PDA

View Full Version : NHC Hill Walking

Nevi1875
02-03-2012, 01:08 AM
Does anyone do any hill walking/Hiking on here

Was just wondering because i am new to it just recently took it up and thought it would be a good idea to put it on here . Maybe a walk along the pentlands while having a blether about the hibs ?

Thanks in Advance

Mark79
02-03-2012, 06:49 AM
Anyone with a season ticket at the back of the east is technically qualified.

I'm_cabbaged
02-03-2012, 06:59 AM
I like to go a wondering along the cliffs of Dover......

If I see a hearts fan there I push the bassa over.

EskbankHibby
02-03-2012, 08:05 AM

Was just wondering because i am new to it just recently took it up and thought it would be a good idea to put it on here . Maybe a walk along the pentlands while having a blether about the hibs ?

Thanks in Advance

Go walking with my dad a few times a year, he used to be a Munro bagger (more than 90) and we used to go away for a week every year to places like Pyrenees, Dolomites, High Tatras - all good.

We do more centre based stuff now so mostly day walks/weekends with a day pack only which makes a difference when you don't feel like you are carrying a mock tudor mansion on your back. Peak district in Derbyshire is a favourite, gentle hills about 14 mile average days and you always hit a village at half way for a pint and some food.

Pentlands are excellent, a favourite 'social' walk of mine would be the Water of Leith, almost 13 miles but you can pop into Colinton, Longstone, Roseburn, Stockbridge, Canonmills and Leith for a pint.:greengrin

Wembley67
02-03-2012, 08:28 AM

Thanks in Advance

Pentlands can be an awesome walk, if you do the full thing it can be in excess of 20miles....if you can get up there by sunrise it's really stunning and you can be home by lunchtime if you really get your finger out.

I miss staying up that neck of the woods, used to be up there nearly every weekend, it's fantastic training before you tackle some Munro's.