View Full Version : Wotherspoon (merged)
27-10-2012, 09:12 AM
Who is this new player? Hes been poor for a couple of years but is playing brilliant for us this season, its like having a new signing. Big credit to Spoony keep up the good work. Mon le cabbage
27-10-2012, 09:51 AM
Petrie's tache will be twitching if DW carries on with his improvements.
It's great to see him play so well and with a lot of confidence......probably the most improved player from last season's squad, Claros is not far behind him IMO!
27-10-2012, 10:00 AM
It's only 'cringeworthy' when the comments are taken out of context. At the time, and after a long spell of poor performances, some of the opinions were perfectly understandable.
Garbage.
Reading that level of venom from some of the posters towards a young Hibs player will always be cringeworthy at best.
Not many from that thread being man enough to come on and eat a bit of humble pie either.
27-10-2012, 10:19 AM
Garbage.
Reading that level of venom from some of the posters towards a young Hibs player will always be cringeworthy at best.
Not many from that thread being man enough to come on and eat a bit of humble pie either.
Whats the 'venom' youre unhappy with? some standard jokes about driving him down to his new club and a pretty funny description from lyonhibs of his running style :hilarious
Some good sensible contributions for the most part. He WAS largely ganting for the most part of two seasons, and if most hibs fans had given up hope of seeing his promise fulfilled they can hardly be blamed for that :dunno:
It could be as simple as a more professional attitude. I remember some tweets about stuffing his face with chicken nuggets...he does seem to have lost some excess weight recently.
27-10-2012, 11:13 AM
Whats the 'venom' youre unhappy with? some standard jokes about driving him down to his new club and a pretty funny description from lyonhibs of his running style :hilarious
Some good sensible contributions for the most part. He WAS largely ganting for the most part of two seasons, and if most hibs fans had given up hope of seeing his promise fulfilled they can hardly be blamed for that :dunno:
It could be as simple as a more professional attitude. I remember some tweets about stuffing his face with chicken nuggets...he does seem to have lost some excess weight recently.
What's wrong with chicken nuggets like? You said in that Sheff Utd thread that he should "lay off the chicken nuggets and you might be a player :aok:" ... that's pretty cringe.
BTW, Sparky's in nandos all the time, doesn't seem to effect him very much :greengrin
Not saying some of the comments on that thread weren't merited. I can understand some people wanting rid, but for those who didn't believe in D, it's great that he's proving them so very wrong.
Still remember that comment about how he will "never be a professional footballer"... now THAT was a ridiculous comment. :wink:
27-10-2012, 11:23 AM
What's wrong with chicken nuggets like? You said in that Sheff Utd thread that he should "lay off the chicken nuggets and you might be a player :aok:" ... that's pretty cringe.
BTW, Sparky's in nandos all the time, doesn't seem to effect him very much :greengrin
Not saying some of the comments on that thread weren't merited. I can understand some people wanting rid, but for those who didn't believe in D, it's great that he's proving them so very wrong.
Still remember that comment about how he will "never be a professional footballer"... now THAT was a ridiculous comment. :wink:
Don't let Jamie Oliver hear you say that, you'll be getting them eating Turkey Twizzlers next...I suppose anythings better than humble pie:greengrin When alls said and done im sure everyone's delighted he's playing so well.
27-10-2012, 11:37 AM
Don't let Jamie Oliver hear you say that, you'll be getting them eating Turkey Twizzlers next...I suppose anythings better than humble pie:greengrin When alls said and done im sure everyone's delighted he's playing so well.
I'm not saying they should all be ramming their gobs with chicken every night, but just thought it was a bit shan to bash him over the head with something so petty. Steven Fletcher's one of the top scorers in the prem and he puts his good form down to caramel shortbread and irn bru :greengrin. I did see your player ratings thread, so fair play for coming on and saying you were wrong to right him off :aok:
27-10-2012, 11:37 AM
I've doubted Spoony in the past but if he continues to prove me wrong as he has recently then I'm delighted.
A bit of confidence goes a long way.
27-10-2012, 11:46 AM
He had been poor for a long time, this season he's been good. As someone else has said, he seems to have slimmed down a bit, thats clearly helped him. :top marks
I have had my doubts, i hope his form so far this season will carry on, and hopefully will change my opinion and maybe a few others?
Long may it continue. :thumbsup:
27-10-2012, 12:38 PM
Wotherspoon used to bottle out of trying going past his man. He does it with confidence now, and expects to come out with the ball every time. That's the difference.
Looking at pictures of him over his time in the first team...... he's always been like a rake, don't see this whole "slimmed down" arguement. What I think we see now isn't as much of an improvement in fitness, but a team that believes it can play for 90 minutes without throwing the game away.
27-10-2012, 01:44 PM
It's only 'cringeworthy' when the comments are taken out of context. At the time, and after a long spell of poor performances, some of the opinions were perfectly understandable.
:agree: Last season (and the season before) it looked as if he'd completely lost his way. I think of someone had offered Hibs, say, £100,000 for him, no one on this board would have been complaining too loudly, especially if PF had used the cash to bring in a direct replacement.
FWIW, I have no idea what it is that's made the difference, but the David Wotherspoon playing last night was like a completely different player compared with the player we were seeing last season. Committed, confident, direct, opened the scoring with a terrific strike and closed us off with a dream move to lay it on a plate for young Handling - if we HAD transferred him to Sheffield, and he'd started playing like this for them, we'd all be kicking ourselves (or more likely PF and RP) for a gross error of judgement.
And unless I'm mistaken, most of the most extreme opinions expressed in that thread were expressed by a poster who has since 'left by mutual consent' - I don't know exactly why.
But his posts about Wotherspoon and Hanlon in that thread ARE way OTT in my opinion. Most of the rest of the chat seems entirely reasonable in the context of DW's form over the previous two seasons under Hughes and Calderwood.
Who knows? Maybe David read the thread and took a tumble to himself. Maybe he's just benefitting from working with committed coaches in a pleasanter atmosphere with fellow-players who actually give a damn about the club that pays their wages.
Jorge Claros is like a new player too.
27-10-2012, 02:13 PM
Petrie's tache will be twitching if DW carries on with his improvements.
It's great to see him play so well and with a lot of confidence......probably the most improved player from last season's squad, Claros is not far behind him IMO!
He's got a problem though... Wotherspoon is out of contract at end of this season. He will also be too old (23 in January) to get a fee by tribunal.
27-10-2012, 02:20 PM
He was brilliant again yesterday, been amazing this season! Just saw his goal as i missed it at the game and what a great strike! Scored some crackers recently!
Hibeesforever
27-10-2012, 03:42 PM
David Wotherspoon showed his real class and confidence when playing for the Scotland U21's.
The last two years must have been so depressing working with imposters at East Mains.
The board now need to step up and reward both him his "Gangman" partner with decent contracts. Griffiths and Wotherspoon should be asked into Rod's office Monday first thing.
The team is there, now is the time to invest further.
The start we have had means gates are sure to go up as more of the 25,000 return to Easter Road. Hearts armageddon coming up, Hibs nirvana to look forward to.
I am convinced that both Wotherspoon and Griffths have got many Scotland caps ahead of them.
I remember John Collins re-signing a two year deal when he had the pick of clubs both in Scotland and England. Both David Wotherspoon and Leigh Griffiths should be encouraged to copy his 1980's example and allow the team to develop its potential.
I see the club are selling East plaques to raise funds; might be tempted to purchase one to help the financing of both the signature of Wotherspoon and Griffiths. Every little helps. Bricks and mortar better than paper!
27-10-2012, 03:52 PM
Garbage.
Venom? Really?
Two seasons of mediocrity and they should be eating humble pie after a few decent games? I didn't jump on here to eat humble pie when Keenan had that decent game once.
27-10-2012, 03:58 PM
Venom? Really?
Two seasons of mediocrity and they should be eating humble pie after a few decent games? I didn't jump on here to eat humble pie when Keenan had that decent game once.
How about just giving the guy a bit of credit where its due, no?
27-10-2012, 04:41 PM
I'm one of the ones that wasn't convinced last year although I think some of the concerns weren't unfounded. This year he's looked like a different player and I'm happy to be proved wrong. The biggest difference for me is that he's playing with much more cofidence, and so he should be as his recent performances have been excellent. It's like the upward spiral Mowbray used to talk about and long may it continue. Well done to him.
27-10-2012, 05:13 PM
Venom? Really?
Keenan and Spoony? ridiculous comparison. Already this season Wotherspoon has had superb performances against Dundee, Inverness and Motherwell, two superb assists against the yams and st mirren away. His only ropey performance i can think of is the killie game, and at tannadice when they were all rubbish.
27-10-2012, 05:18 PM
Spot on sir :agree:
27-10-2012, 05:20 PM
Oh you are here! Hiya pal! :greengrin
27-10-2012, 05:25 PM
Wotherspoon has been a lot better this season (he had to get better as he was being rightly compared to De Graaf, O'Brien, Keenan, etc)
Last night he started quietly but came into the game after his great goal. After that he played well. :agree:
I am as surprised as I am delighted and long may he continue to prove me wrong. Keep it up please David :agree: :thumbsup:
27-10-2012, 10:34 PM
He is decent going forward when he is playing with confidence but still does not track back and refuses to tackle. I'm glad he has improved this season but to be honest he could hardly got worse
27-10-2012, 11:03 PM
Nobody has been more critical of him than me but I am delighted that he is at last starting top show some of the form that made him such an exiting prospect a couple of years ago.
28-10-2012, 07:27 AM
Keenan and Spoony? ridiculous comparison. Already this season Wotherspoon has had superb performances against Dundee, Inverness and Motherwell, two superb assists against the yams and st mirren away. His only ropey performance i can think of is the killie game, and at tannadice when they were all rubbish.
Wotherspoon has played well for about a fifth of a season after two seasons of rubbish. It hardly merits "everyone who ever criticised him should admit they were completely wrong"-type gloating.
The Keenan thing really wasn't a comparison of the players' abilities.
The_Sauz
28-10-2012, 04:46 PM
He had been poor for a long time, this season he's been good. As someone else has said, he seems to have slimmed down a bit, thats clearly helped him. :top marks
I have had my doubts, i hope his form so far this season will carry on, and hopefully will change my opinion and maybe a few others?
Long may it continue. :thumbsup:
Same here :agree:
28-10-2012, 04:57 PM
Delighted that he's picked up his form in recent weeks. PF has clearly had a great influence on his confidence since the summer so hopefully he can continue playing well and we get him signed up for longer than the summer. Well done Spoony! :applause:
28-10-2012, 05:42 PM
Absolutely, the comments about him previously were justified, most of them anyway, he was piss poor and people myself included said it as it was.
I am delighted how he has performed this season so far with his goals and assists, he's like a new signing. I have no complaints about him he's come far as has the team, long may it continue.
Well done DW keep it up and prove us doubters wrong.
28-10-2012, 05:55 PM
He seems to be coming on to a game, which is long overdue. More of the same and more consistency and he'll be there...
30-10-2012, 07:59 PM
Who's been reading .net.
You should get some cashback from the Scotsman Hibbyandy:agree:
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/top-football-stories/danny-handling-still-smiling-after-hibs-fir-park-thriller-1-2605343
30-10-2012, 08:15 PM
Who's been reading .net.
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/top-football-stories/danny-handling-still-smiling-after-hibs-fir-park-thriller-1-2605343
31-10-2012, 03:33 PM
Who's been reading .net.
So near yet so far:boo hoo::boo hoo:
Back tae the drawin board for this week's games tho:cb:cb
31-10-2012, 03:34 PM
Still seething ^ :greengrin
31-10-2012, 03:38 PM
The world loves a trier!
I've told a few folk about your bet and all the *uggers did was laugh! It's a tough old world!
31-10-2012, 04:15 PM
I f he keeps these performances up then we should be able to get a mill or 2 for him at the end of the season and hopefully make a profit this year
31-10-2012, 04:17 PM
I f he keeps these performances up then we should be able to get a mill or 2 for him at the end of the season and hopefully make a profit this year
You have high hopes for Andy. Not sure I like this gambling your way out of trouble. 2 of our orange "friends" tried it. Look where they are now!
31-10-2012, 04:39 PM
I really did feel for Andy for a good ten minutes. Then I laughed. Sorry mate.
31-10-2012, 05:15 PM
You have high hopes for Andy. Not sure I like this gambling your way out of trouble. 2 of our orange "friends" tried it. Look where they are now!
I really did feel for Andy for a good ten minutes. Then I laughed. Sorry mate.
:yw:
31-10-2012, 06:45 PM
Your story even made The Sun today!
06-12-2012, 03:33 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/20630279
A bit worrying if true. Contract talks should have started the day after he helped demolish Motherwell at Fir Park.
No doubt, he'll have an agent telling him to sit it out and wait for alternative offers...
06-12-2012, 03:36 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/20630279
A bit worrying if true. Contract talks should have started the day after he helped demolish Motherwell at Fir Park.
No doubt, he'll have an agent telling him to sit it out and wait for alternative offers...
I wouldn't take anything from that. He won't say anything out of respect for the clubs the players are signed to.
As for Spoony, if PF has told Rod that he wants to keep him, then talks will take place this month.
06-12-2012, 03:40 PM
The only bit of business I would like to see us do is sign the three loan players up plus give new contracts to the likes of Doyle, Wotherspoon, Hanlon etc and also get paddy signed up on a new deal. I just hope that report is just typical BBC journalism. Too lose those three will be a massive blow in our chances of getting 2nd plus a return to Hampden.
06-12-2012, 03:47 PM
What a pointless story, basically the news is there's no news. If I was paranoid I might think they're trying to unsettle us while we're doing well. Thankfully I'm not paranoid though.
06-12-2012, 03:49 PM
No rush with Spoony really.
Where's he going to go? Celtic? Unlikely. Championship? Not ready for that yet. Another SPL club? Why?
I'd like to see him get another deal and if PF feels he's worth it then I'm sure we will make him an offer.
06-12-2012, 03:53 PM
I have a good feeling that we won't lose too many quality players in January.
I actually think we'll go from strength to strength. The time is finally right for us just to go for it.
06-12-2012, 03:57 PM
Scott Arfield and Craig Bryson are holding down starting roles for Championship sides and I'd rate Spoony at their level at least...
06-12-2012, 03:57 PM
Totally agree a nothing story.
Think DW deserves another contract on his performances this year, however if he didn't sign I wouldn't be too upset as I believe he could be replaced and not weaken us.
Hope all 3 get a new deal though and we keep a settled squad and add a couple of quality players.
06-12-2012, 04:00 PM
I still can't make my mind up over Spoony.
At time he can play absolutely brilliantly but there are other occasions when he looks so slow and let's say his passing leaves a lot to be desired.
You can only be work in progress for so long.
06-12-2012, 04:01 PM
Scott Arfield and Craig Bryson are holding down starting roles for Championship sides and I'd rate Spoony at their level at least...
Na, both performed consistently well over a long period of time, DW hasn't therefore I don't agree. If he keeps up his performances and gets better then that's a different story.
Could u imagine hom in centre mid in the championship? No chance at the moment imo.
06-12-2012, 04:13 PM
Wotherspoon's level is no more or less than at Hibs. He'll be a consistent performer for us for many a year if we can tie him down on a longer contract.
06-12-2012, 04:34 PM
Some people have short memories, wasn't that long ago he was being slated on here. :rolleyes:
http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?228759-David-Wotherspoon&highlight=Wotherspoon
ginger_rice
06-12-2012, 04:49 PM
At time he can play absolutely brilliantly but there are other occasions when he looks so slow and let's say his passing leaves a lot to be desired.
Thought Paul McStay made a career out of that :wink:
It's a pet hate of mine. Contracts do not get reviewed and / or renewed anywhere near quick enough in my opinion.
Obviously don't have the inside gossip so that perception may be pish.
06-12-2012, 04:54 PM
Thought Paul McStay made a career out of that :wink:
He was always a promising younger, even when he was 33 :agree:
06-12-2012, 04:57 PM
Opinions eh. Much has been written about Wotherspoon this season. Agreed that he has been poor for the past two seasons. There have been extenuating factors, like playing in a rubbish team, lack of confidence, being young and inconsistent etc.
Based on this season, this is my view. Pace, not really an issue. When you can step past a man with the ball at your feet like he can and do it as often as he has then it's not a big problem. Anyway, I don't see him as particularly slow. Haven't noticed poor passing. He can cross well and deliver the ball with two feet.
In my view his skill on the ball is excellent. It takes a degree of balls to take a man on and create something. That's what makes a difference and wins games. Of course it can also lead to you losing the ball and making a bit of an erse of it. Wotherspoon is our most creative midfield best playe (Cairney next). I feel that he can go onto better things. I would really like to see him developing as a centre midfield man, one who would dictate play and score goals. It's been a long time since we had a goalscoring threat at centre mid (Pat McGinlay?).
06-12-2012, 05:00 PM
No quotes in that story. Total guff IMO.
Love the Green
06-12-2012, 05:03 PM
Opinions eh. Much has been written about Wotherspoon this season. Agreed that he has been poor for the past two seasons. There have been extenuating factors, like playing in a rubbish team, lack of confidence, being young and inconsistent etc.
Based on this season, this is my view. Pace, not really an issue. When you can step past a man with the ball at your feet like he can and do it as often as he has then it's not a big problem. Anyway, I don't see him as particularly slow. Haven't noticed poor passing. He can cross well and deliver the ball with two feet.
In my view his skill on the ball is excellent. It takes a degree of balls to take a man on and create something. That's what makes a difference and wins games. Of course it can also lead to you losing the ball and making a bit of an erse of it. Wotherspoon is our most creative midfield best playe (Cairney next). I feel that he can go onto better things. I would really like to see him developing as a centre midfield man, one who would dictate play and score goals. It's been a long time since we had a goalscoring threat at centre mid (Pat McGinlay?).
FFS who is this world class player your are talkinmg about, Messi, Ronaldo or Rooney or are you his dad.
Absolute rubbish this post.
"keep the faith":wink:
06-12-2012, 06:51 PM
Been a revelation this season (well not for me, obviously as I've always rated him :wink: ). Plays with his head up and with confidence and what a difference it makes to his game. Scored a few cracking goals and has even more assists. Not sure what more people expect from a Hibs player TBH. Definately worthy of a new contract, IMO. Keep it up, D :not worth
06-12-2012, 07:06 PM
Great thread like. :aok:
Haters- #BendItLikeSpoony
06-12-2012, 07:07 PM
The only bit of business I would like to see us do is sign the three loan players up plus give new contracts to the likes of Doyle, Wotherspoon, Hanlon etc and also get paddy signed up on a new deal. I just hope that report is just typical BBC journalism. Too lose those three will be a massive blow in our chances of getting 2nd plus a return to Hampden.
You then go on to list seven.
06-12-2012, 08:22 PM
You then go on to list seven.
Where is that about then? The only business that I would like to see us do is just like I said, keep this current team and manager together and have them sign new long term deals. Not sign a new GK, DEF, MID, ATT etc. So where is this supposed imaginary list?
06-12-2012, 08:41 PM
Great thread like. :aok:
Haters- #BendItLikeSpoony
I think some of the comments are pretty fair and as you will know I've always been of the opinion that he wasn't good enough but as this season has proved he's been excellent from the player he was and I've been very honest about that.
Here's an interesting question -
Cairney or Spoony??????
Who would you rather have?
06-12-2012, 09:30 PM
Cairney or Spoony??????
Who would you rather have?
There's no reason to choose. One plays on the right, the other plays on the left, and they've both done an excellent job for us this season. Keep both!
06-12-2012, 10:15 PM
FFS who is this world class player your are talkinmg about, Messi, Ronaldo or Rooney or are you his dad.
I'd ask you to point out which bits are rubbish and why but I'd just be giving you a platform to crucify the laddie. You are typical of many in that you refuse to acknowledge any good in the laddie and then cannae wait to come on here and highlight any of his mistakes
07-12-2012, 06:35 AM
Love the green ? Keep the faith? Do you re-read
Your posts?
07-12-2012, 09:23 AM
Love the green ? Keep the faith? Do you re-read
Your posts?
I'm not sure that this guy has actually watched Wotherspoon this season. FWIW, nah mate, I don't think Spoon is Ronaldo, blah, blah, blah. I just think he is a young Hibs player that has come through the ranks and has more natural football talent than most. He has turned his standing around with performances this season and nothing gives me more pleasure than watching skill on the field. C'mon the Spoon!