View Full Version : Een story

lenny leith
07-03-2012, 08:09 PM
Good story in the news tonight about Bobby Thomson's daughter in the ladies team
Anyone remember him playing for Hibs in the eighties?

07-03-2012, 08:14 PM
Good story in the news tonight about Bobby Thomson's daughter in the ladies team

Aye, especially when he ran 50 yards to push a linesman! 6 game ban was it not?

Thommo was a good honest trier but one-paced to say the least.

07-03-2012, 08:16 PM

I remember him vaguely and his altercation with the linesman.... Was he also not big on GIRUY salutes?

07-03-2012, 08:16 PM

Or when Sandy Jardine pretended that Thomson had head butted him.

Was this the first one caught on camera?

07-03-2012, 08:20 PM

6 game???
I'm sure it was 6 months!

07-03-2012, 08:26 PM
Did BT have black permed hair and a big black moustache?

07-03-2012, 08:32 PM
Did BT have black permed hair and a big black moustache?

Cant remember BT having a moustache, are you not thinking of Bobby Smith?

07-03-2012, 08:34 PM
Was he also not big on GIRUY salutes?

Remember Bobby scoring against Hearts at ER in the early 80`s and the goal celebration consisted of not one, but two GIRUY salutes directed at the visiting Hearts support. Have it on VHS somewhere, and the commentator, Archie I`m sure, never even mentioned it. Nowadays you`d have compliance officers fainting at such behaviour..

07-03-2012, 08:36 PM
Cant remember BT having a moustache, are you not thinking of Bobby Smith?

Sorry, forget the moustache but did he have black permed hair, or did everyone have black permed hair?

07-03-2012, 08:37 PM
Remember Bobby scoring against Hearts at ER in the early 80`s and the goal celebration consisted of not one, but two GIRUY salutes directed at the visiting Hearts support. Have it on VHS somewhere, and the commentator, Archie I`m sure, never even mentioned it. Nowadays you`d have compliance officers fainting at such behaviour..

Thats what I remember, them were the days :greengrin

07-03-2012, 08:38 PM

It's also on the 50 goals v Hearts DVD.

He was sent off for the push on the linesman in my first Hibs game, 4-1 win v St Johnstone.

07-03-2012, 08:39 PM
Sorry, forget the moustache but did he have black permed hair, or did everyone have black permed hair?

Number of permed players that I can remember including Benny, Jamieson, Smith, Rough....Thankfully the perm has died:aok:

archiebald
07-03-2012, 08:49 PM
I remember him vaguely and his altercation with the linesman.... Was he also not big on GIRUY salutes?

nae think you were a bit young tae remember (if you are 39)

07-03-2012, 08:54 PM
nae think you were a bit young tae remember (if you are 39)

I remember him just fine, thanks all the same:confused:

archiebald
07-03-2012, 08:57 PM
Played for Hibs 1982-85 - so some folk have great memories.

07-03-2012, 08:57 PM
6 game???
I'm sure it was 6 months!

Come to think of it you're right. Thommo did have a bit of previous and all. I think Alex Edwards once got a 6 game ban.

07-03-2012, 09:04 PM
Played for Hibs 1982-85 - so some folk have great memories.

Not sure what your point is, I have been watching Hibs from when I was in the Hibs Kids, are you calling me a liar?

07-03-2012, 09:18 PM

He'd just had a pre match warm up of 4 pints of lager !! Mental case but a good player for us

07-03-2012, 09:27 PM
He'd just had a pre match warm up of 4 pints of lager !! Mental case but a good player for us

I remember him and he had a fair bit of skill but was slow and a bit lumbering. I quite liked him as a player.

lenny leith
07-03-2012, 09:29 PM
He got a 7 months ban. Seems a bit harsh for a shove on a linesman.
Wonder what punishment he would get today :confused:

07-03-2012, 09:30 PM
7 month ban according to the EEN :crazy:

07-03-2012, 09:36 PM
He left us and went to Blackpool, or he ended up there at some stage after us. My mate loved him, said he was a complete animal, who didn't care who he upset or hurt.:greengrin

07-03-2012, 09:49 PM
He scored a bullet of a header on his trial match in the reserves, I know this because I used to skive school to be a ball boy at them ;)

07-03-2012, 09:50 PM
IIRC we signed him from Middlesborough? Was a bit of nutter.

E10 Rifle
07-03-2012, 09:51 PM
He left us and went to Blackpool, or he ended up there at some stage after us. My mate loved him, said he was a complete animal, who didn't care who he upset or hurt.:greengrin

My memory of him is of a 4-0 loss at Cappielow v Morton where he was a hero of sorts. The only cheers any Hibs player got that day was him from the Morton fans who were chanting his name...god that was a terrible Hibs team, and to be honest, he was mince too.

(To cap the day our bus driver got done for drink driving on the way home):brickwall

07-03-2012, 10:11 PM
Here's the fella .............

http://www.google.co.uk/imgres?q=bobby+thompson+hibs&hl=en&biw=1272&bih=833&gbv=2&tbm=isch&tbnid=5ByLFG4Kzi3OLM:&imgrefurl=http://www.europeana.eu/portal/record/00401/D0B91C61D9ABF72B3DAD8401870FC9367804736F.html&docid=p7yK92BTqr3mpM&itg=1&imgurl=http://europeanastatic.eu/api/image%253Ftype%253DIMAGE%2526uri%253Dhttp%25253A%2 5252F%25252Fimages.scran.ac.uk%25252FRB%25252Fimag es%25252Fthumb%25252F0900%25252F09002151.jpg%2526s ize%253DFULL_DOC&w=108&h=150&ei=89xXT4WuKKGm0QXfqonXDQ&zoom=1&iact=hc&vpx=446&vpy=204&dur=123&hovh=120&hovw=86&tx=90&ty=57&sig=107232263895233833641&page=1&tbnh=120&tbnw=86&start=0&ndsp=20&ved=1t:429,r:1,s:0

........... and yes, he was a hard bassa :greengrin

07-03-2012, 10:24 PM
He scored a bullet of a header on his trial match in the reserves, I know this because I used to skive school to be a ball boy at them ;)

Careful, archiebald will be along in a moment, to say you are not old enough to remember this:rolleyes:

07-03-2012, 10:27 PM
Well I'm only three years older than you, so must of been dreaming :)

Argylehibby
07-03-2012, 11:08 PM
Ach come on guys he didnt mean to push the linesman that day. It was wet and he just didnt stop in time :wink:

Also remember him getting a red card at Ibrox for a 2nd booking before the ref was advised it was someone else and Thomson was allowed to stay on the field. The locals were going mental!

07-03-2012, 11:35 PM
Played in the team with Steve Cowan who scored tons of goals in the first half of the season before Bobby got his ban. Think the goals dried up once Bobby wasn't there.

calumb
07-03-2012, 11:38 PM
Played in the team with Steve Cowan who scored tons of goals in the first half of the season before Bobby got his ban. Think the goals dried up once Bobby wasn't there.

its willie irvine your thinking of there. Cowan played alongside durie

07-03-2012, 11:40 PM
its willie irvine your thinking of there. Cowan played alongside durie

Well spotted, must be an age thing!

07-03-2012, 11:51 PM
Sure he scored the equaliser in my first derby in Nov '83 in a 1-1 draw IIRC.

07-03-2012, 11:52 PM
Sure he scored the equaliser in my first derby in Nov '83 in a 1-1 draw IIRC.are you sure you can remember that far back? :greengrin

07-03-2012, 11:54 PM
are you sure you can remember that far back? :greengrin

Funnily enough I now seem to remember more details from games years ago than I do more recently....

07-03-2012, 11:56 PM
Funnily enough I now seem to remember more details from games years ago than I do more recently....Tae be fair though, most of the games we've watched recently have been instantly forgettable. :agree:

Stonewall
08-03-2012, 06:30 AM
Thomson was a complete headbanger!

I remember him returning from a ban and all over the press was this guff about how he'd changed and had turned over a new leaf. First game back was against Rangers at Easter Road and predictably he loses the plot, halves Aly Dawson and, realising what he's done springs to his feat and pleads with the ref not to send him off.

For some reason the ref let him stay on the park.

I almost felt sorry for Dawson, he was down for about 5 minutes.

Watford_Mark
08-03-2012, 09:07 AM

Remember that too as it was my first derby, think that goal put hibs 1-0 up and then within minutes hearts equalised, probably Robertson ....

Col L
08-03-2012, 03:18 PM
I almost felt sorry for Dawson, he was down for about 5 minutes.

Glad you said ALMOST - the current buns back then were a horrible lot!!

Remember Bobby Thomson and as I a wide-eyed teenager, I was at the infamous game where he banjoed the linesman. He was always a trier for the Cabbage and was a pretty tidy finisher too. Had plenty time for him - a centre forward who could handle himself. Just so happened that he liked man-handling a few others too, linesman, Huns, jambos etc

08-03-2012, 03:24 PM
Never knew why he went so mental that day. St Johnstone scored their only goal of the game when a Hibs player (Arthur Duncan iirc) was injured in the Hibs box thus playing everyone onside. Cue Bobby going mental, running towards the linesman and almost pushing him into the old enclosure. We were 4-0 up at the time, no need. But hilarious none the less.

Suburban Hibby
08-03-2012, 03:33 PM
Never knew why he went so mental that day. St Johnstone scored their only goal of the game when a Hibs player (Arthur Duncan iirc) was injured in the Hibs box thus playing everyone onside. Cue Bobby going mental, running towards the linesman and almost pushing him into the old enclosure. We were 4-0 up at the time, no need. But hilarious none the less.

Your right, Duncan was pole axed on the touchline- i was a Hibs Kid that day. That linesman must had had a kitten seeing Bobby coming his way!

08-03-2012, 03:45 PM
He was a second-rate player in a lacklustre era for Hibs in which they sustained several whackings from Robbo and his band.

Remember Colin Harris anyone? Sums it up.

legends of 73
08-03-2012, 03:59 PM
He was a second-rate player in a lacklustre era for Hibs in which they sustained several whackings from Robbo and his band.

remember colin harris scoring the winner at ibrox:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Stonewall
08-03-2012, 04:03 PM
Glad you said ALMOST - the current buns back then were a horrible lot!!

Remember Bobby Thomson and as I a wide-eyed teenager, I was at the infamous game where he banjoed the linesman. He was always a trier for the Cabbage and was a pretty tidy finisher too. Had plenty time for him - a centre forward who could handle himself. Just so happened that he liked man-handling a few others too, linesman, Huns, jambos etc

Yeh I remember the linesman incident too.

Funny how that stuck in my mind and I had no idea what the score was in either game.

Was a decent player (when not suspended) which made him a bit of a standout in that team.

calumb
08-03-2012, 04:14 PM

Was Bobby not gone before Harris arrived? But yeah it was a bad time for Hibs. Always remember getting ready for probably my first derby to be told by my cousin that a certain curly haired hibs defender/forward would not be playing as my cousin had helped carry him home at 4 in the morning only for the same dude to stroll out at 3pm a play like he was still on the pash.

08-03-2012, 04:14 PM

remember colin harris scoring the winner at ibrox:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Me too. We hadn't won in something like 12 games - I have a feeling we might well have lost the lot we were so bad - and the 'unforgettable' Colin Harris pops up to score just before the end to send us home the winners.

Who could forget him? :wink:

08-03-2012, 05:53 PM

Total bampot. Remember him being hooked at half time in a New Year's derby cos he was drunk. I loved him, went to Blackpool after us IIRC.

09-03-2012, 08:05 AM
Me too. We hadn't won in something like 12 games - I have a feeling we might well have lost the lot we were so bad - and the 'unforgettable' Colin Harris pops up to score just before the end to send us home the winners.

Who could forget him? :wink:

I always thought Harris was actually Mr Ben. Tipped up at the Fancy Dress Shop, tried on a Hibs "outfit", had his adventure then mysteriously disappeared.

09-03-2012, 09:52 PM
It's great that all you guys can remember him.

I've spent the best part of 30years trying to forget him.