View Full Version : Attendances

10-02-2012, 08:12 PM
What's the biggest crowd you've ever been in at a match?

Mine is 106,102 at Hampden when Hibs lost to Celtic in the Scottish Cup Final in 1972

Some crowd and never likely to be repeated or exceeded in Scotland

10-02-2012, 08:13 PM
52000 Hibs v Killie 18/03/2007 - i think we won :wink:

10-02-2012, 08:19 PM

Mine is 106,102 at Hampden when Hibs lost to Celtic in the Scottish Cup Final in 1972

Mine too John.:agree:

10-02-2012, 08:21 PM
Whatever the crowd was at the Clasico match I was at a few years ago. Barca won 2-0 at the Nou Camp.

10-02-2012, 08:24 PM
Went to a Barca vs Sporting Gijon in 2009 - attendance was 69,341

10-02-2012, 08:32 PM
Scotland[3] v Spain[1] 1984 Hampden 73,000

10-02-2012, 08:33 PM
Could be;

Kilmarnock v Hibs (League Cup final)
Celtic v Hibs (Scottish Cup final)
Livingston v Hibs (League Cup final)
Celtic v Hibs (League game in 2010)

Probably all around the 50,000 mark but not sure which one comes out on top.

10-02-2012, 08:34 PM
88,335 Pompey v Chelski FA cup final 2010

Largest attendance while watching the Hibs must be around 60K at Parkhead

Hail Hail

10-02-2012, 08:41 PM
Carling cup final last year guess around 90,000 ish there.

JON6207
10-02-2012, 08:42 PM
69000 bayern[1] v mainz[2] in 2010

tanfield
10-02-2012, 08:46 PM
75,000 - Scotland v England, c. 1989

Feed McGraw
10-02-2012, 08:59 PM

Was there too Jonny, getting pelted with all sorts from the rafters innaw. Was at a bigger crowd very soon after though, Scotland v. England 134,000 at least, as there was some kind of ticketing scam that year and supposedly even more than that got in !

I could be getting mixed up with the " getting pelted " bit with the league cup final at the end of that year , but we probably got pelted at both anyway.

10-02-2012, 09:00 PM
Hibs Celtic game at Parkhead May 08, think they were presented with the league trophy that day so around 60K.

10-02-2012, 09:00 PM
133,245 11 April 1964 Hampden Park England BHC 1–0

Alan Gilzean scored in 78th minute
Got two " freebies" for the game :greengrin

killie-hibby
10-02-2012, 09:10 PM
133,245 11 April 1964 Hampden Park England BHC 1–0

Alan Gilzean scored in 78th minute
Got two " freebies" for the game :greengrin

Ditto, but without freebies.

10-02-2012, 09:11 PM
137,438 Hampden Scotland v England 0-0 (1970) Forged tickets incresed the gate by thousands.
Colin Stein brought down in the box - stonewaller, not given. Grrrrrr

10-02-2012, 09:18 PM
137,438 Hampden Scotland v England 0-0 (1970) Forged tickets incresed the gate by thousands.
Colin Stein brought down in the box - stonewaller, not given. Grrrrrr

Can't see anyone beating that so you will win the chocolate watch :greengrin:thumbsup:

Seanair
10-02-2012, 09:21 PM
1960. Scotland v England at Hampden. 1-1. Attendance 129,193

Joe Baker playing for England!:grr:

10-02-2012, 09:28 PM
I was in the crowd at both the Hibs v Celtic and the Scotland v England games at Hampden, that are both mentioned in earlier posts.

Two very large crowds which i never felt were frightening nor threatening, despite the missiles being thrown in our direction.

I also remember standing on the traditional "carri oot" at old Wembley during England v Scotland games when crowds were well in the excess off 100,000.

These games people remember not only for the results, good or bad, but also for the masses on the terracings, getting knocked about during the goal celebrations and getting carried back and forward with the sway of the crowd.

These memories live on and no matter what, you dont forget them!

bruno
10-02-2012, 09:30 PM
Can't see anyone beating that so you will win the chocolate watch :greengrin:thumbsup:
400,000 for first home game of the season versus st mirren when all fans were asked to attend by our great leader. After that liverpool everton cup final 86 official attendance 98000 battlt attendance much higher we were some of many to have bought tickets which turned out to be forgeries and just to prove lessons were not being learnt re crowd safety we were allowed in with as were many others without tickets.

10-02-2012, 09:31 PM

At the same match, but just after 119,325 in the same month & venue for the England match, although the unofficial attendance figures at the Wembley auld enemy clash's during the seventies, would have been about the same.

What was the size of the Hibs support J?

10-02-2012, 09:34 PM
Was there too Jonny, getting pelted with all sorts from the rafters innaw. Was at a bigger crowd very soon after though, Scotland v. England 134,000 at least, as there was some kind of ticketing scam that year and supposedly even more than that got in !

I could be getting mixed up with the " getting pelted " bit with the league cup final at the end of that year , but we probably got pelted at both anyway.

I was at that game was well & thought always thought it was 139,000, but its only down as being just under 120,000.

10-02-2012, 09:37 PM
106,000 v sellick 1972 SC final, followed by 71,500 v sellick again a few months later for the LC final :agree:

10-02-2012, 09:43 PM
87,695, Wembley May 2011 for the Barça humiliation of man utd.
Biggest Hibs crowd circa 50k Hampden/ ibrox (last time I was at parkhead for a celtc game was way before they realised they were the best fans on the planet-so the feeble 22/23k disnae count).
Future biggest? I'm of to the Barcelona Derby at the beginning of May. Should be 95k +
And of course I'll be at the 250k+ crowd for the Hibs Scottish cup parade........

HibeeDave
10-02-2012, 09:46 PM
65,204, Hampden, Scotland v France 1989

10-02-2012, 09:59 PM

Me too. :agree: Followed closely by Scotland v Czechoslovakia in 1973 when we qualified for the World Cup. Attendance 100K.

down the slope
10-02-2012, 10:01 PM

I was at that game as well, pretty hairy at times but lived to tell the tail , biggest crowd i was in at ER was against Celtic about the same time, i think it was about 55,000 or so but it felt like more !. By the way the European record for a club match outwith a final is Rangers vs Hibs in 1948 cup semi-final with a crowd of 143.000 !.

10-02-2012, 10:03 PM
Could be;

Kilmarnock v Hibs (League Cup final)
Celtic v Hibs (Scottish Cup final)
Livingston v Hibs (League Cup final)
Celtic v Hibs (League game in 2010)

Probably all around the 50,000 mark but not sure which one comes out on top.

You missed out Old Trafford which holds nearly 80K. :tin hat:

The_Sauz
10-02-2012, 10:04 PM

Same here :boo hoo:

10-02-2012, 10:06 PM
Celtic 6-0 Hibs. 60,000 there that day

10-02-2012, 10:13 PM
106,000 v sellick 1972 SC final, followed by 71,500 v sellick again a few months later for the LC final :agree:

Ditto.

Plus six or seven Hampden/ Wembley Internationals in the 70's.

10-02-2012, 10:18 PM

Probably c50,000 J. Where are they all now I wonder

10-02-2012, 11:03 PM

I was about 5' 9" at the time but it ranged from about 2' 9" to 6' 5".

Lost_Mackem
10-02-2012, 11:09 PM
48,000 at the Stadium of Light V Liverpool.

10-02-2012, 11:13 PM
75,332. Old Trafford Manchester derby. Man utd won 2-1 with Rooney scoring that wonderful over head kick to win it.

10-02-2012, 11:21 PM
79,000 Inter v AC Milan CL 1/4 final 2005, match was abandoned after about 75mins.

11-02-2012, 12:06 AM
75k at Old Trafford last season against Wigan.
It was Rooney's return after the will he stay or go fiasco and his injury. :greengrin
We were in the Strettford Road end and the booing was phenomenal when he came on as a sub! :agree:

11-02-2012, 12:07 AM
Ditto.

Plus 4 six or seven Hampden/ Wembley Internationals in the 70's.

did you see me on my dads shoulders at the first final :greengrin

LeithBoozy
11-02-2012, 12:15 AM
I was not at it, but Hibs and Rangers played in front of 143,570 at hampden= Feb 1948. It is a European record for a domestic semi-final that still stands to this day. So the Hibs and Gers hold a crowd record over the top Spanish, Italian, English or any other top European teams.:greengrin

heartbreaker
11-02-2012, 01:03 AM
81,000 at the All Ireland Gaelic Football Championship semi final in 2007 between Dublin and Mayo in Croke park. Marvellous game and great occasion.

NYHibby
11-02-2012, 08:29 AM
110,000 at Penn State football games in the 2000s.

I think this is the highest anyone has posted here for the 21st century.

BurghHibby
11-02-2012, 08:53 AM

Mine too:flag:

11-02-2012, 09:41 AM
Was at Scotland England game at Wembley in 88 and there were 70,000 or so thousand at that game.

I have also been to new Wembley when there were 95,000 .... However that was to see the Foo Fighters. (don't think that counts ??)

11-02-2012, 09:42 AM
75,000 - Scotland v England, c. 1989

Forgot bout that one. Were the English fans not fighting amongst themselves that day??

11-02-2012, 09:59 AM
85,513 World Cup play off (Australia v Iran), 1997, Melbourne Cricket Ground.
A good few Aussie based Hibs fans were at this one as I met up with them before the game
Didn't see as many of them after the game unfortunately as they were gutted.

Also, 80700 at Dortmund away last season and 75k for 2011 German Cup final in Berlin.

I doubt 100k+ will be done now!

11-02-2012, 10:05 AM
I didn't get to the 72 final but was at the Saturday Semi vs Rangers. No idea the size of the crowd but it felt huge.

One for the stattos but I reckon the biggest crowd I've been in a ER was the Leeds Game in the UEFA Cup 74/75. Never seem the gound so packed before or since, but my first game in in Sept 70 so the previous Euro nights couls easily be bigger crowds.

11-02-2012, 10:08 AM
I was at that game was well & thought always thought it was 139,000, but its only down as being just under 120,000.

Thats what I remember too.

Awful game - for what I could see of it - think it was Brian Labone who halved Stein in the box - no penalty.

Does anyone remember the rain after the 6-1 defeat V Celtic in 1972? Stair-rods which were actually painful to be caught in. Got back to the bus thinking this was what God thought of the result..........,

Terrible, terrible day.

:boo hoo:

11-02-2012, 10:36 AM
I didn't get to the 72 final but was at the Saturday Semi vs Rangers. No idea the size of the crowd but it felt huge.

One for the stattos but I reckon the biggest crowd I've been in a ER was the Leeds Game in the UEFA Cup 74/75. Never seem the gound so packed before or since, but my first game in in Sept 70 so the previous Euro nights couls easily be bigger crowds.

36,000 according to ihibs, which is a fantastic resource. :thumbsup:

11-02-2012, 10:51 AM
80000 for Scotland v England 1982. 0-1 with a Mariner goal. I have never heard a crowd go quieter than when that goal went in. Only England fans were the players, officials and the old boy who dressed in a St George's Cross suit as some kind of mascot.

Does 250K for the Pope's visit in 1982 count :tin hat:

11-02-2012, 11:08 AM

I was at the Cup replay v the Huns that had a bigger crowd than that IIRC.

11-02-2012, 11:11 AM
Found it;

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=3271

stu in nottingham
11-02-2012, 11:46 AM
Probably England v Scotland at Wembley 1967 which would have been around the 100,000 mark.
http://www.ufwc.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2009/02/baxter_colour.jpg

My old man went to the Scotland v England game in 1937 which had a recorded attendance of 149,547. He reckoned about ten thousand climbed over the wall too!

11-02-2012, 12:33 PM
I was at the Cup replay v the Huns that had a bigger crowd than that IIRC.

So was I but couldn't get in. Massive crowd that night.

11-02-2012, 12:46 PM
52000 Hibs v Killie 18/03/2007 - i think we won :wink:

Hmm, I'm not sure which game you are referring to, I think we may need video evidence of this.....

11-02-2012, 01:30 PM
72,634 - Bolton vs Middlesbrough, Carling Cup Final 2004 at the Millennium Stadium

11-02-2012, 01:53 PM
Probably c50,000 J. Where are they all now I wonder

Where were they all in 79 in the final? You were lucky if there were 50,000 Hibees AND Huns at that game.

11-02-2012, 02:00 PM
92,000 England v Scotland 1983 This was a midweek game, hence the below 100k attendance.

I remember thinking how overrated Wembley stadium was as an experience for the ordinary fan. It was a big occasion, so worth the visit, but standing halfway up the lower half of the terracing, roughly 70 yards behind the nearest goals, we could hardly see the pitch as the terracing was so shallow and there were giant advertising hoardings in the way.

I'm sure it was a lovely view from the royal box though.

11-02-2012, 02:00 PM
36,000 according to ihibs, which is a fantastic resource. :thumbsup:

Hibs sold their allocation of 50,000 tickets.

Hillsidehibby
11-02-2012, 02:02 PM
At the same match, but just after 119,325 in the same month & venue for the England match, although the unofficial attendance figures at the Wembley auld enemy clash's during the seventies, would have been about the same.

Ditto

Septimus
11-02-2012, 02:40 PM
117000 at the Coronation Cup Final 1953.

11-02-2012, 02:58 PM

Same for me, absolutely rammed full Hampden was and you just got to stand on p*ss strewn mud wedeged berween what looked like railway sleepers. Terrible result but never will forget the experience.

11-02-2012, 03:18 PM
My personal biggest was the Gary Mackay testimonial, May 1991, v Everton. I was privileged to be part of that 400,000 crowd at the PBS to give 'one of their own' the tribute he deserved.

11-02-2012, 03:23 PM
stop it boab, yer killin mae

11-02-2012, 03:35 PM
92,000 England v Scotland 1983 This was a midweek game, hence the below 100k attendance.

I remember thinking how overrated Wembley stadium was as an experience for the ordinary fan. It was a big occasion, so worth the visit, but standing halfway up the lower half of the terracing, roughly 70 yards behind the nearest goals, we could hardly see the pitch as the terracing was so shallow and there were giant advertising hoardings in the way.

I'm sure it was a lovely view from the royal box though.
That was my first visit to Wembley and I was behind the goals. Terrible place to try and watch a game.

11-02-2012, 04:13 PM
120,000 at Hampden Scotland 2 v 1 England in 1974. Emlyn Hughes had to screw his socks back on after Jimmy Johnson turned him inside out all afternoon.

98,000 at Wembley Scotland 2 v 1 England. Didn't know he was going and we got our tickets from competely different sources but sat down right next to my brother. Unbelievable. Came home with a piece of the park from the celebration that later became wrongly depicted as a riot.

117,000 at Murryfield - Scotland v Wales, I thnk it was 1975 but I guess that doesn't count

Purple & Green
13-02-2012, 08:03 AM
Just a couple of adds:

There's been 63 25K attendances at ER since 1960 - for Hibs games at least.

The top 10 and selected others are:

1) 1/1/1960 Scottish League Heart of Midlothian 1-5 54000
2) 28/2/1973 Scottish Cup Rangers 1-2 49007
3) 23/2/1974 Scottish League Celtic 2-4 48554
4) 6/3/1965 Scottish Cup Rangers 2-1 47363
5) 28/4/1973 Scottish League Celtic 0-3 45443
6) 22/2/1961 Europe Barcelona 3-2 45000
7) 8/10/1966 Scottish League Celtic 3-5 43526
8) 30/1/1965 Scottish League Rangers 1-0 43499
9) 17/1/1970 Scottish League Celtic 1-2 40839
10) 9/10/1971 Scottish League Celtic 0-1 40671
50) 4/1/1989 Scottish League Heart of Midlothian 1-0 27219
60) 12/10/1988 Scottish League Rangers 0-1 25692
63) 18/8/1976 League Cup Rangers 1-1 25050

The 63rd game on the list is significant after several years of consistent crowds of over 25K that was the last one until the two in 88 & 89. There's a very obvious event that seems to have triggered the end of the era of 25K crowds - the selling of Pat Stanton in September 76.

Purple & Green
13-02-2012, 08:30 AM
And the top 20 attendances at Neutral grounds since the war:

1) 27/3/1948 Scottish Cup Semi Final v Rangers L 0-1 142070
2) 22/3/1947 League Cup Semi Final v Rangers L 1-3 123654
3) 20/5/1953 Coronation Cup Final v Celtic L 0-2 117000
4) 6/5/1972 Scottish Cup Final v Celtic L 1-6 105909
5) 26/4/1958 Scottish Cup Final v Clyde L 0-1 95123
6) 19/4/1947 Scottish Cup Final v Aberdeen L 1-2 80640
7) 5/4/1958 Scottish Cup Semi Final v Rangers D 2-2 76727
8) 15/4/1972 Scottish Cup Semi Final v Rangers D 1-1 76174
9) 9/4/1958 Scottish Cup Semi Final v Rangers W 2-1 74895
10) 5/4/1969 League Cup Final v Celtic L 2-6 74253
11) 9/12/1972 League Cup Final v Celtic W 2-1 71696
12) 31/3/1971 Scottish Cup Semi Final v Rangers D 0-0 69370
13) 28/10/1950 League Cup Final v Motherwell L 0-3 63181
14) 24/4/1972 Scottish Cup Semi Final v Rangers W 2-0 57645
15) 5/4/1971 Scottish Cup Semi Final v Rangers L 1-2 54435
16) 26/10/1974 League Cup Final v Celtic L 3-6 53838
17) 12/5/1979 Scottish Cup Final v Rangers D 0-0 53615
18) 2/10/1950 League Cup Quarter Final v Aberdeen D 1-1 52000
19) 18/3/2007 League Cup Final v Kilmarnock W 5-1 52000
20) 26/5/2001 Scottish Cup Final v Celtic L 0-3 51284

13-02-2012, 03:34 PM
San Diego Chargers @ New Orlean Saints - Wembley Stadium - 83,226

Does that count? or does it have to be the fitba that pussies play? :greengrin In which case probably the League Cup Final against Killie.

NYHibby
13-02-2012, 04:00 PM
San Diego Chargers @ New Orlean Saints - Wembley Stadium - 83,226

Does that count? or does it have to be the fitba that pussies play? :greengrin In which case probably the League Cup Final against Killie.

It counts. I listed my 110,000 Penn State football games on the other page.

13-02-2012, 04:57 PM
Just a couple of adds:

There's been 63 25K attendances at ER since 1960 - for Hibs games at least.

The top 10 and selected others are:

1) 1/1/1960 Scottish League Heart of Midlothian 1-5 54000
2) 28/2/1973 Scottish Cup Rangers 1-2 49007
3) 23/2/1974 Scottish League Celtic 2-4 48554
4) 6/3/1965 Scottish Cup Rangers 2-1 47363
5) 28/4/1973 Scottish League Celtic 0-3 45443
6) 22/2/1961 Europe Barcelona 3-2 45000
7) 8/10/1966 Scottish League Celtic 3-5 43526
8) 30/1/1965 Scottish League Rangers 1-0 43499
9) 17/1/1970 Scottish League Celtic 1-2 40839
10) 9/10/1971 Scottish League Celtic 0-1 40671
50) 4/1/1989 Scottish League Heart of Midlothian 1-0 27219
60) 12/10/1988 Scottish League Rangers 0-1 25692
63) 18/8/1976 League Cup Rangers 1-1 25050

The 63rd game on the list is significant after several years of consistent crowds of over 25K that was the last one until the two in 88 & 89. There's a very obvious event that seems to have triggered the end of the era of 25K crowds - the selling of Pat Stanton in September 76.

Bobby, would you have a crowd figure for the 1974 game against Juventus? I had it in my mind it was over 30k? I'm probably wrong though!

son of haggart
13-02-2012, 05:25 PM
05 May 1973
Attendance

The Scottish Cup Final

Rangers 3 Celtic 2 is probably mine ( I say probably as I went to a few Scotland games around that time, and also to Real against Atletico)

The 73' game was a memorable game as I nearly died during it.

Kenny Dalglish scored a wonderful goal and I made the sound of two hands clapping once in an otherwise entirely silent Rangers end.....

I only survived by throwing myself to the floor and staying there for a minute or two.

Purple & Green
13-02-2012, 06:02 PM
Bobby, would you have a crowd figure for the 1974 game against Juventus? I had it in my mind it was over 30k? I'm probably wrong though!

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=3361

28,963 - but, it's entirely possible it was reported as over 30k at the time.

13-02-2012, 11:51 PM
Scotland 2 Sweden 0 1981 - 81,511

http://www.scottishfa.co.uk/international_fixture_details.cfm?page=32&matchID=57589