View Full Version : Hibernian 1977 - 1978 Away Retro Shirt

23-02-2012, 02:22 PM
http://www.toffs.com/Hibernian-1977-1980-Away-Retro-Shirt/productinfo/2093/ :thumbsup:

http://www.toffs.com/Hibernian-1977-80-Home-Retro-Shirt/productinfo/2092/

http://www.toffs.com/ShowAdditionalImg.asp?number=2092

23-02-2012, 02:30 PM
I remember getting one of the purple track suits for a birthday or Christmas when I was knee high. Loved it :greengrin

23-02-2012, 02:43 PM
Home shirt is smashing. Away shirt.....naw!

23-02-2012, 02:45 PM
Home shirt is smashing. Away shirt.....naw!

The away shirt was the dog's danglies back in the day :agree:

London Hibs FC
23-02-2012, 02:48 PM
The home version was my first ever Hibs Top, didn't have it off my back (day or night) for, at least, three years!!

HFC07
23-02-2012, 02:48 PM
it would be better with short sleeves

23-02-2012, 03:00 PM
it would be better with short sleeves

^ Proof that folk from Aberdeen are hard as nails when it comes to the weather...

My first thought when I looked at the link was.. "ohhh long sleeves... cosy" :greengrin

23-02-2012, 03:37 PM
I'm gonna get them for myself and my dad, well smart.

franco
23-02-2012, 03:56 PM
I Remember getting the strip from my brother for my xmas that year was well smart:agree:

23-02-2012, 04:17 PM
I used to love that purple top.

wazoo1875
23-02-2012, 04:29 PM
The home version was my first ever Hibs Top, didn't have it off my back (day or night) for, at least, three years!!

The home one was my first ever top anaw, my mum just handed me pictures of me in it the other day. I'm having those again, the away one is still awesome!!

gringojoe
23-02-2012, 04:32 PM
Original version was made or the jaggiest material ever rubbed your nipples to shreds!

23-02-2012, 07:22 PM
i had the shiney yellow 3rd strip.
who's the player in the picture ?

Greendreamer
23-02-2012, 07:39 PM
This was my first Hibs kit too. I recall this being purchased with the shorts and socks also. If my memory is correct i was after a no 7 to be stitched on and we visited at least 6 shops without success, ended up with a no 5 instead. Which again, if my memory is working George Stewart was the holder of that number at the time.

Being from outwith the capital growing up in Perth I was the only lad running around in the glorious green, I got used to some abuse which I still get now.

I have a collection of strips in the house from the 80's onwards.

The 'bukta' one was always a fav.

N.Wales Hibby
24-02-2012, 07:14 AM

Aye, You have me to thank for that top and for making you a good Hibby.:thumbsup:

24-02-2012, 07:32 AM

:fishin:

ano hibby
24-02-2012, 07:36 AM
I remember getting one of the purple track suits for a birthday or Christmas when I was knee high. Loved it :greengrin

As did I. Loved it. I remember not long after i got it, before primary school one morning changing out of normal school clothes round the corner from house & putting on the full purple shiny tracksuit & going off to school proud as punch. The teacher must have wondered what the hell was going on but i'm sure i would have won 'world cup' in the playground that lunchtime.:greengrin
Happy days. :agree:

Going to get one of those strips also as also my first strip.:agree:

24-02-2012, 07:48 AM
Original version was made or the jaggiest material ever rubbed your nipples to shreds!

As an owner of an original, I can second this.

The home top is the wrong green as usual.

24-02-2012, 07:54 AM
I'm probably in the minority..........but that shirt is one I have always thought was absolutely honkin! :rolleyes::cb

24-02-2012, 07:58 AM

:agree: :boo hoo:

24-02-2012, 09:06 AM
I love the 1902 shirt. Stick white sleeves on that and bring it out next season! :not worth

leemel
24-02-2012, 09:18 AM
Agreed

I love the 1902 shirt. Stick white sleeves on that and bring it out next season! :not worth

24-02-2012, 09:23 AM
The purple shirt was my first ever Hibs top, loved it then as I do now.

The mists of time have clouded my recall somewhat but am I right in thinking that this was the home strip for television?

http://files.stv.tv/img/articles/279234-football-memories-arthur-montford-on-george-best-410x230.jpg

Something about not allowing sponsored shirts on the box. Effectively we were the first to have 4 (including a yellow version) distinct strips in the one season.

green glory
24-02-2012, 10:53 AM
As an owner of an original, I can second this.

The home top is the wrong green as usual.

Anyone got a picture of the original, not under floodlights and soaked in sweat (which would obviously look darker)? Sure someone here had a pic of the home and away on coat-hangers. Would be nice to compare them to the new ones. :agree:

24-02-2012, 11:47 AM
Anyone got a picture of the original, not under floodlights and soaked in sweat (which would obviously look darker)? Sure someone here had a pic of the home and away on coat-hangers. Would be nice to compare them to the new ones. :agree:

Original home https://picasaweb.google.com/102100932128616983363/OldHibsStrips?authkey=Gv1sRgCLbxr7a4lqP8Fw#5662316 334741185714

Original away https://picasaweb.google.com/102100932128616983363/OldHibsStrips?authkey=Gv1sRgCLbxr7a4lqP8Fw#5662316 475302326674

24-02-2012, 11:51 AM
Superb top! Wish they would do the purple bukta tracksuit as well.

24-02-2012, 11:58 AM
That home top was the 1st one I ever had. I may be in a minority here but I dinnae like purple strips, didnae like it then, dinnae like them now. I may buy that home top. :agree:

24-02-2012, 11:58 AM
Don't know why but I always think of Rikki Fleming when I see this top.

A few crackers in here as well http://www.flickr.com/photos/aberdeenfc/sets/72157608571023925/detail/ (ignore URL..it is Hibs).

24-02-2012, 12:23 PM

Correct ! LOL !

24-02-2012, 12:28 PM
Original home https://picasaweb.google.com/102100932128616983363/OldHibsStrips?authkey=Gv1sRgCLbxr7a4lqP8Fw#5662316 334741185714

Original away https://picasaweb.google.com/102100932128616983363/OldHibsStrips?authkey=Gv1sRgCLbxr7a4lqP8Fw#5662316 475302326674

That's Blockbusters!

Lungo--Drom
25-02-2012, 12:39 AM
The away shirt was the dog's danglies back in the day :agree:

Totally agree. I've havered on about it for years. Sometimes wonder if I just imagined it all, even tried to get them to bring back purple as an away colour :agree:

It's probably my ageing eyesight but the purple appears affy (brace yourselves) blue on the Toffs website.

Doesn't matter, am getting one, that'll be my new top for 2012/13.

Didn't they make a film about the away matches that season? Think it was called The Color Purple (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Color_Purple_%28film%29) :greengrin

25-02-2012, 02:49 AM
http://www.toffs.com/Hibernian-1977-1980-Away-Retro-Shirt/productinfo/2093/ :thumbsup:

:thumbsup: That purple one looks great with the yellow detail on the sleeve.

Not a fan of retro tops that aren't endorsed by the original manufacturer as it feels like there's something missing so its great to get something that looks like the original.

No doubt there will be a few of us preparing to explain away an £80 hole in the bank balance!:greengrin

25-02-2012, 04:30 AM
Classics :agree:

Like Mikey I got the purple tracky fae Santa - along wi' the home strip. There was also a pair of Peter Bonetti goalie gloves - in fetching brown and biege. What a combo with the green and purple :faf:

London Hibs FC
25-02-2012, 01:55 PM
Aye, You have me to thank for that top and for making you a good Hibby.:thumbsup:

Aye, thanks for all the years of suffering Pop :wink:

25-02-2012, 02:27 PM
That home top was the one that made me a Hibby. Need to buy that.

connerg
25-02-2012, 05:21 PM

Look at my avatar?

London Hibs FC
21-03-2012, 10:33 PM
Anybody received one through the post yet???

Gala Foxes
22-03-2012, 04:36 AM
Anybody received one through the post yet???

Ordered a home shirt a month ago - Toffs say not in stock , on back order, a full month has passed since it was ordered

22-03-2012, 06:28 AM

The mists of time have clouded my recall somewhat but am I right in thinking that this was the home strip for television?

http://files.stv.tv/img/articles/279234-football-memories-arthur-montford-on-george-best-410x230.jpg

Thanks for the memories. That was my favourite top, the one without the advertising logo.

Oh and the score at that game was 2-1 Hibs, with Rae(I think) scoring the winner with a 20 yard thunderbolt. :thumbsup:

22-03-2012, 08:17 AM

Me too .. I was kinda hoping that it was one of the options in the OP

Sweep
22-03-2012, 11:28 AM
Ordered a home shirt a month ago - Toffs say not in stock , on back order, a full month has passed since it was ordered

Me too, still waiting on mine. :rolleyes:

22-03-2012, 12:36 PM
The purple shirt was my first ever Hibs top, loved it then as I do now.

Something about not allowing sponsored shirts on the box. Effectively we were the first to have 4 (including a yellow version) distinct strips in the one season.

I was thinking. Was the purple strip what was known as "the TV strip", it didn't have the word "Bukta" on it. I also think the sponsors logo (one of the first in British football" is too big. IIRC Tom Hart made big play on the fact that it was less than 10 inches high, meaning it met the SFA's criteria at the time.

22-03-2012, 04:28 PM
I'm sure theres a purple away top hanging up in the harp and castle

It's honking

22-03-2012, 05:13 PM
I've got a green beauty on order too, also ordered a month ago and got this response from Toffs:-

"the first batch of these are in production at
the minute and will cover your order,
it should be back in stock and
despatched in around two weeks. If
we can do anything else to help
please advise."

that was almost 2 weeks ago, so should be here next week.

Sweep
22-03-2012, 05:47 PM
Got home from work tonight and there it was, sitting on the settee. I was delighted but my wife took one look, said oh aye and continued watching judge judy. Women :confused:

22-03-2012, 06:13 PM
I was thinking. Was the purple strip what was known as "the TV strip", it didn't have the word "Bukta" on it. I also think the sponsors logo (one of the first in British football" is too big. IIRC Tom Hart made big play on the fact that it was less than 10 inches high, meaning it met the SFA's criteria at the time.
Ah, the nipple ripper. Not only agony on the eyes.

22-03-2012, 06:15 PM
Got home from work tonight and there it was, sitting on the settee. I was delighted but my wife took one look, said oh aye and continued watching judge judy. Women :confused:

magic.
hopefully mines will be here any day. long as its here before April 14!
70s throwback

Gala Foxes
23-03-2012, 05:49 AM
Green Bukta shirt arrived yesterday - spot on replica of the original , all it needs is Schaedler 3 on the back of it, or Blackley 6, or Temperley 12, so many to choose from

23-03-2012, 09:18 AM
I'd forgotten about this, just ordered mine (green strip) today, hopefully they'll have some in stock and I'll no have tae wait too long :thumbsup: :greengrin

London Hibs FC
23-03-2012, 06:32 PM
Mine arrived today, resplendent :agree:

24-03-2012, 08:13 AM
Green Bukta shirt arrived yesterday - spot on replica of the original , all it needs is Schaedler 3 on the back of it, or Blackley 6, or Temperley 12, so many to choose from

mines arrived too.

just about to pick it up. complete with number 3 in memory of the great Schaedler :)

24-03-2012, 08:37 AM
Why don't the club sell some of these in the shop, definitely missing a sales opportunity

24-03-2012, 09:11 AM
Why don't the club sell some of these in the shop, definitely missing a sales opportunity

think Toffs keep all the rights and only sell from their website.
Only ever seen Score Draw gear in the likes of Burton's/HMV.

24-03-2012, 09:22 AM
I'd forgotten about this, just ordered mine (green strip) today, hopefully they'll have some in stock and I'll no have tae wait too long :thumbsup: :greengrinordered yesterday, just arrived. 24hrs since I made the quoted post, excellent service. http://i1175.photobucket.com/albums/r623/JDPH1875/smilies/thumbsupg.gif

24-03-2012, 07:45 PM
mines came today, absolutely delighted with it. better than I thought it'd be!
well done Toffs (and Bukta owners) for allowing this masterpiece to be recreated :)
10/10