View Full Version : Björn Bergmann Sigurdarson

Iceman
29-02-2012, 08:20 AM
Hello, one of the main newspapers here in Iceland states this morning that Björn Bergmann Sigurdarson, attacking midfielder/support striker will be heading to Hibernian from norwegian club Lilleström this summer. Hibernian have got themselves a class act if he signs - just couple of months ago he was being linked with Ajax.

WellingtonHibby
29-02-2012, 08:22 AM
He is probably only over for the Money Money Money..

famous_fife_hibby
29-02-2012, 08:24 AM

Must be funny, it's a rich man's world..........I'll get ma coat now please!

29-02-2012, 08:25 AM
Out of contract in the summer and has been looked at by a handful of clubs!

Ajax (as you say), Fulham, Liverpool, Cardiff...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TKd7tNlyTX4

29-02-2012, 08:31 AM
Hello, one of the main newspapers here in Iceland states this morning that Björn Bergmann Sigurdarson, attacking midfielder/support striker will be heading to Hibernian from norwegian club Lilleström this summer. Hibernian have got themselves a class act if he signs - just couple of months ago he was being linked with Ajax.

Without wanting to put our club down too much if he was linked to ajax a few months ago i'd suggest he'd probably be able to get a club offering a lot more money than we can so i'd be surprised if anything comes of it.

Does the paper say he's definately signing or that we're interested in him?

29-02-2012, 08:41 AM
:pray:

mcvie7
29-02-2012, 09:22 AM

After watching that video there is no way he is coming to Hibs

JIm
29-02-2012, 09:33 AM

He's no Edwin De Graaf so i'm not interested. :wink:

coco mc
29-02-2012, 09:33 AM

Im sure the girl singing in that clip is saying Hibernian???

29-02-2012, 09:39 AM
I think this is a potentially feasible ( & excellent ) signing. The lad just turned 21 & I think he may already be out of contract given Norwegian league has been in winter shut down. Every young player wants to move to EPL these days & SPL is a good stepping stone to do so. Virtually every player Celtc have signed from abroad in last 2-3 years has stated that's their aim. Doubt we'd get him on any longer than 2 years ( as I said in loan thread everyone's a loan player these days ), but could be a win/win for player & Hibs.

29-02-2012, 10:00 AM
I think this is a potentially feasible ( & excellent ) signing. The lad just turned 21 & I think he may already be out of contract given Norwegian league has been in winter shut down. Every young player wants to move to EPL these days & SPL is a good stepping stone to do so. Virtually every player Celtc have signed from abroad in last 2-3 years has stated that's their aim. Doubt we'd get him on any longer than 2 years ( as I said in loan thread everyone's a loan player these days ), but could be a win/win for player & Hibs.

Maybe we have signed him on a pre-contract would be a good one if true.

Hank Schrader
29-02-2012, 10:26 AM

And you know that for sure do you?

29-02-2012, 10:41 AM
Christmas,birthday,lottery win all in one if we could get him, would be an instant fans favourite very classy and strong. Please please please !!!!

29-02-2012, 10:50 AM
Certainly looks quality in those clips.
Facially looks like a long haired John Rankin. :greengrin

I hope he doesn't use the same dvd editor as EDG.

29-02-2012, 10:52 AM
Christmas,birthday,lottery win all in one if we could get him, would be an instant fans favourite very classy and strong. Please please please !!!!

Absolutely !!
Björn Bergmann signed a 3-year contract with Lillestrøm SK in January 2009. if that is correct is out of contract as of now
Born 26 February 1991

29-02-2012, 10:58 AM

Thanks Victor for recommending Bjorn to Hibs :thumbsup:

How is life over there in New York with the Red Bulls?

Rivers Cuomo
29-02-2012, 11:04 AM
Would be an awesome signing

shagpile
29-02-2012, 11:14 AM

Sounds unlikely, but Hibs have an advantage over these other clubs in the shape of that silver tongued devil Rod.
Maybe he has worked his mustachioed magic once more?

Iceman
29-02-2012, 11:50 AM
Without wanting to put our club down too much if he was linked to ajax a few months ago i'd suggest he'd probably be able to get a club offering a lot more money than we can so i'd be surprised if anything comes of it.

Does the paper say he's definately signing or that we're interested in him?

The story says ,,according to our reliable sources Björn Bergmann Sigurdarson is heading to Scotland in the summer with the destination believed to be Hibernian."

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lJiAcgeSQwo

29-02-2012, 12:08 PM
The story says ,,according to our reliable sources Björn Bergmann Sigurdarson is heading to Scotland in the summer with the destination believed to be Hibernian."

How do you think he would do in the SPL Victor?:greengrin

29-02-2012, 12:18 PM
Big, strong, fast, skillful and scores goals. I love the way he just runs people over as he heads straight at the goals. He looks like he would be an outstanding signing.

Please Rod. :pray:

Iceman
29-02-2012, 12:20 PM
How do you think he would do in the SPL Victor?:greengrin

One word: IMMENSE.

Alan62
29-02-2012, 12:28 PM
Yes please. And a sensible move for a young man with a lot of potential.

29-02-2012, 12:28 PM
Yes please.

Where did Iceland suddenly find all these talented laddies? Their under 21 side of the last couple of years has been a joy to watch.

29-02-2012, 12:34 PM
he wont get in the team,lewis will keep him out

29-02-2012, 12:42 PM

Yes Please!

29-02-2012, 12:47 PM
Yes please.

Where did Iceland suddenly find all these talented laddies? Their under 21 side of the last couple of years has been a joy to watch.

I think they made a huge investment a number of years ago in indoor facilities and are now reaping the benefits. The sort of thing Scotland should have done years ago.

29-02-2012, 12:55 PM
Yes please.

We've already had one promising youngster and Palsson went off the boil rapidly.

Not hibs class - cannae finish. :greengrin

pentlando
29-02-2012, 01:11 PM
From that clip he didn't seem to be doing a lot of unseen work, and only seen him in and around the opponents box. Isn't being a box to box midfielder the main requirement at Hibs :greengrin

29-02-2012, 01:34 PM
From that clip he didn't seem to be doing a lot of unseen work, and only seen him in and around the opponents box. Isn't being a box to box midfielder the main requirement at Hibs :greengrin

Only fitba folk ken whit ye mean

29-02-2012, 01:43 PM

Cheers, from memory around this time last year you came on here linking us to icelandic players that seemed way out our league then as well so I'm starting to wonder if icelandic journos aren't very good, you've got the wrong club or you're victor pallson at the wind up linking all your pals with us!

Don't take that the wrong way though, appreciate you passing on the info, just think there's no chance of this happening

29-02-2012, 01:57 PM

What paper is this?

29-02-2012, 02:30 PM
can't see it to be honest.

29-02-2012, 03:46 PM
Sell a couple a dozen tops with his name on the back and that is the wages paid.

29-02-2012, 03:58 PM
Believe it when its on the official website :cb

29-02-2012, 04:17 PM
I really hope this is true. Fingers are crossed. Are the papers up there in Iceland reliable Iceman?

Woody70x2
29-02-2012, 05:21 PM
Watched the clip and his summarised ability included a number of shots that didn't go in.

Would fit right into the team :greengrin

Edinburgh Green
29-02-2012, 05:52 PM
Cheers, from memory around this time last year you came on here linking us to icelandic players that seemed way out our league then as well so I'm starting to wonder if icelandic journos aren't very good, you've got the wrong club or you're victor pallson at the wind up linking all your pals with us!

Don't take that the wrong way though, appreciate you passing on the info, just think there's no chance of this happening

http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?204024-Heerenveen-player-linked-with-Hibernian&highlight=

http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?203504-Kolbeinn-Sigthorsson-(AZ-Alkmaar)&highlight=

29-02-2012, 06:00 PM

And Anni-Frid Lyngstad was Norwegian. Spooky or what?............. :greengrin

29-02-2012, 06:02 PM
Anyway, what do Icelanders know about people whose name ends in "...son"? :wink:

29-02-2012, 08:36 PM
http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?204024-Heerenveen-player-linked-with-Hibernian&highlight=

http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?203504-Kolbeinn-Sigthorsson-(AZ-Alkmaar)&highlight=

Yep a bit of a pattern emerging. :greengrin

29-02-2012, 09:18 PM
Anyway, what do Icelanders know about people whose name ends in "...son"? :wink:

Viking descendent folk ken what's gaun' on.

29-02-2012, 09:49 PM

Have you got a link to the article?

29-02-2012, 10:16 PM

Do you think the OP is at the lashsson? :greengrin

29-02-2012, 10:23 PM
We had the exact same type of rumour last year with the Icelandic lad at a Dutch team. We got youtube videos and the like up and he was already like a fans favourite, so lets not get our hopes up yet eh. :greengrin

Sunny1875
29-02-2012, 10:45 PM
He has heard about Hibs signing players that Rangers cant afford, and the new playstation at Eastmains

01-03-2012, 07:21 AM
Absolutely !!
Björn Bergmann signed a 3-year contract with Lillestrøm SK in January 2009. if that is correct is out of contract as of now
Born 26 February 1991

I also found these

Name
Björn Bergmann Sigurðarson

Nationality
http://www.hibs.net/img/bandeiras/17_isl_peq.gif (http://www.hibs.net/pais.php?id=17) Iceland (http://www.hibs.net/pais.php?id=17)

Born
1991-02-26 (21 years)

City of Birth
- http://www.hibs.net/img/bandeiras/17_isl_peq.gif (http://www.hibs.net/pais.php?id=17) Iceland (http://www.hibs.net/pais.php?id=17)

Position
Forward
Preferred foot
Right

Height
186 cm

Weight
81 kg

Web

Social network

Club
http://www.hibs.net/img/bandeiras/22_nor_peq.gif (http://www.hibs.net/pais.php?id=22) Lillestrom (http://www.hibs.net/equipa.php?id=2029&epoca_id=0)

Contract
2013/12

and

More info about Björn Bergmann Sigurdarson

Contract until:

http://static.transfermarkt.net/static/wappen_small/353k.png

Im not sure when his contract ends.I think someone else also mentioned it ends in the summer.If his contract ended January what is to stop us from signing him now?Personally I think this rumour is total cack.He has been linked with a whole host of clubs we couldnt get close to competing with financially.Lastly there is this from sickbag from July of last year.Wonder if its the same paper that this rumour has come from and its the Icelandic version of the Sun.

Translated from Icelandic newspaper Fréttatíminn:

Interest gathering round Björn

Lilleström striker, Björn Bergmann Sigurdarson, could be on his way out of the club this summer.
A host of clubs are following the striker closely with scouts from PSV, Liverpool, Hamburg and Hearts watching him earn Man of the match display against Viking on Sunday.

20 year old Sigurdarson , who is regarded as one of the biggest talent in Scandinavia, is currently having a very good season as he tops the assist table along with scoring 7 goals in all competitions this season.

He has mostly been deployed as the supporting striker but with the sale of topscorer Anthony Ujah, Sigurdarson will most likely play the main striker role.

A norwegian sportsjournalist told Fréttatíminn he doesnt expect Sigurdarson to remain in Norway for much longer.

"Sigurdarson is an exceptional player. I have never seen a player with that much potential ever in Norwegian football. I could compare him to a young Dennis Bergkamp, Zlatan Ibrahimovic but I wont. He will play for a very big club in the future. He has got it all pace, outstanding technical abilities, great passing abilities and when he starts scoring more regulary, he will be a very complete player. I hope he switches nationality and decides to play for Norway,.“

Sigurdarson rejected a move to Man Utd at the age of 16 and made his first team debut at the age of 15 in the Icelandic league. He made his debut in the Norwegian Premierleagu at the age of 17. He was part of the Iceland side that took part in the U21 European Championships last month.

See him make a brilliant run and set up a goal last weekend (the second goal to make it 2-0). A class act:
http://www.lsk.no/no....b7C_wlfU18.ips (http://www.lsk.no/no/sportslig/a-laget/nyheter/H%C3%B8ydepunkter%3A+Lillestr%C3%B8m+-+Viking+2-1.b7C_wlfU18.ips)

norhfc
01-03-2012, 08:18 AM
Only fitba folk ken whit ye mean

Iceman....me and a few mates are in Rykavik this weekend,where is the best place to watch football there ??
(spl and epl likes)

Iceman
01-03-2012, 08:36 AM
Iceman....me and a few mates are in Rykavik this weekend,where is the best place to watch football there ??
(spl and epl likes)

In downtown Reykjavik you can go to the following:
Glaumbar, English pub, Hvíta Perlan and Bjarni Fel

Also Úrilla Górillan, Players and Ölver Sportbar but they are not downtown

norhfc
01-03-2012, 09:14 AM
In downtown Reykjavik you can go to the following:
Glaumbar, English pub, Hvíta Perlan and Bjarni Fel

Also Úrilla Górillan, Players and Ölver Sportbar but they are not downtown

thanks Iceman, one last question, which one would you recommend ?

Iceman
01-03-2012, 09:44 AM
thanks Iceman, one last question, which one would you recommend ?

I would recommend the english pub but here is a link about it and other pubs in Reykjavik with every information you may need:
http://www.mydestination.com/reykjavik/nightlife/3589/pubs

Icelanders are footy crazy so the sports bars are pretty much packed on game day.

Benny Brazil
01-03-2012, 10:05 AM
Iceman - do you have a link to the newspaper article about Hibs being interested in this guy?

01-03-2012, 10:56 AM
Been linked with hearts?

Singapore Hibs
02-03-2012, 05:35 PM
Not an attention seeker or a yam (or a regular poster) but...........

This guy and what I can only imagine was his mum stopped me on Gamekeepers road to ask for directions to Easter Road stadium last Sunday morning at around 11am. (recognise him from google images)

I don't know if he is any good or not, he just looked like a wee laddie looking to visit the stadium.

I'm expecting a hard time for this but it is gospel (I couldn't make this stuff up) :D

02-03-2012, 06:17 PM
Not an attention seeker or a yam (or a regular poster) but...........

This guy and what I can only imagine was his mum stopped me on Gamekeepers road to ask for directions to Easter Road stadium last Sunday morning at around 11am. (recognise him from google images)

I don't know if he is any good or not, he just looked like a wee laddie looking to visit the stadium.

I'm expecting a hard time for this but it is gospel (I couldn't make this stuff up) :D

:wink: :greengrin

Singapore Hibs
24-08-2013, 12:33 AM
:wink: :greengrin

sorry to bring up old posts but.........

Watching Wolves tonight and I think this is the guy that scored the first for them.........

This definitely is the same guy I saw on Gamekeepers.

Green Blood
24-08-2013, 01:11 AM

Worked at Ajax then free transfer to Vim with a brief spell at Domestos followed by a final fling at Flash and brief spell at Cillit Bang before deciding to join us!!

vercol36
24-08-2013, 08:33 AM
In some of the movements on that video, another player will have worked himself into a good position or will have provided Sigurdarson with a good pass. I can see him playing well will our younger players (I'm especially thinking of Stanton, Handling and Caldwell) as well as KT, and would possibly be the long-pass merchant that Collins has been crying out for.

But he would just confuse the ***** out of Vine.

Stevo1875
24-08-2013, 09:47 AM
sorry to bring up old posts but.........

Watching Wolves tonight and I think this is the guy that scored the first for them.........

This definitely is the same guy I saw on Gamekeepers.

yeah, plays for wolves

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bj%C3%B6rn_Bergmann_Sigur%C3%B0arson

24-08-2013, 09:49 AM
yeah, plays for wolves

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bj%C3%B6rn_Bergmann_Sigur%C3%B0arson

£2.4 million - can see why Hearts were interested - pocket money :agree:

26-08-2013, 08:33 AM
So, was/is this aload of rubbish or has anyone else heard likewise? Strange how it's seemingly been reported in an Icelantic paper but no ones heard anything in Scotland?

Looks a cracking player by all accounts!

26-08-2013, 08:35 AM
So, was/is this aload of rubbish or has anyone else heard likewise? Strange how it's seemingly been reported in an Icelantic paper but no ones heard anything in Scotland?

Looks a cracking player by all accounts!

Old thread. Currently plays with Wolves

26-08-2013, 08:55 AM
Wow you're right, never noticed the first post was made in 2012! I read this thread the other day thinking it was new and got excited, doh! My bad.

26-08-2013, 09:23 AM
So him and Benji up front against Ross County on Saturday?! Goals, goals, goals!!........These old threads are confusing me somewhat

26-08-2013, 10:08 AM
So him and Benji up front against Ross County on Saturday?! Goals, goals, goals!!........These old threads are confusing me somewhat

Actually reading them tends to help :aok:

26-08-2013, 11:22 AM
Was more just a crap joke to be honest. I can read, thankfully

Evergreen86
26-08-2013, 11:26 AM

Paps it front of goal if you ask me..........:tin hat::worried:

26-08-2013, 11:27 AM
Was more just a crap joke to be honest. I can read, thankfully

I know - my response was supposed to be in the same manner :greengrin

26-08-2013, 12:17 PM
Crap jokes everywhere this morning :-) *No smilies on phone