View Full Version : New songs - Get learning!

06-03-2012, 06:57 PM
We all know about 'Hail Hail', 'We are Hibernian FC' etc and these get sung by a lot of fans and is often loud. There has been people asking the questions on here "we need new songs" etc, so there have been new ones getting started of late. Over the course of this season, there have been news songs being sung by Section 43, which are very good, however, they are not really sung by many outside those in the section. Would be class if they became well known and more of the support learnt the words and joined in at the games.

These will all most likely be sung at Ayr, so get learning. :thumbsup:

(Some of these have been sung frequently, some still to get sung)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
To the tune of the song “Take me home, countryroad” by John Denver.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oN86d0CdgHQ

Take me home, take me home
To the place, I belong
To Easter Road, to see the Hibees
(sing twice)

Nanana Hibees, nanana Hibees, nanana, nanana
Leith San Siro, seven zero, take me home, Easter Road.

To the tune of the Balotelli / Borucsong.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i-tagn3lB3I

Ohhh Pa Kujabi,
He is our left back, from Gambia
He’s got a lethal shot, and he likes to run the wing,
When he gets the ball, you here the Hibees sing
Ohhh Pa Kujabi

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zdnYFBzouMA

Alee Alee Alay Ohhhh
Hibernian FC
From The Capital

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WR-Gx9KUwfI

Hoist up the green and white flag
Cannae hear the home fans sing
Come on Hibees we’ll sing,
We’ll sing on our own (we’ll sing on our own!)
Don’t wanna go home,
Don’t wanna go hooooome,
This is the best trip, I’ve ever been on.

06-03-2012, 06:57 PM
To the tune of the song “Rivers ofBabylon” by Boney M.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2FgDles4xq8&ob=av3e (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2FgDles4xq8&ob=av3e)

We’rethe Hibees from Easter Road
That’swhere we play
Comesee the Hibs
FenlonsGreen and White Army

To the tune of the song “Fields ofAthenry” by The Dubliners.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YtQ6a8gA7qk (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YtQ6a8gA7qk)

All round the fields, of Easter Road
Where once, we watched, the Famous Five play (and could they play!)
Willie Ormond on the wing
We had dreams and songs to sing
Bout the glory, all round the fields, of Easter Road

hailhail22
06-03-2012, 07:09 PM
We all know about 'Hail Hail', 'We are Hibernian FC' etc and these get sung by a lot of fans and is often loud. There has been people asking the questions on here "we need new songs" etc, so there have been new ones getting started of late. Over the course of this season, there have been news songs being sung by Section 43, which are very good, however, they are not really sung by many outside those in the section. Would be class if they became well known and more of the support learnt the words and joined in at the games.

These will all most likely be sung at Ayr, so get learning. :thumbsup:

(Some of these have been sung frequently, some still to get sung)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
To the tune of the song “Take me home, countryroad” by John Denver.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oN86d0CdgHQ

To the place, I belong
To Easter Road, to see the Hibees
(sing twice)

Nanana Hibees, nanana Hibees, nanana, nanana
Leith San Siro, seven zero, take me home, Easter Road.

To the tune of the Balotelli / Borucsong.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i-tagn3lB3I

Ohhh Pa Kujabi,
He is our left back, from Gambia
Ohhh Pa Kujabi

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zdnYFBzouMA

Alee Alee Alay Ohhhh
Hibernian FC
From The Capital

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WR-Gx9KUwfI

Hoist up the green and white flag
Cannae hear the home fans sing
Come on Hibees we’ll sing,
We’ll sing on our own (we’ll sing on our own!)
Don’t wanna go home,
Don’t wanna go hooooome,
This is the best trip, I’ve ever been on.

Think the last 1 is class

Green Cabbage 7
06-03-2012, 08:27 PM
How about this to the tune come on Eileen

Come on hi-bees
Come ooon hi-bees

Griffiths put the ball in the s***bos net
oh hi-bees

06-03-2012, 10:04 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2FgDles4xq8&ob=av3e (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2FgDles4xq8&ob=av3e)

That’swhere we play
Comesee the Hibs

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YtQ6a8gA7qk (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YtQ6a8gA7qk)

The Fields of Athenry one is a cracker! Will be joining in with this one! :flag:

ShanksSaidNo
06-03-2012, 10:49 PM
The Dubliners, Dirty Old Town:

They joined the Hibs, coz the Hearts don't pay
Moved to Leith, and now they hate Gorgie
Hard as nails and they sing hail hail
Fenlon and Brown, Fenlon and Brown

ThirdManRun
06-03-2012, 11:15 PM

Must be the 100th time you've posted this Shanks, gie it a rest eh!

06-03-2012, 11:29 PM

Some of the songs i have posted have been posted over and over, that's how people learn the words. :na na:

ShanksSaidNo
07-03-2012, 10:22 AM

Music folk ken whats gawn oan, ThirdManHun.

pentlando
07-03-2012, 10:33 AM
Any chance of making a thread like this a sticky:dunno:

Chances are when I come back on tomorrow to look at it it'll have sank to page 2 of the forum already. We are in desperate need of new songs that can be easily learned and added to the regular songs we sing each week.

maximushibee
07-03-2012, 10:40 AM

That is brilliant, hahaha although it was the pogues song:agree:

07-03-2012, 10:42 AM
Any chance of making a thread like this a sticky:dunno:

Chances are when I come back on tomorrow to look at it it'll have sank to page 2 of the forum already. We are in desperate need of new songs that can be easily learned and added to the regular songs we sing each week.

:agree: And songs like Take me home, Alee Alee, Hoist up the GaW flag have been sung a lot this season since they were first started, and they sound great. All it takes is more people to join in and then it will sound brilliant. :thumbsup:

07-03-2012, 10:44 AM
That is brilliant, hahaha although it was the pogues song:agree:

Actually it's Ewan MacColl's song. :wink:

07-03-2012, 11:04 AM

That’swhere we play
Comesee the Hibs

The Fields of Athenry one is very good indeed.

ThirdManRun
07-03-2012, 11:22 AM
Music folk ken whats gawn oan, ThirdManHun.

Is that the best you can do Shanky boy? I'm sure there's a new law that can have you arrested for that language!

Trust you to pick a pogues song tho, probably because you're in the corporate box at Celtic 5 times a season. FACT ;)

ShanksSaidNo
07-03-2012, 11:53 AM
Is that the best you can do Shanky boy? I'm sure there's a new law that can have you arrested for that language!

Trust you to pick a pogues song tho, probably because you're in the corporate box at Celtic 5 times a season. FACT ;)

TMR - New songs is just one way of improving all things Hibs related. I'm not so sure your previous suggestions of creating a Pink away strip (a genius marketing ploy don't you know??) and upgrading the catering to include Duck and Hoison wraps will cut it. Does your boyfriend know you post on here now?

ShanksSaidNo
07-03-2012, 12:01 PM
Actually it's Ewan MacColl's song. :wink:

You're quite right, Ewan MacColl did indeed write it. The Dubliners version is the one i am familiar with.. its a decent wee tune.

ThirdManRun
07-03-2012, 12:09 PM
TMR - New songs is just one way of improving all things Hibs related. I'm not so sure your previous suggestions of creating a Pink away strip (a genius marketing ploy don't you know??) and upgrading the catering to include Duck and Hoison wraps will cut it. Does your boyfriend know you post on here now?

You're going off topic Shanky! If you can find any evidence of either of those 'suggestions' I look forward to seeing it...! :p

But yes strips and catering could both be improved. These little things all add to the match day experience and general feel good factor.

07-03-2012, 12:17 PM
Can you not finish this pathetic arguement elsewhere? Stop ruining the thread. :na na:

ThirdManRun
07-03-2012, 12:35 PM
Can you not finish this pathetic arguement elsewhere? Stop ruining the thread. :na na:

Haha don't get your knickers in a twist mate it's just banter. Sorry to detract from the serious business of your song writing. Here's one for you to consider:

We are the 12th man
We've written a song
This is VERY important
So please sing along

To the tune of 'Don't take yourself so seriously'

;)

07-03-2012, 12:43 PM
I don't like the Country Roads song at all. The 'Leith San Siro, seven zero' bit doesn't even make sense as thet game was at Tynecastle.

ThirdManRun
07-03-2012, 12:47 PM
I don't like the Country Roads song at all. The 'Leith San Siro, seven zero' bit doesn't even make sense as thet game was at Tynecastle.

Indeed. If Country Roads is going to work it needs to start "Easter Road take me home..."

And now I have to go and punish myself for contributing seriously to a song thread, which I vowed never to do.

07-03-2012, 12:55 PM
Haha don't get your knickers in a twist mate it's just banter. Sorry to detract from the serious business of your song writing. Here's one for you to consider:

We are the 12th man
We've written a song
This is VERY important
So please sing along

To the tune of 'Don't take yourself so seriously'

;)

Don't mess with sect.43, they do take it seriously. :cb

07-03-2012, 01:03 PM

You could argue that Hail Hail doesn't make sense cos it mentions glory. :na na: :doh:

I think it is really good, sounds great but can understand your point. :agree:

JIm
07-03-2012, 01:33 PM

I heard the fields of Easter Road was your preferred choice :greengrin :cb

JIm
07-03-2012, 02:00 PM
To be fair guys couple of decent songs that would sound great if folk learnt them. Love watching the Rapid Vienna fans, those guys know how to create an atmosphere.

Alee Alee Alay Ohhhh :aok:

07-03-2012, 02:02 PM
Tune: Sloop John B -

Hoist up the Hibees flag,
Another three points in the bag,
Tell all the Hearts you know that they`re gonna go.....
Down the slippery slope, coz they huvnae a HO - O - OPE
They`re no a big team -
They`re just a big joke

Tune: Doh a Deer

We’re the Hibs, the first in green
We’re the best you’ve ever seen
And at Easter Road we stay
For forever and a day.
Playing on the Holy Ground
Where our heroes can be found
Putting hearts on bended knee
And that brings us back to who are we?

Oh, We’re the Hibs, the first in green
For forever and a day.

And on and on and on

Tune: Yankee Doodle Dandy

When the Hibees cross the land, there’s sure to be a story
****ed the jambos seven nil and added to our glory.
Seven nil in Janaury, six two in October.
All the Hibbies having fun and hardly ever sober.

Tune: My old man

My old man said follow the Hibs
And don’t Dilly dally on the way
So there went I with the green flags flying
I was there when the Hearts were crying.
We travelled to Parkhead, Ibrox and Tynie
Watched the Hibs at home and far away
But you won’t feel better than when Hibs are winning
Like they do on Saturday.

JIm
07-03-2012, 02:06 PM
Said Patrick to Michael one fine Saturday,
I'm going to tynecastle to see the Hibs play,
When up popped Pat Stanton and nodded a goal,
Tynecastle erupted in green white and gold
Tooraluu Tooraluu,
Tynecastle erupted in green white and gold!

Tha Cabbage Kid
07-03-2012, 02:50 PM
How about this to the tune come on Eileen

Come on hi-bees
Come ooon hi-bees

oh hi-bees

i love it!! when even i herd that song thats what i song! haha!!:aok:

neilmartinrocks
07-03-2012, 03:28 PM
Oh the Huns in administration they're surely in the *****
And liquidations looming looks like they've lost the fight
But the S.P.L. wont have it and they will try with all their might
Just you wait and see
And the Tims they can celebrate and go out on the lash
... But what are they going to do if the cannae boo " the sash"?
So they wont have it either cause their gonnae miss the cash
Fae the sattelite T.V.

JIm
10-04-2012, 01:51 PM
Guys

Wee suggestion for the Pa Kujabi song:

Ohhh Pa Kujabi,
He;s a Hibee, he hates the Hearts
Ohhh Pa Kujabi

Fits much better?

Everyone else get re-learning for the Semi :flag:

HibernianBohs
10-04-2012, 02:55 PM
From The Water Of Leith
Far Across The Seas
And We Will Fight!Fight!Fight!
For Hibs FC!
Whoah...Whoah...
Wahey...Wahey...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K223hdOvv6o

10-04-2012, 03:07 PM
What's wrong with just sticking to songs people already know?

All this learning new songs is totally cringeworthy, they'll never catch on so it alienates the singing section from the rest of the crowd which is the opposite of what's trying to be achieved surely?

yeezus.
10-04-2012, 03:08 PM

HibernianBohs
10-04-2012, 03:15 PM

All this learning new songs is totally cringeworthy, they'll never catch on so it alienates the singing section from the rest of the crowd which is the opposite of what's trying to be achieved surely?
At away games, people pick up new songs easier because people who might normally sit down at Easter Road will be standing up.
How learning new chants will dilute the atmosphere in any way at all is lost on me.
The words of most of the songs are not too tricky, if people hear a chant and they like it it will catch on eventually as the more who sing the more who hear and the cycle continues :pfgwa

10-04-2012, 03:17 PM

New songs were needed. New songs were made. They are catching on and were posted up so folk know the words.

JIm
10-04-2012, 03:19 PM
At away games, people pick up new songs easier because people who might normally sit down at Easter Road will be standing up.
How learning new chants will dilute the atmosphere in any way at all is lost on me.
The words of most of the songs are not too tricky, if people hear a chant and they like it it will catch on eventually as the more who sing the more who hear and the cycle continues :pfgwa

Exactly. Not everyone will like all the new songs, i certainly dont, but theres some in their that i think have the potential to work. As you say if folk like them then folk will learn them and join in.

I'm all for trying them out and improving the atmosphere whereever possible.

HibernianBohs
10-04-2012, 03:22 PM
Exactly. Not everyone will like all the new songs, i certainly dont, but theres some in their that i think have the potential to work. As you say if folk like them then folk will learn them and join in.

I'm all for trying them out and improving the atmosphere whereever possible.
I hope you like my suggestion :wink:

10-04-2012, 03:23 PM
People who might normally sing won't join in if they don't know the song that's being sung, that's how it can dilute the atmosphere.

I sit one block along from the singing section and I've got no idea what they're singing with these new songs they've made up.

Hope there's none of these songs in this thread sung on Saturday and the fans just stick to the songs folk know as there's no way anyone's going to be Learning the words from a forum.

10-04-2012, 03:27 PM
Thats how songs are started though. Not many will know them, but the more they are sung the more people will learn them.

Fair enough if you don't like them, but new songs are needed.

10-04-2012, 03:27 PM

New songs were needed. New songs were made. They are catching on and were posted up so folk know the words.

Where are they catching on about? Certainly not at easter road!

Don't think new songs were needed at all, maybe if a new player comes in and does well like mcpake has done but no more than that

10-04-2012, 03:28 PM
We are Hibbies through and through, mental, mad and manic...
The last Hibee to see us lift the Cup, went down on the ....
:titanic:

10-04-2012, 03:38 PM
We are Hibbies through and through, mental, mad and manic...
The last Hibee to see us lift the Cup, went down on the ....
:titanic:

Topical if nothing else ... :cool2:

10-04-2012, 03:55 PM
What's that going out for a throw?
Kujabi's free kick, Kujabi's free kick...

Curly1875
10-04-2012, 04:12 PM
:faf::faf::faf:

:thumbsup::thumbsup:

Macaroon
10-04-2012, 05:04 PM
Indeed. If Country Roads is going to work it needs to start "Easter Road take me home..."

And now I have to go and punish myself for contributing seriously to a song thread, which I vowed never to do.

For god sakes you're a Hibs fan. Stop deliberately putting this thread and the singing section down simply to make yourself seem important and big, it's incredibly pretentious.

If you truly support Hibs then you with obviously realise the importance of having a noisy, supportive set of fans that will cheer on the team. And I hardly think you and all the other conceited members of our support who view the singing section as a bad thing are in any way adding to that support.

Macaroon
10-04-2012, 05:05 PM

This may pleasantly surprise you ;) :hibees

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TwcZgdkN19s

Newcastlehibby
10-04-2012, 06:16 PM

They`re no a big team -
They`re just a big joke

For forever and a day.

And on and on and on

10-04-2012, 06:26 PM
This may pleasantly surprise you ;) :hibees

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TwcZgdkN19s

I was sat in the East pondering this last time Kujabi took a free kick.

And then it hit me.

10-04-2012, 09:00 PM

And then it hit me.

10-04-2012, 09:15 PM
People who might normally sing won't join in if they don't know the song that's being sung, that's how it can dilute the atmosphere.I sit one block along from the singing section and I've got no idea what they're singing with these new songs they've made up.Hope there's none of these songs in this thread sung on Saturday and the fans just stick to the songs folk know as there's no way anyone's going to be Learning the words from a forum.Don't panic Bingo...a good number at the Game on Saturday won't have been at a game this season and some not since 2007.....so there will be plenty who needs lessons

seven nowt
10-04-2012, 09:48 PM
I've been a Hibee all of my life, and many a sight I've seen,
God speed the day, when we're on our way,
To **** the Aberdeen!

10-04-2012, 10:26 PM
I like the Turnbull's Tornadoes tune, just think it could do with a more contemporary lyrical content. :agree:
What we need is a well known pop/rock tune, old or new that just needs wee tweek to enable it to relate to Hibs.
Can't deny the fantastic atmosphere when the Green Weejies do their little ditty. :agree:

11-04-2012, 06:20 PM

And then it hit me.

Sure you're not the linesman? :wink:

14-01-2013, 07:26 AM

You still cringing every time Allez Allez rings out BINGO?

Leishy1995
14-01-2013, 09:59 AM

:fenlon

14-01-2013, 10:32 AM

I'm sure there's a great reason for digging up an old thread just to have a pop :rolleyes:

Allez Allez au has caught on because it is catchy and pish easy to remember, containing as it does, just 3 lines.

It's when people post up multi-verse sonatas that Bob Dylan would struggle to reel off that it gets a tad cringey.

All IMO of course.

Shearer
14-01-2013, 10:36 AM

They`re no a big team -
They`re just a big joke

For forever and a day.

And on and on and on

I know this is an old thread but that Doh a Deer song is a CRACKER!

Would be great to get that going