View Full Version : Liverpool fan arrested for racist abuse.....

robinp
06-01-2012, 09:36 PM
http://www.mirrorfootball.co.uk/news/Liverpool-new-racism-row-Fan-arrested-on-suspicion-of-abusing-black-Oldham-player-Tom-Adeyemi-article849913.html

06-01-2012, 09:41 PM
No place for racism in the game, hope the culprit gets a lifetime ban.............

06-01-2012, 09:50 PM
No doubt that will be another t-shirt for Dalglish and the players to wear before their next game.

scott7_0(Prague)
06-01-2012, 10:08 PM
No doubt that will be another t-shirt for Dalglish and the players to wear before their next game.

What a silly qoute.:rolleyes:

06-01-2012, 10:15 PM
Utter drivel and you know it. No need at all.

What's the difference between this case and the incident with Luis Suarez? :dunno:

If they're going to publicly and vocally support a player that's been accused of racist abuse, I don't see why a fan should be any different.

The club's set a precedent as far as this issue is concerned and it would be hypocritical if they didn't fully support this individual.

06-01-2012, 10:24 PM
What's the difference between this case and the incident with Luis Suarez? :dunno:

If they're going to publicly and vocally support a player that's been accused of racist abuse, I don't see why a fan should be any different.

The club's set a precedent as far as this issue is concerned and it would be hypocritical if they didn't fully support this individual.

:agree: Liverpool made a rod for their own back when wearing those T shirts, all for one and one for all. :confused:

06-01-2012, 10:29 PM

It was only ever going to be a matter of time before a story like this emerged IMO. Whatever the reason for LFC's stance on the Suarez case, their naivety/stupidity was always going to be exposed sooner or later.

Having said that, this incident could provide the club with an opportunity to make a gesture which may help them save some face.

Bottom line, feel really sorry for the lad who was abused and appears to have been quite badly affected by it. Regardless of the final scoreline, a young lower league player should count playing at Anfield as one of the best memories of his career. As it's turned out, it may turn out to be one of the worst.

06-01-2012, 10:29 PM
FH you have to be on the wind up and I'm not biting!

I obviously don't expect the club to wear t-shirts of this guy but, from a Liverpool perspective, the way they handled the Suarez incident was ridiculous and wholly inappropriate. In many ways, I actually do think they are in a difficult situation with how they handle this case, given how fiercely they supported Suarez.

It's another case of football players being wrapped up in cotton wool and treated completely differently by their employer to how 99.9% of the rest of the population is treated.

You'll probably find that, if convicted, this guy will lose his job and, most probably, will be banned from Anfield. On the other hand, Luis Suarez, who hasn't been accused of doing anything less serious in my book, is backed to the hilt by his employer and is allowed to continue earning his mega fortune every week.

scotcha
06-01-2012, 10:38 PM
I think the mirror will be feeling stupid as merseyside police have confirmed that no arrests were made at for racial abuse. It's amazing how people just like o jump on a band wagon without looking at facts.

Re the t- shirts, getting accused of something you didn't do and getting charged for it knowing the country is going to brand you something you're not, the I would support my colleague all costs. Please remember that there is not ONE bit of evidence that Suarez racially abused Evra an there were more inconsistency on Evra's account than Saurez, but don't let facts get in the way of a good old fashioned witch hunt...

06-01-2012, 10:46 PM
I think the mirror will be feeling stupid as merseyside police have confirmed that no arrests were made at for racial abuse. It's amazing how people just like o jump on a band wagon without looking at facts.

Re the t- shirts, getting accused of something you didn't do and getting charged for it knowing the country is going to brand you something you're not, the I would support my colleague all costs. Please remember that there is not ONE bit of evidence that Suarez racially abused Evra an there were more inconsistency on Evra's account than Saurez, but don't let facts get in the way of a good old fashioned witch hunt...

Apart from Suarez admitting it. :confused:

1Eddie_Turnbull
06-01-2012, 10:48 PM

Whatever you do don't let the facts get in the way of the garbage you're posting. And congratulations on being taken in by the great Anfield Brainwash that they've been conducting for the last month or so.

06-01-2012, 10:50 PM

.... a waste of 115 pages then? :rolleyes:

MountcastleHibs
06-01-2012, 10:55 PM

I hope you retract this when it comes out an arrest was made.

'Witnesses reported two fans wearing Luis Suárez T-shirts – similar to those worn by Liverpool players at Wigan after the Uruguayan striker was found guilty of racially abusing Patrice Evra – confronting Adeyemi, and one allegedly shouting "You f****** black b******"' - The Guardian

The boy Adeyemi was in tears. Papers don't just make things like this up.

06-01-2012, 10:59 PM
There are apparently a couple of witnessess tonight who heard the racial abuse so hopefully the fan(s) who were responsible will be convicted in a criminal court, banned from Anfield for life and take whatever else comes their way as a result. Exactly the same that should happen to Suarez if he too is ever convicted of racially abusing someone in a criminal court!

There are lots of examples of people being sacked from their job after an internal investigation into their conduct has found that they have said or done something wrong. They haven't necessarily had to be dealt with by the police or the courts for this action to be taken.

Basically what happened in Suarez's case was that an inquiry took place with the governing body looking into the incident and as a result he was found guilty and they took action to ban him.

It's naive to think that Suarez would have been sacked by Liverpool if he had been convicted by a court.

That goes for any club who has a big player like that, by the way, just in case you think that I'm on some kind of personal crusade against Liverpool.

There's no danger of John Terry, for example, being sacked by Chelsea if he is found guilty of racially abusing Anton Ferdinand but I'm sure they wouldn't think twice about banning a fan who was found to have described someone as an "effing black c..." during a game.

06-01-2012, 11:42 PM

Regardless of the debate around his intentions in using the "n" word, Suarez admitted in his evidence that he told Evra he had kicked him "because he was black" and also said he "didn't speak to black people". That is racist.

So, what has he been branded that he's not?

I can understand the pain LFC supporters must be feeling to have their great club dragged through the mud by the people who are presently employed to represent it, but there's no point denying facts and claiming "witch hunt". Just makes the fans look as bad as the players and manager.

cad
06-01-2012, 11:44 PM
On the other Saurez thread HalifaxHibs posted The Mail Link http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...-YoutTube.html (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...-YoutTube.html)[/QUO

My opinion " And so it begins "

The fan once found will be banned for life and rightly so .

Next you have how the media want to play it , Man Utd V Liverpool , Black, White ,right , wrong , Mirror , Sun , The Gaurdian depending on the papers slant or the journos team ,now Ive got a soft spot for Liverpool always have done but if your wrong your wrong and you should take whats coming to you .

Ive looked at the Evra rant in the hotel room ,Ive read the Ferguson defence with Peter Schmeichel and Ian Wright incident all these years ago , what comes to mind is the OF and the chit chat they've had since day one ,could this be the start in the Premiership
Both these clubs do tours in pre season to tap up markets for Man Utd TV the merchandise the package if you will Liverpool as well along with many others a racism case highlighting any club could have a drastic effect on sales ,make no bones about it, they can dress it up whatever way the want at the end of it IMO it will be about money if it had beeen Ronnie Smith from Brighton and Billy Reid from Ipswich would it be as big a story ,the intial front page yes weeks on end no

Suarez said this , aye but Evra said that ,and what aboot Ferguson and Schmeichel sound familiar .

Read the link below ,it goes on a bit but it does open up many many avenues , you never know your opinion may even change it changed my opinion a little ,but if your wrong your wrong , if you think you didnt do anything wrong thats a different story why take the hit of 8 games and £40,000 fine more to come as I said before

http://tomkinstimes.com/2012/01/all-spanish-speakers-are-racist/

07-01-2012, 01:58 AM
I hope you retract this when it comes out an arrest was made.

'Witnesses reported two fans wearing Luis Suárez T-shirts – similar to those worn by Liverpool players at Wigan after the Uruguayan striker was found guilty of racially abusing Patrice Evra – confronting Adeyemi, and one allegedly shouting "You f****** black b******"' - The Guardian

The boy Adeyemi was in tears. Papers don't just make things like this up.
if the boy was in tears he's led a very sheltered life, i dont condone what was said to him but for a black footballer having made it through streetlife/school in this country id expect he's heard alot worse while growing up, hope the accused is banned never the less.

07-01-2012, 02:06 AM

Agreed. The club have made an erse of this.

07-01-2012, 02:30 AM
Premiership is over rated!:aok:

Bunch of racists!...we have Terry, Suarez and now a liverpool fan deary me, i feel like calling Sky and loooking for a rebate!

Dirty Dirty league

anyway on to more important matters...Hibs r linked with a guy with a broken back, a hartlepool defender and a lithuanian no one has heard off...now thats what i call terrible news....
bring back the glory years, standing, drinking, singing, fun, working class guy in the east, families to the north and prawn sannies to the west, smoking for those who liked with £20 tickets per game! 12k plus a ER
ooh the good old days...the new days non of the above and 7lk at homes games

07-01-2012, 02:41 AM
Premiership is over rated!:aok:

Bunch of racists!...we have Terry, Suarez and now a liverpool fan deary me, i feel like calling Sky and loooking for a rebate!

Dirty Dirty league

anyway on to more important matters...Hibs r linked with a guy with a
broken back, a hartlepool defender and a lithuanian no one has heard
off...now thats what i call terrible news....
bring back the glory years, standing, drinking, singing, fun, working class guy in the east, families to the north and prawn sannies to the west,
smoking for those who liked with £20 tickets per game! 12k plus a ER
ooh the good old days...the new days non of the above and 7lk at homes games

You forgot to mention having at least one player in the team that you would look forward to seeing every week...

:-)

07-01-2012, 02:48 AM
You forgot to mention having at least one player in the team that you would look forward to seeing every week...

:-)

agree mate!I generally thinkGOCis that man if you stick a couple of FOOTBALL players in the midfield!The days of the big namesareover butthereisenough out there to get us excited! News papers reports look bleak if we are after the three thats mentioned...we deserve some attacking flare.....hail hail

07-01-2012, 03:10 AM

You're taking that too far.

Liverpool did circle the wagons too soon and are in the wrong in my opinion but you're stooping quite low to try and score points for your big team. There's a difference between a cultural misunderstanding, which this ultimately was and racist behaviour of numpties on the terracing who do know the boundaries.

It is actually possible to draw certain comparisons but for anyone to brand Liverpool FC as a racist institution is wrong.

07-01-2012, 08:36 AM
SSN just reiterated that merseyside police have made NO arrests at the moment. They are carrying out an investigation into the alleged incident.

07-01-2012, 08:51 AM
I obviously don't expect the club to wear t-shirts of this guy but, from a Liverpool perspective, the way they handled the Suarez incident was ridiculous and wholly inappropriate. In many ways, I actually do think they are in a difficult situation with how they handle this case, given how fiercely they supported Suarez.

It's another case of football players being wrapped up in cotton wool and treated completely differently by their employer to how 99.9% of the rest of the population is treated.

You'll probably find that, if convicted, this guy will lose his job and, most probably, will be banned from Anfield. On the other hand, Luis Suarez, who hasn't been accused of doing anything less serious in my book, is backed to the hilt by his employer and is allowed to continue earning his mega fortune every week.

I think Liverpool didn't think the thing through. They gave a green light to their fans to act in a racist manner, by - effectively - making themselves into a racist club. How else can people interpret the defence of Suarez?

I for one don't buy this "he was only an innocent country boy" guff.

You're right, it's beyond belief that a couple of supporters would blindly get behind their team and defend their players whatever they do. It's more likely the Oldham player made the whole thing up to get some publicity.

Every club has its proportion of racists in the support. They are endemic in society, and it would be really naive to think that - out of a crowd of 50,000, nobody would use the phrase "black B".

07-01-2012, 09:22 AM
if the boy was in tears he's led a very sheltered life, i dont condone what was said to him but for a black footballer having made it through streetlife/school in this country id expect he's heard alot worse while growing up, hope the accused is banned never the less.

The abused player's upbringing or previous experiences are irrelevant. Discrimination doesn't become any less serious just because you've experienced it a couple of times before.

07-01-2012, 09:32 AM

Bit of a petty dig tbh, one could respond by pointing out all of the crap that Fergie has pulled over the years:

Bullying players into early medical retirement
Assaulting a player
Bullying young players into signing with his son the agent, and threatening to put them out the game if they didn't
Verbally abusing media personnel
Refusing to speak to the BBC for several years, in direct breach of the contract his employers have with them
Tried to throw his weight around with the coolmore guys, who taught him a lesson in humility and just how small and temporary his own little fiefdom is

Also, I can't remember you critising Ryan Giggs for his disgusting behaviour (my apologies if you did)

Its not difficult to point fingers at anyone and find flaws.

Every football manager is guilty of being both ruthless and loyal to a fault. Many could and did say Man Utd should have sacked Cantona for his assault on a fan (whilst provoked, he over stepped the mark badly, and didn't even apologise).

Equally, every football fan is guilty of struggling to seperate football loyalties with reality.

I'm not saying what Liverpool have done is 100% right, or 100% wrong, but somewhere in between. But making snidey remarks doesn't really make any of us look big or clever.

All of the above isn't a dig btw :greengrin

07-01-2012, 09:39 AM
I think Liverpool didn't think the thing through. They gave a green light to their fans to act in a racist manner, by - effectively - making themselves into a racist club. How else can people interpret the defence of Suarez?

I for one don't buy this "he was only an innocent country boy" guff.

You're right, it's beyond belief that a couple of supporters would blindly get behind their team and defend their players whatever they do. It's more likely the Oldham player made the whole thing up to get some publicity.

Every club has its proportion of racists in the support. They are endemic in society, and it would be really naive to think that - out of a crowd of 50,000, nobody would use the phrase "black B".

Agree with all of that.

Theres a big difference between tolerating racism within an organisation (or 'institutional racism' to use that now famous phrase) which LFC is currently guilty of, and the inevitable couple of EDL ****ers in a big crowd that shout racist abuse at a player. I can point out two recognisable twats (one fat, one ginger) in my section of the East that ive heard racially abusing players over the years. This does not of course mean our support is in any way 'racist' as a bloc.

07-01-2012, 10:11 AM
Bit of a petty dig tbh, one could respond by pointing out all of the crap that Fergie has pulled over the years:

Bullying players into early medical retirement
Assaulting a player
Bullying young players into signing with his son the agent, and threatening to put them out the game if they didn't
Verbally abusing media personnel
Refusing to speak to the BBC for several years, in direct breach of the contract his employers have with them
Tried to throw his weight around with the coolmore guys, who taught him a lesson in humility and just how small and temporary his own little fiefdom is

Also, I can't remember you critising Ryan Giggs for his disgusting behaviour (my apologies if you did)

Its not difficult to point fingers at anyone and find flaws.

Every football manager is guilty of being both ruthless and loyal to a fault. Many could and did say Man Utd should have sacked Cantona for his assault on a fan (whilst provoked, he over stepped the mark badly, and didn't even apologise).

Equally, every football fan is guilty of struggling to seperate football loyalties with reality.

I'm not saying what Liverpool have done is 100% right, or 100% wrong, but somewhere in between. But making snidey remarks doesn't really make any of us look big or clever.

All of the above isn't a dig btw :greengrin

Oh good. Another thread about Manchester U.

07-01-2012, 10:24 AM
The response from Liverpool re: Suarez was far from helpful in situations like this. If they'd responded "Although there are small cultural differences, the actions of Suarez were wrong and we accept the punishment, and have explained to him why he was wrong and the consequences of his actions, and apologise to anyone who this may have offended", it wouldn't have aggravated a situation further, it would have stuck by their stories of cultural differences (something which I think is a wafer thin excuse to be honest) and would have shown the consequences to the action.

Reacting to the whole thing in a childish fashion with the t-shirts and the lengthy statements only acts as fuel to the fire.

07-01-2012, 10:57 AM
You're taking that too far.

Liverpool did circle the wagons too soon and are in the wrong in my opinion but you're stooping quite low to try and score points for your big team. There's a difference between a cultural misunderstanding, which this ultimately was and racist behaviour of numpties on the terracing who do know the boundaries.
It is actually possible to draw certain comparisons but for anyone to brand Liverpool FC as a racist institution is wrong.

The use of the word may be different in Uruguay, but the "cultural
difference" argument is ultimately irrelevant next to the question of why he was using that word (repeatedly) at all in that situation in the first place when there was absolutely no need to do so...unless he was doing it to get a reaction?

I don't support any EPL teams btw, so have no other angle on this. I still think that the club's very public, even defiant support of the player is ill-judged at best.

07-01-2012, 11:14 AM
Agree with all of that.

Theres a big difference between tolerating racism within an organisation (or 'institutional racism' to use that now famous phrase) which LFC is currently guilty of, and the inevitable couple of EDL ****ers in a big crowd that shout racist abuse at a player. I can point out two recognisable twats (one fat, one ginger) in my section of the East that ive heard racially abusing players over the years. This does not of course mean our support is in any way 'racist' as a bloc.

Yes, I think most of us have encountered racists at Easter Road. They are everywhere, and - for the most part - are just ignorant throw backs, that have no idea of how out of step they are with most in society.

However, if one of them was lifted for racial abuse, and Hibs, as a club, were to defend them, I'd find it very difficult to support Hibs anymore. I wonder if there are sections of the Liverpool support that feel the same about their team.

07-01-2012, 11:28 AM
If Liverpool FC had any sense of decency they would have handed out a punishment of their own to the player, instead they have tried to condone his behaviour and in doing so are no better than Homfc when they kept Thompson on the team sheet after his conviction.

I'd be interested to hear what the majority of LFC's coloured fans think about the whole situation.

07-01-2012, 11:40 AM
If Liverpool FC had any sense of decency they would have handed out a punishment of their own to the player, instead they have tried to condone his behaviour and in doing so are no better than Homfc when they kept Thompson on the team sheet after his conviction.

I'd be interested to hear what the majority of LFC's coloured fans think about the whole situation.

What colour would that be then..........Red!

07-01-2012, 12:15 PM
What colour would that be then..........Red!

Aye well done.

07-01-2012, 12:25 PM
Aye well done.

Well done! You post on a thread about racism and use the derogatory term "coloured" in your post....WTF????

07-01-2012, 12:33 PM
Coloured derogatory? GTF. Knew that's where you were going with this so I'll let you to continue spouting bollocks in attempt to deflect from the real issue.

07-01-2012, 12:40 PM
Coloured derogatory? GTF. Knew that's where you were going with this so I'll let you to continue spouting bollocks in attempt to deflect from the real issue.

Whoa steady on, no need to go off on one, you are surely not suggesting that you don't know it is not right to use the term coloured? Jeez I bet Alan Hansen wishes he knew before he made his gaff!

No need to throw your toys out of the pram over it, and I am certainly not trying to deflect anything from the real issue.

If you don't believe me ask a few black folk how they feel about being called coloured, there was certainly plenty of black people responding to Hansen's comments using the same terms.

07-01-2012, 12:43 PM

I think the term "coloured" is actually classified as derogatory these days but it is becoming harder and harder (even for the majority of folk who aren't racist) to keep track of what is and isn't categorised as offensive.

I was really quite confused when I was first told that 'coloured' wasn't an acceptable word to use, since I was under the impression that 'black' was "racist" terminology, and 'coloured' was the proper word to use - I was only trying to be polite.

Apparently 'black' would be the correct term to use, but where does it all stop?

07-01-2012, 12:46 PM
Whoa steady on, no need to go off on one, you are surely not suggesting that you don't know it is not right to use the term coloured? Jeez I bet Alan Hansen wishes he knew before he made his gaff!

No need to throw your toys out of the pram over it, and I am certainly not trying to deflect anything from the real issue.

If you don't believe me ask a few black folk how they feel about being called coloured.

Ok then please inform me of the correct term for describing someone of unknown ethnic origin to me. Should I get a bee in my bonnet about being described as white.

07-01-2012, 12:49 PM
The use of the word may be different in Uruguay, but the "cultural
difference" argument is ultimately irrelevant next to the question of why he was using that word (repeatedly) at all in that situation in the first place when there was absolutely no need to do so...unless he was doing it to get a reaction?

I don't support any EPL teams btw, so have no other angle on this. I still think that the club's very public, even defiant support of the player is ill-judged at best.

The cultural difference thing might not be an "excuse", because there is none but people must surely recognise this is the "reason" why it happened. I'm no expert on south american culture but suarez has admitted to doing it and poyet has said that this word is used in a certain context.
I think part of the punishment should have been forcing suarez to apologize and explain publicly that while he was ignorant this is not the way to behave. Explain that this aspect of uruguayan culture is not accpeptable in a non patronising way. That way the key issue would have been addressed and everyone could have saved face. I think you might have got cooperation from the club if something like this had been suggested other than a straightforward ban.

07-01-2012, 12:50 PM
Ok then please inform me of the correct term for describing someone of unknown ethnic origin to me. Should I get a bee in my bonnet about being described as white.

Come on H I don't claim to be an expert on the terms acceptable to describe someones race at all, I was merely pointing out that it is now deemed unacceptable to use the term "coloured" and was surprised given the recent publicity that you did not know this.

07-01-2012, 12:57 PM

If you don't believe me ask a few black folk how they feel about being called coloured, there was certainly plenty of black people responding to Hansen's comments using the same terms.

I had no idea using the word coloured was racist? I bet Suarez new he was abusing evra though, why else would he have been using those insults?

07-01-2012, 12:57 PM
Just shows you that it only takes 1 or 2 absolute morons and a whole clubs reputation can be ruined. Unfortunately idiots are attached to every club and are just there to cause trouble and ruin it for everyone else.

07-01-2012, 12:59 PM
I honestly didn't know this and if true find it a rather depressing development. I find the word coloured in itself a positive description not unlike the word gay in that sense. But hey ho I suppose it all depends on the context in which they are used. I'll google the Hanson thing and see what happened there.

07-01-2012, 01:01 PM
The cultural difference thing might not be an "excuse", because there is none but people must surely recognise this is the "reason" why it happened. I'm no expert on south american culture but suarez has admitted to doing it and poyet has said that this word is used in a certain context.
I think part of the punishment should have been forcing suarez to apologize and explain publicly that while he was ignorant this is not the way to behave. Explain that this aspect of uruguayan culture is not accpeptable in a non patronising way. That way the key issue would have been addressed and everyone could have saved face. I think you might have got cooperation from the club if something like this had been suggested other than a straightforward ban.

What about his comments 'I don't speak to Blacks' ? Surely blows the cultural theory out of the water ?

07-01-2012, 01:01 PM
I had no idea using the word coloured was racist? I bet Suarez new he was abusing evra though, why else would he have been using those insults?

What you on about? Trying to twist something yet again! If you've got nothing constructive to say about the current converstion stop going back over old ground regarding Suarez.

07-01-2012, 01:02 PM
Just shows you that it only takes 1 or 2 absolute morons and a whole clubs reputation can be ruined. Unfortunately idiots are attached to every club and are just there to cause trouble and ruin it for everyone else.

:agree: Although when that same club are seen to support a moron, you can then see how others opinions will change regarding that club.

Nobody will ever convince me they were wrong wearing those T shirts, and to come out and condemn any fan who has made racist comments is just ridiculously 2 faced, all in my opinion obviously.

07-01-2012, 01:03 PM
I honestly didn't know this and if true find it a rather depressing development. I find the word coloured in itself a positive description not unlike the word gay in that sense. But hey ho I suppose it all depends on the context in which they are used. I'll google the Hanson thing and see what happened there.

Ok cheers.

07-01-2012, 01:05 PM
What you on about? Trying to twist something yet again! If you've got nothing constructive to say about the current converstion stop going back over old ground regarding Suarez.

You said further down, Whoa steady on, no need to go off on one, you are surely not suggesting that you don't know it is not right to use the term coloured? Jeez I bet Alan Hansen wishes he knew before he made his gaff!

Well i am, i genuinely did not know saying that person is/was coloured is now wrong. No twisting of anything. Is that constructive enough for you?

07-01-2012, 01:07 PM
:agree: Although when that same club are seen to support a moron, you can then see how others opinions will change regarding that club.

Nobody will ever convince me they were wrong wearing those T shirts, and to come out and condemn any fan who has made racist comments is just ridiculously 2 faced, all in my opinion obviously.

Yes an opinion that you are quite entitled to have!

07-01-2012, 01:08 PM
You said further down, Whoa steady on, no need to go off on one, you are surely not suggesting that you don't know it is not right to use the term coloured? Jeez I bet Alan Hansen wishes he knew before he made his gaff!

Well i am, i genuinely did not know saying that person is/was coloured is now wrong. No twisting of anything. Is that constructive enough for you?

No I was referring to the bit I highlighted in bold not your ignorance of the term "coloured". Though to be fair I did forget to highlight it and went back in, probably after you had read it!

07-01-2012, 01:11 PM
What about his comments 'I don't speak to Blacks' ? Surely blows the cultural theory out of the water ?
Did he actually admit to this? Even if he did then maybe this sort of insult is acceptable in uruguayan culture...I don't know.
Everyone involved in this, even evra himself, has stressed that suarez is not a racist. So what do they put all this down to?

07-01-2012, 01:12 PM

See for that comment is it just evra word against suarez I know suarez admitted calling him negrito and that was it I think I haven't seen the whole report though

07-01-2012, 01:14 PM
No I was referring to the bit I highlighted in bold not your ignorance of the term "coloured". Though to be fair I did forget to highlight it and went back in, probably after you had read it!

How is it ignorance of the term coloured? I never and i mean never come into contact with any coloured/black folk. So never have any conversation with them regarding this subject?

07-01-2012, 01:20 PM
How is it ignorance of the term coloured? I never and i mean never come into contact with any coloured/black folk. So never have any conversation with them regarding this subject?

Ignorance = Unaware/Uninformed does it not?

07-01-2012, 01:24 PM
Did he actually admit to this? Even if he did then maybe this sort of insult is acceptable in uruguayan culture...I don't know.
Everyone involved in this, even evra himself, has stressed that suarez is not a racist. So what do they put all this down to?

See for that comment is it just evra word against suarez I know suarez admitted calling him negrito and that was it I think I haven't seen the whole report though

Just what I have read in the reports of the report, although I don't understand the conclusion of it either. :confused:

http://espn.go.com/sports/soccer/news/_/id/7407709/fa-report-says-luis-suarez-called-patrice-evra-negro

07-01-2012, 01:24 PM
Ignorance = Unaware/Uninformed does it not?

Unaware or uninformed does not equal ignorance in my opinion. Now that i know its frowned upon by black people i will not use that term. Is black the right terminology?

What is the right term we are allowed to use, as i have no idea?

07-01-2012, 01:30 PM
their players and fans are all at it. low lifes.

07-01-2012, 01:36 PM
I think the term "coloured" is actually classified as derogatory these days but it is becoming harder and harder (even for the majority of folk who aren't racist) to keep track of what is and isn't categorised as offensive.

I was really quite confused when I was first told that 'coloured' wasn't an acceptable word to use, since I was under the impression that 'black' was "racist" terminology, and 'coloured' was the proper word to use - I was only trying to be polite.

Apparently 'black' would be the correct term to use, but where does it all stop?

It's been interesting to hear the comments of some of the younger black kids in the wake of the Lawrence verdict. A lot of them were saying that society has moved on a lot since (and probably because of) what was uncovered at that time. They see racism in much different terms than their predecessors, and acknowledge the multicultural aspect of modern London.

I get the impression they see racism as more than the word you use to describe skin colour. To me, the word "coloured" is just old fashioned. The black guy I work with describes himself as "black" and would probably be a bit bemused by the being called "coloured".

That said, I don't think it will ever be acceptable to abuse someone for their race, which is what has happened at Anfield.

07-01-2012, 01:36 PM

Of course they are, bloody racists the lot of the :rolleyes:

07-01-2012, 01:39 PM
So, it's official then the organisation, "National Association for the Advancement of Coloured People" (NAACP (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/National_Association_for_the_Advancement_of_Colore d_People)) are a racist organisation.

Any questions or doubts on this fact should be referred to Scouse Hibee and will be clarified by someone who is obviously an expert in this field.

Don't be fooled for one minute by their mission statement...

"The vision of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People is to ensure a society in which all individuals have equal rights without discrimination based on race."

...as it's obviously a clever cover for racist terms and behaviour.

07-01-2012, 01:46 PM

Another excellent response from you, keep it up!

07-01-2012, 01:47 PM
So, it's official then the organisation, "National Association for the Advancement of Coloured People" (NAACP (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/National_Association_for_the_Advancement_of_Colore d_People)) are a racist organisation.

Any questions or doubts on this fact should be referred to Scouse Hibee and will be clarified by someone who is obviously an expert in this field.

"The vision of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People is to ensure a society in which all individuals have equal rights without discrimination based on race."

Maybe just ignorance?

07-01-2012, 01:49 PM

Already stated I wasn't an expert smart arse. I merely reported on the facts as I have read them!

07-01-2012, 01:51 PM
Already stated I wasn't an expert smart arse. I merely reported on the facts as I have read them!

No, but you told me my ignorance = uniformed or unaware. Seems it applies to you too.

07-01-2012, 01:54 PM
No, but you told me my ignorance = uniformed or unaware. Seems it applies to you too.

And if that's the case no problem! Surely you realise I didn't make up the "coloured" story to suit my own ends but merely stated what has been widely reported.

07-01-2012, 01:55 PM
It's been interesting to hear the comments of some of the younger black kids in the wake of the Lawrence verdict. A lot of them were saying that society has moved on a lot since (and probably because of) what was uncovered at that time. They see racism in much different terms than their predecessors, and acknowledge the multicultural aspect of modern London.

I get the impression they see racism as more than the word you use to describe skin colour. To me, the word "coloured" is just old fashioned. The black guy I work with describes himself as "black" and would probably be a bit bemused by the being called "coloured".

That said, I don't think it will ever be acceptable to abuse someone for their race, which is what has happened at Anfield.

To be honest, I don't really have any concept of how being racially discriminated against would feel, since I've never experienced it - we'll, apart from being looked down on whilst on holiday for being British, which is simply down to being tarred with the same brush as lager louts, and isn't really a big deal at all IMO.

Due to this I'm consciously very careful of what I say (around anyone) when race is involved (even peripherally) in a conversation.

I don't really come into contact with many people that are of a different race and skin colour from white, Scottish - Dumfries is such a multicultural place, you know.

There is a black guy in my class at college, who is pretty sound, but skin colour, race.....etc has never became (and never will be) an issue.

I just don't understand people who think and behave in a racist manner; learned behaviour I suppose.

07-01-2012, 01:55 PM

Thats a really good point - its inconsistent at best if hansen has to say sorry for using the word "coloured" when this organisation exists. Confusion over what is and isnt acceptable is causing a lot of unnecessary problems.

07-01-2012, 01:57 PM

'Coloured' is, in the main, considered a derogatory term because of its historical usage. The fact that the NAACP, who were formed over a century ago, use it in their name is pretty much irrelevant and akin to claiming that other words aren't racist because black people (or rappers) use them to refer to each other.

As usual, things are nuanced.

07-01-2012, 02:07 PM
And if that's the case no problem! Surely you realise I didn't make up the "coloured" story to suit my own ends but merely stated what has been widely reported.

I have no idea, just stated you were guilty of the very thing you accused me of.

07-01-2012, 02:08 PM
'Coloured' is, in the main, considered a derogatory term because of its historical usage. The fact that the NAACP, who were formed over a century ago, use it in their name is pretty much irrelevant and akin to claiming that other words aren't racist because black people (or rappers) use them to refer to each other.

Yes!

07-01-2012, 02:10 PM
I have no idea, just stated you were guilty of the very thing you accused me of.

I didn't accuse you of anything, I stated a fact which you yourself confirmed! The fact remains the term "coloured" is considered derogatory by many black people therefore it should not be used.

07-01-2012, 02:12 PM

Is it, as i always thought it was the correct term? Not that its something i talk about much, but it is the way i describe black people. In fact its probably the term used by most folk i know, maybe its an age thing?:confused:

07-01-2012, 02:14 PM
Is it, as i always thought it was the correct term? Not that its something i talk about much, but it is the way i describe black people. In fact its probably the term used by most folk i know, maybe its an age thing?:confused:

Yes a lot of old folk still use the P word when describing occupants of their local corner shop, it doesn't make it right though.

07-01-2012, 02:15 PM
I didn't accuse you of anything, I stated a fact which you yourself confirmed! The fact remains the term "coloured" is considered derogatory by many black people therefore it should not be used.

Your words
( No I was referring to the bit I highlighted in bold not your ignorance of the term "coloured".)

Thats very much like an accusation of ignorance to me.

07-01-2012, 02:16 PM
Yes a lot of old folk still use the P word when describing occupants of their local corner shop, it doesn't make it right though.

Not once have i said it is, what is the correct term?

Tiocfaidh Ar La
07-01-2012, 02:17 PM

Re the t- shirts, getting accused of something you didn't do and getting charged for it knowing the country is going to brand you something you're not, the I would support my colleague all costs. Please remember that there is not ONE bit of evidence that Suarez racially abused Evra an there were more inconsistency on Evra's account than Saurez, but don't let
facts get in the way of a good old fashioned witch hunt...

Well said. Amazing how many people slate the press yet feel able to join in on a witch hunt when there is zero evidence!!!

07-01-2012, 02:19 PM
Your words
( No I was referring to the bit I highlighted in bold not your ignorance of the term "coloured".)

Thats very much like an accusation of ignorance to me.

I stated Ignorance= Uninformed or Unaware and as you stated you were uninformed or unaware of the term coloured being offensive,I repeat I accused you of nothing I merely stated a fact!!!

07-01-2012, 02:22 PM
What if the both of you are ignorant bartstewards?

Only joking chaps - happy new year to you both.

07-01-2012, 02:23 PM
I stated Ignorance= Uninformed or Unaware and as you stated you were uninformed or unaware of the term coloured being offensive,I repeat I accused you of nothing I merely stated a fact!!!

And i disagreed, if i dont know something it may well be down to being uninformed or even unaware, ignorance is something completely different. I'm still waiting to hear what the correct term is, do you know or are you unaware of the answer?

07-01-2012, 02:34 PM
And i disagreed, if i dont know something it may well be down to being uninformed or even unaware, ignorance is something completely different. I'm still waiting to hear what the correct term is, do you know or are you unaware of the answer?

So now you're ignorant to the meaning of ignorance jeez man get over yourself you're coming across as someone who doesn't want to do anything else other than argue. Away and listen to Hibs!

07-01-2012, 02:38 PM
So now you're ignorant to the meaning of ignorance jeez man get over yourself you're coming across as someone who doesn't want to do anything else other than argue. Away and listen to Hibs!

I am listening, along with being told how ignorant i am. And still have no idea what the correct term is for a coloured person. I did think you would know, but now think you are as ignorant as i am about the answer.

07-01-2012, 02:48 PM
I am listening, along with being told how ignorant i am. And still have no idea what the correct term is for a coloured person. I did think you would know, but now think you are as ignorant as i am about the answer.

'Ignorant' has two meanings (possibly more, i dont know); 'unaware' and 'unaware of norms of behaviour'. You can be ignorant of something without being an ignorant person. The second meaning also has overtones of 'stupid', and so probably got Blackpool's back up:greengrin

'Coloured' has become politically incorrect, hence the Hansen controversy, and is best avoided. You should say black, unless you mean 'mixed race' and then you should say, 'mixed race'. For Hansen not to be aware of this while working in the media is totally unbelievable to be honest, and shows how 'ignorant' (pejorative meaning this time:greengrin) he is.

Hope thats cleared up now:whistle:

07-01-2012, 02:55 PM
'Ignorant' has two meanings (possibly more, i dont know); 'unaware' and 'unaware of norms of behaviour'. You can be ignorant of something without being an ignorant person. The second meaning also has overtones of 'stupid', and so probably got Blackpool's back up:greengrin

'Coloured' has become politically incorrect, hence the Hansen controversy, and is best avoided. You should say black, unless you mean 'mixed race' and then you should say, 'mixed race'. For Hansen not to be aware of this while working in the media is totally unbelievable to be honest, and shows how 'ignorant' (pejorative meaning this time:greengrin) he is.

Hope thats cleared up now:whistle:

:greengrin I am a normal guy who was not aware at all that coloured has become politically incorrect? And this Hansen controversy, what is it? I'd heard he'd said coloured but had not heard anything since?

07-01-2012, 03:00 PM
Interesting how the meanings of words can change and that a word can "become" offensive. The word "gay" is a good example of this. Its use has gone from "happy" to "homosexual" to a word used (offensively) to mean something 'crap'. Hibsbollah, you said people should say "mixed race" but there are others who would say the word "race" is a derogatory term. The main problem is sometimes that there is no clear definitive answer to these questions or guidelines on what is or isn't acceptable. It is a fluid, constantly changing thing and it differs from person to person, culture to culture and group to group. The answer, imho, is simply to stop this instinctive habit of feeling the need to define people according to their ethnic origins or nationality, just see people as people full stop and take the whole idea of it out of the equation altogether.

07-01-2012, 03:04 PM
The answer, imho, is simply to stop this instinctive habit of feeling the need to define people according to their ethnic origins or nationality, just see people as people full stop and take the whole idea of it out of the equation altogether.
Well said.

07-01-2012, 03:15 PM
I wonder if the Liverpool fans will wear t-shirts in support of the fan who allegedly abused the Oldham player. After all, it one mans word against another and Liverpool look after their own

07-01-2012, 03:17 PM
Well done! You post on a thread about racism and use the derogatory term "coloured" in your post....WTF????

I think you'll find the first post contradicts the second. You make the definitive statement that "coloured" is a derogatory term, not simply reporting facts as you have read them.

Also, I think you'll find the term "smart arse" is also offensive. You'd find that out after you said it to my face with the reaction I would decide to employ. I think you'd find I wouldn't be prepared to stand for it.

Oops, sorry, you don't think anyone should be allowed to stand either, I forgot...............

07-01-2012, 03:19 PM
Interesting how the meanings of words can change and that a word can "become" offensive. The word "gay" is a good example of this. Its use has gone from "happy" to "homosexual" to a word used (offensively) to mean something 'crap'. Hibsbollah, you said people should say "mixed race" but there are others who would say the word "race" is a derogatory term. The main problem is sometimes that there is no clear definitive answer to these questions or guidelines on what is or isn't acceptable. It is a fluid, constantly changing thing and it differs from person to person, culture to culture and group to group. The answer, imho, is simply to stop this instinctive habit of feeling the need to define people according to their ethnic origins or nationality, just see people as people full stop and take the whole idea of it out of the equation altogether.

You are absolutely right with that of course. (You could also say that since the entire human race has the same common descendents somewhere in the horn of Africa, we are all 'mixed race'). The point I was trying to make was that as Hansen is employed in the media, and was asked about race specifically and had an opportunity to rehearse what he was going to say, making an arse of it was pretty stupid.

07-01-2012, 03:31 PM
Thats a really good point - its inconsistent at best if hansen has to say sorry for using the word "coloured" when this organisation exists. Confusion over what is and isnt acceptable is causing a lot of unnecessary problems.

Agree and like I mentioned earlier it all depends on the context in which the words are used. There are of course some words and combination of words that are always unacceptable.

07-01-2012, 03:39 PM
I don't understand the issue with the word coloured. My wife is coloured, born in South Africa. She is comfortable with the term. When did the word become wrong, and why is it wrong?

07-01-2012, 03:42 PM
I think you'll find the first post contradicts the second. You make the definitive statement that "coloured" is a derogatory term, not simply reporting facts as you have read them.

Also, I think you'll find the term "smart arse" is also offensive. You'd find that out after you said it to my face with the reaction I would decide to employ. I think you'd find I wouldn't be prepared to stand for it.

Oops, sorry, you don't think anyone should be allowed to stand either, I forgot...............

Well don't try and be a smart arse then and you won't have to worry about being offended! Simples now run along!

07-01-2012, 03:52 PM

Whilst I agree with what you're saying in principle it does have practical problems, especially the last bit.

If I was asked to describe someone (by the police for example) should I leave all details regarding race out of my description?

07-01-2012, 04:10 PM
Whilst I agree with what you're saying in principle it does have practical problems, especially the last bit.

If I was asked to describe someone (by the police for example) should I leave all details regarding race out of my description?

No, you shouldn't, because that is clearly an essential factor in that situation and it is necessary. Most of the time, it is not necessary or relevant. If you want an example, a few years back, I had a problem with some people on here calling Zibi a "useless Polish clown". I wasn't outraged or anything, but I asked a few posters what him being Polish had to do with it. That's just an example off the top of my head. Everywhere you look, people are defined, or labelled by their colour or nationality when they just don't have to be.

07-01-2012, 05:45 PM
I don't understand the issue with the word coloured. My wife is coloured, born in South Africa. She is comfortable with the term. When did the word become wrong, and why is it wrong?

I'm not an expert on the subject by any means but I think South Africa had something to do with it. Apartheid categorised people as 'black Bantus' 'asians' and 'coloureds' for the purpose of discriminating against them. Probably the word suffered from this association?

I defer to you and your wife of course but I think you'd get a bad response calling someone a 'coloured' these days.

07-01-2012, 06:03 PM
As for the term to use when describing people from an ethnic background, the "PC" word has changed so often over the years that people do not have a clue what they are allowed to say any more.

As far as I'm concerned, when people use a word like that and are actually defending people of that background (like Alan Hansen was doing on MOTD a few weeks ago) it actually demeans the wider topic of racism and detracts from the serious examples of real racist abuse i.e. people being denied jobs because of the colour of their skin or being targeted in the street for the same reason, when stupid and petty things are being brought up like this and innocent people are being demonised in public over the use of one word.

There should be a distinction made between someone using a word maliciously and someone using the word innocently.

All this "you can't say this or you can't do that" in case it offends someone is really becoming a joke in this country. We should stick to dealing with real examples of racism and not just make things up that aren't there.

07-01-2012, 08:31 PM
Man arrested over the racial abuse of Stan Collymore on Twitter.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2012/jan/07/stan-collymore-racist-abuse-twitter

07-01-2012, 10:01 PM
The Liverpool "fan" has now been arrested.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-merseyside-16458267

08-01-2012, 09:26 AM
The Liverpool "fan" has now been arrested.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-merseyside-16458267

Be interesting to see LFC's reaction.

08-01-2012, 10:22 AM
Be interesting to see LFC's reaction.

There's a statement on the official LFC website, a very poor statement in the current circumstances in my opinion.

08-01-2012, 10:42 AM
There's a statement on the official LFC website, a very poor statement in the current circumstances in my opinion.

Just read it. Agree that it's a very poor statement