View Full Version : Disappointed we only drew

11-02-2012, 05:37 PM
That today was the first time in a long time I have left ER dissatisfied that we only got one poInt. We should have tucked away a few of those chances. I'm not having a go at the team, this is not a moaning thread.

For all Aberdeen threw at us, I never felt they were going to score. Yes they had some chances and we at times were under pressure. But as a whole I felt the defence worked very well and I include O'Hanlon in that.

Fenlons new look side are far far better to watch. We played some very good stuff at times and Kujabi looks ace and the Pitbull done well too. I thought Spoony had his best game in a long time.

I don't fear the Celtic game next week. As a matter of fact I'm really looking forward to it. I think we can get something from it. I feel we have turned a corner

11-02-2012, 05:41 PM
We created next to nothing against seriously under strength opponents.
Still, it inches us away from the Pars...

11-02-2012, 05:42 PM
Agree with all of that, though a draw was a fair result in the end. For a 0-0 I really enjoyed the game, and while Claros was quiet he did the simple things which helped us retain the ball a lot more and there is much more to come from him I'm sure.

I'm more upbeat about Hibs and Fenlon now than I have been for years.

GGTTH.

11-02-2012, 05:43 PM
It is a game we should have won, a referree who wasn't blind would have seen the hand ball !!!!!!!!!!!! Specsavers right enough.

shamo9
I was a bit surprised to see only one sub from Hibs today. I would've brought on Booth and Sproule for the last ten minutes to add some fresh impetus. We competed well but lacked a little cutting edge; a few were tiring by the end as well.

We created next to nothing against seriously under strength opponents.
Still, it inches us away from the Pars...

Small steps, small steps.......We've been pash for ages so it's not going to turn around overnight.

11-02-2012, 05:45 PM
A point is maybe a bit disappointing but the application shown today by the team was worthy of the standing ovation again given by the support at full time! Fenlon imho is a manager who will get certain players playing for him again. I am thinking the likes of Hanlon, Stevenson and Wotherspoon primarily, guys who despite having had potential when they first broke thru to the first team had went off the boil. I genuinely believe Fenlon has complete confidence in these guys and it can only be good for Hibs again if these three and others get back to their ability level.

We have a bit pace in our defence now as well as the required steel in midfield. In short I think this is the most balanced Hibs side we have had for a few season now. Already looking forward to the game next week against Celtic which will obviously be a test of how much our improvement has come on. With the likes of Griffiths, Hanlon and McPake available for selection I think we will have the strongest team available for the past few seasons with a few options on the bench.

The turn is coming and if only Fenlon had been in charge at the start of this season we might have been facing a completely different challenge opposed to being involved in a relegation battle.

Ryan69
11-02-2012, 05:48 PM
And we got a clean sheet...again!

were becoming specialists.

PapillonVert
11-02-2012, 05:51 PM
Yes, OK I'll take 3 points every time please but every single point is valuable where we are at the moment.

We have half a dozen new players and it will take time for them all to get used to each other's style of play.

Still, 2 successive clean sheets suggest we are at least making other teams work harder and not handing things over on a plate - when was the last time that happenend? Don't want to speak too soon, but I am cautiously optimistic.

Onwards and upwards. :thumbsup:

SneakersO'Toole
11-02-2012, 05:53 PM
Draw was a fair result but agree with others, draws aren't going to get us up this table.

We were not ruthless enough in the final 3rd today when presented with chances or having the ball in dangerous positions. O'Connor was poor again and this contributed to our lack of potency up front.

Improvement is definitely there but we still need points, sooner rather than later.

11-02-2012, 05:54 PM
Also ....

... just one yellow card in two games.

That must be something of a record as well. Also suggests that Hibs are more in control of matches than previously.

11-02-2012, 05:55 PM
I am the only one who noticed we could have easily been 4 down after 30 mins ?
The 2 crosses across goal that the aberdeen player just missed , O'Hanlons near OG and another one that i can't quite remember yet.

We we lucky IMO. Very lucky

11-02-2012, 06:39 PM
Yep. Well done Rod :offski:

11-02-2012, 06:48 PM
Mixed emotions.

With Dunfermline losing earlier today, we had the perfect chance to put some real daylight between us. To not have managed that is really disappointing.

However, I thought our performance levels today were generally fine, I thought we competed well and had a couple of great chances to score.

Let's not forget, Aberdeen are on a very good unbeaten run at the moment so I don't think we could ever have expected an easy afternoon.

The game today was a million times better than the match against them earlier in the season that also finished 0-0 and I am staying quite positive about our future under Fenlon.

A draw was definitely a fair result and we've got one more point now that we had at the start of the day. :aok:

11-02-2012, 07:05 PM
I was a bit surprised to see only one sub from Hibs today. I would've brought on Booth and Sproule for the last ten minutes to add some fresh impetus. We competed well but lacked a little cutting edge; a few were tiring by the end as well.
I wasn't surprised to see just the one sub. I was however surprised by the substitution. :confused:O'Donovan for Doyle? Surely the sub was O'Donovan for O'Connor. Strange one for me.
Gary was offering nothing and had stopped what little running he had been doing. I can only assume some sort of injury to Doyle.
Still I suppose that's why I'm in the West berating the ref and Fenlon is in the dugout. :greengrin

11-02-2012, 07:10 PM
I'm disappointed with a draw. Look at ours and Dunfermline fixture next weekend and there is more chance of them picking up points.

The performances are more encouraging but we need to win games like today.

11-02-2012, 07:28 PM
A draw was a fair result and who knows how vital that point may be come the end of the season? Dunfermline losing by 3 goals means the goal difference is now 9 in our favour, that is as good as an extra point at the moment.

Compared to the horrendous no score draw played out between the two teams earlier in the season, both teams have come on leaps and bounds - an under strength Aberdeen team were pretty impressive and caused us lots of problems in the first half, whilst we finished the game very strongly and managed another clean sheet despite having another completely new back four.

The whole feeling around ER at the moment is so much better than it ever was under Calderwood, the attitude of the fans and players has greatly improved and the two are feeding off each other. We now have a number of players who are comfortable on the ball and it makes a huge difference, and the early signs are there that Claros will be a huge player for us once he gets a few games under his belt - looking forward to having Griffiths back in the coming weeks too.

There will be many nervy days ahead, but very happy with the look of all of our new signings thus far - hopefully our extra quality will be enough to see us finish above Dunfermline.

11-02-2012, 07:31 PM
Possession stats 55- 45 in favour of the sheep exactly the same as Killie last week.. I wonder if Pa Broon thought they dominated? :confused:

11-02-2012, 07:34 PM
A draw was maybe a fair result. It was a good game, i really enjoyed it. Both teams gave it a go and it was very entertaining.

11-02-2012, 09:16 PM
Possession stats 55- 45 in favour of the sheep exactly the same as Killie last week.. I wonder if Pa Broon thought they dominated? :confused:

How are these calculated and by whom?

11-02-2012, 09:27 PM
It's a point when Dunfermline got none so not too bad.

Objectives this season are survival and a Scottish Cup win :)

11-02-2012, 09:38 PM
How are these calculated and by whom?
Nae idea. You would need to ask the BBC.

11-02-2012, 09:39 PM
I wasn't surprised to see just the one sub. I was however surprised by the substitution. :confused:O'Donovan for Doyle? Surely the sub was O'Donovan for O'Connor. Strange one for me.
Gary was offering nothing and had stopped what little running he had been doing. I can only assume some sort of injury to Doyle.
Still I suppose that's why I'm in the West berating the ref and Fenlon is in the dugout. :greengrin

I agree I thought it would have been Gaz that got hooked, his touch is terrible at times and he really struggles to hold onto the ball and hold guys off, I think PF eluded to this in his interview on the fishy sight that the ball needs to stick more up front. Thought that Doyle worked really hard as always good chasing down etc.

Do feel disapointed with the draw but for a nil nil I actually really enjoyed the game and it went quite quick which is normally a decent sign of a good game.

Good turn out from the sheep fans aswell made if feel life a proper match for the first time other than when the old firm or **** come to ER, well done those sheep. They do have a decent following in the centeral belt right enough.

I thought they would have brought Ivan on for Spoony or Lewis to have a go with fresh legs and run at them.

Hibby 2005
11-02-2012, 09:48 PM
I think Pat was more than happy with a draw today but a defeat to Celtic and it will be squeaky arse time!

11-02-2012, 09:53 PM
I think Pat was more than happy with a draw today but a defeat to Celtic and it will be squeaky arse time!

Away, everyone expects us to lose to them. We're now far better than Dunfermline and with Griffiths and McPake back we'll surely pull well away from them no matter what happens next week.

11-02-2012, 09:53 PM
We only have 6 or 7 home games left this season so we just HAVE to start winning games like today. Sugar coating todays result, "impoved performance", "1 point more than we had at start of day","a clean sheet" may be factual but it means **** all. Today was two points dropped and we need to get ruthless.:cb

11-02-2012, 09:54 PM
We only have 6 or 7 home games left this season so we just HAVE to start winning games like today. Sugar coating todays result, "impoved performance", "1 point more than we had at start of day","a clean sheet" may be factual but it means **** all. Today was two points dropped and we need to get ruthless.:cb

We were minus our best defender and best striker. It'll all be fine....:greengrin

11-02-2012, 09:59 PM
imissed the game today, but mate tells me it was the best effort he's seen in years.end to end ? and mentioned all full backs performing, spoony,louis,and the honduran as the best, but no real dissapointments,and he also said that 3 or 4 others he met on exit, were all happy too. did we not deserve to win then?:confused:

11-02-2012, 10:01 PM
We only have 6 or 7 home games left this season so we just HAVE to start winning games like today. Sugar coating todays result, "impoved performance", "1 point more than we had at start of day","a clean sheet" may be factual but it means **** all. Today was two points dropped and we need to get ruthless.:cb we have at least 10 games to go, naw?

11-02-2012, 10:07 PM
we have at least 10 games to go, naw?

4 home games before the split and a maximum of 3 home games after split. Really need to start winning at home, time isn't on our side.

11-02-2012, 10:09 PM
I am the only one who noticed we could have easily been 4 down after 30 mins ?
The 2 crosses across goal that the aberdeen player just missed , O'Hanlons near OG and another one that i can't quite remember yet.

We we lucky IMO. Very lucky

Bit negative! We had Spoony and Osbourne's efforts and one in the 1st half that hit off their defender and just went wide. Add that to the stonewall pen in the second half and I'd argue by the same logic we were unlucky.

The reality is we have a toughness about us that we didn't have before although we still lack creativity in central midfield. Claros looked decent but tired as the game went on which was natural and seems to be more of a defensive midfielder.

11-02-2012, 10:18 PM
4 home games before the split and a maximum of 3 home games after split. Really need to start winning at home, time isn't on our side.

We'll likely only have two more games after the split as we'll have played 17/16 before the split. Dunfermline will be the same. Since the two clubs have only one 1 home game between them in 26 home matches, it's the away games that's likely to make the difference, both teams have been so pish at home.

connerg
11-02-2012, 11:06 PM
I'm disappointed with a draw. Look at ours and Dunfermline fixture next weekend and there is more chance of them picking up points.

The performances are more encouraging but we need to win games like today.

Got to agree, we're playing better but need to turn that into wins. The last two home games in the league we've only picked up one point against non OF teams!!!!
Dunfermline will get a lift from our result today and we play Celtic next week. This is the second season in a row we've been in relegation trouble and it's getting on my f..... ....

11-02-2012, 11:10 PM
Possession stats 55- 45 in favour of the sheep exactly the same as Killie last week.. I wonder if Pa Broon thought they dominated? :confused:I wonder if he had his stopwatch out, I thought his goalie spent far too much time with the baw :agree: Maybe Shiels had his out and he can tell us? :dunno:

12-02-2012, 10:43 AM
Bit negative! We had Spoony and Osbourne's efforts and one in the 1st half that hit off their defender and just went wide. Add that to the stonewall pen in the second half and I'd argue by the same logic we were unlucky.

The reality is we have a toughness about us that we didn't have before although we still lack creativity in central midfield. Claros looked decent but tired as the game went on which was natural and seems to be more of a defensive midfielder.

Not being negative at all. Just an honest opinion of the first 35 mins. I sit right behind the goals in the FF and thought the examples i mentioned could easily have been goals and so did most folk around me.

I'm glad we didnt get beat btw :greengrin