long :-)

I see what ye did there.....

Delighted with the draw.

11-03-2012, 05:02 PM
I'm ****ting it :greengrin

I can't wait. :pfgwa

11-03-2012, 05:02 PM
Delighted with that. Buzzin.:thumbsup:

11-03-2012, 05:03 PM
Great its not Celtic and that we are not waiting on the replay...really hope its the Sat at 3pm so if we do the job we can sit back and enjoy the other game....

imagine if hearts / St Mirren got through on Sat it would make Sunday game even more unbearable

11-03-2012, 05:04 PM
Good. Could be a lot worse. If the guys give it their best shot and play as well as we know they can, who knows?

Well satisfied. :aok:

shamo9
11-03-2012, 05:04 PM
We certainly owe them one after the dodgy penalty defeat earlier in the season:flag:

Ross4356
11-03-2012, 05:05 PM
When will we know which date we are on?

hibee62
11-03-2012, 05:06 PM
My guess is we'll be playing Saturday at lunchtime. I'm fairly sure in the past one semi is on bbc (saturday lunchtime) and the other is on sky (sunday afternoon). Sky are likely to choose the Celtic game so that leaves us on the tele on Saturday. This could all be rubbish mind...

11-03-2012, 05:07 PM
My guess is we'll be playing Saturday at lunchtime. I'm fairly sure in the past one semi is on bbc (saturday lunchtime) and the other is on sky (sunday afternoon). Sky are likely to choose the Celtic game so that leaves us on the tele on Saturday. This could all be rubbish mind...

Celtic vs Hearts or St.Mirren might be on the Saturday

11-03-2012, 05:07 PM
Good. Could be a lot worse. If the guys give it their best shot and play as well as we know they can, who knows?

Well satisfied. :aok:

Loads of happy campers I would think, all except Saint Buddies & Jam huddies

11-03-2012, 05:08 PM

Seemingly both semis on Sky Sports with the first on Saturday at 12:45pm and the 2nd on Sunday with the time still to be decided.

Oh I imagine this game will be the Sunday, as Sky get the first pick of the game and will choose Celtic and their game is on Saturday.

Great draw!

Wanted the Jambos so a little gutted, but will take sheep. They will bring 7-12k to Hampden, us 12-17k so should be fun.

If we win we either have Yams to the dirty work and eliminate the mingers before we ram it up them in an all-EdInburgh final, or we march into Europe irrespective of our result v Los Trampolinos.

David_D
11-03-2012, 05:12 PM
I really hope the game is on the Sunday as I have to work the Saturday (damn grand national). Glad we got Aberdeen though

11-03-2012, 05:13 PM
Keeps a Hibs v St Mirren final very much on the cards.

Malonga's Cat
11-03-2012, 05:14 PM
delighted!! Come on the cabbage!! :flag:

11-03-2012, 05:14 PM
The games are currently pencilled-in on Sky's schedule for 12.45 on both days.

11-03-2012, 05:15 PM
Hibs will be the Sunday game :agree:

SQHib
11-03-2012, 05:16 PM
Seemingly both semis on Sky Sports with the first on Saturday at 12:45pm and the 2nd on Sunday with the time still to be decided.

yip you are right .. 1 on sat and 1 on sun from th sky site .. although both progs start at 12:30 so games will be 12:45 kick offs :grr:

hibee62
11-03-2012, 05:18 PM
The games are currently pencilled-in on Sky's schedule for 12.45 on both days.

OK, my thoughts are rubbish then...:greengrin

down the slope
11-03-2012, 05:19 PM
Looks like they will be without the lad who was carried off and someone else misses the game as he was booked late on, maybe our luck is changing ?.

11-03-2012, 05:19 PM
Hibs will be the Sunday game :agree:

Do we know that for sure?

11-03-2012, 05:20 PM
http://oi41.tinypic.com/akgw0o.jpg

11-03-2012, 05:22 PM
http://oi41.tinypic.com/akgw0o.jpg

:tsk tsk:

11-03-2012, 05:22 PM
Do we know that for sure?

I think ESPN get the Sunday game and not the Saturday game. I presume Sky would rather ESPN don't get the Celtic game so will have that on the Saturday as they get first choice.

11-03-2012, 05:23 PM
:tsk tsk:

:boo hoo::wink:

shagpile
11-03-2012, 05:24 PM
Looks like they will be without the lad who was carried off and someone else misses the game as he was booked late on, maybe our luck is changing ?.

Arneson definitely misses the game with his booking . Fyvie will be lucky to play again this season i would reckon after that bloody awful tackle by lasley.

11-03-2012, 05:24 PM
that'll be the Yams oot then :)

11-03-2012, 05:25 PM
Arneson definitely misses the game with his booking . Fyvie will be lucky to play again this season i would reckon after that bloody awful tackle by lasley.

Aranson is their best player IMO. He will be a big miss for them :agree:

hibee62
11-03-2012, 05:25 PM
I think ESPN get the Sunday game and not the Saturday game. I presume Sky would rather ESPN don't get the Celtic game so will have that on the Saturday as they get first choice.

Apparently Sky have them both. ESPN don't have any rights to Scottish Cup, its Sky and BBC.

11-03-2012, 05:26 PM
Apparently Sky have them both. ESPN don't have any rights to Scottish Cup, its Sky and BBC.

Bugger, Sunday is better for me. My Dad told me ESPN had the Sunday game?

11-03-2012, 05:27 PM
What a great draw, Hibs definitely got a crack at the SC Final. Avoiding Shellick was the key - poor wee Yams :thumbsup:

11-03-2012, 05:30 PM
What a great draw, Hibs definitely got a crack at the SC Final. Avoiding Shellick was the key - poor wee Yams :thumbsup:

Wow. We're a bit disrespectful of Aberdeen given our respective league positions, are we not? It was the best draw but to say we're certs?

Wow.

11-03-2012, 05:32 PM
Wow. We're a bit disrespectful of Aberdeen given our respective league positions, are we not? It was the best draw but to say we're certs?

Wow.

Who said we're certs? :confused:

11-03-2012, 05:35 PM
think sky got it wrong with the caption,it was the young left back booked instead which they later corrected.

11-03-2012, 05:36 PM
Bugger, Sunday is better for me. My Dad told me ESPN had the Sunday game?

Go to the fridge.

Get a haddock.

Slap him around the coupon with it.

11-03-2012, 05:39 PM
Go to the fridge.

Get a haddock.

Slap him around the coupon with it.

11-03-2012, 05:40 PM
think sky got it wrong with the caption,it was the young left back booked instead which they later corrected.

I was just going by what ****pile said !

11-03-2012, 05:43 PM
I was just going by what ****pile said !

i was hoping it was arneson out as well,dissapointed when they changed it:agree:

11-03-2012, 05:44 PM
i was hoping it was arneson out as well,dissapointed when they changed it:agree:

I know :agree:

11-03-2012, 05:48 PM
Are you sure both games are on TV. In the past SKY and BBC had the right to the Scottish Cup, but BBC could only show a limited no of games upto the Final. I think they may have used their games upto the final this year, which may mean only one of the semi's televised live.
I hope they chose the Celtic game

yeezus.
11-03-2012, 05:52 PM
Brilliant, Hibs Celtic final it is!:aok:

hibeesjoe
11-03-2012, 06:05 PM
Not sure if this link has been posted but looks like if we do manage to beat Aberdeen and meet Celtic in the final we enter the Europa league qualifiers in the last round before the actual leagues start :applause:

http://www.scotprem.com/content/default.asp?page=s2&newsid=10789

Makaveli
11-03-2012, 06:08 PM
Not sure if this link has been posted but looks like if we do manage to beat Aberdeen and meet Celtic in the final we enter the Europa league qualifiers in the last round before the actual leagues start :applause:

http://www.scotprem.com/content/default.asp?page=s2&newsid=10789

Nope. Only round 4 if we win the cup. If we lost to Celtic would enter at qualifying round 2, not round 4.

From your link:
"If the Scottish Cup winners have qualified for the Champions League, then the SPL third-placed club enters at QR4, the fourth-placed club enters in QR3 and the cup runners-up enter in QR2."

11-03-2012, 06:09 PM
Put it this way, Aberdeen are due a skelpin of us, Dodged a bullet for a few games in a row against us now.

Time to step up to the plate Hibs.

11-03-2012, 06:09 PM
Best possible draw. Nae Sellick and nae possibility of Yams heartbreak. We can do this, it's the wee bit of luck we've been needing all season. Let's f*****g have it :flag:

11-03-2012, 06:11 PM

Arnason wasn't booked today. It came up like that at first but it was Robertson the left back who was booked

sorry just noticed that this already been mentioned !

hibee62
11-03-2012, 06:14 PM
From the report of Craig Brown's post match interview:

"The 2-1 win at Motherwell set up a last-four clash with Hibernian on 14 April at Hampden."

11-03-2012, 06:17 PM
Richard Gordon punching the air in delight apparently. THIS IS OUR YEAR GORDON so GIRUY.
Well here's hoping that RG is punching the air with frustration at the final whistle. :greengrin

From the report of Craig Brown's post match interview:

"The 2-1 win at Motherwell set up a last-four clash with Hibernian on 14 April at Hampden."
Best possible draw on the better of the two dates. :thumbsup:

Excellent!

11-03-2012, 06:29 PM
I really hope the game is on the Sunday as I have to work the Saturday (damn grand national). Glad we got Aberdeen though

We played them in the 86 semi at Dens on Grand National day too. Hopefully a different outcome this time.

11-03-2012, 06:43 PM
Are there any sheep players that are suspended for the semi?

11-03-2012, 07:10 PM
Are there any sheep players that are suspended for the semi?

Arnason is out

11-03-2012, 07:13 PM
Arnason is out

no he isn't

11-03-2012, 07:14 PM
Arnason is out

no he's not, robertson is

11-03-2012, 07:16 PM
Probably best draw we could have got and the sheep will be thinking the same nae doubt.

I see from the other posts on this thread that as usual my and other folks big day out is likely to be bloody ruined by SKY and their bloody stupid kick off times .... Nae doubt the main game at 4pm or whatever will be Wigan v bloody West Brom or something.

As usual the folk who actuall pay to see the game in the flesh are last on the list of priorities .... I've nae time for the sheep, but its a long way from Aberdeen for a 12:54 KO and thats not bloody fair.

Anyway ......... C'mon the Hibees !!!

11-03-2012, 07:22 PM
no he isn't

Apologies for duff info then, sure I read on here he was out, must have imagined it

11-03-2012, 07:37 PM
good draw for both clubs :thumbsup: shame stevenson is out of the game :(

...WentToMowAnSPL
11-03-2012, 07:53 PM
good draw for both clubs :thumbsup: shame stevenson is out of the game :(

Absolutely.. if we were to make it through would he be available for the final ?

11-03-2012, 07:55 PM
Good thing is from here on in no matter who we play we will be underdog which suits us better I think.:aok:

11-03-2012, 08:00 PM
Absolutely.. if we were to make it through would he be available for the final ?

i imagine the answer is....of course he would

11-03-2012, 08:00 PM
Put it this way, Aberdeen are due a skelpin of us, Dodged a bullet for a few games in a row against us now.

Time to step up to the plate Hibs.

This is our chance to get revenge for Pawlett's atrocious dive at Pittodrie. Karma's a bitch...

Makaveli
11-03-2012, 08:10 PM
Joint 2nd favourites (with Aberdeen) @ 6/1 :hyper:

11-03-2012, 08:13 PM
Joint 2nd favourites (with Aberdeen) @ 6/1 :hyper:

Where did you get those odds from? :aok:

11-03-2012, 08:16 PM
Ladbrokes

sellick 1/2

Aberdeen 5/1

hibs 6/1

hertz 8/1

no odds for st.mirren :rolleyes: they must think hertz beat st.mirren y/day

Makaveli
Where did you get those odds from? :aok:

Hills, same price at Coral.

Ladbrokes

hibs 6/1

:hyper::hmmm:

11-03-2012, 08:17 PM
Not 2 take anything for granteed but a final against celtic or the Yams is gonna be a nightmare for tickets.

11-03-2012, 08:19 PM
Not 2 take anything for granteed but a final against celtic or the Yams is gonna be a nightmare for tickets.

Season Ticket holders should get first option to buy tickets then it should be Club Members then they should go on sale to the general public :aok:

beensaidbefore
11-03-2012, 10:01 PM
massive banana skin i fear. every time we are confident about winning at hampden it desnt really happen. can think of more losses against teams we should have beat than victories in recent years. i hope im wrong though.

11-03-2012, 10:13 PM
massive banana skin i fear. every time we are confident about winning at hampden it desnt really happen. can think of more losses against teams we should have beat than victories in recent years. i hope im wrong though.

In reality, we're playing a team that are in a long unbeaten run that we have struggled to get a win against in recent years, in a tournament we have a woeful record in. They have brought in decent players like Fallon, Reynolds, Gavin Rae and Stephen Hughes. Experienced players that have really helped stabilise them. I for one am not underestimating them. BUT after our last couple of performances, we ARE capable of beating them. If some of these loan boys wanted to get noticed, this will be their best chance!!

11-03-2012, 10:16 PM
I think Brown had to talk the Aberdeen board into increasing his budget so he could sign Fallon. Bet they're glad they listened to him.

12-03-2012, 10:34 AM
A 3pm Saturday Kick Off could easily see a 30-40000 crowd imo. Aberdeen fans will be expectant and will travel in large numbers I think.

12-03-2012, 10:40 AM
A 3pm Saturday Kick Off could easily see a 30-40000 crowd imo. Aberdeen fans will be expectant and will travel in large numbers I think.

The dandies are as starved as us of success / a good team. The will bring a big support imo.

However, slowly but surely, the club are chipping away at the apathy which has enveloped the club for the last few years. Hell a derby win and decent league run up to the semi and we could take a massive following.

12-03-2012, 11:02 AM

**** me just announced as a 12.45 kick off. These ******** don't know what they are ****ing doing. What a load of pish.:grr: