View Full Version : Recommend a Film.

30-01-2012, 02:37 PM
Joined Lovefilm a wee while ago so have been racking up the viewing hours, any recommendations from folks? Doesn't have to be recent films, but have got right into movies again so will watch pretty much anything, as long as it's not romantic ****** comedies.

For what it's worth, just watched a film called Melancholia, it took a few days for the whole thing to sink in as it was visually stunning, I'm still undecided if it's genius or cack though, over 2 hours long so the pace was slow, but didn't detract from the obvious quality of the film. Basically it's about a woman who's suffering depression and having just got married, a new planet appears from behind the sun and heads towards Earth, won't give away the ending, but the final shot in the film has stayed with me for a good few days!

Got a few coming in the post but need to build my order queue a wee bit, my preference is science fiction or a good action/thriller flick. Basically anything with a properly good story.

30-01-2012, 07:03 PM
Watched "Dr Strangelove" last night and would thoroughly recommend it.

30-01-2012, 08:36 PM
Ive just watched Melancholia too and i totally agree with your assessment...walks a fine line between genius and nonsense. Thats Lars Von Trier for you though-at least he does something outside the tedious hollywood comfort zone.

I love lovefilm...i use it to catch up with oldies more than keep up to date with new releases.

30-01-2012, 08:41 PM
IF you can deal with the subtitles check out Amores perros and The secret in their eyes. Two cracking films, in Spanish though.

30-01-2012, 09:14 PM
Some of my personal favourites are:

Se7en
Memento
Fight Club
Shutter Island
Road to Perdition

30-01-2012, 09:17 PM
Boyz N The Hood

30-01-2012, 09:24 PM
Stayed in bed all day yesterday nursing a stinking hangover and had a bit of a 'Filmathon' - The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Vacancy, Black Swan and Jarhead - They were all pretty good.

30-01-2012, 09:31 PM
Boyz N The Hood

Is that the one with the amazing street fighter and every second word in the film is '******'?

Watched that recently and actually thought it was pretty decent. :agree:

tanfield
30-01-2012, 09:39 PM
Shawshank Redemption :top marks - the best film I have seen

30-01-2012, 09:44 PM
Midnight Cowboy.

30-01-2012, 09:51 PM
Mutiny on the Bounty with Marlon Brando.

30-01-2012, 09:54 PM
A time to kill.
Some very good performances from "a" lst Hollywood dudes in an excellent film.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0117913/fullcredits

30-01-2012, 10:07 PM
"The Lives of Others" is possibly one of the best films I have ever seen. I can not recommend it highly enough. (btw, side note, but just wanted to share on the thread; I started teaching IB Film this year and am loving it. Aren't films great things?!) :-)

30-01-2012, 10:22 PM
A time to kill.

Fantastic - Watched it years ago at school (in RE) and I must watch it again :agree:

I'll reccomend a few of my favourites - Quadrophenia, Pulp Fiction, Apollo 13, Almost Famous, American Pie and Titanic.

And a film I must've watched 10000000000 times, Goodfellas.

30-01-2012, 10:47 PM
I like gangster movies, seen most of the new ones like The Departed, Road to Perdition etc, but not yet seen any of the older ones like The Godfather etc. Also like jail based ones like Escape from Alcatraz, The Shawshank Redemption, Green Mile etc.

Like the FBI/President Assasination attempt ones too like Air Force One, Shooter, In the Line of Fire and The Setinel.

I'd recommend all of them too.

GhostofBolivar
31-01-2012, 06:06 AM
A History of Violence (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QBerc2JwN4I)
Audition (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yhsrsWcEspc)
Battle Royale (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y-T7yPJVvXw)
Brotherhood (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rx0DAAmlSPk)
Brotherhood of the Wolf (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D7DTv2uBA7I)
Drive (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CWX34ShfcsE)
Four Lions (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ew-SrlQ9tlI)
In Bruges (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KoE9edjEDCI)
Infernal Affairs (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T8RmmBa_3U4)
Lady Vengeance (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mzXbV9a5GA4)
The Last Seduction (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hUwODsSlMc0)
Let The Right One In (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sZJUgsZ56vQ)
The Messenger (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1tTIQ8pkGf0)
Michael Clayton (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9l12IQe98vE)
Office Space (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G_wiXgRWrIU)
Ran (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v8SSR_qcql8)
Sexy Beast (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zqDBAvWdHgE)
Slap Shot (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qk8jIrVJw34)
Thirteen Assassins (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YeEq1qR8qiw&feature=related)
The Three Burials of Melquiades Estrada (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R8MwE1RhHCY)
Zatoichi (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gV2bZSnhHmQ)

31-01-2012, 06:30 AM
Is that the one with the amazing street fighter and every second word in the film is '******'?

Watched that recently and actually thought it was pretty decent. :agree:
Sorry Im not sure what to mean by street fighter, but it's about a boy that goes to live with his dad in LA and about the choices he makes as an individual and not to get involved in the gangs in his area, ice cube is in it. Amazing film

31-01-2012, 09:51 AM
Joined Lovefilm a wee while ago so have been racking up the viewing hours, any recommendations from folks? Doesn't have to be recent films, but have got right into movies again so will watch pretty much anything, as long as it's not romantic ****** comedies.

For what it's worth, just watched a film called Melancholia, it took a few days for the whole thing to sink in as it was visually stunning, I'm still undecided if it's genius or cack though, over 2 hours long so the pace was slow, but didn't detract from the obvious quality of the film. Basically it's about a woman who's suffering depression and having just got married, a new planet appears from behind the sun and heads towards Earth, won't give away the ending, but the final shot in the film has stayed with me for a good few days!

Got a few coming in the post but need to build my order queue a wee bit, my preference is science fiction or a good action/thriller flick. Basically anything with a properly good story.

Whats Lovefilm like? Noticed you can get unlimited films for about a fiver a month? Also there is another site called Netflix aswell which is an American company I think. Do you get up to date films?

allmodcons
31-01-2012, 10:19 AM
American History X.

31-01-2012, 02:31 PM
I watched Wag The Dog again last night. I'd recommend it to anyone.

I'd second most of GhostofBolivar's list too.

31-01-2012, 06:07 PM
Netflix have a phone app so u can login and watch stuff on your phone. Dont know if lovefilm does or if it works outside the uk

Godsahibby
31-01-2012, 09:01 PM
Serpico
Behind Enemy Lines

01-02-2012, 11:57 AM
These are some of my recent (and a couple of all time) favourites.

Drive
American Psycho
Social Network
Julia's Eyes (Spanish, English subtitles)
Shaolin (Mandarin, Cantonese, English Subtitles)
Ip Man (Mandarin, Cantonese, English Subtitles)
The Hurt Locker
Inglorious *******s
Tai Chi Master (Madain, Cantonese, English Subtitles) - a bit too 'old school Kung Fu' for some :greengrin
Anti-Christ
Donnie Darko

01-02-2012, 02:48 PM
The Hurt Locker is on Film 4 tonight, been meaning to see it a while. Reckon i'll watch it.

01-02-2012, 02:50 PM
The Hurt Locker is on Film 4 tonight, been meaning to see it a while. Reckon i'll watch it.
It's a brilliant film

The town is a good film as well

01-02-2012, 03:32 PM
The Hurt Locker (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2GxSDZc8etg)
We Are Marshall (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RajQ5BqMh9A)
Remember The Titans (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9pFvY5azJSA&feature=related)
The Departed (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SGWvwjZ0eDc)
Good Will Hunting (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nkN7925hzdI)
Watchmen (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E4blSrZvPhU)
21 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZRzZX2aN3I0)
The Usual Suspects (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9MjV4EwR7Mg)
Un Prophete (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lTl5usTXsHw)
The Losers (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IEeQEa6SZQM)
Sin City (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YKFLrTYKIXk)

01-02-2012, 03:56 PM
Just watched the decendants with George Clooney, i have no idea why thats up for so many awards? :confused: A waste of an hour and a half in my opinion.

01-02-2012, 03:58 PM
I've just seen The Help, thought it was brilliant.

GhostofBolivar
01-02-2012, 04:14 PM
It's a brilliant film

The Town's a film you've seen a hundred times before (it has echoes of Heat and Point Break among others) but it is a really good version of that film.

GhostofBolivar
01-02-2012, 04:17 PM

It's brilliant. A bit ridiculous in places, but it's easily in the top tier of war films.

Other very good Kathryn Bigelow films include Point Break and Near Dark.

01-02-2012, 05:22 PM
Aye i am the same as those that think The Hurt Locker is class too, defo recommend everyone giving it a watch tonight! :thumbsup:

I thought i would hate them with churches etc but i absolutely love The da Vinci code and Angels and Demons, definately worth a watch. :agree:

01-02-2012, 06:07 PM

:agree: Forgot about that one - seen far too many films.

If anyone hasn't seen them and has a bit of time on their hands, the Rush Hour films and Friday (first one only) are classic Chris Tucker - I still laugh after watching them all on several occasions.

Forgot to include 'Requiem for a Dream' in my earlier list too.

01-02-2012, 07:36 PM
It's a brilliant film

:agree: Really enjoyed it.

01-02-2012, 07:43 PM
Jacob's Ladder

01-02-2012, 07:50 PM
Black Hawk Down - Love that film. :agree:

Don Giovanni
01-02-2012, 09:20 PM
War films:
Saving Private Ryan
The Thin Red Line
Black Hawk Down

Foreign Films:
City of God (the book is brilliant also)
Delicatessen
Pans Labyrinth

The Jack Nicholson Collection:
The Shining
One Flew Over the Cuckoos Nest
As Good as it Gets
The Departed (even just the opening scene where Jack walks into to the grocery store to the sound of the Stones is brilliant).

Musical movies:
Ray
Walk the Line
The Blues Brothers
(the muic is fantastic, obviously)

Westerns:
Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid
Bad Day at Blackrock
True Grit (both versions are very good)

Random flicks:
Clockwork Orange
Train Spotting
The Wind that Shakes the Barley
Catch Me If You Can
The Matrix

Multiples:
Lord of the Rings
Harry Potter

Romantic Epics:
Doctor Zhivago

Puppet Films:
Team America

Guilty Pleasures:
The Warriors

01-02-2012, 11:15 PM
Lord of the Rings are epic, i could basically go through all 3 films saying every characters words. :nerd:

01-02-2012, 11:20 PM
Black Hawk Down - Love that film. :agree:

02-02-2012, 12:02 AM
Just watched the decendants with George Clooney, i have no idea why thats up for so many awards? :confused: A waste of an hour and a half in my opinion.

Just watched this too and thought it was pretty good. Deals with some familar, depressing themes, but walks a fine line between sad and funny and I thought that made for a fairly enjoyable watch - especially if it's cinema night and it's her choice. :greengrin

In general terms, I would recommend Hot Fuzz (have to watch it a few times to get all the jokes), Heat, Seven, Dogma, Fight Club, The Usual Suspects, Van Wilder, Batman Begins and the first of Guy Ritchie's Sherlock Holmes films (it's brilliant).

02-02-2012, 12:12 AM
Bigfoot and the Hendersons :agree:

02-02-2012, 05:45 AM
Films that I'd recommend:

Bloodsport. JCVD at his finest and Bolo Yeungs pecs are a separate character.

Predator. Genius and the first real fusion of action and suspense.

The last dragon. Bruce Leroy...the black Bruce Lee faces up to the shogun of Harlem and his gang...and wins!

Trading places. Funny on every level...and especially in today's economic climate. Probably may favourite.

Animated ones I'd recommend would be Up and Despicable me.

02-02-2012, 06:04 AM
Films that I'd recommend:

Bloodsport. JCVD at his finest and Bolo Yeungs pecs are a separate character.

Predator. Genius and the first real fusion of action and suspense.

The last dragon. Bruce Leroy...the black Bruce Lee faces up to the shogun of Harlem and his gang...and wins!

Trading places. Funny on every level...and especially in today's economic climate. Probably may favourite.

Animated ones I'd recommend would be Up and Despicable me.

I'm not sure about that.

02-02-2012, 07:55 AM
Just watched this too and thought it was pretty good. Deals with some familar, depressing themes, but walks a fine line between sad and funny and I thought that made for a fairly enjoyable watch - especially if it's cinema night and it's her choice. :greengrin

In general terms, I would recommend Hot Fuzz (have to watch it a few times to get all the jokes), Heat, Seven, Dogma, Fight Club, The Usual Suspects, Van Wilder, Batman Begins and the first of Guy Ritchie's Sherlock Holmes films (it's brilliant).

Van Wilder........really? I didn't think much of that at all.

Batman Begins is really good but I think The Dark Knight was better.

You can't go wrong with a bit of Die Hard With A Vengance or Terminator 2.

02-02-2012, 08:20 AM
"Lock, stock & two smoking barrels" - briliant British movie directed by Guy Ritchie

"1900" by Bernardo Bertolluci - Robert DeNiro, Gerard Depardieu, Donalth Sutherland - well worth a watch..

"Red Violin" - terrific story - Francois Gerard....

magpie1892
02-02-2012, 08:31 AM
Nueve Reinas (Nine Queens) - Good plot, incredible performances.
The Stunt Man - underrated classic
Adam & Paul - Dublin junkies; funny and moving

02-02-2012, 08:32 AM
I'm not sure about that.

Sorry, It should have stated that I, personally appreciated it in that sense.

hibeenicol
02-02-2012, 08:37 AM
I saw the devil is a brilliant film if you can put up with subtitles.

http://youtu.be/tkwEFKdTckk

02-02-2012, 09:32 AM
I also enjoy Scrooged as a christmas movie.

Schindler's List
The original Oceans Eleven (The Rat Pack :cb)
Friday (mentioned above)
The Running Man (Classic Arnie)

02-02-2012, 11:23 AM
Van Wilder........really? I didn't think much of that at all.

Batman Begins is really good but I think The Dark Knight was better.

You can't go wrong with a bit of Die Hard With A Vengance or Terminator 2.

I'm not usually a fan of US-made comedies, so maybe it's just because it's a bit different from the usual character/slapstick comedies that seem to be produced en-masse.

I liked The Dark Knight but felt it was maybe 30 mins too long. I preferred Batman Begins as I like prequels and I felt it did a good job of showing the creation of the character. Plus Bale and Neeson were very good together.

Die Hard With A Vengeance is a classic. :aok:

bandylegs_jLeighton
02-02-2012, 01:00 PM
Favourites from before my time:

Once Upon a Time in the West
Lawrence of Arabia
High Noon
Its a Wonderul Life
Godfather

Childhood favourites:

Ghostbusters
Die Hard
Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade

Last 20 years:

Bourne Trilogy
Slumdog Millionaire
Donnie Darko
The Incredibles
Rushmore
Kill Bill
Matrix

Guilty Pleasures:

Arnie movies (Commando, Total Recall etc.)

02-02-2012, 03:37 PM

I watched it at home :wink: I thought it was too far fetched, and couldn't understand why he was traipsing all over the place while his wife was about to die, even though she'd been cheating? You could also tell right at the start what he was going to do with the land.

I watched The Help last night, now that was a good film, thought provoking and a decent amount of humour too. :top marks

02-02-2012, 03:47 PM
I saw the devil is a brilliant film if you can put up with subtitles.

http://youtu.be/tkwEFKdTckk

Great revenge film; although a bit too long iirc.

02-02-2012, 04:56 PM
Most of the WWII epics are good, A bridge too far, Guns of Navarone etc, etc.

The Deer Hunter
Appocalypse Now, in fact, most Vietnam war films ive watched ive enjoyed, not too sure why though!

Guilty pleasures

The Abyss
The Firm (not the Tom Cruise one)
The 39 Steps (Robert Powell version)

02-02-2012, 06:29 PM
Top thread boys :aok:

Guity Pleasure - Notting Hill. Quite like a 'chick flick', usually a bit of totty on show and easy to watch.

I should be embarassed about having watched Titanic in excess of 50 times, but am no - Cannae wait for it at the Cinema in 3D! :greengrin

02-02-2012, 06:37 PM
List could be endless. :greengrin

Most of mine have been mentioned already

Fight club
The dark knight
Its a wonderful life
DHWAV
Field of dreams
Amelie
Bourne Trilogy

Favourite animated move - Finding Nemo

Favourite western has to be the classic - The Searchers

If I was only allowed to watch one film ever again though, it would have to be the awesome......

Shawshank Redemption - absolutely love it.

02-02-2012, 07:51 PM
Guilty pleasures eh:

Starship Troopers Trilogy
Superbad
Monty Python's Holy Grail
Scream Trilogy (I've purged the fourth from my memory)
A Nightmare in Elm Street 4
Planet Terror
Scary Movie (all)
How High
Urban Legend
The Faculty
Old School
House on Haunted Hill
Dragon Lord
Mortal Kombat

03-02-2012, 09:37 AM
Whats Lovefilm like? Noticed you can get unlimited films for about a fiver a month? Also there is another site called Netflix aswell which is an American company I think. Do you get up to date films?

Yeah you can get unlimited streaming for a fiver a month, but unsure if they have more or less content than Netflix.

I'm on the 14.99 a month deal, you can get unlimited rentals and streaming, plus Xbox, Ps3, Wii, PSP, DS games etc, you get 3 discs at home at a time, no late fees etc, I watch a lot of films so find 14.99 a month to be a pretty good deal considering I'd probably spend more than that on DVD's/Games if I didn't rent them. You can drop down to 2 discs at home at a time for £11.22 a month.

I've heard of people saying the films go missing in the post etc, but I guess that will happen from time to time, they haven't missed a beat with me though, whenever I've sent a film back I've got a new one through the letterbox within 2 days. I usually send old ones back on Thursday and have new ones through on Saturday in time for the weekend.

Think I might have a couple of '2 months free' offer codes, if anyone fancies one just drop me a pm.

03-02-2012, 10:45 AM
I watched it at home :wink: I thought it was too far fetched, and couldn't understand why he was traipsing all over the place while his wife was about to die, even though she'd been cheating? You could also tell right at the start what he was going to do with the land.

I watched The Help last night, now that was a good film, thought provoking and a decent amount of humour too. :top marks

Yeah, it's a fair point, although I think because he could essentially choose when she died he was trying to "tie up loose ends" for want of a better cliche. I liked the slight lack of reality in the situation he was placed in, combined with having to deal with his daughters and his father-in-law giving him **** and talking about the faithful, devoted wife.

I didn't really understand the part about the land. If the Trust was having to dissolve in seven years anyway, it sounded like he was just going to waste the next seven years fighting a legal battle when he'd just had the lack of relationship with his daughters highlighted for him.

Not seen The Help, but might suggest it next time it's her choice....sounds a better option than War Horse. :rolleyes:

KB1
03-02-2012, 06:58 PM
Most of mine have been mentioned already, but a personal is Fargo by the Cohen brothers

03-02-2012, 09:16 PM

The ending to Melancholia is given away within the first 10 minutes. I think Von Trier's reasoning was that the question of whether the world would end or not would have detracted from the story, and taken focus away from the characters. Personally, I would've liked not to have known.

I found it to be an extremely chilling ending - probably one of the scariest I've seen. Brilliant film though IMO.

03-02-2012, 09:32 PM
Two films to avoid as if your life depended on it:

Tree of Life and Cyrus.

Utterly god awful beyond any measurable level.

03-02-2012, 09:43 PM
The ending to Melancholia is given away within the first 10 minutes. I think Von Trier's reasoning was that the question of whether the world would end or not would have detracted from the story, and taken focus away from the characters. Personally, I would've liked not to have known.

I found it to be an extremely chilling ending - probably one of the scariest I've seen. Brilliant film though IMO.

To me, the big strength of the film (on top of Von Triers laudable imagination) was Kirsten Dunst. Shes taken her place amongst the best mainstream actors around IMO.

03-02-2012, 09:43 PM

Tree of Life and Cyrus.

I watched Cyrus last week, I actually expected it to be good, the story has potential to be good. But, you're right, it is awful.

I'd recommend Kick-Ass, Zombieland (quality Bill Murray cameo) and Troll Hunter.

03-02-2012, 09:49 PM
A time to kill.

I'm not a film lover at all and I hardly ever go to the cinema but that is a brilliant film. I watched a bit of it at school and loved it and since then, I've seen the whole film and really enjoyed it.

It's on from time to time on BBC and I've watched it a lot.

Highly recommend it.

03-02-2012, 10:11 PM
Just finished watching Last of the Mohicans on 5. Doesn't matter how many times I've seen it, it's still brilliant.

03-02-2012, 10:19 PM
This is a cracking thread:thumbsup:. I love Lovefilm, only on a two disc a month package but I've basically just stuck loads of recommendations down on my wishlist and am slowly getting through them. Really like getting films I'd not have bothered looking at otherwise.

Some good ones I've had recently:

Source Code
The Fighter
Frost/Nixon
RED

Had some turkeys as well - Tropic Thunder and The Tourist were bollocks.

03-02-2012, 11:37 PM

Tree of Life and Cyrus.

I actually enjoyed The Tree of Life. Terrence Malick is an awesome director. :aok:

Films for the OP to watch:

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind
Drive
The Tree of Life :wink:
Good Will Hunting
Amelie
The Social Network
Into the Wild
The Sunset Limited
Romanzo Criminale
Un Prophete
The Thin Red Line
The Ides of March

03-02-2012, 11:44 PM
Not a fan of Nicholas Cage normally, but The Rock is one film i never got bored of. Love it. :thumbsup:

My 5 favourite films are probably:

Lord of the Rings trilogy
Shawshank Redemption
Se7en
Memento
Saving Private Ryan

Imo that is a heavenly crop of films. :drool:

04-02-2012, 12:16 AM
I.D.
Cass

04-02-2012, 05:57 AM
I.D.
Cass

Casual :-)

Why has no one mentioned braveheart? :-)

04-02-2012, 07:49 AM
Not a fan of Nicholas Cage normally, but The Rock is one film i never got bored of. Love it. :thumbsup:

My 5 favourite films are probably:

Lord of the Rings trilogy
Shawshank Redemption
Se7en
Memento
Saving Private Ryan

Imo that is a heavenly crop of films. :drool:

That's 7 :wink:

04-02-2012, 08:16 AM
I actually enjoyed The Tree of Life. Terrence Malick is an awesome director. :aok:

Films for the OP to watch:

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind
Drive
The Tree of Life :wink:
Good Will Hunting
Amelie
The Social Network
Into the Wild
The Sunset Limited
Romanzo Criminale
Un Prophete
The Thin Red Line
The Ides of March

Opinions and all that, but I'm keen to know why did you enjoy it?

I've no arguments that visually, it's stunning - but it's like a fragmented scrapbook of good imagery, masquerading as an attempt to convey some deep spiritual philosophical ideal, with no story behind it (well, there is a narrative, but it's awfully constructed).

There's nothing to hold on to and in the end, it's a lengthy drawn out pretentious failure of a film.

Someone once told Malik he was an artist, and he's evidently become besought by the idea.

There seems to be a feeling amongst the critics who've reviewed the film, whereby because it's "an artistic director", because it's utterly pretentious and because it's non-commercial, they have to be seen to wax lyrical about this, or be seen as stupid/outcast because they slated an artistic masterpiece.

I am keen to ask someone who enjoyed it what makes so good though, as most people I've spoken to (many of whom are self-confessed cinephiles) thought similar to me, that it was woeful.

Barman Stanton
04-02-2012, 09:58 AM
If you like Doc Films then there are some excellent ones you may not have seen. Dogtown and Z Boys is about how skateboarding started in the 70s, hate to think how many times iv watched it.

Kong of Kong also worth a watch. About a guy trying to beat the Donkey Kong world record and is very very funny.

Matty_Jack04
05-02-2012, 10:36 AM
Yeah you can get unlimited streaming for a fiver a month, but unsure if they have more or less content than Netflix.

I'm on the 14.99 a month deal, you can get unlimited rentals and streaming, plus Xbox, Ps3, Wii, PSP, DS games etc, you get 3 discs at home at a time, no late fees etc, I watch a lot of films so find 14.99 a month to be a pretty good deal considering I'd probably spend more than that on DVD's/Games if I didn't rent them. You can drop down to 2 discs at home at a time for £11.22 a month.

I've heard of people saying the films go missing in the post etc, but I guess that will happen from time to time, they haven't missed a beat with me though, whenever I've sent a film back I've got a new one through the letterbox within 2 days. I usually send old ones back on Thursday and have new ones through on Saturday in time for the weekend.

Think I might have a couple of '2 months free' offer codes, if anyone fancies one just drop me a pm.

Iv just started a months trial with Netflix pretty good it has movies documentarys and tv programmes all streamed to the ps3/Xbox with a smart phone app too.
only worry I have for it is how often they freshen the list of choices up, there's a lot of content but it won't take long to get through the good stuff and some tv sets aren't full series

Think il stick with it as u can cancel at anytime might also add love film so the movies keep coming since I'm having to cut off the sky tv

05-02-2012, 08:10 PM
Pan's Labyrinth on Film Four now.

06-02-2012, 02:44 PM
A History of Violence (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QBerc2JwN4I)
Audition (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yhsrsWcEspc)
Battle Royale (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y-T7yPJVvXw)
Brotherhood (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rx0DAAmlSPk)
Brotherhood of the Wolf (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D7DTv2uBA7I)
Drive (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CWX34ShfcsE)
Four Lions (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ew-SrlQ9tlI)
In Bruges (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KoE9edjEDCI)
Infernal Affairs (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T8RmmBa_3U4)
Lady Vengeance (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mzXbV9a5GA4)
The Last Seduction (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hUwODsSlMc0)
Let The Right One In (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sZJUgsZ56vQ)
The Messenger (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1tTIQ8pkGf0)
Michael Clayton (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9l12IQe98vE)
Office Space (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G_wiXgRWrIU)
Ran (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v8SSR_qcql8)
Sexy Beast (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zqDBAvWdHgE)
Slap Shot (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qk8jIrVJw34)
Thirteen Assassins (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YeEq1qR8qiw&feature=related)
The Three Burials of Melquiades Estrada (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R8MwE1RhHCY)
Zatoichi (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gV2bZSnhHmQ)

All these, plus

The Conversation
Unforgiven
The Third Man
Touch of Evil
Arsenic and Old Lace

And if you're just feeling silly, Vincent Price in The Comedy of Terror which is completely silly but has big Vince along withBoris Karloff, Peter Lorre, Basil Rathbone and Joe E Brown thoroughly enjoying themselves in a spoof horror.

A Little Shop of Horrors is good, too.

You'll enjoy In Bruges.

07-02-2012, 09:17 AM
Black Swan is fantastic, it also stars the unbelievably fit Mila Kunis.

07-02-2012, 10:10 AM
Got Tree of Life through so will give that a watch tonight I think :agree:

Recent films I watched and enjoyed were:

The Tree - usually don't go for this type of film, but as I'm a dad now I think I view these films a bit differently and was pretty close to choking up, almost tears (only cried at one film in my entire life, that was homeward bound at the age of 8)
, basically this is about a dad who dies and his kid can hear him in the tree outside their house, but the tree is old, huge and doing damage to the house so..........

Source Code - Damn fine film, I knew what the ending would be about half way through but was still a pretty good watch.

The Ghost - Think this was on Channel 4 recently but streamed this the other night, the casting for this was perfect, Brosnan as the ex prime minister accused of war crimes and McGregor as his ghost writer, plenty twists and turns and an enjoyable story, on for over 2 hours so a long one but I don't mind the long films if it's attached to a good story which this one very much was.

07-02-2012, 10:30 AM
I watched Sleepers at the weekend. Hadn't seen that for years, good film though. I've always meant to read the book but never got around to it.

07-02-2012, 10:31 AM
I had the misfortune to watch Invictus starring Matt Damon and Morgan Freeman. Damon is excellent as Stephen Pienaar (?) but Freeman does a Spitting Image take on Nelson Mandela. If you've ever seen the Comic Strips take on the miners strike, then you'll know where the makers of this film about post apartheid S. Africa got their inspiration.

Shutter Island is an excellent film though, check it out.

cal-d hibs
07-02-2012, 10:33 AM
I've said it before but happy to mention a great film in La Haine.

Bighoose
07-02-2012, 12:09 PM
If you like Doc Films then there are some excellent ones you may not have seen. Dogtown and Z Boys is about how skateboarding started in the 70s, hate to think how many times iv watched it.

Kong of Kong also worth a watch. About a guy trying to beat the Donkey Kong world record and is very very funny.

Have to agree Dogtown and Z Boys is really good and even for someone with no interest in skateboarding.

Another good doc is Dig! a documentary on the once-promising American rock bands The Dandy Warhols and the Brian Jonestown Massacre and the friendship/rivalry between their respective founders, Anton Newcombe and Courtney Taylor. They all have such an over inflated opinion of themselves that it is mostly unintensionally hilarious.

07-02-2012, 12:16 PM
I had the misfortune to watch Invictus starring Matt Damon and Morgan Freeman. Damon is excellent as Stephen Pienaar (?) but Freeman does a Spitting Image take on Nelson Mandela. If you've ever seen the Comic Strips take on the miners strike, then you'll know where the makers of this film about post apartheid S. Africa got their inspiration.

Shutter Island is an excellent film though, check it out.

:hilarious Nifty midfielder for Everton, but it was Francois Pienaar who led the Springboks to victory.

Not Freeman's finest hour though, I grant you. Still, when you're CV included "Driving Miss Daisy" and "The Shawshank Redemption", you're allowed a mediocre effort every now and again.

For a non-fiction fild, I would utterly recommend "Senna" to anyone, even if - like me - you're not especially interested in F1.

Absolutely spellbinding, and such a character (not to mention an incredible driver) compared to the dull as ditchwater "Rent-a-quote" chumps that populate F1 these days.

07-02-2012, 01:44 PM
For a non-fiction fild, I would utterly recommend "Senna" to anyone, even if - like me - you're not especially interested in F1.

Absolutely spellbinding, and such a character (not to mention an incredible driver) compared to the dull as ditchwater "Rent-a-quote" chumps that populate F1 these days.

Senna = :not worth

I'm not much of an F1 fan either, but Senna is a sporting icon.

07-02-2012, 05:30 PM
Anti-Christ

Is that the Lars Von Trier film with Willem Dafoe?

That film genuinely freaked me out!! The scene where.....I can't even talk about it!:boo hoo: Couldn't watch anymore after that scene.

Some of my favourites that haven't been mentioned -

Ferris Buellers Day Off
Planes Trains & Automobiles
Mystic River
A Bridge Too Far
The Untouchables

Could quite easily reel off 100 films here so I'll stop.

07-02-2012, 09:04 PM
Is that the Lars Von Trier film with Willem Dafoe?

That film genuinely freaked me out!! The scene where.....I can't even talk about it!:boo hoo: Couldn't watch anymore after that scene.

Yep, thats the one :greengrin:

The most truly disturbing, yet (bafflingly) intriguing, film I have ever seen.

For a "favourite" I've only actually brought myself to watch it once more after the first time, and if you saw the uncut version then I'm sure you'll know why!

The first time I watched it for some reason the talking fox totally freaked me out - to this day I cannot pinpoint why and no other film has ever done that to me. Hence why, for me, it has to be up there as a "favourite" - after all the best movies are the ones that really make you 'feel'.

GhostofBolivar
08-02-2012, 03:34 AM
Senna = :not worth

I'm not much of an F1 fan either, but Senna is a sporting icon.

Similar films...

When We Were Kings (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IfUHYUpmTFs)
Fire In Babylon (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RbJsy9MgFVw)

08-02-2012, 04:30 AM
Top thread boys :aok:

Guity Pleasure - Notting Hill. Quite like a 'chick flick', usually a bit of totty on show and easy to watch.

I should be embarassed about having watched Titanic in excess of 50 times, but am no - Cannae wait for it at the Cinema in 3D! :greengrin

Have to agree. You can't beat a bit of big black ass!

Skanko79
08-02-2012, 02:56 PM
Watched "Limitless" at the weekend, was decent.

08-02-2012, 06:12 PM
i think it may have already been mentioned but i watched Men of Honor on Monday and thought it was brilliant.
Full Metal Jacket
Ferris Bueller day off

08-02-2012, 06:44 PM
Yep, thats the one :greengrin:

The most truly disturbing, yet (bafflingly) intriguing, film I have ever seen.

For a "favourite" I've only actually brought myself to watch it once more after the first time, and if you saw the uncut version then I'm sure you'll know why!

The first time I watched it for some reason the talking fox totally freaked me out - to this day I cannot pinpoint why and no other film has ever done that to me. Hence why, for me, it has to be up there as a "favourite" - after all the best movies are the ones that really make you 'feel'.

One of my most favourite movies is Dead Man Walking however I've only watched it twice

Very difficult viewing

08-02-2012, 09:48 PM
Do we have any .net wimps on here? :greengrin

Must admit, the end of the 6th Star Wars film, i have had a tear in my eye then. Also at the end of Return of the King when Frodo goes on the boat, i always shed a tear, sometimes a fair few. :greengrin

09-02-2012, 09:44 PM
Just finished watching Prodigal Son and it is now my absolute favourite film of all time!

It's not for everyone, bit if you enjoy a good Kung Fu movie, then it is one of the best you're likely to ever see.

10-02-2012, 10:55 PM
Watching shallow Hal just now and forgot how good it is

10-02-2012, 11:36 PM
Watching shallow Hal just now and forgot how good it is

You can't come back with a comeback after eight seconds. You got three seconds. Five, tops. It's called a quip, not a sloooowwwwp.

11-02-2012, 10:21 AM
Watched Tyrannosaur last night. Difficult viewing but Peter Mullan is again at his best playing a very angry, some would say nasty, man indeed. It's all about that chink of light though in a dark, depressingly realistic, world.

Edit: do you have a quota of how much you can post on this thread? :greengrin

11-02-2012, 08:44 PM
Black Narcissus, a Powell/Pressburger masterpiece from 1947. Bunch of nuns in a convent high up in the Himalayas. Raging libidos, jealousy, tension, great actors.

The ending is very unsettling.

11-02-2012, 08:53 PM
I'll tell you a film not to watch. MACHETE :bitchy:. Even though it's got a super hot Michelle Rodriquez in it, it has to be the biggest pile of cow dung I've ever seen.

11-02-2012, 09:02 PM
You can't come back with a comeback after eight seconds. You got three seconds. Five, tops. It's called a quip, not a sloooowwwwp.

Also just watched battle of Los Angeles on sky, very good film IMO.

11-02-2012, 09:13 PM

I just watched that too, was better than I'd thought it'd be.

11-02-2012, 09:14 PM
I'll tell you a film not to watch. MACHETE :bitchy:. Even though it's got a super hot Michelle Rodriquez in it, it has to be the biggest pile of cow dung I've ever seen.

I thought Machete was alright, I dont see what you see in Michelle Rodriguez though..not for me.

11-02-2012, 09:36 PM
I dont see what you see in Michelle Rodriguez though..not for me.

I just love a Latina :love ya!:.

12-02-2012, 08:44 AM
Battle Los Angeles was very good, suprised me that! Also streamed a film called 'Cargo'. Its in German with subtitles but a superb deep space thought provoking story, very alienesque but without the aliens!

12-02-2012, 04:55 PM
Do we have any .net wimps on here? :greengrin

Must admit, the end of the 6th Star Wars film, i have had a tear in my eye then. Also at the end of Return of the King when Frodo goes on the boat, i always shed a tear, sometimes a fair few. :greengrin

I've never understood what's supposed to be going on at the end of Return of the King. Probably because I've taken the Darren Mackie approach to the story! Am I right in thinking he's going to die?

12-02-2012, 10:40 PM
Animal kingdom

Matty_Jack04
13-02-2012, 09:24 AM
I watched drive last night with Ryan gosling didn't know what to expect as iv not seen anything he's in before and I'm not a big car fan but wow I thought it was brilliant so different to the usual drive daft shoot folk stuf, brilliant soundtrack and amazingly filmed I was well impressed

Also watched in time which I thought would b a pile of crap but it was a decent watch actually

Twa Cairpets
13-02-2012, 10:03 AM
I've never understood what's supposed to be going on at the end of Return of the King. Probably because I've taken the Darren Mackie approach to the story! Am I right in thinking he's going to die?

Geek Alert: As a ringbearer, Frodo and Bilbo are entitiled to going "over the sea" which while not offering them immortality did offer them greatly extended life in a timeless place. Kind of lie a pleasantly furnished heavenly waiting room with elves.

In the book, Sam also is entitled to do this later in his life as he was a ring bearer for a short while after the encounter with Shelob.

13-02-2012, 01:45 PM
Geek Alert: As a ringbearer, Frodo and Bilbo are entitiled to going "over the sea" which while not offering them immortality did offer them greatly extended life in a timeless place. Kind of lie a pleasantly furnished heavenly waiting room with elves.

In the book, Sam also is entitled to do this later in his life as he was a ring bearer for a short while after the encounter with Shelob.

Ah right, that makes a bit more sense. Thanks! :thumbsup:

I watched The Ides of March the other night. Was a bit disappointed as I am a fan of political thrillers and the acting of George Clooney and Ryan Gosling and expected more from it than it delivered.

It was kind of like Primary Colours meets The West Wing but without the personality.

13-02-2012, 03:08 PM
Hun Flew Over The Administrators Nest.

13-02-2012, 06:31 PM
I thought Machete was alright, I dont see what you see in Michelle Rodriguez though..not for me.

Watched Battle Los Angeles last night. Doesn't do her justice. Are you honestly saying you'd say no to this....................

http://t1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTAO8ifZaHlTx3sMo2wiJHGhw18wfwFB iSyHv3azd8g9m-EqsSR

13-02-2012, 07:28 PM
Watched Battle Los Angeles last night. Doesn't do her justice. Are you honestly saying you'd say no to this....................

http://t1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTAO8ifZaHlTx3sMo2wiJHGhw18wfwFB iSyHv3azd8g9m-EqsSR

Thing is, that's her airbrushed to the max and I'm still no impressed!

JE89
13-02-2012, 09:15 PM

Really? I thought it was very poor. (Granted not my type of film) It seemed the writers had a book of cliches in front of them whilst writing it.

Michelle Rodriquez has broader shoulders than me. Could probably (in fact no doubt) kick my arse too which is never attractive in a women.

Not read the whole read so most likely the films I would suggest have been said. I saw Into the Wild recently and really liked it so i will recommend that!

18-02-2012, 08:22 AM
I went to see 'Woman in Black' at the Ocean Terminal last night, had been looking forward to it but was really disapointed. Was barely on 80 minuts and nowhere near as scary or jumpy as made out. Storyline wasn't upto much either. Daniel Radcliffe won't ever shake off his 'Harry Potter' tag IMO.

A bang-average 5/10.

18-02-2012, 08:27 AM
I went to see 'Woman in Black' at the Ocean Terminal last night, had been looking forward to it but was really disapointed. Was barely on 80 minuts and nowhere near as scary or jumpy as made out. Storyline wasn't upto much either. Daniel Radcliffe won't ever shake off his 'Harry Potter' tag IMO.

A bang-average 5/10.

So..............NOT recommending this then :greengrin perhaps for another thread? :tee hee:

I actually did wonder why given all the "scariest film ever" nonsense I had heard on the radio why it was given a 12A rating.

18-02-2012, 08:45 AM
The Coen brothers films are usually good value
The Big lebowski I love
Blood Simple. Their first film iirc
Fargo

The Life Aquatic Bill Murray films....
Lost in Translation

City of God

Midnight in Paris. Not usually a Woody Allen fan but liked this probably cos he's not in it ;)

The Big Blue
Betty Blue

Platoon

And finally a must for all Scots especially expats...

So I Married annAxe Murderer

18-02-2012, 08:45 PM
Watched all 3 Lord of the Rings again today. So sad at the end. :boo hoo:

Sam's speeches are brilliant. :not worth

Mr Frodo, i can't carry it for you, but i can carry you. COME ON!!!

Persevere80
19-02-2012, 10:57 AM
Once apon a time in america
carlitos way
casino
the butterfly effect
shutter island
Momento

21-02-2012, 08:05 PM
Seen Donnie Brasco for the first time last night , quality film :agree:

23-02-2012, 09:44 AM
The Lives of Others - http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0405094/ - is OUTSTANDING! :agree:

24-02-2012, 04:27 PM
Watched 'Ichi the Killer' for the first time last night. Great fun!

Alec Splode
24-02-2012, 09:29 PM
Restless Natives :thumbsup:

24-02-2012, 11:41 PM
That sinking feeling
Jacobs Ladder
On any Sunday
Naked Lunch
Platoon

25-02-2012, 11:05 PM
Just finished watching 50 dead men walking that was on tv at the turn of the year and thought it made for some interesting viewing, I've no idea how much of the story has been dramatised if any, but, thought it deserved to be added to the list.
If people want to start a political debate re the film can they leave it for another thread please? ta!

Just had a quick peek on the internet, seems as if the main focus of the film Martin McGartland thinks the film is a very poor reflection of what actually took place, still thought the film was decent enough even if doesn't accurately portray the facts.

25-02-2012, 11:28 PM
At the other end of the scale and as one of those "guilty pleasures" I'm going to put Kim as I think I've watched it every time its been on tv for about the last 35 years!

26-02-2012, 08:57 AM
Great thread and seen most listed already

Seen a few decent movies recently, if you dont mind foreign language films try

Cell 211- Spanish film with the best anti hero ive seen in a long time, edge of the seat stuff

Gamorrah- about the Naples mafia

Ong Bak- the best martial arts film ever in my opinion, no trick photography, everything done for real

Taxi- The original French one

As for other movies ive enjoyed recently

Drive- Thought it was cool as

The Warrior- Tom Hardy was immense in it

Dirty Dozen- Watched it on C5 last night, forgot how much i liked it

27-02-2012, 05:50 AM
Watched in time over the weekend, decent film IMO

woodythehibee
27-02-2012, 06:51 AM
Watched Anthony Hopkin's 'Fracture' last night. Good film. Another legal thriller is 'The Lincoln Lawyer'. It is outstanding!

27-02-2012, 07:28 AM
Man On A Ledge - Seen it last week, very good :agree:

27-02-2012, 09:03 AM
Watched Anthony Hopkin's 'Fracture' last night. Good film. Another legal thriller is 'The Lincoln Lawyer'. It is outstanding!

I really liked the Lincoln Lawyer, very very good.

27-02-2012, 09:15 AM
Watched Warrior last week. Really really enjoyed it.

27-02-2012, 11:47 AM
Don't know if it's been mentioned but Napolean Dynamite is superb :thumbsup:

27-02-2012, 12:25 PM
Seen Chronicle last week at the cinema and it was a LOT better than I was expecting.

Pretty unknown cast, written by the group who were behind Heroes (the TV series) and filmed in a first-person mode, but to much better effect than the likes of Cloverfield.

27-02-2012, 12:31 PM
Seen Chronicle last week at the cinema and it was a LOT better than I was expecting.

Pretty unknown cast, written by the group who were behind Heroes (the TV series) and filmed in a first-person mode, but to much better effect than the likes of Cloverfield.

I really enjoyed chronicle too, the Mrs hated it though :rolleyes:

27-02-2012, 06:17 PM
I know it's not a movie, but Band of Brothers is absolutely fantastic. I think this is the fifth time i've been through it.

Got The Pacific too but can't get into it in the same way, stopped halfway through but should really give it another bash.

27-02-2012, 10:17 PM
I know it's not a movie, but Band of Brothers is absolutely fantastic. I think this is the fifth time i've been through it.

Got The Pacific too but can't get into it in the same way, stopped halfway through but should really give it another bash.

Band of Brothers is indeed outstanding. The scene where the GI has to tell all the prisoners to return to their huts in the concentration camp after it has been liberated is very moving.

The Pacific is also very good, although it is difficult to avoid comparing the two.

01-03-2012, 12:24 AM
The Wrestler

Team America.:thumbsup:

01-03-2012, 08:59 PM
The Wrestler

Team America.:thumbsup:

Other than the bird that's in it, thought the wrestler was awful.

02-03-2012, 06:32 PM
Mary and Max - A bit different but excellent

Black Rain

Motorcycle Diaries- Who would think people can have sex with Dolphins

Carlitos Way

Scent of a women

Away Days and Escape to Victory best footy films around

Trainspotting is as good now as 95. Travesty they couldnt have had more scenes of Edinburgh instead of weeg. Mothersuperiors gaff looks like where the buses used to park at hampden at top of Polmadie Road before they got flattened.

Spirited Away

03-03-2012, 09:38 AM
Just watched Warrior, which I thoroughly enjoyed.

Is there anywhere I can bet on Tom Hardy to win an Oscar in the next 5 years?!?

03-03-2012, 12:07 PM
Just watched Warrior, which I thoroughly enjoyed.

Is there anywhere I can bet on Tom Hardy to win an Oscar in the next 5 years?!?

cant see that happening to be honest.

RamblingJack
11-03-2012, 06:47 PM
Man about dog.
Twin Town.
Midnight Express.
Perriers Bounty.
The Van.
Down among the big boys. (Billy Conolly)
Just a boys game.(Frankie Miller)
Orphans.
Just Another saturday.

12-03-2012, 01:58 PM
cant see that happening to be honest.

Fiver? :greengrin

12-03-2012, 02:31 PM
Fiver? :greengrin

I'll take that wager sir.:greengrin

yeezus.
12-03-2012, 05:57 PM
The Weatherman (w/ Nicolas Cage) - great film, and it was on iPlayer a while back - well worth watching.:top marks

16-03-2012, 10:51 PM
Just watched The boy in the striped pyjamas, not the cheeriest of films, would be an ideal introduction for schoolkids in a history classroom to introduce them to the subject of the holocaust.

17-03-2012, 06:46 PM
Just watched The boy in the striped pyjamas, not the cheeriest of films, would be an ideal introduction for schoolkids in a history classroom to introduce them to the subject of the holocaust.

Great film.

JE89
17-03-2012, 06:56 PM

The book is better but a good choice :aok:

19-03-2012, 05:43 PM
Just watched The boy in the striped pyjamas, not the cheeriest of films, would be an ideal introduction for schoolkids in a history classroom to introduce them to the subject of the holocaust. My 12 year old watched it at school a couple of weeks ago

19-03-2012, 06:52 PM
My 12 year old watched it at school a couple of weeks ago

What was his verdict?

23-03-2012, 11:24 PM
Just in from going to see The Hunger Games.

Ignore the "next Twilight" hype - this was a pretty good movie!

woodythehibee
24-03-2012, 03:20 PM
Went to see 21 Jump Street tonight.

Funny film, plenty laughs in the cinema too :agree:

26-03-2012, 06:01 AM
Went to see 21 Jump Street tonight.

Funny film, plenty laughs in the cinema too :agree:

I haven't laughed so much at the cinema in ages, the mouth fingering scene was hilarious :hilarious:

Lungo--Drom
10-05-2012, 07:45 PM
Black Swan is a brilliant film IMHO but I saw it the once at the cinema and that was enough. It was very well written but so much so that it was all too realistic a portrayal of someone going completely mad :O

[QUOTE=.sean.;3095123]Stayed in bed all day yesterday nursing a stinking hangover and had a bit of a 'Filmathon' - The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Vacancy, Black Swan and Jarhead - They were all pretty good.[/QUOTE

11-05-2012, 02:13 PM
Some more ...

"All That Jazz" - Scheider's best performance IMO.

Two of Burt Lancaster's - "Elmer Gantry" and "The Sweet Smell of Success".

And from Japan, Takeshi Kitano in "Hana-Bi".

And two of my favourite black-and-white classics - "Arsenic and Old Lace" and "Harvey".

Marabou Stork
12-05-2012, 12:40 AM
Some more ...

"All That Jazz" - Scheider's best performance IMO.

Two of Burt Lancaster's - "Elmer Gantry" and "The Sweet Smell of Success".

And from Japan, Takeshi Kitano in "Hana-Bi".

And two of my favourite black-and-white classics - "Arsenic and Old Lace" and "Harvey".

Splendid choices there sir, but the two Burt films in particular are real masterpieces.

'The Big Heat' for me tonight. Possibly Lee Marvin's finest moment in this poster's humble opinion.

Godsahibby
12-05-2012, 08:54 AM
I watched Dog Day Afternoon last night for the first time, Can't beliee I had never seen it before. Immense film, so well done.

Matty_Jack04
13-05-2012, 09:11 AM
anyone a netflix user that can recomend any on that worth a watch? ........if not i can see me cancelling the service

Matty_Jack04
13-05-2012, 09:12 AM
I haven't laughed so much at the cinema in ages, the mouth fingering scene was hilarious :hilarious:

watched this last night...hillarious well worth a watch

13-05-2012, 01:48 PM
The new American Pie was brilliant.

The Avengers? Pish, slept through the majority of it.

13-05-2012, 04:47 PM
American Pie The Reunion was good too.

Also watched Oldboy the other night for the first time, good little Korean thriller.

13-05-2012, 04:54 PM
anyone a netflix user that can recomend any on that worth a watch? ........if not i can see me cancelling the service

I took the free trial offer up and think it's a load of P if I'm honest, no way I'm keeping it. There are a few decent movies on there but it's old ones and I've seen them all before. Watched Righteous kill the other night and it was OK.

Matty_Jack04
13-05-2012, 07:25 PM
I took the free trial offer up and think it's a load of P if I'm honest, no way I'm keeping it. There are a few decent movies on there but it's old ones and I've seen them all before. Watched Righteous kill the other night and it was OK.

All iv used it for is tv progs really no worth the cash

14-05-2012, 12:28 AM
Splendid choices there sir, but the two Burt films in particular are real masterpieces.

'The Big Heat' for me tonight. Possibly Lee Marvin's finest moment in this poster's humble opinion.

Burt Lancaster was a truly great actor. Another personal favourite among his movies is is John Frankenheimer's "The Train"- IMO one of the best films about war (as opposed to "war-films") ever made.

Marabou Stork
14-05-2012, 01:45 AM
Burt Lancaster was a truly great actor. Another personal favourite among his movies is is John Frankenheimer's "The Train"- IMO one of the best films about war (as opposed to "war-films") ever made.

An excellent film.

It's difficult to choose between 'The Swimmer' and 'Sorry, Wrong Number' for me. As you say, a true great, and a very unsettling actor to watch when the grin kicks into full gear.

14-05-2012, 10:09 AM
The new American Pie was brilliant.

The Avengers? Pish, slept through the majority of it.

So it was pish despite not seeing the majority of it? Okaaaaaaaaaaaay :aok:

14-05-2012, 11:24 AM
I watched Buried at the weekend, the whole film is set in a coffin. Surprisingly good, I thought. :agree:

discman
14-05-2012, 12:29 PM
Moneyball best movie I've seen in a while!

14-05-2012, 04:24 PM
So it was pish despite not seeing the majority of it? Okaaaaaaaaaaaay :aok:

I watched the first half hour of it, and that put me to sleep. It was ****, like the vast majority of superhero movies. I only watched it as my mates were desperate to see it.

Hope that's okaaaaaaaaaaay with you? :aok:

Matty_Jack04
14-05-2012, 06:28 PM
I watched Buried at the weekend, the whole film is set in a coffin. Surprisingly good, I thought. :agree:

Quite liked that too, was a good film

KayleighHibees
18-05-2012, 09:10 PM
Scream 4.. Always a winner! :greengrin:greengrin

Minder
06-06-2012, 09:14 PM
Angels with Dirty Faces, classic Cagney.

06-06-2012, 09:18 PM
Get Him To The Greek is a lot better than I thought it'd be. Really really funny in parts, Puff Daddy/Diddy/whatever is pretty good in it.:agree:

GhostofBolivar
06-06-2012, 11:32 PM
The Raid (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uWlmhMSnVdM)

07-06-2012, 10:42 AM
I watched the first half hour of it, and that put me to sleep. It was ****, like the vast majority of superhero movies. I only watched it as my mates were desperate to see it.

Hope that's okaaaaaaaaaaay with you? :aok:

Sorry nope it is not ok to say a film is pish after watching 20% of the entire film. :aok:

07-06-2012, 06:35 PM
I watched probably the worst film I'll ever see the other week at the cinema - The Cabin In The Woods. Awful, just awful.

On the other hand, I watched The Prestige on Tuesday. Absolutely outstanding, best film I've seen in a while.

Also watched Friends With Benefits and The Social Network. Found both really enjoyable.

Mila Kunis, dear Lord!

07-06-2012, 09:46 PM
I watched probably the worst film I'll ever see the other week at the cinema - The Cabin In The Woods. Awful, just awful.

On the other hand, I watched The Prestige on Tuesday. Absolutely outstanding, best film I've seen in a while.

Also watched Friends With Benefits and The Social Network. Found both really enjoyable.

Mila Kunis, dear Lord!

Friends With Benefits is ****in great. And yes, Mila Kunis is a treat!

07-06-2012, 10:12 PM
Angels with Dirty Faces, classic Cagney.

Always always in my top five. A classic liberal fable.

VickMackie
07-06-2012, 11:29 PM
Recent films I've watched:

The Samaritan - samuel l Jackson. Pish.
Men in black 3 - good in bits - what you'd expect really with a nice ending.
Safe House - I enjoyed it but it was a typical CIA agent type film.
The Double - Richard Gere - an interesting film, nothing outstanding but enjoyable all the same.
Hugo - thought it was extremely boring.
Gone - really enjoyed that. Had read some poor reviews but it was a decent thriller.
Bad Ass - utter **** but has the guy from Machete so had to be watched!
Abduction - wolf guy from twilight. Film title is ahit because he's not even been abducted! Wouldnt recommend it.
96 minutes - reminded me of Crash from a few years back.
The Woman - its just wrong. :lol:
The divide - following a nuclear explosion some people are stuck in a cellar. The personalities deteriorate at the same rate as the film. A bit disturbing but probably a true reflection of people.
The Tunnel. An Australian Blair witch. In a tunnel.

Not a film but I just finished the 3rd series of justified. Expecting a 4th with that ending.

25-06-2012, 08:04 PM
The Devil's Advocate is starting on ITV2, worth watching if only for Charlize Theron :love ya!:

26-06-2012, 06:07 PM
missionary impossible 4.

S.sct
26-06-2012, 07:28 PM

Went to see this at the flicks without reading anything about it.....really good(and cheap to make) film considering the whole thing involves one guy, a box and a phone.

27-06-2012, 01:13 PM
missionary impossible 4.

Where's showing that then :greengrin.

Went to see this at the flicks without reading anything about it.....really good(and cheap to make) film considering the whole thing involves one guy, a box and a phone.

Sounds like my worst nightmare :worried:. (Not the film, the scenario).

27-06-2012, 01:25 PM

There was a snake in it too....that probably pushed the budget up a bit.:greengrin

VickMackie
27-06-2012, 07:01 PM
21 jump street. Quite funny, what you'd expect from the chubby one!

The Dictator - I was quite impressed. Something I would watch again for the enjoyment factor. Loved the speech at the end.

VickMackie
27-06-2012, 07:03 PM
Project X - just a mental house party. Quite funny in bits.

28-06-2012, 12:30 AM

Sounds like an underground version of Phonebooth, if there was a guy with a sniper in it too. :dunno: :greengrin

As i am off just now watched a fair few films last few days, all ones i have seen before though. Watched The Da Vinci Code and Angels and Demons. I used to think i'd hate them with all the churchness, but 2 amazing films! Then just been going through the teen/romantic comedies again. :greengrin :tee hee:

28-06-2012, 01:21 PM
Been to see Prometheus and Red Lights recently.

Prometheus was decent, but I hadn't actually realised it was an Alien prequel and I'm not really in to things ripping people's heads off etc.

Red Lights was very nearly a very good film. Until the last 10 mins.

01-07-2012, 10:35 AM
Dunno if this one has been mentioned already, but I watched Drive last night and it was superb.:agree:

StevesFamau5
01-07-2012, 01:05 PM
Iron Sky... Inglorious *******s meets independance day. Nazis on the moon try to invade earth again. Outstanding film. Brilliant satire and a pretty lead actress who makes a german accent sound sexy... Get involved :D

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

DrSpaceMonkey
02-07-2012, 08:18 PM
Watched lockout last night, was not bad bit of dodgy Scottish accent from one of the inmates.

yeezus.
03-07-2012, 03:23 PM
Hunger by Steve McQueen - brilliantly made, touching.

03-07-2012, 07:45 PM
Gran Torino.

03-07-2012, 07:49 PM
Hunger by Steve McQueen - brilliantly made, touching.

A few months before this came out I found out I'm (very) distantly related to Bobby Sands. He was my grans cousins son.

Good film too.

thekaratekid
03-07-2012, 08:10 PM
I watched The Lives of Others a couple of days ago.

Best film I have seen in a long time!

VickMackie
03-07-2012, 09:05 PM

What's that about again?

yeezus.
03-07-2012, 09:27 PM
A few months before this came out I found out I'm (very) distantly related to Bobby Sands. He was my grans cousins son.

Good film too.

What's your take on him? I personally admire the 10 hunger strikers.. but that may not go down to well on here.

thekaratekid
03-07-2012, 09:53 PM
What's that about again?

The East German secret police

03-07-2012, 10:48 PM
Enemy at the gates was a good watch on Film4 last night.

Highly recommend 16 Blocks with Bruce Willis. :aok::agree:

03-07-2012, 11:02 PM
What's your take on him? I personally admire the 10 hunger strikers.. but that may not go down to well on here.

I'm far from an expert on the subject, but from what I do know and have read about, I'd say that while what he/they did in the end was something I could never do and took massive amounts of dedication to their cause....I just can't admire him. He was, and they were, in jail for good reason, they were convicted terrorists. I don't really think I could ever admire someone for attempting to become a martyr. He wanted to be seen as a political prisoner but, the fact is, he was convicted of an actual crime.

But all thats more than slightly off topic on this thread!

03-07-2012, 11:05 PM
Enemy at the gates was a good watch on Film4 last night.

Aye its a decent film. The wee Russian boy should have quit while he was ahead.....:wink:

04-07-2012, 12:27 AM
Gran Torino that's been mentioned is quality! Watched another of Clint Eastwood's films tonight, In the Line of Fire. Seen it loads of times but love it, great film. Watched The Fugitive last night again with Harrison Ford, another really good film.

Also watched Shutter Island for the first time recently. Very well made and a good film.

yeezus.
04-07-2012, 10:17 AM
I'm far from an expert on the subject, but from what I do know and have read about, I'd say that while what he/they did in the end was something I could never do and took massive amounts of dedication to their cause....I just can't admire him. He was, and they were, in jail for good reason, they were convicted terrorists. I don't really think I could ever admire someone for attempting to become a martyr. He wanted to be seen as a political prisoner but, the fact is, he was convicted of an actual crime.

But all thats more than slightly off topic on this thread!

Fair enough.

Aye a wee bit - but Hunger and The Weatherman with Nicholas Cage - both great films I bought recently.

04-07-2012, 12:16 PM
Iron Sky... Inglorious *******s meets independance day. Nazis on the moon try to invade earth again. Outstanding film. Brilliant satire and a pretty lead actress who makes a german accent sound sexy... Get involved :D

agreed very unusual but enjoyable.

DanHFC1875
04-07-2012, 03:44 PM
Jaws is pretty good, it is about this big mental shark that tries to scran everyone, he's quite successful in his main aim, initially!! Dunno if anyone has seen it :s

StevesFamau5
04-07-2012, 03:49 PM
Jaws is pretty good, it is about this big mental shark that tries to scran everyone, he's quite successful in his main aim, initially!! Dunno if anyone has seen it :s

We're gonna need a bigger thread :D

DanHFC1875
04-07-2012, 03:53 PM
Haha He's just a well oiled machine, he swin
Ms, eats and makes little baby sharks, that's it!

Marabou Stork
07-07-2012, 11:09 PM

I don't know why, but I can't stop laughing at this. Really top work there sir.

thebigman1875
12-07-2012, 04:20 PM
Eden Lake to name one, british film horror/thriller rather good. 2008 also 50 dead men walking and The Glass House, Chloe, Untraceable, loads more but got to get some work done !

VickMackie
12-07-2012, 06:09 PM
Get the gringo.

Not great, 3 or 4 out of 10. Was tempted to switch it off but it was getting late and didn't have time to watch another full film!

GhostofBolivar
13-07-2012, 02:51 AM
So they showed the new Judge Dredd (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CbCfqGsXu3M) film at Comic Con in San Diego yesterday and it seems to have gone down well.

It's out on the 7th of September. Can't wait :hyper:

13-07-2012, 08:43 AM
Some films I have found over years to be interesting at least. (Enjoyed really)

Cannibal Holocaust (only if fully uncut)
House on edge of the park (fully uncut)
Last House on left (orig)
Rabid
Scanners
Videodrome
Dawn of the dead (orig).

VickMackie
13-07-2012, 08:50 AM
Street smart - 1987 film - watched that last night with Morgan freeman and Christopher Reeves. Thought it was quite good.

About a reporter who makes up a story about a pimp and spirals out of control when the law think its a pimp on trial for murder.

26-07-2012, 01:08 PM
Just watched The Green Mile for the first time, never really fancied it before, what an amazing film, thoroughly enjoyed it.

27-07-2012, 09:22 PM
Submarine and The Guard are two great films.

Andy Bee
29-07-2012, 01:53 AM
Watched Ted tonight, it certainly wasn't anything like I was expecting, I'd rate it in the top 5 funniest films I've ever watched :agree:

VickMackie
29-07-2012, 06:53 AM
Submarine and The Guard are two great films.

The guard is outstanding. Little known film but the humour is excellent.

29-07-2012, 07:50 AM
I just noticed The Hill is on one of the cable channels over the w-end, one of my all time favs.

SJNB Hibby
01-08-2012, 11:12 PM
The Hidden-Kyle NcLachlan is just perfect, and it's got my all time favourite line from a movie:
"You see I knew that was all very wierd-I just wanted to make sure YOU knew"

Dark City

Finnish movie -TIC-TOC
Dutch Movie-The Vanished

Couple of Canadian Movies-Last Night(with Sandra Oh, and just about every other Canadian that acts) and Dead Ringers-Jeremy Irons should have won the Oscar

And Big Night, with Ian Holm

02-08-2012, 01:57 PM
Take Shelter, odd film, I thoroughly enjoyed it but was disappointed with the ending, still can't figure out what it means, but perhaps I should define that as a positive as it does leave you thinking about not only the ending but the whole film for a while.

Real Steel - superb stuff, Hugh Jackman and fighting robots, do I need to elaborate?!!

Tyrannosaur - Quite heavy subject matter and uncomfortable to watch in places but Mullan is superb, a film of violence and utter self destruction, although that doesn't define the film or the script, it's much more than that. Would defo recommend it, probably have to be in the right mood to watch it though!

Edit: Forgot to mention the 2 I had actually meant to post about!

Rampart: Thought this was good, Woody Harrelson was almost too good at this, basically about a corrupt/old school cop in LA who gets caught beating the crap out of someone, then follows his trial by media etc, it's mainly a character driven story which I'm usually not a fan of but I enjoyed this one!

Another Earth: Story is about a girl who drives whilst under the influence and wrecks a family, another earth appears in the solar system and a competition is run to go to it, she sees this as a good opportunity to escape everything which happened, quite a good story, I was so looking forward to this film and was a wee bit disappointed with it, but that always happens when you build something up.

Prometheus: Looking forward to this film since it was announced, utter waste of money, looked utterly stunning, stunning visuals etc but awful awful film, gutted.

VickMackie
02-08-2012, 05:21 PM
Watched Ted tonight, it certainly wasn't anything like I was expecting, I'd rate it in the top 5 funniest films I've ever watched :agree:

No one has ever spoke to me like that.

That's because everyone's mouth is full of your wife's box

:faf: :faf: :faf:

I was almost in tears.

02-08-2012, 09:05 PM
Cannae believe nobody's suggested 2001: A Space Odyssey. Would also add: This is Spinal Tap, Life of Brian, Little Miss Sunshine and O Brother Where Art Thou? Heima by Sigur Ros is a quality music film.

SJNB Hibby
02-08-2012, 10:57 PM
Well of course the Life of Brian, I mean the Life of Brian's bleedin obvious innit!!! But apart from Life of Brian, The Search for the Holy Grail, and The Meaning of Life, what other decent films are there????

A Fish Called Wanda?

Oh Shuttup!!!

02-08-2012, 11:04 PM
Ted was tremendous haven't laughed so much in ages!!!

06-08-2012, 06:47 PM
Ted was tremendous haven't laughed so much in ages!!!
We'd been for dinner and pints before we went to see it. Idiot here fell asleep during the film :rolleyes:

Watched 'Philadelphia' starring Tom Hanks last night. Very, very good :agree:

06-08-2012, 09:10 PM
4 Lions :thumbsup: funny as.

07-08-2012, 07:45 AM
Watched Hard boiled sweets the other night, theres 90 minutes i wont get back. :rolleyes:

VickMackie
07-08-2012, 08:17 AM
I started watching it and fell asleep.

07-08-2012, 09:23 AM
Cannae believe nobody's suggested 2001: A Space Odyssey. Would also add: This is Spinal Tap, Life of Brian, Little Miss Sunshine and O Brother Where Art Thou? Heima by Sigur Ros is a quality music film.

I don't see the appeal of 2001: A Space Odyssey. It gets a bit more 'pretentious art project' than a film at times. I get that it was ahead of its time, and the idea of AI become self aware is a good one, but the film bored me so much.

07-08-2012, 08:02 PM
I don't see the appeal of 2001: A Space Odyssey. It gets a bit more 'pretentious art project' than a film at times. I get that it was ahead of its time, and the idea of AI become self aware is a good one, but the film bored me so much.

And where about in my post did I say that I'm not pretentious, likes? :greengrin I get that - I didn't like it the first time I saw it. It's well and truly won me over since, though.

Sexton
07-08-2012, 09:14 PM
Buffalo 66 is a great film.

07-08-2012, 10:03 PM
Saw the Dark Night Rises on Sunday. Thought it was amazing, really great film.

Saw another class film tonight, Ted was absolutely hilarious. One of the funniest films i have ever seen, highly recommend it. The whole cinema were pissing themselves whole way through. Plus Mila Kunis is in it. :greengrin

EDIT: Agree with above comments on Ted. Sean get back to the cinema and stay awake this time, how could you fall asleep with Mila on screen? :eek: :greengrin

**** off thunder..........been singing that all night. :thumbsup: :faf:

08-08-2012, 02:13 AM
Anyone seen Wild Bill? Watched it on plane was ok viewing

19-08-2012, 01:53 PM
Expendables 2, its worth seeing for Chuck Norris alone!!!

Rossco1875
19-08-2012, 05:05 PM
Expendables 2, its worth seeing for Chuck Norris alone!!!

Seen this myself on Friday much better than the first one the chuck norris quotes were hilarious:greengrin

20-08-2012, 03:35 PM
Downloaded and watched The Cabin in the Woods last night. Really liked it. Wish I'd gone to see it in the cinema.

20-08-2012, 08:34 PM
Downloaded and watched The Cabin in the Woods last night. Really liked it. Wish I'd gone to see it in the cinema.

I seen it at the Cinema and really disliked it.

21-08-2012, 10:20 AM
The Lives of Others - http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0405094/ - is OUTSTANDING! :agree:

I cannot believe others haven't mentioned it. It is superb.

21-08-2012, 11:51 AM
Some films I have found over years to be interesting at least. (Enjoyed really)

Cannibal Holocaust (only if fully uncut)
House on edge of the park (fully uncut)
Last House on left (orig)
Rabid
Scanners
Videodrome
Dawn of the dead (orig).

Cannibal Holocaust is an excellent film; completely different from what I expected, which is probably why I enjoyed it so much. I haven't seen the orignal black and white Dawn of the Dead but own the G. Romero 90's remake which is still pretty good.

21-08-2012, 11:54 AM
Tyrannosaur - Quite heavy subject matter and uncomfortable to watch in places but Mullan is superb, a film of violence and utter self destruction, although that doesn't define the film or the script, it's much more than that. Would defo recommend it, probably have to be in the right mood to watch it though!

Difficult viewing but it had me gripped all the way through. :agree:

BarneyK
21-08-2012, 11:54 AM
Cannibal Holocaust is an excellent film; completely different from what I expected, which is probably why I enjoyed it so much. I haven't seen the orignal black and white Dawn of the Dead but own the G. Romero 90's remake which is still pretty good.

The original Dawn of the Dead was in glorious technicolour. It was Night of the Living Dead that was originally in Black and White. Both fantastic films. :aok:

21-08-2012, 11:56 AM
I finally got around to watching The Devil's Advocate on Sunday night - great film. I remember a while ago having a discussion on here with someone who thought Keanu Reeves couldn't act; I take it that you haven't seen this film yet? :wink:

21-08-2012, 05:05 PM
I finally got around to watching The Devil's Advocate on Sunday night - great film. I remember a while ago having a discussion on here with someone who thought Keanu Reeves couldn't act; I take it that you haven't seen this film yet? :wink:
I love it. One of my favourites. Very under-rated.

Charlize Theron in it aswell, BONUS.

21-08-2012, 05:50 PM
I love it. One of my favourites. Very under-rated.

Charlize Theron in the buff as well, double bonus.

VickMackie
21-08-2012, 06:40 PM
I cannot believe others haven't mentioned it. It is superb.

I watched this after reading the review but think I'd seen it before. Great film.

Is there an English remake?

Also watched Videodrome after reading a post here. Wish I didn't.

VickMackie
21-08-2012, 06:43 PM
The original dawn of the dead is one of my favourite films. I remember watching it when I was about ten and it took me years to find out what it was.

Got a hold of the original and still love it. Really impressed with the new version as well.

I downloaded cannibal holocaust but no hard coded subs so had to put it off.

22-08-2012, 11:46 AM

Also, is it just me or was Al Pacino born to play that kind of role? :wink:

Marabou Stork
22-08-2012, 08:10 PM
Buffalo 66 is a great film.

A decent film. Vincent Gallo is a dick though. I also think it prudent to mention that I'm in love with Christina Ricci.

22-08-2012, 10:24 PM
Just seen The Dark Knight Rises.

Conclusion of the best trilogy since The Godfather films for me.

Matty_Jack04
29-08-2012, 12:19 PM
Watched a film called defience on Monday with Daniel Craig in it very good film and a true story

Hibee Ryan
29-08-2012, 12:59 PM
Just finished watching The Guard starring Brendan Gleeson, hilarious movie :faf::faf: