View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian 2 v 3 St. Johnstone (f.t.)

Pages : 1 [2]

21-01-2012, 03:48 PM
BUY A EFFING DEFENCE FFS!! :grr:

21-01-2012, 03:48 PM
Did I say that the whole thing is the fans fault? No, go Google Jambo Kickback, that's probably more your scene.

Yes, we have big problems at the club, but moaning, whining sayingn we're being relegated, shouting abuse at our players only makes things worse.

We seen what a bit of fighting spirit in the stands can do against Dunfy last weekend.

FFS, people need to wake up that we're only adding to our problems.

So because I retorted to your post I must be a Hearts fan or should be a Hearts fan? How does that work?

If you care to read through my posting history or stand beside me at a game you'll see I'm generally pretty positive about Hibs. However it doesn't take away from the fact that the actions of he fans are a small, small part of our problems. It's the duty of the players.to get the fans behind them.

If we escape with a draw today I'll be delighted but its merely papering over the cracks and there are issues at ER that need.to be addressed. If having a moan about them on a forum designed for that purpose makes me a doom monger then fine, guilty as charged.

21-01-2012, 03:49 PM
Ah shaddupayaface!

See what I did there?!? Huh huh?

I'll get my coat....

Oh dear, you don't learn. And Hibs defence do their usual.

Yep, let's all complain how everything's **** at our club and sit in misery.

Did you see the new Room 101 on the telly last night? It's ****.

JESUS WEPT :brickwall

21-01-2012, 03:50 PM
And again.

Might just nip over to kickback as apparently not blindly accepting this nonsense means I'm a Hearts fan.

Yep, let's all complain how everything's **** at our club and sit in misery.

Did you see the new Room 101 on the telly last night? It's ****.

Why would people not complain? This is pathetic.

So because I retorted to your post I must be a Hearts fan or should be a Hearts fan? How does that work?

If you care to read through my posting history or stand beside me at a game you'll see I'm generally pretty positive about Hibs. However it doesn't take away from the fact that the actions of he fans are a small, small part of our problems. It's the duty of the players.to get the fans behind them.

If we escape with a draw today I'll be delighted but its merely papering over the cracks and there are issues at ER that need.to be addressed. If having a moan about them on a forum designed for that purpose makes me a doom monger then fine, guilty as charged.

You seriously underestimate how much the fanbase is adding to the problems on the pitch at Easter Road.

7Hero
auch well at least we have ...................... to look forward to....

7Hero
21-01-2012, 03:51 PM
You seriously underestimate how much the fanbase is adding to the problems on the pitch at Easter Road.

the fans can never be blamed for this, we are actually saints for putting up with it for so long...

21-01-2012, 03:52 PM

Fans don't add to the problem. The team adds to problemed fans. :wink:

Those who reckon hibs arent in grave danger of being relegated take your head out your erse.

You seriously overestimate it.

HibsNZ
Disgusting!!!!

A decent defence and we would not be in trouble, how can PF not see that.

A real case of "Gone in Sixty Seconds" today. :boo hoo:

DAVE1875
21-01-2012, 03:53 PM
Well, I for one will not be watching ALBA tonight

21-01-2012, 03:53 PM
Those who reckon hibs arent in grave danger of being relegated take your head out your erse.

Mark my words, we won't be relegated. We are a team who can score goals, albeit with a very leaky defence but we have enough to be safe.

21-01-2012, 03:54 PM

3-0 win for the pars away from home. They have something to build on now.

I think you overestimate it.

We could fill the stadium and cheer and sing for 90 minutes and it wouldn't make that back 4 any better.

A poor player will always be poor regardless of what atmosphere he is playing in.

Mark my words, we won't be relegated. We are a team who can score goals, albeit with a very leaky defence but we have enough to be safe.

And Dunfermline have proven today that they are completely incapable of scoring goals.

OPEN YOUR EYES MAN!

So I take it the fans are to blame for not clapping enough :rolleyes:

mcfly
21-01-2012, 03:55 PM
those who reckon hibs arent in grave danger of being relegated take your head out your erse.

dire stuff hibs - get it sorted and spend some real cash on a defence

you have 10 days

A decent defence and we would not be in trouble, how can PF not see that.He is trying to get players in ..do you think he just sits on his erse all day ..?..deary ****ing me !!

I think he can see that. I'm amazed you'd even ask a question like that.

woodyloon
Never a truer word said.

You can't fault Hibs for effort, but you can for there defending..

Dunfy close the gap, ICT pull away. These are the game we need to be winning, I really fear for us, thought after last week we had gained much needed confidence especially in defence..

Littlest Hobo
RELEGATION is staring us in the face and we still can't defend to save ourselves. Drop the whole defence and bring in the young laddies, it really can't get any worse.

21-01-2012, 03:56 PM

And Dunfermline have proven today that they are completely incapable of scoring goals.

OPEN YOUR EYES MAN!

Everything will turn out okay.

21-01-2012, 03:57 PM
better hope motherwell get full points against dunfy on tuesday :agree:

21-01-2012, 03:57 PM
RELEGATION is staring us in the face and we still can't defend to save ourselves. Drop the whole defence and bring in the young laddies, it really can't get any worse.Aye very clever ...thank god your no the Manager ..

21-01-2012, 03:58 PM
better hope motherwell get full points against dunfy on tuesday :agree:

Motherwell have been murder for weeks.

There's a good chance we will be bottom of the league come Wednesday night.

21-01-2012, 03:59 PM
RELEGATION is staring us in the face and we still can't defend to save ourselves. Drop the whole defence and bring in the young laddies, it really can't get any worse.

we already have young laddies in defence(bar hart), unfortunately :(

Hibs are so poor just now it's not a case of "it's ok the Pars are gash". That result will give them a huge lift and this could see us in real danger. The fact we haven't brought in defenders is plain crazy. For god sake get out there and buy one. Stop messing about with loans or scraping the barrel for freebies. Invest Rod or face the real threat of losing millions by dropping into the first.

therealgavmac

3-0 win for the pars away from home. They have something to build on now.

And let's not forget they have a game in hand.......

We were *****. We need more players in. But I will say this again we leave things at the last minute to buy players!

Aye very clever ...thank god your no the Manager ..

It really can't get any worse though? :confused:

7Hero
who really expected a win today, i didn't !!

st johnstone, motherwell, kilmarnock all far superior than us this season on minuscule budgets..

thats whats so gauling, absolutely abysmally run club.

the fans can never be blamed for this, we are actually saints for putting up with it for so long...

Listening to it on radio and watching a dodgy beam back I actually thought the fans got right behind the team at 1-2 or at least it sounded better than it has for a while.

At the end of the day we don't do defence, far too soft and too many basic problems and its been a feature for far, far too long. Its simple really, however many we do score it won't matter much if we don't reinforce midfield and sort the entire defence out. Looked like Mark Brown had another great game and I believe we gave a decent effort up front in the second half. Gutted.

We deserve to go down. Absolute s***e!!

Of course he can see it. He's just unable to do anything about it. Decent players will think twice about risking their careers at a club which is destined for relegation.

21-01-2012, 04:00 PM
Goodwin will not sign now

21-01-2012, 04:00 PM
Despite us creating a few good chances, it would have been a travesty if we'd snatched a draw. Doesn't make it any less disappointing of course.

Any team who has a spine of Hanlon, Stephens and Stevenson is going to be very near the bottom of the league. Every week that we have to select from those 3 aswell as O'Hanlon, who is just as poor, is a week nearer to relegation.

I'm sure Fenlon is doing all he can to find players, but we should not be into the last 10 days, still with no defenders signed. Is there actually the sense of urgency there should be in our boardroom? It doesn't appear so.

woodyloon
21-01-2012, 04:01 PM

I think PF does see how bad/inexpericenced the defence is, and I think he is working his arse of trying to convince some defenders in with more quality than we have, but as he stated on it is hard to get them to come when they see the position the team is in the league. and as PF has said he is not going to buy just for the sake of it. It is just a sad fact that players of any quality are going to cost us a fee.

st johnstone, motherwell, kilmarnock all far superior than us this season on minuscule budgets..

I did, Pars just beat Killie so why shouldn't we think we can beat Saints at home? Maybe the players also think the same as you.

And I don't blame him!

Motherwell have been murder for weeks.

There's a good chance we will be bottom of the league come Wednesday night.

hopefully the chance of going back above hertz will help them stop the rot :wink:

21-01-2012, 04:02 PM
The fans were behind the team 100% afte every goal and the team blew it

21-01-2012, 04:03 PM
Booth, Doyle and Galbraith our best players.

O'Connor, waste of a shirt.

If Francomb is a right-back, then why wasn't he played there?

We're *****.

21-01-2012, 04:04 PM

me neither, but i thought it best keeping my thoughts to myself, dont want to be labeled a yamboid, rather than a realist :(

21-01-2012, 04:04 PM
hopefully the chance of going back above hertz will help them stop the rot :wink:

Here's hoping.

I see they got a late equaliser today so hopefully that will give them.a bit confidence.

The fact we are relying on other teams to do us a favour is really pathetic though.

21-01-2012, 04:06 PM

We have scored the least amount of goals in the league this season and conceeded the 2nd most goals so far this season.

21-01-2012, 04:06 PM

Could always make a cheeky wee offer to Fred Goodwin then, plant him in the middle or right back, at least we will have a bona fide scapegoat, goals against will probably be about the same..

21-01-2012, 04:07 PM
We have scored the least amount of goals in the league this season and conceeded the 2nd most goals so far this season.

Just because we can doesn't mean we will.

21-01-2012, 04:09 PM
Just because we can doesn't mean we will.

Eh?

21-01-2012, 04:10 PM
Eh?

Just because we can score goals doesn't mean we will.

21-01-2012, 04:12 PM

You dont make sense. you said we will be safe because we are a team that score goals. I said that we have scored the least amount of goals in the league this season and have conceeded the 2nd most so whats your point?

21-01-2012, 04:14 PM
You dont make sense. you said we will be safe because we are a team that score goals. I said that we have scored the least amount of goals in the league this season and have conceeded the 2nd most so whats your point?

I'm not too sure, tbh.

cad
21-01-2012, 04:15 PM
I just watched it on TV ,doesnt make good veiwing .

Our MOTM was Brown IMO saved us a right doin .

Still cant believe what I watched , Hibs SPL status is very much in doubt after that performance .

21-01-2012, 04:17 PM

Yep, agreed.

We can win the Scottish Cup :duck:

Bobo
21-01-2012, 04:29 PM
We are the weakest team out of 12 in a piss poor SPL and deserve to be relegated for the pish that has been dished up week after week!!

The same problems still persist and there's no sign of improvement and very little hope that the worst squad of players in my lifetime can actually lift themselves enough to become anywhere near mediocre!

Again today we see our manager field players who wouldn't get a game at junior level, yet he persists with them? We have to sit and watch the fattest, laziest fvuck of a forward bumble about for an hour before the embarrassment of him being on the field actually sinks home with our manager.

Our defence has been a joke for the past 5 seasons and there is still nothing done to rectify it, instead our manager still persists on playing two full backs who couldn't fill the back of a stamp with what they know about defending!

We're still 2nd to every, ball in every third of the field, have no creativity, no threat and no bottle. We surrender possession to every team we play and have nobody who can take a corner, free kick or throw-in to even a schoolboy standard.

The lack of performance and continued under-achievement at Easter Road is a F***in' discrace and the club deserve everything that is shortly to come their way.

21-01-2012, 04:40 PM
Today was a turning point for me. I wasnt that concerned before but our pitiful defence makes me very worried about which division we'll be in next year.

We need experienced players in and in fast. Fenlon can't make changes because we don't have the depth of squad. Terry Butcher made 7 changes today from his midweek team. Tell me, where would Hibs make 7 changes from? His back 4 were fully replaced from the cup game. We can barely scratch a defence together with the players we've got.

We lost half a season under Calderwood who should have been ditched in the summer. Petrie is at fauly for that. I pity Pat Fenlon because he's got a real job on his hands to turn this round.

21-01-2012, 04:45 PM
We are the weakest team out of 12 in a piss poor SPL and deserve to be relegated for the pish that has been dished up week after week!!

The same problems still persist and there's no sign of improvement and very little hope that the worst squad of players in my lifetime can actually lift themselves enough to become anywhere near mediocre!

Again today we see our manager field players who wouldn't get a game at junior level, yet he persists with them? We have to sit and watch the fattest, laziest fvuck of a forward bumble about for an hour before the embarrassment of him being on the field actually sinks home with our manager.

Our defence has been a joke for the past 5 seasons and there is still nothing done to rectify it, instead our manager still persists on playing two full backs who couldn't fill the back of a stamp with what they know about defending!

We're still 2nd to every, ball in every third of the field, have no creativity, no threat and no bottle. We surrender possession to every team we play and have nobody who can take a corner, free kick or throw-in to even a schoolboy standard.

The lack of performance and continued under-achievement at Easter Road is a F***in' discrace and the club deserve everything that is shortly to come their way.

Sadly, I completely agree.

21-01-2012, 04:52 PM
Everything will turn out okay.

U need to wake up! Or get ur head out the sand or ur axs

21-01-2012, 04:56 PM

...........well lets no bother going then eh? We're clearly upsetting the wee angels. :rolleyes:

21-01-2012, 05:05 PM
We were *****. We need more players in. But I will say this again we leave things at the last minute to buy players!

We've got a guy from Arsenal in on trial, good enough to have been part of the Arsenal set-up, and trial/selection process but needs a trial with Hibs? Crazy.

glenberviehibee
21-01-2012, 05:36 PM
I just watched it on TV ,doesnt make good veiwing .

Our MOTM was Brown IMO saved us a right doin .

Still cant believe what I watched , Hibs SPL status is very much in doubt after that performance .

I agree Brown had a good game every attack they looked like scoring with this current set of players which is the worst i have ever seen and no investment forthcoming we have no chance of surviving.The 2nd and 3rd goals just after we scored where shocking.the 2nd a hump up the park missed by our defence again and the third why do we always stand off attacking players sandaza should have been closed down poor as we are we should have got a draw after we scored with 5 min to go we are shocking.

I really cant believe a team like ours is as bad as they are in a really poor SPL

21-01-2012, 05:48 PM
Did anyone see the way I threw the ball back to Callum Booth that resulted in us getting a penalty. Pure class. Oh first time in years since I sat in the west. Having sat in s43 for a while now I was surprised by the booing from the FF.

21-01-2012, 05:48 PM
Wow.....I really don't know what to make of today :rolleyes:

I don't think I have seen defending as poor as that in any level of football from Juniors upwards. What worried me most was the reactions after their second, and Stephen's calamitous ball watching/slow to react play. Absolutely no one, not one single player gathered the boys together, got them roused up, or told them to keep going. Each and every one of them looked clueless at each other, with Stephens doing the impression of a player who had still left the coat hanger in his jersey.........the play at times goes beyond disjointed. Hart at times was playing at centre half leaving acres of space for Craig/Haber.......Stephens was playing as if he had been shot with a tranquilizer............Hanlon is just simply a poor footballer.........and Booth was time and time caught a yard off whether going forward or back (though took his goal superbly).

It emphasised what we all know but the board and previous managers haven't addressed....experience in the spine of the side is totally lacking. Lomas (or any other manager) doesn't need to have a tactics board. The message is simple.....get the ball out wide, and into that box. Hibs cannot defend in any area at the edge of their box. Sproule was poor and I felt for Booth at times first half, because he had clearly been singled out as the weak link. Very few of St Johnstone's efforts came down Hart and Francomb's side. Perhaps because they are defensively minded and held their positions. Sproule would make a half hearted effort to track his man then stop, leaving young Callum with two players, one of whom more often than not was Sandaza who by the way was simply sublime whole match........O'Connor.....if there are auditions for Nelly the Elephant he will stroll them. As long as he doesn't trip over his own feet as he leaves the stage. Awful performance. Osbourne - was he playing ?

Whole team, I would say bar Griffiths and Lewis, ball watching, content to stand a yard off, at times awful decision making with the pass, and not one rose to the challenge of leader. Mark Brown saved us from a right drubbing today.

Of the subs, I thought young Danny was great. Held the ball well, got crosses in, linked up well when Callum's confidence started to come back a little. Doyle as well looked hungry. Wotherspoon I don't think knew what position to play - again, distinct lack of leadership in the team.

Positives if any - Leigh Griffiths was excellent I thought, bar a couple of poor deliveries from set pieces. Great touch, never afraid to get stuck in, took his penalty well, and was buzzing about for the whole 90 minutes. Lewis Stevenson, for all he is diminutive, has more heart than Hanlon, Stephens and Hart put together. Loads of energy, didn't stop, never hid. Osbourne didn't help him with poor passing and hesitant challenges. And Galbraith, who I thought didn't do much wrong when he came on.

I am still shaking my head in bemusement in having watched a quite remarkably poor defending display which I don't think any fan or neutral can pass off as acceptable. Pure unadulterated comedy for a 20 minute spell second half, and not amusing if you were a Hibs fan.

Well played St Johnstone though...they tormented, teased and probed all game. Fully deserving of all three points. In saying that, even if I pulled on the jersey these days I would be laughing apples if I was up against Paul Hanlon and David Stephens. They were both atrocious today.

Feed McGraw
21-01-2012, 09:11 PM

I don't think I have seen defending as poor as that in any level of football from Juniors upwards. What worried me most was the reactions after their second, and Stephen's calamitous ball watching/slow to react play. Absolutely no one, not one single player gathered the boys together, got them roused up, or told them to keep going. Each and every one of them looked clueless at each other, with Stephens doing the impression of a player who had still left the coat hanger in his jersey.........the play at times goes beyond disjointed. Hart at times was playing at centre half leaving acres of space for Craig/Haber.......Stephens was playing as if he had been shot with a tranquilizer............Hanlon is just simply a poor footballer.........and Booth was time and time caught a yard off whether going forward or back (though took his goal superbly).

It emphasised what we all know but the board and previous managers haven't addressed....experience in the spine of the side is totally lacking. Lomas (or any other manager) doesn't need to have a tactics board. The message is simple.....get the ball out wide, and into that box. Hibs cannot defend in any area at the edge of their box. Sproule was poor and I felt for Booth at times first half, because he had clearly been singled out as the weak link. Very few of St Johnstone's efforts came down Hart and Francomb's side. Perhaps because they are defensively minded and held their positions. Sproule would make a half hearted effort to track his man then stop, leaving young Callum with two players, one of whom more often than not was Sandaza who by the way was simply sublime whole match........O'Connor.....if there are auditions for Nelly the Elephant he will stroll them. As long as he doesn't trip over his own feet as he leaves the stage. Awful performance. Osbourne - was he playing ?

Whole team, I would say bar Griffiths and Lewis, ball watching, content to stand a yard off, at times awful decision making with the pass, and not one rose to the challenge of leader. Mark Brown saved us from a right drubbing today.

Of the subs, I thought young Danny was great. Held the ball well, got crosses in, linked up well when Callum's confidence started to come back a little. Doyle as well looked hungry. Wotherspoon I don't think knew what position to play - again, distinct lack of leadership in the team.

Positives if any - Leigh Griffiths was excellent I thought, bar a couple of poor deliveries from set pieces. Great touch, never afraid to get stuck in, took his penalty well, and was buzzing about for the whole 90 minutes. Lewis Stevenson, for all he is diminutive, has more heart than Hanlon, Stephens and Hart put together. Loads of energy, didn't stop, never hid. Osbourne didn't help him with poor passing and hesitant challenges. And Galbraith, who I thought didn't do much wrong when he came on.

I am still shaking my head in bemusement in having watched a quite remarkably poor defending display which I don't think any fan or neutral can pass off as acceptable. Pure unadulterated comedy for a 20 minute spell second half, and not amusing if you were a Hibs fan.

Well played St Johnstone though...they tormented, teased and probed all game. Fully deserving of all three points. In saying that, even if I pulled on the jersey these days I would be laughing apples if I was up against Paul Hanlon and David Stephens. They were both atrocious today.

A few years ago I could not believe that paid professionals could not sort out the goalkeeping problems at ER, until Yogi to his credit (I`m not a fan btw) sorted it out. Now, once again, I am gobsmacked that a string of professional people have failed to rectify a glaring problem in the heart of Hibs defence, when everybody from eight year old schoolboys to ninety five year old nursing home residents can see how utterly, utterly useless they are.

21-01-2012, 09:54 PM
I think I'm in a minority of one here, but we've been a LOT worse under CC than we were today. Griffiths and O'Connor were still lethargic and disinterested up front and the goals were dreadful lapses in concentration, but they were a lot less basic errors and at least we created a few chances. Something to build on, though I agree it's a pretty grave situation.

lenny leith
21-01-2012, 10:14 PM

Agree 100% Hibs players Can't even take a throw in let alone free kick or a corner. What do they do in training?? Hibs have become a care home for players who are neither fit or good enough for the 1st division. Can anyone see us beating the Ayr Utd or Ross County or Falkirk . If we go down we may be gone for some time.

21-01-2012, 10:22 PM
I think I'm in a minority of one here, but we've been a LOT worse under CC than we were today. Griffiths and O'Connor were still lethargic and disinterested up front and the goals were dreadful lapses in concentration, but they were a lot less basic errors and at least we created a few chances. Something to build on, though I agree it's a pretty grave situation.

Looking at the stats its pretty much on a par with last season. scoring is 1.04 goals per game this season, 1.02 last season. conceeding is 1.78 per game this season, 1.60 last season. IMO nothing much has changed, we maybe attack more under Fenlon but the result is still the same. I think people just want to view the team under fenlon as better but in reality we are just the same as under calderwood. If you wanted to be very critical with fenlon you could argue that Fenlons 8 game league record is worse than the last 8 league games calderwood had. So in terms of improvement I you could say that there hasnt been any.

IMO, no one could get anymore out of the current players as they are just not up to it. There hasnt been any improvement since Fenlon came in because he hasnt brought enough players in. He needs to bring in players quickly and they need to start playing straight away, none of this they need time to gel rubbish. We heard it about calderwoods crop of players and its plain to see that they would never gel. We can only really go by Doyle for whether fenlon can bring in decent players and so far he looks decent.

If it gets to the end of the transfer window and no players are brought in then you would have to worry about hibs future in the SPL, but the question from fans would be, why, and they would be looking for someone to blame.

son of haggart
21-01-2012, 10:32 PM

I watched your game on a stream and I have to agree with everything you say. I was really surprised to see the standard of your defending. ST Johnstone are a decent team but the reaction of your defence was to crumble. Before today I thought you would end up somewhere between 6th and 8th but unless you do something about that defence you're in trouble indeed.

21-01-2012, 10:41 PM

Matt,

I think your just bad luck and Hibs would have won easy if you hadn't have been there :wink::greengrin

Personally speaking O'Connor was awful, he is living in a dream world if he thinks he is getting a move. :agree:

22-01-2012, 12:21 AM
Matt,

I think your just bad luck and Hibs would have won easy if you hadn't have been there :wink::greengrin

Personally speaking O'Connor was awful, he is living in a dream world if he thinks he is getting a move. :agree:

:agree: I've got a freezer needs shifting.

22-01-2012, 12:31 AM
I watched your game on a stream and I have to agree with everything you say. I was really surprised to see the standard of your defending. ST Johnstone are a decent team but the reaction of your defence was to crumble. Before today I thought you would end up somewhere between 6th and 8th but unless you do something about that defence you're in trouble indeed.

My complaint is the players either lose concentration or crap it as soon as we score. Either way it's a big problem.

22-01-2012, 01:19 AM
Could always make a cheeky wee offer to Fred Goodwin then, plant him in the middle or right back, at least we will have a bona fide scapegoat, goals against will probably be about the same..
Thats funny

22-01-2012, 09:53 PM
I think you overestimate it.

We could fill the stadium and cheer and sing for 90 minutes and it wouldn't make that back 4 any better.

A poor player will always be poor regardless of what atmosphere he is playing in.

We filled a stand and a half in Dunfermline and we dug in deep - Harty clearing off the line etc.