View Full Version : Garry O's lawyer found dead

04-03-2012, 01:39 PM
Has died in Pakistan apparently. Involved in numerous football-related controversies, but highly respected by his colleagues.

RIP.

04-03-2012, 01:40 PM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/2012/03/04/top-scottish-lawyer-paul-mcbride-found-dead-in-hotel-room-in-pakistan-86908-23775090/ :confused:

04-03-2012, 01:41 PM
Paul McBride QC has been found dead in a hotel room in Pakistan.

Family friend says he died in his sleep.

04-03-2012, 01:41 PM
http://news.stv.tv/scotland/299722-top-qc-paul-mcbride-found-dead-in-hotel-room/

Mark79
04-03-2012, 01:47 PM
Is he not Garry oconnors lawyer?

04-03-2012, 01:50 PM

He was

Mark79
04-03-2012, 01:53 PM
He was

Did think that after I posted that.

04-03-2012, 01:54 PM

He was his advocate, so GoC's solicitor will have to approach someone else to take the case on.

Unlikely to affect GoC's case as it was postponed until May anyway.

04-03-2012, 02:05 PM
Has died in Pakistan apparently. Involved in numerous football-related controversies, but highly respected by his colleagues.

RIP.

A very strange and enigmatic individual. Maybe this was no great surprise.

Politically he shifted from Labour to Conservative to Independent over a two year period.

One of the worst examples of 'Celtic-mindedness' and personifies all that is wrong with West of Scotland culture.

He accused Hibs fans of singing pro-IRA songs to deflect criticism away from Celtc. Aye maybe in the early 1970s!

He was becoming the Catholic 'alter ego' of Donald Finlay QC.

I do not think he will be greatly missed other than by the criminal community.

04-03-2012, 02:08 PM
Not a great loss to the world.

04-03-2012, 02:11 PM
Sounds like he was an odd character. The only time I ever heard of him is when he was talking unsubstantiated pish about our fans.

04-03-2012, 02:21 PM
will be intrigued to find out the details....very odd Indeed.

04-03-2012, 02:21 PM
i feel for his family but im not going to change my opinion of him because if his death

04-03-2012, 02:27 PM
Told lies about Hibs fans so i wont shed a tear.

04-03-2012, 02:34 PM
I am Jack's complete lack of sympathy.

blaikie
04-03-2012, 03:09 PM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/2012/03/04/top-scottish-lawyer-paul-mcbride-found-dead-in-hotel-room-in-pakistan-86908-23775090/ :confused:

Shocking news, Thoughts with his family.

04-03-2012, 03:30 PM
Told lies about Hibs fans so i wont shed a tear.

04-03-2012, 03:31 PM

http://files.sharenator.com/anchorman_ron_burgundy_stay_classy_san_diego_small _RE_The_Fall-s180x180-176403.gif

04-03-2012, 03:41 PM
Still a human life at the end of the day.

The guy said a few stupid things and was a bit controversial to try and maintain a public profile. Unless something particularly nasty comes out in the aftermath I have sympathy for both him and his family.

04-03-2012, 03:48 PM
The guy told bare faced lies about the Hibernian support on a national platform. It had the potential to tar us with the same brush as Celtic in the eyes of the general public, a link that is neither correct nor is it in any way justified.

Having said that, it was hardly the crime of the century and whilst I will personally not be all that sorry to never hear of him again, I do feel for his family and those who knew him personally.

04-03-2012, 03:53 PM
Still a human life at the end of the day.

The guy said a few stupid things and was a bit controversial to try and maintain a public profile. Unless something particularly nasty comes out in the aftermath I have sympathy for both him and his family.

Did you know him personally?

I always find it hard to understand why people now have to express sympathy for someone they didn't even know just because it was someone who was, to some degree, well known. I don't remember it being like that until Princess Diana died, like something has changed in the social landscape that makes people feel for total strangers, or at least appear to.

(Not a dig at you PB, just talking generally)

The only thing I know him for was being a total twat by trying to deflect attention from his beloved Celtc by telling lies about the Hibs support. I know nothing of the man aside from that.

04-03-2012, 03:55 PM
Neither up nor down about this to be honest.

04-03-2012, 03:58 PM
Did you know him personally?

I always find it hard to understand why people now have to express sympathy for someone they didn't even know just because it was someone who was, to some degree, well known. I don't remember it being like that until Princess Diana died, like something has changed in the social landscape that makes people feel for total strangers, or at least appear to.

(Not a dig at you PB, just talking generally)

The only thing I know him for was being a total twat by trying to deflect attention from his beloved Celtc by telling lies about the Hibs support. I know nothing of the man aside from that.

I actually did meet him a couple of times at charity events. Only exchanged a few words but he seemed ok.

I don't see any harm in expressing sympathy when someone dies. Mass outpourings of grief about strangers I don't get. However I've lost 2 close family members when they were very young so I have a reasonable idea of what his family are going through, therefore yes I do have sympathy, the same as I'd have for anyone in that position. Famous or otherwise.

04-03-2012, 03:59 PM
I actually did meet him a couple of times at charity events. Only exchanged a few words but he seemed ok.

I don't see any harm in expressing sympathy when someone dies. Mass outpourings of grief about strangers I don't get. However I've lost 2 close family members when they were very young so I have a reasonable idea of what his family are going through, therefore yes I do have sympathy.

In that case, fair enough. I totaly agree with your other point about the mass outpouring of grief. I just don't get that either.

04-03-2012, 04:24 PM
Personally, I don't understand the need to express an opinion about it. Why do we feel we have to do that? Is it because he was well known? Yes, it is sad, but many people die every day and it's always sad. To be clear, I also think some of the comments here are pretty unnecessary- it's a lack of basic human decency to speak ill of the dead imho. What I am asking, is why we always feel the need to pronounce some kind of judgement on people we don't know? Human nature? Or a continuing obssession within society towards anybody who is vaguely famous?

04-03-2012, 04:33 PM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/rangers/2012/02/16/scottish-football-needs-stricter-criteria-to-stop-unfit-people-taking-over-our-clubs-says-top-lawyer-paul-mcbride-86908-23753321/

I would agree with him 100% on this. Even taking into account his Celtic point of view.

And I didn't know him personally, so I won't pretend to feel any sense of personal loss. But a young man dying suddenly does tend to put things into perspective. Especially so suddenly, and especially away from his own people, and alone.

Send not to know for whom the bell tolls, and all that. We none of us leave this world alive, and his family must be devastated.

04-03-2012, 04:33 PM
I don't wish death on anyone but I won't pretend to be particularly bothered about it.

04-03-2012, 04:48 PM
On some occasions people might need to start reflecting "if they have nothing good to say then say nothing at all."

Some comments on this thread unnecessary.:tsk tsk:

04-03-2012, 05:23 PM
http://files.sharenator.com/anchorman_ron_burgundy_stay_classy_san_diego_small _RE_The_Fall-s180x180-176403.gif

I don't think it lacks class to think exactly the same as someone when they are dead as you did when they were alive.

I thought he was a fairly reprehensible character and now he's a dead one.

04-03-2012, 05:25 PM
On some occasions people might need to start reflecting "if they have nothing good to say then say nothing at all."

Why? If I don't feel any loss I should just shut up?

I didn't like him when he was alive and he hasn't suddenly earned any respect by dying.

It's a funny view of life and death that some have that suddenly we alll have to be either nice about people or can't speak.

04-03-2012, 05:36 PM
Couldn't really give a flying fox whether he's deed or no to be honest.

I find that a lot of people get far too sensitive when it comes to the death of twats/people they don't know. People seem to change a little when they hear these things, making out that some form of unwarranted respect should be shown, and it irks me a little bit.

He was a pish-spouter, what has changed? He died? So what...

04-03-2012, 05:38 PM
Feel sorry for his family and close friends, but you can't feel any real loss for a stranger. From his TV appearances, and what he said in the media, it was not always clear, what his motivation was nor where his drive came from and TBH, I am not so sure I wanted to know.

Corstorphine Hibby
04-03-2012, 05:42 PM
[QUOTE=Andy74;3136020]Why? If I don't feel any loss I should just shut up?

I didn't like him when he was alive and he hasn't suddenly earned any respect by dying.

It's a funny view of life and death that some have that suddenly we alll have to be either nice about people or can't speak.[/QUOTE

Maybe some people have a view that there should be a degree of respect for the dead and the deceased loved ones. You clearly don't.

04-03-2012, 05:50 PM
I don't think it lacks class to think exactly the same as someone when they are dead as you did when they were alive.

I thought he was a fairly reprehensible character and now he's a dead one.

I thought your comment lacked a great deal of class. It wasn't about his character either. No-one is asking you to respect him because he has died but a bit of basic decency wouldn't go amiss.

If one of the finest legal minds in the country is 'no great loss' because he was a bit of an egotist, I dread to think what you're going to say when Fred Goodwin passes.

04-03-2012, 05:50 PM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/rangers/2012/02/16/scottish-football-needs-stricter-criteria-to-stop-unfit-people-taking-over-our-clubs-says-top-lawyer-paul-mcbride-86908-23753321/

I would agree with him 100% on this. Even taking into account his Celtic point of view.

And I didn't know him personally, so I won't pretend to feel any sense of personal loss. But a young man dying suddenly does tend to put things into perspective.

Send not to know for whom the bell tolls, and all that.

this ^^ but this as well:

And a fare-you-well!
And a sullen plunge
In the sullen swell,
Ten fathoms deep on the road to hell!

04-03-2012, 05:53 PM

Just what I was going to say.

04-03-2012, 06:08 PM

It's a funny view of life and death that some have that suddenly we alll have to be either nice about people or can't speak.

It's kind of like the Great Waldo situation. I had absolutely no respect for him when he was alive - so he sure as hell wasn't going to earn it when he died. In saying that, I have no opinion on McBride's passing one way or the other.

04-03-2012, 06:10 PM

But woulod you agree with him on this one:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/15746873

04-03-2012, 06:17 PM

Couldn't really give a flying fox whether he's deed or no to be honest.

I find that a lot of people get far too sensitive when it comes to the death of twats/people they don't know. People seem to change a little when they hear these things, making out that some form of unwarranted respect should be shown, and it irks me a little bit.

He was a pish-spouter, what has changed? He died? So what...

04-03-2012, 06:25 PM
Nobody is asking folk for sympathy. If you didn't like him then fair enough. But the guy's dead, there's no point in coming on to post about what an arse he was. Totally classless and something I'd expect on kickback.

04-03-2012, 06:26 PM

Agree completely. It's sad that an event like this brings out the Hibs.net lunatic fringe who feel the need to make a point, and ironic that they utterly fail to to realise that the only point they are actually making is to reaffirm their lunacy, or at the very least their lack of decency.

aljo7-0
04-03-2012, 06:30 PM
We are all entitled to our own opinion and to make comments based on that opinion.

I was brought up to be respectful and to bow my head if a hearse or funeral cortege goes by. I don't know who is in that coffin but I will give them and their family a wee piece of respect by bowing my head. I didn't like a lot of the public comments by Mr McBride and was particularly angry about him wrongly bringing Hibs in as a shield for his team but I respect the fact that he was a very good criminal defence lawyer and clearly had a passion for his team.

We don't know the circumstances of his death as such but his family will no doubt be shocked and devasted at losing him and so suddenly. I am sorry for them as I can imagine how I would feel if that had ben my brother. Having a go at him after his death .... well that's up to those that want to do it. I'm not one of them. Just my thoughts.

04-03-2012, 06:39 PM
I thought your comment lacked a great deal of class. It wasn't about his character either. No-one is asking you to respect him because he has died but a bit of basic decency wouldn't go amiss.

If one of the finest legal minds in the country is 'no great loss' because he was a bit of an egotist, I dread to think what you're going to say when Fred Goodwin passes.
He will be no great loss either. What's your point exactly? I've no class because I'm not going to be hypocritical about it?

I didn't like him. He's dead. I still don't like him. Nothing there to get too worried about.

04-03-2012, 06:50 PM
But woulod you agree with him on this one:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/15746873

To say we don't have bigots at our club is a tad naive IMO. We've even got them on here. Unfortunately bigotry is a part of our national make up and having read the article in your link I think that's all he was trying to say.

04-03-2012, 07:04 PM
I disagree with those posters who state that we shouldn't change our opinion of Paul McBride QC now that he is dead.

I have changed my opinion from He is a ****-stirring bigoted ****wit to He was a ****-stirring bigoted ****wit.

04-03-2012, 07:14 PM
He will be no great loss either. What's your point exactly? I've no class because I'm not going to be hypocritical about it?

I didn't like him. He's dead. I still don't like him. Nothing there to get too worried about.

He will be a great loss though.

Maybe not to you or I,,however he is somebodies husband, father, uncle, brother, son etc etc and to them he's a massive loss. As he will be to his chosen profession.

I don't disagree with your point that you shouldn't be a hypocrite and get all misty eyed about him now he's dead, that wasn't what you said in your original post though.

04-03-2012, 07:15 PM
I disagree with those posters who state that we shouldn't change our opinion of Paul McBride QC now that he is dead.

I have changed my opinion from He is a ****-stirring bigoted ****wit to He was a ****-stirring bigoted ****wit.

No need.

04-03-2012, 07:16 PM

Classy.

04-03-2012, 07:32 PM

Bigoted? You'll find he was one of the only people connected with Celtic to actually support the Scottish government in trying to deal with sectarianism and the new legislation, if you cared to look.

He was an opportunist who liked to see his face in the papers and was deliberately wide of the mark with Hibs, being indifferent about him dying is fine, if you're so indifferent why not keep it to yourself?

04-03-2012, 07:32 PM
Hopefully this thread will remain a bit more tasteful than the one on the main board.

Capt Mainwaring
04-03-2012, 07:38 PM

You are a classless prat!

04-03-2012, 07:40 PM
Never speak ill about the dead.

04-03-2012, 07:41 PM

deary me

machibby
04-03-2012, 07:44 PM

The word pathetic doesn't even come close to describing your post here.

blueisthecolour
04-03-2012, 07:45 PM
Gary O had just left hibs training ground about 30 mins before the news broke, not sure if 1st team were training, he was the only player I seen, pat fenlon was watchin u17 and u15 games against motherwell.

04-03-2012, 07:50 PM
How old was he? I'm unhappy with his remarks re Hibs, but I know very little about the man, so won't make any value judgement.

04-03-2012, 07:50 PM
He made a comment which people here disagreed with and that's his whole life judged and written off?

You didn't know him. You'd never met him. You don't know why he said what he said.

Are you really so superficial?

04-03-2012, 07:51 PM
How old was he? I'm unhappy with his remarks re Hibs, but I know very little about the man, so won't make any value judgement.

04-03-2012, 07:52 PM

Exactly.

Imagine if we were all condemned for every ill advised or erroneous comment we made.

04-03-2012, 07:52 PM
He made a comment which people here disagreed with and that's his whole life judged and written off?

You didn't know him. You'd never met him. You don't know why he said what he said.

Are you really so superficial?

Exactly, the guy was a high profile lawyer who made some silly remarks about Hibs, he was hardly in Hitlers league.

04-03-2012, 07:54 PM

That's no age for anyone.

04-03-2012, 07:59 PM

You're trying a bit of revisionism now. Your original post was nothing to do with not liking him or not changing that opinion (and I haven't suggested that you should).

My point is that your comment about him being 'no great loss to the world' is patently pish and pretty classless.

I used to have a neighbour that I disliked intensely before he died. In the grand scheme of things, his 'crimes against me' weren't that bad though so I didn't feel the need to piss on his grave or give him a GIRFUY before his body was cold.

blaikie
04-03-2012, 08:00 PM
Loss to his profession, And its tragic for Paul McBrides family that he passed away so suddenly. Regardless of what he said about the Hibs support, bit of respect should be shown by deleting the comments that are border line yamish.

04-03-2012, 08:01 PM

I'm surprised at you, Andy.

That's a horrible and utterly unnecessary comment.

04-03-2012, 08:02 PM
I'm appalled at some of the bigoted comments on this thread. I didn't agree with some of what he said but, to my knowledge, he didn't kill anyone. The people who choose to make derogatory comments about someone who has died, just to show other they are not 'hypocrites', belong on kickback or rangersmedia.

Corstorphine Hibby
04-03-2012, 08:03 PM

You've no class because you have to share it rather than keep shtum. There again, sad post counters like you can't help yourselves.

04-03-2012, 08:05 PM
You've no class because you have to share it rather than keep shtum. There again, sad post counters like you can't help yourselves.

In fairness Andy generally comes accross as a decent guy who has said something you and I both disagree with on this thread, not sure it merits him being personally insulted imo.

04-03-2012, 08:09 PM
In fairness Andy generally comes accross as a decent guy who has said something you and I both disagree with on this thread, not sure it merits him being personally insulted imo.

Oh the irony!

04-03-2012, 08:10 PM
Oh the irony!

?

04-03-2012, 08:12 PM

Lets see now............... - Finally, a loss from RBS thats welcomed by shareholders

- Goodbye Mr Chips

- Sir Fred....Fred...dead...

- Can I have my knighthood back now?

04-03-2012, 08:13 PM
?

Not aimed at you.

Andy made a comment that folk don't like and he's being criticised for it.

Andy has written off Paul McBride for doing the same.

04-03-2012, 08:18 PM
Not aimed at you.

Andy made a comment that folk don't like and he's being criticised for it.

Andy has written off Paul McBride for doing the same.

Sorry radge, read it as a dig at me but couldn't work it out.

04-03-2012, 08:51 PM
Mods...can I respectfully ask that this thread be moved to a more appropriate forum...

Nothing to do with Hibs or any other Football club....:aok:

04-03-2012, 08:58 PM
I'm surprised at you, Andy.

That's a horrible and utterly unnecessary comment.

I agree, and that comment surprised me too.

04-03-2012, 10:36 PM
Like alot of lawyers he came across as a dislikeable egotist. I didn't like a lot of stuff he said and i think if anything he helped cause the Lennon problems by stirring up a "them against us" conspiracy regarding Celtic and the rest of Scotland.

It's still a shame for his family that he died, but I think people like him do more damage than good to the world.

Just my opinion!

04-03-2012, 10:46 PM
At the end of the day the guy had a family, and whilst I did not like him for his comments he was still a human being. Devestating for his family and friends.

Twa Cairpets
04-03-2012, 11:03 PM
Why is it acceptable to slate someone for their views when alive, but not when they're dead?

McBrides views don't become less worthy of scorn or review now he's dead, surely. As long as there no glorifying the fact that he is dead, which is not decent on any scale, there shouldn't be a lessening of the opprobrium heaped on his views and their malign influence.

04-03-2012, 11:31 PM
Why is it acceptable to slate someone for their views when alive, but not when they're dead?

McBrides views don't become less worthy of scorn or review now he's dead, surely. As long as there no glorifying the fact that he is dead, which is not decent on any scale, there shouldn't be a lessening of the opprobrium heaped on his views and their malign influence.

I don't think anyone is suggesting that you shouldn't be able to disagree with someone's views simply because they're dead, however showing a bit of class and polite restraint in doing so immediately after their death is surely not too much to ask?

FWIW, I was angered by his comments about Hibs, which I thoroughly disagreed with. However, he is a big loss the Scottish legal world. A trailblazer in many respects and, in that regard, I think we're worse off as a nation without someone of his talent.

There's a lot more to consider about Paul McBride's life than what team he supports and his misguided criticism of the team we support.

05-03-2012, 12:00 AM
I don't think anyone is suggesting that you shouldn't be able to disagree with someone's views simply because they're dead, however showing a bit of class and polite restraint in doing so immediately after their death is surely not too much to ask?

FWIW, I was angered by his comments about Hibs, which I thoroughly disagreed with. However, he is a big loss the Scottish legal world. A trailblazer in many respects and, in that regard, I think we're worse off as a nation without someone of his talent.

There's a lot more to consider about Paul McBride's life than what team he supports and his misguided criticism of the team we support.

About sums it up for me. Whatever we think of an individual or their views, we have all lost people close to us, or all will at some stage of our lives. A little bit of human empathy might not be amiss here. We shouldn't change our view of somebody when they die; but immediately after their death is certainly not the appropriate time to share to the world your personal view of them.

I heartily detest the pornography of grieving over strangers, and I've posted about this before here. I also dislike its counterpart, the callous, unforgiving trashing of dead strangers over some relatively trivial comments.

El Gubbz
05-03-2012, 05:50 AM
Personally, I don't understand the need to express an opinion about it. Why do we feel we have to do that? Is it because he was well known? Yes, it is sad, but many people die every day and it's always sad. To be clear, I also think some of the comments here are pretty unnecessary- it's a lack of basic human decency to speak ill of the dead imho. What I am asking, is why we always feel the need to pronounce some kind of judgement on people we don't know? Human nature? Or a continuing obssession within society towards anybody who is vaguely famous?
To be fair he had an opinion on everything he had nothing to do with. It's a bit like Whitney Houston and all these other "celebrities" who die, I don't know them, don't necessary like them just gives me something to talk about when conversation dies at work

05-03-2012, 06:15 AM

It's not about his views (on football and sectarianism), which were pish a lot of the time. It's about basic human decency and not pissing on his grave before his corpse is cold.

I've no problem with someone saying "he talked nonsense" or "I didn't agree with him". I do have a problem (and it seems that I'm far from alone) with "good riddance" or "no great loss" for someone whose greatest crime was saying something that we didn't like. He didn't kill anyone, he didn't hurt anyone and, despite what some would like to think, contributed a fair amount to his profession, the debate about sectarianism and the country. If he's 'no great loss', there must be some ultra-high achievers spending their time on hibs.net.

05-03-2012, 07:58 AM
A poignant little twist to this tale.

On Saturday, a dog that used to be owned by PM was run over and killed.

Reunited?

Twa Cairpets
05-03-2012, 09:01 AM
It's not about his views (on football and sectarianism), which were pish a lot of the time. It's about basic human decency and not pissing on his grave before his corpse is cold.

I've no problem with someone saying "he talked nonsense" or "I didn't agree with him". I do have a problem (and it seems that I'm far from alone) with "good riddance" or "no great loss" for someone whose greatest crime was saying something that we didn't like. He didn't kill anyone, he didn't hurt anyone and, despite what some would like to think, contributed a fair amount to his profession, the debate about sectarianism and the country. If he's 'no great loss', there must be some ultra-high achievers spending their time on hibs.net.

Yep, I agree with this. I suppose my concern was that there would some kind of papering-over the views he spouted on sectarianism as a result of his death.

DBS makes a good point about the "RIP" culture regarding strangers, and he's right in that it works both ways.

05-03-2012, 01:08 PM
Okay, I've read and taken on board the comments on here, and would point out mine was one of many with the same type of opinion.

I'm not going to take back what I've said though, I'm not celebrating his death, I'm not coming on here to call him anything, I'm putting forward my view that the world is no worse a place now than it was when he was here. I know him, and I know many people who have worked with him on a daily basis, well before his recent public offerings and he was the type of person that this country could do without and which holds us back, regardless of how sharp his mind was.

That was my view when he was here so it would be rather strange for me to think the opposite now that he isn't. And I don't think that because I have this view I should just say nowt.

Death to me doesn't gain you any additional respect and I have not said anyhting abusive towards him.

Someone mentioned Fred Goodwin above, a bit odd and a bit of a giveaway that the person who said it would feel the same way that I do about Paul McBride if Fred was to go. I'll bet there are many people that if you were to be told they had died you'd say ah well, the world moves on in no worse a way than it did before. That's all.

05-03-2012, 01:29 PM
Someone mentioned Fred Goodwin above, a bit odd and a bit of a giveaway that the person who said it would feel the same way that I do about Paul McBride if Fred was to go.

Not at all. I just find it a bit odd that you've defended Goodwin in the past but think that a top QC is not great loss. I probably should have left him out of it though.

05-03-2012, 01:48 PM
this ^^ but this as well:

And a fare-you-well!
And a sullen plunge
In the sullen swell,
Ten fathoms deep on the road to hell!

:bitchy:

The one thing we ALL share is our mortality, is what I meant. You need to take a hard look at yourself.

Exactly, Beefster. Some of the posts on this thread are totally indefensible. I hope the ones who're coming out with "good riddance" and "no great loss" and so on find a little more charity from the people around them when they're on THEIR death-beds.

05-03-2012, 04:09 PM
:bitchy:

The one thing we ALL share is our mortality, is what I meant. You need to take a hard look at yourself.

Exactly, Beefster. Some of the posts on this thread are totally indefensible. I hope the ones who're coming out with "good riddance" and "no great loss" and so on find a little more charity from the people around them when they're on THEIR death-beds.

So your views are right and someone else's are indefensible?

Rubbish.

We all have our own views of death. We all die and I will expect no more respect when dead than I would have liked when alive.

My view is that you earn your respect in everything that you do in life and if you haven't done so then you fully accept that people will see your death as no great loss to the wider world.

Of course there is loss for friends and family and I will always have sympathy for their position and for the real loss that they will feel.

Some religious types think that sinners are deserving of eternal hell and damnation. How about that? Not that I'm suggesting that the chap in question was a sinner, though he did tell some porky pies. It does show that that not everyone has this view that all people who are dead deserve either respect and good wishes or otherwise we should just say nowt.

So, Christians, are they all needing to take a look at themselves and is their view indefensible?

05-03-2012, 04:19 PM

Rubbish.

We all have our own views of death. We all die and I will expect no more respect when dead than I would have liked when alive.

My view is that you earn your respect in everything that you do in life and if you haven't done so then you fully accept that people will see your death as no great loss to the wider world.

Of course there is loss for friends and family and I will always have sympathy for their position and for the real loss that they will feel.

Some religious types think that sinners are deserving of eternal hell and damnation. How about that? Not that I'm suggesting that the chap in question was a sinner, though he did tell some porky pies. It does show that that not everyone has this view that all people who are dead deserve either respect and good wishes or otherwise we should just say nowt.

So, Christians, are they all needing to take a look at themselves and is their view indefensible?

I wasn't thinking about respect. I was thinking about compassion and charity.

And I wasn't posting as a Christian - I was posting on the basis of common human decency. Some of the posts in the threads about this man wouldn't be out of place on FF or JKB.

If someone said those things about someone whom I loved who had just died, I'd deck them and they'd deserve it.

Those were the ones I was criticising. But since you clearly consider that I was entirely out of order in doing so, can I assume you endorse what these posts say about him?

... or do you also feel that some of these posts have crossed a line?

05-03-2012, 05:49 PM

Rubbish.

In that case why post the pish you have posted on an internet forum where for all you know some of those mentioned may read?

05-03-2012, 06:49 PM
Would there be the same calls for decency and compassion if it had been Margaret Thatcher or Tony Blair that had just died?

Certainly our sympathies should be with his family, partner and friends at this time. But that doesn't change how we regarded him in life and for those who didn't like him it would be hypocritical to say anything else.

05-03-2012, 07:06 PM
Would there be the same calls for decency and compassion if it had been Margaret Thatcher or Tony Blair that had just died?

Certainly our sympathies should be with his family, partner and friends at this time. But that doesn't change how we regarded him in life and for those who didn't like him it would be hypocritical to say anything else.

One would hope that there would be, for the same reasons. One would also hope that those who didn't want to express those sentiments would stay off such threads.

Wouldn't happen though.

05-03-2012, 07:56 PM

We mustn't be hypocritical, must we? :rolleyes:

There's an often-articulated opinion among posters on this forum that Hbs supporters are a bit more civilised and decent than certain other teams' supporters.

Posts and threads from forums like JKB, FF and Kerrydale Street are sometimes quoted as illustrations of "things us Hibees would never say" - LOTS of self-congratulation ensues - but it's OK to abuse and insult the memory of a man before the post-mortem on his body's done?

Aye, right.

05-03-2012, 08:09 PM

Yes. No doubt there would also be indecent posts, and probably a greater proportion of them, but that still wouldn't make it right.

(It also strikes me as odd that people would rather be accused of indecency than hypocrisy. It would be both decent and non-hypocritical to just say nothing.)

05-03-2012, 08:51 PM
It would be both decent and non-hypocritical to just say nothing.

05-03-2012, 09:07 PM
Discretion is the better part of valour on RIP threads.

People seem to forget that the clock ticks for us all.

05-03-2012, 09:13 PM

All that really needs to be said, surely.

05-03-2012, 09:15 PM
All that really needs to be said, surely.

Done.

05-03-2012, 10:17 PM
He wasn't a monstrous figure and he has now died relatively young, alone and clearly in his professional prime. That would be tragic for any family.

I don't think this thread reflects well on us at all. It wants closing.

06-03-2012, 09:37 AM

People seem to forget that the clock ticks for us all.

It's not an RIP thread. It's a thread about the fact the guy has died.

If this was a thread for those who wanted to pay tribute to him then some of these comments may be valid and of course it would be inappropriate to post if you didn't want to pay an respects.

I'm very much aware that we all die, that's a big part of why I can't get all precious about it and don't beleive that death entitles you to nothing but kind comments.

Anyway, no comment from Chrisitans who believe that anyone who has sinned deserves an afterlife of eternal hell?? Saying that someone would be no great loss is quite tame in comparison is it not? (Again, not saying that he fits into this category just an example of how a very large faith that some who have commented on this thread subscribe to has a view of death that doesn't seem to me fit with all being deserving of nothing but nice things being said or nothing at all).

06-03-2012, 09:44 AM
Anyway, no comment from Chrisitans who believe that anyone who has sinned deserves an afterlife of eternal hell?? Saying that someone would be no great loss is quite tame in comparison is it not? (Again, not saying that he fits into this category just an example of how a very large faith that some who have commented on this thread subscribe to has a view of death that doesn't seem to me fit with all being deserving of nothing but nice things being said or nothing at all).

A good point. Compared with the eternal torment of fiery hell, a few choice words on a message board is nothing.

khib70
06-03-2012, 10:18 AM

You're a disgrace to a Hibs message board and if I was an admin I'd empty you.

Mind you some of the brainless posts by others on this thread probably attract classless trolls like you. There are times the Hibs community is seriously let down by some of his members.

Yes, the guy said some inaccurate things about Hibs' fans behaviour - does that really justify some of the compasionless, tunnel-visioned, callous keech posted by some who should clearly know better?

My sympathies go out to his family, colleagues and associates

And to anyone unfortunate enough to know you

06-03-2012, 11:03 AM
You're a disgrace to a Hibs message board and if I was an admin I'd empty you.

Mind you some of the brainless posts by others on this thread probably attract classless trolls like you. There are times the Hibs community is seriously let down by some of his members.

Yes, the guy said some inaccurate things about Hibs' fans behaviour - does that really justify some of the compasionless, tunnel-visioned, callous keech posted by some who should clearly know better?

My sympathies go out to his family, colleagues and associates

And to anyone unfortunate enough to know you

The poster's wording was maybe strong but your response is showing more abuse and less respect towards some of us living people than you have accused people of showing towards a dead person.

Is that how it works? You can be personally abusive towards people who are just putting forward a view on a messageboard but being dead is where you have to turn nice? Strange way to live.

khib70
06-03-2012, 12:16 PM
The poster's wording was maybe strong but your response is showing more abuse and less respect towards some of us living people than you have accused people of showing towards a dead person.

Is that how it works? You can be personally abusive towards people who are just putting forward a view on a messageboard but being dead is where you have to turn nice? Strange way to live.

Nothing strange about it. The poster in question, and to a lesser extent, yourself , have chosen to act in a callous and ignorant manner over the death of a fellow human being. Mainly because he supports a different football team and once made an inaccurate statement about Hibs fans.

That kind of behaviour is abusive and disrespectful, yet you, apparently expect respect in return.

Keep expecting

gringojoe
06-03-2012, 01:08 PM
Allegations that Paul McBride QC was poisoned have been denied by the hotel chef Sashma Fatherwore.....

06-03-2012, 01:36 PM
Nothing strange about it. The poster in question, and to a lesser extent, yourself , have chosen to act in a callous and ignorant manner over the death of a fellow human being. Mainly because he supports a different football team and once made an inaccurate statement about Hibs fans.

That kind of behaviour is abusive and disrespectful, yet you, apparently expect respect in return.

Keep expecting

You are rather illustrating my point very well.

You earn respect, same applies when you are dead for me.

I've said above I know the guy and know many other people who know and work with him.

It's my opinion from that that the world will be no worse a place without him.

You've reacted to what you have seen as a lack of respect and decided to dish out some abuse. That's what happens and for me being dead isn't a reason to suddenly either show respect or say nothing.

You've chosen to highlight others behaviour though and comment on it, yet you have shown exactly the same, and it could be said, even more disrespect. It makes your complaints a bit pointless.