View Full Version : Favourite Hibs shirt you have owned

29-02-2012, 05:13 PM
For me without doubt it's 2000-02 shirt. Classic Hibs - new and large crest, no nonsense design of emerald green body and all white sleeves. Still wear this far more than any other. Love it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_gUn9IRZoK0&feature=player_detailpage

The 6-2 shirt

What's your favourite?

29-02-2012, 05:15 PM
Either the 6-2 shirt or the League Cup Final shirt

29-02-2012, 05:18 PM
Purple Bukta.

29-02-2012, 05:25 PM
There are 4, both league cup tops, millennium derby top and finally green and purple striped away

29-02-2012, 05:25 PM
The green and purple striped strip. Loved it.

29-02-2012, 05:31 PM
Purple Bukta.

Green Bukta, even though it was like a cheese grater on the nipples.

London Hibs FC
29-02-2012, 05:37 PM
The '6.2' for it's simplicity and the memory of that Sunday Night, the 'Bukta' Home as it was my first and the 1991 League Cup Final Shirt given that, as well as being a cracking top, it was the first time I'd seen us lift a trophy.

London Hibs FC
29-02-2012, 05:39 PM
Green Bukta, even though it was like a cheese grater on the nipples.

:agree: I remember that!!

Does such a material still exist???

29-02-2012, 05:42 PM

Don't think so. Same as the tracing paper loo roll you used to get in school. Memories of a harsher time :greengrin

BS44
29-02-2012, 06:15 PM
Yellow and green Bukta strip.

29-02-2012, 06:21 PM
http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/whitestrip.jpg http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/sauzee1.jpg

29-02-2012, 06:24 PM

I wonder if the same material will be used for the retro Bukta shirts that have just been released.

29-02-2012, 06:33 PM
6-2, white away in Mowbrays first season, green and purple stripes, yellow away from the 1st division, Frank Graham Group both home and away.

ginger_rice
29-02-2012, 07:00 PM
Purple Bukta.

I've still got one of those...can't fit into it now though!

My fave, and I'm wearing it right now is the Dark Green away top of just a few years back.

29-02-2012, 07:03 PM
The one I wore in the 70's.

http://www.historicalkits.co.uk/Scottish_Football_League/Hibernian/images/hibernian-1971-1972-n.gif

ManBearPig
29-02-2012, 07:20 PM
green and purple striped shirt is a belter!!

ManBearPig
29-02-2012, 07:21 PM
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?VISuperSize&item=380373664115

29-02-2012, 07:28 PM
Only had the one as an adult - the 50s style now sold as the Turnbull, but without the number.

A classic that never goes out of date.

29-02-2012, 07:34 PM
Got to be the League Cup 2001 kit. Absolute belter. Simple and sleek. Looked even better with the class players we had.

More recently my favourite has been the 2009/2010 all white Le Coq away kit. :aok:

green glory
29-02-2012, 07:41 PM
http://www.historicalkits.co.uk/Scottish_Football_League/Hibernian/images/hibernian-1981-1982-g.gif

A thing of beauty.

29-02-2012, 07:46 PM
The one we had the season before we went to a chest sponsor so that would have been around 83 or 84? Still have it, and the green is just great. The badge was still the " illegal" crown and even though it is less than subtle, it still looks fab.

WarringtonHibee
29-02-2012, 07:53 PM
Purple & Green striped Calor one. :thumbsup:

29-02-2012, 07:54 PM
http://www.colours-of-football.com/colours03/sco/hibernian/sco_hibernian_1_0304.gifhttp://www.oldfootballshirts.com/img/shirts/168/hibernian-away-football-shirt-2003-2004-s_5364_1.jpg

Almost 9 years ago now, unbelievable. :no way:

29-02-2012, 07:57 PM
81-82 Umbro, really silky affair with the old badge and Fishers sponsor. And a lovely shade of emerald made this my fav. would never part with it.

29-02-2012, 08:00 PM
http://www.colours-of-football.com/colours03/sco/hibernian/sco_hibernian_1_0304.gifhttp://www.oldfootballshirts.com/img/shirts/168/hibernian-away-football-shirt-2003-2004-s_5364_1.jpg

Almost 9 years ago now, unbelievable. :no way:

The home was a beauty, too. Crest in the centre - my second favourite home shirt. I do like the yellow aways, and also the all black of this season.

29-02-2012, 08:00 PM
The white 'Zitelli' away strip as posted earlier in the thread. 2007 League Cup shirt definitely up there and I was a big fan of both of the 2009/10 ones (I'm not including goalkeeper shirts that became outfield ones!)

29-02-2012, 08:02 PM
The one we had the season before we went to a chest sponsor so that would have been around 83 or 84? Still have it, and the green is just great. The badge was still the " illegal" crown and even though it is less than subtle, it still looks fab.

What was the thinking behind the crown crest? It's much more Rangers than Hibs :greengrin

Gala Foxes
29-02-2012, 08:04 PM
Season 82/83, shiny white away shirt, green collar, green Umbro diamonds down the sleeves

Top strip

29-02-2012, 08:19 PM
Season 82/83, shiny white away shirt, green collar, green Umbro diamonds down the sleeves

Top strip

sorry to be picky, but the shirts from around 81> didnae have Umbro diamonds down the sleeves.
they were plain white.

green glory
29-02-2012, 08:49 PM
sorry to be picky, but the shirts from around 81> didnae have Umbro diamonds down the sleeves.
they were plain white.

https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/292739_10150260758787862_714677861_7540091_4337340 _n.jpg

My brother around that time. Diamonds on sleeves. :cb

29-02-2012, 08:59 PM
http://www.historicalkits.co.uk/Scottish_Football_League/Hibernian/hibernian.htm

1876-1879 looks familiar :greengrin

i've mostly bought away tops over the years and certainly one of my favourites was the green and purple stripped one with the white 'calor' i think :rolleyes:

Gala Foxes
29-02-2012, 09:07 PM
they were plain white.

Shiny white shirt, green shiny collar, green trim with Umbro diamonds, have got it in the loft, old school Hibs crest with crown

Seekyit
29-02-2012, 09:25 PM
2006-07 away shirt. Dark green (bottle green i believe).

Mine has nae sponsor on it. Class. :agree:

gorgie_harp
29-02-2012, 09:35 PM
Purple Bukta.

We have a winner.:wink::agree::flag::flag::flag:

Rivers Cuomo
29-02-2012, 09:37 PM
Can someone post some pics of our old Umbro kits, remember seeing an old pic of Jackie Macnamara wearing one and thinking it looked really smart.

kevin mcgaff
29-02-2012, 09:55 PM
White away strip adidas Frank Graham sponsor.............lost it in Ibiza

29-02-2012, 10:20 PM

ive still got that one but its ten sizes too small now....i like any hibs strip that has white socks...classy.

an old fave is the all purple strip when carlsberg were the sponsors...for some reason i think of rab shannon when i see it...i think he got sent off at dunfermline in a midweek game whilst wearing it and the memory has become burned into the hibs part of my brain.

jamieross
01-03-2012, 01:28 AM
http://www.voetbalshirts.org/fotoshirt/2007_11_17/Hibernian%20aw.JPG

Loved this kit, until it got stolen when i was on holiday:grr:

aussie_hibee
01-03-2012, 02:06 AM
6-2 kit and the away one from the same time.
1991 skol cup strip. Last years home but with long sleeves.

01-03-2012, 03:13 AM
My 2007 CIS Cup final that I wore on the day signed by the whole squad :thumbsup:

01-03-2012, 03:52 AM
For the last 13 years I've used the yellow kit from around 1998 for just dossing around the house in...as soon as it's off the line I put it on. It's a mess but I now wish I had kept it in good condition.

Whenever I wear my purple and green striped one out and about I always get admiring looks and sometimes get people coming up to me and commenting. That strip just pips it due to it's iconic status.

aussie_hibee
01-03-2012, 05:47 AM
I knew I forgot one. My favourite of all is the black away from 2005 -2006. Smartest Hibs top I've ever seen IMO.

01-03-2012, 09:04 AM
I loved the 6-2 shirt but my number 1 from "McManus 17" fell off it. Also loved the 98-00 top and had like many "Latapy 10". Still wear that from time to time. My favourite top though would be the 91 League Cup top. Picked it up on ebay for a great price a few years back, awesome. Even with Darren Jackson's signature on it!

01-03-2012, 12:32 PM
No contest:

http://media.classicfootballshirts.co.uk/media/catalog/product/cache/1/small_image/170x150/0dc2d03fe217f8c83829496872af24a0/i/m/image_45550_1_2.jpg

Hal Jordan
01-03-2012, 01:00 PM
The 1991-2 away top, the League Cup year without the sponsor.
http://tribal-colours.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/hib9192a.png

Closely followed by the home one.
http://tribal-colours.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/hib9192h.png
Still have them both. And they still fit :aok:

01-03-2012, 01:02 PM
http://www.voetbalshirts.org/fotoshirt/2007_11_17/Hibernian aw.JPG

Loved this kit, until it got stolen when i was on holiday:grr:

I loved this shirt still got it at my mum and dads Lehmann on the back going to the games with white tape on ma lug... quality!!!

01-03-2012, 01:03 PM
http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/whitestrip.jpg http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/sauzee1.jpg

what he said.........still got them! Plus the '72 classic.

MoscowHibs
01-03-2012, 03:40 PM

White away strip adidas Frank Graham sponsor....................Found it in Ibiza

01-03-2012, 03:42 PM
This:

http://img.tapatalk.com/5181aab3-a681-7d07.jpg

Oh and does anyone know who's signature this belongs to?

http://img.tapatalk.com/5181aab3-a721-bd47.jpg

I was under the impression that it was John O'Neil's signature - but it doesn't look like it!

01-03-2012, 03:52 PM
Shiny white shirt, green shiny collar, green trim with Umbro diamonds, have got it in the loft, old school Hibs crest with crown

can u post up a pic of it mate?

ginger_rice
01-03-2012, 03:53 PM
What was the thinking behind the crown crest? It's much more Rangers than Hibs :greengrin

IIRC it was designed by Tommy Younger and the thinking behind it was it looked like Real Madrid's club badge.

Just read through all the posts in this thread and have come to the conclusion we have good strips and great strips no more no less!

01-03-2012, 04:23 PM
White away strip adidas Frank Graham sponsor....................Found it in Ibiza

CalgaryHibs
01-03-2012, 07:26 PM
[QUOTE=Hibernia&Alba;3132225]For me without doubt it's 2000-02 shirt. Classic Hibs - new and large crest, no nonsense design of emerald green body and all white sleeves. Still wear this far more than any other. Love it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_gUn9IRZoK0&feature=player_detailpage

The 6-2 shirt

What's your favourite?[/QUOTE

-----
Well my fav is the away purple green strip down with Calor on the front.

-----

kevin mcgaff
01-03-2012, 07:47 PM

banarc7062
01-03-2012, 07:50 PM
Replica of 1902 Scottish Cup Winning shirt:not worth

01-03-2012, 08:01 PM
I like the strip from last Saturdays game.

01-03-2012, 08:04 PM
what he said.........still got them! Plus the '72 classic.

The Sauzee strip is hanging on my dining room wall on a frame

01-03-2012, 11:17 PM

I will be wearing that home shirt at the Scottish Cup Semi-Final if we get there :wink:

01-03-2012, 11:20 PM
I will be wearing that home shirt at the Scottish Cup Semi-Final if we get there :wink:Did you get it off him? :greengrin

01-03-2012, 11:20 PM
Did you get it off him? :greengrin

No :greengrin.

01-03-2012, 11:21 PM
No :greengrin.so you'll be wearing another one then :greengrin

01-03-2012, 11:22 PM
so you'll be wearing another one then :greengrin

Aye :wink:

01-03-2012, 11:29 PM
The 1991-2 away top, the League Cup year without the sponsor.
http://tribal-colours.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/hib9192a.png

Closely followed by the home one.
http://tribal-colours.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/hib9192h.png
Still have them both. And they still fit :aok:

I would do bad things to get ma paws in ether of these in long sleeves.

SJNB Hibby
02-03-2012, 12:28 AM
I've got the purple shirt, but dont wear it much. Find I wear the bottle green away shirt from 2006 most often
I've got the TOFFS 1972 cup final shirt-but it doesnt stretch well:rolleyes:

WellingtonHibby
02-03-2012, 04:41 AM
Love the bottle green one from 2006.THAT was a cracking away strip

Cocohibby
02-03-2012, 08:21 AM
85-86 away umbro (white, badge in centre chest with black and green flashes on chest)

http://tribal-colours.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/hib8586a-150x150.png

02-03-2012, 08:32 PM
85-86 away umbro (white, badge in centre chest with black and green flashes on chest)

http://tribal-colours.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/hib8586a-150x150.png

used to have this, classy number!
god bless P&D Windaes and Insave, those giants of industry ;)