View Full Version : Players That Passed Through Easter Road & Were Immediately Forgotten

Gala Foxes
21-01-2012, 09:44 AM
Read the Evening News match from years ago report today - Killie - Hibs from 2004, it mentions a run + pass from Alan Reid.

There is a player who I completely forgot played for Hibs - I still remember the shock that he was in the team for the Livvi shambles

dmc1875
21-01-2012, 09:50 AM
Around 98/99 did we not have a player called Alex Marinkov? Someone was talking to me about him the other day!

And also does anyone remember the Trinidad lad we had around 2000, striker I think he was? Hardly ever played cant remember his name!:cb

21-01-2012, 09:51 AM
Hakim Sar....signed during what Jim McLean rightly described as silly season, when if you had a foreign sounding name you were signed regardless of talent. I think he played in a cup game but can't even be sure.

Mikey_1875
21-01-2012, 10:04 AM
Denis rosa, thought he had some potential but turned out to be pretty poor/injured a lot I think.

21-01-2012, 10:06 AM
Around 98/99 did we not have a player called Alex Marinkov? Someone was talking to me about him the other day!

And also does anyone remember the Trinidad lad we had around 2000, striker I think he was? Hardly ever played cant remember his name!:cb

Earl Jean.

Mikey_1875
21-01-2012, 10:06 AM
Did Andy McLaren ever play for us aswell? Maybe in a trial game or something, remember the rumours but can't remember if he ever signed.

21-01-2012, 10:08 AM
I remember the Dempsie brothers from about 12 years ago. Both were promising defenders and products of our youth system.

From what I can remember, they both made limited appearances for the first team then seem to disappear without trace.

21-01-2012, 10:09 AM
Jonathan Grounds. Played plenty of games, but a total non entity.

Mark79
21-01-2012, 10:19 AM
Peter Guggi and fabrice Henry ?

21-01-2012, 10:25 AM
Mike Francks.

21-01-2012, 10:27 AM
aberouf zarabi - left back 2007/08

sundo1875
21-01-2012, 10:28 AM
Lyndon andrews

21-01-2012, 10:28 AM
Joe Keenan. .... Please let me forget about him! .... So so awful

Leitherhibs
21-01-2012, 10:30 AM
Freddie daquin

21-01-2012, 10:32 AM
World Cup star Mark Caughey.

21-01-2012, 10:33 AM
Cannae remember any.

andy1875
21-01-2012, 10:34 AM
Lyndon Andrews, altho he did play a stormer in THAT 6-2 game :greengrin

Sergeant Hibs
Oumar Konde

Kevin Nicol, we paid money for him as one of the next big things and he never really got a good chance...

Lilian Martin must be up there too...

Leitherhibs
21-01-2012, 10:36 AM
Roland edge.

21-01-2012, 10:37 AM
Mike Conroy

Frogga
21-01-2012, 10:39 AM
Daryl Duffy... And he only left 6 months ago!

21-01-2012, 10:42 AM
Did Andy McLaren ever play for us aswell? Maybe in a trial game or something, remember the rumours but can't remember if he ever signed.

He played as a trialist in a pre season friendly versus Preston north end.

Leitherhibs
21-01-2012, 10:43 AM
Thorsten schmugge

dmc1875
21-01-2012, 10:44 AM
I remember the Dempsie brothers from about 12 years ago. Both were promising defenders and products of our youth system.

From what I can remember, they both made limited appearances for the first team then seem to disappear without trace.

Is one of them not dead now? I seem to remember something couple years back about a drug overdose?

dmc1875
21-01-2012, 10:45 AM
Kevin Nicol, we paid money for him as one of the next big things and he never really got a good chance...

Lilian Martin must be up there too...

From what I remember we had the choice of him or Nacho Novo at the time...:rolleyes:

dmc1875
21-01-2012, 10:46 AM
Is one of them not dead now? I seem to remember something couple years back about a drug overdose?

Scratch that it was Liam O'Sullivan

21-01-2012, 10:50 AM
Paul Dalglish

Aubenas
21-01-2012, 10:51 AM
Think Alan Dempsey played on down the leagues; Mark had to retire because of a chronic injury - hip I think it was. He looked promising. IIRC Alan was useful but really too wee

21-01-2012, 11:09 AM
Matt Thornhill.

Sergeant Hibs
21-01-2012, 11:12 AM
Morten Hyldgaard

21-01-2012, 11:14 AM
Paul Hartley

21-01-2012, 11:16 AM
Justin Skinner

21-01-2012, 11:20 AM
George Stark

21-01-2012, 11:21 AM
Antonio Murray.

21-01-2012, 11:27 AM
George Stark

He must have passed through REALLY quickly.

Can't say I've even heard of the guy!

andy1875
21-01-2012, 11:31 AM
Barry Prenderville anyone?

I mind he scored a cracker shooting towards the Famous Five. sure he was on loan from Coventry City.

21-01-2012, 11:34 AM
Allan Smart.

Think we tried to get him for about 6 months from Watford.

Always looked 2 stone overweight.

21-01-2012, 11:34 AM
Junior Agogo.

Mark Mcgraw.

21-01-2012, 12:50 PM
Junior Agogo.

Mark Mcgraw.

You beat me to it. :greengrin

I was going to say Rab Shannon, as well. I had high hopes for him when he signed, but he got injured (I think?) early on, and that was about it for him.

hibsboy90
21-01-2012, 01:00 PM
Patrick Nouboussie (sp?)

Torben Joneleit

Steven Pinau

21-01-2012, 01:20 PM
Juha Rippa, played against them at the Pink Palace, I was one of a select few who witnessed him

Bjarni Laursen :faf:

21-01-2012, 01:28 PM
Juha Rippa, played against them at the Pink Palace, I was one of a select few who witnessed him

Bjarni Laursen :faf:

I genuinely forgot about Rippa.

I wonder if he's still in the centre circle at Tynecastle because he never left it that day.

Hibiza
21-01-2012, 01:33 PM
jarko wiss (did i spell that correctly)

beensaidbefore
21-01-2012, 02:00 PM
Peter Guggi and fabrice Henry ?

beat me too it. What about (Emile) Hurtado, Jarko Wiss

21-01-2012, 02:02 PM
Hakim Sar....signed during what Jim McLean rightly described as silly season, when if you had a foreign sounding name you were signed regardless of talent. I think he played in a cup game but can't even be sure.

In that case, my name is Mabosa Ritchie and I have always wanted to play for Hibernian Football Club.

beensaidbefore
21-01-2012, 02:03 PM
what was the Hungarian defender about 4 or 5 seasons ago, sure he was injured almost the whole time we had him. Used to play for Hungary??

21-01-2012, 02:06 PM
Justin Skinner

I thought Skinner was a superb player for Hibs. Very composed and a good passer.

andy1875
21-01-2012, 02:09 PM
what was the Hungarian defender about 4 or 5 seasons ago, sure he was injured almost the whole time we had him. Used to play for Hungary??

Janos Matyus? Sure he was a left back.

21-01-2012, 02:30 PM
Eamonn Bannon

Matty_Jack04
21-01-2012, 02:36 PM
Marc libbra

21-01-2012, 02:39 PM
Patrick Nouboussie (sp?)

Torben Joneleit

Steven Pinau

All 3 never given a a chance unfortunately

21-01-2012, 02:44 PM
Morten Hyldgaard

I can remember thinking he was good.

Janos Matyus? Sure he was a left back.

Did he not play centre back alongside Zambernardi?

21-01-2012, 07:09 PM
Roland Edge
Jay Shields
Paul Fenwick
Sam Morrow

Gala Foxes
21-01-2012, 08:33 PM
jarko wiss (did i spell that correctly)

think you mis-spelt it , change the W to a P and add an H at the end

Gala Foxes
21-01-2012, 08:34 PM
Rikki Fleming

Chris Jackson

Billy McLaren

Hugh Hamill

Terry Wilson

Bobby Torrance

Joe Ward

Willie Irvine (the 2nd)

Gala Foxes
21-01-2012, 08:35 PM
Gerry O'Brien - although he did gubb the Jambo's in his debut in an East Of Scotland Shield Final

Gala Foxes
21-01-2012, 08:37 PM
Richie Towell

marco1875
21-01-2012, 09:26 PM
Daryl Duffy... And he only left 6 months ago!

I completely forgot about him.

What about Barry Prenderville (Not sure if correct spelling, was an Irish boy I think)

marco1875
21-01-2012, 09:27 PM
Roland Edge
Jay Shields
Paul Fenwick
Sam Morrow

Fenwick was decent imo.

21-01-2012, 09:29 PM
Phil Airey!

21-01-2012, 09:47 PM
Lilian Martins

JE89
21-01-2012, 10:23 PM
Paul Lovering

21-01-2012, 10:28 PM
Roland edge.

Probably better than any of our current defenders...along with Konde, Humprey Rudge, and Barry Prenderville!

21-01-2012, 10:28 PM
Fenwick was decent imo.

Agreed, formed a pretty good defence with alongside I think Shaun Dennis, Gary Smith and Derek Collins....

21-01-2012, 10:33 PM
Thomas Sowumni. Ended up at Falkirk and did well :agree:

muzzhfc
21-01-2012, 10:41 PM
divis

21-01-2012, 10:51 PM
George Stark

Zlatko Borislav

muzzhfc
21-01-2012, 11:03 PM
joe keenan
steven thico
allan o'brien
brian kerr
paddy cregg

21-01-2012, 11:05 PM
Phil Airey!

Now hitting the heights with the mighty Gateshead

spudhib
22-01-2012, 07:58 AM
Paul holsgrove,garry murray,bobby flavell

JE89
22-01-2012, 10:11 AM
Paul holsgrove

Was just trying to remember his name. Did he not give away a penalty in that game against Stranraer at ER by essentially flicking the ball away with his hand despite being under no pressure?

Brebners Bookie
22-01-2012, 10:26 AM
Patrick Nouboussie (sp?)

Torben Joneleit

Steven Pinau

As i've posted before Joneleit is now quite a big deal in Belgium. Signed for Genk from JC's Charleroi and is now a regular starter and had a 3 million euro bid rejected for him.

22-01-2012, 11:46 AM
Now hitting the heights with the mighty Gateshead

That's a bit far away from Newcastle is it not? He'll be getting homesick again :wink:

Persevere80
22-01-2012, 12:19 PM
Fabian Yantorno

22-01-2012, 12:34 PM
Craig James

22-01-2012, 12:55 PM
Alex McGregor, our free transfer close season signing from Ayr Utd, following the collapse of fortunes during the second half of the 72-3 campaign. Tom Hart did spend 120K [132K if you include the taxes] six month later on Joe Harper from Everton, but that's a different thread altogether :greengrin

22-01-2012, 01:09 PM
Billy Findlay (did he not get a five year contract from Hibs at one point?)

22-01-2012, 01:37 PM
Yvan Tomatula and Andis Shala.

Sunny1875
26-01-2012, 09:21 AM
Right now we could do with Lovering , Dennis , Fenwick, Derek Collins

Skinner, Holsgrove, Gary Smith, Ulrik Laursen, Freddy Arpinion , Zitelli and Mathias Doumbe or even Colin Murdock all of whom would improve the current squad.

And before anyone slags of Murdock remember he did have the bottle to score the winning penalty against Rangers in the Semi final of the league cup

26-01-2012, 09:26 AM
Andy Dow
Stephen Glass

26-01-2012, 09:34 AM
Who was the poor lad Ian ??? who broke his leg 1 minute into his debut against Berwick & never played again??
I'll also add Ian Cameron to the list!

26-01-2012, 09:53 AM
kenny miller
paul hartley
torben joinlet
martin canning
patrick nousbissie
antione-curier
filipe morais
steve pinau
jonatan johansson
fabian yantorno
grzegorz szamotulski
clayton donaldson
didier agathe

tanfield
26-01-2012, 09:54 AM
Paul Lovering

Lovering was excellent in our 1st Division year. Unfortunately that was his level

26-01-2012, 10:43 AM
Tom Smith - good player in the making

David Elliot - Bad player completed

Joe McLaughlin - Old player

Bryan Gunn - Bald player

Graham Love - I thought he was good

Danny Lennon - I thought he was average

Kevin McKee - The only one not to make it from the Hunter, Kane, Weir, Collins batch

Callum Milne - Mr. Average.

Davie Fellinger - Slower than a dead person who can't be bothered to be buried

Graeme Donald - Defender turned goal machine, if the machine broke down quite quickly

Jason Gardiner - Went onto have a reasonable career

26-01-2012, 10:57 AM
Is it just me who thinks there's more than a touch of irony in the amount of players who were immediately forgotten..who are well remembered. :greengrin (I would say Kenny Miller is a bit harsh - always mind of his strike in the millennium derby)

26-01-2012, 10:59 AM
Is it just me who thinks there's more than a touch of irony in the amount of players who were immediately forgotten..who are well remembered. :greengrin (I would say Kenny Miller is a bit harsh - always mind of his strike in the millennium derby)

Aye but I had to think about my list starting with, who have I forgotten?

26-01-2012, 11:00 AM
Aye but I had to think about my list starting with, who have I forgotten?

Hows about Robin Rae?

26-01-2012, 11:11 AM
Jim goodwin

Mikey_1875
26-01-2012, 12:56 PM
Johnathan Baillie. Most notable thing he did was get sent off vs Celtic iirc.

malcky
26-01-2012, 01:05 PM
Johnathan Baillie. Most notable thing he did was get sent off vs Celtic iirc.

Butch Wilkins

TrinityHibs
26-01-2012, 03:36 PM
I remeber a winger we signed. I always thought he might be a player but I've not seen him play in ages if ever. The problem is I have forgotten his name. It was something like Ganny Dalbraith. If I remember anything positive he did I'll amend this post.

26-01-2012, 03:54 PM
Martin Canning
Bryan Gunn (I always remember thinking his attempt at saving Robbos freekick was awful, but at least we won).
Lee Power and Paul Tosh

26-01-2012, 04:02 PM
Colin Harris and Graeme Harvey. Both swapped teams and ended up nowhere.

John McGachie.

26-01-2012, 05:22 PM
I remeber a winger we signed. I always thought he might be a player but I've not seen him play in ages if ever. The problem is I have forgotten his name. It was something like Ganny Dalbraith. If I remember anything positive he did I'll amend this post.

26-01-2012, 05:26 PM
Graeme Donald - Defender turned goal machine, if the machine broke down quite quickly

Sure he started in the team as a Teenage Hitkid, playing as a striker with three goals in first five games, before Lexo turned him into an average defender.

26-01-2012, 05:30 PM
Damon Gray.

I thank you.

26-01-2012, 05:40 PM
Ken Allison -late 50s-4 goals in 5 games-not Hibs class.Angus Plumb-late40s-10 goals in 10 games-likewise.Those were the days.>

26-01-2012, 06:10 PM
Craig James.

26-01-2012, 07:04 PM
Jim Goodwin

26-01-2012, 07:07 PM

Bryan Gunn - Bald player

Kevin McKee - The only one not to make it from the Hunter, Kane, Weir, Collins batch

No he didn't unfortunately.

26-01-2012, 07:21 PM
Another name that popped into ma heid: Martin MacIntosh. Whatever happened to him?

26-01-2012, 07:27 PM
Who was the poor lad Ian ??? who broke his leg 1 minute into his debut against Berwick & never played again??
I'll also add Ian Cameron to the list!

That was Ian Hendry. Broke his leg 40 seconds into his debut against Berwick (double compound fracture). Played one more first team game before leaving the club.

Purple & Green
26-01-2012, 08:05 PM
Kirk Broadfoot.

26-01-2012, 11:02 PM
Humphrey Rudge

27-01-2012, 03:20 AM
Óle Gottskálksson

sure he eventually fled english football after refusing a drugs test!

an one of my fav's at the time

Tony Rougier

never heard much of him when he left.

27-01-2012, 04:15 AM
Óle Gottskálksson

sure he eventually fled english football after refusing a drugs test!

an one of my fav's at the time

Tony Rougier

never heard much of him when he left.

Aye, left behind a cracking girlfriend anaw.

Hard to believe that was almost 7 years ago -Jeez ah feel auld

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/european/gottskalksson_banned_for_refusing_to_take_drug_tes t_1_718132

Gala Foxes
27-01-2012, 05:04 AM
Derek Rodier

Stuart Turnbull ( great goal at Tannadice though) - come to think of it , not forgotten because of that goal

27-01-2012, 05:42 AM
Bobby Thompson.

Wonder what kind of ban he would get now for shaking a linesman.

27-01-2012, 06:03 AM
From the 70s...

Bobby Robertson - keeper, 1 game vs Keflavik I think
Mike Wilson
Rab Kilgour
Ian Black snr
The 2 guys we signed from Leeds in a blaze of publicity who never once made the 1st team

27-01-2012, 07:20 AM
The mystery man, Ellias Wagner.

27-01-2012, 08:00 AM

Bryan Gunn - Bald player

No he didn't unfortunately.

You're absolutely right, I was thinking of Stevie Woods.

Whilst I'm here I'll raise you a Shana Hadji.

27-01-2012, 08:51 AM

Graham Love was truly terrible.

27-01-2012, 09:51 AM
ally scott and grahame fyfe....to think we swapped the mighty iain munro for them...im still angry about it.

27-01-2012, 10:15 AM
Didier Agathe

27-01-2012, 11:15 AM
David "Ynot" Groff

27-01-2012, 11:54 AM
Graham Love was truly terrible.

Not at first, looked a prospect.

DAVE1875
27-01-2012, 12:08 PM
Sorry if someone has already mentioned him - Alan O'Brien

27-01-2012, 12:09 PM
Not at first, looked a prospect.

Until it became clear he was slower than a tortoise.

GreenPJ
27-01-2012, 12:14 PM
Barry Prenderville and Roland Edge although i did think Prenderville was decent.

27-01-2012, 12:16 PM
Sorry if someone has already mentioned him - Alan O'Brien

Don't mean to be unkind to the lad, but I think he was -in his own way - unforgettable.

27-01-2012, 12:45 PM
Another name that popped into ma heid: Martin MacIntosh. Whatever happened to him?

Did he not go to Hamilton and was the guy who crippled Stack last season? (which led to the end of the fantastic five game run)

27-01-2012, 12:46 PM
Scott Bannerman

Emilio Bottiligieri

LuaLuas cousin

27-01-2012, 01:00 PM
Until it became clear he was slower than a tortoise.

That never stopped Davie Boy Beaumont

27-01-2012, 01:15 PM
That never stopped Davie Boy Beaumont

the luckiest hibs player ever...a cup winners medal 5 minutes after arriving at E.R. and he just sat on the bench to gain it (denying joe tortolano the privilage that would surely have been his)...mind you his goal against anderlecht would probably exclude him from entering the forgetable category.

DAVE1875
27-01-2012, 01:25 PM
Don't mean to be unkind to the lad, but I think he was -in his own way - unforgettable.

Apart from the Squiggler game I can't think of any other decent performances from him

27-01-2012, 01:41 PM
Apart from the Squiggler game I can't think of any other decent performances from him

One other - Falkirk at home has was just about unplayable. Laid a few on a plate for Fletcher who was going through a spell of missing everything!

I think he actually got a standing ovation after he went off injured towards the end.

DaveSo
27-01-2012, 01:43 PM
Can't remember for sure his name but I think it was Barry Prenderville.
Although he did score an absolute belter against Morton at ER in the Great Adverture season.

GreenPJ
27-01-2012, 01:46 PM
Can't remember for sure his name but I think it was Barry Prenderville.
Although he did score an absolute belter against Morton at ER in the Great Adverture season.

:agree: full back on loan from Coventry I think. Not sure if he ever got his league winners medal as think he was just on the cusp of no of games played.

27-01-2012, 02:02 PM
Did he not go to Hamilton and was the guy who crippled Stack last season? (which led to the end of the fantastic five game run)

Nah that was Mark McLaughlin wasnt it?

hibbybob
27-01-2012, 03:15 PM
Rab Shannon!

What a depressing thread this is!

27-01-2012, 05:43 PM
Has anyone mentioned Sven Mathisen or Isaac Refvik?

The wrong Mark Caughey?

Brian Marjoribanks -3 goals in 5 games.

27-01-2012, 06:39 PM
Has Andy "I'm not bitter" Walker been mentioned?

27-01-2012, 07:24 PM
From the 70s...

Bobby Robertson - keeper, 1 game vs Keflavik I think
Mike Wilson
Rab Kilgour
Ian Black snr
The 2 guys we signed from Leeds in a blaze of publicity who never once made the 1st team

Ah the two David's Reid and Whyte :agree:

Gala Foxes
27-01-2012, 09:12 PM
David Elliot
Ian Cameron
Brian Welsh
Lee Power
Paul Tosh
Ray Wilkins

28-01-2012, 07:38 AM
Ah the two David's Reid and Whyte :agree:

Well done that man! I've got the programme with them on the front cover but its too much hassle to dig it out.

Gala Foxes
28-01-2012, 07:46 PM
Pat McCurdy

Dave Huggins

Willie Paterson