View Full Version : Luis Suarez!
12-02-2012, 10:48 AM
That's all very well, but nobody is obliged to shake someones hand if they dont want to. You say you would, personally, I wouldn't. Each to thier own.
Fair enough.
Personally I just think yesterday both parties would have been best served by having a quick handshake. Defuses a situation and means today everyone would be talking about a decent game of football as opposed to a handshake, or lack thereof.
magpie1892
12-02-2012, 10:48 AM
Would SKY not be better served by asking sport questions on a sports show then asking a real journalist to question Dalglish on current affairs. I don't see any journalism involved in asking the same question 6 times in an attempt to provoke the interviewee.
You don't think yesterday's incidents were worthy of comment in a sporting context? Seriously?
I didn't see Shreeves ask the same question six times. I have no idea what you're referring to here.
magpie1892
12-02-2012, 10:52 AM
I just think yesterday both parties would have been best served by having a quick handshake
Optimum opportunity to draw a line under the situation. Suarez blew it. OK, he clearly doesn't know any better (which is odd, given he's been playing in NL and now UK for a total of six years) but Dalglish? Words fail me. He's made a fool of himself and sullied the name of Liverpool FC.
12-02-2012, 10:57 AM
I didn't think it was strange at all. The point being made is that Arsenal have won a lot more - including a few Premierships - since Liverpool last won a league title.
If he had said that then it wouldn't be strange, but it was this bit "Are you one of the Hibs.net under-10s that sneaks on here and gets their mum to complain about the swearing?" what the hell is that all about?
Oh and yeah I know they have, I was just joking. But I don't see any reason why he added that in his response :confused:
12-02-2012, 11:16 AM
If he had said that then it wouldn't be strange, but it was this bit "Are you one of the Hibs.net under-10s that sneaks on here and gets their mum to complain about the swearing?" what the hell is that all about?
Oh and yeah I know they have, I was just joking. But I don't see any reason why he added that in his response :confused:
That comment was a bit underhand and out of order. I agree.
12-02-2012, 11:17 AM
For someone thats called a proven racist a "legend" and said that "wishing an injury on someone is worse than racism" it doesn't surprise me that you think it was Evra's fault.
12-02-2012, 11:18 AM
Gonnae stop calling people names? You seem to be seeking a degree of notoriety on here. You just come across as being a bit daft with no credibility whatsoever. Gonnae stop it?
12-02-2012, 11:25 AM
For those that claim Evra dropped his hand away when Suarez reached him, why did Evra then grab Suarez' arm as he was shaking hands with de Gea? And why did Suarez then continue to blank Evra?
Pretty clear to anyone who's seen the footage that Suarez had no intention of shaking Evra's hand.
12-02-2012, 11:26 AM
Fergie wouldn't be making such a song and dance if Suarez wasn't a good player. Mind you, Liverpool would probably have dumped Suarez by now if he wasn't.
The best comment on this thread :agree:
12-02-2012, 11:27 AM
That comment was a bit underhand and out of order. I agree.
Thank you :greengrin
12-02-2012, 11:29 AM
You don't think yesterday's incidents were worthy of comment in a sporting context? Seriously?
I didn't see Shreeves ask the same question six times. I have no idea what you're referring to here.
I didn't see the interview on SKY but MOTD showed it last night and Dalglish responded 6 times to the interviewers question regarding the lack of a handshake. And yes I do think it is worthy of comment in a sporting context. Procelebrity handshaking has long been a popular sport around my neck of the woods.
magpie1892
12-02-2012, 11:33 AM
I didn't see the interview on SKY but MOTD showed it last night and Dalglish responded 6 times to the interviewers question regarding the lack of a handshake. And yes I do think it is worthy of comment in a sporting context. Procelebrity handshaking has long been a popular sport around my neck of the woods.
So, the question was not asked six times, on this we agree.
You're missing the point somewhat if you think a 'proper' journalist should be drafted in to ask questions about on-field events.
12-02-2012, 11:37 AM
Not seeking anything. Just hate how on a forum designed for discussion it's as if you can't have an opinion.
12-02-2012, 11:43 AM
For someone thats called a proven racist a "legend" and said that "wishing an injury on someone is worse than racism" it doesn't surprise me that you think it was Evra's fault.
He was cleared of being a racist, but found guilty of using a term regarded as a racist comment, there is a big difference :agree:
12-02-2012, 11:45 AM
He was cleared of being a racist, but found guilty of using a term regarded as a racist comment, there is a big difference :agree:
Is there really a difference though?
12-02-2012, 11:48 AM
So you think being called a ****** is worse than getting your leg broke and never playing again? In no way condoning racism, it's disgusting, but was just pointing out how someones comments were no better. Also if you read back, the legend comment is explained.
12-02-2012, 11:57 AM
Is there really a difference though?
Well Evra seems to think so with his comment that Saurez was not a racist.
Both of them need a good kick up the arse IMO ,easy to see whos at it tho ,doesnt do football ant good just sells papers again
12-02-2012, 12:00 PM
Well Evra seems to think so with his comment that Saurez was not a racist.
I think Suarez is quoted as saying " I dont talk to blacks". If that does not make him a racist , then what does someone need to do to be deemed a racist?
12-02-2012, 12:01 PM
I've not read all this thread so it may have already been covered but Evra did not exactly stick his hand out for it to be shook from what i could see on MOTD last night.
Love the Green
12-02-2012, 12:04 PM
Whys is it shocking that Suarez did not shake Evra's hand but nobody realy mentions Ferdinand not shaking Suarez hand is there 1 rule for some players but not others?
Also was Evra not a bit over the top pointing to the camaera's and making sure the non handshake recieved major attention
Regarding hand shakes am I not right in stating Bridge refused to shake Terry's hand and yet we did not have major post about that.
"keep the faith":wink:
12-02-2012, 12:05 PM
I think Suarez is quoted as saying " I dont talk to blacks". If that does not make him a racist , then what does someone need to do to be deemed a racist?
So he does not talk to his family then? He is from mixed race.
12-02-2012, 12:06 PM
So he does not talk to his family then? He is from mixed race.
So mixed race people cant be racist?
12-02-2012, 12:09 PM
So mixed race people cant be racist?
Your changing things to suit your agenda, :agree:
magpie1892
12-02-2012, 12:13 PM
Regarding hand shakes am I not right in stating Bridge refused to shake Terry's hand and yet we did not have major post about that.
Yes, I'm confused as well, with the two situations being so very similar.
12-02-2012, 12:17 PM
Your changing things to suit your agenda, :agree:
I just do see what relevance him being mixed race is. Do you not think people of mixed race can be racist? :confused:
12-02-2012, 12:20 PM
Yes, I'm confused as well, with the two situations being so very similar.
Probably because Bridge was the wronged party in that case. Suarez isn't. If anyone was entitled to refuse the handshake, it was probably Evra.
12-02-2012, 12:21 PM
I just do see what relevance him being mixed race is. Do you not think people of mixed race can be racist? :confused:
Have I said that,all I pointed out was that he came from a mixed race family, he never refused to shake any other black players hands, he has black team mates and black family members, so I do not think he is racist, stupid yes racist no. And any one can be racist any colour or creed, infact I would be willing to bet that more people that are willing to admit it, have had a racist thought or two throughout there lives.
magpie1892
12-02-2012, 12:23 PM
Probably because Bridge was the wronged party in that case. Suarez isn't. If anyone was entitled to refuse the handshake, it was probably Evra.
Well that's fair comment but the difference I was trying to highlight is that banging a former team-mate's ex and abusing someone on the basis of their race are not from the same page.
12-02-2012, 12:23 PM
I think this thread should be closed. There's a serious discussion about racism in football in here, which is being wildly distorted by people who have a pathetic, glory hunting, tv supporting alliegance (surprise, surprise) to the two clubs who have dominated English football in the last thirty odd years.
magpie1892
12-02-2012, 12:25 PM
I think this thread should be closed. There's a serious discussion about racism in football in here, which is being wildly distorted by people who have a pathetic, glory hunting, tv supporting alliegance (surprise, surprise) to the two clubs who have dominated English football in the last thirty odd years.
Numerous people are making valid points - by far the majority - and, additionally, we're getting a window into the souls of those who seem a bit confused by the whole thing.
Shut down the thread? A silly suggestion.
12-02-2012, 12:31 PM
The thread needs shut imo, cos its just gona go on and on.
12-02-2012, 12:32 PM
Rooney or Cantona...... :wink:
Have they been charged with racist comments in the past. :confused:
12-02-2012, 12:37 PM
If you bother to read my post again , I at no point defend LS.. I am merely saying that the matter is between Suarez and Evra and other Man Utd players shouldn't be getting themselves involved.............
But the Liverpool players got involved when they wore t-shirts away to Wigan in the warm up backing a racist team mate, so why should the Man Utd players not back and defend Evra.
12-02-2012, 12:37 PM
So you think being called a ****** is worse than getting your leg broke and never playing again? In no way condoning racism, it's disgusting, but was just pointing out how someones comments were no better. Also if you read back, the legend comment is explained.
You really need to have a think about what you're saying.
What a ridiculous thing to say.
The thread needs shut imo, cos its just gona go on and on.No it doesnt ..there are a few valid points made ..a few nonsense posts ..a few personal insults thrown about..otherwise ..collectively, its just the norm for a hibs.net thread ..:wink:
12-02-2012, 12:51 PM
Well this is a fun topic. I just read the whole 115 page document on "FA v Suarez Written Reasons of Regulatory Commission"
After reading it and being bored out my face. It would appear that Mr Suarez is not racist, he's just a very naughty boy and used the insult to try and gain an advantage by winding up Mr Evra.
Below overall conclusion from the document
"We conclude these Reasons with the following comment. The Charge against Mr Suarez
was that he used insulting words which included a reference to Mr Evra's colour. We have
found that Charge proved on the evidence and arguments put before us. The FA made
clear that it did not contend that Mr Suarez acted as he did because he is a racist. Mr Evra
said in his evidence that he did not think Mr Suarez is a racist. Mr Suarez said in evidence
that he will not use the word “negro” on a football pitch in England in the future, and we
believe that is his genuine and firm intention.
Does Suarez deserve the the 8 match ban he got and the £40,000 fine - Yes! Anybody that uses tactics to get other players sent off using insulting/ derogatory statements about race/colour/sexuality or anything else should be handed toughly.
And thats what Suarez did. You look at the charities, football clubs he has been involved with and there is no way if he was genuinely racist he would be involved with them.
I must admit that i read the report and i don't understand how they were able to completely disregard Suarez's account and fully believe Evra's especially with no one else hearing what was said.
For Beefster it's his Granfather who was black, Page 86 paragraph 339.
We can all move on now and enjoy life and love :hnet:
So was he calling black players negro before the incident with Evra in the EPL, and did he call his black team-mates this in training as well and get away with it. :confused:
Have they been charged with racist comments in the past. :confused:
No but they have been naughty too.
Also should add Rio too? Or is ok because he got home and was not tested.
12-02-2012, 12:56 PM
The thread needs shut imo, cos its just gona go on and on.
Aye, because (for example) the colunder thread would have been so much better if it had been locked after the first page. :crazy:
12-02-2012, 12:56 PM
So was he calling black players negro before the incident with Evra in the EPL, and did he call his black team-mates this in training as well and get away with it. :confused:
http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Negro
The word isn't seen in his country like it is here, so it wouldn't surprise me if he did.
12-02-2012, 01:02 PM
http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Negro
The word isn't seen in his country like it is here, so it wouldn't surprise me if he did.
As I recall, it has two interpretations in his country - positive and negative.
Pinching Evras skin, calling him a ****** in a confrontational situation isn't in a going to be complimentary.
He's been accused of using racist language, not being a racist. He's served his punishment. End of.
Both parties agreed to shake hands, Suarez didn't carry this out. Shaking hands etc is part of the respect campaign. Suarez has let himself down.
If he had shaken hands, then we'd be discussing missed opportunities, lack of penalties and Rooneys barnet.
He didn't, the situation got inflamed and we're discussing that instead.
12-02-2012, 01:24 PM
Looks like anyone blaming Evra and defending Suarez may have to have a rethink -
http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/latest-news/luis-suarez-i-m-sorry
12-02-2012, 01:25 PM
No but they have been naughty too.
Also should add Rio too? Or is ok because he got home and was not tested.
Moment of sheer madness from Cantona with the kung fu kick, got punished served his ban and got on with his football after that incident.
Rooney, yes he is a naughty boy but has he been involved in anything like the subject we are talking about, if he wants to nip grannies then thats up to him, some silly tackles on the pitch and he swore at a camera a few times during a game.
Rio, did he not get punished for the non test thing, 18 month ban, and since then has been a model pro football player.
To late with your appology Mr Suarez. The damage is done. It looks like Suarez was wrong after all. :cb
legends of 73
12-02-2012, 01:27 PM
WELL WELL WELL
Liverpool striker Luis Suarez has today issued the following apology:
"I have spoken with the Manager since the game at Old Trafford and I realise I got things wrong.
"I've not only let him down, but also the Club and what it stands for and I'm sorry. I made a mistake and I regret what happened.
"I should have shaken Patrice Evra's hand before the game and I want to apologise for my actions.
"I would like to put this whole issue behind me and concentrate on playing football."
Tynie01011973
12-02-2012, 01:28 PM
You will still get the usual LFC supporters maintaining that it was EVRA that refused the handshake tho......at least he has grown some overnight to finally admit he was at fault.
Although, it sounds as though he has been forced into making it.
Has Rio done same thing as he never made a handshake?
12-02-2012, 01:30 PM
I will be surprised if Luis Suarez plays for Liverpool ever again, will probaly move to Spain in the summer.
12-02-2012, 01:31 PM
Good on him (or his PR agent, the club etc)
Time to draw a line under it and move on.
12-02-2012, 01:34 PM
Although I think you're deliberately stirring to prove a point ,:devil: that could be countered with.....
Ferdinand was showing solidarity for his team captain.
Will the previous posters who maintained that Suarez did offer his hand give a hibs.tv interview?
Will the liverpool players be apologising for surrounding Evra at the FT whistle?
Will there be an apology from both clubs for the half time tunnel nonsense?
Will both managers do a joint interview and discuss it?
12-02-2012, 01:34 PM
Should be interesting to read the views from the Suarez camp on this thread now that that statement has been released.
12-02-2012, 01:35 PM
WELL WELL WELL
"I have spoken with the Manager since the game at Old Trafford and I realise I got things wrong.
"I've not only let him down, but also the Club and what it stands for and I'm sorry. I made a mistake and I regret what happened.
"I should have shaken Patrice Evra's hand before the game and I want to apologise for my actions.
"I would like to put this whole issue behind me and concentrate on playing football."
It also leaves Kenny Dalgleish looking pretty stupid.
Tynie01011973
12-02-2012, 01:36 PM
Rio refused to shake Suarez's hand after noticing that he had blanked Evra.......there is a great deal of difference between reacting to something and having no intention to do it in the first place.
12-02-2012, 01:39 PM
:stirrer: :fishin: :greengrin
12-02-2012, 01:41 PM
Should be interesting to read the views from the Suarez camp on this thread now that that statement has been released.
I doubt we'll hear a thing. :3wise smi
12-02-2012, 01:41 PM
It also leaves Kenny Dalgleish looking pretty stupid.
Does it, though?
I thought KD was genuinely surprised when he was told there had been no handshake. The anger that he directed at the interviewer was probably triggered by Suarez.
12-02-2012, 01:45 PM
Does it, though?
I thought KD was genuinely surprised when he was told there had been no handshake. The anger that he directed at the interviewer was probably triggered by Suarez.
The only thing KD has been guilty off is not drawing a line under the whole thing. Liverpool and KD have kept digging a hole by maintaing Suarezs innocence instead of just saying 'no comment'.
Yesterday looked like KD didn't want to discuss it and just talk about the football and was pissed off that Suarez hadn't done what they previously agreed.
Hopefully that'll be the end of the matter. Suarez still has at least half a season to play and do his talking on the park.
Green_one
12-02-2012, 01:47 PM
WELL WELL WELL
Too little too late. I am sure he would like to put it behind him, we all would. But he has no opportunity to redress the handshake and he has still not apologised for the initial event. If he has done that at the beginning this whole thing would have been a fraction of the size. Its now made the New York Times. If Liverpool think that will fix things they are way wrong. This is indicative of how badly they have managed this from square one.
I have watched all the main commentators for the last 24 hours and all have come down hard against him. Has anyone but some Liverpool fans actually come up with a defendable position? This has not ended by any means. Still very messy.
At least now we can stop listening to the Scouse fantasies about hand movement etc. Or maybe not.
magpie1892
12-02-2012, 01:48 PM
The only thing KD has been guilty off is not drawing a line under the whole thing.
And he's kept on and on and on doing it at every opportunity. He's made himself look like a total twat.
12-02-2012, 01:55 PM
Good he has come out and apologised. Makes very little difference as can't see the Man U fans or players forgiving him. Changes nothing in my view, i knew Suarez was at fault for the handshake, it was the celebration of Evra that annoyed me.
Hopefully that is that for now though.
12-02-2012, 02:05 PM
Takes a big man to apologise. Maybe too little, too late but he's done the right thing.
Liverpool deserve credit too for making him do it.
magpie1892
12-02-2012, 02:09 PM
Takes a big man to apologise. Maybe too little, too late but he's done the right thing.
I think a Dalglish apology would also be helpful, as condoning Suarez's behaviour - which KD's done repeatedly - makes Liverpool FC look very grubby.
12-02-2012, 02:15 PM
He isnae really a big man if in your opinion he was made to apologise though, is he?
12-02-2012, 02:21 PM
:hijack:
Is it true that Ryan Giggs has made more appearances in the Premier League than Man City, Giggs (589) to Man Citys (568). Is this right.
12-02-2012, 02:33 PM
http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/latest-news/kd-we-all-have-a-responsibility-1
12-02-2012, 02:40 PM
Although I think you're deliberately stirring to prove a point ,:devil: that could be countered with.....
Ferdinand was showing solidarity for his team captain.
Will the previous posters who maintained that Suarez did offer his hand give a hibs.tv interview?
Will the liverpool players be apologising for surrounding Evra at the FT whistle?
Will there be an apology from both clubs for the half time tunnel nonsense?
Will both managers do a joint interview and discuss it?
How good would that be? TV gold :thumbsup:
Tynie01011973
12-02-2012, 02:43 PM
http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/latest-news/kd-we-all-have-a-responsibility-1
Looks like the Owners have layed down to law to both Dogleash and Suarez.....EVENTUALLY !!!
12-02-2012, 03:14 PM
It's about 4 months too late.
The reputation of Liverpool FC has been tarnished as a result of all this and it's going to take a very long time before it's going to be repaired.
They deserve no credit whatsoever, as far as I'm concerned. They have acted disgracefully throughout the last few months, with the pathetic t-shirt stunt at Wigan and Dalglish's ridiculous comments on the matter as well only serving to escalate the whole issue.
It's also interesting to note that in all three statements which have been released by Liverpool today (from Suarez, Dalglish and the MD Ian Ayre) and also in statements which have been released since the incident occurred in October, not one of them has ever seen fit to issue a public apology to Patrice Evra - the one person in all of this who has done absolutely nothing wrong and who is the innocent party.
I think that speaks volumes and tells you all that you need to know about LFC.
12-02-2012, 03:19 PM
The reputation of Liverpool FC has been tarnished as a result of all this and it's going to take a very long time before it's going to be repaired.
They deserve no credit whatsoever, as far as I'm concerned. They have acted disgracefully throughout the last few months, with the pathetic t-shirt stunt at Wigan and Dalglish's ridiculous comments on the matter as well only serving to escalate the whole issue.
It's also interesting to note that in all three statements which have been released by Liverpool today (from Suarez, Dalglish and the MD Ian Ayre) and also in statements which have been released since the incident occurred in October, not one of them has ever seen fit to issue a public apology to Patrice Evra - the one person in all of this who has done absolutely nothing wrong and who is the innocent party.
I agree completely. Liverpool have been too busy trying to make out there is some sort of conspiracy against them. Unfortunately for them all they have done is lionise an idiot player who should be getting slaughtered for his behaviour and a manager who has proven he is so far out of his depth with his comments on this issue that he has made it much worse ending with yesterday's debacle.
12-02-2012, 03:21 PM
Bollocks Evra is a twisted little individual :agree:
12-02-2012, 03:27 PM
Ha ha ha. Boo hoo. Liverpool are a bad club.
If Suarez played for Fulham you wouldn't still be crying about this or making a big deal out of it.
12-02-2012, 03:42 PM
Agree with every word of that FH.
12-02-2012, 03:46 PM
:top marks:
Dirkster23
12-02-2012, 03:46 PM
Ha ha ha. Boo hoo. Liverpool are a bad club.
If Suarez played for Fulham you wouldn't still be crying about this or making a big deal out of it.
And if Evra played for Bolton you wouldn't be making a big deal out of it either :wink:
No big deal from me. I'm shocked at how many HIBS fans seem so upset over this all though.
12-02-2012, 03:57 PM
No big deal from me. I'm shocked at how many HIBS fans seem so upset over this all though.
Your anti-Man Yoo trolling on match threads used to be quite amusing. But bringing your prejudices into the Suarez question is just daft and is defending the indefensible.
12-02-2012, 03:59 PM
.. that's probably because we can see beyond issues that only concern our own favourite football team.
Dirkster23
12-02-2012, 03:59 PM
It's all over the national media, hardly surprising it's being discussed at length on a football forum.
For someone who thinks it's 'no big deal', you've certainly had a lot to say about it :agree:
12-02-2012, 04:04 PM
http://topnews.net.nz/data/yawning.jpg (http://topnews.net.nz/data/yawning.jpg)
Thanks for the reply. Are you off a nap?
12-02-2012, 04:09 PM
How has this ended up in HalifaxHibs getting these responses for not caring and wanting to talk Hibs matters?
12-02-2012, 04:12 PM
Probably not the best thread to post on if he wants to talk about Hibs.
.. that's probably because we can see beyond issues that only concern our own favourite football team.
Good. I have just been to the rugby league game between keighley Cougars and batley bulldogs. Fancy discussing the smashes between the players in the game? Some massive hits put in too.
Dirkster23
12-02-2012, 04:15 PM
How has this ended up in HalifaxHibs getting these responses for not caring and wanting to talk Hibs matters?
Plenty other threads relating to Hibs to read/post on. Lets not play games here, HalifaxHibs posts as much as anyone on here about matters relating to Man U when he's trolling.
You could argue if Suarez and Evra had played games there would be no need for this thread :-)
Suarez, Dalglish, Liverpool and Evra. None of them come out of yesterdays nonsense with any credit. Suarez should have been told by his manager and club to shake Evra,s hand regardless. Everyone knew the media would be highlighting it and not shaking his hand wasnt stupid, it was arrogant and petulant. Evra jumped straight onto it and his behaviour and reaction was stupid i think. Trouble in the tunnel at half time, players having to be seperated at full time. The greatest league in the world? Well they can ram it up their jacksie. Full of overpaid egotistical bawbags who think the rules and laws dont count for them.
Tynie01011973
12-02-2012, 04:31 PM
You could argue if Suarez and Evra had played games there would be no need for this thread :-)
I'm sure you would have found another thread to troll on with your ABU obsession.
:violin:
I'm sure you would have found another thread to troll on with your ABU obsession.
:violin:
The funny thing is after all this nonsense from yesterday, how fitting would it be if man city win and nothing has changed. Your 2nd team would still be 2nd.
12-02-2012, 04:38 PM
Agree with all of that. Really good post.
Counter arguments are all well and good, but there's some folks posting on here with the mentality of silly wee laddies farting in class to draw attention to themselves because they've got nothing better to do.
12-02-2012, 04:42 PM
Yeh I have as it matters and I understand players back there reason t back there team-mates..
However , yesterdays game was always going to be a powderkeg , especially with the pre-match handshakes.. Ls decided not to shake PE's hand. So what ?? He doesn't like the guy.. Would you shake the hand of a guy who you don't like ??? Ferdinand and De Gea should've distanced themselves for the matter instead of trying to embroil themselves in it..
Suarez should have shaken Evra's hand before the match started because HE HAD ALREADY AGREED TO DO SO AND BOTH CLUBS HAD PUBLICLY STATED THAT SUCH AN ACT WOULD BRING THE SORRY SAGA TO A LONG OVERDUE END!
As I said in the early hours of this morning on here, for him to decide not to do what he had already assured his club that he would do to defuse the situation was an absolute disgrace and probably a breach of his contract with Liverpool!
Tynie01011973
12-02-2012, 04:46 PM
The funny thing is after all this nonsense from yesterday, how fitting would it be if man city win and nothing has changed. Your 2nd team would still be 2nd.
How funny would it be if you actually posted about Luis Suarez as that is what this thread is about - RATHER than what position Man Utd might find themselves ??:dunno:
Funny that you were saying a couple of weeks ago that Man U would be 9 points behind Citeh when the list of the next 6 fixtures were shown ?:wink:
How funny would it be if you actually posted about Luis Suarez as that is what this thread is about - RATHER than what position Man Utd might find themselves ??:dunno:
Funny that you were saying a couple of weeks ago that Man U would be 9 points behind Citeh when the list of the next 6 fixtures were shown ?:wink:
Don't remember that, then again 2 points or 9 points still wins you a championship.
forgive a mere peasant from the lowlands,,,,,,,,,,,,,
but here goes,,,,,,weve had many johnny foreigners[jeez am i allowed to say that] parading their stuff on our soil,,,, it is a touchy subject,,,,,
THIS IS THE 21ST CENTURY !!!!!!,,,,NEXT THING WE WILL BE MOANING ABOUT IS YON ALIEN WHO WAS COLIN CALDERWOOD
How did RP not see him from being out of this worlde
a little light relief,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
bt
Expecting Rain
12-02-2012, 05:55 PM
Suarez, Dalglish, Liverpool and Evra. None of them come out of yesterdays nonsense with any credit. Suarez should have been told by his manager and club to shake Evra,s hand regardless. Everyone knew the media would be highlighting it and not shaking his hand wasnt stupid, it was arrogant and petulant. Evra jumped straight onto it and his behaviour and reaction was stupid i think. Trouble in the tunnel at half time, players having to be seperated at full time. The greatest league in the world? Well they can ram it up their jacksie. Full of overpaid egotistical bawbags who think the rules and laws dont count for them.
Best post yet, you could add Ferguson and Ferdinand to the equation, glad i`m not perfect i`d be seriously intimidated by some of these threads.
but suarez was told by liverpool to shake his hand,,HE DID NOT
Kenny was shocked,when told he did not, kenny has since apologised for his behaviour after said game
strange that there has not been an appology to EVRA
its gonna roll on
bt
12-02-2012, 06:20 PM
Still at it I see :rolleyes:
12-02-2012, 07:15 PM
Complete idiot in my opinion, just made himself look stupid. Just shake hands and move on, but now the saga will be drawn out even more.
12-02-2012, 07:40 PM
What a strange response? No I'm not, it was quite obviously tongue-in-cheek. I'm sure pretty much all you do on this website is try and wind people up and it gets a bit tedious.
Silly me for having an opinion on one of your posts.
Ah well. As long as you're sure. You'll have done your homework I suppose. No doubt you can provide me with the evidence of this 'winding up' that I do.
Had no idea your tongue was in your cheek. Must look for this in the future when I need a chortle.
12-02-2012, 07:44 PM
Even though MUFC appear to have accepted the apologies and acknowledged the need for both clubs to move on, the No 1 diehard fan above just won't let it lie!
12-02-2012, 07:55 PM
Ah well. As long as you're sure. You'll have done your homework I suppose. No doubt you can provide me with the evidence of this 'winding up' that I do.
Had no idea your tongue was in your cheek. Must look for this in the future when I need a chortle.
And I've no problem with whatever your opinion is on my posts, this is a messageboard, folk are allowed to have an opinion. But you added in a sly comment that was blatantly put in there to try provoke a response out of me. I've seen you do it before to others.
[QUOTE=FalkirkHibee;3111428]It's about 4 months too late.
Patrice Evra - the one person in all of this who has done absolutely nothing wrong and who is the innocent party.
Pretty sure I saw the innocent party up to no good at the end , just trying to calm things down and move on was he , my arse , but if you say hes done absolutly nothing wrong thats fine :confused:
12-02-2012, 08:01 PM
And I've no problem with whatever your opinion is on my posts, this is a messageboard, folk are allowed to have an opinion. But you added in a sly comment that was blatantly put in there to try provoke a response out of me. I've seen you do it before to others.
Provoking a response is what the boards are built on.
There is nothing sly about anything I've posted. Nothing is hidden. It's an open book.
Don't want to hijack the thread or fall out with you so PM me if you want to provide evidence where I've been at the wind up, cos I think that sort of observation is produced when folk have nothing better to add.
12-02-2012, 08:17 PM
There is nothing sly about anything I've posted. Nothing is hidden. It's an open book.
Don't want to hijack the thread or fall out with you so PM me if you want to provide evidence where I've been at the wind up, cos I think that sort of observation is produced when folk have nothing better to add.
http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?224925-Cowdenbeath-Thoughts/page2 On PM board.. not remember this? #60 onwards..
12-02-2012, 08:26 PM
http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?224925-Cowdenbeath-Thoughts/page2 On PM board.. not remember this? #60 onwards..
Interesting reads. seems you're not the only one who thinks there is a wind-up merchant in our midst...
12-02-2012, 08:28 PM
Remember it very well.
I had a long disagreement in one thread with Matty F on his view of Paul Hanlon's role in a Sean O'Hanlon screw up at Cowdenbeath. This is long gone and as far as I recall I don't believe I have quoted Matty F on anything since? Nor has my opinion on the matter changed!
I wasn't at the wind up so stop being a pleb. You are guilty, it would seem, of trolling me..........
I Don't intend to hijack this politically charged thread further still, so if you want to continue, PM me or start a new thread and I'll give you my provokes!
I'll report you for being a bully if you keep after me like this
Interesting reads. seems you're not the only one who thinks there is a wind-up merchant in our midst...
Remember it very well.
I had a long disagreement in one thread with Matty F on his view of Paul Hanlon's role in a Sean O'Hanlon screw up at Cowdenbeath. This is long gone and as far as I recall I don't believe I have quoted Matty F on anything since? Nor has my opinion on the matter changed!
I wasn't at the wind up so stop being a pleb. You are guilty, it would seem, of trolling me..........
I Don't intend to hijack this politically charged thread further still, so if you want to continue, PM me or start a new thread and I'll give you my provokes!
I'll report you for being a bully if you keep after me like thisCan we get back on topic please guys ..
12-02-2012, 08:31 PM
Can we get back on topic please guys ..
Aye c'mon - shake hands :greengrin
12-02-2012, 08:37 PM
Agree. Feel free to delete the relevant quoted posts if you like. I'm scunnered.
12-02-2012, 08:39 PM
Remember it very well.
I'll report you for being a bully if you keep after me like this
Pm'd
TheUsualSuspect
12-02-2012, 08:41 PM
silverhibee - Yes has admitted to using it in the past he even calls Glen Johnson it with no racial meaning. There are is a paragraph explaining this in the document. see below from para 353
On occasions, Mr Suarez has used the word "negro" to address people with black skin
without any intention to offend and in a way that would be seen as inoffensive in
Uruguay. He is familiar with this use of the word from his upbringing in Uruguay. He
said he uses it in this way when speaking to other black players in England, such as when
he says "Just pass the ball, negro" to Glen Johnson. He also referred to a match against
Manchester City last season when he gave his hand to Yaya Toure and said "Dale, negro",
meaning "Come on, negro". A Mexican footballer, Omar Esparza, is widely known in
Mexico as "el Negrito". Hernandez, the Manchester United player, has been a close friend
of Omar Esparza for many years and refers to him as "el Negrito" in an affectionate way.
Hernandez admitted that terms such as "Negrito" can be used with close friends and in
certain situations without it being offensive.
12-02-2012, 08:55 PM
Aye c'mon - shake hands :greengrin
Hahahaha. :-)
12-02-2012, 08:58 PM
Agree. Feel free to delete the relevant quoted posts if you like. I'm scunnered.
What was my post deleted for. :confused:
silverhibee - Yes has admitted to using it in the past he even calls Glen Johnson it with no racial meaning. There are is a paragraph explaining this in the document. see below from para 353
On occasions, Mr Suarez has used the word "negro" to address people with black skin
without any intention to offend and in a way that would be seen as inoffensive in
Uruguay. He is familiar with this use of the word from his upbringing in Uruguay. He
said he uses it in this way when speaking to other black players in England, such as when
he says "Just pass the ball, negro" to Glen Johnson. He also referred to a match against
Manchester City last season when he gave his hand to Yaya Toure and said "Dale, negro",
meaning "Come on, negro". A Mexican footballer, Omar Esparza, is widely known in
Mexico as "el Negrito". Hernandez, the Manchester United player, has been a close friend
of Omar Esparza for many years and refers to him as "el Negrito" in an affectionate way.
Hernandez admitted that terms such as "Negrito" can be used with close friends and in
Which is fair do,s if it is being used in a friendly manner. Looking at the tv replays of Suarez and Evra clashing several times, it is far from friendly. He obviously knew it was winding Evra up and continued doing it with a smirk on his face. I have no time for Evra or Man U so have no agenda on this. I do think Suarez is a nasty piece of work who had a chance to do the right thing yesterday and couldnt manage that.
12-02-2012, 09:01 PM
[QUOTE=R'Albin;3111802]Pm'd
Sorted.
Peace.
I will take my leave from this thread now, but I was right about O'Hanlon!
What was my post deleted for. :confused:Because you posted a sarcastic wee smiley in reply to a post that had absolutley nothing to do with the thread topic despite me posting & requesting to get the thread back on track ..
12-02-2012, 09:14 PM
Because you posted a sarcastic wee smiley in reply to a post that had absolutley nothing to do with the thread topic despite me posting & requesting to get the thread back on track ..
12-02-2012, 09:24 PM
What's been going on here then. Someone update me please? Who is against who now in the arguing?
TheUsualSuspect
12-02-2012, 09:25 PM
IEXO -I agree, as i said in an earlier post #253
"Does Suarez deserve the the 8 match ban he got and the £40,000 fine - Yes! Anybody that uses tactics to get other players sent off using insulting/ derogatory statements about race/colour/sexuality or anything else should be handed toughly."
That's what the QC decided Saurez was using the word to do. It was purely a measure to get Evra wound up and upset so that he would do something and probably be sent off.
12-02-2012, 09:31 PM
I am pretty amazed to hear that, would Glen Johnson not find that a bit racist, surely GJ would have said something to Suarez about calling him by that name.
12-02-2012, 09:32 PM
What's been going on here then. Someone update me please? Who is against who now in the arguing?
It's the whole thread versus you :greengrin
TheUsualSuspect
12-02-2012, 09:37 PM
I am pretty amazed to hear that, would Glen Johnson not find that a bit racist, surely GJ would have said something to Suarez about calling him by that name.
So am I really, but it's in the witness statement and nobody contested this information, not even Evra or the Commission, so the court has deemed to be true and accurate.
12-02-2012, 09:39 PM
R'Albin up to no good as usual. :cb :greengrin
12-02-2012, 09:46 PM
It's the whole thread versus you :greengrin
I welcome the fight. :take that :greengrin
R'Albin up to no good as usual. :cb :greengrin
:tee hee: What would his mother say. :bitchy: :greengrin
12-02-2012, 09:54 PM
So am I really, but it's in the witness statement and nobody contested this information, not even Evra or the Commission, so the court has deemed to be true and accurate.
I am sure Liverpool will get rid of Suarez in the summer, bought my son a Liverpool top for his Xmas, and yes i got Suarez put on the back of it. :rolleyes:
12-02-2012, 09:55 PM
I am sure Liverpool will get rid of Suarez in the summer, bought my son a Liverpool top for his Xmas, and yes i got Suarez put on the back of it. :rolleyes:
12-02-2012, 09:58 PM
I got a Liverpool top with Torres and he left less than a month later. /:
IEXO -I agree, as i said in an earlier post #253
"Does Suarez deserve the the 8 match ban he got and the £40,000 fine - Yes! Anybody that uses tactics to get other players sent off using insulting/ derogatory statements about race/colour/sexuality or anything else should be handed toughly."
That's what the QC decided Saurez was using the word to do. It was purely a measure to get Evra wound up and upset so that he would do something and probably be sent off.
Didnt see that post mate and wisnae having a pop, sorry if it came over that way.
TheUsualSuspect
12-02-2012, 10:28 PM
Didnt see that post mate and wisnae having a pop, sorry if it came over that way.
lEXO - No worries i didn't take it that way. Unfortunately i have a rather technical way of writing, which can make me seem cold and heartless, which is going to a problem since it's valentines day here soon.
12-02-2012, 10:45 PM
lEXO - No worries i didn't take it that way. Unfortunately i have a rather technical way of writing, which can make me seem cold and heartless, which is going to a problem since it's valentines day here soon.
We have the technology.
:hug: :greengrin
12-02-2012, 11:02 PM
Ultimately, it's not a case of whether Suarez reckons it's offensive, but a case of whether the person he is calling a 'negro' reckons it to be offensive.
This whole 'oh it's not offensive in Latin America' defence is a bit daft really, he's lived in Europe for how long now? What he gets away with back home or with people he presumably sees as friends in his team and what he can get away with shouting at others are very different things.
A friend of mine is in a wee group of drinking buddies, including one black guy, who they all refer to as a variant of 'negro' this is all in a good humoured way amongst a group of friends, so good luck to them, would any of them go shouting it at any random coloured person that walked past and assume they'd be ok with it? Not a chance!
12-02-2012, 11:25 PM
I'm not "at" anything.
I'm calling the situation as I see it, like I do with every single issue that I comment on, on here.
This issue goes so much deeper than the Manchester Utd/Liverpool rivalry and I wouldn't be so petty as to try and score points over such a thing.
You've even admitted yourself that you've been left disappointed at the way in which Liverpool have handled aspects of this situation so I don't see what is so wrong about what I have said on this thread.
In fact there have been various people who have wholeheartedly agreed with what I have posted.
Pretty sure I saw the innocent party up to no good at the end , just trying to calm things down and move on was he , my arse , but if you say hes done absolutly nothing wrong thats fine :confused:
He got a bit carried away at the end, I don't think there's any doubt about that and Ferguson has admitted that in his interview yesterday.
However, the guy has been racially abused and was blanked by the person responsible at the start of the game, when he refused to shake his hand. Evra had been prepared to shake Suarez's hand at the beginning, he told Ferguson that on the morning of the game. So given the circumstances, I think his reaction at the end was understandable.
If Suarez had issued an apology for how he behaved in the last match and he had shaken Evra's hand at the beginning and Evra had still done that at the end, THEN you might say that Evra was out of order etc but that isn't what happened.
There is only one person and one club that can be held responsible here and it's certainly not Patrice Evra or Manchester Utd.
TheUsualSuspect
13-02-2012, 12:22 AM
Ultimately, it's not a case of whether Suarez reckons it's offensive, but a case of whether the person he is calling a 'negro' reckons it to be offensive.
This whole 'oh it's not offensive in Latin America' defence is a bit daft really, he's lived in Europe for how long now? What he gets away with back home or with people he presumably sees as friends in his team and what he can get away with shouting at others are very different things.
SB I completely agree you should read me earlier posts rather than just my last one, which was an example of Suarez and other footballers in England using the term rather than a defence of Suarez.
13-02-2012, 02:12 AM
Numerous people are making valid points - by far the majority - and, additionally, we're getting a window into the souls of those who seem a bit confused by the whole thing.
Shut down the thread? A silly suggestion.
On reflection you're spot on, it was an absolutely stupid suggestion. I was simply letting my own disgust on some of the rubbish talked on this thread get the better of me.
I'm done with this thread, fortunately it seems to have run it's course.
So the video from multiple angles doesn't convince you but a photo that doesn't really show anything does? Because the photo flattens everything, it makes it look like Suarez is trying to shake Evra's hand. In real life, Suarez didn't try to shake Evra's hand.
I can respect the view that they are both twats but the folk trying to justify Suarez's behaviour aren't doing it based on the facts IMO.
The videos, along with this photo simply confirm my suspicion that it wasn't as simple as Suarez point blank refusing Evras outstretched hand. I don't think there was an outstretched hand until it was clear Suarez was blanking him. For all we know Suarez had every intention of shaking his hand, seen nothing really being offered and said "stuff it" and moved on.
I also believe that Evra probably would have refused his handshake had Suarez been a bit more forceful. Evra looked like he was all geared to make a point and that was demonstrated by his grabbing of the arm and protesting to a camera. People might say that's nonsense but there's as much chance of that being true than those who insist that Suarez had absolutely no intention of shaking Evras hand from the start.
The fact that Evra is getting away with it as far as this is concerned irks me a bit. I think it's clear that Evras hand wasn't offered properly yet from the start it was only Suarez at fault. You'd think Evra was smiling and trying to be nice and Suarez booted him in the stanes.
It reminds me of the Di Canio incident regarding him catching the ball. People remember him catching a cross instead of scoring because a player was down. Over time people forget that even if he had played on there were defenders around him and chances are he would have been dispossessed but it's developed into something it simply wasn't. I think the handshake thing is similar but over a much shorter period of time the description of the incident doesn't match what actually happened. At the very least there is room for doubt.
Suarez was definitely at fault for not going out of his way to shake hands but I think Evra was at it a bit. Suarez came out immediately after the match and stated that "everything was not as it seems". Why would he do that?
The apologies themselves came straight from the top. I reckon Suarez and Kenny were summoned and told to put their names to these statements...or there will be real trouble. They have overseas customers to worry about and enough was enough.
Even if Suarez had told them that even though he was in the wrong, he also would like to explain that Evra was also in the wrong it would have been dismissed as irrelevant. The whole world thinks Suarez blatantly snubbed his outstretched hand so nothing but an apology with no excuses will do. Liverpool FC as a brand must have taken a bit of a hammering so damage limitation was what it was all about.
I can't help thinking that if the American owners had done this from the start then there wouldn't have been all this carry on. I'm also still confused as to why Evra himself hasn't received an apology or why this yawning gap of an opportunity to highlight cultural differences and what is right and wrong in this country hasn't been exploited. If Suarez can be forced to apologise then surely he can be forced one step further?
The man I really feel sorry for in this is the manager. His post match interview makes sense now. I think he was genuinely surprised that the reporter told him that no handshake had taken place and was automatically defensive. He looked rattled and angry...and it's now obvious that he was seething with Suarez who had let him down big-time by going back on the agreement to shake hands.
I heard Phill Neville say on MOTD2 that as a captain, he backs his players like they were his own children no matter what. Dalglish done this with Suarez and put his own head on the block by doing this from the start and he was let down big-time by Suarez not going out of his way to shake hands and draw a line. The team bus back to Liverpool would have been interesting. He made a fool of Dalglish and that should have been included in the apology.
I disagree with those who say this will go on and on. United have accepted the apologies so I think the line under it has been drawn. Kenny is better at talking about football and I'd rather watch Suarez and Evras feet from now on instead of their hands.
13-02-2012, 06:49 AM
[QUOTE=FalkirkHibee;3111428]It's about 4 months too late.
Patrice Evra - the one person in all of this who has done absolutely nothing wrong and who is the innocent party.
Evra's action weren't in the best taste by any manner of means, particularly given the backdrop to the situation, but with the ongoing sanitisation of football, it sometimes a bit lost that whether playing or spectating one of the best feelings in the world is to say GIRFUY.
The day football loses that appeal to either players or spectators will be the day it dies.
I'm not "at" anything.
I'm calling the situation as I see it, like I do with every single issue that I comment on, on here.
This issue goes so much deeper than the Manchester Utd/Liverpool rivalry and I wouldn't be so petty as to try and score points over such a thing.
You've even admitted yourself that you've been left disappointed at the way in which Liverpool have handled aspects of this situation so I don't see what is so wrong about what I have said on this thread.
In fact there have been various people who have wholeheartedly agreed with what I have posted.
He got a bit carried away at the end, I don't think there's any doubt about that and Ferguson has admitted that in his interview yesterday.
However, the guy has been racially abused and was blanked by the person responsible at the start of the game, when he refused to shake his hand. Evra had been prepared to shake Suarez's hand at the beginning, he told Ferguson that on the morning of the game. So given the circumstances, I think his reaction at the end was understandable.
If Suarez had issued an apology for how he behaved in the last match and he had shaken Evra's hand at the beginning and Evra had still done that at the end, THEN you might say that Evra was out of order etc but that isn't what happened.
There is only one person and one club that can be held responsible here and it's certainly not Patrice Evra or Manchester Utd.
If Manchester as a club had shaken every players hands, walked to the dressing room at half time without a fuss, not jumped up and down in front of players, not been interviewed after the game then I would say there would be only one club responsible for Saturday.
That did not happen though and man u were at it too.
13-02-2012, 07:10 AM
The importance of LFCs global brand image in far flung places was behind the 'apology', nothing else.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/17004667
Ollie Reed
13-02-2012, 09:34 AM
:agree: What's more, you can bet that if Ferguson was Liverpool manager and Dalglish Man Utd boss, they'd both have diametrically opposite views about the situation to the ones they have now.
As much respect he has earned as a manager and he's entitled to his opinion as any other, when Ferguson preaches morality, I dismiss his words completely. He did much more disgraceful things in his time as a player than the lack of a handshake.
13-02-2012, 09:36 AM
As much respect he has earned as a manager and he's entitled to his opinion as any other, when Ferguson preaches morality, I dismiss his words completely. He did much more disgraceful things in his time as a player than the lack of a handshake.
:agree: Morality from someone who played at Der Hun in their 'darkest' days of the 60s/70s .. spare me!
Ollie Reed
13-02-2012, 09:42 AM
:agree: Morality from someone who played at Der Hun in their 'darkest' days of the 60s/70s .. spare me!
Normally, I'd agree there TQM with the Rangers bit in any era alone! :)
I'm more thinking of his Falkirk days and he injuring opponents.
13-02-2012, 10:26 AM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/396189_364411776910710_100000256718743_1462500_961 29499_n.jpg
Well you decide :wink:
13-02-2012, 11:03 AM
Never a truer word said.
This is a man who was fined by UEFA for making racist comments. He also sided with his keeper when he was accused of racial abuse...therefore calling the accuser a liar.
I'm surprised Rio Ferdinand still plays for him after these incidents. Mind you, his memory isn't the best.
13-02-2012, 11:08 AM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/396189_364411776910710_100000256718743_1462500_961 29499_n.jpg
Morality from one of the Govan mafia :faf:
scuttle
13-02-2012, 12:07 PM
Mr Evra told us that he began the conversation by saying "Concha de tu hermana". Mr Evra's evidence was that this is a phrase used in Spanish like when you say "****ing hell" in English, but the literal translation is "your sister's pussy". Mr Suárez did not hear Mr Evra say this. One of the video clips that we have seen, taken from a close-up angle behind the goal, does appear to support Mr Evra's evidence that he started the conversation with this comment.
The LITERAL translation of that phrase is "your sister's ****" and whether Suarez heard him say it or not it rather puts Evra's character and mindset into perspective that he starts a conversation with a sexual obscenity about the other guy's sister. Suarez may well be a dirty racist twat - what exactly is Evra?
HOW many pages about a couple of lowlifes who never have and never will play for Hibs? :rolleyes:
You felt the need to post, so I guess the answer is as many pages as it takes
13-02-2012, 12:16 PM
When are LFC going to issue an apology to Patrice Evra. :cb
1Eddie_Turnbull
13-02-2012, 12:18 PM
This is the problem though. Suarez, Dalglish and LFC in general in their initial refusal to apologise, their ongoing refusal to condemn Suarez's behaviour and their cryptic asides that all was not as it seemed have condoned racism whether they meant to or not. Fans of the club, of whom I presume you are one, have effectively done the same by blindly supporting the behaviour of Suarez and Dalglish and attempting to vilify Evra.
This issue is beyond football rivalries. That Liverpool have refused to take proper responsibilty for their player's and manager's behaviour, and tried to paint Evra as the culprit and Suarez as the victim is not befitting the club they are.....or perhaps once were.
13-02-2012, 12:25 PM
Yep i agree. :agree:
13-02-2012, 12:33 PM
In reply to Doddies bow deleted post that is still visible due to being quoted.
Spanish profanities are extremely hard to translate to English and don't always mean as they seem. Hence Evras claim that concha de tu hermana means ****ing hell is to all intents and purposes truthful if not correct when literally translated.
The most known example is probably puta madre which can be translated as anything from whore mother to mother****er. Change the preceding word ever so slightly and it becomes a very positive comment that would be used to describe something as 'the ****' or 'the coolest'.
13-02-2012, 01:30 PM
Always thought of Evra as a bit of a ****, but he's gone up in my estimation now that I know he can swear in Spanish. Since he's French, that I reckon makes him multilingual. Do you think he might be able to teach Rooney and Ferdinand English? :dunno:
Love the Green
13-02-2012, 03:27 PM
superb post :top marks
"keep the faith"
superb post :top marks
"keep the faith"
The only problem is most of the Man u fans on here won't remember then incidents
13-02-2012, 04:46 PM
The only problem is most of the Man u fans on here won't remember then incidents
:yawn:
richard_pitts
13-02-2012, 09:24 PM
Re Cantona, I was there :greengrin Oh and his "victim" got done for racist abuse and responded by assaulting the judge who convicted him :rolleyes:
As for Evra and the dismissals of what was said to him, I'll bring that up the next time there's a fifteen page thread on abuse from the supporters of whatever Rangers get replaced with and tell you all to get over it. There was outrage at some of the abuse delivered courtesy of Cowdenbeath supporters on here for example. Are we just being uppity fenians? :aok:
13-02-2012, 11:26 PM
Suarez got it wrong in October. Dalglish is guilty of following his heart and trusting his player then and again on Sunday.
However, the ****er reporters love nothing more than to dig and stir the **** and given the Kings experience with the press, you'll never find him taking **** from reporters.
He was blissfully unaware Suarez had gone back on what he was told to do and agreed to do I.e. shake evras hand.
Dalglish has apologised. Suarez has apologised (and already apologised to evra over this, weeks ago). Ayre publicly condemned Suarez for not shaking hands. Suarez was done for the previous incident.
As a Red, it ****s me off that Suarez, arguably one of the best players in the epl has kept this **** going and most of all, I'm ****ed off someone like Kenny Dalglish is picking up his mess and copng pelters for him. He has done a lot for Fitba, Liverpool (club and city) and is was also right to condemn all the ***** who fired abuse at Barnes all those years ago. He's guilty of backing his player who has let him, LFC and himself down,
However, ferguson can **** of telling anyone who to play and pick. Thatll be ferguson who backed cantonna and chucked a boot at beckhams puss! And by the way, theres another big myth. Ferguson and Dalgish hate each other. Pish. Ferguson wrote the foreword to the kings autobiography and was first of the phone after Hillsborough to see if he could help.
This one is over and done, save for those who love to hate Liverpool and keep the **** going, even after Suarez has been punished,all parties apologised and all parties accept them.
14-02-2012, 08:49 AM
This is the problem though. Suarez, Dalglish and LFC in general in their initial refusal to apologise, their ongoing refusal to condemn Suarez's behaviour and their cryptic asides that all was not as it seemed have condoned racism whether they meant to or not. Fans of the club, of whom I presume you are one, have effectively done the same by blindly supporting the behaviour of Suarez and Dalglish and attempting to vilify Evra.
This issue is beyond football rivalries. That Liverpool have refused to take proper responsibilty for their player's and manager's behaviour, and tried to paint Evra as the culprit and Suarez as the victim is not befitting the club they are.....or perhaps once were.
Nail on the head IMO, personally cant give a toss about either team however LFC's reaction was a very poor one IMO and encouraged those hard of thinking to think IMO that they were condoning racism. I dont think it is a coincidence that in 2 games since at Anfield that fans have indulged in clearly racist behaviour. There needed to be a bit more thought into the reactions after the incident the teeshirt incident at Wigan and Dalglish's continued ill judged defence of the player were very poor in the extreme and led to Suarez thinking that he could act like he did on Saturday. Fergie is often wrong however IMO he was spot on when he said that Suarez's actions could have led to a riot given how highly charged that game is at the best of times never mind after this.
I also dont believe Dalglish when he said that he didnt know Suarez hadnt shook Evra's hand.
14-02-2012, 10:13 AM
Suarez got it wrong in October. Dalglish is guilty of following his heart and trusting his player then and again on Sunday.
However, the ****er reporters love nothing more than to dig and stir the **** and given the Kings experience with the press, you'll never find him taking **** from reporters.
He was blissfully unaware Suarez had gone back on what he was told to do and agreed to do I.e. shake evras hand.
Dalglish has apologised. Suarez has apologised (and already apologised to evra over this, weeks ago). Ayre publicly condemned Suarez for not shaking hands. Suarez was done for the previous incident.
As a Red, it ****s me off that Suarez, arguably one of the best players in the epl has kept this **** going and most of all, I'm ****ed off someone like Kenny Dalglish is picking up his mess and copng pelters for him. He has done a lot for Fitba, Liverpool (club and city) and is was also right to condemn all the ***** who fired abuse at Barnes all those years ago. He's guilty of backing his player who has let him, LFC and himself down,
However, ferguson can **** of telling anyone who to play and pick. Thatll be ferguson who backed cantonna and chucked a boot at beckhams puss! And by the way, theres another big myth. Ferguson and Dalgish hate each other. Pish. Ferguson wrote the foreword to the kings autobiography and was first of the phone after Hillsborough to see if he could help.
This one is over and done, save for those who love to hate Liverpool and keep the **** going, even after Suarez has been punished,all parties apologised and all parties accept them.
I haven't seen anything anywhere that details Suarez apologising to Evra.
14-02-2012, 03:25 PM
All this carry on over a stupid handshake. The EPL should bin this stupid and unnecessary pre-match handshake claptrap as soon as possible as it's a complete waste of time and effort.
That's all.
14-02-2012, 03:33 PM
Re Cantona, I was there :greengrin Oh and his "victim" got done for racist abuse and responded by assaulting the judge who convicted him :rolleyes:
As for Evra and the dismissals of what was said to him, I'll bring that up the next time there's a fifteen page thread on abuse from the supporters of whatever Rangers get replaced with and tell you all to get over it. There was outrage at some of the abuse delivered courtesy of Cowdenbeath supporters on here for example. Are we just being uppity fenians? :aok:
I can see absolutely no reason whatsover for your last sentence. None at all.
Dick, your the pitts.
14-02-2012, 05:33 PM
[QUOTE=FalkirkHibee;3111936]I'm not "at" anything.
:applause: Nice try but no once again your generalising your feelings about Liverpool with stupid comments about shifting the blame and always the victims crap!