View Full Version : (NHC Beware) Todays Pool V Manc Argument Thread

11-01-2012, 09:34 AM
City are gonna miss Kompany & Toure tonight, the Pool are on their way to Wembley!

11-01-2012, 10:12 AM
Manchester City over 2 legs will beat Liverpool I reckon. Best team/squad in the premership.

Liverpool would have had more chance with LS :agree:

Sioux
11-01-2012, 10:31 AM
City are gonna miss Kompany & Toure tonight, the Pool are on their way to Wembley!

Exactly.

11-01-2012, 12:19 PM
Ach well, we only have the EIGHT games to play in January including Man City three times and Man Utd once.

Heyho.

Im wi Scouse on this one.

WALK ON

ENDOF

11-01-2012, 12:45 PM
3/1 your cash on Liverpool, worth a nibble I think :agree:

11-01-2012, 12:49 PM
Is it on the tellybox tonight? Thought it was on Sky but can't see it listed.

11-01-2012, 12:58 PM
Is it on the tellybox tonight? Thought it was on Sky but can't see it listed.

:agree: BBC1 at 7.30

11-01-2012, 01:24 PM
Doh, the only channel I didn't check, cheers :thumbsup:

11-01-2012, 01:53 PM
city 2 pool 1

For some reason i thought the game was being played at anfield. 2-0 city now.

11-01-2012, 02:02 PM
2-0 Citeh.

11-01-2012, 02:10 PM
2-0 Citeh.

Cheers A my cash is safe then :wink:

11-01-2012, 02:17 PM
Pity there wasn't a way for them both to get humped! :boo hoo:

11-01-2012, 02:49 PM
City will crush the pool. Hate both.

11-01-2012, 03:16 PM
Want Liverpool to win, City are everything that's wrong with modern football. Buying their way to success and what not.

11-01-2012, 03:18 PM
Want Liverpool to win, City are everything that's wrong with modern football. Buying their way to success and what not.

All of the top clubs buy their way to success.

11-01-2012, 03:19 PM
Cheers A my cash is safe then :wink:

Ken me Ronnie:greengrin

11-01-2012, 03:20 PM

Like Hearts?.

11-01-2012, 03:31 PM
I hope I'm wrong but this is basically a two-legged cup final...

11-01-2012, 03:38 PM
I hope I'm wrong but this is basically a two-legged cup final...

I dont think you are wrong, i watched the highlights of the other semi last night and even Hibs would give them a decent game.

The difference in class is huge.

11-01-2012, 03:40 PM
I dont think you are wrong, i watched the highlights of the other semi last night and even Hibs would give them a decent game.

The difference in class is huge.

You've taken that too far. :wink:

11-01-2012, 04:21 PM

Did Liverpool get Carroll on a free transfer? Its quite funny watching the reaction of some so called big teams fans when they realise their place in the pecking order is under threat!

11-01-2012, 04:49 PM
Did Liverpool get Carroll on a free transfer? Its quite funny watching the reaction of some so called big teams fans when they realise their place in the pecking order is under threat!

Agree totally, good luck to them spending their money. I just wish Liverpool had spent wisely insteading of throwing £35m of it down the drain!

11-01-2012, 04:55 PM
Aye, The Hammers had a bit of fun when Mascherano & Tevez arrived, look how well that worked out! The winner from Tevez @ OT in the final game of the season will live long in the memory though!

11-01-2012, 05:00 PM
5 reds and injuries aplenty please

11-01-2012, 05:08 PM
5 reds and injuries aplenty please

If City get 5 reds the game will be abandoned :wink:

11-01-2012, 05:14 PM

11-01-2012, 05:15 PM
2-0 Liverpool with 4 red cards for Man City :aok:

11-01-2012, 05:38 PM
Aye, The Hammers had a bit of fun when Mascherano & Tevez arrived, look how well that worked out! The winner from Tevez @ OT in the final game of the season will live long in the memory though!

Oh yes! A brilliant moment. Still talk about that with all my Hammers mates. A legend for the Irons but what a tit!

11-01-2012, 06:04 PM

:faf::faf::faf::faf::faf:

zelda
11-01-2012, 06:10 PM

So did man utd not buy their players all of their players are youngsters? Or Liverpool or did i dream the paid 35m for Carroll and 20m each for Henderson and Downing. We just spend our money wisely unlike other top clubs.

11-01-2012, 06:14 PM

:fishin:

11-01-2012, 06:18 PM
[/B]:faf::faf::faf::faf::faf:

Don't see anything funny about what was said.

Infact it smacks of the truth. :agree:

11-01-2012, 06:24 PM
Don't see anything funny about what was said.

Infact it smacks of the truth. :agree:

If they are what's "wrong" with modern football, they so are every single one of the top 8 Premiership clubs.

Was Ferdinand/Rooney/Carrick/Hernandez/De Gea/Vidic a free transfer?? - must have missed that.

The days of hobnailed boots and "local lads going down the pit in the morning and playing for their team in the afternoon" are behind us, and the vast majority of clubs are - to one degree or another - spending oodles of money.

C'est la vie, and this "holier than thou" reaction to Man City spending big bucks after decades - since Malcolm Allison etc - of relative poverty is laughable.

Note: I'm no Man City supporter.

11-01-2012, 06:25 PM
So did man utd not buy their players all of their players are youngsters? Or Liverpool or did i dream the paid 35m for Carroll and 20m each for Henderson and Downing. We just spend our money wisely unlike other top clubs.
:faf::faf::faf::faf:
10/11 [£127.996.000]
Aleksandar Kolarov (Lazio Rom) 19.976.000 £
Jérôme Boateng (Hamburger SV) 11.000.000 £
David Silva (FC Valencia) 25.300.000 £
Yaya Touré (FC Barcelona) 26.400.000 £
Mario Balotelli (Inter Mailand) 25.960.000 £
James Milner (Aston Villa) 19.360.000 £

09/10 [£129.624.000]
Adam Johnson (Middlesboro) 7.040.000 £
Carlos Tévez (West Ham) 25.520.000 £
Gareth Barry (Aston Villa) 12.232.000 £
Roque Santa Cruz (Blackburn) 18.656.000 £
Emmanuel Adebayor (Arsenal) 25.520.000 £
Kolo Touré (Arsenal) 16.456.000 £
Joleon Lescott (Everton) 24.200.000 £

08/09 [£138.468.000]
Craig Bellamy (West Ham) 13.640.000 £
Shay Given (Newcastle) 7.920.000 £
Nigel de Jong (Hamburger SV) 15.840.000 £
Wayne Bridge (Chelsea) 11.440.000 £
Jô (CSKA Moscow) 21.120.000 £
Tal Ben-Haim (Chelsea) 5.632.000 £
Shaun Wright-Phillips (Chelsea) 9.900.000 £
Pablo Zabaleta (Esp. Barcelona) 7.656.000 £
Vincent Kompany (Hamburger SV) 7.480.000 £
Robinho (Real Madrid) 37.840.000 £ (second most expensive player)

07/08 [£68.596.000]
Felipe Caicedo (FC Basel) 6.160.000 £
Benjani (Portsmouth) 4.576.000 £
Nery Castillo (Shakhtar D.) 4.400.000 £
Martin Petrov (Atlético Madrid) 6.160.000 £
Elano (Shakhtar D.) 10.560.000 £
Javier Garrido (Real Sociedad) 1.980.000 £
Vedran Corluka (Dinamo Zagreb) 11.440.000 £
Gelson Fernandes (FC Sion) 4.840.000 £
Rolando Bianchi (Reggina Calcio) 11.440.000 £
Valeri Bojinov (AC Florenz) 7.040.000 £

How many out of that lot have been money spent wisely?

11-01-2012, 06:30 PM
If they are what's "wrong" with modern football, they so are every single one of the top 8 Premiership clubs.

Was Ferdinand/Rooney/Carrick/Hernandez/De Gea/Vidic a free transfer?? - must have missed that.

The days of hobnailed boots and "local lads going down the pit in the morning and playing for their team in the afternoon" are behind us, and the vast majority of clubs are - to one degree or another - spending oodles of money.

C'est la vie, and this "holier than thou" reaction to Man City spending big bucks after decades - since Malcolm Allison etc - of relative poverty is laughable.

Nobody has been spending money like Man City though.

The facts are, when United signed these players, they were doing so as the best team in the land and to a certain degree deserved to have millions of pounds to spend due to their success on the park. Man City were a club going absolutely nowhere before the Sheiks turned up and have simply bought their way to the top of the league.

Much like Chelsea.

11-01-2012, 06:37 PM
Not a Liverpool fan, West Ham are my English team :aok:

Man City have literally bought there team within the last 4-5 seasons as soon as they were taken over. All top teams buy success to an extent of course, but for me Man City are a step too far.

Just airing my views on an increasingly sanitised and financial dependant Premiership. When was the last time a really exciting young talent came through? A Walcott or Rooney?

No opinion on City, Utd, Liverpool, Arsenal or Chelsea. All as bad as each other.

11-01-2012, 06:50 PM
Oh yes! A brilliant moment. Still talk about that with all my Hammers mates. A legend for the Irons but what a tit!

I know the problems West Ham have had recently are down to more than 1 thing, I just think it all started going pear shaped when Dean Ashton got injured on England duty, what a player he was/could've become.
The Icelanders didnae help either right enough!

11-01-2012, 07:03 PM
10/11 [£127.996.000]

09/10 [£129.624.000]

08/09 [£138.468.000]

07/08 [£68.596.000]

Nearly half a BILLION on players. Who else has spent that much?

Cheers for that, incredible stats

11-01-2012, 07:22 PM
Nearly half a BILLION on players. Who else has spent that much?

Cheers for that, incredible stats

And it's even managed to miss out a club record fee of £35m for Aguero

Oh, and Dzeko for a mere £34m

11-01-2012, 07:25 PM
10/11 [£127.996.000]

09/10 [£129.624.000]

08/09 [£138.468.000]

07/08 [£68.596.000]

Amazing stats but still have no problem with it, we'd all love our respective favoured English clubs including Hibs to have that spending power! Wouldn't we???

11-01-2012, 07:43 PM
Blue moon with the lights off..........pathetic attempt :faf:

11-01-2012, 07:47 PM
plz god let both teams get beat :whistle: as for that dafty moon thing :faf:

11-01-2012, 07:51 PM
Empty seats lol

11-01-2012, 07:52 PM
Will the glory hunters be on tonight given their team took a spanking from palace?

11-01-2012, 07:53 PM
Andy Carroll quality finish. :faf: £35m.

11-01-2012, 07:56 PM
How do they get away with turning out all the lights before kick-off. Would have thought health and safety brigade would have had something to say.

Mikey_1875
11-01-2012, 07:58 PM
Savic is dire.

Never a pen, didn't touch him.

Hart inspired so far.........................couldn't save that though Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeees :not worth

1-0 Gerrard

Pleasing

11-01-2012, 07:59 PM
Good.

11-01-2012, 08:03 PM
Never a pen, didn't touch him.

Eh?

11-01-2012, 08:05 PM
Much was the goalie?

11-01-2012, 08:29 PM
And it's even managed to miss out a club record fee of £35m for Aguero

Oh, and Dzeko for a mere £34m

and £20m for Nasri.

11-01-2012, 08:31 PM
If you were to offer me Torres and Carroll to Hibs to replace our current misfiring mob, I'd really have to think long and hard about it.

What a God-awful footballer Andy Carroll is and I'll never understand his valuation, which is bested only by the fee paid for Torres. Baffling.

11-01-2012, 08:33 PM
If you were to offer me Torres and Carroll to Hibs to replace our current misfiring mob, I'd really have to think long and hard about it.

What a God-awful footballer Andy Carroll is and I'll never understand his valuation, which is bested only by the fee paid for Torres. Baffling.

Aye right, don't be silly eh!

11-01-2012, 08:34 PM
Aye right, don't be silly eh!

Alright, slight hyperbole, but the general point stands. They're bloody awful players.

11-01-2012, 08:36 PM
Fully deserved half time lead, expecting a tough second half though.

11-01-2012, 08:36 PM

This is the most pertinent post I've read on the matter. I'd go further and say its erroneous to suggest the game had much of a soul to sell in the first place. Big clubs were run by local business duffers, usually bores who saw the club as a status symbol, sometimes passionate fans.

Glory hunting took route with televised football in the sixties 'fans' could follow winning clubs instead of local ones. This has only gathered pace with the digi tv revolution. Now sport is an arm of cultural and economic imperialism. To me the high water mark was Man U opting out the FA cup to play in that shabby fabricated tournament - the club allowing itself to b used as an agent of sporting globalization.

City's spending differs only from Chelsea's which differs only from Man U's in scale. If they have the money, why not buy the best players? It's foolish not to.

The fault is not with City (or Chelsea, Liverpool, Man U etc ) but the lack of regulation in terms of transfer expenditure and wage caps, which take place in American sport as they recognize the alternative is anti competition.

Yes, City will probably win the league because they have the biggest wage bill. But it was a long long time since that wasn't the case.

Mikey_1875
11-01-2012, 08:39 PM
Alright, slight hyperbole, but the general point stands. They're bloody awful players.
Torres awful? Don't think so, to put someone who has been exceptional in two teams and two different leagues also proven internationally even in the same class as Carroll is unreal. Granted he's having a bad time at Chelsea but I think his previous record does more to suggest he's not a one trick pony unlike Carroll.

11-01-2012, 08:42 PM
If it wasn't for one of their cheapest players in Hart, they would be a couple of goals down. Great save from that deflected effort. Wrong foot footed but got down really quickly :agree:

11-01-2012, 08:45 PM

If played in his proper role of a target man I think Carroll is a cracking player, was amazing for Newcastle last season.

11-01-2012, 08:46 PM
Since it's half time wtf is shearer wearing?

11-01-2012, 08:48 PM
Man City http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/smilies%202/money_02.gif

11-01-2012, 08:48 PM
If played in his proper role of a target man I think Carroll is a cracking player, was amazing for Newcastle last season.

Carroll is *****.

11-01-2012, 08:51 PM

If anyone has spent their money wisely, its Tottenham.

11-01-2012, 08:51 PM
Carroll is *****.

I don't think so, imo if deployed properly would be much more effective. Also seems very low on confidence and has a lot of pressure on him.

EDIT- Due to price he went for..

11-01-2012, 08:57 PM
Torres awful? Don't think so, to put someone who has been exceptional in two teams and two different leagues also proven internationally even in the same class as Carroll is unreal. Granted he's having a bad time at Chelsea but I think his previous record does more to suggest he's not a one trick pony unlike Carroll.

I don't think they're comparable in any sense, other than that 2 clubs paid probably 10x what each player is worth.

And Torres was going through this "bad spell" long before his move to Chelsea. He had a dreadful World Cup with Spain and fired blanks all over the place since then. Compared to the top strikers in the world, Torres is average at best.

11-01-2012, 08:57 PM
Carroll is not a bad player, he proved this at Newcastle. He did go for an insanely high figuire though, so he must have alot of pressure on him to live up to the ridiculous price tag. FFS he'd been in the PL for half a season before going for £35 million!

Football has become santised. The fact that games are moved to suit TV times sums it up for me.

11-01-2012, 08:59 PM
Carroll is not a bad player, he proved this at Newcastle. He did go for an insanely high figuire though, so he must have alot of pressure on him to live up to the ridiculous price tag. FFS he'd been in the PL for half a season before going for £35 million!

Football has become santised. The fact that games are moved to suit TV times sums it up for me.

For me:agree:

11-01-2012, 09:27 PM
FFS Kenny do they all know where they're supposed to be playing now?

Tried parking this bus for 20 minutes now.

11-01-2012, 09:33 PM
Anyone who calls carrol rubbish or a one trick poney hasn't got a clue.

He simply isn't being used properly at liverpool. He's a focal point but if he's isolated, like he is tonight, then he isn't going to score.

Great player but wrong club.

11-01-2012, 09:36 PM
These booing city fans should remember where they were not that long ago and drop their expectation levels a bit.

They're privileged having these players in their shirt.

11-01-2012, 09:40 PM
Red card?????????

Or same as Sunday's without the curupt Foy.

11-01-2012, 09:41 PM
Job done in the end, had me worried though :greengrin Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeees

Johnson tackle should have been red if you're gonna compare it to Kompanys but hey ho who cares

Bluuuuuuuuuue Moooooooooooon My arse :na na:

11-01-2012, 09:42 PM
Walk on.

Knew we we'd win.

City were *****.

Say what ye like. RESULTS count.

DALGLISH...DALGLISH...DALGLISH

WALK ON

ENDOF

11-01-2012, 09:43 PM
man city just cant seem to buy a win lately, terrible run of results

:devil:

11-01-2012, 09:44 PM
3/1 your cash on Liverpool, worth a nibble I think :agree:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/smilies%202/money_02.gif :thumbsup:

11-01-2012, 09:44 PM
FFS Kenny do they all know where they're supposed to be playing now?

Tried parking this bus for 20 minutes now.

Never question the king. Ever. In Kenny we trust. Always. Man ****y GIRFUY

Remember our last league win? Neither can I but I ken who engineered it :greengrin:

Walk on.

ENDOF

11-01-2012, 09:46 PM
Get it right up yea Mancini :aok:

11-01-2012, 09:46 PM

He simply isn't being used properly at liverpool. He's a focal point but if he's isolated, like he is tonight, then he isn't going to score.

There's only so much you can blame on this "out of position" excuse. Take the game vs Newcastle as an example actually - three times the ball was played to him in and around the box and three times, an absolutely dreadful first touch meant that the ball shot away from him, generally to a Newcastle player. His passing is terrible, his ability to run the channels is near non-existent...

He's a powerful battering ram type player, who can outjump most defenders in the league, with the strength to outmuscle them on the deck too, but other than that, I fail to see what he brings to the party. He's just raw power - he is young though and you can see the potential, but £35 million worth of potential? Nah...

Mikey_1875
11-01-2012, 09:47 PM
Spurs to win the league? When they go down to the etihad later in the month will be the big test. I think they'll finish 2nd behind either Manchester club. If they can start winning the games against the big teams though they have a great shout.

11-01-2012, 09:48 PM

I have to disagree, Carroll would never be signed by a club like Arsenal man United or dare i say it Barcalona. He's a player who will play for clubs like Newcastle or Bolton/Stoke and the likes. I dont see him lasting long at Liverpool.

He will probably leave in the next 12 to 18 months, and Liverpool will take a big hit on what they paid. No quality football team will touch him, he's an expensive battering ram, not a player for any clubs who want to play with finesse.

11-01-2012, 09:49 PM
Never question the king. Ever. In Kenny we trust. Always. Man ****y GIRFUY

Remember our last league win? Neither can I but I ken who engineered it :greengrin:

Walk on.

ENDOF

Aye I should know better eh :aok:

11-01-2012, 09:52 PM
Aye I should know better eh :aok:

Vintage mate :greengrin:

Agree it was a bit hairy but it worked. Don't think city have failed to score at home often....didn't score against the Kings 11 this time tho. There's nae one like Dalglish. Genius. (and could he playyyyyy)

YNWA

11-01-2012, 10:27 PM
I was happy with whoever won tonight but there is something quite pleasing about seeing City lose two home games in a row and go pretty close to going out of two competitions in the space of 3 days.

11-01-2012, 10:52 PM
Anybody see Mancini's interview after the match?

First time I've ever seen him rattled.

How delightful.

11-01-2012, 11:30 PM
Anybody see Mancini's interview after the match?

First time I've ever seen him rattled.

How delightful.

Far better was the interviewer speaking tae Dalglish for his comments on Mancini moaning about johnsons tackle.

"he wasn't happy with the challenge what do you think about it Kenny?"

The king "I don't think he's happy about many things" ... Quality. Gerard got sucked into it a wee brigand bit....the King never bites. Genius. Press mofos.

YNWA

11-01-2012, 11:47 PM
Far better was the interviewer speaking tae Dalglish for his comments on Mancini moaning about johnsons tackle.

"he wasn't happy with the challenge what do you think about it Kenny?"

The king "I don't think he's happy about many things" ... Quality. Gerard got sucked into it a wee brigand bit....the King never bites. Genius. Press mofos.

YNWA

Mancini moans like a bitch must be takin lessons off Arse Whinger who never saw **** all unless it was in his favour!

12-01-2012, 12:01 AM
Mancini moans like a bitch must be takin lessons off Arse Whinger who never saw **** all unless it was in his favour!

The king telt him to **** off anaw.

Bring on the home leg...another league cup wid further cement our general greatness :greengrin

WALK ON

12-01-2012, 12:07 AM
The king telt him to **** off anaw.

Bring on the home leg...another league cup wid further cement our general greatness :greengrin

WALK ON

Aye just about room for another cup to squeeze in next to old big ears (the one we kept) :greengrin