View Full Version : Would you take relegation for the Scottish Cup?

Stevo1875
11-02-2012, 07:17 PM
A mate asked me this and, at first, I found it difficult to decide...

If you could choose between

1. Hibs winning the Scottish Cup and get relegated.
2. Hibs staying up and win nowt.

Which would you choose?
I would go for the Scottish Cup for the carnage!!! :rockin:

11-02-2012, 07:23 PM
Yes. Certainly if we came straight back up it would heve been worth it.

The one niggling thought would be that we could end up like Dundee, a once proud club, now a First Division perennial.

11-02-2012, 07:27 PM
Absolutely not.

I would never want to see Hibs end up outside the SPL.

11-02-2012, 07:43 PM
Absolutely no way.

jst1875
11-02-2012, 07:53 PM
No ..............

11-02-2012, 07:55 PM
Absolutely

11-02-2012, 07:56 PM
Not a chance, if Hibs go down we are in big big trouble

Makaveli
11-02-2012, 07:59 PM
Scottish Cup every time.

joebakerforever
11-02-2012, 07:59 PM
Yes !!

It's not as if we have never been relegated before.

11-02-2012, 08:00 PM
Nope.

Hibspirational
11-02-2012, 08:04 PM
Absolutely not.

I would never want to see Hibs end up outside the SPL.

Hibby 2005
11-02-2012, 08:08 PM
Scottish Cup will bring us a few quid. Relegation will cost us a lot more.

KingFranck
11-02-2012, 08:09 PM
A big yes from me infact I'd take a Scottish Cup win even if it meant going down two leagues !

11-02-2012, 08:12 PM
Yep

11-02-2012, 08:13 PM

I'd love to see us win the Cup - times running out for us oldsters - but relegation? No telling how much damage that would do to the club.

11-02-2012, 08:16 PM

I would too

11-02-2012, 08:17 PM
Never. A wee look across the toon, you will see a team that has in reality paid 19 million pounds for each cup they have won recently, and look where they are now. Would love to win the cup, but not if the price could be the club itself.

11-02-2012, 08:18 PM
I'm a yes man, it's the Holy Grail of the Scottish cup for me.

11-02-2012, 08:23 PM
A no brainer for me, the Scottish Cup.

Hibs would survive relegation and bounce back.

There is a helluva lot of Hibbies out there who have followed the club longer than me (45 years since I first went to ER) and deserve to see this.

Lets be honest if we p*** about finishing tenth or eleventh year in year out it would probably have the same effect as relegation.

pepe
11-02-2012, 08:26 PM
Could you imagine Hampden if we won the cup? Would love it!

Hibby 2005
11-02-2012, 08:26 PM
A no brainer for me, the Scottish Cup.

Hibs would survive relegation and bounce back.

There is a helluva lot of Hibbies out there who have followed the club longer than me (45 years since I first went to ER) and deserve to see this.

Lets be honest if we p*** about finishing tenth or eleventh year in year out it would probably have the same effect as relegation.

We'd only survive relegation if we bounced back right away.

Lang Toun Hibs
11-02-2012, 08:31 PM
Won't need to choose. We're going to stay up (with a degree confort!) and win the cup? Hibees! Hibees! Hibees! Hibees! (and I reckon we'll end celtic's winning run next week!)

Hibs3-2
11-02-2012, 08:38 PM
in a heart beat!

PapillonVert
11-02-2012, 09:01 PM

Hal Jordan
11-02-2012, 09:24 PM
No danger. I can remember the last two times we got relegated. It was rubbish. And we wouldn't find it so easy to recover and bounce back if it happened again. We can proudly say we've won it twice. Only 9 clubs have won it more times than we have. Most of the clubs in Scotland have never won the Scottish Cup. It's not a big deal, really.

11-02-2012, 09:25 PM

I'd take the cup now in exchange for relegation.

I believe that Fenlon would bring us straight back up

11-02-2012, 09:26 PM

Hibby 2005
11-02-2012, 09:31 PM
Aye, Fenlon would take us straight back up :rolleyes:

EasterRoad4Ever
11-02-2012, 09:33 PM
Yes, in a heartbeat. Gimme history and euphoria over perennial mediocrity any day of the week.

11-02-2012, 09:34 PM
Scottish Cup no doubt.Think we could manage to get back up to the Premier in less than a hundred n odd years.:wink:

Hibby 2005
11-02-2012, 09:41 PM
Tin Hat on but give me top 6 or Europe every year.

11-02-2012, 09:45 PM

Which would you choose?

We'd be back up in a season or two. Doubt dafty hertz would be able to survive relegation tho, vlad would probably pull the plug.

Dombie
11-02-2012, 09:46 PM
Where's the stay up AND win the Scottish cup option cos that's the only option for me.

GGTTH!

Bigbobajob
11-02-2012, 09:51 PM
Defo. 100% Scottish Cup.

11-02-2012, 09:55 PM
Yes for me.

Thinking back to the last time we got relegated. What would mean more winning the cup that year or staying up?

11-02-2012, 09:57 PM
100000000000000000000000 times yes :agree:

11-02-2012, 09:59 PM
Yes :agree:

11-02-2012, 10:04 PM
Only and I mean ONLY if I get a ticket for the final :agree:.

11-02-2012, 10:04 PM
Theres certainly a difference of opinion here and not an obvious choice IMO. Most of us have seen Hibs relegated, a few more than once yet none of us have seen us win the Scottish Cup. A cup win would be a once in a lifetime experience going by our previous record, but would we survive a relegation in today's society where we probably couldn't afford the likes of Latapy, Mixu and Sauzee to help us out. A cup win over long term security of the club? It's a hard one.

Rasta_Hibs
11-02-2012, 10:08 PM
Only Hibs fans would discuss this i think.

Personally i would not want after more than 100 years to win the scottish cup and then to have it tarnished by being relegated in the same season. When we do finally win it i want it to be when we keep ourselves in the SPL too! OR i can wait another hundred years!

i never want to see hibs relegated again!

11-02-2012, 10:11 PM
What makes u say fenlon would stay if we get relegated? I expect fenlon to keep us up.

I'd take the cup now in exchange for relegation.

I believe that Fenlon would bring us straight back up

11-02-2012, 10:12 PM
I could never at any cost vote for relegation, even for a Cup win. Sure, like everyone, I'd love to win the cup again, but at the risk of being shot down in flames I don't get my knickers in a twist about it like some. I can't help feeling that the paranoia about our failure to win the cup is felt greater ( but not solely )by the younger generations of our supporters and is abnormally driven by the boring and in my mind meaningless bating and winding up by our friends in the PBS. As someone else said, my priority will always be to support a team which is competing and challenging year in year out in our most important national competition. Relegation has to be the ultimate failure and humiliation but not winning the cup is an irksome disappointment.

SloopJB
11-02-2012, 10:18 PM

Lester B
11-02-2012, 10:31 PM

Which would you choose?

And this is a mate?!!?

Appreciate it's hypothetical but if he does have power to influence the future to this extent could he send Kate Winslett round to mine next Sunday when the wife is playing golf with a selection of saucy undies and a couple of cans of Red Bull?

11-02-2012, 10:33 PM
NO!

11-02-2012, 10:34 PM
It would be interesting to see the age ranges of the for and against votes on this.

I have to say that the older I get the more I would give anything to see us win the cup, so for me it would have to be a yes.

There is a school of thought that the alleged Hibs obsession with winning the cup is fueled by the mickey taking over our failure to win it coming from other teams fans. But I for one dont agree with that.

The Famous Five, Turnbulls Tornadoes, The Sauzee / Latapy team and the 2007 League cup team all tried and failed to win it and that is why the obsession has grown. It has started to look like there is a jinx on us in this competition and that is why for me it is such a big thing.

Not to mention the fact that ( as I said ) the olded I get the fewer chances I will get to see it happen.

11-02-2012, 10:42 PM

Which would you choose?

2. SPL status long term is much more important than winning one game short term, cup or not.

12-02-2012, 12:18 AM
A difficult decision but I have decided to vote in favour of a Scottish Cup win and relegation. We've been relegated before and bounced back quickly and I don't doubt for one moment that we would do that again should we have to.

:cup:

Capt Mainwaring
12-02-2012, 12:38 AM
2. SPL status long term is much more important than winning one game short term, cup or not.

Bollocks. If you go to your grave happy that we achieved short term status of 11th or better in the SPL then your easy pleased. The Scottish Cup is the Holy Grail and would allow every Hibs fan to rejoice for all times ever after.

12-02-2012, 12:52 AM
No chance, would rather be in SPL every time

12-02-2012, 12:58 AM
I'm a greedy sort. I want both.

12-02-2012, 01:02 AM

Staying up in any one particular season means nothing.

OK, it's better than going down but we could stay up and then go down next year, or the year after, or the year after that.

I'm 23 and when I'm 53 if you ask me about my best days as a Hibs fan I would take more joy from seeing us win something despite getting relegated than not seeing us win anything but consistently finish above relegation.

12-02-2012, 02:53 AM
Bollocks. If you go to your grave happy that we achieved short term status of 11th or better in the SPL then your easy pleased. The Scottish Cup is the Holy Grail and would allow every Hibs fan to rejoice for all times ever after.

Yeah, I can just see it now...us Hibees all rejoicing our way around ****my 1st division grounds for years to come, watching even worse pish than we have been watching for the last few years because all our decent players jumped ship after relegation and we couldn't afford/attract new ones. What a brilliant idea.

12-02-2012, 04:00 AM
Staying up in any one particular season means nothing. OK, it's better than going down...

Make up your mind. Which one is it?

thekaratekid
12-02-2012, 04:02 AM
defo Scottish Cup

12-02-2012, 04:49 AM
This is what got the yams up to their necks in the brown stuff - gambling everything in exchange for the hope or promise of a short term thrill. If I ever have kids, I want to be able to take them to ER one day, not tell them about my club in the past tense.

12-02-2012, 05:01 AM
I'd take any trophy if it meant relegation.

We're not too big to go down but we'll always come up again.

12-02-2012, 05:16 AM

I understand the confidence with coming back up, but as I said in my post a few up, that is a huge risk to take - with the top level existence of the club at stake - and that confidence might be misplaced. If relegation happens, and we didn't come back up at first time of asking, what do you think would happen then? I just don't buy the whole "we're too big and it won't happen to us" point of view".

The lower leagues in Scotland and England have more than a few teams from the last 10-20 years who also thought they were too big to go down, or who thought they could just come back up easily enough again. Nothing would convince me to accept that fate for Hibernian.

Stevo1875
12-02-2012, 09:38 AM
And this is a mate?!!?

Appreciate it's hypothetical but if he does have power to influence the future to this extent could he send Kate Winslett round to mine next Sunday when the wife is playing golf with a selection of saucy undies and a couple of cans of Red Bull?

if he could do all this I would have had option
3. pump hearts 7-0 in the cup final, their last match before automatic relegated for being cowboys:cb , take the hit of relegation for being last and continue to pump hearts 7-0 in all competitions, qualify for the group stages of the europa cup where we draw spurs and give them a severe beating, and finally, have ukio bankos go bankrupt and romanov has many unspeakable things happen too him by a gang of angry customers.... plus, every hibee gets a sunday with a burd of their choice in saucy underwear, drinks of their choice and a couple of viagra!! if ur a female hibee you get a free round of golf wi tiger woods!!! :aok:

12-02-2012, 09:41 AM

Will we? We'll win the cup eventually too won't we?????

hibeenicol
12-02-2012, 09:51 AM
Scottish cup for me and then enjoy winning the first division again. :pfgwa

Stevo1875
12-02-2012, 10:00 AM
And the survey says.....

Yes to the Scottish Cup - 29 :saltireflag
No, would rather stay up - 19 :taxi

:cheers:

Lester B
12-02-2012, 11:46 AM
if he could do all this I would have had option
3. pump hearts 7-0 in the cup final, their last match before automatic relegated for being cowboys:cb , take the hit of relegation for being last and continue to pump hearts 7-0 in all competitions, qualify for the group stages of the europa cup where we draw spurs and give them a severe beating, and finally, have ukio bankos go bankrupt and romanov has many unspeakable things happen too him by a gang of angry customers.... plus, every hibee gets a sunday with a burd of their choice in saucy underwear, drinks of their choice and a couple of viagra!! if ur a female hibee you get a free round of golf wi tiger woods!!! :aok:

Fair enough. Option 3 please! :thumbsup:

12-02-2012, 12:06 PM
Nope.

sundo1875
12-02-2012, 12:08 PM
Defo go for the Scottish cup

Edinburgh Green
12-02-2012, 12:09 PM
Yes, without doubt!

12-02-2012, 12:20 PM
And the survey says.....

Yes to the Scottish Cup - 29 :saltireflag
No, would rather stay up - 19 :taxi

:cheers:

Hardly conclusive but, OK, a clear majority. Just as well it's purely hypothetical for I'm still convinced that the reality and stigma of relegation and the consolidation of 'wee team' status (as others see us) far outweighs the kudos and fleeting glory of a cup win. Thankfully a cup win is marginally more likely than relegation this year.

SloopJB
12-02-2012, 12:47 PM
Hardly conclusive but, OK, a clear majority. Just as well it's purely hypothetical for I'm still convinced that the reality and stigma of relegation and the consolidation of 'wee team' status (as others see us) far outweighs the kudos and fleeting glory of a cup win. Thankfully a cup win is marginally more likely than relegation this year.

:aok: I agree.
Sadly we live in a 'Throw away' society where nothing is repaired these days. Now we even have Hibs supporters willing to throw away the club for a cup.

Avoiding relegation is the first step and since this is just pretend playing, I would take a gradual improvement to the point where the team is capable of winning the cup based on solid team performances which would also reflect in a better league position.

See 29? grown ups can play too.

Brebners Bookie
12-02-2012, 01:36 PM
In a heartbeat. Probably be the only way we will ever win it to be fair, karma would have to even it out. Just like it gave us a cup in 2007 then 5 years of eye bleeding 'football' to make up for it.

12-02-2012, 02:19 PM
Make up your mind. Which one is it?

In the long run it means nothing.

12-02-2012, 02:23 PM
League. WHEN we win the cup, nothing shall temper or dampen the monumental party we have. It will be perfect. Won't be if we've been relegated the week before.

12-02-2012, 02:53 PM
Hibs are doing the SPL survival & Scottish Cup double this season, nailed on!

Famous5forever
12-02-2012, 03:05 PM

Which would you choose?

Interesting question i was speaking to a mate last Sunday who thought the same Relegation from SPL But lifting The Scottish Cup was his preffered option.

I Think relegation would/could be very harmful to our club so id take staying up and win the Cup next season.

banchoryhibs
12-02-2012, 03:14 PM
Without a doubt - Scottish Cup for me:cup:

The celebrations (and resulting hangover) would be such that I'd never notice the season in the First Division:party::partyhibb:sairhead::sairhead::sair head:

Sunny1875
12-02-2012, 04:18 PM
Scottish cup .... will be happy if i ever see it, but its not the holy grail its made out to be. Is it not Hearts fuds that worry more about us winning it than we do ourselves ?

Relegation ... I have seen more than enough of that thank you.

Anyway with Pat Fenlon and his backroom staff, our time could be upon us, the Last Hibs manager to bring the Scottish home was our last Irish Manager Dan McMicheal lets hope its an omen.

would be good to shut up the Fuds, but would rather stay in the top flight