View Full Version : East End Park memories

13-01-2012, 05:24 PM
Anyone got any memories from previous trips across the Forth?

I remember a glorious day about 87 where we drew 3-3, might have been the first game of the season.

The season where we got relegated and Brian Welsh heading a late equaliser to make it 1-1. Actually a similar scenario as we face tomorrow. :(

13-01-2012, 05:27 PM

I remember a glorious day about 87 where we drew 3-3, might have been the first game of the season.

The season where we got relegated and Brian Welsh heading a late equaliser to make it 1-1. Actually a similar scenario as we face tomorrow. :(Was there that day ..13,000 plus crowd I think ..was that Dunfermlines return to the Premier league & their first home game ?

13-01-2012, 05:29 PM
4-0 or 4-1 can't remember under Mowbray? Stand packed, sun shining, and jinky done 9/10 stepovers before crossing the ball!

13-01-2012, 05:33 PM
The Six Five Special.

13-01-2012, 05:36 PM

The season where we got relegated and Brian Welsh heading a late equaliser to make it 1-1. Actually a similar scenario as we face tomorrow. :(

First game of season, glorious sunshine, massive crowd and an entertaining match......

What about the game when Willie Miller handed ball as it was going for a throw in, earning himself a second yellow, anyone remember that?

13-01-2012, 05:38 PM
First game of season, glorious sunshine, massive crowd and an entertaining match......

What about the game when Willie Miller handed ball as it was going for a throw in, earning himself a second yellow, anyone remember that?

I do but why do I think that was Dens and not EEP, not sure to be honest.

EDIT - it was EEP and we got beat 2-1

13-01-2012, 05:38 PM
The friendly a couple of seasons ago where we took up the whole away stand and then some. Kick-off had to be delayed IIRC.

ehf
13-01-2012, 05:39 PM

Early April, but it was like a summer's day - very hot and sunny. Around 10,000 Hibs fans there; we went behind early from a Grant Brebner OG...

13-01-2012, 05:41 PM
4-0 or 4-1 can't remember under Mowbray? Stand packed, sun shining, and jinky done 9/10 stepovers before crossing the ball!

4-1 deek and fletch scored 2 each. Was a fantastic game.

13-01-2012, 05:42 PM
4-1 deek and fletch scored 2 each. Was a fantastic game.

One down at half time and it was on the -1G Pars Plastic pitch

13-01-2012, 05:43 PM
An inspired Chris Reid in goals and the game finishing 0-0,,,Must have been 87-88ish.

13-01-2012, 05:43 PM
The game where they launched that honking fake pitch made out of carpet tiles. Ian Rush was on the pitch IIRC, and a Pars fan had a naked Klinsman dive, that he instantly regretted. Always quality pies at EEP.

ginger_rice
13-01-2012, 05:47 PM
Last time I was there was the Monday night live game a few years back just after Mowbray had gone think it was 4-1?

Also remember a few in the 70's noising up the Dunfermline support in the covered terrace opposite the main stand.

3-3 was a great game. 5000+ Hibees there.

Last massive support was about 6,000 Hibees there when Rougier/Welsh? scored in a 1-1 draw the season we went down.

Can't make it for a variety of reasons this time around but I'll be there come hell or high water for the bottom 6 game in April/May if we are still in the *****.

The game where they launched that honking fake pitch made out of carpet tiles. Ian Rush was on the pitch IIRC, and a Pars fan had a naked Klinsman dive, that he instantly regretted. Always quality pies at EEP.

The fan probably awoke in the cells, not being able to move with an all over carpet burn :greengrin:

BS44
13-01-2012, 06:01 PM
Getting beat 1 0. First time we had lost at East End for a long time. A ginger headed midfielder scored for them. Early nineties I think.

Checked Ihibs, it was 1987 same season we drew 3 3. That explains why it was the first time they had beat us for years. Still cant remember the guy who scored name.

gringojoe
13-01-2012, 06:18 PM
An inspired Chris Reid in goals and the game finishing 0-0,,,Must have been 87-88ish.

Think I still have that game on vhs.

vein
13-01-2012, 06:21 PM
In the 1-1 game one of the policemen outside was none other than Dave Beaumont.

13-01-2012, 06:29 PM
Think I still have that game on vhs.

Me tae somewhere:agree:

13-01-2012, 06:32 PM
remember that hot day we got a late goal to get 1,1 draw.. huge crowd indeed there. had to park a few miles away from ground.

i remember wilkins playing there...awful !! cant mind if we lost or drew 1,1.. think it was a mid week game.

i also rememer playing there myself in U16 Scottish Cup semi final.

i hope we look back on tomorrows game in the future and remember it as the start of good times under Fenlon.

Gala Foxes
13-01-2012, 07:00 PM
5-0 John Connolly + Willie Jamieson inspired away win in 1980 in Div 1 and also when the Capital Hibs Supporters Club bus window got bricked outside the Elizabethan after 1-1 Scottish Cup draw in 1979 - think Tony Higgins scored for us, we won the replay

Gala Foxes
13-01-2012, 07:03 PM
I also remember the 3-3 first game of the season draw in 87, but more so for getting the train through & having a pre and post match session in Monty's & Somewhere Else

I remember Somewhere Else had a video jukebox and we all kept putting on Criticize by Alexander O'Neal because the dancers in the video were so tidy !

Happy days

13-01-2012, 07:08 PM
I recall a few wins but the 2 that stick with me are.

Houchen giving the Hibs fans a GIRFUY as he went up the tunnel.

And

Suazee as manager reduced to 10 men early doors dominated the game but could not score.

13-01-2012, 07:12 PM

And

Suazee as manager reduced to 10 men early doors dominated the game but could not score.

Wasn't the game 1-1 ?...Luna either scored for us or got sent off or both..

Dominated the match though your right, His 1st game in charge and thousands of hibees there.

nribs
13-01-2012, 07:18 PM
Was that not at raith?QUOTE=simply the best;3073116]I recall a few wins but the 2 that stick with me are.

And

Suazee as manager reduced to 10 men early doors dominated the game but could not score.[/QUOTE]

Dominated the match though your right, His 1st game in charge and thousands of hibees there.

Memory is so bad 1 - 1 may be right Luna got sent off I thought we should defo have won though

Not the best game, but the welcome Sauzee got was brilliant on his first game as manager . Luna got sent of early doors but the rendition of "Sauzee there`s only one Sauzee" was electric .
[Dec 2002 i think ]

13-01-2012, 07:28 PM
A few games I remember.
A 3-3 draw sometime around 1979/1980.
A 4-0 hammering one night game in the season we won the CIS cup
The 1-1 game in the year we were relegated in the late 90's. I remember that the ground was full around 1.45pm for a 3pm ko!

13-01-2012, 07:50 PM
Hibs were brilliant the night we won 4-0 live on TV. As we were winning 2-1 there under Mowbray going on 10-1.

The 0-3 CIS cup game was honkin however.

13-01-2012, 07:57 PM
The 3-3 game 87/88 was my first away trip. Glorious sunshine, huge Hibs support, cracking game and the cost??? £1.50 for the terracing and £2.50 for the grandstand. Happy ****in days.

Black Kyle
13-01-2012, 07:58 PM
No special Hibs memories but remember going across to see the Pars v Whoever on a Sunday with my old man in the early 70s.

13-01-2012, 07:59 PM

And

That was Raith Rovers he did this.........

13-01-2012, 08:04 PM
3-3 was brilliant!

Best memory was 2-1 win in a SC replay in days of Jackie Mac, Geo Stewart and Ralphie Callachan. The latter lashed the baw oot into the enclosure and my old boy ducked - poor sod behind him got it flush in the puss! Hilarious! :faf:

13-01-2012, 08:05 PM
6-5 game in the 60s, we were 5-1 up and they got back to 5 all (some things never change eh?) and Jim Scott scored our winner in the last minute

13-01-2012, 08:06 PM
The 3-3 game 87/88 was my first away trip. Glorious sunshine, huge Hibs support, cracking game and the cost??? £1.50 for the terracing and £2.50 for the grandstand. Happy ****in days.

The 3-3 was a cracker right enough. In the Elizabethan before the game and Tranent's Graham Robertson was live on tele winning the Scottish Bowls singles at Queens Park.

Beat Rangers 1-0 the following Wednesday then back to earth with a bump with a 4-0 home defeat by Dundee.

I seem to recall a bad run across there for years when we didn't win.

13-01-2012, 08:11 PM

Luna was sent off. Referee was Dougie McDonald and he had a nightmare. Every decision went against us. The Hibs fans started going mental at him. Some guy in the Hibs crowd starts arguing with everyone saying that McDonald is his brother and he's a hibby. I'm sure the guy got ejected by the police.

13-01-2012, 08:18 PM
The 3-3 was a cracker right enough. In the Elizabethan before the game and Tranent's Graham Robertson was live on tele winning the Scottish Bowls singles at Queens Park.

Beat Rangers 1-0 the following Wednesday then back to earth with a bump with a 4-0 home defeat by Dundee.

I seem to recall a bad run across there for years when we didn't win.

Aye, think we won in 1991-92 not long after we won the Skol Cup and we never won there again until the 4-1 game in 2005 when Fletch got a couple of late goals after coming on as sub. Loads of draws in between.

I remember Kano and Eddie May having their hair dyed blonde in the 3-3 game.

13-01-2012, 08:25 PM
Dunfy was my first away game as a nipper in '74 or '75 when I was about 8.
Went through with my cousin and his mates in his Mk1 Escort. Cant remember the score but remember thinking the stadium was like a life size Subutteo (which was all the rage at the time :greengrin) stadium.

13-01-2012, 08:32 PM
That was Raith Rovers he did this.........

Thanks Baldy my memory is shot :greengrin
I must accept am getting auld

13-01-2012, 08:35 PM

Just needed to read the title of the thread and the 3-3 game tops my list, IIRC the second away game of the season resulted in another 3-3 result @ Cappielow, i'm sure it was Mickeys last game before he signed for Luton.

13-01-2012, 08:36 PM
Thanks Baldy my memory is shot :greengrin
I must accept am getting auld

Unfortunately it comes to us all:rolleyes:

erskine-hibby
13-01-2012, 08:38 PM

This was the first game I took my girlfriend (now wife) to see:aok:

13-01-2012, 08:42 PM
Early 80's, frozen pitch, players slipping and sliding all over the place, a farce really but think it was 1-1 (may have been 0-0) really friendly place and to be honest I thought we were a tad lucky. Miniutes silence before the game observed immaculately.

Must have been a SC game cos we won the replay at ER.

13-01-2012, 08:59 PM
This was the first game I took my girlfriend (now wife) to see:aok:

You spoiled her, not many girlfriends get to see a 6 goal thriller:greengrin

13-01-2012, 09:06 PM
Mcleish early or first game fighting relegation? Sauzee first game. Fighting relegation. Good times.

13-01-2012, 09:13 PM
Mcleish early or first game fighting relegation? Sauzee first game. Fighting relegation. Good times.

Sauzee's first game was at Falkirk

Mon_the_cabbage
13-01-2012, 09:14 PM
A couple of memories from the 70's . . . .
Alex Edwards was getting lumps kicked out of him (as per usual), until after one more foul against him he slammed the ball down and appealed
to the ref to complain. Result? Sending off for Mr Edwards which I think resulted in the 8 week ban that helped kill our 72/73 title challenge.

The other was a midweek game where the half time announcer had to read out the half time scores for those that couldn't see the pitch side scoreboard.

Rather than read the teams out, he replicated the actual scoreboard by running through them as follows "A, 1-1; B, 0-0; C, 0-1. . . . " which was no use to the majority who didn't get programs in those days!

13-01-2012, 09:26 PM
My first visit to East End Park occurred in the mid 70s. It was to support a testimonial game played by a combined Hibs/Hearts team to aid the family of John Lunn, an ex-Dunfermline player who'd died shortly after leaving football due to his illness. I was driven there by a Jambo friend from work on an evening which put normal football rivalries into a proper perspective.

13-01-2012, 09:27 PM
I remember getting lost in the terracing behind the goals in about 89/90 and my old man getting the call over the p/a to collect his son :greengrin. Also a game in the 90s I'm sure we got beat 2-1 but after Dunfermline scored a goal a huge cloud of blue smoke rose from under cow shed. I said to my old man is there a fire and he said no they have all just light up cigs because we are getting beat.

One for the stato's. Were we the first and last team to play a competitive game on the plastic pitch before they changed back to the grass surface?? Something tells me we are.

13-01-2012, 09:29 PM
Members of Carlton Branch did a sponsored walk to EEP from the Maybury many moons ago.....Never been so exhausted and sore at a match in my life, had blisters on my blisters.......:rolleyes:

13-01-2012, 09:49 PM
Sauzee's first game was at Falkirk

As manager.

13-01-2012, 09:56 PM
Luna was sent off. Referee was Dougie McDonald and he had a nightmare. Every decision went against us. The Hibs fans started going mental at him. Some guy in the Hibs crowd starts arguing with everyone saying that McDonald is his brother and he's a hibby. I'm sure the guy got ejected by the police.

def got beat 1-0....

13-01-2012, 09:59 PM
As manager.

Oops sorry Andy:rolleyes:

13-01-2012, 10:26 PM
Getting beat 1 0. First time we had lost at East End for a long time. A ginger headed midfielder scored for them. Early nineties I think.

Checked Ihibs, it was 1987 same season we drew 3 3. That explains why it was the first time they had beat us for years. Still cant remember the guy who scored name.

i remember it was craig robertson very late in the game...he was outstanding that day and i knew he would score....he got a move to aberdeen who were very good at the time.

an abiding memory of east end pk. is watching john collins leave the field at the end of a match and i knew that would be the last time i saw him playing for hibs as a move was imminent....cant remember if it was his last game but i thought at the time it was.

Septimus
14-01-2012, 06:54 AM

The ball was above head level as I recall and marginally inside the line.

Septimus
14-01-2012, 07:02 AM
Remember seeing Gordon Smith take the ball from penalty area to penalty area without it touching the ground once. No idea what the score was but in these balmy days Hibs always won !

magpie1892
14-01-2012, 08:43 AM
Early 90s, Saturday 29th February, so I think that makes it 1992. Decent Hibs crowd through and the date being the 'leap year' opportunity where a woman can propose to a man. Half time, and the Pars DJ is on the pitch with a lassie wearing Hibs colours. DJ explains the significance of the date and says: 'there's a lassie here who has something to ask her boyfriend who's in the away end'. Lassie takes the radio mike and starts giving it: 'xxxx, I love you so much, will you marry me?'

She starts sort of scanning the away end and then this bloke hoors past me and my mates at a great rate of knots headed for the Halbeath Road exit giving it: 'Fuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuck!'

Funny. More memorable than the game, certainly.

ginger_rice
14-01-2012, 09:08 AM
Remember seeing Gordon Smith take the ball from penalty area to penalty area without it touching the ground once. No idea what the score was but in these balmy days Hibs always won !

Just read about that in Lawrie Reilly's book is that when he headed it all the way down the wing?

14-01-2012, 09:20 AM

That's the one i always remember too. It was class. :thumbsup:

Doing the Hibees bounce in that heat was tough though. :tee hee:

14-01-2012, 09:26 AM
I also remember a 0-0 and Sproule knocked the ball past Andy Todd in the dieing seconds, would have been through on goal but he was brought down.

Hated Todd ever since.

14-01-2012, 09:27 AM

I remember being at EEP for the last game of the season (1989-90?). IIRC it ended 0-0.
Chris Reid was in goals that day and had a great game.
At the end of the match John Collins stopped at the shyline for a few seconds and waved to the Hibs fans before disappearing down the tunnel.
I alway remember thinking at the time that it was as if he was waving goodbye.
Alas, he was. He turned out for the Dovedodgers the following season.

14-01-2012, 11:01 AM
6-5 game in the 60s, we were 5-1 up and they got back to 5 all (some things never change eh?) and Jim Scott scored our winner in the last minute

That sounds a snore fest.

14-01-2012, 11:05 AM
Early April, but it was like a summer's day - very hot and sunny. Around 10,000 Hibs fans there; we went behind early from a Grant Brebner OG...

I ended up with bloody sun stroke and nearly passed out in the pub later on! I remember a newlywed couple walking in the pub later on still in the wedding dress, the groom wasn't best chuffed with the choice songs being sung towards his lovely new wife!

14-01-2012, 12:25 PM
That sounds a snore fest.

It was, Bob. Tediously negative from both teams with no player straying very far from the halfway line .... NOT!

IIRC the score went 0-1, 0-2, 0-3, 0-4 (at which point we were secure in the knowledge that the game was safe), 1-4, 2-4 (getting just a WEE bit nervous), 2-5 (deep relief in the Hibs end), 3-5 (eh?), 4-5 (wtf?), 5-5 (AW NAW!), a BIG stramash in our goalmouth during which the Pars players and fans were convinced they had scored the winning goal) and finally JS making it 5-6 (thankyouthankyouthankyouthankyouthankyou...) and the referee FINALLY blowing for FT almost immediately afterwards.

My hair turned grey that day - and I was only 16 years old.

Harm can come to a young lad watching games like that one. :rolleyes:

Septimus
14-01-2012, 02:03 PM
Just read about that in Lawrie Reilly's book is that when he headed it all the way down the wing?

Don't remember if it was headed all the way but I don't think so. He used his feet several times as I recall but it is a long time ago now..