View Full Version : 1948 Hibs film on Scottish Screen Archive

09-02-2012, 12:22 AM
Stumbled across this fascinating film - shows trams, the first rebuild of ER, Harry Swan, Gordon Smith, natty green and white quarter strips among others. Sorry the SSA doesn't appear to allow it to be embedded - but enjoy!

http://ssa.nls.uk/film.cfm?fid=8528

Brebners Bookie
09-02-2012, 12:46 AM
That's quality. Good find! :Awright!:

cheltenhamhibee
09-02-2012, 01:05 AM
Gordon Smiths 3 in Easter Road orgy !!! no a headline you would read about Steve Fulton :greengrin

09-02-2012, 01:36 AM
absolutely superb :agree: i'm sure the john paterson that's in the players training bit was craig patersons auld man

hibbymac
09-02-2012, 09:09 AM
Superb stuff, ref's with their shirts and tweed jackets on, "cheerleader" display, players posing for the camera ( just what sky do now :green grin ), no much changed really, :wink:

scuttle
09-02-2012, 09:27 AM
Enjoyed that cheers

09-02-2012, 09:31 AM
What a fantastic find, well done to OP, a point to ponder, one, crowd at ER didn't look very responsive when Hibs ran out or scored the goals, :confused:

Great to see Albion Road has not really changed all that much and that flag at the end was superb.

09-02-2012, 10:18 AM
Is it the silent one with either Swan or McCartney that's been posted on here before? You can see the big East terracing being built during the shots of the training at Easter Road IIRC.

09-02-2012, 10:20 AM
Thread hijack alert! :wink:

Some weel kent faces on this...

http://ssa.nls.uk/film.cfm?fid=8529

09-02-2012, 10:25 AM
When the guy holds the programme up it says "Hibernian V St Mirren, 3D".

I put my red/blue glasses on and it isn't in 3D at all, just normal.

haggisbaws
09-02-2012, 10:56 AM
What an excellent post ty for sharing it
:hibees:hibees:sofa:

09-02-2012, 11:20 AM
When the guy holds the programme up it says "Hibernian V St Mirren, 3D".

I put my red/blue glasses on and it isn't in 3D at all, just normal.

Still a great film though.

09-02-2012, 11:22 AM

Still a great film though.

'Tis.

"Vivid" is the word I'd use.

09-02-2012, 11:37 AM
Spine-tingling. Just superb.:flag::flag:

09-02-2012, 12:04 PM
Both films just magic!!! Thanks for that. Vividly remember most of the second one.:thumbsup:

big-mo
09-02-2012, 12:18 PM
So that is what trams will look like when they arrive. Interesting to see 'Shaw's Hights' getting built.

Just for info that St Mirren game ended 5-0 to Hibs.

N.Wales Hibby
09-02-2012, 12:50 PM
Both films just magic!!! Thanks for that. Vividly remember most of the second one.:thumbsup:
Second that.. Thanks guy's..

09-02-2012, 12:59 PM
Nae matter how many times I watch that HOH rally I start welling up ....:boo hoo:

09-02-2012, 01:17 PM
So that is what trams will look like when they arrive. Interesting to see 'Shaw's Hights' getting built.

Just for info that St Mirren game ended 5-0 to Hibs.

Naw. Thae trams worked. :wink:

Two cracking films - lots of fond memories.

09-02-2012, 01:32 PM
Stumbled across this fascinating film - shows trams, the first rebuild of ER, Harry Swan, Gordon Smith, natty green and white quarter strips among others. Sorry the SSA doesn't appear to allow it to be embedded - but enjoy!

Fantastic! Thanks very much.

francobaresi
09-02-2012, 01:35 PM
08:03 we need to instil some of this unarmed combat on todays players... Toughen them up a bit you know... GGTTH

xyz23jc
09-02-2012, 07:04 PM
Excellent! Really enjoyed seeing that. Easter rd, in a new light! Brill!:flag:

09-02-2012, 07:11 PM
Marvellous.

Prompted me to register with the NLS, so ta for that too.

Hibs.net, broadening the mind!

09-02-2012, 08:23 PM
Thread hijack alert! :wink:

Some weel kent faces on this...

http://ssa.nls.uk/film.cfm?fid=8529

Laughter, tears and a lot of happy memories for me

Thanks 0762 :thumbsup:

Ferryhibby
09-02-2012, 08:26 PM
A pal of mine is seeing Boby Combes daughter, ive sent him the link and hel have to sit thru it with her to see him....hes a jambo...makes it all the better...what a cracking film...no goal celebrations its almost as if they were expecting to score..great stuff

09-02-2012, 08:50 PM
Thanks for that. Superb. :thumbsup:

10-02-2012, 08:18 AM
Fricken fabby......we should have a hibs movie sticky for all these old clips

10-02-2012, 10:14 PM
Loved that ..... ye gods, half the guys in the old film looked like they could do with a good feed, but having said that they looked like they could give you a good hammering as well. Fantastic bit of film and made me nostalgic for an era I wasnt even alive in.

Brilliant !!!

11-02-2012, 01:15 AM
Well that was my "early" night ****ed, what with that and the Stanton tribute!
Brilliant stuff, even spotted a few mates in the HoH footage....., thanks. :greengrin

11-02-2012, 02:48 PM
Excellent Stuff!! :thumbsup:

13-02-2012, 06:54 PM

Great stuff!! Interesting that shorts now are back at same length as in those days after I grew up watching the Hibees with the short shorts & compulsory mullets!!

Sloop
13-02-2012, 09:16 PM
Aw man !

Tears in my eyes and the hairs on the back of my neck standing up after watching those two "films".

Marvelous.