View Full Version : Match Updates Official Match: Hibernian F.C. vs St Mirren Match Day Thread 03/03/12 Easter Road 3pm

jon paul jones
03-03-2012, 09:35 AM
Hibs hope to earn back to back SPL victories in a vital home clash with the Saints

Edinburgh is overcast with rain expected from 12:00 through to 18:00 and a balmy 8-9 degrees Celsius according to BBC Weather

Season ticket: check
Scarf: check
Up for it: Check
Confident: Check
Goals: Yes please

Any team news anyone?

GG2TH

03-03-2012, 09:40 AM
Hibs hope to earn back to back SPL victories in a vital home clash with the Saints

Edinburgh is overcast with rain expected from 12:00 through to 18:00 and a balmy 8-9 degrees Celsius according to BBC Weather

Season ticket: check
Scarf: check
Up for it: Check
Confident: Check
Goals: Yes please

Any team news anyone?

GG2TH

Soares and Stack are doubts with injuries. Booth is back, but Murray and Gailbraith miss out due to injury.

03-03-2012, 09:50 AM
Soares, its a shame if this guy is injury prone. Need a settled team the now!!!!!

marti1875
03-03-2012, 10:04 AM
As mentioned in another thread already this morning SSN is saying Soares and Stack are both doubts and Booth is still out.
Yet in yesterdays EEN there's a 2 page spread with an interview with Soares stating that he's looking forward to todays game and hoping to get another win and improve our dismal home record.

Also in the squad news in the same article there is no mention of any injuries and says it would be no surprise if we name an unchanged side that won last week??

03-03-2012, 11:28 AM
Scotsman says Danny GRAINGER injured for Hibs.:doh::wtf:

03-03-2012, 11:40 AM
More bad news - Andy Walker was on At The Races Betting show and is tipping us to win.

03-03-2012, 12:12 PM
Really looking forwart to the game today, its been a while since I felt like this. C mon the cabbage.

03-03-2012, 12:20 PM

Again?!

03-03-2012, 12:25 PM
Another three points today would be huge. Hopefully the Killie win has inspired some confidence and we'll get a good performance, but any win shall be gratefully accepted and celebrated :flag:

03-03-2012, 12:43 PM
heading off soon - hope for a wee bit more progress, signs of a more settled team and formation..

We now have 7/8 players who are automatic picks so we are getting there.. I am starting to beleive we have just a glimmer of the chance of progressing in the cup as a releif from just getting over the line still in the spl....assuming there are enough solvent clubs for there to be a league next year :rolleyes:

2-1 Hibs Sparky and Osborne

marti1875
03-03-2012, 12:50 PM

God, they STILL got Danny Grainger playing for us, thought someone might've realised by now :doh:

03-03-2012, 02:06 PM
Stack
Francomb
McPake
Hanlon
Kujabi
Claros
Osbourne
Stevenson
Sproule
O'Donovan
Griffiths

Subs: Brown, O'Hanlon, Wotherspoon, O'Connor, Doyle, Towell, Doherty

03-03-2012, 02:08 PM
BREAKING NEWS Hibernian: Stack, Francomb, McPake, Hanlon, Kujabi, Claros, Osbourne, Stevenson, Sproule, O’Donovan, Griffiths #hibernian (http://www.hibs.net/#!/search/%23hibernian)

SUBS: Brown, O'Hanlon, Wotherspoon, O'Connor, Doyle, Towell, Doherty #hibernian (http://www.hibs.net/#!/search/%23hibernian) #monthecabbage (http://www.hibs.net/#!/search/%23monthecabbage) #ggtth (http://www.hibs.net/#!/search/%23ggtth)

INJURY NEWS: Tom Soares failed a fitness test after failing to recover from a dead leg #hibernian (http://www.hibs.net/#!/search/%23hibernian)

03-03-2012, 02:11 PM
Stack
Francomb
McPake
Hanlon
Kujabi
Claros
Osbourne
Stevenson
Sproule
O'Donovan
Griffiths

Subs: Brown, O'Hanlon, Wotherspoon, O'Connor, Doyle, Towell, Doherty

A guinea pig should be in the starting 11 ahead of Ivan :)

03-03-2012, 02:14 PM
Ivan will do well if given the correct service. Let's support him from the start

03-03-2012, 02:17 PM
Has draw written all over it IMO

03-03-2012, 02:17 PM
Ivan will do well if given the correct service. Let's support him from the start

Hopefully he was watching Soares last week and the positions he took up. Sproule has not done nowt for me this season to merit a starting berth. That is however only my opinion and the team will get ma full backing as it always does.

03-03-2012, 02:19 PM
A guinea pig should be in the starting 11 ahead of Ivan :)

I'd be cagey about giving a Guinea pig a start in such a crucial game. Unless he's really the Papa.

03-03-2012, 02:30 PM
Would be nice to get one over on Jim Goodwin. C'mon the Hibs:flag:

03-03-2012, 02:42 PM
I'd be cagey about giving a Guinea pig a start in such a crucial game. Unless he's really the Papa.

They eat guinea pigs in Central America. Moy they call it. Claros loves em.

03-03-2012, 02:47 PM
I think The Quiet Man is the Stadium announcer. He just got stuck at Steven Thomson!!!! :greengrin

xyz23jc
03-03-2012, 02:58 PM

Cuy, I think! Sorry. Pedant alert! :greengrin

03-03-2012, 03:01 PM

It's a pity St Mirren didn't have one in the side. If we sub one for Sproule we'l be in trouble.

03-03-2012, 03:03 PM
C'mon the Hibees a win today would be superb :pfgwa:flag:

Radio link if anyone needs it http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_prem/6359425.stm

03-03-2012, 03:04 PM
Are they having a giraffe - Preston again?
I'd be interested to know the frequency of Preston and Mann featuring in Hibs coverage.
It's perverse

03-03-2012, 03:05 PM
The east feels a whole lot busier today. Pitiful support through from Paisley.

03-03-2012, 03:07 PM
The east feels a whole lot busier today. Pitiful support through from Paisley.

I think that's something of a pattern.

03-03-2012, 03:08 PM
That should have been a goal. All the length of the pitch without a tackle?? Foot in boys!!

03-03-2012, 03:08 PM
Are they having a giraffe - Preston again?
I'd be interested to know the frequency of Preston and Mann featuring in Hibs coverage.
It's perverse

it's craig paterson summarising :confused:

03-03-2012, 03:10 PM

i was expecting something more topical, along the lines of the pandas, but you can have that one.

03-03-2012, 03:11 PM

I see what you did there....should have waited for a better opening though. :thumbsup:

03-03-2012, 03:13 PM
it's craig paterson summarising :confused:

Preston usually does the Open All Mics. I actually think he's quite good. |He has a great knowledge of young and lower league players throughout the UK.

03-03-2012, 03:24 PM
When we press up on them they just launch it and we get the ball back. If we keep the workrate uo, the chances will keep coming.

03-03-2012, 03:26 PM
for gawds sake gie the baw tae reilly

03-03-2012, 03:28 PM
Preston usually does the Open All Mics. I actually think he's quite good. |He has a great knowledge of young and lower league players throughout the UK.

I bet he does:wink:

03-03-2012, 03:29 PM
francomb doesn't beat the first man from a freekick...one of my pet hates :( lift the F***n hing dammit :agree:

03-03-2012, 03:30 PM
How Hibs playing? Not got radio today.

03-03-2012, 03:33 PM
How Hibs playing? Not got radio today.

Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

CapitalHibs
03-03-2012, 03:34 PM
Appears that last week's confidence builder is slipping away.

hibbybrian
03-03-2012, 03:36 PM
corner Hibs

xyz23jc
03-03-2012, 03:37 PM
Just over the bar from ncPake! :flag:

03-03-2012, 03:38 PM
McPake sounds like our most dangerous striker

03-03-2012, 03:41 PM
bit of handbags.

ROD and Goodwin booked.

03-03-2012, 03:42 PM
yellow for o'Donovan and goodwin it was

03-03-2012, 03:42 PM
Feel like shouting out for someone have a f****** dig. No need to walk it to the net.

hibbybrian
03-03-2012, 03:45 PM
HT

03-03-2012, 03:47 PM
gers score, 1-0

rankgers score 10 seconds into injury time :) mistake by hertz keeper awwww :( McGregor not had a save to make although 35m rated driver had a shot

Rangers just taken the lead vs hearts.

Our game sounding dull.

Sounds like an exciting half!

Yams 1-0 down :tee hee:

03-03-2012, 03:52 PM
mon PF, tell the players last week was not the relegation decider

deano missed penalty v st.johnstone

xyz23jc
03-03-2012, 04:06 PM
Well done Stacky....Collects a corner!!! :thumbsup:

xyz23jc
03-03-2012, 04:07 PM
Free kick Hibs! C'mon Hibees!!:flag:

03-03-2012, 04:11 PM
Mon Hibs. :-)

03-03-2012, 04:11 PM
Bloody hell, into the 2nd half and still only on the 2nd page of a match updates thread.

Must be gripping stuff!!!

What's the attendance looking like from one of the smartphone jockeys?

03-03-2012, 04:13 PM
Come on Hibs! A piece of magic. :pray:

CapitalHibs
Bloody hell, into the 2nd half and still only on the 2nd page of a match updates thread.

Must be gripping stuff!!!

What's the attendance looking like from one of the smartphone jockeys?

We seem to be winning the battle for throw-ins.

o'donovan should have scored :(

St Mirren's keeper makes another good save, but Hibs should have scored there.

Great save off of O'Donavon, sounding promising :flag:

03-03-2012, 04:15 PM
black scores for the pinkoids

francomb yellow carded

03-03-2012, 04:15 PM
You get the sneaky feeling they will get one good chance and take it, while we pass up shed loads.

xyz23jc
03-03-2012, 04:16 PM
You get the sneaky feeling they will get one good chance and take it, while we pass up shed loads.

:agree: Hope yer wrang! :flag:

03-03-2012, 04:16 PM

Hope not??

03-03-2012, 04:18 PM
That changed quickly... :confused:

CapitalHibs

Aye... we are Hibs after all...

possession

42%-58%

now 61%-39% lol

03-03-2012, 04:19 PM
possession

42%-58%

They can have all the ball they like as long as we win. ;-)

xyz23jc
03-03-2012, 04:19 PM
Spoony coming on!

HiBremian
03-03-2012, 04:20 PM
Well 1-0 Pars

03-03-2012, 04:21 PM
Well 1-0 Pars

Excellent

03-03-2012, 04:22 PM
Cmon Lads.

xyz23jc
03-03-2012, 04:23 PM
Excellent

:greengrin:thumbsup:C'mon Hibs! Gie us a goal, eh?

DAVE1875
03-03-2012, 04:24 PM
Well 1-0 Pars

http://h8.abload.de/img/mr-burns-excellent-mfgs0e.jpg

HiBremian
03-03-2012, 04:25 PM
http://h8.abload.de/img/mr-burns-excellent-mfgs0e.jpg

Now gie us a goal, Hibs!

03-03-2012, 04:25 PM
2-0 well

03-03-2012, 04:27 PM
2-0 well

I can't see where they are going to get their next win...

HiBremian
2-0 well

Your stream is at least 2mins ahead of mine!!!:confused:

2-0 well

Right last minute goal if any description with do me at the mo! :-)

xyz23jc
03-03-2012, 04:28 PM
Free kick Hibs! C'mon Hibs! :thumbsup:

DAVE1875
03-03-2012, 04:29 PM
Right last minute goal if any description with do me at the mo! :-)

Even if it's like a FIFA 12 fail video where everyone is tumbling over eachother trying to get to the ball

03-03-2012, 04:30 PM
double save by samson from sparky and spoony :(

03-03-2012, 04:31 PM
Even if it's like a FIFA 12 fail video where everyone is tumbling over eachother trying to get to the ball

Yip that'll do fur me!

03-03-2012, 04:31 PM
mclean misses great chance :)

03-03-2012, 04:32 PM
Aye... we are Hibs after all...

Nearly happened there!

03-03-2012, 04:33 PM
getting into great positions and making the wrong choices

9,211 official attendance - 8,804 home support.

At least we're dominating and the commentator is praising the game as a whole, I think we can nick this.

DAVE1875
03-03-2012, 04:34 PM
GOAL!

Darryl Duffy scores for Cheltenham :greengrin

03-03-2012, 04:35 PM
9,211 official attendance - 8,804 home support.

oooooh am only 74 out in my prediction :(

03-03-2012, 04:35 PM
Francombs use of the ball at the top end of the pitch is sheeeyit.

03-03-2012, 04:36 PM
pinkoids 2-1 against the tax cheats

2-1 Hearts :rolleyes: quite funny though.

Ramjets 2 - 1 up and Deano sent off

03-03-2012, 04:37 PM
doherty on for francomb

03-03-2012, 04:37 PM
2-1 to the jammy ****s

03-03-2012, 04:38 PM
that looked like a hand

03-03-2012, 04:39 PM
2-1 Hearts :rolleyes: quite funny though.

It's not funny when we can't beat St Mirren at home and they can handle Rangers and a Derby looming

03-03-2012, 04:39 PM
Don't we have anybody who can hit a set piece higher than 6ft? :confused:

03-03-2012, 04:41 PM
C'mon Hibs!!

CapitalHibs
03-03-2012, 04:41 PM
Don't we have anybody who can hit a set piece higher than 6ft? :confused:

We used to have a guy who could do that quite regularly. Deek something, IIRC:wink:

03-03-2012, 04:43 PM
We used to have a guy who could do that quite regularly. Deek something, IIRC:wink:

Was he that guy who was just that little bit slimmer than GOC? :wink:

03-03-2012, 04:44 PM

Was this before he reitred? :wink:

03-03-2012, 04:45 PM
bringing o'connor on with a few mins left :rolleyes: what chance to make any impact with 2 mins left fs :(

03-03-2012, 04:46 PM
make sure we at least take a point.

Townsley?

It's not funny when we can't beat St Mirren at home and they can handle Rangers and a Derby looming

If we paid the same wages (term used loosley) as Hearts then we would unlikely be battling it out at this end of the table as we are just now

03-03-2012, 04:47 PM
bringing o'connor on with a few mins left :rolleyes: what chance to make any impact with 2 mins left fs :(

I've seen him score in the last minute before.

03-03-2012, 04:47 PM
bringing o'connor on with a few mins left :rolleyes: what chance to make any impact with 2 mins left fs :(I imagine he'd make quite a big impact...... :greengrin

03-03-2012, 04:48 PM

Most would say we should not even bring him on.

what a great chance to pull even further away from dunfy, and peg back caley and st.mirren :(

HiBremian
I've seen him score in the last minute before.

Too late. FT

1 more point ahead of pars, though.

03-03-2012, 04:50 PM
I imagine he'd make quite a big impact...... :greengrin

aye, if he fell on his erse :wink:

03-03-2012, 04:50 PM
The match thread having 4 pages by the end of the game probably sums up how the game went.. Still 1 point gained on the Pars :aok:

03-03-2012, 04:51 PM
My daughter has just text me to say some disturbance has broken out underneath East Stand. WTF? O by the way she says the game is keech.

03-03-2012, 04:51 PM
Most would say we should not even bring him on.

i have another pet hate of not giving players a chance to have an influence on the game :agree:

ayr 1 falkirk 0 good lift for them for next week

03-03-2012, 04:53 PM
Sounded like we played quite well and probably deserved the win. Another clean sheet and another point clear of the Pars is progress. Also sounded like the fans were giving good backing.

Onwards and upwards!

Ayr Utd beat Falkirk. They seem to be hitting form at the wrong time for us!

03-03-2012, 05:05 PM
Francombs use of the ball at the top end of the pitch is sheeeyit.

He'd had a good game but was exhausted by then, hence the substitution.

03-03-2012, 05:06 PM
My daughter has just text me to say some disturbance has broken out underneath East Stand. WTF? O by the way she says the game is keech.

It was a good game.

03-03-2012, 05:08 PM
Decent performance, just couldn't get that all important goal.

03-03-2012, 05:09 PM
Played well, impressed with the spine of our team, their keeper made a string of good saves, we are definitely making progress quickly and will not be relegated.

Bobo
03-03-2012, 05:10 PM
Another non event where we created very little, were too laboured in everything we did and surrendered far too much possession to a p!ss poor opponent.... we're lucky Dunfermline are in the league.

03-03-2012, 05:10 PM
A valuable point today.

How boring have Hibs been at ER this year though? Can't think of one decent game.

03-03-2012, 05:14 PM
i have another pet hate of not giving players a chance to have an influence on the game :agree:

ayr 1 falkirk 0 good lift for them for next week

What, like the lift we got last week?

Bring on the Cup!

03-03-2012, 05:15 PM
It was a good game.

Typical female disnae get football:tin hat:

03-03-2012, 05:17 PM
I thought we were very slow in possession. But still had enough chances to win. Overall we were the better side but its another point clear of the Pars

ancienthibby
03-03-2012, 05:37 PM
I thought we were very slow in possession. But still had enough chances to win. Overall we were the better side but its another point clear of the Pars

Fine.

But YEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE EEESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS SS
to Independance!

Seperation is a WORD EXCLUSIVE TO ALL THE FAILED UNIONIST PARTIES:greengrin

03-03-2012, 06:00 PM
Thought their goalkeeper had a good game today. A good save from a header in the first half and a good save to deny Donovan just before he was subbed.

I thought we played well.

03-03-2012, 06:47 PM
Another non event where we created very little, were too laboured in everything we did and surrendered far too much possession to a p!ss poor opponent.... we're lucky Dunfermline are in the league.

If you were at the game today you were obviously facing the wrong way. Created plenty chances that only a MOTM performance by their Goalie stopped us taking all the points. They had the ball in their half plenty but Stack had not one save to make.
I actually did think we passed the ball poorly occasionally today but it was a good game and the team played well. St Mirren will be delighted with a point.

03-03-2012, 07:29 PM
Fine.

But YEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE EEESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS SS
to Independance!

Seperation is a WORD EXCLUSIVE TO ALL THE FAILED UNIONIST PARTIES:greengrin

You been on the hard liquor?? :confused:

03-03-2012, 07:38 PM
Shame we couldn't keep up the winning momentum. But at the end of the day it's a point further from Dunfy and a point closer to safety.

Good to hear about McPake, we need to really try and go for this guy.

04-03-2012, 04:20 PM
Rob Maclean tweeting that Pat will be on the BBC highlights show on Sunday night, 10pm

Bobo
04-03-2012, 05:07 PM
If you were at the game today you were obviously facing the wrong way. Created plenty chances that only a MOTM performance by their Goalie stopped us taking all the points. They had the ball in their half plenty but Stack had not one save to make.
I actually did think we passed the ball poorly occasionally today but it was a good game and the team played well. St Mirren will be delighted with a point.

I was at the match and thought we put in plenty effort but lacked any invention going forward. We huffed and puffed but lacked any real width or penetration so rarely looked capable of breaking St. Mirren down. The re-introduction of Sproule into the starting 11 was like playing with a man short, he sadly contributed very litte to proceedings.

IMO, we're still far too slow in everything we do and waste too many opportunities and subsequently possession because of this. The managers' use of his substitutions was poor again and did little to improve our chances of winning the game. Obviously a point is better than none but we really should have be picking up all 3 at home yesterday.