View Full Version : The longest odds you've ever won??

02-03-2012, 08:22 PM
I'm just back from making my weekly donation to the bookie. I daresay by 5pm tomorrow, my hard earned £5 will be gathering dust in his healthy bank account, but it got me thinking, what's the longest odds bet you've had come off, be it a single, double, accumulator, whatever.

I got £40 off £2.50 once, so I guess that's about 15/1. Not my biggest win in money terms, but my biggest in terms of odds against it happening.

Now my accumulators generally come in at anything between 6 and 10 to 1. Rarely does anything much ever actually come into my pocket, but that's the way the cookie crumbles as they say!!

02-03-2012, 08:25 PM
I got an 810/1 accumulator up once.

And yes, I only had a quid on it :rolleyes:

02-03-2012, 08:27 PM
I once won £1500 odd from a £20 treble........by accident. I meant to take Man Utd to beat Fulham at home but put a "2" down by mistake. The guy at Corals told me I was the only punter to back Fulham with orals that day. They were 10/1.

The best bit is, I'd crumpled up the cupon and chucked on the floor and my flat mate at the time picked it up a few hours later and told me it was a winner. If he hadn't done that, I'd never have claimed it.

02-03-2012, 08:28 PM
Took one at 876000/1 last week, but the very fact that I'm typing this from my house tells you how successful it was.

Was based on 25 of the round 1 matches at the WGC Championship in Arizona last week - 21/25 wasn't terrible, but it might has well have been 0/25!

andy1875
02-03-2012, 08:30 PM
I'm just back from making my weekly donation to the bookie. I daresay by 5pm tomorrow, my hard earned £5 will be gathering dust in his healthy bank account, but it got me thinking, what's the longest odds bet you've had come off, be it a single, double, accumulator, whatever.

I got £40 off £2.50 once, so I guess that's about 15/1. Not my biggest win in money terms, but my biggest in terms of odds against it happening.

Now my accumulators generally come in at anything between 6 and 10 to 1. Rarely does anything much ever actually come into my pocket, but that's the way the cookie crumbles as they say!!

My best win in terms of odds was when Deeks scored that penalty at the PBS when we won 1-0. It was a 66/1 shot, my stake was only a quid mind. Still it was a lovely wee bonus on top of winning with a "reserve" team hahaha

02-03-2012, 08:30 PM
Had a £5 double at the horses , 16-1 and 9-1 , got £725 back , couple of years ago :greengrin also won £900 for a 5 dollar stake at the poker [winning a tournament in ladbrokes]

02-03-2012, 08:54 PM
Won 7777 Euros on the German lottery once. With a 5 Euro stake that probably makes the odds about 1500/1 Nice wee luxury holiday without tapping into my bank account.

02-03-2012, 08:55 PM
My first ever bet was a 14 team accumulator.

114/1 and put a quid on it.

Thought betting was easy, oh how things change :greengrin

02-03-2012, 08:58 PM
ive had a few bigger poker wins but £5 e/w on greece to win the euros at 80s is probably my proudest betting moment.

i stupidly said to the missus,in the semis, that if greece win ill take you on holiday. 1 week all-inc in bulgaria for a tenner wasnae bad tho!! :thumbsup:

02-03-2012, 09:01 PM
Had a fiver ew on Sol Campbell @ 50's in the Champions League Final for Arsenal v Barca, got £385 back.

Backed Little Polvier ew @ 50's when it won the '89 Grand National, I think it was returned @ 28's.

Had a few accas return about £500 quid over the years.

Had a £1 Lucky15 at Aintree a few years ago, 3 winners out of 4 returned £750ish.

Had 4 Ante post bets on the last World Cup, got a return from 3, Spain to win it, Spain to play Holland in The Final and David Villa ew top scorer.

I think I've only ever backed Scott Brown as first scorer 3 times and he has scored first each time!
20's for Hibs at Parkhead
14's @ Motherwell in the 6-2 game
12's for Celtic away to St Mirren not long after he signed for them.

02-03-2012, 09:06 PM
I am a dreadful gambler. My longest odds win would be a 20ish-1 4-fold on the QF 2nd legs of last year's Champions League - I was roundly mocked for backing Schalke, well all I can say is :giruy:

Unfortunately as I watched the Champions League games in question in one of Cambridge's many scandalously-priced hostelries, 3 pints and a burger set me back more than my £20 winnings. I suppose the conclusion might be that I should have bet more than a quid, however since betting every week for over 3 years has seen me win precisely twice, I reckon I'll stick to my £1 rule.

02-03-2012, 09:08 PM
Once won £50 having put £50 on Chelsea to win at Even money. Got tip for Diamond Harry to win the Hennesey at 18/1 on Betfair, knew nothing about it at all but put the bet on via the pubs online account, thought I had put my £50 profit onto win, and hit the roof when it did. went in to collect the money and found that I'd put on £50 EW by mistake and walked with @£1200, never actually left the pub with that mind.

cad
02-03-2012, 09:11 PM
Robbie Fowler last minute goal gave me £3450 for a £10 acci

02-03-2012, 09:12 PM
Got John Terry for first scorer in a fa cup tie a few years ago at 50-1, and have had two or three football accumulators returning around £700 for £5 stakes, but I've only managed that about three times in the last five years.

02-03-2012, 09:13 PM
Picked the first 5 winners at Royal Ascot last year. £1 each way returned £1133.

02-03-2012, 09:18 PM
I feel there should be a special shout for the folk on here that backed Hibs to win 3-0 at Ibrox on Betfair the last time we managed that! Pity I wasn't one of them!

scotiaf
02-03-2012, 09:18 PM
3-1 parkhead back in mowbray times with 1st goal scorer

think it was roughly 190-1. £1 on it

It was a good day

Went to Carl Cox at the Barra's that night and spent double that

What a weekend

02-03-2012, 09:23 PM
50/1 on the 3-2 game against celtic a few years back, the one where the Wholey Goalie stuffed up a few times. I have to confess that it wan`t my bet tho. i always put a pound on for my kids and they had both said 3-2 to Hibs!

Best thing (apart from getting £100 back) was that Hibs started to attack after Deano had scored the third and my youngest was jumping on his seat and screaming "kick it out" lol

02-03-2012, 09:35 PM
1800/1 on a 16 team accumulator tomorrow returning £9005 should it come good :greengrin

*£5 placed after finding a £10 earlier on today, might I add, so I'm already £5 up!

wearethehibs
02-03-2012, 10:06 PM
My 2 biggest are I had £1 on Birmingham to beat Sheff Utd 4-0 last month at 50/1. I went to the mussie races once and put £1 e/w on a 66/1 shot and it romped home :)

Godsahibby
02-03-2012, 10:25 PM
I had 120/1 on De La Cruz and 2-1 v Hearts a few years back. I remember McManus going one on one in the last minute to make it 3-1. I think he must have had the bet as well because he put it out for a throw in!!

El Gubbz
02-03-2012, 10:46 PM
Won a 60/1 on Jan 1st last year then a 80/1 2 days later. Most Iv won was £220 with a £20 free bet on 365. Only got the free bet because I put 20 on over 2.5 goals on one site and 20 on under 2.5 on another site because I was guaranteed a tenner profit. Decent

02-03-2012, 10:48 PM
Ashamed to say my two biggest coupon wins have had one with Hibs getting beat off Ross County in the replay in Dingwall £10 returned £1900 on a 5 team acca. Then had hibs and hearts to win against the Old firm had a couple of even money teams thrown in 4 team acca that paid £2500 so roughly 250/1 and 190/1 both made me happy though

James Connolly
02-03-2012, 11:19 PM
Had £10 each way on Rob Jones to score 1st in the League Cup Final @ 20/1...not my biggest win, but one of the most celebrated.

Kevvy1875
03-03-2012, 12:05 AM
550/1(£1 stake) is my best bet. Accumulator and it came in the last saturday before christmas(very handy). Can't even remember the bet tbh....just the ££££:greengrin

My best Hibs bets funnily enough have both come at the national stadium(the only two times i have laid a bet there)

Scorecast for Hibs v Livingston in the 2001 SC semi. O'neill for first goal and Hibs 3-0. Came in for £1 stake at around 125/1(if memory serves me...).

The other one was CIS 2007 Cup Final. Wasn't too fussed for a bet but noticed Rob Jones had moved out to 20/1 for 1st goal. He had been 12-14/1 for weeks due to scoring a few for us but went through a wee dry run just before the final. I think it was 20/1. Of course he scores 1st and I had a tenner laid on:agree:

Calvin
03-03-2012, 12:43 AM
In December 2009 my Xbox packed up and I needed £239 for the package I wanted to replace it. Made up a 14 team acca and put something like £1.56 on it so it would exactly win what I needed. My one and only big coupon victory.

jonny
03-03-2012, 12:46 AM

It was a good day

What a weekend

That must've been the single bet because my biggest odds win by far came on that very game.
Gary O to score first and Hibs to win 3-1 at Smeltic Park, 550/1 scorecast. Had £2 on it and returned £1102.

Remember watching the scores coming in on SSN whilst enjoying a libation in the Coopers Rest - even the Celtic fans were hoping for full time. I did buy a round for the pub as consolation to them though!
The next week I took the (now) Mrs off for a fortnight to Domincan as a last minute booking - I must've still been high on adrenaline because that's where I proposed - who says you cant buy a quality ring from the "looky looky" men!

Auckland Hibs
03-03-2012, 12:56 AM
Had a few decent efforts in my time;

Andy Dow 1st goal scorer and 1-0 at the PBS @ 50/1 = £100.00 return.

4 draws from the lower leagues which I had £5 on which returned circa £600.00.

FA Cup Final a few years back, Cantona 1st goal scorer & 1-0 Man U V Liverpool returned £180.00 (which I actually dreamt the night before).

Got a tip from a friend who worked for the Old Bill at New Scotland Yard in London that a certain horse would be"trying" in a race in Ireland, the odds where 50/1 and I stuck £25 E/W - it won by a mile.

Had a few sore ones which really done me over the years, the biggest was Newcastle equalising against Arsenal around 15 years ago (Anelka opened the scoring at St James Park, some bald headed guy scored for Newcastle late on) which cost me a fortune = £10 on 8 away results (a 3/1, 4/1 & 5/1 included in the 8 aways) - I was gutted for about a week.

Also, when I worked in London a few years ago one of the "locals" in the bookies I frequented won £28,000.00 on a football coupon - not sure what his wager was in the 1st instance but he was seriously into a punt.

03-03-2012, 01:09 AM
I feel there should be a special shout for the folk on here that backed Hibs to win 3-0 at Ibrox on Betfair the last time we managed that! Pity I wasn't one of them!

I'd £4 on us to beat Der Hun 2-0 @ 50/1 in THAT Ivan game...
92 mins gone, and the £££s almost in the bank. Hibs break up the park, the fans are on their feet as our new 2 Bob signing rounds the keeper-and I'm the only **** in that wee corner shouting "MISS IT YA ****".... The rest as they say is history!

Not quite a story in keeping with the thread-but my therapist still tells me I should share my burden.

03-03-2012, 01:14 AM
5 numbers on the lottery. 1800 spondulicks. does this count as "odds"?

worst thing was, i had the 6th number in there and changed it. if i hadn't, i would have won 20 million and people would have been cursing me for not spending more on buying players and not STF. hahahaha

03-03-2012, 01:24 AM
5 numbers on the lottery. 1800 spondulicks. does this count as "odds"?

worst thing was, i had the 6th number in there and changed it. if i hadn't, i would have won 20 million and people would have been cursing me for not spending more on buying players and not STF. hahahaha

Indeed it does count(well done). It also rules out THE single most annoying aspect of having a 'big' win, namely: if you tell your mates/ girlfriend/ wife.... Or any ****** " great news, that 2 quid accumulator I put on at odds of fifty/a hundred/a thousand to one came up" it means none of the miserable gits can say......"if only you'd put a Tenner on instead eh?"..
Some folk cannae let ye have yer moment in the sun!

hibeemarley
03-03-2012, 01:29 AM

It was a good day

What a weekend

ScotiaF sounds like a jambo, hang him high

I kid

My best...... it's a belter. randomly bet 4-4 on chelsea tottenham. 2 bucks @ 500/1 = £1002 back BOOM yas. **** myself when Keane was 1on1 with cech after 90mins.

Remember gamblers it's not big and its not clever

03-03-2012, 01:54 AM
My best single bet was Mcfadden 1st goal scorer scotland 1-0 vs the dutch at hampden 66/1 had a tenner on it

03-03-2012, 02:09 AM
Ach, if only it was £20....(kidding)

scotiaf
03-03-2012, 07:05 AM
That must've been the single bet because my biggest odds win by far came on that very game.
Gary O to score first and Hibs to win 3-1 at Smeltic Park, 550/1 scorecast. Had £2 on it and returned £1102.

Remember watching the scores coming in on SSN whilst enjoying a libation in the Coopers Rest - even the Celtic fans were hoping for full time. I did buy a round for the pub as consolation to them though!
The next week I took the (now) Mrs off for a fortnight to Domincan as a last minute booking - I must've still been high on adrenaline because that's where I proposed - who says you cant buy a quality ring from the "looky looky" men!

Haa you must have been right, well i bet that weekend, + holiday & marriage cost a hell of alot more than £1102 since then :)

hibee
03-03-2012, 07:07 AM

That's still my best win, I did tip it on the stuff the bookies thread (http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?189657-lets-try-and-stuff-the-bookies-every-week&p=2632787&viewfull=1#post2632787) but not many shared my enthusiasm at the time, you all had your chance!

£5 on hibs to win 3-0 @ 679/1 on betfair !

03-03-2012, 07:18 AM
Had a 33-1 winner in the second last race at Galway Races last year, but don't come knocking for tips, was purely a "housewives choice" as I was reading Johnny Cash's biography at the time.

duffers
03-03-2012, 07:40 AM
Never really won much on football. Had a five spot on Kyle Bartley last year at 45/1 (betfair) but that's probably as exciting as it gets.
stuck a tenner on 14 at the casino once and it came in, so I left it on and the double spin came in. So that would be over 700/1 or something?

kennyh
03-03-2012, 07:41 AM
50/1 on hibs to lift the league cup in 91.had 1.50 on it and at the time was my biggest and proudest moment taking the bookies cash when I collected as he had mocked me when I placed the bet

The first time I spent the afternoon nipping between pub and bookies i had 3 winners collecting a few quid, then the following day put a tricast on and it came in. It was about 250/1, wish I had lumped on but had my non booze serious head on and just had a quid on it. Twenty years ago and was enough to help me have a good week!!!!

Lucky_Jim
03-03-2012, 07:51 AM
The 3-1 game at Parkheid under Mogga, I had £20 on Hibs HT/FT @ 33/1 and £20 on Garry O' to score first @ 16/1. That was a good night out!

The year that Balckburn Rovers won the EPL (1995?), I had a decent double on them winning and Shearer being the league's top goalscorer. Can't recall the exact price but it must've been pretty high - about 30's?

One of the first lines I ever put on as a 14 year old lad, was something like a 10 or 12 team accumulator. Think I had about £2 or £3 quid on at c.1000/1.......listening to the results come in on the trannie, I thought they had all won. Imagine my dismay when I proudly (and nervously given my age!) went back to the bookies to collect a couple of grand only to be told that Sheff Wed, who was one of my teams, had in fact conceded a 95th minute equaliser. I should have known there and then that gambling wasn't for me....I could have saved myself £1000's over the years if I had!!

03-03-2012, 08:26 AM

Back in 1964 our boss owned a race horse and we used to get odd tips from his trainer.
This day he gave us PYTCHLEY PRINCESS running I think at Folkestone in a " Seller"
None of us were terribly excited as it had run 13 times and never even been placed !!
However given our bosses record of around 75/80% success rate the five of us in the office put in our usual two quid each and placed the bet with a bookie in Fountainbridge .
The " animal" duly obliged at odds of 250/1 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
We had to go back the next afternoon to pick up our £2500 as the bookie didn't have the cash at hand .!!!

A lot of money in those days

Makaveli
03-03-2012, 08:38 AM
My biggest single was a few years ago - Pacquiao to stop de la Hoya in the 8th round. 84/1 on Betfair, only had a few quid on though.

03-03-2012, 08:50 AM
Poker the best definitely. 1k for a 6 dollar buy in a couple of weeks ago. Most trips away I can win 5 or 6 thousand dollars. If you take that from the origanal 15 dollar buy in it is fair odds. Not a great horse guy but Red Rum/ L'escargot forecast many moons ago gave good odds that I cannot remember!!

sparkiedelpaco7
03-03-2012, 08:58 AM
I once put a £1 27-team accumulator on a couple of years back, worth just over £250,000

Was the weekend that david murphy scored at Ibrox to win 1-0

I was all up with 85 minutes played before Noel Hunt scored to draw with Motherwell and bust the coupon.

Was gutted for weeks.

03-03-2012, 09:20 AM
I'm awful at gambling. I never win.

A pal of mine, who posts on here, has had several big wins of around the 1000 quid mark, and one around 3K. Jammy twat.

sammy7
03-03-2012, 09:22 AM
http://i1267.photobucket.com/albums/jj549/x_sammy_x86/winner.jpg

my longest odds winner! :thumbsup:

Gala Foxes
03-03-2012, 09:41 AM
As described in the superb Sauzee book -

St Johnstone - Hibs (2000)

£1 on 3-0 Hibs & Sauzee 1st Goal

275/1

£275

& Latapy had a perfectly good goal disallowed in the last 5 minutes that would have made it 4-0 - Phew !!!

seven nowt
03-03-2012, 10:10 AM
I think I had a 6-fold with outsiders. And they were all up, and Dundee United were drawing at the last minute. John Daly was one-on-one with the keeper. Tried to lob him and hit the bar. Those were a few long seconds!

The prick costed me £380. I usually get close but never close enough.

03-03-2012, 10:12 AM
GeeGees - 50/1 Hot Weld (3 years ago) :thumbsup:

Casino - £5 on no. 25 and covered 20s and 25-29 and fell first time so £200 back

Football - £612 accum few years back on perm of all 4, and any 3 from 4 with two draws in there :thumbsup:

ginger_rice
03-03-2012, 10:43 AM
Not a massive odds win but the most satisfying for me was a horse called Stirling Castle was on my way home on leave popped into a bookies in Pompey and put a tenner on at 16/1 a £160 win in IIRC 1976 was a decent amount of money.

The biggest I ever saw was the steward on my last ship who put on something like 10p on the first 4 in the grand national (1985) all 4 came in in the correct order think he won £34k from a bookie is Douglas in the IoM.

03-03-2012, 10:43 AM
Not sure off the odds as i can't remmber the stake likely either £5 or £10

Won £324 at Billy Hills on a 5 team accumulator!
Best win to date which is quite poor, when I win I usually get around the £100 mark as I tend to back the favourites / form teams

hail hail:cb

03-03-2012, 10:48 AM
I backed Anthony Kim £5 each way at 200/1 for The Open last year.

He tied 5th so I won 1/4 of the odds.

Return was 50/1 = £255.

03-03-2012, 11:00 AM
My Uncle does it professionally so he will have a few big wins I imagine! But there was one time he forgot to set an alarm so he could put money on a Utrecht who were away to Ajax. He didn't manage to get the bet on, Utrecht won of course.. and he would've won "A five-figure sum" ! :shocked:

03-03-2012, 11:04 AM
Football 4 draws 250/1. Single Hibs 20/1 away to Celtic.
Horses a couple on Betfair at 500 hedged at 100 to give 400 risk free. Roll up 1500/1.

03-03-2012, 11:23 AM
I won exactly £1000 on a £2 stake on ladbrokes millionaire maker so 500/1 :pfgwa

03-03-2012, 11:35 AM
dunno aabout winning yet but looking at the laddys website and swaying on weather to back griffiths first goal and 3 - 0 or 3 -1 both @ 50/1 for todays game. 3.50 in the account could be worth a 2 pound punt :thumbsup:

03-03-2012, 11:37 AM
Was a few years back was having a bad day and put my last £50 on a 50/1 shot a horse called Anadawi ended up in a photo finish and after a few minutes sweating was called the winner, got £2,550 back.

That was a good night after that.................................from what I can remember :cheers:

HibeePaj
03-03-2012, 05:44 PM
Before our nil nil draw at parkhead earlier in the season, I stuck a pound on all six away SPL teams to win.. at 1800/1. Got out the ground to find out it was only Hibs that 'let me down', although I was still bouncing at getting the point away to that ****..

An actual win on the otherhand, I'm not too sure but I think it us maybe real HT barca FT at 28/1 earlier in the season.

chorley_fm
03-03-2012, 06:15 PM
Once had a fiver on Pat McGinley @ 16's for a £85 return

My best bet EVER !!

03-03-2012, 07:14 PM
About 18 years ago I was working in Stoke-on-Trent and had a £1 'Yankee' on 4 evening TV races. I follow top weights in middle distance handicaps and 2 of the races fitted the bill. I fancied the number 1 in another race, so just stuck in the number 1 in the fourth. All won and I got around £3500 for the £11 stake. :wink:

17-03-2012, 02:03 PM
Had a 6 team accumulator that was 100/1

Only had £3 on it though

Came close to winning £10000 with a tenner (8 teams) once but Everton couldn't beat Burnley mucking the bet up completely...

17-03-2012, 02:06 PM
Had £30 on Mcfadden to score first, Scotland to win 1-0 that night in Paris at about 70s.

Had a couple of 66/1 shots each way on the horses.

Best though was a 15 team Europa League accumulator at 129/1, needed Blackurn to beat Mypa to clinch it. Sadly I only had a pound on it.

17-03-2012, 02:14 PM
327/1 4 draws & 4 aways but only had £2 on. This was in late nineties so was a cracking windfall in these days. Also had a £450 win for a £5 stake on draws in world cup when robbie keane scored injury time equaliser against Germany to clinch it. I was jumping around like an absolute lunatic with ma toddler son wondering what the eff was happening !!

17-03-2012, 03:02 PM
Shares in GKP £300,000 to the good, still worth a punt at £2.63, could be bought out at over £10.00, do your own research.

Persevere80
17-03-2012, 03:18 PM
i should be going to GA with the amount of money i have wasted (on the roulette machines), but i have won a £1 accumulator on (lucky) 7 teams and got something around the £570 back. i had 2 coupons winning on the Satuarday and was waiting on Hibs on both coupons on the Sunday against Celtic at ER about 5 or 6 seasons ago. I needed a Hibs draw or a Hibs loss, but was happy with a hibs win so i could not lose. Hibs scored first but the game ended 2-2. I was having a drink in the city limits on leith walk the just a couple of doors up the walk to collect my winnings and just remember saying to her as she was counting out the cash, "not bad for £1 eh?" :greengrin

17-03-2012, 10:23 PM
2600 big ones for a pound on 6 horses on a placepot just your Donald duck. Well worth a punt your horse doesn't need to come first.

17-03-2012, 10:30 PM
Got £3400 back on an accumulator a few years back for a £10. Hearts were in the bet, they beat the huns at Ibrox with a treble from some muppet who's name escapes me. Hearts were silly odds like 10/1 if my memory serves me right that day. Had a wee soft spot for them that weekend. :greengrin

06-05-2012, 12:41 AM
I can now happily - nay, ecstatically - say that I have usurped my previous record by quite a margin. £1 on Ramires to score 1st and Chelsea to win 2-1 @ 100/1.

Absolutely epic!!!!

06-05-2012, 07:34 AM
Every time I put big money on and more often than not when I stick $1-2 on I win!

Last season I had $2.50 on Barca and Real to lose after their Champs League semi. 75/1, not a bad win that.

Had Rob Jones to score last at about 20/1 in League Cup quarter final, as well as Hibs / St Johnstone double on the same night at about 30/1. Naturally, I only had one or two quid on each bet!

300 is about my biggest win...surely due a 4 figure effort sometime!

SmithyHibee
06-05-2012, 07:39 AM
I can now happily - nay, ecstatically - say that I have usurped my previous record by quite a margin. £1 on Ramires to score 1st and Chelsea to win 2-1 @ 100/1.

Absolutely epic!!!!

Same bet, 110/1 on bet365! Had 3-1 as well so was hoping for another goal from Chelsea but that was just being greedy!