View Full Version : dunfermline v kilmarnock (tonight)

DanHFC1875
07-02-2012, 07:48 AM
We really need killie to do us a favour tonight, so we can do ourselves a favour on sat.
Predictions for result?

Also, will be interesting to see how we line up at the back on sat?!

07-02-2012, 08:23 AM
Looking at their fixtures, Dunfermline have a chance of picking up some points in the next couple of weeks. So it's vital we take all three points against Aberdeen on Saturday.

Not sure how we'll line up. I suppose Doherty will need to move into centre half because bringing O'Hanlon in is just asking for trouble.

07-02-2012, 08:56 AM
why are they playing tonight ...and hearts v celtic tomorrow?

Are these games that were called off in the past; like our game at Motherwell?

By the time we kick off on Sat, we could have 2 games in hand and still be above them... (assuming they draw at best tonight and lose against Rangers).... on the other hand if they win tonight we're going to be under real pressure to win on Sat.
If we had the same back 5 playing we could be a little optimistic, but with 2 CH both out, it's a bit worrying.

c'mon Killie!

pentlando
07-02-2012, 09:12 AM
why are they playing tonight ...and hearts v celtic tomorrow?

Are these games that were called off in the past; like our game at Motherwell?

By the time we kick off on Sat, we could have 2 games in hand and still be above them... (assuming they draw at best tonight and lose against Rangers).... on the other hand if they win tonight we're going to be under real pressure to win on Sat.
If we had the same back 5 playing we could be a little optimistic, but with 2 CH both out, it's a bit worrying.

c'mon Killie!

I'm sure it's the games that were postponed over the league cup semi final weekend.

07-02-2012, 09:46 AM
I'd love to see Killie get pumped just to piss off that moaning erse Kenny Shiels.

But Hibs need Dunfermilne to lose so I'll be willing Kilmarnock on tonight.

07-02-2012, 09:58 AM
The Pars v Killie game was the one called off by the ref for mist at 1.30 only for it to be clear as a bell at 3pm. :faf:

HibeeMG
07-02-2012, 10:12 AM
I'm actually going to this game as my mate is a Pars ST holder.

I see them as my (very distant) 2nd team. Tonight though, I'll be in two minds as to how enthusiastically I'll be supporting them.

I'd love it if we both stayed up but I can't see that happening.

07-02-2012, 11:52 AM
I'm going for a Pars win 2-1, which has the benefit of putting us in rock bottom spot, thus making our inevitable surge up the table and to cup glory seem all the more impressive.

07-02-2012, 11:56 AM
One of my friends is a Pars Director and he thinks they are now in better shape. Added a few players during the window and have a more reliable goalie, and their centre half has returned to the team from injury.
I think if Hibs and Dunfermline can go on a wee run, it will drag a few other teams like Inverness and St Mirren into the dogfight

07-02-2012, 12:12 PM
One of my friends is a Pars Director and he thinks they are now in better shape. Added a few players during the window and have a more reliable goalie, and their centre half has returned to the team from injury.
I think if Hibs and Dunfermline can go on a wee run, it will drag a few other teams like Inverness and St Mirren into the dogfight

Aberdeen are in 6th place and 11 points ahead. Hibs have one game in hand....so if we can beat them on Sat whilst win the game in hand, 5 points would be the gap.
There is definitely a chance to drag teams from 6th down the way into the relegation battle... just hope it's Hibs that pulls away and leaves the Pars and others fighting it out.

Still, if the Pars win tonight, surely if Pat puts the league table on the wall of the changing room on Sat it'll = team talk done, surely.

07-02-2012, 12:25 PM
EEP will be like a ghost groud tonight.
That will not help either team especially The Pars.

If Killie play to form they wont be beaten and should probably win I will go for 2 - 0 to Killie

07-02-2012, 01:47 PM
I actually fancy Dunfy to win tonight, 1-0.:no way:

07-02-2012, 01:48 PM
I actually fancy Dunfy to win tonight, 1-0.:no way:Killie must be in with a good shout then :agree: Hurry up and put a bet on that :greengrin

07-02-2012, 01:52 PM
Killie must be in with a good shout then :agree: Hurry up and put a bet on that :greengrin

Dunfy Sheffield Wednesday double me thinks:greengrin

That's guaranteed Dunfy wullnae win:thumbsup::thumbsup:

07-02-2012, 01:57 PM

Dunfy Sheffield Wednesday double me thinks:greengrin

That's guaranteed Dunfy wullnae win:thumbsup::thumbsup:

Guaranteed Sheff Wed won't win, mairlikes

07-02-2012, 01:59 PM
Guaranteed Sheff Wed won't win, mairlikes

Ill sacrifice ma bet if both dinnae win:greengrin

07-02-2012, 03:26 PM
As per the posts above, whatever is in my accumulator is the kiss if death and i've got a Killie win...

RiseAbove
07-02-2012, 03:54 PM
Confident of a Kilmarnock win tonight, Dunfermline concede an average of 3 goals per home game.

07-02-2012, 04:16 PM
I'm going for a Pars win 2-1, which has the benefit of putting us in rock bottom spot, thus making our inevitable surge up the table and to cup glory seem all the more impressive.

I'll have a 1/4 of whatever you're having DBS :agree:
Which corner do I sign up on?

07-02-2012, 04:39 PM
I'm actually going to this game as my mate is a Pars ST holder.

I see them as my (very distant) 2nd team. Tonight though, I'll be in two minds as to how enthusiastically I'll be supporting them.

I'd love it if we both stayed up but I can't see that happening.

I can see killie and st mirren having to look over their shoulder as we start climbing the table, so a dunfermline win tonight might not be a bad result for us .

vanNISHtelroy
07-02-2012, 04:50 PM
I actually fancy Dunfy to win tonight, 1-0.:no way:

Me too unfortunately!

07-02-2012, 05:02 PM
I can see killie and st mirren having to look over their shoulder as we start climbing the table, so a dunfermline win tonight might not be a bad result for us .

I think they are enough points ahead of us not to be dragged into a relegation scrap. We have still to prove we can string a couple of wins together.

Killie win hopefully.

07-02-2012, 05:12 PM
Confident of a Kilmarnock win tonight, Dunfermline concede an average of 3 goals per home game.

Dunfermline recently beat Killie 3- 0 at Rugby Park. Can't say I am at all confident that Killie will stroll it. Best thing for Hibs tonight would be a match postponement imo.

07-02-2012, 07:20 PM
Five minute interview on just now with Neil Lennon on Sportsound.

I could have sworn Hearts v Celtic was tomorrow night! :rolleyes:

07-02-2012, 07:22 PM
BBC Sportsound @bbcsportsound Reply Retweet Favorite · Open
Dunfermline goalkeeper Iain Turner injured in the warm up for the match against Kilmarnock. Chris Smith now in goal :wink:

07-02-2012, 07:23 PM
Five minute interview on just now with Neil Lennon on Sportsound.

I could have sworn Hearts v Celtic was tomorrow night! :rolleyes:

In the interests of balance tomorrow pre Hearts V Celtic they will cover Rangers tax woes. :wink:

07-02-2012, 07:52 PM
Guess the crowd tonight 2874

07-02-2012, 08:08 PM
Killie lead 1 - 0 :greengrin

David_D
07-02-2012, 08:13 PM
:thumbsup::thumbsup:

07-02-2012, 08:30 PM
Now 1-1 :rolleyes:

jimmy-adjovi
07-02-2012, 08:36 PM
I think folk on here are getting too hyper about dunfermline tonight. So long as we concentrate on our own games we will be fine. We're a lot stronger than Dunfermline after the transfer window

seven nowt
07-02-2012, 08:38 PM
Now 1-1 :rolleyes:

A 1-1 draw would be ideal. We can catch up with Kilmarnock and have a stronger side than Dunfermline

07-02-2012, 08:57 PM
Almost 2-1 Dunfermline.

07-02-2012, 09:01 PM
Chris Smith makes great save..

still 1-1

07-02-2012, 09:01 PM
Listening to this match I'd have to say that Chris Smith has been holding the ball for 7.8 seconds on occasion. Disgraceful

07-02-2012, 09:03 PM
chris smith, 2mins later complete miss kick but gets away with it.

07-02-2012, 09:07 PM
A 1-1 draw would be ideal. We can catch up with Kilmarnock and have a stronger side than Dunfermline

It's really between us and Dunfermline to go down. So a win for them tonight is a real bad one and puts more pressure on us to win this weekend.

07-02-2012, 09:11 PM
Killie well on top so the Pars should win 2 - 1 :wink:

07-02-2012, 09:12 PM
dunfermline deined a penalty.. push from pascali missed by the ref

07-02-2012, 09:13 PM
dunfermline deined a penalty.. push from pascali missed by the ref

Looking forward to Kenny Shiels' views on that one. Did anyone time it?

07-02-2012, 09:21 PM

My sentiments exactly, so we will be equal bottom on points , but I am confident we can get a result on Sat against the sheep.

07-02-2012, 09:27 PM
Killie should be in front they are well on top.

07-02-2012, 09:27 PM
All Killie, ball cleared off the line, 2mins later dean shiels beaten by the bobble of the ball.

still 1-1

07-02-2012, 09:28 PM

Frankly a 10-1 win for Kilmarnock would suit me better.

07-02-2012, 09:30 PM
Dunfermline nearly score, parried away by cammy bell following a corner.

07-02-2012, 09:35 PM
FT

07-02-2012, 09:35 PM
Full time, 1-1.

Dunfermline still bottom on goal difference.

07-02-2012, 09:36 PM
Full time 1-1

07-02-2012, 09:37 PM
I guess the Yams will be miffed we're no bottom of the heap :thumbsup:

07-02-2012, 09:37 PM
Full time, 1-1.

Dunfermline still bottom on goal difference.

Good, with our refreshed squad and game in hand, I'm fairly confident that we'll pull away from them now.:agree:

07-02-2012, 09:38 PM
Looking forward to Kenny Shiels' views on that one. Did anyone time it?
It'll be on the DVD highlights.

Maybe we should club together for some batteries for his remote. Hate to think he's worn his out, watching Stack.

07-02-2012, 09:41 PM
It's really between us and Dunfermline to go down. So a win for them tonight is a real bad one and puts more pressure on us to win this weekend.

Long way to go till the split. No reason why we cant use Saturday as a springboard and catch Aberdeen in 6th.

07-02-2012, 09:43 PM
Official attendance 2203 I believe

07-02-2012, 09:45 PM
Any word on how serious the injury to Turner is? Dunfermline would be completely rooked if they have to play Smith for the rest of the season.

07-02-2012, 09:53 PM
Long way to go till the split. No reason why we cant use Saturday as a springboard and catch Aberdeen in 6th.
:agree: defo

07-02-2012, 09:58 PM
Good, with our refreshed squad and game in hand, I'm fairly confident that we'll pull away from them now.:agree:

Agree, we added what looked like genuine quality in the window, and can see us picking up more points than Dunfermline

07-02-2012, 09:59 PM

Nah. Too many points and too many teams to catch. There's only nine games to the split and 10 points behind multiple teams. Not all of them are going to have a bad run.

07-02-2012, 10:07 PM
I'm gona say we will pick up 17 points before the split :-)

07-02-2012, 10:15 PM

I'm gonna say you are inhaling that stuff way too deep.

07-02-2012, 10:21 PM

I agree. I'd say 21 will be closer to the mark.

07-02-2012, 10:28 PM

I will stick my neck out and say we will get 11 points - I think that is optimistic.

Normally you need 34 - 39 points to avoid the drop I think about 33 will be enough this year.

07-02-2012, 10:32 PM

What's your prediction then ODS?

HibeeMG
07-02-2012, 10:41 PM
Just back from the Pars game.

Ian Turner seemingly injured in the warm-up. Chris Smith never let me down in my assessment that he is the worst goalkeeper I have ever seen (and I include Zibby and Graeme Smith in that).

Killie definitely had the most possession and were able to play neat triangles in midfield to make space. They were lining up with a 4-5-1 against a 4-4-2 so always had a spare man in the middle.

They never really did anything with the possession they had just like against us on Saturday.

Just like we did in our game, the Pars had much the better chances but couldn't take them.

I was really tempted to shout out to Kenny Sheils as he walked past the main stand that defending isn't as easy as he though obviously.

Also, don't know who was doing the counting but there was more than 2300 there tonight. Nearer the 4000 mark I'd say.

Dunfermline's two new signings from Rangers were playing. Kyle Hutton was terrible, the right-back was average.

All in all, nothing to make me think that Dunfermline will be making our relegation battle any harder. Killie would be pulled into it if they hadn't already picked up enough points.

07-02-2012, 10:44 PM
Just back from the Pars game.

Ian Turner seemingly injured in the warm-up. Chris Smith never let me down in my assessment that he is the worst goalkeeper I have ever seen (and I include Zibby and Graeme Smith in that).

Killie definitely had the most possession and were able to play neat triangles in midfield to make space. They were lining up with a 4-5-1 against a 4-4-2 so always had a spare man in the middle.

They never really did anything with the possession they had just like against us on Saturday.

Just like we did in our game, the Pars had much the better chances but couldn't take them.

I was really tempted to shout out to Kenny Sheils as he walked past the main stand that defending isn't as easy as he though obviously.

Also, don't know who was doing the counting but there was more than 2300 there tonight. Nearer the 4000 mark I'd say.

Dunfermline's two new signings from Rangers were playing. Kyle Hutton was terrible, the right-back was average.

All in all, nothing to make me think that Dunfermline will be making our relegation battle any harder. Killie would be pulled into it if they hadn't already picked up enough points.

Thanks for that, the radio said Killie were better and should have won.

07-02-2012, 11:25 PM
Roar the boys on to victory on Saturday and let's start to pull away from them.

08-02-2012, 09:36 AM
Any word on how serious the injury to Turner is? Dunfermline would be completely rooked if they have to play Smith for the rest of the season.

Dunfermline will be relegated if Turner is their first choice every week.