View Full Version : Match Updates ****Todays Manchester Argument Thread**** City 10 United 11 (Yawn)

08-01-2012, 09:14 AM
go for it here

08-01-2012, 09:15 AM
borefest?
how many goals last time???

08-01-2012, 09:18 AM
borefest?
how many goals last time???who said the game will be boring?

08-01-2012, 09:20 AM
borefest?
how many goals last time???

Think he is on about the usual pish spouted on here about the game/teams :agree:

08-01-2012, 09:21 AM

08-01-2012, 09:26 AM
I personally think both sets of fans will respect each other today on this thread.

08-01-2012, 09:27 AM
I personally think both sets of fans will respect each other today on this thread.I couldnae care less what they do as long as they keep it on here and no the other thread.

08-01-2012, 09:27 AM
What's the weather like in Manchester? :-)

08-01-2012, 09:30 AM
I couldnae care less what they do as long as they keep it on here and no the other thread.

08-01-2012, 09:31 AM

http://www.bbc.co.uk/weather/2649723

08-01-2012, 09:34 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/weather/2649723

:top marks:greengrin

Posh Swanny
08-01-2012, 09:45 AM
Should be a good warm up to the main event at 3.30pm. I fancied our chances before that ******** O'Neill took over.

#Singing along with a feeling
We're gonna conquer the league
So look out for trouble
Cos we're on the double
And all you others take heed!

It's Posh we are and Posh we feel
United we all stand
We're telling you, support the blues
The best team in the land! Woah-oh-oh...
Peterborough! Peterborough! Peterborough! La! La! La!#

08-01-2012, 09:48 AM
who said the game will be boring?

????

(look at your thread header)

08-01-2012, 09:54 AM
Would have enjoyed watching it after the last game, but alas, I'll be in the Arbroath end today at the Scottish Cup game vs Rangers.

08-01-2012, 10:00 AM
????

(look at your thread header)It's the posts/posters that hi-jack and take over all the other match update threads (in case you havenae noticed) I am referring tae. They can all bicker away in here and leave the other thread for it's intended purpose.

08-01-2012, 10:10 AM

Over cast and damp, light drizzle. No wind, ideal footballing conditions

08-01-2012, 10:41 AM
Over cast and damp, light drizzle. No wind, ideal footballing conditions

Cheers :thumbsup:

08-01-2012, 10:43 AM
Hate both the teams.

Mon Arsenal the morn.

08-01-2012, 10:46 AM
Do we need a separate thread to moan about the moaning?

08-01-2012, 10:51 AM
Hate both the teams.

Mon Arsenal the morn.

I'm off down to game tomorrow, In Leeds end with my mate.

Heard the ground is class so it will be another ground ticked off the list. :agree:

08-01-2012, 10:56 AM
I'm just happy that one the manc clubs is going out the cup early! Not particularly bothered which one it is.

08-01-2012, 10:58 AM
It's the posts/posters that hi-jack and take over all the other match update threads (in case you havenae noticed) I am referring tae. They can all bicker away in here and leave the other thread for it's intended purpose.

Hi-Dan. I think the price of fish is shocking just now but after watching all these trawlerman programs on the telly you shouldn't grumble. ;-)

Anyone know what the price of a fish, haddock, supper is in Manchester?

08-01-2012, 11:00 AM
Hi-Dan. I think the price of fish is shocking just now but after watching all these trawlerman programs on the telly you shouldn't grumble. ;-)

Think you'll struggle to find a haddock supper in Manchester!

08-01-2012, 11:02 AM
Hate both the teams.

Mon Arsenal the morn.

Away and start your own boring Arsenal thread :na na:

08-01-2012, 11:05 AM

All I know is that it cods a fortune in that plaice :rolleyes:

08-01-2012, 11:06 AM
Scholes on bench for United.

08-01-2012, 11:10 AM

I'm not convinced Dan has ever been to Manchester, however, I'm sure he will be able to give you the price from the chippies in Leeds. He is a big fan of there. Infact there is a class chippy there its called http://www.yelp.co.uk/biz/graveleys-fish-and-chips-leeds-2

08-01-2012, 11:10 AM
Should be a good warm up to the main event at 3.30pm. I fancied our chances before that ******** O'Neill took over.

#Singing along with a feeling
We're gonna conquer the league
So look out for trouble
Cos we're on the double
And all you others take heed!

It's Posh we are and Posh we feel
United we all stand
We're telling you, support the blues
The best team in the land! Woah-oh-oh...
Peterborough! Peterborough! Peterborough! La! La! La!#

Read the title! You're no allowed any other updates. Either use the term Manure of ManShhitty or do one :greengrin

08-01-2012, 11:11 AM

:not worth

08-01-2012, 11:22 AM

Not sure what he still has to offer but if he's a fraction of the player he was then he still has something to contribute.

08-01-2012, 11:26 AM
This must be a joke. Next they will be bringing back Brian McClair..

08-01-2012, 11:28 AM
Why is there a separate thread for one match?

If we did that every week, we would have about 60 threads a week on match updates?

Also think the thread title should be changed. :aok:

08-01-2012, 11:30 AM
This must be a joke. Next they will be bringing back Brian McClair..

Getting edgy now then eh!?

Paul Scholes should never have retired in the first place. Still far too good to have hung up his boots and I think the stage is set for a big comeback. :agree:

08-01-2012, 11:34 AM
Was herring about Scoles comeback but it sounds fishy if you ask me. I think he'll be a fish out off water against the Citeh midfield.

Citeh 3-1

08-01-2012, 11:39 AM
Lindegaard starts in goal for United again, think the gloves are his to lose at the moment. City start with their 2nd choice keeper.

Could be interesting.

08-01-2012, 11:40 AM
Scholes on the bench is class, what a joke.

No match fitness. Hope he gets on the park.

I actually think it might be a draw today with city winning the replay.

08-01-2012, 11:40 AM
Think Bobby Manc could have played a stronger team, not too confident with Kolorov at left back. He is okay going forward but P*** defenseively. Anyway, 2 0 city!

08-01-2012, 11:43 AM
Citeh should stroll this one.

Fergie could bring back Law and Charlton too, and they would still get gubbed.

:cb

08-01-2012, 11:57 AM
Here come the sides!

Come on United, ram it right up these clowns. :thumbsup:

08-01-2012, 11:59 AM
What channel is it on?

I've got Virgin Media.

08-01-2012, 12:00 PM
What channel is it on?

I've got Virgin Media.

Itv audio description.

08-01-2012, 12:01 PM
Goal! 1-0 City! Aguero!

08-01-2012, 12:01 PM

Itv audio description.

Nice one. Thanks.

08-01-2012, 12:02 PM
Goal! 1-0 City! Aguero!

Don't you start that again!

08-01-2012, 12:02 PM
Here come the sides!

Come on United, ram it right up these clowns. :thumbsup:

Oooh are you all excited ? :greengrin

08-01-2012, 12:04 PM
Good start for man ure a foul throw.

Get scholes on quick.

08-01-2012, 12:10 PM
1-0 United, Roooooooooooooooooooooney!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Get in! :thumbsup:

Rooney. What a ****ing goal.

What a finish

08-01-2012, 12:11 PM
Brilliant goal, both build up and finish.

Things just got interesting.

08-01-2012, 12:12 PM
Since this thread is only about one match, can we please have an update to the scoreline on the thread title?

Cheers!

Man ure first 3 touches of the game and its a goal.

Red card us a shocking decision.

Kompany off. Two footed lunge.

Kompany off!

Massive advantage to United!

It gets better! :thumbsup:

08-01-2012, 12:13 PM
Shocking tackle! :tee hee:

08-01-2012, 12:13 PM
Kompany sent off.

Seen them given. 2 footed and out of control but wasn't that high so maybe a bit harsh.

08-01-2012, 12:14 PM
Excellent save by Lindegaard.

08-01-2012, 12:15 PM
I wish I'd just put all of yesterday betting money on this, thankfully still have a Sunday accumulator with United at the heart of it...

Great goal Rooney and those tackles are red card nowadays...

City will still do okay due to their skills but brilliant start and potentially a betting win :)

Man ure first 3 touches of the game and its a goal.

Red card us a shocking decision.

It's a poor decision but in football today if you jump in 2 footed.you are asking the referee to.make the decision. Kompany has to be smarter.

absalute joke of a red card!!! not a fan of either team but was looking forward to what i thought would be a good match, only for the ref to potentialy ruin it with a ludicrous descision

Dr Jimmy
08-01-2012, 12:17 PM
Utd are no different to the OF different rules for them......****!

08-01-2012, 12:19 PM
Since this thread is only about one match, can we please have an update to the scoreline on the thread title?

Cheers!

Any chance? :dunno:

HibeeMG
absalute joke of a red card!!! not a fan of either team but was looking forward to what i thought would be a good match, only for the ref to potentialy ruin it with a ludicrous descision

If you don't jump in two-footed then you won't get sent off for it. As has been said, he made the ref make a decision as to how bad it was.

Citeh 0 - United 1

Disagree a 2 footed lunge is a red card. Imagine he had caught him...............c ya Kompany.

Mon UTD

08-01-2012, 12:20 PM
Oooh are you all excited ? :greengrin

Not quite as excited as I was yesterday at Central Park but certainly looking forward to it! :thumbsup:

08-01-2012, 12:21 PM
Where about in the rule book does it state Giggs is never allowed to be booked?!

08-01-2012, 12:23 PM
Having just seen the replay it does look harsh

My mates are at this game, wish I'd spent less at Xmas and went along too, must be magic in the United end now

08-01-2012, 12:28 PM
Giggs, Rooney & then Jones all kicking lumps out of City player but escaping being booked or even spoken too!

Good to see the EFA is still as corrupt and biased as the SFA :aok:

If you don't jump in two-footed then you won't get sent off for it. As has been said, he made the ref make a decision as to how bad it was.

Disagree a 2 footed lunge is a red card. Imagine he had caught him...............c ya Kompany.

Mon UTD

pish never in a month of sundays should that be a red, he wins the ball for a start foot barley off the ground and studs were hardly showing. its near imposible to to slide without your studs being up a bit especially in those conditions. very poor decision. if a hibs player had been sent off for similer this place would be going nuts.

Cheers!

Thank you.

08-01-2012, 12:29 PM

If thats given and bearing in mind it was the best tackle of the match then you might as well say all two footed tackles are an automatic red card.

08-01-2012, 12:30 PM
pish never in a month of sundays should that be a red, he wins the ball for a start foot barley off the ground and studs were hardly showing. its near imposible to to slide without your studs being up a bit especially in those conditions. very poor decision. if a hibs player had been sent off for similer this place would be going nuts.

This, horrendous decision and the ref has continued to have a nightmare...

08-01-2012, 12:31 PM
2-0 Utd

Sounds like a slight bias towards city, the sending off wont ruin this game but it might influence the result or future decisions by the ref.

no bias at all mate. dont support any english team, well maybe everton if i had to choose. you could be right though game might still be good if city nic a goal before the end of the half

haha or not looks like going to be a man u rout now

2-0 Welbeck!

GIRUY Ricky Hatton, Noel and Liam Gallagher and Roberto Mancini! :thumbsup:

Great goal

Edit: De Jong pooped his pants a little bit there

Whilst I agree it was a harsh red, there is absolutely nothing in the rules about winning the ball stopping a challenge being deemed a foul.

Oh 2-0 Wellbeck.

wazoo1875
Too easy,City are pish :wink:

08-01-2012, 12:32 PM
Ggggggggggoooooooooooooaaaaaaaaaaaaaaallllllllllll llll.

08-01-2012, 12:33 PM
Easy!
Easy!
Easy!

08-01-2012, 12:34 PM
It was amazing how many people were predicting a comprehensive victory for City today: obviously the card has made a difference but to judge Man Us capabilities on 2 bad games is mad, I suppose it's journalists needing a 'crisis' story

08-01-2012, 12:35 PM
Whilst I agree it was a harsh red, there is absolutely nothing in the rules about winning the ball stopping a challenge being deemed a foul.

Oh 2-0 Wellbeck.

Nani had to jump out the challenge, if he didn't he would be heading to hospital right now. definatley a red card.

08-01-2012, 12:35 PM
It was amazing how many people were predicting a comprehensive victory for City today: obviously the card has made a difference but to judge Man Us capabilities on 2 bad games is mad, I suppose it's journalists needing a 'crisis' story

:agree: Write Manchester Utd off at your peril.

08-01-2012, 12:37 PM

Anybody writing UTD off prior to this game was either stupid or knew nothing about football ( or the capabilities of Man Utd)

08-01-2012, 12:39 PM
great game, so far :)

penalty man utd

Penalty. stonewaller.

08-01-2012, 12:40 PM
3-0 Utd

0-3.

Rooney rebound.

Penalty, Roooooooooooooooooooooooooooooonnnnnnnnnneeeeeeeee eyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy.

08-01-2012, 12:41 PM
we want 7

wazoo1875
Any minute now there'll be thousands of empty blue seats. Anyone else's think this could be 6 :na na:

United outstanding so far

08-01-2012, 12:42 PM
This is great....7-0 would be nice

08-01-2012, 12:43 PM
This could eclipse the 6-1 scoreline!

United have been unplayable in this first half!

What's happened to our posters of a Manchester City persuasion by the way? :confused:

Been a bit quiet so far.

08-01-2012, 12:44 PM
Scandal of a red card killed this. Nani penalised for handball - second yellow? Nope.

What's happened to our posters of a Manchester City persuasion by the way? :confused:

Been a bit quiet so far.
They gotta thread of their own?:dunno:

The bad thing is even the glory hunters on here expected city to win. :agree:

08-01-2012, 12:46 PM
That's Man City out of the Champions League and FA Cup with the possibility getting knocked out of the League in the coming weeks. I thought all of their squad came to City to win trophies. :aok:

08-01-2012, 12:47 PM
The bad thing is even the glory hunters on here expected city to win. :agree:

I didn't - see my betting thoughts yesterday

Best time to back United is after defeats

Scandal of a red card killed this. Nani penalised for handball - second yellow? Nope.

Nutshell. Gutted for Citeh but delighted for United and Sharlek. Knew my boys would come good in the red half of Manchester!

Wellbeck should have made it 4 there

08-01-2012, 12:48 PM

Been a bit quiet so far.

Off topic but I hate that phrase. It doesn't make any sense.

That's Man City out of the Champions League and FA Cup with the possibility getting knocked out of the League in the coming weeks. I thought all of their squad came to City to win trophies. :aok:

If it's money they want to play with, they should stay where they are.

If it's trophies they're after, they should give Sir Alex a phone! :agree:

Love the Green

Been a bit quiet so far.

We are here FH..looks bad for us today but will still be at the Liverpool semi on Wednesday..40 years of supporting them does not end just because of 1 loss to the bully boys/english OF
few dodgy decisions and team selections for us today...good to se manure's youth policy is on the up..

"keep the faith"

08-01-2012, 12:50 PM
Half time.

Manchester City 0
Manchester United 3

You can shove yer blue moon up yer jacksie! :bye:

08-01-2012, 12:53 PM
I didn't - see my betting thoughts yesterday

Best time to back United is after defeats

Least you admit to be a glory hunter unlike the other ones on here.

Love the Green
08-01-2012, 12:54 PM
Half time.

Manchester City 0
Manchester United 3

Oh dear just what you expect from fans of the EOF..easy to support them over the last 20 years suppose you are also a Barcelons fan.
Is that the season over then oops no 4 months to go enjoy it while you can...

"keep the true faith":agree:

08-01-2012, 12:55 PM
Oh dear just what you expect from fans of the EOF..easy to support them over the last 20 years suppose you are also a Barcelons fan.
Is that the season over then oops no 4 months to go enjoy it while you can...

"keep the true faith":agree:

Nope, can't stand Barcelona.

HibeeMG
08-01-2012, 12:55 PM

If thats given and bearing in mind it was the best tackle of the match then you might as well say all two footed tackles are an automatic red card.

I wasn't saying it should have been a red card.

I was just pointing out that because he went in with a two-footed lunge, whether or not his feet were on the ground when he got the ball, he gave the referee a decision to make. There was no need to go in with both feet.

He didn't help himself is what I meant.

08-01-2012, 12:57 PM
Half time.

Manchester City 0
Manchester United 3

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/scotland/16460862.stm

Love the Green
08-01-2012, 12:58 PM
I wasn't saying it should have been a red card.

I was just pointing out that because he went in with a two-footed lunge, whether or not his feet were on the ground when he got the ball, he gave the referee a decision to make. There was no need to go in with both feet.

He didn't help himself is what I meant.

Neither did Shrek, every game every decision he has to get involved..horrible person on and off the field.

"keep the true faith":wink:

08-01-2012, 12:58 PM
Nope, can't stand Barcelona.

Is that cause they piss all over man u everytime they play them?

zelda
08-01-2012, 01:00 PM
Absolutely gutted never a red card and it has ruined the game.

08-01-2012, 01:00 PM
Not a fan of either side but all this.. "It was two footed so he had to go" is total bollox! not one FIFA rule states a two footed tackle is a red card!!

There is three guidelines:

Careless = Foul

Reckless = Yellow

Excessive force = Red

There was no more force in that tackle than any other tackle on a football pitch!

Reckless? I wouldn't say so myself Nani was still running about after the next ball.

Careless? Again borderline if it was even a foul!

And as for "
Nani had to jump out the challenge, if he didn't he would be heading to hospital right now. definatley a red card."

You could say that about nearly every challenge.. you cannot win the ball the just stop your body on the spot. you will always follow through in some way shape or form! it is the tackle that gets judged not the follow through!

08-01-2012, 01:03 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/scotland/16460862.stm

And your point is? :confused:

I was at Cowdenbeath yesterday watching it live so have no need to watch the highlights.

Were you? :dunno:

08-01-2012, 01:05 PM
Play nice lads!

Great half of football for the neautral, with United fully in control now. Defending well, breaking up play, then countering with speed. The perfect away from home performance thus far. City started well, but the stuffing looks to have been knocked out of them a little bit. They look a bit tired aswell and obviously with the extra man, United could exploit that in the 2nd half. Silva and Johnson off 2nd half

HT Man City 0-3 Man United.

08-01-2012, 01:06 PM
And your point is? :confused:

I was at Cowdenbeath yesterday watching it live so have no need to watch the highlights.

Were you? :dunno:

Did you get as excited yesterday as you have today?

08-01-2012, 01:06 PM
Not a Man U fan, but giruy Noel Gallagher.... arrogant prick!

08-01-2012, 01:07 PM
3-1, Kolarov.

08-01-2012, 01:08 PM
Play nice lads!

Great half of football for the neautral, with United fully in control now. Defending well, breaking up play, then countering with speed. The perfect away from home performance thus far. City started well, but the stuffing looks to have been knocked out of them a little bit. They look a bit tired aswell and obviously with the extra man, United could exploit that in the 2nd half. Silva and Johnson off 2nd half

HT Man City 0-3 Man United.
The game has been spoiled so how can it be great?

1-3 ha ha ha

1-3.

Tidy free kick.

Game on.:greengrin

Here we go squeaky bum time

1-3 cracking strike

08-01-2012, 01:09 PM
The game has been spoiled so how can it be great?

1-3 ha ha ha

The quality of football on show has been very impressive.

That's how its been great.

08-01-2012, 01:09 PM
Least you admit to be a glory hunter unlike the other ones on here.

It's just cos I became mates with Man U lads in the late 90s, once you go to Leeds away with them you can't help but have a soft spot

Still mostly Cardiff for me down south, going to Palace v City on Tuesday night...

More clubs than Tiger Woods me, number 1 will always be Hibs though, no matter where I'm living

08-01-2012, 01:10 PM
Worst thing that could have happened was half time, given how United played in the first half.

Still don't see a comeback though.

08-01-2012, 01:12 PM
The quality of football on show has been very impressive.

That's how its been great.

Would they have had the space to play quality football as you put it without a dodgy red card?

08-01-2012, 01:13 PM
Worst thing that could have happened was half time, given how United played in the first half.

Still don't see a comeback though.

I hope your right or it'll be 50 notes down the pan!

08-01-2012, 01:15 PM
Would they have had the space to play quality football as you put it without a dodgy red card?

The first goal was quality. :aok:

08-01-2012, 01:15 PM
I assume the glory hunters are those wanting either of the teams to win?

Have man city won enough for any fan of them to become a glory hunter. Not too sure as yet.

08-01-2012, 01:17 PM

You could have said exactly the same thing about the last derby. If Jonny Evans hadn't been sent off when it was still just 1-0, would they have gone on to win 6-1?

You'll never know these things and it's completely hypothetical.

You can only deal in facts.

08-01-2012, 01:19 PM
Here he comes.

Scholesy :not worth

08-01-2012, 01:19 PM
Scholes to get sent off I reckon :greengrin

08-01-2012, 01:22 PM
That was a shout for a penalty.

In fact seeing the replay its an absolute stonewaller again. Ref bottled it.

Stonewall penalty denied for United. :bitchy:

That was a stonewaller. How did the officials miss that?

08-01-2012, 01:23 PM
That was a shout for a penalty.

In fact seeing the replay its an absolute stonewaller again. Ref bottled it.

Stonewaller

08-01-2012, 01:23 PM
3-2. :boo hoo:

08-01-2012, 01:24 PM
2-3.

Game on, Scholes mistake.

Aguero :rolleyes:

Game really on now. Scholes Deary me.
that throw in was Hibernianesque.

Game on

Oh dear, well it's exciting anyway...

Aguero goal scholes mistake what a game

This is a good game! :agree:

Would Man City be back in the game if the ref gave the penalty 2 minutes ago?

I'm sure one of our resident City fans will be keen to.answer.

08-01-2012, 01:25 PM

Been a bit quiet so far.

I suspect they will be back in a minute.

Bad mistake by Scholes, he was finished last season.

08-01-2012, 01:25 PM
2-3 GAME ON! Come on City - get into the ManUre!

08-01-2012, 01:26 PM
Would Man City be back in the game if the ref gave the penalty 2 minutes ago?

I'm sure one of our resident City fans will be keen to.answer.

Exactly.

If they go on to get a draw (or even win it) then that will be the moment that swung the match.

You have to give Mancini credit. Got his tactics spot on the second half.

Exactly.

If they go on to get a draw (or even win it) then that will be the moment that swung the match.

Not the sending off then?:wink:

08-01-2012, 01:27 PM
Have man city won enough for any fan of them to become a glory hunter. Not too sure as yet.

Almost everyone at my school liked an English team, mostly motivated by glory hunting

It was mostly Liverpool back then...

Mikey_1875
08-01-2012, 01:27 PM
Great game! Wanting a draw so we can see this all over again in a replay!

08-01-2012, 01:28 PM
You have to give Mancini credit. Got his tactics spot on the second half.

Greet reaction from them so far

08-01-2012, 01:28 PM
Ha ha ha ha 3-2 falkirk will be in tears if manure don't win now.

08-01-2012, 01:29 PM
Ha ha ha ha 3-2 falkirk will be in tears if manure don't win now.

Not quite.

08-01-2012, 01:32 PM
Not quite.

You can't kid me, you will be most upset.

08-01-2012, 01:33 PM
man utd will score again

That's been about 3 minutes without incident.

EPL is gash.

Greet reaction from them so far

The reaction of champions?

08-01-2012, 01:34 PM
United just need to calm this down at the moment.

Getting far too ragged now.

Scholes is awful

08-01-2012, 01:36 PM
My dad says he can't see it on the telly, he's just got council telly in Edinburgh, is there a freebies channel or should he use itv internet?

Scholes to retire after the game?

Scholes has played some real suicidal passes.

08-01-2012, 01:37 PM

http://www.threadbombing.com/data/media/1/back_in_time_or_a_repost.jpg

08-01-2012, 01:37 PM
My dad says he can't see it on the telly, he's just got council telly in Edinburgh, is there a freebies channel or should he use itv internet?
ITV London Sky 993
Sunderland V Peterborough follows

08-01-2012, 01:38 PM

Don't think you can watch the game in Scotland, unless you've got Sky or Virgin.

You can't watch ITV through Freeview if you live in Scotland.

08-01-2012, 01:39 PM
Scholes to retire after the game?

Would that not be re-retire?!

Him and Giggs are terrible, combined age of 75..

Could we bring back Ray Wilkins?

ITV London Sky 993

He'll need to use internet then, why does STV think people in Scotland would rather not see this game?

Weird

ITV London Sky 993
Sunderland V Peterborough follows

Should be a decent game but fancy Sunderland 3-2.

08-01-2012, 01:40 PM
Would that not be re-retire?!

Him and Giggs are terrible, combined age of 75..

Could we bring back Ray Wilkins?

I think Giggs has strolled through the game to be honest.

08-01-2012, 01:40 PM
Don't think you can watch the game in Scotland, unless you've got Sky or Virgin.

You can't watch ITV through Freeview if you live in Scotland.

It's annoying that you can't get ITV HD in Scotland as well(on Virgin anyway). The HD channel has Dancing on Ice or some rubbish on instead.

08-01-2012, 01:41 PM
Scholes again :faf:

He'll need to use internet then, why does STV think people in Scotland would rather not see this game?

Weird
TV Catchup. Register and watch.

Weird

Something to do with the cost of buying from ITV in England.

Still a repeat of heartbeat should have the viewers desperate to tune in.and attract the advertisers.

08-01-2012, 01:42 PM
Stonewall pen denied City for Jones handball!

08-01-2012, 01:43 PM
City denied a stonewaller, another decision against them today...

08-01-2012, 01:43 PM
Something to do with the cost of buying from ITV in England.

Still a repeat of heartbeat should have the viewers desperate to tune in.and attract the advertisers.

Heartbeat is on and you waited till now to tell us I'm turning this mince off football to make the eyes bleed

08-01-2012, 01:44 PM
Not sure that was a stonewall - hit his leg then bounced off arm when the ball was already going out

Fergie needs new.midfielders. Scholes and Giggs have been great servants but they are well past it.

Open the cheque book and bring in Sneijder and Montolivo.

Dodgy ref in favour of manure.........

Never.

08-01-2012, 01:45 PM
United were denied a stonewaller too though overall United have done the best through the decisions, sloppy second half performance

08-01-2012, 01:46 PM

No way, that would've been harsh

what about stonewall penalty start of first half? swings and roundabouts....

Manchester Utd's been shocking in this 2nd half.

Bring on full time.

Never.

Ignoring the stonewall penalty United were denied of course.

Some composure there from rooney

Nah, hit his leg first.

08-01-2012, 01:47 PM
Evra's slap/elbow on Aguero just ignored even though he's been booked already..

Convenient..

08-01-2012, 01:47 PM
Manchester Utd's been shocking in this 2nd half.

Bring on full time.

agreed

08-01-2012, 01:48 PM

City denied a stonewaller, another decision against them today...

Hardly.

The offence is DELIBERATE handball.

Considering the ball bounced up to his arm after hitting him on the leg first, it can hardly be described as "deliberate".

08-01-2012, 01:48 PM

Never.

Been brutal. He'll add bog all on (after checking with Feergie the pwick of course :greengrin)

08-01-2012, 01:49 PM
Bit late but if you have freeview when you run setup put your post code in as the borders and you can get ITV HD

That Jones is some player :faf:

So manure are through.

The biggest credit of the day has to go to Manchester city for making a game of it after a shocking ref decision.

Let's not forget the last time a Manchester team went down to 10 in a derby the score was Manchester united 1 Manchester City 6 going on 10.

08-01-2012, 01:50 PM
3 minutes added on.

08-01-2012, 01:50 PM
Brilliant 2nd half by City.

Showed how the game should be played with 10 men, didn't go chasing shadows, kept their shape and broke well.

Man Utd were very poor though and really should have been looking to make a statement, not holding on.

08-01-2012, 01:51 PM
Aarrgh. Rio...

Ignoring the stonewall penalty United were denied of course.

Yes it was a pen but manure have got every other decision?

This better end up in row z.

08-01-2012, 01:52 PM
I'd like to see this go in. A replay would be worth watching.

08-01-2012, 01:52 PM
Yes it was a pen but manure have got every other decision?

Agreed but i think its more just the ref is pish as opposed to anything sinister.

Could have been an equaliser there, dodgy keeper.

08-01-2012, 01:53 PM
Full time;

Manchester City 2-3 Manchester Utd.

YAAAAAAAAAAAS!!! :thumbsup:

FT

Enjoyed that:agree:

tatty by man p*shy! :)

08-01-2012, 01:54 PM
Phew...

Great game though, City made it more exciting...

Sir Alex needs to be making signings soon

zelda
If the ref was half decent we would've won that easily.

Jakey beak Fergie will be inviting the ref in for a wee nip to thank him for the victory :aok:

Enjoyed that.

Cracking game of football.

Sherlock Jones
A cracking cup tie :top marks

08-01-2012, 01:55 PM
Enjoyed that:agree:

Me too. :greengrin

08-01-2012, 01:55 PM
Hardly.

Considering the ball bounced up to his arm after hitting him on the leg first, it can hardly be described as "deliberate".

Nah - stonewaller

08-01-2012, 01:56 PM
Brilliant 2nd half by City.

Showed how the game should be played with 10 men, didn't go chasing shadows, kept their shape and broke well.

Man Utd were very poor though and really should have been looking to make a statement, not holding on.

Fair summary. City are simply better and probably would have won comfortably 11 a side. As you said, it was a great opportunity for Man U to make a big statement and redress that 1-6 issue. Instead it's City who made statement with that gutsy and astute fight back with 10 men and down three.

Think the FA cup, with ref assistance, is the best Sharlek can expect this year.

08-01-2012, 01:57 PM
Hardly.

Never a penalty

Nah - stonewaller

Total stonewaller.

I think we've just seen a look at the destination of the premier league title this season.

City defiant 'til the end, but ultimately not good enough.

United defiant 'til the end, scraping home.

FT Manchester City 2-3 Manchester United.

Fergie smiling and patting the ref on the back there you don't see that often

08-01-2012, 02:00 PM
Fair summary. City are simply better and probably would have won comfortably 11 a side. As you said, it was a great opportunity for Man U to make a big statement and redress that 1-6 issue. Instead it's City who made statement with that gutsy and astute fight back with 10 men and down three.

Think the FA cup, with ref assistance, is the best Sharlek can expect this year.

Nonsense. Don't listen to the anyone but united ITV commentators and pundits, City are out and United are through. Thats all that matters :greengrin.

wazoo1875
08-01-2012, 02:02 PM
Excellent cup tie, credit to Man City for a rousing second half. They could've easily chucked it at half time, but showed how good thy can be.
Fergie needs to get a couple of midfielders in ASAP or City will win the league IMO.

08-01-2012, 02:02 PM
Total stonewaller.

Defo!

City got 1 decision in their favour allgame whereas Manure got at least 10..

08-01-2012, 02:05 PM

Totally hypothetical and something you'll never know.

They may have been gutsy, determined or whatever other adjective you want to use but they're out of the FA Cup and United are in the next round.

That's the one and only fact I'm interested in.

08-01-2012, 02:12 PM
I hate when these interviewers try to get the managers in trouble.

He's clearly trying to get Mancini into bother by getting him to complain.

08-01-2012, 02:15 PM
Exciting game, UTD nearly blew it after a poor 2nd half performance, fair play to City they made a good game of it against the odds

08-01-2012, 02:16 PM
I hate when these interviewers try to get the managers in trouble.

He's clearly trying to get Mancini into bother by getting him to complain.

Mancini's responsible for the comments he makes in the interview.

It's an interviewers job to try and create headlines and get the players and managers to say something controversial.

08-01-2012, 02:22 PM
Bit late but if you have freeview when you run setup put your post code in as the borders and you can get ITV HD

Thanks I'll pass on the tip

08-01-2012, 02:23 PM

It's an interviewers job to try and create headlines and get the players and managers to say something controversial.

He could just ask him his thoughts on the match instead of giving us 1min of uncomfortable nothingness as Mancini refuses to take the bait !!

08-01-2012, 02:34 PM

Given the fact city have bossed manure for 45 with 10 men are you going to give them some praise?

08-01-2012, 02:35 PM
Given the fact city have bossed manure for 45 with 10 men are you going to give them some praise?

Definitely, I thought they did well in the second half.

Just a pity it wasn't well enough...:wink:

08-01-2012, 02:38 PM

Is it beyond reach to stop the playground 'manure' stuff. How boring........

I really enjoyed the game and thought Man City were outstanding in terms of the effort and commitment they put in to it. Mancini's italian style defence in the 2nd half completely shut out United, and while it would have been totally different had United been awarded the second penalty, Man City take all the credit from that game for me.

Richards running about shutting everything down was amazing to watch. Some energy levels that boy has!

08-01-2012, 02:41 PM

Given the actual fact that United are the first team to win at The United Stadium in over a year and have dumped the favourites for the FA Cup out are you going to give United any credit?

08-01-2012, 02:43 PM
Given the actual fact that United are the first team to win at The United Stadium in over a year and have dumped the favourites for the FA Cup out are you going to give United any credit?

Am not a Manchester city fan.

08-01-2012, 02:46 PM

True but it doesn't make it any better.

He was trying to put words into his mouth with a conversation somewhere along the lines of:

Reporter - "The ref made some terrible decisions today, which cost you the game, what did you think of that?"

Mancini - "I'd rather not talk about the referee"

Reporter - "Oh, but it must have made you really angry?"

It's a joke, the managers are forced to speak to these leeches but then they are fined for going along with the words that are put in their mouth.

Red card ruined City's chances IMO. With 11 they might have won that but United's tactics were spot on IMO.

Oooh that's a good one.

That never fails to get a response! :greengrin

08-01-2012, 02:47 PM
Am not a Manchester city fan.

So you won't mind giving a little praise to Manchester United then...

08-01-2012, 02:49 PM
So you won't mind giving a little praise to Manchester United then...

Should I give praise to every team that has won this weekend too?

08-01-2012, 03:00 PM
I have no allegiance to either team but if City had kept 11 on the park they would have won that game , no doubt about that in my opinion.

08-01-2012, 03:04 PM
Totally hypothetical and something you'll never know.

They may have been gutsy, determined or whatever other adjective you want to use but they're out of the FA Cup and United are in the next round.

That's the one and only fact I'm interested in.

Understandable and on one level you're correct - its all about results and City are out and United are through.

However we both know that the FA cup is now small beer to both Manchester clubs (I think the Europa too unless they meet in the final) and the real one is the premiership. I feel United missed a golden opportunity to hammer City and claw back some of the psychological ascendency they have traditionally enjoyed in this fixture but which was shattered by the 1-6 game. That they lost 2-0 in the second half to ten men will be a blow. In the last three games they have enjoyed one dominant half against ten men who were recovering from the blow of a harsh sending off in a derby. As soon as they regrouped at half time, they made United look a very clueless, gutless and dispirited mob. Watching that game I'm more confident than ever that the title is heading to Eastlands. This United team don't have the backbone of old. Not writing them off though, but Ferguson really needs to make a couple of strong signings in the window.

08-01-2012, 03:16 PM
United won today and over the peace they did shade it..

The red card did change the game but over the course of the game both United should've had pen in the 2nd half and City did have a good shout for a pen turned down.. Obviously the ref must not have seen it...

As for Scholes coming back , that says its own story.. Desperation on bacon faces part... Sold the pies for the 2nd goal and gave the ball away a fair few times when he was on the pitch...

Looking at the bigger picture , Both keepers at United are totally rotten and there back 4 is not much better...

City are still the team to catch and the league is the most important thing...

08-01-2012, 03:17 PM
Proud to be a blue. Fair to say Chris Foy ruined the game today, but the second half perfomance from the lads was nothing short of heroic..

08-01-2012, 03:18 PM
Understandable and on one level you're correct - its all about results and City are out and United are through.

However we both know that the FA cup is now small beer to both Manchester clubs (I think the Europa too unless they meet in the final) and the real one is the premiership. I feel United missed a golden opportunity to hammer City and claw back some of the psychological ascendency they have traditionally enjoyed in this fixture but which was shattered by the 1-6 game. That they lost 2-0 in the second half to ten men will be a blow. In the last three games they have enjoyed one dominant half against ten men who were recovering from the blow of a harsh sending off in a derby. As soon as they regrouped at half time, they made United look a very clueless, gutless and dispirited mob. Watching that game I'm more confident than ever that the title is heading to Eastlands. This United team don't have the backbone of old. Not writing them off though, but Ferguson really needs to make a couple of strong signings in the window.

I think the worst thing United can do is make a panic signing this month.

As Ferguson has said recently, the players that they would be after, generally aren't available in January as their clubs don't want to sell them midway through the season, so unless they offer a huge amount of money for a player then I don't see them signing anyone.

I think the last time they signed any players of any note during the January window was in 2006 when they signed Evra and Vidic.

Since then, it's been mainly bit part players who have been brought in during January.

They've got this far and they're only 3 points behind City.

I think the squad they've got is good enough to retain the title, however the loss of players like Vidic will make it tough for them.

08-01-2012, 03:19 PM
Proud to be a blue. Fair to say Chris Foy ruined the game today, but the second half perfomance from the lads was nothing short of heroic..

Heroic???

Really!!? :confused:

08-01-2012, 03:23 PM
I think the worst thing United can do is make a panic signing this month.

As Ferguson has said recently, the players that they would be after, generally aren't available in January as their clubs don't want to sell them midway through the season, so unless they offer a huge amount of money for a player then I don't see them signing anyone.

I think the last time they signed any players of any note during the January window was in 2006 when they signed Evra and Vidic.

Since then, it's been mainly bit part players who have been brought in during January.

They've got this far and they're only 3 points behind City.

I think the squad they've got is good enough to retain the title, however the loss of players like Vidic will make it tough for them.

What do you think Scholes is ???? :confused::confused:

Love the Green
08-01-2012, 03:24 PM
Think today has proved 1 thing City are the real deal and will be champions this season.
Great performance today playing with 10 men for 78 mins and competing to the end dsespite losing 2-3. compare that with the gutless performance of manure who went down to 10 men in the 53rd minute and lost 1-6 in the previous derby this season.
Think the resigning of the ginger thug just states the decling quality of Manure.
Good luck to manure as it would have ben tragic had they gone out of 3 cupos before the end of January.
Cant believe as ever the cocky rubbish statements their fans come out with and off course old bacon face who said U*****d made City look good.
FH + Wothersoonia see you 2 late April.

"keep the true faith":wink: