View Full Version : What is the worst pain you have ever felt?
Lost_Mackem
11-02-2012, 12:31 AM
I haven't really had any serious injuries, no broken bones or anything but I did severely sprain my ankle once. I was in tears never really felt anything like it, couldn't walk properly for a good while and the doctor said that the pain from sprains can often be worse than an actual break.
That and migraine's run it pretty close, they're a ****ing nightmare, haven't had a one since October 2010 (touch wood) but there was a period a few years back when I suffered with anxiety that they came twice a week. First a blind spot, then parts of my body would go numb, followed by the most horrendous headache and throwing up which lasts a good 12 hours or so.
Wouldn't wish it on a Mag.
11-02-2012, 05:05 AM
Physical pain? Gout. Nothing compares.
Mental pain? Too many things to mention.
11-02-2012, 06:11 AM
Standing on an upturned plug in bare feet.
Failing that, being burned alive is supposed to smart a bit...
11-02-2012, 06:21 AM
Broke my collar bone, dislocated my shoulder and fractured the shoulder blade all in one go. That did not tickle.
For sheer excrutiating pain with no relief though it has to be a torn abdominal muscle. Doesn't sound like much but that is an injury that is absolute agony for weeks
11-02-2012, 08:13 AM
jumping onto a piece of lego in bare feet when Burley scored vs. Norway - I saw my life flash before my eyes!
Having tonsillitis undiagnosed for about a week was grim.
11-02-2012, 08:23 AM
Fractured pelvis after doing a somersault through a windscreen.
11-02-2012, 08:44 AM
Severed my Achilles tendon, that stung a little to say the least.
Other than that I'd say having to listen to David Guetta/Tiesto in the other halfs car is pretty painful. Music, my arse!
Don Giovanni
11-02-2012, 09:10 AM
...being burned alive is supposed to smart a bit...
I see that there has been a rash of Tibetan monks imolating themselves in protest of the continued Chinese occupation. There was a pretty horrific clip - I think on TV - of one monk standing, burning alive. It really distorts the senses, seeing it in the flesh would wreck your head.
Meanwhile, the Chinese authorities have responded with thier customary restraint and good grace :rollyeyes:
P.S. sorry for the thread hijack.
Lost_Mackem
11-02-2012, 09:28 AM
Severed my Achilles tendon, that stung a little to say the least.Other than that I'd say having to listen to David Guetta/Tiesto in the other halfs car is pretty painful. Music, my arse!
:tsk tsk: Guetta is God! :rockin:
The two worst pains I have had myself are a growth on my spine which was cutting into the nerves going to my legs. If you imagine someone with a spike stabbing the nerves in your teeth 24/7, then that comes close. After 8 months the operation sorted that one out. Second has to be the gall bladder, that one is a stinger for 24 hours solid, again an operation sorted that one out.
11-02-2012, 10:32 AM
Sciatica. Sorest thing ever...getting hoofed in the knackers repeatedly and breaking ribs doesn't even come close.
And the icing on the cake, I have to get a disc on my back shaved to stop it touching a nerve..that's going to be nice.
Sciatica. Sorest thing ever...getting hoofed in the knackers repeatedly and breaking ribs doesn't even come close.
And the icing on the cake, I have to get a disc on my back shaved to stop it touching a nerve..that's going to be nice.
That is what I was getting treated for until I had an MRI scan, I feel your pain :agree:
11-02-2012, 09:18 PM
No injuries but suffer from Migraines which is bad enough!
Hillsidehibby
12-02-2012, 10:42 AM
Done my back in. Pain killing injections had no effect!
12-02-2012, 04:46 PM
Giving birth is pretty painful.
12AlbionPlace
12-02-2012, 05:00 PM
Wondered how long it would be before a lady came along trying to tell us men how painful child birth is................
:greengrin:offski:
12-02-2012, 06:26 PM
Ive not experienced it so far yet, but, losing a parent/close family member must surely be up there, hope I don't find out for a long time!
A couple of years ago I had an op to remove a lump from my big toe, it was in between my big toe and the one nrxt to it so an awkward place to get to. When it came to getting the stitches out it was found that they were very tight and very small. They ended up prising my toes apart and used a scalpel to burst the stitches. It was absolute agony as they couldnt help slicing my toe at the same time. The blood was running down my foot. They actually missed a stitch and I never told them. Never felt pain like that in my life and I have given birth four times!
Nuitdelune
12-02-2012, 07:21 PM
A horse @ 400 kilos, fell on my legs once in the middle of a field. I had to crawl, worm like out of the field, and up the hill to my house--I still have a hollow at the side of my knee but remarkably no bones broken and no lasting effects other than that, but it did hurt!
13-02-2012, 06:28 AM
Sciatica; I get it down my right leg due to a congenital hip dislocation I had corrected when I was young. The sharpest and unforgiving pain I think I've ever felt!
Sprained my ankle really badly whilst Skateboarding in May last year doing a gap from flat bank to flat bank (6 foot sloped bit of concrete), at the skate park. After landing it perfectly all day I try it one last time before going home and typically, I get far too much speed, and height, so bail out in mid air but landed with full force on my left foot at the part where the slope meets the ground, so I'd fallen a good 6 foot, and went right over on my ankle - I felt the outside of my big toe touch my shin!
I was barefoot (and looking like bigfoot!) for a whole week and the bruising lasted for around a month.
13-02-2012, 10:39 AM
Wondered how long it would be before a lady came along trying to tell us men how painful child birth is................
:greengrin:offski:
:take that
13-02-2012, 10:44 AM
No injuries but suffer from Migraines which is bad enough!
I feel your pain.
I spent about 2 years being hit with at least one migraine lasting about 72 hours a week. Absolute torture.
Thankfully the right medication, keeping active and hydrated has meant I now have them far less frequently and severely.
13-02-2012, 11:10 AM
It can't be that bad or you'd hear women going on about it more.
and there would be no second children ;-)
13-02-2012, 11:44 AM
Pain - every Scottish Cup since I can remember :boo hoo:
I have never broken a bone. Have had a cartilage (sp) op, 3 hernias (two operated and one shoved back in and few days morphine (loved it :agree:)), knee sprains, ankle sprains etc but that's it.
The most unwell I have ever felt was Chicken Pox at 32 y-o .. I would have shot myself if I'd had a gun.
Twa Cairpets
13-02-2012, 01:42 PM
I feel as if I may have the winner.
I was getting a vasectomy, and lets just say the positioning of the local anaesthesia relating to where they do the actual cutting into yer nads was a tad imperfect. I howled like a wolf at the moon, almost punched the surgeon before instantly recalling he had a knife positioned at the edge of my bawbag. To add insult to quite literal injury it didnt work, and had to go through the whole thing again.
Even as I'm typing I can feel the pain of that knife... I would also like to apologise to the half dozen or so guys who were in the ante room waiting to go in for their own snip - I've often wondered how many of them bottled it as a result of my scream.
14-02-2012, 05:50 AM
I was getting a vasectomy, and lets just say the positioning of the local anaesthesia relating to where they do the actual cutting into yer nads was a tad imperfect. I howled like a wolf at the moon, almost punched the surgeon before instantly recalling he had a knife positioned at the edge of my bawbag. To add insult to quite literal injury it didnt work, and had to go through the whole thing again.
Even as I'm typing I can feel the pain of that knife... I would also like to apologise to the half dozen or so guys who were in the ante room waiting to go in for their own snip - I've often wondered how many of them bottled it as a result of my scream.
:faf: Sorry mate. I am laughing in sympathy, honest. I can still feel that needle going in, both sides!!!! And when he strated cutting the anaesthetic had not taken effect so could feel him pulling my bits apart!!!
Still not as sore as the old gout though :wink:
14-02-2012, 06:31 PM
Broken both my wrists and a collar bone, but the worst pain i have had was last year , kidney stones , pain just started akin to flicking a switch , couldnt stand ,sit or lie down to try and ease the pain as i spewed , sweated and had a whitey , would not wish that pain on anyone.
KingFranck
14-02-2012, 07:56 PM
Sprained left ankle playing 5s absolute agony
Got hit by a car when I was 15 that was fairly sore especially when my shoulder went through the car window!
Also an iron fell off a shelf and hit me on the top of my head the sharp pointy end like something out of Tom and Jerry but not as funny for me!
14-02-2012, 09:54 PM
Ive hurt myself in a few imaginative ways over the years, here are a few of the most painful, in no particular order
1) Split open head, 100 stitches, you could see my skull, this was done doing a jump on my BMX on a building site, came flying down a hill, hit the mud jump, didnt use my breaks and smashed my heid off a concrete tube that was being lowered in to make a sewer
2) Broken wrist & split open head, on a building site yet again, was on the second story of scaffolding infront of the builders pully, decided to swing like tarzan on it without checking the rope was actually attached to anything, as you can imagine in true cartoon fashion the rope went flying through the pully and I was trying to climb a falling rope 20 feet up :faf:
3) At the dentist the injection didnt kick in, so i could feel the drill biting away at my teeth and rattling my jaw, didnt want to prolong the agony so just gripped the chair tighter and let them do it instead of saying anything
4) Torn cruciate, this was done in the first 5 minutes of a game and I played the remaining 55 hobbling about thinking I could run it off, didnt go to the Doctors for over 4 months until the constant pain and joint locking became unbearable
5) At work goes to walk out the door (safety self closing fire door) but the bit at the back that closes it has jammed so when I push the door open to happily escape work the door flies back in my face bursting my nose and chipping a bone behind my eyebrow, to this day my pals think that the shiner was because someone had battered me and my story about the door attacking me is some battered wives falling down the stairs story
and finally my all time favourite, probably the most stupid but also the most painful
6) Broken ribs and torn stomach muscles, round about when Jackass was in its prime, went out and got reekin, my pals says I will give you all the money I have on me (about £28 if IIRC) if you run into that bus stop as fast as you can, now I wasnt daft, I tested it first and thought I will bounce right off this no problem, turns out I didnt, I smashed right through the safety glass and slid on my side for a few feet, knew there and then Id done a dull one as I was pished and it hurt like hell.
Basically for the next month I have never felt pain like it, you cannot sleep or get comfy as everytime you move you can feel it, even now about 12 years later when im really tired I get a dull twinge in it
On the plus side I havent really hurt myself in about 5 or 6 years :thumbsup:
14-02-2012, 09:59 PM
Ive hurt myself in a few imaginative ways over the years, here are a few of the most painful, in no particular order
1) Split open head, 100 stitches, you could see my skull, this was done doing a jump on my BMX on a building site, came flying down a hill, hit the mud jump, didnt use my breaks and smashed my heid off a concrete tube that was being lowered in to make a sewer
2) Broken wrist & split open head, on a building site yet again, was on the second story of scaffolding infront of the builders pully, decided to swing like tarzan on it without checking the rope was actually attached to anything, as you can imagine in true cartoon fashion the rope went flying through the pully and I was trying to climb a falling rope 20 feet up :faf:
3) At the dentist the injection didnt kick in, so i could feel the drill biting away at my teeth and rattling my jaw, didnt want to prolong the agony so just gripped the chair tighter and let them do it instead of saying anything
4) Torn cruciate, this was done in the first 5 minutes of a game and I played the remaining 55 hobbling about thinking I could run it off, didnt go to the Doctors for over 4 months until the constant pain and joint locking became unbearable
5) At work goes to walk out the door (safety self closing fire door) but the bit at the back that closes it has jammed so when I push the door open to happily escape work the door flies back in my face bursting my nose and chipping a bone behind my eyebrow, to this day my pals think that the shiner was because someone had battered me and my story about the door attacking me is some battered wives falling down the stairs story
and finally my all time favourite, probably the most stupid but also the most painful
6) Broken ribs and torn stomach muscles, round about when Jackass was in its prime, went out and got reekin, my pals says I will give you all the money I have on me (about £28 if IIRC) if you run into that bus stop as fast as you can, now I wasnt daft, I tested it first and thought I will bounce right off this no problem, turns out I didnt, I smashed right through the safety glass and slid on my side for a few feet, knew there and then Id done a dull one as I was pished and it hurt like hell.
Basically for the next month I have never felt pain like it, you cannot sleep or get comfy as everytime you move you can feel it, even now about 12 years later when im really tired I get a dull twinge in it
Lucky white heather ! :faf:
14-02-2012, 10:04 PM
Lucky white heather ! :faf:
:faf: yep indeed, Im due another one soon I reckon, the other most painful one was explaining to my folks why there was a hole in the kitchen wall when they got back from their holidays :faf:
Believe me they still never believe how it happened but its the kind of story you could never make up involving a tablet and a cat :faf::faf:
Reactive Arthritis was in pain for months couldn't walk some days was a huge strain on home life as well. In my knees, spine and then cause of the arthritis i then got tendinitis in my ankles was on codiene (sp) and dicloflenak (sp) they took they pain away but made me feel like a zombie!
16-02-2012, 12:16 AM
Agreed. Ive had a few mishaps/injuries and it is all relative to the person but an acute gout attack has you thinking/seriously contemplating of trying to end it all as the pain is just unbearable. Ive also overdosed(by accident/intolerable pain) on painkillers as a result of a serious gout attack and that wasnt good for me or those involved.
I honestly wouldn't wish gout on my worst enemy
I wont comment on those with depression, bereavement, mental issues as that is a pain that lasts forever and isnt comparable to physical pain IMO
Here is to no more pain for all on here
16-02-2012, 12:42 PM
:faf: yep indeed, Im due another one soon I reckon, the other most painful one was explaining to my folks why there was a hole in the kitchen wall when they got back from their holidays :faf:
Believe me they still never believe how it happened but its the kind of story you could never make up involving a tablet and a cat :faf::faf:
A tablet and a cat eh ! Come on spill the beans ! :greengrin
persevere1875
16-02-2012, 10:13 PM
Had three spinal ops and suffered sciatica off and on for last 15 years, but nothing I can recall has ever come near to the pain experianced when passing a Kidney stone, believe me when I say its pain with a capital P :wink:
16-02-2012, 10:29 PM
You don't post on here nearly enough mate :full marks:
16-02-2012, 11:00 PM
Cheers bud,
Well the hole in the wall story goes like this
i was still living home my folks went on holiday. the cat was on antibiotics and i don't know if anyone's tried to feed a cat a pill before.
I thought peice of piss and put it in with its food, nah my cat isn't that daft she ate all the food and left the pill in the bowl
so Im thinking one way or another you are taking this pill, got the cat in a head lock and prised her jaws open, tried this about 10 times but she keeps squirming and its just not happening.
Now this has all been going on about half an hour and my temper is rising, think to myself i will give it one more go and manage to get the tablet in her mouth and hold her mouth shut for a few secs til she has swallowed it, basically high fived myself thinking you are the king no cats getting the better of you, the cat nonchalantly walks away looks at me a spits it out
the rage overcomes me and i kick the wall in anger but my foot goes right through it, Im stood there with my foot in the wall thinking **** they've only been on holiday 5 hours and I've destroyed the house already.
So i get on the phone and call my grandad saying are you any good at fixing walls, he comes round and patches it up, luckily the same paint is still in the hut.
Now knowing how house proud my mum is as soon as she is within a hundred mile radius she will feel a disturbance in the force and know what I've done. he says don't mention it wait til she says something then tell her but i don't think she will notice it looks good as new.
I go to work the day the are due back and when i get in she goes what's this grandad tells me about the wall, the old bassa grasses me up Haha
to this day she thinks i had some mental party and doesn't believe it was all the cats fault!!!
17-02-2012, 12:43 AM
I have done alright in not getting seriously ill or injured yet. *touchwood*
Worst was last year mucking about with a football with my dad and wee brother. I jumped trying to stop the ball and had my leg outright behind me. Landed on my toe and stubbed it pretty bad. They were all pissing themselves while i was in pretty bad pain. :rolleyes: My toe went huge and purple, my mum who's a nurse later reckoned i had broke it but don't know for sure. Was sore for a few weeks but i never got it checked out or anything. That wasn't the nicest of times but not the worst i have read so far!
I see that there has been a rash of Tibetan monks imolating themselves in protest of the continued Chinese occupation. There was a pretty horrific clip - I think on TV - of one monk standing, burning alive. It really distorts the senses, seeing it in the flesh would wreck your head.
Meanwhile, the Chinese authorities have responded with thier customary restraint and good grace :rollyeyes:
P.S. sorry for the thread hijack.
The monk was standing so still as well. Absolutely mental.
Being burnt like that or skinned alive is apparently the most painful thing that can happen. I had one of these raggy bits of skin below my nail a few days ago and I made an erse of tearing it off. I tore off a small line of skin which must have been only one millimeter wide by a centimeter long and it was bloody agony...I couldn't believe how much such a small wound hurt!
Definitely the highest pain to size of wound ratio.:greengrin
Calvin
17-02-2012, 12:00 PM
I feel your pain.
I spent about 2 years being hit with at least one migraine lasting about 72 hours a week. Absolute torture.
Thankfully the right medication, keeping active and hydrated has meant I now have them far less frequently and severely.
I was exactly the same. My fifth and sixth years at school were pretty much a write-off. They used to start with numbness in my fingers slowly spreading to my whole right side and my speech went completely awry - it varied between slurring, complete loss of speech and occasionally speaking but just random words.
I grew out of them a bit but still get them occasionally. Can I ask what medication worked for you?
17-02-2012, 12:12 PM
Cheers bud,
Well the hole in the wall story goes like this
i was still living home my folks went on holiday. the cat was on antibiotics and i don't know if anyone's tried to feed a cat a pill before.
I thought peice of piss and put it in with its food, nah my cat isn't that daft she ate all the food and left the pill in the bowl
so Im thinking one way or another you are taking this pill, got the cat in a head lock and prised her jaws open, tried this about 10 times but she keeps squirming and its just not happening.
Now this has all been going on about half an hour and my temper is rising, think to myself i will give it one more go and manage to get the tablet in her mouth and hold her mouth shut for a few secs til she has swallowed it, basically high fived myself thinking you are the king no cats getting the better of you, the cat nonchalantly walks away looks at me a spits it out
the rage overcomes me and i kick the wall in anger but my foot goes right through it, Im stood there with my foot in the wall thinking **** they've only been on holiday 5 hours and I've destroyed the house already.
So i get on the phone and call my grandad saying are you any good at fixing walls, he comes round and patches it up, luckily the same paint is still in the hut.
Now knowing how house proud my mum is as soon as she is within a hundred mile radius she will feel a disturbance in the force and know what I've done. he says don't mention it wait til she says something then tell her but i don't think she will notice it looks good as new.
I go to work the day the are due back and when i get in she goes what's this grandad tells me about the wall, the old bassa grasses me up Haha
to this day she thinks i had some mental party and doesn't believe it was all the cats fault!!!
Fantastic ! :faf:
Twa Cairpets
17-02-2012, 05:26 PM
Not necessarily the worst pain I've had (see earlier post re-anaesthesia free vasectomy), but the stupidest involved an itchy foot.
I was sitting at my desk at work (twenty odd years ago now - good grief) and had a mild itch on the mid-outside of my right, just above my arch. Easy to reach with my finger down the side of my shoe, so I went to work. You know how you get that "aaahhhhh" feeling with a good itch-scratch, well it was great so I carried on with a bit more vigour, until my pleasure was abruptly stopped by a loud cracking noise. My finger had got wedged in my sock, I'd put too much downwards pressure on it and snapped all the tendons and ligaments at the top of the last joint on my middle finger on my right hand. The top third of the finger just kind of dangled there, and it hurt like a sod.
I had to have a plastic splint on my finger for 4 months, making me look like I was permanently giving people the finger.
Not a good look.
17-02-2012, 06:18 PM
I was exactly the same. My fifth and sixth years at school were pretty much a write-off. They used to start with numbness in my fingers slowly spreading to my whole right side and my speech went completely awry - it varied between slurring, complete loss of speech and occasionally speaking but just random words.
I grew out of them a bit but still get them occasionally. Can I ask what medication worked for you?
Propranolol was what finally helped. It's actually a beta blocker most commonly used to treat heart conditions.
Don't get me wrong it didn't stop them but it lessened.the frequency and also eased the symptoms. It also helped with the anxiety I felt when they were about to come on which worsened the symptoms.
I also had accupuncture, something I was hugely sceptical about but it definitely helped.
It took a lot of trial and error though I was on everything from industrial strength painkillers to anti depressants.
A truly debilitating condition that is still a bit misunderstood imo.
Mon1875
17-02-2012, 07:22 PM
Broke 2nd and 3rd metatarsils in my foot when I fell off a bar. When going to the toilet at night with my crutches I swung my foot heavily tino the wall (no plaster on it). Excrutiating.
Calvin
18-02-2012, 12:46 PM
Propranolol was what finally helped. It's actually a beta blocker most commonly used to treat heart conditions.
Don't get me wrong it didn't stop them but it lessened.the frequency and also eased the symptoms. It also helped with the anxiety I felt when they were about to come on which worsened the symptoms.
I also had accupuncture, something I was hugely sceptical about but it definitely helped.
It took a lot of trial and error though I was on everything from industrial strength painkillers to anti depressants.
A truly debilitating condition that is still a bit misunderstood imo.
Propanolol didn't really help me. What did make a difference in the end was going to an osteopath. The therapist said that I had the skeletal make-up of a 50 year old so she sorted that out!
And I totally agree with your final line.
DrSpaceMonkey
19-02-2012, 11:59 AM
2 fractured vertibrae and slipped disc, all fused into place at the base of my spine. They can fix it but means 2+ years in a brace and if the operation didn't work a risk of not being able to walk. Think I'll stay broken for the foreseeable future
chorley_fm
19-02-2012, 05:14 PM
Broken heart
19-02-2012, 06:26 PM
Headache caused by intercranial pressure from a 6" brain tumour:agree:
If someone offered to decapitate me, I would have gratefully accepted:agree:
19-02-2012, 09:16 PM
Wow, that was a conversation stopper if ever I saw one.:greengrin
I also got stung twice on my nutsack by a wasp too on the golf course... that wasn't nice. It must have flown up my shorts and stung me when I bent over to line up my putt. I jumped up and practically ripped off my shorts to much hillarity from the rest of my fourball. By the time I got back to the clubhouse, it looked like I had 4 balls.:embarrass
HibeeSince85
20-02-2012, 05:37 PM
Wow, that was a conversation stopper if ever I saw one.:greengrin
I also got stung twice on my nutsack by a wasp too on the golf course... that wasn't nice. It must have flown up my shorts and stung me when I bent over to line up my putt. I jumped up and practically ripped off my shorts to much hillarity from the rest of my fourball. By the time I got back to the clubhouse, it looked like I had 4 balls.:embarrass
TwoCarpets/Houchy - you have me in stitches on the train with your stories concerning the nether regions:greengrin
Classic lads, classic!
Worst pain for me would have been either tearing every tendon in the fingers on my right hand and my little finger nearly hanging off when I was 15, my aunt goes to run my hand under cold water and the pain in my pinkie was so bad, that or appendicitis.
20-02-2012, 10:20 PM
Torn ligaments in my ankle when I was a teenager, never felt pain like it, thought I'd broken or dislocated the ankle which is apparently less painful. It still hurts sometimes now in cold or damp weather.
Also when I was younger I shut my hand in the car door, door fully closed over it and I still don't know how I managed it. Delayed reaction followed by me screaming the place down, amazingly no broken bones from that one.
I also suffer from regular migraines but they don't even come close to the ankle pain.
21-02-2012, 10:30 AM
Broke both my ankles when i was in my teens, and have broke my left wrist twice, all playing football. Have to say the worst was doing my ankle ligaments as someone points out on the thread it was more painful than the broken ankle.
21-02-2012, 10:34 AM
Broken heart
:agree: Its a dull one eh, currently going through a separation after being with the lassie for nearly 5 years. Not nice, Im an idiot though:idiot:
21-02-2012, 11:00 AM
:agree: Its a dull one eh, currently going through a separation after being with the lassie for nearly 5 years. Not nice, Im an idiot though:idiot:
Sorry to hear that mate :-(
21-02-2012, 11:23 AM
Even as I'm typing I can feel the pain of that knife... I would also like to apologise to the half dozen or so guys who were in the ante room waiting to go in for their own snip - I've often wondered how many of them bottled it as a result of my scream.I was told after much pain and butcher having a few problems that if he'd known about my previously fractured pelvis and associated damage that I would certainly have been given a GA for my snip. I can still feel it now.
Mixu62
22-02-2012, 02:10 PM
Mucking about with a couple of 5 irons and golf balls in the park with a mate (I must've been about 9). He takes a big swing and hits the sweet spot....just as I've walked up the park to retrieve my ball. He yells 'four' and as I turn and duck, the ball smacks me on the side of me coupon. If he'd kept his trap shut it would have missed me. Had a bruise, ironically the size of a golf ball on the side of my head for a week.
Either that or the throb of an abcess in my gum/jaw. My whole head was throbbing so much I swear it registered on the richter scale.
23-02-2012, 11:10 PM
Two rows of 14 stitches in my bishop. Getting the stitches wasn't the worst thing (although it wasn't nice either). Worse thing was having them self extract after my girlfriend of the time felt she'd had enough of the celibacy imposed on her by my injury.
Teo10
24-02-2012, 11:35 AM
Easily the worst pain for me was Snapping Ligaments on my ankle... not playing football or anything but on a trampoline...
My mate was trying to give me a "bounce" just as I was landing, for some reason my right foot went the tiniest bit at an angle and went over on it, coming down on it with my full weight I just crumpled and the tears began! Worst thing was I heard the ligaments snapping or something sounding like when you pull a elastic band too far. Instantly there was a ball the size of a tennis ball sticking outside my ankle, I tried to sit and rest it for about 35 minutes but the pain was too unbearable, my mum had to get me from my mates and take me to A&E, a nice wee six hour wait and about 4 painkillers and a set of crutches later I was out! I cant really put my right foot flat down on the ground if im leaning against something as they have fused together too tight now!
Appendicitus was nothing compared to that!
Twa Cairpets
24-02-2012, 06:48 PM
Two rows of 14 stitches in my bishop. Getting the stitches wasn't the worst thing (although it wasn't nice either). Worse thing was having them self extract after my girlfriend of the time felt she'd had enough of the celibacy imposed on her by my injury.
Now, you see, I find myself wanting to know how that happened but at the same time really, really not wanting to know.
25-02-2012, 09:30 PM
Now you see, I'd genuinely love to tell you but it's probably something that's best left between me, a comfy couch and Dr/patient confidentiality. :-)
25-02-2012, 09:42 PM
Now you see, I'd genuinely love to tell you but it's probably something that's best left between me, a comfy couch and Dr/patient confidentiality. :-)
the pain I feel,when some diddy posts on the "greatest" thread :agree:
26-02-2012, 08:46 AM
the pain I feel,when some diddy posts on the "greatest" thread :agree:
Guess that makes me a kind of sadist then (wink).
27-02-2012, 02:35 PM
Tire my hip flexor off of my pelvic bone by taking a shot with my left foot playing football. Absolutely agony, I just crumpled in a heap and couldn't walk without crutches for about 6 weeks afterwards.
Still scored with the shot though.
27-02-2012, 03:32 PM
I was helping a mate out one day in the summer on the Ferry thing on the Forth.
I know nowt about boats.
We got into one of the islands in the middle and I get asked to help with the rope to tie it up. The rope was about 4 inches thick, it got caught a wee bit so I go in to pull it round the metal thing it was wound on. Just then the captain puts the foot on the gas and the rope tightens on my fingers.
A second or so of that and three fingers on my right hand have been properly crushed, they split like sausages under the grill, right up both sides and along the top. When the rope loosened they were sort of hanging there, exposed all the way to the bones, fingernails also exposed all the way down, flapping about.
Worst of it was we were against the tide and wind and it took an hour to get back to South Queensferry then a half hour in a car to St Johns. Fingers wrapped up in a bar towel.
The nurse at the A&E says 'oh my god' when they are unwrapped which always helps.
Anyway, all got stitched together, fingernails stitched back in place to act as splints.
Remarkably not too many ill effects 20 years later but they do hurt in the cold!
Stung a bit at the time mind.
Twa Cairpets
27-02-2012, 10:26 PM
I was helping a mate out one day in the summer on the Ferry thing on the Forth.
I know nowt about boats.
We got into one of the islands in the middle and I get asked to help with the rope to tie it up. The rope was about 4 inches thick, it got caught a wee bit so I go in to pull it round the metal thing it was wound on. Just then the captain puts the foot on the gas and the rope tightens on my fingers.
A second or so of that and three fingers on my right hand have been properly crushed, they split like sausages under the grill, right up both sides and along the top. When the rope loosened they were sort of hanging there, exposed all the way to the bones, fingernails also exposed all the way down, flapping about.
Worst of it was we were against the tide and wind and it took an hour to get back to South Queensferry then a half hour in a car to St Johns. Fingers wrapped up in a bar towel.
The nurse at the A&E says 'oh my god' when they are unwrapped which always helps.
Anyway, all got stitched together, fingernails stitched back in place to act as splints.
Remarkably not too many ill effects 20 years later but they do hurt in the cold!
Stung a bit at the time mind.
That really had to hurt. :faint:
Have to say though I'm impressed with the nautical knowledge with the use of such term as "ferry thing" and "metal thing" :greengrin
krobertson12
28-02-2012, 11:06 AM
With a thread like this I cant avoid a shameless plug of my services as a private physio... www.physiokris.co.uk (http://www.physiokris.co.uk)
Now that I've put in my plug, the worse pain I've felt is a bad ankle sprain in 5's. "snap" then agony. The really bad thing was I had a midweek game the next night. Ankle strapped like a cast I was cursing the players that went down/needed treatment!
Seen a few injuries in my job, from fractures to massive back spasms.
02-03-2012, 01:26 PM
That really had to hurt. :faint:
Have to say though I'm impressed with the nautical knowledge with the use of such term as "ferry thing" and "metal thing" :greengrin
I know, who could have thought it would all go wrong?:greengrin
04-03-2012, 05:05 PM
Tooth abcess.
MoscowHibs
05-03-2012, 08:47 AM
Getting my stanes kicked by my bird at the time for pumping her mate, either that or when one o my kidneys packed in, seriously sair.
Togs91
06-03-2012, 09:30 PM
Getting kicked in the backside during a fight, the bloke had steel toe caps on and broke my coxyx, could hardly walk never mind sit, plus it was utter embarrasment!
Or at sea, rocking and rolling about getting a 440V AC belt, curled up into the fetal position and spewed my load.
neilmartinrocks
07-03-2012, 02:43 PM
heamotoma after an op had to cauterise it 2 hours later and had used my allocation of anesthetic.
03-04-2012, 07:24 AM
Emotionally, Defo a broken heart :(
Sodje_18
04-04-2012, 01:02 AM
Back when I played football for a junior team I went for a diving header as a cross came in and I got a defenders studs contused into my head. I had a concussion (wasn't too serious though) and my mate took me to A+E. I lost a lot of blood so I felt a little woozy still after being treated. I stumbled out of A+E with my mate and felt so dizzy I fell over the kerb outside the door and sprained my ankle. We had to back into A+E literally 5 seconds after leaving:faf::faf::faf:
06-04-2012, 07:29 AM
Broken both my wrists and a collar bone, but the worst pain i have had was last year , kidney stones , pain just started akin to flicking a switch , couldnt stand ,sit or lie down to try and ease the pain as i spewed , sweated and had a whitey , would not wish that pain on anyone.
Got agree on this one, have had a fractured skull, a few broken bones, torn ligaments and a slipped disc two years ago which I still suffer sciatica from but nothing compares to kidney stones. To make matters worse I couldn't take anesthetic for the shock wave treatment to break it up(god, that was sore) and it didn't work properly. So after all that I effectively had lots of stones, I was pissing blood for about a month off and on as I passed them:(
06-04-2012, 01:27 PM
Got agree on this one, have had a fractured skull, a few broken bones, torn ligaments and a slipped disc two years ago which I still suffer sciatica from but nothing compares to kidney stones. To make matters worse I couldn't take anesthetic for the shock wave treatment to break it up(god, that was sore) and it didn't work properly. So after all that I effectively had lots of stones, I was pissing blood for about a month off and on as I passed them:(
Never happened to me but is the worst I have heard.
My step brother was playing football a few years ago under 13's or somthing and a lad went in for a slide tackle, upon sliding he dislocated his hip and is sceaming in agony. The teams physio's done the natural thing and 'popped' the leg back inot the socked. Upon doing this the lad then let out a an even louder scream turns out his tecticle got caught in the socket and trapped when the leg was popped back in. even the thought of it brings tears to my eyes.
Another one was my cousin was standing on a window ledge and fell the little hook thing for tying curtains back cought the sack, ripped it open and piecred his testicle, only has one ball now. dont feel to sorry he's a Jambo :faf:
06-04-2012, 02:05 PM
Never happened to me but is the worst I have heard.
My step brother was playing football a few years ago under 13's or somthing and a lad went in for a slide tackle, upon sliding he dislocated his hip and is sceaming in agony. The teams physio's done the natural thing and 'popped' the leg back inot the socked. Upon doing this the lad then let out a an even louder scream turns out his tecticle got caught in the socket and trapped when the leg was popped back in. even the thought of it brings tears to my eyes.
Another one was my cousin was standing on a window ledge and fell the little hook thing for tying curtains back cought the sack, ripped it open and piecred his testicle, only has one ball now. dont feel to sorry he's a Jambo :faf:
Wish I had never read that.
Abbey1875
06-04-2012, 02:20 PM
Definitely when I was playing a game of football and someone kicked my knee with metal studs, never felt pain quite like it in my life!
06-04-2012, 08:50 PM
Getting ma wisdom tooth out ..... ****** agony
06-04-2012, 09:36 PM
The wife. :agree:
KdyHby
06-04-2012, 09:39 PM
Losing my mum, then my dad six months later, still hurts 7 years later. The things I wished I'd said/asked/done with them. Fighting back the tears writing this.
12-04-2012, 01:59 AM
1. Dropped a 2kg wooden box onto my finger nail, literally spewed with the pain.
2. Sciatica, total agony and couldnt walk until osteopath sorted me out
3. Jumped off a fence into long grass and got piece of wood impaled on my foot by a nail which came through top of my foot.
Not to mention, being bitten by a horse,
having a coping stone fall on my head from a garage
breaking my arm
breaking my collarbone
and i wont even mention the mental pain
hey ho........................................
12-04-2012, 09:18 AM
1. Dropped a 2kg wooden box onto my finger nail, literally spewed with the pain.
3. Jumped off a fence into long grass and got piece of wood impaled on my foot by a nail which came through top of my foot.
breaking my arm
breaking my collarbone
Could you tell us where you sit at Easter Road? Just so we know where to avoid going. :greengrin
Sciatica; I get it down my right leg due to a congenital hip dislocation I had corrected when I was young. The sharpest and unforgiving pain I think I've ever felt!
Despite several broken and fractured bones over the years, dislocated shoulder, torn ligaments and hearts surgery, I have to agree that sciatica is by far the worst pain I have ever suffered, and still do. 07 weeks I was off my work with this and I had to force myself back, against doctors orders, before it started to improve.
HibeeSince85
12-04-2012, 12:02 PM
I'm going to add toothache to this as I'm suffering from it just now, it's relentless!
Most interesting injury was when I split my eye lid open after falling from my bike (doing a 'nae hander') onto a kerb
I could see through my eye lid when it was closed and had to get it stitched up.
Most painful was scuba diving when I got ear squeeze, i thought I was jacques Cousteau cos I had done 6 dives previously. I was trying and failing to clear my ears and struggling to keep up with my buddy and the rest of the group. Our dive leader indicated to go deeper and rather than cause a scene, complain and ditch the dive I done what any real man would do and carried on. ****ing idiot!
Not only did it ruin the dive it meant me and my buddy had to pull out the second dive we had paid for. The next day the pain had gone and it was just uncomfortable. I also couldnt hear which I put down to water in my ear.
Rather than go to the doctors in Egypt I decided to wait till I got home which was only 3 days later. Of course this meant flying.
This was the most painful 5 hours I've ever had. It felt like someone had taken a sharp pointed stick and stuck it in my ear, then every few seconds tapped it with a sledge hammer.
Went to the doctors the next day but got sent to the ENT clinic as my ear was too swollen to see into. Had an over night stay and given a strong dose of antibiotics (don't know which). Got my ear sucked dry by some fancy machine and told I had a perforated ear drum.
Idiot!
17-04-2012, 12:04 PM
Despite several broken and fractured bones over the years, dislocated shoulder, torn ligaments and hearts surgery, I have to agree that sciatica is by far the worst pain I have ever suffered, and still do. 07 weeks I was off my work with this and I had to force myself back, against doctors orders, before it started to improve.
Although the sciatica I have experienced is related to the bone structure of my right hip and the subsequent positioning of various muscles, through performing stretches every day I rarely experience sciatic nerve pain any more - and it also helps with my martial arts :wink:.
My piriformis muscle is positioned extremely close to my sciatic nerve so as soon as that muscle gets even a tiny bit inflamed I could be in for weeks of pain.
I know some people have been relieved of thier sciatica through Acupuncture and other forms of Eastern medicine; visiting a Traditional Chinese Medicine or Herbalist type of place may be worth a try...
18-04-2012, 08:33 AM
breaking my arm
breaking my collarbone
If you see a piano being held in mid air by a length of rope don't stand under it or if you see a freshly baked cherry pie cooling on a windowsill just leave it well alone!
Hank Schrader
18-04-2012, 11:15 AM
I am a sciatica sufferer and have had a painful couple of days with it recently. Cocodamol 30/500, ibuprofen and ice packs tend to relieve symptoms.
Unfortunately last year this developed into a full blown herniated disc. That is easily the worst pain I have ever experienced. My right leg was agony for a good five months, constant pain and numbness. Eventually it went away but from January till August I was limping about everywhere. Not fun at all.
Think I am coming to terms with the fact that I am going to always have sciatica and just need to be careful when bending, lifting etc.
18-04-2012, 07:30 PM
I concur.......GOUT....AHRRRGGGHHH
Had it bad on 4 occassions and it's pure agony
I got it once on holiday in Turkey, what a time to get it, completely spoiled holiday
On tablets now ( allopurinol ) and not had a twinge in donkeys :paranoid:
21-04-2012, 01:28 AM
Breaking your teeth is sore, it happened when I was playing football at school. I got tackled from behind and the front four teeth on the top were all chipped in half.
I also suffer from sciatica as a result of a football injury, sometimes the pain is so bad that I can't walk and there was a continuous spell where I was unable to do anything for about 5 weeks. At the time I was only 19 as well, but being 20 now I have learned to cope with it and still playing football to this day.
The worst one though was when I was doing a physics experiment at high school and it was acceleration and deceleration, so we had races to determine average speed or something and it was fastest boy against fastest girl. I wasn't wearing proper trainers as in PE we were playing football on grass so I had my boots and the trainers I was wearing were really loose but I thought **** it and ran anyway. I was absolutely caning the girl and then a shoe slipped off and I hit the ground. Obviously I put my hands out to brace the fall but all of the impact was on my right arm. I blacked out for a few seconds and tried pushing myself up and wailed in pain. I looked at my wrist and it was mangled and the bone was out of the skin. I had to wait over 3 hours to get morphine which dulled the pain slightly and I had to get three operations to fix the damage caused. The bone was 2 and a half inches out of place, heavily fractured and bits of it were shattered and obviously out of my skin. I have a scar on my wrist from the operation to put in a metal plate and also from where the bone pierced the skin.
Still went to Easter Road with all my injuries though, despite having the time off school or university :wink:
24-04-2012, 09:53 AM
Breaking your teeth is sore, it happened when I was playing football at school. I got tackled from behind and the front four teeth on the top were all chipped in half.
I also suffer from sciatica as a result of a football injury, sometimes the pain is so bad that I can't walk and there was a continuous spell where I was unable to do anything for about 5 weeks. At the time I was only 19 as well, but being 20 now I have learned to cope with it and still playing football to this day.
The worst one though was when I was doing a physics experiment at high school and it was acceleration and deceleration, so we had races to determine average speed or something and it was fastest boy against fastest girl. I wasn't wearing proper trainers as in PE we were playing football on grass so I had my boots and the trainers I was wearing were really loose but I thought **** it and ran anyway. I was absolutely caning the girl and then a shoe slipped off and I hit the ground. Obviously I put my hands out to brace the fall but all of the impact was on my right arm. I blacked out for a few seconds and tried pushing myself up and wailed in pain. I looked at my wrist and it was mangled and the bone was out of the skin. I had to wait over 3 hours to get morphine which dulled the pain slightly and I had to get three operations to fix the damage caused. The bone was 2 and a half inches out of place, heavily fractured and bits of it were shattered and obviously out of my skin. I have a scar on my wrist from the operation to put in a metal plate and also from where the bone pierced the skin.
Still went to Easter Road with all my injuries though, despite having the time off school or university :wink:
Macar!!!!!!!
25-04-2012, 01:51 PM
Not having secured a ticket for the cup yet. Hopefully it isnt permanent.
25-04-2012, 03:15 PM
Not having secured a ticket for the cup yet. Hopefully it isnt permanent.
Aye but you live in haarlem/amsterdam mate, at least 'pain relief' is easily available :wink:
26-04-2012, 01:20 PM
Aye but you live in haarlem/amsterdam mate, at least 'pain relief' is easily available :wink:
If only I enjoyed a :cb the sleepless night would be more hazey:greengrin the search goes on
30-05-2014, 08:12 AM
Slapstick pure in the Hiberlin house hold today.
Trapped a nerve in my back playing golf yesterday and whilst emptying the dishwasher I had a spasm of white hot pain shot up my spinal column and I accidentally stabbed myself in the hand with a steak knife. Cue a visit to the ER to get some stitches and pain killers for my back. You gotta laugh!
brian6-2
30-05-2014, 08:22 AM
snapped my achiles tendon when i was 15 playing football. horrible pain, passed out.
hibbymick
30-05-2014, 10:34 PM
Gout is by far the worst pain ive had. Ive also suffered migraines for about 35 years, and get bouts of sciatica. Ive broken my hand twice and every finger on both hands (5 each...for any jambos looking in) , ive had stitches from my head to toe from various daft things over the years , ive had hernia ops, knee op, but nothing came close to the pain of gout. I read an article a few months back ,,,it said in years gone by people with gout thought the grim reaper was on his way.
31-05-2014, 06:10 AM
I managed to shoot myself in the hand with a paslode framing nailgun 10 years ago. Pain was pretty bad even though I was lucky in that it was only really a superficial flesh wound. I went into shock at the moment I had to remove my hand from the end of the nail sticking through the timber I was holding. Then the shame of filling out the accident book in the work office while a load of kiwi builders laughed asking "you did what bro?!" Suffice to say I've never done that again :doh:
31-05-2014, 07:23 PM
Pulled hamstring and fractured patella (kneecap), hamstring was 10 times worse pain wise though.
10-06-2014, 01:49 PM
I was playing football a few years ago and took a shot with my left foot, immediately felt severe pain and just blacked out for a couple of seconds. I couldn't walk, it was ridiculously painful.
When I went to A&E the doctor initially thought I'd fractured my hip (I was only 16/17 ffs!) but it turned out I had torn my hip flexor clean off the hip bone so it was completely detached.
I was in crutches for approximately 8 weeks, it was a nightmare.
10-06-2014, 07:37 PM
I've had a few beauties. A torn medial ligament from egg chasing in my youth and by far the worst was a slipped disc that caused the worst pain in my back and leg. I couldn't walk for weeks and was off work for four months. Timing , however , is of the essence and it happened just as the European championship s in Portugal were starting and also the Athens Olympics so plenty to watch.
yeezus.
10-06-2014, 10:01 PM
I was a keen tree climber when I was wee. I was swinging on a branch that was far too thin and it snapped. I fell from the woods right onto the road and was KO'd and had a broken finger - it really hurt.
Psychically I do quite well in life.
P.S. Locals drove by me... lying on the road.
hhibs
13-06-2014, 06:43 PM
Last Friday, about three hours after the double operation for Hydrocele in both baws,this was when the Ops drugs faded out and reality hit.
Glad to say things have eased considerably but there is still a definite pain in my baws !.
Big regret could not get to the rally on Saturday but would have required stretcher bearers.
11-01-2015, 05:19 PM
Just been reading through this thread again and it's a corker :agree:
Reason for it is a friend of mine recently reminded me of one I ommited from my list of stupid painful ways to injure yourself
No 7) I was at school camp which was held in some boarding school in Dumfries somewhere, lovely old building with huge grounds and gardens, there was this wall about two foot high which led you on to a huge grass lawn, I've run and hurdeled the wall, straight away I know I've made a mistake as the wall is only two foot on one side on the other there is a 10 foot drop to the grass, this in itself would have been sore enough, but I've picked the bit to fly over that has a bench underneath it, I've smashed my shoulder and ribs off the bench and spent the rest of school camp hobbling about with a ****** shoulder and ribs:faf:
11-01-2015, 05:34 PM
I mentioned this on another thread at the time but the worst pain I've ever experienced by miles was when I was on a plane in October last year, which was coming into land at Paphos. About 15 minutes before the plane was due to land, it obviously started to descend quite rapidly.
All of a sudden a pain on an unimaginable scale spread across my head and into my jaw and pretty much across the whole of my face. The worst of the pain lasted for about 5-10 minutes and I was almost in tears.
The pain quickly reduced but I was still feeling it about half an hour later as I entered the airport before it left completely shortly afterwards.
I wouldn't wish it on anyone.
11-01-2015, 07:43 PM
I tore my lumber muscles in my back playing fives few years ago. That was horrible, they would spasm relentlessly for awhile and the pain was unbelievable.
11-01-2015, 11:47 PM
Rupturing my Achillies tendon was bad. Was in cast for 10 weeks, had the cast off for a fortnight and snapped it again hence an op and another 10 weeks in a cast!!
However for serious pain..... Was playing against Edinburgh Uni and literally 30 seconds into the game went up to challenge there big centre half for a header, he clattered me with his elbow,(deliberately), and shattered my Jaw. My chin split in two and part of it burst through the back of my bottom teeth under my tongue. It also severed a main nerve which left me with no feeling in the right side of my chin. There were 6 fractures but that was the major one. 4 operations and countless visits to the dentist after I recovered. Needless to say I cringe when I see players swinging elbows into fellow pros faces. Nae need!!!
12-01-2015, 12:38 PM
Numerous 3 degree burns. Part and parcel of being a chef!
12-01-2015, 06:19 PM
Rupturing my Achillies tendon was bad. Was in cast for 10 weeks, had the cast off for a fortnight and snapped it again hence an op and another 10 weeks in a cast!!
However for serious pain..... Was playing against Edinburgh Uni and literally 30 seconds into the game went up to challenge there big centre half for a header, he clattered me with his elbow,(deliberately), and shattered my Jaw. My chin split in two and part of it burst through the back of my bottom teeth under my tongue. It also severed a main nerve which left me with no feeling in the right side of my chin. There were 6 fractures but that was the major one. 4 operations and countless visits to the dentist after I recovered. Needless to say I cringe when I see players swinging elbows into fellow pros faces. Nae need!!!
Ooh ya ******! That sounds horrendous.
12-01-2015, 07:20 PM
Left thumb through a bandsaw in 2nd year woodwork. Circa 1981.
Still painful when it is cold.
over the line
12-01-2015, 08:48 PM
Either being stabbed in the eyeball (no time to blink!) by my little lad, whilst playing sword fights with wooden swords. Couldn't see, or sleep properly for three days, and had mad shooting pains from my eyeball to the back of my skull! Prob should have gone the hospital, but we were on our hols and I couldn't be bothered with it all.
Or three days after my vacectomy, when I spent the day feeling like someone was stood on my right testicle! That was quite uncomfortable really!
12-01-2015, 11:00 PM
Ooh ya ******! That sounds horrendous.
When it happened our wee sponge man, (who was about 70), ran on to take charge of the situation obviously not knowing the damage. I had both hands round my jaw pretty much holding it together. He realised the distress I was in and mistakingly thought I had swallowed my tongue, which I know is impossible to do before anyone says!! He then proceeded to prise my mouth apart to "help" which is the point I passed out from the pain..... Just a horrible injury. Could explain how the surgeon put it back together but it's ****** gruesome!! :greengrin
13-01-2015, 05:40 PM
Have a mate who left an eyeball on a barbed wire fence on the Falklands.
patch1875
13-01-2015, 08:02 PM
Going to stop reading this thread.
13-01-2015, 08:48 PM
Has anyone ever had a pilonidal sinus?
13-01-2015, 11:18 PM
Have a mate who left an eyeball on a barbed wire fence on the Falklands.
Well I think we've found a winner!!! :cup:
13-01-2015, 11:27 PM
I fractured my skull when i was 5. 3 operations later and i'm fine :cb
hibbymick
14-01-2015, 08:29 AM
I played against former Hibby mark Fulton years ago when he played with Livingston coppers. We played them twice in a fortnight, first game the two of us went up for a header and he swung his arm and gave me a black eye. Went out to play them the following week thinking I'm gonna have this bas...d. After about fifteen minutes a high ball gets played and I'm thinking here goes,,,,,,, I've taken a good run at it ,,,threw myself at the ball/ his face and my nose landed flush wi the side of his head. Resulting in a broken nose for me and him walking away like nothing happened :greengrin
micka_weer
14-01-2015, 05:42 PM
Osteo arthritis in both hips (&now possibly knees) had it for years on waiting list for new hip @ the tender age of 40. Had sciatica in my 20's on & off, remember projectile vomiting with the pain! Just out of hospital after an gastric & intestinal virus gave me all the symptoms of a heart attack, that was a different type of pain coupled with the thought of, "oh ****! I'm gonny die!" :-) thankfully fine though
14-01-2015, 07:13 PM
I played against former Hibby mark Fulton years ago when he played with Livingston coppers. We played them twice in a fortnight, first game the two of us went up for a header and he swung his arm and gave me a black eye. Went out to play them the following week thinking I'm gonna have this bas...d. After about fifteen minutes a high ball gets played and I'm thinking here goes,,,,,,, I've taken a good run at it ,,,threw myself at the ball/ his face and my nose landed flush wi the side of his head. Resulting in a broken nose for me and him walking away like nothing happened :greengrin
I did mean to ask you why your nose was that shape?
hibbymick
14-01-2015, 09:29 PM
I did mean to ask you why your nose was that shape?
:na na::na na:
14-01-2015, 09:44 PM
:na na::na na:
14-01-2015, 09:47 PM
I fractured my skull when i was 5. 3 operations later and i'm fine :cb
No you're not. :greengrin
15-01-2015, 07:08 PM
Playing football with a sponge ball with my 5 year old in the loaby a couple of hours ago, trying to teach him to follow through with his foot after kicking the ball and he's getting the hang of it, ball bounces right in front of me, he takes an epic, hate filled run up, cracks the ball and follows through right into my bollocks. That was about 2 hours ago and I'm still in a right state. I've opened a bottle of wine to try and get semi-pished to try and help with that undescribable pain.
I've never seen him laugh so much, I think the wee ****** had this planned.
16-01-2015, 02:53 PM
No you're not. :greengrin
Cheeky *******. :tee hee: :greengrin
When i had my accident i was hit with an golf club and i've got a metal plate in my head for the rest of my life.
16-01-2015, 03:02 PM
Playing football with a sponge ball with my 5 year old in the loaby a couple of hours ago, trying to teach him to follow through with his foot after kicking the ball and he's getting the hang of it, ball bounces right in front of me, he takes an epic, hate filled run up, cracks the ball and follows through right into my bollocks. That was about 2 hours ago and I'm still in a right state. I've opened a bottle of wine to try and get semi-pished to try and help with that undescribable pain.
I've never seen him laugh so much, I think the wee ****** had this planned.
:faf::faf:
16-01-2015, 10:17 PM
Does mental pain and anguish count?
over the line
16-01-2015, 10:55 PM
Does mental pain and anguish count?
Would that be roughly 90 mins of mental pain and anguish on most Saturday afternoons, that you are talking about?
19-01-2015, 06:10 PM
Broken ankles, both of them. Not at the same time though. Bloody agony!!
Calum68
19-01-2015, 06:32 PM
Hunger pains waiting to get served my pie and bovril in the FF. at half time
22-01-2015, 07:22 PM
Sinus headaches, been in agony the last few weeks with these. Never suffer from bad head pain, never experienced pain like this though. Wouldn't wish it on anybody.
22-01-2015, 07:47 PM
Once caught the skin of my tadger in the zip of my jeans, still wince at the memory of it.
25-01-2015, 12:47 PM
Once caught the skin of my tadger in the zip of my jeans, still wince at the memory of it.
Did similar once. Agony. Only thing that has come close was an ankle injury playing football once. The pain made me vomit. That was actually far worse than when I dislocated my ankle also playing football.
25-01-2015, 08:58 PM
Broken ribs and dental damage after being duffed up by a bunch of yobs. The ribs took weeks to heal, as they do. Some nights I couldn't lie in bed for the agony. No painkillers could help.
PercyHibs
26-01-2015, 10:58 AM
ive had loads of injurys from playing rugby including many broken bones but easily the sorest was when i cut the tip off my finger right through the nerves. just typing it makes me feel sick.
26-01-2015, 11:18 AM
ive had loads of injurys from playing rugby including many broken bones but easily the sorest was when i cut the tip off my finger right through the nerves. just typing it makes me feel sick.
Don't press so hard then. :greengrin
26-01-2015, 08:28 PM
PercyHibs
30-01-2015, 04:44 PM
:taxi