View Full Version : Yams A wee gem from a jambo unionist, lord pishstain of ****fuddery
huggie1875
28-01-2012, 02:52 PM
A wee gem from a jambo unionist, lord pishstain of ****fuddery-
Lord George Foulkes : “The SNP are on a very dangerous tack. What they are doing is trying to build up a situation in Scotland where the services are manifestly better than south of the border in a number of areas.”
Interviewer Colin Mackay:”Is that a bad thing?”
Lord George Foulkes: “No, but they are doing it deliberately.”!!:faf:
SurferRosa
28-01-2012, 03:49 PM
Lord George Foulkes : “The SNP are on a very dangerous tack. What they are doing is trying to build up a situation in Scotland where the services are manifestly better than south of the border in a number of areas.”
:faf::faf::faf:......that man is a total arse
28-01-2012, 03:55 PM
:faf::faf::faf:......that man is a total arse
He was probably gassed at the time.
ancienthibby
28-01-2012, 04:54 PM
You are a very very bad man for posting that!:greengrin
It now means that the wee ODS person will be on these boards for the rest of the weekend spouting his Labour Party apparatchik nonsense:aok::faf:
28-01-2012, 04:58 PM
You are a very very bad man for posting that!:greengrin
It now means that the wee ODS person will be on these boards for the rest of the weekend spouting his Labour Party appartarchik nonsense:aok::faf:
Unlike your slavish child like devotion to all things SNP you mean?
ancienthibby
28-01-2012, 05:02 PM
Unlike your slavish child like devotion to all things SNP you mean?
Slavish to Scottish independence, if you please!:thumbsup:
da-robster
28-01-2012, 05:32 PM
This is exactly the problem with the independence debate (and the AV referendum before it) people are arguing over personality's who hold views not the views themselves. I mean why argue about Scotland's future when you can link to something stupid Salmond or Foulkes said 5 years ago. To think we've got 2 and a half more years.
28-01-2012, 09:48 PM
:faf: Lord Feckwitt is surely ready to take on the job of steering the Yams?
28-01-2012, 10:14 PM
Foulkes is an :asshole: but this happened about 4 years ago did it not? Why bring it up again now? :confused:
29-01-2012, 08:41 AM
This is exactly the problem with the independence debate (and the AV referendum before it) people are arguing over personality's who hold views not the views themselves. I mean why argue about Scotland's future when you can link to something stupid Salmond or Foulkes said 5 years ago. To think we've got 2 and a half more years.
Great post and something for us all to remember.
29-01-2012, 09:19 AM
Foulkes is an :asshole: but this happened about 4 years ago did it not? Why bring it up again now? :confused:
Probably because he is still an arse and it is always worth reminding people.
29-01-2012, 10:51 AM
Slavish to Scottish independence, if you please!:thumbsup:
I'm Scottish. I live in Scotland. I sound Scottish. I quite like some of Scotland.
How will my life change if Scotland breaks away from Wales, Ireland and England?
29-01-2012, 10:58 AM
I'm Scottish. I live in Scotland. I sound Scottish. I quite like some of Scotland.
How will my life change if Scotland breaks away from Wales, Ireland and England?
Aye , it all about you Radge , its all about you :flag:
29-01-2012, 11:37 AM
Aye , it all about you Radge , its all about you :flag:
:faf: Oooh how enigmatic. :rolleyes:
You have no answer to a straight forward question. I'm not surprised.
What is it about if it's not about the people?
If the supporters of independence can't explain the tangible benefits of their plan, how can they expect to win over undecided people like me?
Oh sorry, that was about me again.
29-01-2012, 06:26 PM
Good shout. Today we have Michelle Mone saying she will leave Scotland if it was a Yes vote. No doubt each side will be digging out "celebs" to publicly support whatever cause. I'm sure Paul Daniels, Phil Collins etc have all vowed to leave the UK if xyz happens.
This should be about the issues. Bad enough when in the hands of the politicians but please spare us from declarations of self interest from public figures, like Connery and Mone.
30-01-2012, 07:39 AM
:faf: Oooh how enigmatic. :rolleyes:
You have no answer to a straight forward question. I'm not surprised.
What is it about if it's not about the people?
If the supporters of independence can't explain the tangible benefits of their plan, how can they expect to win over undecided people like me?
Oh sorry, that was about me again.
Why should he answer your question, your question wasn't related to his post. If you want the answers on independence you are unlikely to find them on a hibs forum. Read a book/search the web/whater, find the answers for yourself!
I mean would you really base your views on what someone anonymously told you on hibs.net.
If you care that much about the question I find it highly unlikely.
30-01-2012, 07:43 AM
Good shout. Today we have Michelle Mone saying she will leave Scotland if it was a Yes vote. No doubt each side will be digging out "celebs" to publicly support whatever cause. I'm sure Paul Daniels, Phil Collins etc have all vowed to leave the UK if xyz happens.
This should be about the issues. Bad enough when in the hands of the politicians but please spare us from declarations of self interest from public figures, like Connery and Mone.
Agreed, and this applies to both sides.
It's bad enough two faced politicians telling us what to think without them trotting out publicity mad figures like Mone.
30-01-2012, 01:07 PM
Agreed, and this applies to both sides.
It's bad enough two faced politicians telling us what to think without them trotting out publicity mad figures like Mone.
Presumably you think she was moaning her tits off?
30-01-2012, 01:54 PM
Presumably you think she was moaning her tits off?
I think she said she'll move her business down south because it will go tits up if we gain independence. She might also have added pure dead wrong so it is.
30-01-2012, 06:21 PM
I think there's a huge difference between the likes of Connery (who doesn't live here, presumably doesn't pay taxes and is unlikely to ever return and so who would not be affected either way) and Mone (who is a tax-paying, employer businesswoman who would clearly be affected). However I think I heard yesterday that her quote was from a few years ago, possibly in relation to the promised referendum in the last Parliament.
30-01-2012, 06:25 PM
I think she said she'll move her business down south because it will go tits up if we gain independence. She might also have added pure dead wrong so it is.
Given that her factory is in China, does she mean she will move it down south to India?:confused:
30-01-2012, 07:12 PM
If you want the answers on independence you are unlikely to find them on a hibs forum. Read a book/search the web/whater, find the answers for yourself!
I mean would you really base your views on what someone anonymously told you on hibs.net.
If you care that much about the question I find it highly unlikely.
To turn that round, those on here who support independence presumably care enough to have considered the proposals in some detail and should therefore be able to answer questions. Maybe not authoritatively, but at least explaining how they arrived at their decision.
30-01-2012, 10:23 PM
To turn that round, those on here who support independence presumably care enough to have considered the proposals in some detail and should therefore be able to answer questions. Maybe not authoritatively, but at least explaining how they arrived at their decision.
If you start out with the view that independence is the answer regardless of the question or the consequences then you're maybe not going to be too bothered about being able to rationally justify it.
31-01-2012, 06:47 AM
If you start out with the view that independence is the answer regardless of the question or the consequences then you're maybe not going to be too bothered about being able to rationally justify it.
Some things are a heart decision. We're all Hibbies for example and that has definately nothing to do with rationality.
Twa Cairpets
31-01-2012, 07:12 AM
Some things are a heart decision. We're all Hibbies for example and that has definately nothing to do with rationality.
Yes. But being a Hibby doesn't, generally, affect tax rates, public services, defence, transport etc.
To make the decision based on " heart" rather than rationality is equally erroneous be you pro or anti independence.
31-01-2012, 08:52 AM
Yes. But being a Hibby doesn't, generally, affect tax rates, public services, defence, transport etc.
To make the decision based on " heart" rather than rationality is equally erroneous be you pro or anti independence.
Getting married has serious financial implications but is still a decision that should be made from the heart.
All I'm saying is that for many (yes me included) it's not only a logical and calculated decision, but also a matter of passion and IMHO there is absolutely nothing wrong with that.
There are many valid pro and contra reasons for or against independance and I suppose it still all comes down to what values each individual holds.
I'd much rather have a Scottish government making decisions on behalf of Scotland than a Westminster government making decisions that are wrong for Scotland because they are right for the rest of the UK.
Twa Cairpets
31-01-2012, 09:36 PM
Getting married has serious financial implications but is still a decision that should be made from the heart.
All I'm saying is that for many (yes me included) it's not only a logical and calculated decision, but also a matter of passion and IMHO there is absolutely nothing wrong with that.
There are many valid pro and contra reasons for or against independance and I suppose it still all comes down to what values each individual holds.
I'd much rather have a Scottish government making decisions on behalf of Scotland than a Westminster government making decisions that are wrong for Scotland because they are right for the rest of the UK.
Yep, all fair points.
I think the point I was making is that if the arguments are solely or even primarily based on Braveheart-esque appeal to patriotism from the pro-camp or negative fear-mongering from the anti's, then that decision runs the risk of being flawed.
I agree that there needs to be an emotional link with the decision, probably especially for pro-independence as once any positive decision is made we need to have the national cahoonas to make it work, and that requires a belief and drive that backs up the practicalities.
I'm in a weird position myself, emotionally I'm pro, but still getting skelfs from the fence I'm on when looking at the practical implications.
31-01-2012, 11:20 PM
I'm in a weird position myself, emotionally I'm pro, but still getting skelfs from the fence I'm on when looking at the practical implications.
Exactly where I am.
If there were convincing economic arguments for independence, it would be an easy decision for me.
However, there haven't been any persuasive economic arguments so I don't really see the point.
Woo hoo, we're a sovereign nation. I'm skint, but at least my country can solely determine how skint I am.
Doesn't float my boat, I'm afraid, and that's the SNP's problem.
They want independence regardless of the economics.
01-02-2012, 01:31 AM
Difficult to say whether an independent Scotland would be better or worse off. A bit like asking whether Norway and Sweden would be economically on sounder footing as a Union.
Ultimately it'll be the state of the global economy and the type of policies followed by a UK or a Scottish government which determines the levels of prosperity.
Basically nobody does know and nobody can know, so speculation is inherently nonsense.
Exactly where I am.
If there were convincing economic arguments for independence, it would be an easy decision for me.
However, there haven't been any persuasive economic arguments so I don't really see the point.
Woo hoo, we're a sovereign nation. I'm skint, but at least my country can solely determine how skint I am.
Doesn't float my boat, I'm afraid, and that's the SNP's problem.
They want independence regardless of the economics.
I know its hardly convincing bit I can't help thinking that financially, despite what is said elsewhere, if Scotland relied on the UK to stay solvent the mercenaries in London would have cut us loose at the first opportunity.
That's not to taking into account the biggest mercenaries of the lot are the most likely to profit politically from jetisoning those pesky Scots.
So there's little doubt in my mind Scotland would be wealthier than it is now. We just don't know how that money would be spent.
Found this on finances that you will, I did, find interesting
www.newsnetscotland.com/index.php/scottish-economy/4235-would-an-independent-scotland-be-financially-sound