View Full Version : Yams Salmond tries to flog yams to Qatar

22-01-2012, 09:12 AM
Can't believe my eyes today in the Mail it's said that the first minister tried to sell the club to the Qatar royal family, how bad and desperate is this?

I'm a Nat but they have lost my vote on this, shocking really the people of Edinburgh who don't support this mob have the watch this cretin while he goes around with a begging bowl to try and sell the yams.

I'd like to know if he would do the same for us in a similar situation....god forbid

22-01-2012, 09:27 AM
Let me get this straight.

We're in the middle of a global recession, Scotland has plenty problems of its own (eg health) and he's pressing for independence, yet Salmond is taking time out of an important official visit to seek investment in renewable energy so that he can pimp his hoofball team? Everyone in Scotland, regardless of their politics, has been let down by this action.

justlikebrazil
22-01-2012, 09:32 AM
Can't believe my eyes today in the Mail it's said that the first minister tried to sell the club to the Qatar royal family, how bad and desperate is this?

I'm a Nat but they have lost my vote on this, shocking really the people of Edinburgh who don't support this mob have the watch this cretin while he goes around with a begging bowl to try and sell the yams.

I'd like to know if he would do the same for us in a similar situation....god forbid

He can't stick his independence vote up his fat Jambo arse now!!

22-01-2012, 09:35 AM
IMHO Salmond is a vile man and is everything that is wrong with politics.

A smary smug faced trout.

22-01-2012, 09:35 AM
Isn't STF a major funder/supporter of the SNP? That could be an interesting conversation.

22-01-2012, 09:38 AM
I wish he'd try to flog them to a dictatorship as far away as possible. They could then relocate the franchise somewhere fitting their status. Burma or North Korea would do.

22-01-2012, 09:42 AM
This is the man that some want to lead us into independence?

Can you if imagine a UK Prime Minister, of whatever persuasion, tried to flog a Premiership club abroad because they had been mis-managed for decades?

SNP - amateur hour.

22-01-2012, 09:44 AM
Is there a link to this anywhere please?

22-01-2012, 09:45 AM
So he's using taxpayers money to get investment into his corrupt team

I wonder what's next

22-01-2012, 09:46 AM
I heard this on the radio this morning...couldn't believe it.
Others are spot on....we're in the middle of a recession and this end piece asks them if they fancy buying the yams ?......any credibility we may have had was surely washed away in a heartbeat.
Apparantly Fatty foulkes instigated it...and asked his pal to ask the arabs......unbelievable

22-01-2012, 09:47 AM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/politics-news/2012/01/22/alex-salmond-tried-to-get-qatar-royal-family-to-buy-hearts-86908-23711444/

Brebners Bookie
22-01-2012, 09:47 AM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/2012/01/22/alex-salmond-tried-to-get-qatar-royal-family-to-buy-hearts-86908-23711444/

considering it was in the record i was expecting it to be built on some off the cuff, probably sarcastic, remark. Seems to be true though, bizarre.

Twiglet
22-01-2012, 09:50 AM
Isn't STF a major funder/supporter of the SNP? That could be an interesting conversation.

Yes he is. I thknk you're right spike, couls make for an interesting conversation.

nomad
22-01-2012, 09:52 AM
How can anyone believe a word that a tabloid that hates the SNP is beyond me

22-01-2012, 09:53 AM

There are quotes from Salmond (from a letter to Fatty Foulkes). Are you saying the story is false?

22-01-2012, 09:55 AM
Massive own goal from Salmond. I'm a nat voter, but this type of stuff really grates with me and I will certainly have a long hard think about who gets my vote now.

Who else has he been sounding out, rather than getting with his real job?

22-01-2012, 09:56 AM

How anyone can believe anything that **** salmond says is beyond me.
If he said today was Sunday I would check the calender

22-01-2012, 09:56 AM

Can you if imagine a UK Prime Minister, of whatever persuasion, tried to flog a Premiership club abroad because they had been mis-managed for decades?

SNP - amateur hour.

There must be plenty like me who support independence but can't stand Salmond. The only thing that surprises me about this is how easily he has left himself open to attack over it. I may not like him but he is generally a pretty slick polical operator.

22-01-2012, 09:57 AM

Yes, they hate the SNP, but there are quotes in there. Id love to hear the SNP deny it or give reasons for even engaging in the conversation.

Minder
22-01-2012, 10:02 AM
North Korea would do.
They could then win the Korean war for which there has been no official peace treaty. On a serious note though this has been doing the rounds for weeks. If Salmond was trying to get oil money to buy the fuds good on him. Who wouldnt do same if they could. Shows he cares about the club he supports. But it wont happen, if oil money coming in to SPL it is going west not east.

22-01-2012, 10:04 AM
There must be plenty like me who support independence but can't stand Salmond. The only thing that surprises me about this is how easily he has left himself open to attack over it. I may not like him but he is generally a pretty slick polical operator.
He has a large political majority up here and so thinks he can do as he pleases.

Arrogance comes easily to our Alex!

22-01-2012, 10:08 AM

:agree: Despite my username I have massive issues with the SNP.

22-01-2012, 10:25 AM
I voted the SNP last time, but they have wasted money hand over fist, so no vote from me next time and no Independence if this is the standard of the clowns that would run an independent Scotland.

Black Kyle
22-01-2012, 10:44 AM
While I like Eck and the way he can put down or rebutt Unionist politicians, this on the face of it seems a bit askew from his role as FM. Having said that I'd probably do the same to 'save' my club.

Insensitive, crass and conflict of roles at its worst - don't less this alone impact on how you would vote in a referendum over 2 years away. Independence is the first step towards a more just and fair Scotland, nothing's going to change with the Brit Unionists in power.

22-01-2012, 10:45 AM
This is a second bloody nose for me!

Firstly, they will have cut the Further Education sector by a staggering 45% come 2014 - sitting at 27% cut right now! They have refunded the University sector and given them extra funding to the tune of 45% come 2014! No job losses they said in FE?? Currently the college I work in has lost 30% of its staff with another round of 'volunteer' redundancies to come!!

Now Hearts! Enough is enough they can get ti fu!

22-01-2012, 10:49 AM
While I like Eck and the way he can put down or rebutt Unionist politicians, this on the face of it seems a bit askew from his role as FM. Having said that I'd probably do the same to 'save' my club.

Insensitive, crass and conflict of roles at its worst - don't less this alone impact on how you would vote in a referendum over 2 years away. Independence is the first step towards a more just and fair Scotland, nothing's going to change with the Brit Unionists in power.

Head over to the Holy Ground and enlighten us all on how Scotland will be "more just and fair" cos no-one's come up with the answer yet.

22-01-2012, 10:52 AM

I would not Trust Wee Eck to run a sweetie shop let a lone an Independant Scotland.

He may be a quick thinker and able to provide rebutts for stupid questions so could Billy Connolly but can he run a country? SNP have had years and years to provide answers for there sole aim of Independence yet they cannot answer simple fundemental questions on Referendums, Europe, the Euro, Defence, Subsidies for farmers, Fisherman etc etc What have they been planning for over the last how many years?

22-01-2012, 10:54 AM
This is a second bloody nose for me!

Firstly, they will have cut the Further Education sector by a staggering 45% come 2014 - sitting at 27% cut right now! They have refunded the University sector and given them extra funding to the tune of 45% come 2014! No job losses they said in FE?? Currently the college I work in has lost 30% of its staff with another round of 'volunteer' redundancies to come!!

Now Hearts! Enough is enough they can get ti fu!

Look on them as the bitter pill medicine to solve the underlying problem we have of subservience to England. Other than very minority parties, if you don't vote SNP, your choice is right of center Labour (they seem to be coming round to thinking that the Blair way was a good way), the even more right of centre Libdems (who don't want to be, but any chance of some smidgeon of power seems to suit them now, even if it means forgetting about what you've always stood for, and putting your tongue in some unsavoury places), or the Tories, currently sitting somewhere to the right of Maggie Thatcher.

Free Scotland, and our own political make-up will finally have a chance to mature.

22-01-2012, 11:06 AM
Massive own goal from Salmond. I'm a nat voter, but this type of stuff really grates with me and I will certainly have a long hard think about who gets my vote now.

Who else has he been sounding out, rather than getting with his real job?

Spot on :agree:

I'll now re-think things too. I saw Colin Fox the other week at the East End talking about things and ive always admired his style. I may now move my vote back to the Socialists.
Ive no time for what Salmond has done. Its wrong and he has to know this. CLOWN!:agree:

22-01-2012, 11:16 AM
Let me get this straight.

We're in the middle of a global recession, Scotland has plenty problems of its own (eg health) and he's pressing for independence, yet Salmond is taking time out of an important official visit to seek investment in renewable energy so that he can pimp his hoofball team? Everyone in Scotland, regardless of their politics, has been let down by this action.

:rolleyes: If it's in that rag it must be true ... :yawn:

22-01-2012, 11:19 AM
Spot on :agree:

I'll now re-think things too. I saw Colin Fox the other week at the East End talking about things and ive always admired his style. I may now move my vote back to the Socialists. Ma
Ive no time for what Salmond has done. Its wrong and he has to know this. CLOWN!:agree:

Salmond is making too many errors of judgement. How could anyone trust him to run an independent country?

A dangerous man.

22-01-2012, 11:21 AM
I heard this on the radio this morning...couldn't believe it.
Others are spot on....we're in the middle of a recession and this end piece asks them if they fancy buying the yams ?......any credibility we may have had was surely washed away in a heartbeat.
Apparantly Fatty foulkes instigated it...and asked his pal to ask the arabs......unbelievable

Is this Dundee United doing a Wallace Mercer? :wink:

22-01-2012, 11:23 AM

Well there's direct quotes out a letter from Fat Eck to Fat George in it. I'm sure there would have been a denial by now if those quotes weren't correct.

22-01-2012, 11:30 AM
Salmond is making too many errors of judgement. How could anyone trust him to run an independent country?

A dangerous man.

You're going to have to point me in the direction of recent leaders of our wonderful UK who haven't made rather more serious errors of judgement than touting his football team.

22-01-2012, 11:40 AM
You're going to have to point me in the direction of recent leaders of our wonderful UK who haven't made rather more serious errors of judgement than touting his football team.

I love parlour games.

OK I'll start - William Gladstone?

22-01-2012, 11:41 AM
I love parlour games.

OK I'll start - William Gladstone?

He may be recent for you ...

22-01-2012, 11:49 AM
WTF is this all about?

I have long thought it obvious that the Nats were a bunch of deluded erchies glued together solely by a fantastic spin machine but with the undeniable merit of a leader in Salmond who appeared to be a top drawer politician. This however is pure amateur hour.

What work has he been doing on behalf of the various other cash strapped clubs in Scootland - how is he trying to help Dundee, or Arbroath or Hamilton? Answer: he's not. So what makes him think its ok to use taxpayer's time and money and to use the public office of First Minister to try to advance the commercial interests of just one club, which happens to be the club he supports?

This is what happens when politicians drunk on power start to believe their own BS and think they can do whatever they want. The teflon comes off and we all end up paying the price.

If he thought it was ok to be doing this, what else has he been up to that we don't know about yet?

22-01-2012, 11:50 AM

How about a recent leader of the Scottish Parliament? Donald Dewar

22-01-2012, 12:05 PM

SNP - amateur hour.

Correct.

Would never vote for him or his party in the first place but hopefully this kind of thing will show him and his party up for what they really are.

22-01-2012, 12:06 PM

Direct quotes, it's true.

Similarly, Scotland should not do deals with countries with horrible human rights records like China, when every other country approached beforehand has told them to GTF - it makes this country look pathetic and desperate.

The SNP are cancerous to the future of this nation. I'm not 100% against the idea of independance, but if Scotland gains independance under the SNP/Salmond then we're absolutely ****ed.

22-01-2012, 12:07 PM

Good call - but - didn't he design an electoral system in Scotland specifically to keep the Nats out of unbridled power? That went well ...

22-01-2012, 12:11 PM
If it was Hibs would everyone be protesting so much?

Quite right I think, although I'm not sure a Scottish club will ever have the attraction an English or Welsh one will

Most politicians say that football clubs should be kept alive for 'the community' etc

I don't see anything wrong in having a word about getting a backer whilst in a wealthy country

EasterRoad4Ever
22-01-2012, 12:16 PM

So he's on official ministerial business trip (on public expenses) and promoting a private company ? That's illegal.... so fits in perfectly with the Yam ethic :wink: Once we're an independent nation, he'll be able to beaf up his proposition with the offer of arms and a few cans of IrnBru.

22-01-2012, 12:17 PM
Good call - but - didn't he design an electoral system in Scotland specifically to keep the Nats out of unbridled power? That went well ...

Massive disappointment to me, even trying to put aside the Hibs-Hearts issue. I'm pro independence (less so SNP, like many, but would have voted for them in preference to the others) but I can't support Salmond or SNP now. He's proven that his independent Scotland will be but like the worse aspects of Charles Haughy/Bertie Ahern's Fianna Fail Ireland - a corrupt hodgepodge of shysters advancing their own personal interests through the state apparatus.

They can stick it up sun-baked Quatar rectums.

A massive own goal for Salmond, puts the FM in the position of having to help the Huns or any other miserable institution who can't manage their own affairs in order to seem even handed. Anybody who makes such a basic error of political judgement is not to be trusted with real power.

22-01-2012, 12:23 PM

Quite right I think, although I'm not sure a Scottish club will ever have the attraction an English or Welsh one will

Most politicians say that football clubs should be kept alive for 'the community' etc

I don't see anything wrong in having a word about getting a backer whilst in a wealthy country

Everything is wrong with the first minister doing this. firstly as another poster has said he isnt doing it for every other cash strapped club in scotland, arguably Rangers would have a bigger impact to the community if they went bust. Other smaller clubs could be helped but he isnt sounding out help for them.

Secondly, probably more importantly, if a billionaire from Qatar bought a club in scotland and paid truly ridiculous wages then it would do more harm than good as other clubs would need to rack up crazy debts in a bid to compete, pretty much what clubs have tried to do to break the strangle hold of the old firm, but this would be even worse. Your right though, if it was for hibs benefit we wouldnt care, but from a neutral point of view, when we are urging clubs to become more self sufficient, this would result in an even less competative league.

22-01-2012, 12:29 PM
Head over to the Holy Ground and enlighten us all on how Scotland will be "more just and fair" cos no-one's come up with the answer yet.

no one has asked that question, but don't let the truth get in the way of a dig at the nationalists eh:rolleyes:

On salmond, as much as I hate hearts do prime ministers not constantly try to get investment for companies, blair done it, brown done it, cameron does it. At the end of the day he had an informal chat with some sheikh while on a trip. Hardly something to get all mock outraged about is it?

I mean does anyone really think anyone would want to invest tens of millions in hearts:faf:

22-01-2012, 12:31 PM

No we would not complain I agree.

However he was there on offical business not a holiday. You and I paid for his nice wee trip. If he was trying to look for a sponsor for the league the cup a deal that would benefit all it would have been far better. If he wanted to look for extra investment in his spare time there are far more worthy causes in Scotland than Hearts.

I really hope this is punted far and wide and wee Eck is shown up for what he is a imho a twat.

22-01-2012, 12:32 PM

how about a leader of the UK like he asked for?

22-01-2012, 12:36 PM
no one has asked that question, but don't let the truth get in the way of a dig at the nationalists eh:rolleyes:

How Scotland would be better off post-independence has been asked since I can remember. More just and fair would qualify as better, I'd have thought.

22-01-2012, 12:36 PM
Well there's direct quotes out a letter from Fat Eck to Fat George in it. I'm sure there would have been a denial by now if those quotes weren't correct.

Direct quotes, it's true.

Similarly, Scotland should not do deals with countries with horrible human rights records like China, when every other country approached beforehand has told them to GTF - it makes this country look pathetic and desperate.

The SNP are cancerous to the future of this nation. I'm not 100% against the idea of independance, but if Scotland gains independance under the SNP/Salmond then we're absolutely ****ed.

Food for thought me thinks, but I'm not getting into this one on this occasion :greengrin

22-01-2012, 12:42 PM
I've always voted SNP and always will until independence is achieved.

However, I'd say three things:

1. Once we're independent I'd reassess as some SNP policies are Pish. They are a means to an end I.e. the referendum
2. Salmond has always been an arrogant little **** though much of the time I agree with his points around Scottish affairs and Westminster interference on various matters
3. He is a wee yam bam. Sturgeon is annoying and nasal. But, as far as politicians go, they're arguably preferential to the others we have. Source: last election result

As for selling the yams and touting them .... He's got mair chance of selling Davie boy Cameron a kilt and get him playing flower of Scotland on the pipes in the edinburgh festival than he has of selling the yams to some wealthy folk abroad. He fails to realise they probably got rich by NOT investing in no use, heading doon the bog shower of losers.

ENDOF

22-01-2012, 12:55 PM
How Scotland would be better off post-independence has been asked since I can remember. More just and fair would qualify as better, I'd have thought.

You just changed the question. Well done

Sent from my GT-I9000 using Tapatalk

22-01-2012, 12:59 PM

An admirable man in many ways, but also the individual who insisted, because the old RHS building was identified with nationalism, that the parliament should have a new building. That money could have been used to buy Hearts many times over:greengrin. You could keep trying other candidates, but I think we'll find that no-one gets everything right.

More generally, I don't think anyone should base their vote in the referendum on an opinion about the current leader of a particular party. It's a decision about where power over Scotland should reside in future, not a short-term choice between Salmond and Cameron.

22-01-2012, 01:03 PM
Just reading all the posts guys and have to say I didn't want this to turn into a political debate, please keep on the original subject :wink:

Some very interesting comments on this I have to say, can we rustle up an official complaint or protest online?, he is a classic smug arrogant middle class yam so I fully expect him to merely smirk at our concerns but to let him think he can get away with this without any kind of protest about it really would make mad...and turn green again!...:greengrin

22-01-2012, 01:04 PM
TBF I’m not sure about this one.

Labour peer :nade: writes and asks SNP First Minister :nade: to bring it up.

FM might have to unless there's good cause not to :dunno:

22-01-2012, 01:12 PM
TBF I’m not sure about this one.

Labour peer :nade: writes and asks SNP First Minister :nade: to bring it up.

FM might have to unless there's good cause not to :dunno:

Eh !
Why would he have to bring it up?
What about other companies in Scotland struggling in the recession who employ many more workers than Hearts. This twat was on offical business not a wee holiday to promote "his" team.

22-01-2012, 01:22 PM
how about a leader of the UK like he asked for?

Aww, you're guy's been finally been found out and you don't like it. I just don't know how you can justify Scotland's First Minister using his public office which we all pay for to pursue his 'special relationship' with one football club. Bear in mind how that club has conducted itself over various issues in the past 12 months.

Salmond's not a UK leader, so comparing him to Dewar is perfectly reasonable. Though I can understand why you'd like to avoid the comparison given the the way Salmond has been caught behaving.

22-01-2012, 01:28 PM
An admirable man in many ways, but also the individual who insisted, because the old RHS building was identified with nationalism, that the parliament should have a new building. That money could have been used to buy Hearts many times over:greengrin. You could keep trying other candidates, but I think we'll find that no-one gets everything right.

More generally, I don't think anyone should base their vote in the referendum on an opinion about the current leader of a particular party. It's a decision about where power over Scotland should reside in future, not a short-term choice between Salmond and Cameron.

If I was an SNP voter, my biggest concern would be when Eck snuffs it.

The man looks like a walking heart attack.

Who will take over? The rest of the party isn't exactly a bottomless pool of talent.........,

22-01-2012, 01:35 PM
Eh !
Why would he have to bring it up?
What about other companies in Scotland struggling in the recession who employ many more workers than Hearts. This twat was on offical business not a wee holiday to promote "his" team.

That's why I wasn't sure. It seems to be an official request from Foulks to do so???

I'm sure the other companies in Scotland [struggling with the recession] where fairly high on the agenda, Fatty just raised this one and obviously let slip to the media???

22-01-2012, 02:02 PM
Some of the quotes on here are prime time comedy :faf:

22-01-2012, 02:20 PM

That's right, Honest Donald and his 40Million Pound (fingers crossed behind back) parliament building.

22-01-2012, 02:30 PM
He may be recent for you ...

STEADY!! :greengrin

FifeeHibee
22-01-2012, 02:49 PM
There seem to be a lot of pretendy Hibs Nats on here! Surely nobody would turn their back on their country over a Jambo trying to sell his club to any wealthy bidder. I hope they told him to take his filthy team and gtf!....and then sign lots of nice renewables contracts.:cb

22-01-2012, 02:54 PM
That's right, Honest Donald and his 40Million Pound (fingers crossed behind back) parliament building.

You do realise that David Steel was responsible for managing the Scottish Parliament building project and its escalating costs in his role as Presiding Officer? Nice try though on blaming Dewar though.
:foot:

22-01-2012, 02:58 PM
It's embarrassing that FM goes abroad too boost Scottish trade and raises the issue of selling a football club. I would rather he got foreign investment in to created jobs. Small minded man shown up for his true worth. God help us if he is man its going lead us to the promised land.

22-01-2012, 03:04 PM
This has nothing to do with politics and everything to do with a yam in a position of power once again abusing it to try and help hearts. His political persuasion is irrelevant.

...And Foulkes again!!!

I honestly don't know what I'd do if I ever saw him in the street.

22-01-2012, 03:15 PM
You do realise that David Steel was responsible for managing the Scottish Parliament building project and its escalating costs in his role as Presiding Officer? Nice try though on blaming Dewar though.
:foot:

Labour under Dewar pushed for the current site though as they couldn't stand the thought of the old Royal High building being used. A blind man in a dark room could see £40m was a trams-like estimate. A parliament building in Leith next to the Scottish government building would have been the most cost effective option but politicians of all hues weren't keen to be so far from the city centre :rolleyes:

Back to the topic, an own goal for Salmond although I suspect that being Hibees, we're more bothered than the vast majority of voters who care more about health, education etc.

SloopJB
22-01-2012, 03:27 PM
Perhaps the view is that the potential loss of the club and the fallout which would hit Scottish companies through lost revenue and non payment of outstanding accounts was enough to look for foriegn investment.

Never really thought to ask politicians what team they supported before they could secure my vote.

Clearly my bad.

22-01-2012, 05:00 PM
He'll be asking his good pal Donald Trump next. Failing that, his buddy Rupert Murdoch.

The man is quite odious. But then he is a Jambo.

22-01-2012, 06:16 PM
Supporter uses contacts to save his football club shocker.

Get a grip. From 'Informally' I take that it wasn't during politicians talk-time.

22-01-2012, 06:18 PM
Supporter uses contacts to save his football club shocker.

Get a grip. From 'Informally' I take that it wasn't during politicians talk-time.

I too am struggling to get myself upset about this.

22-01-2012, 06:21 PM
He was supposed to be representing Scotland, not his own personal interests.

22-01-2012, 06:24 PM
He was supposed to be representing Scotland, not his own personal interests.

Still struggling.

22-01-2012, 06:26 PM
Still struggling.

It's a question of ethics. Sorry you don't understand.

22-01-2012, 06:29 PM

If at the tax payers expense me and a few mates were to fly Business Class to the middle east stay in quality hotels eat the best food. Giving me quality access to billionaires and I tried to punt them Hibs instead of doing what I was well paid to do promting Scotland at every opportunity. What do think the public reaction would be?

P.S, he was trying to punt a prime example of how not to run a business in Scotland. Hearts are a debt ridden club who have been mismanged for years. And he when representing Scotland is wandering around with a begging bowl. A clown and an embarresmant to our country. If on the other hand he wants to go on holiday pay his own way and pack his own begging bowl I would not have an issue. If he said I am wee Eck and not Scotlands first minister when he is trying to get an appointment with the money men, he would not get with 500 meters of them.

22-01-2012, 06:32 PM

Really, so you think it's OK for him to try and punt that mob?, curious reply TBH, can't get my head round why you are thinking this way, an absolute disgrace in my book any way up politically or not

22-01-2012, 06:40 PM
If at the tax payers expense me and a few mates were to fly Business Class to the middle east stay in quality hotels eat the best food. Giving me quality access to billionaires and I tried to punt them Hibs instead of doing what I was well paid to do promting Scotland at every opportunity. What do think the public reaction would be?

That's not what happened though, is it? Not what it says in the linked article. I read it as he had a trip to Qatar, and made some contacts. Got back to Scotland and Fatty Foulkes asked him if he could try and talk to these new contacts in a HMFC related matter. He did, he got KB'd and that's it. Nowhere in that article does it state he went to Qatar and spent his time flogging Hearts, nor does it say anything happened during the trip.

I'm finding it hard to get upset about something that probably didn't happen the way a tabloid wants you to think it did.

22-01-2012, 06:47 PM
That's not what happened though, is it? Not what it says in the linked article. I read it as he had a trip to Qatar, and made some contacts. Got back to Scotland and Fatty Foulkes asked him if he could try and talk to these new contacts in a HMFC related matter. He did, he got KB'd and that's it. Nowhere in that article does it state he went to Qatar and spent his time flogging Hearts, nor does it say anything happened during the trip.

I'm finding it hard to get upset about something that probably didn't happen the way a tabloid wants you to think it did.

Explain to me my why he was there at tax payers expense and what was the aim of the visit.
Explain to me how he would have got access to these men if he was not being presented as Scotlands first Minister.

Are you saying these men would give any old Hearts fans the time of day to discuss buying their club? Or did perhaps wee Eck abuse his poliical standing?

22-01-2012, 06:48 PM
Similar situation to Liam Fox and his buddy. It's the misuse of a public funded trip in the country's interests to promote a personal agenda.

For those that regard it as no big deal, suppose it had been Cameron asking the Qataris to fund his next yacht?

22-01-2012, 06:49 PM
If this is the best the Daily Unionist has to throw a Salmond then Scottish Nationalism is in a great position. Looks like the old tactic of "divide and rule" has been employed here and it's working well it would appear. Time to rise above such petty point scoring for the good of Scotland.

22-01-2012, 06:51 PM
Explain to me my why he was there at tax payers expense and what was the aim of the visit.
Explain to me how he would have got access to these men if he was not being presented as Scotlands first Minister.

Are you saying these men would give any old Hearts fans the time of day to discuss buying their club? Or did perhaps wee Eck abuse his poliical standing?

Sounds very much like you have made your mind up already :agree: :wink:

22-01-2012, 06:53 PM

I've not seen it quoted anywhere that he was doing any HMFC related or personal stuff out there. The report is so vague it's hard to tell, but if there was any real hint of the FM doing anything wrong, the Daily Record would have been all over it more than that short and vague article it produced. Mountains and molehills, mountains and molehills.

22-01-2012, 06:53 PM
Sounds very much like you have made your mind up already :agree: :wink:

Yup clear abuse of his postion and ethically wrong on so many levels.

22-01-2012, 06:57 PM
Yup clear abuse of his postion and ethically wrong on so many levels.

If, that is the case and everything in the rag is true...

I just have me doubts about the daily rag ....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5udgzGhkvT4&feature=share :greengrin

22-01-2012, 06:57 PM
If this is the best the Daily Unionist has to throw a Salmond then Scottish Nationalism is in a great position. Looks like the old tactic of "divide and conquer" has been employed here and it's working well it would appear. Time to rise above such petty point scoring for the good of Scotland.

Read the thread again , plenty who will vote for independence are questioning this. It ain't divide and rule, it's Salmond being exposed for what many of us feel he is. He brought this upon himself.

22-01-2012, 07:05 PM
If, that is the case and everything in the rag is true...

I just have me doubts about the daily rag ....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5udgzGhkvT4&feature=share :greengrin

That you tube clip is comedy gold talks of lies then lies all they wat through :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

The example of Ireland as independant country we could follow is a cracker. Scotland has more oil and gas than all europe put together is Russia not in Europe? P.S. whats the plan after 2040 LOL

22-01-2012, 07:07 PM
Read the thread again , plenty who will vote for independence are questioning this. It ain't divide and rule, it's Salmond being exposed for what many of us feel he is. He brought this upon himself.

I'll wait to hear from Salmond before I go taking anything the Daily Record says as gospel. Don't forget this is the paper which ran full spreads on the eve of the 2007 election telling us that we'd all lose our jobs if the SNP was elected.

22-01-2012, 07:10 PM
I'll wait to hear from Salmond before I go taking anything the Daily Record says as gospel. Don't forget this is the paper which ran full spreads on the eve of the 2007 election telling us that we'd all lose our jobs if the SNP was elected.

Rising Unemployment ever since and the highest level of youth unemployment. give it time it could yet come true. :greengrin

22-01-2012, 07:18 PM
Still struggling.

would you struggle still if it meant them powering ahead of us for the next 25 years?
I get the point. Totally.

22-01-2012, 07:24 PM
Salmonds strength is the weakness of the opposition. He smugly struts about more or less unopposed spouting garbage like some tin pot dictator in a banana republic. There is no doubt that he is a very clever and cunning man but give him enough rope and hopefully he will hang himself.

SloopJB
22-01-2012, 07:24 PM
Similar situation to Liam Fox and his buddy. It's the misuse of a public funded trip in the country's interests to promote a personal agenda.

For those that regard it as no big deal, suppose it had been Cameron asking the Qataris to fund his next yacht?

Never thought about adding made up stuff.
Suppose Salmond used weapons of mass destruction to persuade the Qataris to take over Hearts, then called on th UN to send in forces to take control of their Government? Is there nothing this man wont do? Then there's the Hadron collider. salmond should be tried for treason in the highest court in the land. Hibs.net

22-01-2012, 07:47 PM

Is STF not a labour man ,:dunno: snp should boot salmon before any vote takes place on independance, as with him in charge they have no chance .

22-01-2012, 08:16 PM
Salmond travelled to China and asked them to invest in Scottish companies. He was widely regarded as doing what he's paid to do.

He's now gone to the Middle East and asked them to invest in an Edinburgh institution. And he's roundly condemned by both anti-Hearts and anti-SNP commentators.

I hate Hearts and don't have a high regard for Salmond but I can't see what he's done wrong.

22-01-2012, 08:21 PM
Is STF not a labour man ,:dunno: snp should boot salmon before any vote takes place on independance, as with him in charge they have no chance .

Please tell me that comment is tongue in cheek? STF is an SNP backer by the way.

22-01-2012, 08:22 PM
Salmond travelled to China and asked them to invest in Scottish companies. He was widely regarded as doing what he's paid to do.

He's now gone to the Middle East and asked them to invest in an Edinburgh institution. And he's roundly condemned by both anti-Hearts and anti-SNP commentators.

I hate Hearts and don't have a high regard for Salmond but I can't see what he's done wrong.

I take it your on the wind up or just daft !

Did wee Eck try to find a buyer for Rangers or indeed any other Scottish club that is in bother.
Did wee Eck try to obtain funding for the many 100's of Scottish companies suffering in the recession?

Or
Did he try to get funding for a debt ridden club he supports that has been mismanaged for years and is an icon of how Scottish businesses should not be run.

Sunny1875
22-01-2012, 08:28 PM
I wish he'd try to flog them to a dictatorship as far away as possible. They could then relocate the franchise somewhere fitting their status. Burma or North Korea would do.

It would make the trip for the derby interesting

22-01-2012, 08:51 PM
If this is the best the Daily Unionist has to throw a Salmond then Scottish Nationalism is in a great position. Looks like the old tactic of "divide and rule" has been employed here and it's working well it would appear. Time to rise above such petty point scoring for the good of Scotland.

Such a negative post about an open discussion. Reminds me of the kind of negativity the SNP used to criticise others for during the election but constantly indulge in themselves now.

It's interesting though that as soon as the subject turns to something dodgy about either Salmond or his party the line becomes 'ignore all that for the good of Scotland'.

PapillonVert
22-01-2012, 08:53 PM
I have only read the first page or so of this thread but I can't believe it.

We are football fans and we banter and argue about this and that and the next thing all about football etc. etc.

The independence debate is about the future of our country, and that of our children, our grandchildren etc.

It is far, far more important than who supports which football team - far, far, far more important.

I cannot believe that anyone would base their vote on whether Alex Salmond did something that might be favourable to the Jambos.

Even if that were true, which I do not believe for a second, I just would not allow that piddling little thing to determine my vote in a referendum.

22-01-2012, 08:55 PM
I take it your on the wind up or just daft !

Did wee Eck try to find a buyer for Rangers or indeed any other Scottish club that is in bother.
Did wee Eck try to obtain funding for the many 100's of Scottish companies suffering in the recession?

Or
Did he try to get funding for a debt ridden club he supports that has been mismanaged for years and is an icon of how Scottish businesses should not be run.

Was he asked to help out rangers or any other club?

He was in quatar signing deals which is helping the scottish economy, the hearts thing is it would appear a passing comment, they said no and that was that. he didn't fly out with the sole intention selling hearts.

Honestly I love to hate hearts as much as the next hibby but the absolute outrage from some posters on this thread is frankly embarrassing

22-01-2012, 09:00 PM
Was he asked to help out rangers or any other club?

He was in quatar signing deals which is helping the scottish economy, the hearts thing is it would appear a passing comment, they said no and that was that. he didn't fly out with the sole intention selling hearts.

Honestly I love to hate hearts as much as the next hibby but the absolute outrage from some posters on this thread is frankly embarrassing

Did Hearts owner ask for help ? On who's behalf was he making this request?
Passing comment or not would Eck get access to these men if he was not Scottish Minister?

I would wager there are 100's of Scottish business worthy of asistance that would welcome the First Minister making a pitch on their behalf for extra funding. If you dont think it is an abuse of his postion then I think you are wrong.

22-01-2012, 09:15 PM
Did Hearts owner ask for help ? On who's behalf was he making this request?
Passing comment or not would Eck get access to these men if he was not Scottish Minister?

I would wager there are 100's of Scottish business worthy of asistance that would welcome the First Minister making a pitch on their behalf for extra funding. If you dont think it is an abuse of his postion then I think you are wrong.

No a fellow MSP has asked to him. If other businesses wanted his assistance during his visit to quatar then they should have asked. Hearts through foulkes did ask. If salmond wasn't a jambo would you still be outraged?

22-01-2012, 09:17 PM
It is hilarious reading various posts from SNP fellow travellers turning cartwheels to either try and justify what Salmond did or alternatively to dismiss it all as trivial. 'Nothing to see here, move along.' Now where have we seen that attitude before?

What's next in defence of Salmond using his position as First Minister of all of Scotland to favour the interests of one single football club over all the others in Scotland? Perhaps we are going to be told that this is how all big First Ministers sort things out for their pals?

22-01-2012, 09:18 PM
That you tube clip is comedy gold talks of lies then lies all they wat through :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

The example of Ireland as independant country we could follow is a cracker. Scotland has more oil and gas than all europe put together is Russia not in Europe? P.S. whats the plan after 2040 LOL

:tee hee: Politics, you got to love them ....

22-01-2012, 09:23 PM
No a fellow MSP has asked to him. If other businesses wanted his assistance during his visit to quatar then they should have asked. Hearts through foulkes did ask. If salmond wasn't a jambo would you still be outraged?

In what role was Fatty Foulkes asking for help ?
Was it in his role as an MSP ?
Did he have the backing of the Hearts owner to make such a request ?

I am sure many business would like the ear of Mr Salmond but working in Scottish Gov I know they dont have easy access to him like Fatty does.

If you think you can simply request the First Minister makes a pitch on your behalf or even better on behalf of a consortium with no funds to buy a debt ridden unsustainable business you would like to buy you live in a dream land.

22-01-2012, 09:24 PM
[QUOTE=bighairyfaeleith;3083995]No a fellow MSP has asked to him. If other businesses wanted his assistance during his visit to quatar then they should have asked. Hearts through foulkes did ask. If salmond wasn't a jambo would you still be outraged?[/QUOTEt

Yes, I would be.

Even if it was about Hibernian, I would be totally embarrassed by this.

Salmond is drunk on his own power and a total liability.

22-01-2012, 09:25 PM

We are football fans and we banter and argue about this and that and the next thing all about football etc. etc.

The independence debate is about the future of our country, and that of our children, our grandchildren etc.

It is far, far more important than who supports which football team - far, far, far more important.

I cannot believe that anyone would base their vote on whether Alex Salmond did something that might be favourable to the Jambos.

Even if that were true, which I do not believe for a second, I just would not allow that piddling little thing to determine my vote in a referendum.

Without doubt the most sensible post on this thread. :top marks

22-01-2012, 09:30 PM

Let me get this right, you think it is acceptable for the First Minister of Scotland to use his postion to Champion his own and his friends personal causes?

22-01-2012, 09:31 PM
In what role was Fatty Foulkes asking for help ?
Was it in his role as an MSP ?
Did he have the backing of the Hearts owner to make such a request ?

I am sure many business would like the ear of Mr Salmond but working in Scottish Gov I know they dont have easy access to him like Fatty does.

If you think you can simply request the First Minister makes a pitch on your behalf or even better on behalf of a consortium with no funds to buy a debt ridden unsustainable business you would like to buy you live in a dream land.

You work for the government, you tell me?

22-01-2012, 09:34 PM
You work for the government, you tell me?

I would be amazed if it was as an MSP he made that request does that help? I did not even know he was no longer an MSP :greengrin

22-01-2012, 09:38 PM

Just on a factual point - Foulkes' career as an MSP ended in May 2011. He remains a member of the House of Lords.

22-01-2012, 09:42 PM
Just on a factual point - Foulkes' career as an MSP ended in May 2011. He remains a member of the House of Lords.

didn't know that. So if we get independance then foulkes would lose his job at the house of lords?:wink:

22-01-2012, 09:44 PM
I would be amazed if it was as an MSP he made that request does that help? I did not even know he was no longer an MSP :greengrin

Apparently he isn't an MSP, does that help? you edited it too quick for me there :)

The Baldmans Comb
22-01-2012, 09:48 PM
I can't say this remotely concerns me in the slightest.

Scotland would be a far better place as a straight forward normal country alongside all the other small European nations of Europe such as Denmark, Austria, Norway, Ireland ,Switzerland and the Baltic states and I'd be perfectly happy with Mr Salmond as the Prime Minister.:greengrin

Fatty Foulkes grovelling on his knees to the First Minister of Scotland amuses me no end though.

22-01-2012, 09:48 PM
didn't know that. So if we get independance then foulkes would lose his job at the house of lords?:wink:

Hope so :greengrin It's an interesting point, which as far as I'm aware hasn't been discussed in any great detail, but you'd expect the Scottish Lords to lose their sitting rights post-independence - there would certainly be uproar if they continued to vote on English legislation so it makes sense they'd be emptied. And therefore would no longer be able to claim their ludicrous £300 per day attendance fee. :aok:

22-01-2012, 09:49 PM
I'd be tempted to vote for independence in that case :thumbsup:

22-01-2012, 09:55 PM
I can't say this remotely concerns me in the slightest.

Scotland would be a far better place as a straight forward normal country alongside all the other small European nations of Europe such as Denmark, Austria, Norway, Ireland ,Switzerland and the Baltic states and I'd be perfectly happy with Mr Salmond as the Prime Minister.:greengrin

Ireland :greengrin Cracks me up.

Norway has more oil than Scotland
Austria and Switzerland population 50 - 75% bigger than Scotland

And if you are happy with Eck who is from what I have heard a smug self importnat bully in charge of our country good luck.

22-01-2012, 11:11 PM
Hope so :greengrin It's an interesting point, which as far as I'm aware hasn't been discussed in any great detail, but you'd expect the Scottish Lords to lose their sitting rights post-independence - there would certainly be uproar if they continued to vote on English legislation so it makes sense they'd be emptied. And therefore would no longer be able to claim their ludicrous £300 per day attendance fee. :aok:

So if independence happens will Scotland have a second chamber? Or will it be left to Holyrood?

22-01-2012, 11:38 PM
I voted the SNP last time, but they have wasted money hand over fist, so no vote from me next time and no Independence if this is the standard of the clowns that would run an independent Scotland. ok, do expand on this waste of money, hand over fist that is

22-01-2012, 11:40 PM
ok, do expand on this waste of money, hand over fist that is

Wee Ecks hoose :wink::wink::wink:

22-01-2012, 11:48 PM

Even if that were true, which I do not believe for a second, I just would not allow that piddling little thing to determine my vote in a referendum.:agree:on the other hand, others involved in this particular debate, may have a hidden agenda. the thing about this wee country of ours , is that if you dinnae support ma team, yer obviously an erse, when it comes tae politics that is. :wink:

22-01-2012, 11:51 PM
Wee Ecks hoose :wink::wink::wink: his hoose? behave. or do explain what yer oan about. is he at the fiddle? cannae beleive some o' the tripe on here tonight.

23-01-2012, 12:14 AM

I'd like to know if he would do the same for us in a similar situation....god forbidyou started this debate,but have a hard look at what you've actually said: and your belief that the "mail" must be correct as it fits with your own ideas. why did you not actually think, wait a minute,this particular newspaper that i've just bought ,may have a certain agenda of their own, so ,I might have a wee swatch at others to see if they are all singing off the same songsheet? Salmond is a jambo, of that there is no debate but he is a smooth operator and has Westminster and all that sail in it, certainly sitting up and paying attention .not trying to shoot you down in flames but, if this issue is the one that stops you from actually voting in 2014.or swings you towards any party that is against independance, then you need to have a hard look at yersel. btw, there are more pandas in Scotland, than tory MP's.

23-01-2012, 12:23 AM
:brickwall

This isn't political. This could be a SSP or a BNP elected member yet the charge would be the same.

Jambo slimeballs once again abusing their power.

Here's a place to discuss politics (http://www.hibs.net/forumdisplay.php?43-The-Holy-Ground)

sadtom
23-01-2012, 12:44 AM

Considering yer avatar - wiz that a gag. A coincidence? Or do a win a prize?? :greengrin
Or mibbae a bet ye couldn't squeeze them intae a Hibs thread.
I think 'Poison Girls' would have been a bigger challenge though. :wink:

23-01-2012, 12:45 AM
:brickwall

This isn't political. This could be a SSP or a BNP elected member yet the charge would be the same.

Jambo slimeballs once again abusing their power.

Here's a place to discuss politics (http://www.hibs.net/forumdisplay.php?43-The-Holy-Ground)thanks for the info, but was it directed to me or all the other comments??

23-01-2012, 01:15 AM
thanks for the info, but was it directed to me or all the other comments??

not at you specifically mate....I just think the political argument is getting in the way of the real issue.

more hearts slimeballs in elected positions of power using their influence to try and better their club.

It's Foulkes I'm angry with. He's the real villian here.

23-01-2012, 01:18 AM
It is hilarious reading various posts from SNP fellow travellers turning cartwheels to either try and justify what Salmond did or alternatively to dismiss it all as trivial. 'Nothing to see here, move along.' Now where have we seen that attitude before?

What's next in defence of Salmond using his position as First Minister of all of Scotland to favour the interests of one single football club over all the others in Scotland? Perhaps we are going to be told that this is how all big First Ministers sort things out for their pals?

I don't think that's justified when you read all the posts. Many SNP supporters like myself have said this was an abuse of governmental power, and shows that party cannot be trusted.

Of course, this is relative. If the unionist parties of Labour, Conservative and Liberal Democrat had served Scotland so excellently they wouldn't be playing second fiddle to what is a second rate party with a shabby, slime ball leader.

allmodcons
23-01-2012, 10:50 AM
This is one of the saddest/worse threads I've seen on Hibs.net.

A 'story' in a tabloid newspaper, the catalyst being mischief maker in chief, Lord Foukles.

A couple of 'quotes' from a Scottish Government letter to the 'Lord' saying the matter had been raised informally
and rebuked by the Qataris.

If this (i.e. - on the basis of a nothing story in a tabloid newspaper) is how any individual intends to make an
informed decision on the merits or otherwise of Independence and the current Scottish Government then god
help us all!

Can you imagine all the 'good guy' comments and jokes on here if the FM was a Hibs supporter and had (informally)
asked for financial support for Hibs.

Mixing your football and politics is just plain stupid.

Anyone who doesn't vote for a politician simply because he/she supports a club they don't like needs to take
a long hard look at themselves.

23-01-2012, 10:57 AM

A 'story' in a tabloid newspaper, the catalyst being mischief maker in chief, Lord Foukles.

A couple of 'quotes' from a Scottish Government letter to the 'Lord' saying the matter had been raised informally

If this (i.e. - on the basis of a nothing story in a tabloid newspaper) is how any individual intends to make an
informed decision on the merits or otherwise of Independence and the current Scottish Government then god
help us all!

Can you imagine all the 'good guy' comments and jokes on here if the FM was a Hibs supporter and had (informally)

Anyone who doesn't vote for a politician simply because he/she supports a club they don't like needs to take

I would not vote for Salmond because he is an a******e.

The fact he is also a Jambo is a happy co-incidence.

23-01-2012, 11:01 AM

help us all!

David Cameron would have the independence debate done and dusted if he turned up at the next PMQ's dressed head to toe in Stone Island gear and led the backbenchers into an impromptu rendition of Hail Hail followed by chants of CCS:agree:

Nailrod
23-01-2012, 11:33 AM
What a bunch of ****ing ****ers Hibs supporters are.

Arch-troublemaker Foulkes, the Daily Liar, and the Daily Liar's Scottish inbred cousin out to make trouble, and the Hibees are lapping it up. Why the **** do you think Foulkes has released this to the Mail and the Record?

Good luck when Foulkes' party get back in charge in Scotland. Hey, maybe Rod Petrie could be First Minister. He's really good at running things. And maybe Stephen Purcell could come and run Hibs.

Sad ****ers.

Mods - kindly delete my profile. I can't see how to do it

23-01-2012, 11:39 AM

Agreed :greengrin
I have been told by friends the First minister is a smug Bully i have no reason to doubt them.
I would NEVER vote for any Party led Mr Fish

23-01-2012, 11:39 AM

I'd argue it isn't a coincidence. I cite Foulkes, McKay, Jeffries, Rix, Thomson, Wee Airdrie Jambo, Gary Locke, Craig Levein, every Hearts official 'fans spokesperson' and also every regular poster on Sickback as evidence.

The Baldmans Comb
23-01-2012, 11:41 AM
Ireland :greengrin Cracks me up.

Norway has more oil than Scotland
Austria and Switzerland population 50 - 75% bigger than Scotland

And if you are happy with Eck who is from what I have heard a smug self importnat bully in charge of our country good luck.

I think that should be my country as I have a wee sneaking suspicion you are a British Unionist who is a little out of his depth.:na na:

23-01-2012, 11:46 AM
I think that should be my country as I have a wee sneaking suspicion you are a British Unionist who is a little out of his depth.:na na:

Oh no I have been found out ! Can you ever forgive me :faf: :faf::faf:

P.S. is that rising water around your neck?

23-01-2012, 11:47 AM

help us all!

Good point, sir.

People like to work themselves up into a lather about it but in fact the relevance of it is minimal.

If people decide how to vote on this basis, it goes to show the level of political debate in this country.

23-01-2012, 11:54 AM
Good point, sir.

People like to work themselves up into a lather about it but in fact the relevance of it is minimal.

If people decide how to vote on this basis, it goes to show the level of political debate in this country.

So you tell me how the First Minister should prioritise requests for his "informal" input.
Do you think it is fair some appear to have his ear whilst others would simply be dismissed, informal or not it is an abuse of his position.

23-01-2012, 12:12 PM
I'd argue it isn't a coincidence. I cite Foulkes, McKay, Jeffries, Rix, Thomson, Wee Airdrie Jambo, Gary Locke, Craig Levein, every Hearts official 'fans spokesperson' and also every regular poster on Sickback as evidence.

Er..., I think you may have overlooked Ronnie Corbett?

Ach well, its easily done.

allmodcons
23-01-2012, 12:27 PM
So you tell me how the First Minister should prioritise requests for his "informal" input.
Do you think it is fair some appear to have his ear whilst others would simply be dismissed, informal or not it is an abuse of his position.

Are you seriously telling me you think Lord Foulkes has 'the ear' of the FM?
They can't stand each other!

23-01-2012, 12:37 PM

:faf: This is the Daily Mail, is it? The Little Englander's version of the Volkischer Beobachter? The Tabloid That Never Tells A Lie? Quoting the Fat Hog of Gorgie? Backed up by the Old Firm Fanzine?

Maybe you should go back to bed, get up, and start this day all over again ...

Alternatively, I have a limited supply of solid gold bricks for sale? Wanna buy some? :devil:

What a bunch of ****ing ****ers Hibs supporters are.

Arch-troublemaker Foulkes, the Daily Liar, and the Daily Liar's Scottish inbred cousin out to make trouble, and the Hibees are lapping it up. Why the **** do you think Foulkes has released this to the Mail and the Record?

Good luck when Foulkes' party get back in charge in Scotland. Hey, maybe Rod Petrie could be First Minister. He's really good at running things. And maybe Stephen Purcell could come and run Hibs.

Sad ****ers.

Mods - kindly delete my profile. I can't see how to do it

Just my thoughts, Nailrod. The Daily Mail, the Daily Record, and George Foulkes as witnesses for the prosecution - they MUST be telling the truth, right? :rolleyes:

And the OP has the brass neck to call Salmond a cretin? :faf:

"Cretin" isn't a word I'd apply to anyone - it's on the same level as "spazz" and "******", and describes the person using it much more accurately than it does the person to whom it's being applied, but there a more than a few folks on this thread who are being VERY VERY SILLY WEE BOYS.

"Cretinism is a condition of severely stunted physical and mental growth due to untreated congenital deficiency of thyroid hormones (congenital hypothyroidism) usually due to maternal hypothyroidsim.

The disused term cretin was a medical term which described a person so affected with the condition, but, as with words such as ******* and lunatic, it can also have a vulgar connotation and can be used disparagingly. Cretin became a medical term in the 18th century, from an Alpine French dialect; it saw wide medical use in the 19th and early 20th centuries, and then spread more widely in popular English as a markedly derogatory term for a person who behaves stupidly. Because of its pejorative connotations in popular speech, health-care workers have mostly abandoned cretin." (from Wikipedia)

If someone's going to start throwing bad names about, at least he should know what those bad names mean. :bitchy:

23-01-2012, 12:47 PM

Well, I suppose if he's on a trade mission to the region he's trying to attract trade to other private companies as well. An informal sounding out as to whether there is interest in buying a Scottish football team was hardly the main purpose of his visit but while he was there, why not? There is a huge amount of interest in investment from the middle east in sports in the UK. As a horse-racing man, Salmond will probably know this as well as anyone.

Don't get me wrong, how I wish the independence issue was untangled from the SNP but I'm not going to start having a panic attack just because Salmond asked informally whether someone was interested in buying into Hearts. I'm not going to get hysterical over whether there is a formal system for asking informal questions. What do you want, politicians having to read an approved script? A wee pre-prepared list of questions? Auto-responses to questions? Cue lines and subjects to avoid in small talk?

It's hardly a conflict of interest, it's hardly treason and I think anyone who decides the destiny of their vote based on something as daft as a footballing rivalry probably doesn't have the most discerning opinions in the first place. As for others who have already made up their mind about Salmond/independence/the SNP, I think this is just another stick to beat him and the whole thing lacks about as much substance as you'd expect from a Daily Mail/Lord Foulkes faux-outrage piece.

23-01-2012, 12:50 PM
:faf: This is the Daily Mail, is it? The Little Englander's version of the Volkischer Beobachter? The Tabloid That Never Tells A Lie? Quoting the Fat Hog of Gorgie? Backed up by the Old Firm Fanzine?

Alternatively, I have a limited supply of solid gold bricks for sale? Wanna buy some? :devil:

Just my thoughts, Nailrod. The Daily Mail, the Daily Record, and George Foulkes as witnesses for the prosecution - they MUST be telling the truth, right? :rolleyes:

"Cretin" isn't a word I'd apply to anyone - it's on the same level as "spazz" and "******", and describes the person using it much more accurately than it does the person to whom it's being applied, but there a more than a few folks on this thread who are being VERY VERY SILLY WEE BOYS.

"Cretinism is a condition of severely stunted physical and mental growth due to untreated congenital deficiency of thyroid hormones (congenital hypothyroidism) usually due to maternal hypothyroidsim.

The disused term cretin was a medical term which described a person so affected with the condition, but, as with words such as ******* and lunatic, it can also have a vulgar connotation and can be used disparagingly. Cretin became a medical term in the 18th century, from an Alpine French dialect; it saw wide medical use in the 19th and early 20th centuries, and then spread more widely in popular English as a markedly derogatory term for a person who behaves stupidly. Because of its pejorative connotations in popular speech, health-care workers have mostly abandoned cretin." (from Wikipedia)

If someone's going to start throwing bad names about, at least he should know what those bad names mean. :bitchy:

Hmmmm, your discription of the Daily Mail - and presumably its readers - isn't really that far removed from posters labelling Salmond a cretin or whatever.

Perhaps you could us all a big favour and post a list of newspapers and periodicals that are ok for all us Hibbies to read?

:cb

23-01-2012, 12:55 PM
You could turn this the other way round. What if (say) George Foulkes had told the paper that he had asked Salmond to mention to the Qataris that they could invest in Scottish football, but Salmond had refused out of hand? What if (say) Hearts then went bust, and it turned out the Qataris would have been interested in buying them, but Salmond had refused to ask?

By the logic that says an elected politician shouldn't be involved at all in football, then Martin O'Neill shouldn't have been Hibs chairman (I think he was still an MP at the time). Or to give another example, presumably several elected politicians (incl. councillors) supported Hands off Hibs - was that wrong? As long as Salmond a) isn't spending undue time or effort on it, or b) making some sort of gain, then I really don't see the problem.

allmodcons
23-01-2012, 12:57 PM
Hmmmm, your discription of the Daily Mail - and presumaby its readers - isn't really that far removed from posters labelling Salmond a cretin or whatever.

Perhaps you could us all a big favour and post a list of newspapers and periodicals that are ok for all us Hibbies to read?

I don't think he needs to do that JR. It's fair to say that most newspapers have their own political agenda, some are worse than others, but you know
fine well that the Daily Mail is in a league of it's own for it's right wing dogma.

23-01-2012, 01:03 PM
No need for an approved reading list. But just a bit more common sense and a bit less hysteria. The Mail wouldn't sell half as many papers as it does if it wasn't able to rely on provoking visceral outrage. For the paper that epitomises the users of phrases like "it's political correctness gone mad" and "liberal jack-boot", you need to be as selective about what to believe as they are selective in how to present particular stories.

23-01-2012, 01:04 PM
I don't think he needs to do that JR. It's fair to say that most newspapers have their own political agenda, some are worse than others, but you know
fine well that the Daily Mail is in a league of it's own for it's right wing dogma.

Not quite.......,

The Daily Express isn't that far behind........,

23-01-2012, 01:16 PM

Dearie me...:rolleyes:

23-01-2012, 01:17 PM
Again, I am afraid I am really seeing nothing wrong with this. Now, if he had flown there to specifically ask them to invest in the yams then we could have a joint seething session. He was there on what appears to be legitimate business and he happened to throw in a " hey, wanna buy a fitba team". Big bloody deal. It shows him up to be a wee bit less than bright but something I would have done as well. Guess I ain't the brightest either. By the way, I too am a nationalist who realises Salmond is definitely not the be all and end all. He is however capable of really really annoying unionists and at the minute, that does for me.

23-01-2012, 01:18 PM

Yawn.......

23-01-2012, 01:24 PM
you started this debate,but have a hard look at what you've actually said: and your belief that the "mail" must be correct as it fits with your own ideas. why did you not actually think, wait a minute,this particular newspaper that i've just bought ,may have a certain agenda of their own, so ,I might have a wee swatch at others to see if they are all singing off the same songsheet? Salmond is a jambo, of that there is no debate but he is a smooth operator and has Westminster and all that sail in it, certainly sitting up and paying attention .not trying to shoot you down in flames but, if this issue is the one that stops you from actually voting in 2014.or swings you towards any party that is against independance, then you need to have a hard look at yersel. btw, there are more pandas in Scotland, than tory MP's.

As I've stated i did not want a political debate on this, and what makes you think I agree with independence anyway?, so your the one that "needs a look at yirsel".

I really don't think the Record or whatever paper would quote a royal family spokesman had this been a myth.

The bottom line is he asked them and that alone politics aside is nothing short of a disgrace...in my opinion of course.

23-01-2012, 01:30 PM
Well my this one has hit the political G-spot hasn't it? More than a tad of sensitivity being shown from the supporters of the erstwhile teflon FM.

It must be comforting to the Yams to know that they now have both the SNP leader Cardownie in Edinburgh City Council and the SNP Leader Salmond in the Scottish Government actively working to save their club while in public office. Curious though that these custodians of our future should seek to do this for just one club when there are so many others in equally important need of help.

What's that SNP website slogan again? "Together We Can Make Scotland Better". They just missed out the last bit - "For Hearts".

allmodcons
23-01-2012, 01:31 PM
As I've stated i did not want a political debate on this, and what makes you think I agree with independence anyway?, so your the one that "needs a look at yirsel".

I really don't think the Record or whatever paper would quote a royal family spokesman had this been a myth.

The bottom line is he asked them and that alone politics aside is nothing short of a disgrace...in my opinion of course.

This has to be the best line yet in the thread, where it's fair to say, there has been a few ridiculous lines!

23-01-2012, 01:48 PM
Well my this one has hit the political G-spot hasn't it? More than a tad of sensitivity being shown from the supporters of the erstwhile teflon FM.

It must be comforting to the Yams to know that they now have both the SNP leader Cardownie in Edinburgh City Council and the SNP Leader Salmond in the Scottish Government actively working to save their club while in public office. Curious though that these custodians of our future should seek to do this for just one club when there are so many others in equally important need of help.

What's that SNP website slogan again? "Together We Can Make Scotland Better". They just missed out the last bit - "For Hearts".

Not to mention his Lordship Fatty Foulkes.

Seems as though they've got all avenues covered.

23-01-2012, 01:55 PM
Well my this one has hit the political G-spot hasn't it?

Certainly it's tickling something of yours. Looks like your keen to make the most of it and enjoy the thrill!

allmodcons
23-01-2012, 01:59 PM

No worries ODS, we have Ian Gray (MSP) on our side!!

23-01-2012, 02:11 PM
Where does The Sunday Mail stand on the acceptable list of media outlets for Hibees? As I believe thats where the story was to be found.

23-01-2012, 03:59 PM
http://www.cartoonstock.com/newscartoons/cartoonists/tzu/lowres/tzun939l.jpg

ancienthibby
23-01-2012, 04:27 PM
Dearie Me!!

Never seen so many 'girlies' getting their nickers in a twist over an entirely normal diplomatic exchange.

Here's the rub: Every (Government of any kind) Minister who ventures abroad on home business does so on the basis of being fully briefed on the matters to be discussed, strategic interests of the home nation, key sensitivities, things to say and things not to say.

I suspect one of the host delegation in an informal moment asked the FM which English footie team he supported and that good Yam supporter replied 'the Yams' to which the host replied 'Ah Romanov, how on earth do you cope with him!

STORY, END OF.

Get a grip Yam haters.:agree:

23-01-2012, 04:45 PM
Dearie Me!!

Never seen so many 'girlies' getting their nickers in a twist over an entirely normal diplomatic exchange.

Here's the rub: Every (Government of any kind) Minister who ventures abroad on home business does so on the basis of being fully briefed on the matters to be discussed, strategic interests of the home nation, key sensitivities, things to say and things not to say.

I suspect one of the host delegation in an informal moment asked the FM which English footie team he supported and that good Yam supporter replied 'the Yams' to which the host replied 'Ah Romanov, how on earth do you cope with him!

STORY, END OF.

I wil guarantee Hearts was not on approved topics.
All I can say I am glad some of the folk backing wee Eck or saying nothing to see hear are not running the Country. If you cannot see this is ethically wrong I think your wrong :greengrin

23-01-2012, 04:54 PM
I think we should petition the parliament to set up a formal list of informal questions. So thats politics out, religion out, sports also on the "do not mention" list.

Next time he goes abroad on official business, Salmond better just stick to talking about the weather. Perhaps if he's asked what team he supports, he should give a cryptic answer like folk do in polite circles in Glasgow.

ancienthibby
23-01-2012, 04:59 PM
I wil guarantee Hearts was not on approved topics.
All I can say I am glad some of the folk backing wee Eck or saying nothing to see hear are not running the Country. If you cannot see this is ethically wrong I think your wrong :greengrin

When you post, please be good enough to provide a translator!

And indeed evidence to support your first sentence (allowing for spelling!):greengrin

23-01-2012, 04:59 PM
This has to be the best line yet in the thread, where it's fair to say, there has been a few ridiculous lines!

You think so?, newspapers are in enough trouble with the law as it is,

FFS

23-01-2012, 05:12 PM
When you post, please be good enough to provide a translator!

And indeed evidence to support your first sentence (allowing for spelling!):greengrin

Sorry did not know it was an English grammar test I will try harder. :greengrin
Most people on here dont need a translator but I will go slow for you :greengrin
Let me know when you catch up.
If Wee Eck spoke informally it would not be on the approved list included in the Ministers Briefing. Hope that helps.

23-01-2012, 05:25 PM
Dearie Me!!

STORY, END OF.

Oh my sides. The move from bright, glorious dawn to the soiled and grubby business of self interest has been a short and speedy one in the 250 days since the SNP gained an overall majority. I don't know what's funnier, the fact of being found out pants down or the truly fantastical contortions being contrived here by the apologists for what has been done.

I would have just LOVED to see the breathtaking justifications that would have been trotted out by the same people if he had somehow managed to deliver Qatari multi millions to Hearts. Would that have been just fine? Perfectly normal behaviour for a First Minister?

What's the ethics code at work here? Last person to whisper in the ear in the departure lounge gets a favour done? Is there some kind of Scottish Government queuing system marked 'Official Business', 'Spur of the Moment' and then 'Requests from my Yam Mates'?

"I suspect one of the host delegation in an informal moment asked the FM which English footie team he supported". That's just comic genius. You were being funny, right?

23-01-2012, 05:54 PM
Oh my sides. The move from bright, glorious dawn to the soiled and grubby business of self interest has been a short and speedy one in the 250 days since the SNP gained an overall majority. I don't know what's funnier, the fact of being found out pants down or the truly fantastical contortions being contrived here by the apologists for what has been done.

I would have just LOVED to see the breathtaking justifications that would have been trotted out by the same people if he had somehow managed to deliver Qatari multi millions to Hearts. Would that have been just fine? Perfectly normal behaviour for a First Minister?

What's the ethics code at work here? Last person to whisper in the ear in the departure lounge gets a favour done? Is there some kind of Scottish Government queuing system marked 'Official Business', 'Spur of the Moment' and then 'Requests from my Yam Mates'?

"I suspect one of the host delegation in an informal moment asked the FM which English footie team he supported". That's just comic genius. You were being funny, right?

Turning this genuinely shabby situation into an anti-SNP rant will only serve to drive waverers back into that camp. Particularly when your sole agenda seems to be providing succor to a Labour party moribund in Scotland and pretty much unelectable elsewhere, despite the unpopularity of the SNP in Scotland and Coalition in the UK.

I suspect this thread is bound for the Holy Ground.

ancienthibby
23-01-2012, 06:01 PM

As an apologist for, LiarBlair, DeadwoodBroon, Dead NIlibrand, I forget myweans'names Ken Mack, weemaggie motormouth, personality by-passed Ian Gray and Johan Lamont, etc, etc, you come on here and think you have some credibility??

Dearie me!!

23-01-2012, 06:04 PM
he is just a big dirty fat jambo ****

23-01-2012, 06:10 PM
Let me get this right, you think it is acceptable for the First Minister of Scotland to use his postion to Champion his own and his friends personal causes?

Did he say that? Nah, he didn't. But don't let it stop you stirring the pot.

23-01-2012, 06:17 PM

Sorry what did I miss :confused:

I asked for clarification and did not get a reply !

Maybe you would like to say what wee eck did if I got it wrong?

23-01-2012, 06:18 PM
Turning this genuinely shabby situation into an anti-SNP rant will only serve to drive waverers back into that camp. Particularly when your sole agenda seems to be providing succor to a Labour party moribund in Scotland and pretty much unelectable elsewhere, despite the unpopularity of the SNP in Scotland and Coalition in the UK.

I suspect this thread is bound for the Holy Ground.

No DBS, this thread is entirely about Salmond and the SNP, it is not about anyone else. Holding to account those who are in power now.

Agree on its likely free transfer to the HG, though it is about football and politics so deserves a fair run here first.

23-01-2012, 06:24 PM
As an apologist for, LiarBlair, DeadwoodBroon, Dead NIlibrand, I forget myweans'names Ken Mack, weemaggie motormouth, personality by-passed Ian Gray and Johan Lamont, etc, etc, you come on here and think you have some credibility??

Dearie me!!

Umm, riiiiiiight.

Meanwhile back on subject, you appear very close to the SNP leadership so can you clarify the answer to the question I asked: What's the ethics code at work here?

23-01-2012, 06:32 PM
The bottom line is Salmond abused this position as FM of Scotland to try and get a foreign investors to buy a football club from a dodgey Eastern European business man who has a very poor opinion of Scotland

23-01-2012, 06:45 PM
Hmmmm, your discription of the Daily Mail - and presumably its readers - isn't really that far removed from posters labelling Salmond a cretin or whatever.

You can read any newspaper you like, mate.

But if you believe everything you read in them ... :rolleyes:

And I don't think comparing the Mail to another extreme Right, xenophobic and ultimately racist piece of trash is at all inaccurate.

I have no knowledge of its readers whatsoever, but if they read, believe and approve ...

ancienthibby
23-01-2012, 06:53 PM
Umm, riiiiiiight.

Meanwhile back on subject, you appear very close to the SNP leadership so can you clarify the answer to the question I asked: What's the ethics code at work here?

You are often quite funny (in a limited sort of way) ODS, but now you post about the rare concept of Labourites (yourself as chief propagandist on these boards) having some sort of understanding of 'ethics'!!

(Most of my dinner is on the floor, but I'll recover from that!!).

magpie1892
23-01-2012, 06:57 PM
Again, I am afraid I am really seeing nothing wrong with this. Now, if he had flown there to specifically ask them to invest in the yams then we could have a joint seething session. He was there on what appears to be legitimate business and he happened to throw in a " hey, wanna buy a fitba team". Big bloody deal. It shows him up to be a wee bit less than bright but something I would have done as well. Guess I ain't the brightest either. By the way, I too am a nationalist who realises Salmond is definitely not the be all and end all. He is however capable of really really annoying unionists and at the minute, that does for me.

As an Englishman living in Scotland (most of the time) and definitely a Unionist (and/or far-right devotee, apparently), I've little time for Salmond but this is storm in a teacup stuff. It's an attempt by Jakey Foulkes to once more shift the blame for letting the mad one over the threshold. I know Qatar and I know how their leaders work (met and interviewed a few of them, for one thing) and if Eck just happened to say: 'do you want to buy Hearts?' in conversation then what of it? Hardly the reason for the trip, was it, to try and sell the jamboids. Further, he'd know that a country which has bought PSG, Malaga and is (rumoured to be) courting Manchester United would buy into to the rotting edifice that is Scottish Football, especially in the shape of the financial basket case at PBS.

As others have said, if this trivia informs your voting choice then you're shallow indeed.

23-01-2012, 07:13 PM

Sorry what did I miss :confused:

I asked for clarification and did not get a reply !

Maybe you would like to say what wee eck did if I got it wrong?

Like probably most posters, I have no knowledge of what wee eck did or did not say. What PapillonVert did not say was that he thought it was "acceptable for the First Minister of Scotland etc etc etc". What he more or less did day is that there are rather more important things for us to be getting our knickers in a twist about.

23-01-2012, 07:17 PM
I think the key word is informally.

Also people are conveniently losing sight of the fact he signed a deal with energy company Masdar out there, so it wasn't all total mayhem regarding Hearts.

If he had sat down in a formal meeting, told them they'd get to business details in a few minutes, and then wapped out a powerpoint presentation on Hearts then I could see where people are coming from.

To say things such as he has abused his position, question the application of an ethics code, and then decide on voting one way or another because Salmond has asked about Hearts on the side, is quite frankly laughable and far more worrying than the thread subject.

I'd love to see the type of business trips you lot go on, must be a barrel of laughs at night:greengrin

23-01-2012, 09:35 PM
I think the key word is informally.

Also people are conveniently losing sight of the fact he signed a deal with energy company Masdar out there, so it wasn't all total mayhem regarding Hearts.

If he had sat down in a formal meeting, told them they'd get to business details in a few minutes, and then wapped out a powerpoint presentation on Hearts then I could see where people are coming from.

To say things such as he has abused his position, question the application of an ethics code, and then decide on voting one way or another because Salmond has asked about Hearts on the side, is quite frankly laughable and far more worrying than the thread subject.

I'd love to see the type of business trips you lot go on, must be a barrel of laughs at night:greengrin

My thoughts exactly.

allmodcons
23-01-2012, 09:49 PM
You think so?, newspapers are in enough trouble with the law as it is,

FFS

Can I presume from your comment that you now believe everything you read in the tabloids?

FFS

23-01-2012, 10:45 PM
Like probably most posters, I have no knowledge of what wee eck did or did not say. What PapillonVert did not say was that he thought it was "acceptable for the First Minister of Scotland etc etc etc". What he more or less did day is that there are rather more important things for us to be getting our knickers in a twist about.

Sorry I will re word the question M'laud :greengrin

Do you think it is appropriate for Scotland's First Minister to use Scotland's business contacts in an attempt to flog a debt ridden poorly run business that is owned by a Russian millionaire who has mismanged his company for years. This gentleman has an established record of not paying staff, tax bills and other small Scottish businesses on time and generally appears to have a do not care attitude towards Scotland. Or would his attempted intervention be regarded as ethically incorrect. :greengrin

P.S. I understand the wee eck may have a soft spot for this mismanaged business.

24-01-2012, 12:06 AM
Umm, riiiiiiight.

There are manifestly none. All politicians are corrupt, few have been as stupid as Salmond to show themselves up as corrupt on such a petty issue as Hearts. That he has, I'd call his judgement into question and I'd also say is gives a lot if ammunition to unionists that an independent Scotland would be driven by pathetic toytown sectional issues like football team preference.

ancienthibby
24-01-2012, 07:56 AM
There are manifestly none. All politicians are corrupt, few have been as stupid as Salmond to show themselves up as corrupt on such a petty issue as Hearts. That he has, I'd call his judgement into question and I'd also say is gives a lot if ammunition to unionists that an independent Scotland would be driven by pathetic toytown sectional issues like football team preference.

Have a strong word with yourself, Bob for posting that nonsense!

Every minister of state at Westminster and Holyrood receive petitions and visits from vested interests of all sorts, from business corporations to charitable organisations every day of the week. The revolving doors at Holyrood will see a non-stop parade of such today and every day of the week. No minister of state is corrupt in having a listening ear. It's how causes get raised and how some legislation is amended or even brought forward for enactment. It's called lobbying.

And it happens in companies/corporations every day as well, where political structures are oiled every hour of every day.

If the FM had raised the issue of Hibs needing new investment, this board would be singing his praises. But because he is a well-known Jambo and has allegedly raised the name of Hearts, he gets villified.

Childish does not even begin to describe this attitude.

24-01-2012, 08:35 AM

Do you think it is appropriate for Scotland's First Minister to use Scotland's business contacts in an attempt to flog a debt ridden poorly run business that is owned by a Russian millionaire who has mismanged his company for years. This gentleman has an established record of not paying staff, tax bills and other small Scottish businesses on time and generally appears to have a do not care attitude towards Scotland. Or would his attempted intervention be regarded as ethically incorrect. :greengrin

P.S. I understand the wee eck may have a soft spot for this mismanaged business.

So will I! :devil:

Do you think it is appropriate for a Peer of the Realm to ask Scotland's First Minister to use Scotland's business contacts in an attempt to … :na na:

Surely Lord Foulkes wouldn’t ask the First Minister to do something, in writing, knowing it was unethical or inappropriate? :confused:

24-01-2012, 11:29 AM
Have a strong word with yourself, Bob for posting that nonsense!

Every minister of state at Westminster and Holyrood receive petitions and visits from vested interests of all sorts, from business corporations to charitable organisations every day of the week. The revolving doors at Holyrood will see a non-stop parade of such today and every day of the week. No minister of state is corrupt in having a listening ear. It's how causes get raised and how some legislation is amended or even brought forward for enactment. It's called lobbying.

And it happens in companies/corporations every day as well, where political structures are oiled every hour of every day.

If the FM had raised the issue of Hibs needing new investment, this board would be singing his praises. But because he is a well-known Jambo and has allegedly raised the name of Hearts, he gets villified.

Childish does not even begin to describe this attitude.

Oh dear. Embarrassing and cringeworthy.

Being lobbied by outside commercial interests is one thing, going and then acting on their behalf is quite another. No-one is criticising a Minister for "having a listening ear" in this instance, it is what he then did with his mouth, the information and his public office afterward that is the problem.

The best thing to do when a politician screws up either by accident or design (particularly a Minister) is to own up, say sorry and move on. Wriggling and squirming to try and make the indefensible defensible has only one effect - to make crystal clear that your politician is exactly the same as all other politicians and that there is something to hide.

The convoluted and unconvincing arguments as to why it is perfectly fine for someone who is the First Minister for all of Scotland to use his public office and time to advance the case for one particular football club (which he just happens to support) is simply digging a bigger hole for him.

24-01-2012, 11:32 AM

Do you think it is appropriate for a Peer of the Realm to ask Scotland's First Minister to use Scotland's business contacts in an attempt to … :na na:

Surely Lord Foulkes wouldn’t ask the First Minister to do something, in writing, knowing it was unethical or inappropriate? :confused:

I forgot Foulkes is so clever he would never make that mistake. Private docs are never leaked, and like they really care about what the public think other than what the opion poll is saying this week.

allmodcons
24-01-2012, 01:57 PM

Being lobbied by outside commercial interests is one thing, going and then acting on their behalf is quite another. No-one is criticising a Minister for "having a listening ear" in this instance, it is what he then did with his mouth, the information and his public office afterward that is the problem.

The best thing to do when a politician screws up either by accident or design (particularly a Minister) is to own up, say sorry and move on. Wriggling and squirming to try and make the indefensible defensible has only one effect - to make crystal clear that your politician is exactly the same as all other politicians and that there is something to hide.

The convoluted and unconvincing arguments as to why it is perfectly fine for someone who is the First Minister for all of Scotland to use his public office and time to advance the case for one particular football club (which he just happens to support) is simply digging a bigger hole for him.

What did he do with his mouth ODS. You have no idea do you? I doubt anybody other than the FM knows what was said (or not said).
Your agenda (as always) is to try and stir things up. This is a complete non story and you know it. If there had been any sniff of wrongdoing,
let alone corruption, by the FM don't you think this would be a headline news story by now? Instead the only place it is generating any interest
is on Hibs.net and why, nothing to do with corruption or abuse of power, purely and simply because the FM is a Jambo.

If you are seriously suggesting that the FM is 'wriggling and squirming' over this (non) story and should make some kind of public apology then
you really have some nerve claiming another poster's comments are 'embarrassing and cringeworthy'?

24-01-2012, 02:29 PM

so are you saying Salmond has the same moral standards as Lord Foulkes? Got Scotlands safe in his hands then

24-01-2012, 03:12 PM
so are you saying Salmond has the same moral standards as Lord Foulkes? Got Scotlands safe in his hands then

All I'm saying is that a Unionist asked a Separatist both of whom should know the rules, ethics, standards, protocol, call it what you will around such a request.

It now seems to be an international incident the likes of which the Peoples Republic of Leith has never seen before in its long and distinguished history.

One in particular will be trying to curry flavour with the yams supporters given his previous central role in attracting their current owner, leading to their current perilous predicament.

If, there is any detriment to Scottish international standing and I seriously can't believe it will be the case, then what fault there is would fall on both sides of the independence debate.

ancienthibby
24-01-2012, 03:45 PM

ODS,

Thank you, thank you thank you!!!

After all these years of trying I've made it to the big leagues!

I have been vilified on a public forum by a Labour Party apparatchik!!:party:

One complaint, though ODS, could you not have tried to add 'patronising' to your set of accusations?

Here's a word for you - get out more.

Spending 18 hours a day in the second basement of Labour Party HQ trolling public debate forums looking for Nat-bashing opportunities has clearly completely distorted your sense of proportion.

As another poster rightly observed this whole thread is predicated on stirring up a storm in a teacup. Your own attempts to create a mountain out of a molehill is precisely what's embarrassing and cringeworthy.

You should instead be congratulating the FM for for showing grace in responsibly discharging the duties of his office in taking on the request of a political opponent and making a modest inquiry of his hosts while enjoying complete success to the nation's benefit in all the key objectives of his visit.

24-01-2012, 05:45 PM
ODS,

Thank you, thank you thank you!!!

After all these years of trying I've made it to the big leagues!

I have been vilified on a public forum by a Labour Party apparatchik!!:party:

One complaint, though ODS, could you not have tried to add 'patronising' to your set of accusations?

Here's a word for you - get out more.

Spending 18 hours a day in the second basement of Labour Party HQ trolling public debate forums looking for Nat-bashing opportunities has clearly completely distorted your sense of proportion.

As another poster rightly observed this whole thread is predicated on stirring up a storm in a teacup. Your own attempts to create a mountain out of a molehill is precisely what's embarrassing and cringeworthy.

You should instead be congratulating the FM for for showing grace in responsibly discharging the duties of his office in taking on the request of a political opponent and making a modest inquiry of his hosts while enjoying complete success to the nation's benefit in all the key objectives of his visit.

Presumably if he'd been successful and the Qataris had arrived with suitcases full of cash to bail Hearts out you would have been on the tarmac waiting for the plane and weeping with gratitude? A bit like the scenes when, er, Romanov arrived in Gorgie....

ancienthibby
24-01-2012, 05:50 PM
Presumably if he'd been successful and the Qataris had arrived with suitcases full of cash to bail Hearts out you would have been on the tarmac waiting for the plane and weeping with gratitude? A bit like the scenes when, er, Romanov arrived in Gorgie....

How 19th century of you, but, er, no.

24-01-2012, 06:26 PM

Re word all you want - doesn't change the fact that the OP didn't say what you asked him to clarify. He might well think that what wee eck said, if indeed we accept that the daily rankger is now a media organ of rectitude against most hibs.net opinion since the broonaldo/katiie days, was bang out of order, but he quite rightly (imho) thinks there's far bigger fish to fry.

If any voter thinks the SNP are wrong to look for Scottish independence - don't base it on what Salmond is alleged to have said to the Qataris re hmfc
If any voter thinks the SNP are right to look for Scottish independence - don't base it on what Salmond is alleged to have said to the Qataris re hmfc

24-01-2012, 06:26 PM

Is there any difference between Salmond being in China and the Middle East, trying to drum up business for the Scottish wind and wave power industries, and the Hearts situation? After all, it's about jobs, taxes, public interest.

24-01-2012, 06:37 PM
What did he do with his mouth ODS. You have no idea do you? I doubt anybody other than the FM knows what was said (or not said).
Your agenda (as always) is to try and stir things up. This is a complete non story and you know it. If there had been any sniff of wrongdoing,
let alone corruption, by the FM don't you think this would be a headline news story by now? Instead the only place it is generating any interest
is on Hibs.net and why, nothing to do with corruption or abuse of power, purely and simply because the FM is a Jambo.

If you are seriously suggesting that the FM is 'wriggling and squirming' over this (non) story and should make some kind of public apology then
you really have some nerve claiming another poster's comments are 'embarrassing and cringeworthy'?

Well that's the first I have noticed of anyone suggesting corruption and its in your post not anyone else's. Poor judgment - absolutely. Corruption - don't be daft.

Your use of the phrase 'the FM' suggests a senior party or Holyrood perspective because most 'normal' people don't use that terminology. Civil servants and politicians do. If you are an insider you should know that Salmond is way too classy a politician to do 'wriggling and squirming'. Not so his apologists on .net however, many of whom have been doing just that as I suggested in an earlier post.

If you think that it is appropriate for Scotland's First Minister to be raising the matter 'informally' with the Emir and the Prime Minister of Qatar and also with officials from Qatar Holdings (that's quite a bit of serially 'informally raising' on Hearts behalf don't you think?) then we are going to have to agree to differ on what is proper and acceptable for a First Minister to be doing with the public office he holds.

And we haven't even touched yet upon the damage done to football in general by having clubs become the toys of wealthy - and not so wealthy - foreign owners. The poor judgment shown in being a willing accomplice to trying to accelerate that process in the case of Hearts and Qatar demonstrates for me a fundamental lack of understanding as to what is needed to save our game. If he had been successful it would have helped Hearts at the expense of Scottish football in general as the twisted and unequal league we have would have seen an acceleration of the disfunction between the overinflated 'big' clubs of Celtc, Rangers and Hearts at the expense of all the others. Not clever and - ironically - not in Scotland's interest.

24-01-2012, 07:37 PM
Is there any difference between Salmond being in China and the Middle East, trying to drum up business for the Scottish wind and wave power industries, and the Hearts situation? After all, it's about jobs, taxes, public interest.

I presume - and hope - that efforts to encourage foreign investment into Scottish renewables projects and opportunities are about investment into an industry generally and coming to Scotland to find out what opportunities there are across the spectrum.

That's quite a lot different to 'Fancy putting some money into the the football team I support?'. Different if the enquiries to the Qatari Emir, the Prime Minister and Qatari Holdings officials (really, was there anyone else in Qatar left to be asked in this series of 'informal' conversations?) had been about investing in Scottish football generally. But it wasn't. It was about investing in one team - Hearts.

allmodcons
24-01-2012, 09:53 PM
Well that's the first I have noticed of anyone suggesting corruption and its in your post not anyone else's. Poor judgment - absolutely. Corruption - don't be daft.

Your use of the phrase 'the FM' suggests a senior party or Holyrood perspective because most 'normal' people don't use that terminology. Civil servants and politicians do. If you are an insider you should know that Salmond is way too classy a politician to do 'wriggling and squirming'. Not so his apologists on .net however, many of whom have been doing just that as I suggested in an earlier post.

If you think that it is appropriate for Scotland's First Minister to be raising the matter 'informally' with the Emir and the Prime Minister of Qatar and also with officials from Qatar Holdings (that's quite a bit of serially 'informally raising' on Hearts behalf don't you think?) then we are going to have to agree to differ on what is proper and acceptable for a First Minister to be doing with the public office he holds.

And we haven't even touched yet upon the damage done to football in general by having clubs become the toys of wealthy - and not so wealthy - foreign owners. The poor judgment shown in being a willing accomplice to trying to accelerate that process in the case of Hearts and Qatar demonstrates for me a fundamental lack of understanding as to what is needed to save our game. If he had been successful it would have helped Hearts at the expense of Scottish football in general as the twisted and unequal league we have would have seen an acceleration of the disfunction between the overinflated 'big' clubs of Celtc, Rangers and Hearts at the expense of all the others. Not clever and - ironically - not in Scotland's interest.

You might want to read an earlier post by Dashing Bob S and then think about retracting your opening statement. It's a good idea to check your facts before spouting off, but when your blind to any balance I don't expect getting the facts correct really matters to you.

25-01-2012, 11:03 AM
You might want to read an earlier post by Dashing Bob S and then think about retracting your opening statement. It's a good idea to check your facts before spouting off, but when your blind to any balance I don't expect getting the facts correct really matters to you.

You are quite right and I'm more than happy to retract what I said about others mentioning corruption. Particularly because getting the facts right in these discussions is important.

I am equally happy to restate what I wrote on the subject: Poor judgment - absolutely. Corruption - don't be daft.

As to the facts, I think you have conveniently ignored the rest of them. In not engaging on the substance you are in my view showing greater wisdom than some of your fellow separatists.