View Full Version : Which name do you regret most getting printed on your hibs shirt?

20-01-2012, 09:08 PM
Which name do you regret most getting printed on your hibs shirt? and how quiclky did you get a new one after?

20-01-2012, 09:10 PM
Only ever get Sauzee on the back of my shirt. There will never be a day where I'd regret that...

20-01-2012, 09:13 PM
Never had a name or number printed on any football shirt I have owned.

andy1875
20-01-2012, 09:14 PM
That's an easy one for me. I got Tosh 7 in what I'm certain was the season we went down. In my defence I was still a bairn and only had about £5 pocket money. Hahaha I still blame my old man for that!!!

20-01-2012, 09:19 PM
Not a player name but back in the day I got "Insave" printed on the white band by Thomsons Sports. The dafty printed it "In Save". :grr:

weedgiehibbie
20-01-2012, 09:20 PM
Don't really regret getting a name on the back of my shirt however the only time i have had a name & number printed was just after we signed Barry Lavety and his first few games he was number 7.

So along i wen to Greaves Sports outside Glasgow Central to get Lavety and 7 on my Hibs top. Unfortunately he suffered his illness and once he came back i dont think he wore 7 again :rolleyes:

At least thats one good thing about squad numbers :greengrin

Mind you it was quite a good sight seeing the shop assistant in Greaves carry out a Hibs top with a name and number on it in full view of a shop full of folk thinking what the hell is that??!! :greengrin

20-01-2012, 09:21 PM
I got 'Brebner' on one of my strips, the old white away one, thought I was pretty safe as he'd just been made captain! 3 days later he was away to Dundee Utd! :rolleyes:

20-01-2012, 09:24 PM
Pretty much everyone who took advantage of last years kit and lettering for a tenner promo last year I reckon can contribute here.

20-01-2012, 09:26 PM
Only got three shirts with names on the back of them, Zemmama 08/09 Home top, Fletcher 08/09 Away top (one of my all time favourites!) and Riordan 09/10 away top.

The only regret I have is having 01 on the back of my white Riordan shirt. Try explaining why you are wearing a non goal keeper shirt with 01 on the back to a curious Tunisian, who at the time was trying to swap you a little drum, on the beach in forty degree heat, for it! :greengrin:

20-01-2012, 09:33 PM
Only ever get Sauzee on the back of my shirt. There will never be a day where I'd regret that...

Likewise. I've only ever got 1 name printed on the back of any football top, and I won't be regretting it in this life or the next.

20-01-2012, 09:38 PM
Pretty much everyone who took advantage of last years kit and lettering for a tenner promo last year I reckon can contribute here.

I was one, got Sodje on both tops...........

Sergeant Hibs
20-01-2012, 09:42 PM
Bought a strip with Brian Kerr on the back after the winner in the derby

zemmagic07
20-01-2012, 09:45 PM
Mercer... :tin hat:

20-01-2012, 09:54 PM
Bob Malcolm.

duffers
20-01-2012, 09:54 PM
I got 'Brebner' on one of my strips, the old white away one, thought I was pretty safe as he'd just been made captain! 3 days later he was away to Dundee Utd! :rolleyes:

I reckon I got mine about 3 days before he left too. And I also got him as I thought he was one that wouldn't have left

20-01-2012, 09:57 PM
Well I've just taken up the £20 away shirt offer with free lettering and got Doyle, so hopefully I won't be saying I regret that

20-01-2012, 09:59 PM
Had Sauzee 4 and Murphy 3. No regrets.

TamHibs
20-01-2012, 10:01 PM
De Graaf 8

TrinityHibs
20-01-2012, 10:38 PM
It wasnt a printed name but I bought a signed shirt at a charity auction. Paid far too much for it but thought it would be a good christmas present for trinityhibs junior. Managed to hide it that night from trinityhibs wife which was a real challenge as I was seriously happy. Next morning in the paper the headline was Mowbray to leave Hibs. Guess who had signed it in massive letters right in the middle of the strip? I just about laugh about it now:greengrin

20-01-2012, 10:41 PM
Jackson 10

Less than a week later he'd ****ed off :rolleyes:

20-01-2012, 10:42 PM
Which name do you regret most getting printed on your hibs shirt? and how quiclky did you get a new one after?I mentioned on another thread, the one and only I ever got was McGinlay on that luminous yellae strip and he left no long efter, dinnae really regret it though, just one of those things.

Reaper
20-01-2012, 10:43 PM
Darren Jackson, two weeks later he signed for Smeltic. I went to the shop and they to me to GTF!

meeks0-7
20-01-2012, 10:46 PM
Seven across the top with a big 0 underneath! White away top circa 2000/2001 season! Lying in my loft right now!

20-01-2012, 10:57 PM
Darren Jackson, two weeks later he signed for Smeltic. I went to the shop and they to me to GTF!

so one of the shop staff actually used these words ? :confused: awfy unprofessional of them

20-01-2012, 11:08 PM
Paco luna!!

20-01-2012, 11:12 PM
The poor git that had Agogo 18 on his back at EEP last week.

20-01-2012, 11:17 PM
De Graff.end off

21-01-2012, 12:08 AM
Never had a name or number printed on any football shirt I have owned.

I think it spoils the shirt. I'm sorry but you aren't actually Derek Riordan or Ivan Sproule.

edit: numbers on their own I don't mind for some reason but names of players look daft in my opinion.

21-01-2012, 01:41 AM
Bought a strip with Brian Kerr on the back after the winner in the derby

I got one with same, and wore it constantly, fortunately no one ever saw it.

21-01-2012, 06:45 AM
Romanov, could have saved a few bob and just got Vlad 666 instead.

Mark79
21-01-2012, 06:59 AM
Regarding names on shirts but not hibs related i went on holiday to Ibiza in 1998 with a few mates,one of them got a Newcastle shirt with the Belgian great that was Philippe Alberts name on his back.

He didn't quite grasp that by walking about with Albert written on the back of his shirt the birds all thought his name was Albert. To make matters worse he is a yam.

21-01-2012, 07:33 AM
I dived in with the 10quid shirt and name offer, my shame is divis , should have just left the s off

21-01-2012, 08:34 AM
Only names I have ever had were Gordon and Turnbull. Interestingly they spelled Gordon wrong. They also spelled Turnbull wrong on one of my son's shirts. Strange happenings in a Hibernian shop.

sundo1875
21-01-2012, 08:41 AM
Got O'brien 11 , the season he came , he played class against stirling albion and then that was it

21-01-2012, 08:54 AM
Romanov, could have saved a few bob and just got Vlad 666 instead.

21-01-2012, 09:17 AM
I got one with same, and wore it constantly, fortunately no one ever saw it.

:faf::thumbsup:

21-01-2012, 09:35 AM
jonatan johansson

Thomson
21-01-2012, 09:35 AM
I got Hartley "7" early pre season then when season started he was Hartley "12" then not much longer after that he was offski!!!

21-01-2012, 09:45 AM
Got my Wifes name printed on an away top ...I stuck the top on one morning thinking it was my top & headed off to the boozer ...thankfully the pub was quiet & only a couple o folk called me DIANNE....

dmc1875
21-01-2012, 09:51 AM
"Konte 19" Albeit it was for a bit of a laugh at football training...

All hail the 'Mali Magician' :not worth

21-01-2012, 11:22 AM
Ive had 3.

Sauzee
Latapy
Mcginlay.

Never regretted any of them. True Hibs heroes.

21-01-2012, 11:31 AM
Only ever had one name printed on the back of a shirt and like others before me in this thread, it'll be the only one I ever get. Sauzee 4 on white cup final strip. Takes pride of place in my football shirt drawer (4th drawer down)

The day I bought it (a match day) the shop somehow had a long sleeve home top, this was in the days before long sleeve tops were really readily available. Anyway, was torn between sauzee and long sleeve top. Got the white one then on the monday my mate and I skipped college, we drove up to ER to see if the long sleeve one was still there, it was so I bought that too! Its the only long sleeve strip of that era that I've ever seen. We then drove through to celtic park so he could get his dad a birthday present!

True story!

21-01-2012, 11:34 AM
Got one with "Dad" on it for xmas but I don't think my old man ever played for Hibs. He once did some welding work on that magnificent structure that is Tynecastle though :greengrin