View Full Version : Scottish Cup 5th Round Draw (Hibs v Dundee or Kilmarnock)

06-01-2012, 08:16 PM
http://www.scottishfa.co.uk/scottish_fa_news.cfm?page=142&newsCategoryID=7&newsID=9108

The Chelsea manager, Andre Villas-Boas, and World Cup and Champions League-winning manager, Marcello Lippi, will conduct the William Hill Scottish Cup fifth round draw along with Jim Mullen, Chief Operating Officer at William Hill Online on Monday, 9 January at Hampden Park.
The draw will take place at 2.30pm and will be broadcast live on Sky Sports News.

If we get past Cowdenbeath tomorrow. :greengrin

06-01-2012, 08:19 PM
W.T.F?

Why on earth get these two? How on earth is Andre Villas-Boas going to be able to pronounce Auchinleck Talbot?

06-01-2012, 08:22 PM
http://www.scottishfa.co.uk/scottish_fa_news.cfm?page=142&newsCategoryID=7&newsID=9108

The Chelsea manager, Andre Villas-Boas, and World Cup and Champions League-winning manager, Marcello Lippi, will conduct the William Hill Scottish Cup fifth round draw along with Jim Mullen, Chief Operating Officer at William Hill Online on Monday, 9 January at Hampden Park.
The draw will take place at 2.30pm and will be broadcast live on Sky Sports News.

What a coup for the SFA. I hope they pull out Hibs v Hearts and we can get our revenge quickly!

06-01-2012, 08:23 PM
Both are at Hampden on Monday to deliver talks to the Scottish FA's UEFA Pro Licence candidates and have agreed to make the fifth round draw.

06-01-2012, 08:27 PM
What a coup for the SFA. I hope they pull out Hibs v Hearts and we can get our revenge quickly!

There is nothing I would want less than that.

The 3 (or 4) league matches against them every year is more than enough.

07-01-2012, 07:10 PM
Teams in the hat:

Dundee United
Hibernian
Dundee/Kilmarnock
Falkirk
Aberdeen
Hearts
Inverness/Dunfermline
Ayr United
Motherwell
Queen of the South
Morton
Ross County
St Johnstone
St Mirren/Hamilton Accies
Arbroath/Rangers
Peterhead/Celtic

Inverness or County away to celebrate my 19th birthday please :aok:

07-01-2012, 07:18 PM
Yams at home for me.

07-01-2012, 07:24 PM
Yams at home for me.

I see this every year and will never understand the logic behind it!

Peterhead or Arbroath at ER for me.

07-01-2012, 07:26 PM
arbroath or peterhead at home 4 me

HiBremian
07-01-2012, 07:30 PM
Even better Arbroath v Peterhead next round and we take the winners at ER in the 6th...

07-01-2012, 07:42 PM
the post-transfer-window Yams will be nothing like the past 5 years of paying/non-paying beyond their means.

for once, I say give us the Jambos at their pitiful home (we are better away from ER at the moment) for a game in February, so we can right a few wrongs

07-01-2012, 07:53 PM
Anyone but hearts.

Don't think i could take another derby loss.

07-01-2012, 07:59 PM
Can't believe there are people who seriously want us to draw Hearts in the next round!

I'd rather go to Ibrox or Parkhead.

07-01-2012, 08:00 PM
Hibs v Morton please.

07-01-2012, 08:01 PM
Arbroath or Peterhead at home :wink:

07-01-2012, 08:03 PM
Hibs v Morton please.

Naw, they beat us in the League Cup at ER! How about Ayr Utd....naw wait a minute...:brickwall

QOS away!

I too am amazed that anyone would want hearts. Worst possible draw.

07-01-2012, 08:08 PM
Looking at the teams left in it is arguably a very strong group of teams with no really weak sides left in!

07-01-2012, 08:36 PM
Looking at the teams left in it is arguably a very strong group of teams with no really weak sides left in!

:agree: Assuming that Celtic and Rangers avoid shocks tomorrow, all of the remaining 16 sides in the draw are from the SPL and the first division.

I know a Queen of the South fan and apparently they've been really bad this season so based on that, I would take them in the next round.

I would have said Ayr Utd as well, since they're near the bottom of their league, but based on how that went last year when we played them, I think I would rather leave them well alone.

07-01-2012, 08:52 PM
This is definitely our year.

nortonhibby
07-01-2012, 08:54 PM

we are in the hat for the draw Well done Paddy i got a feeling this is our year:flag:

Steven_Hibs
07-01-2012, 09:27 PM
Ayr United away :na na:

sundo1875
08-01-2012, 12:09 AM
Somewhere different I enjoyed cowdenbeath Morton away please

08-01-2012, 12:27 AM
Lowest ranked team left at home please (as usual)

08-01-2012, 12:43 PM
Lowest ranked team left at home please (as usual)
Suits me, and the Ugly Sisters to play each other.

08-01-2012, 06:02 PM
Piece of nonsense it's tomorrow.

You watch the draw for the Budweiser trophy made right after the last match, are we too shiiiite to follow suit? That's when it's meant to be, not a Monday when everyone is at their work! Tits!

08-01-2012, 06:15 PM
Can't believe there are people who seriously want us to draw Hearts in the next round!

I'd rather go to Ibrox or Parkhead.

Im with you on this one. Over on sick back they all want hibs home or away purely for the money and of course they would probably pump us again. For me a home draw but please not hearts :cb

08-01-2012, 06:39 PM
Im with you on this one. Over on sick back they all want hibs home or away purely for the money and of course they would probably pump us again. For me a home draw but please not hearts :cb

Agree Rooney

08-01-2012, 07:41 PM
Queen of the South have been shocking this season; arguably worse than us.

I'd take them away so I can actually get myself along to a game or the yams at home.

08-01-2012, 07:52 PM
A home tie so the cup top up comes into play again!

08-01-2012, 09:03 PM
I want to save Hearts for the semi final at Hampden so they can experience what it is like to turn up with half a team and see them get horsed 7-0 (as I missed the first time round.)

09-01-2012, 12:42 AM
Using a random cup draw generator online i got,

Last 16:
Match 1 - Motherwell vs Queen of the South
Match 2 - Hibernian vs Inverness/ Dunfermline
Match 3 - Celtic vs Dundee/Kilmarnock
Match 4 - Aberdeen vs Ayr
Match 5 - Rangers vs Hearts
Match 6 - St Johnstone vs Falkirk
Match 7 - St Mirren / Hamilton vs Dundee Utd
Match 8 - Greenock Morton vs Ross County

Quarter Finals:
Match 9 - Winner of Match 1 vs Winner of Match 5
Match 10 - Winner of Match 8 vs Winner of Match 7
Match 11 - Winner of Match 3 vs Winner of Match 6
Match 12 - Winner of Match 2 vs Winner of Match 4

Semi-Finals:
Match 13 - Winner of Match 12 vs Winner of Match 10
Match 14 - Winner of Match 11 vs Winner of Match 9

Final:
Winner of Match 13 vs Winner of Match 14

09-01-2012, 01:06 AM

Last 16:

Quarter Finals:

Semi-Finals:

Final:

Be delighted if this came up. What's the chances...

09-01-2012, 01:17 AM
no doubt we will get celtic/rangers/hertz or inverness/dunfy away ah the romance of the cup :greengrin

HibeeEmma
09-01-2012, 12:23 PM
I want to save Hearts for the semi final at Hampden so they can experience what it is like to turn up with half a team and see them get horsed 7-0 (as I missed the first time round.)

Nice to see a bit of optimism

09-01-2012, 12:27 PM
Hope someones turned the microwave on this time.

09-01-2012, 01:56 PM

Last 16:

Quarter Finals:

Semi-Finals:

Final:

Looks good to me.

Can you not just e-mail that to the SFA and it'll save Villas Boas and Lippi the trouble of coming up to Glasgow? :greengrin

09-01-2012, 01:58 PM

Last 16:

Quarter Finals:

Semi-Finals:

Final:

All good, except I'd want the ugly sisters to be drawn against each other.

09-01-2012, 02:21 PM
I don't know why, but I have a feeling we're going to get Utd at Tannadice.

Septimus
09-01-2012, 02:23 PM
I'm surprised that Cameron is allowing the Scottish Cup to go ahead without permission from Westminster.

green glory
09-01-2012, 02:24 PM
A trip to Dens or Cappielow would be nice, not been for years. :cb

09-01-2012, 02:25 PM
radio link?

09-01-2012, 02:27 PM
I'm surprised that Cameron is allowing the Scottish Cup to go ahead without permission from Westminster.

Woahhh, you'll be accused of having tartan wallpaper and being McGlashan with talk like that :greengrin

I've got a feeling we'll get Aberdeen or UTD.

09-01-2012, 02:28 PM
Draw being done with those 2 greats of Scottish football, Andre Villas Boas and Marcello Lippi :greengrin

09-01-2012, 02:28 PM
A trip to Dens or Cappielow would be nice, not been for years. :cb

Trip to Dens would be class.

09-01-2012, 02:29 PM

He's kindly given permission, but the tournament has to finish before the end of April and he gets to pick all the ties.

09-01-2012, 02:29 PM
We will get Hearts away. :flag:

09-01-2012, 02:30 PM
Draw on now..Sky Sports News..

09-01-2012, 02:30 PM
Here we go....

09-01-2012, 02:31 PM

I'm equally surprised to hear that " His Eminence Ego Man" Salmond is not trying to rig the draw :greengrin

09-01-2012, 02:31 PM
Hibs v Dundee/Killie

09-01-2012, 02:32 PM
Hibs v Dundee or Killie at home!!!

Hibs v Dundee or Killie

Not too bad!

green glory
09-01-2012, 02:33 PM

Scene of the second greatest game in history. Long live Albert Kidd.

09-01-2012, 02:33 PM
If Fenlon manages to get us in gear before then we will have a good chance especially with the game at home.

Could have been a hell of a lot worse so I'm pretty pleased.

09-01-2012, 02:35 PM
David Tanner is the worst.

09-01-2012, 02:36 PM
David Tanner is the worst.

He never passes up the chance to mention that year........

09-01-2012, 02:36 PM
First out!!!! T'is an omen, I tell you!!!!!

09-01-2012, 02:37 PM
Long live the cup top up...............:greengrin

Hearts get St Johnstone at home, bit of a tricky one for the yams.

Fairly happy.Could have been a helluva lot worse:agree:

09-01-2012, 02:38 PM
not bad.

09-01-2012, 02:39 PM
Home draw is good news, hopefully v Dundee.

Sergeant Hibs
09-01-2012, 02:39 PM
Being honest a bit dissapointed hoped for a D1or below team saying that we got Ross County and Ayr the last 2 years and got beat could've been worse I suppose

09-01-2012, 02:41 PM
Being honest a bit dissapointed hoped for a D1or below team saying that we got Ross County and Ayr the last 2 years and got beat could've been worse I suppose

Dundee are division 1 :wink:

09-01-2012, 02:42 PM
Only Ayr or Falkirk the guaranteed non Spl teams in the next round.

09-01-2012, 02:43 PM
Fairly happy.Could have been a helluva lot worse:agree:

I was thinkin Huns v Hibs!

09-01-2012, 02:47 PM

Maybe for a replay:greengrin

09-01-2012, 02:47 PM
Home draw is good news, hopefully v Dundee.

At Dens would have been better :wink:

09-01-2012, 02:50 PM
What date will this be?

09-01-2012, 02:51 PM
What date will this be?

Saturday 4 February hopefully at 3.00pm. Scotland playing England at eggball same day.

Mili Tant
09-01-2012, 02:51 PM
Anyone got the full draw?

hibbymac
09-01-2012, 02:54 PM

Hibernian v Dundee or Kilmarnock
Motherwell v Greenock Morton
St Mirren or Hamilton Academical v Ross County
Inverness Caledonian Thistle or Dunfermline v Celtic
Ayr United v Falkirk
Rangers v Dundee United
Heart of Midlothian v St Johnstone
Aberdeen v Queen of the South

Ayr Utd v Falkirk
Hearts v St Johnstone
Hibs v Dundee or Kilmarnock
Inverness CT or Dunfermline v Celtic
Motherwell v Morton
Rangers v Dundee Utd
St Mirren/Hamilton v Ross County

Happy enough with our draw. Could have been better but could have been worse. Would imagine home advantage would see it being Killie but no real preference as to who we play as either could give us a tough game. SPL team you would think would be better but a fired up Dundee with a decent support and someting to prove would not be easy. Haven't played Dundee for a while so would be good to play them but the players would probably cope better with a game where there is less pressure and playing a team from the same league may actually, bizarrely, be a better bet.

Ayr, Falkirk, Motherwell, St Mirren, Hamilton, Ross County and especially Aberdeen will all be happy with their draws.

Would say Hearts v St J is maybe on a par with our draw. Both at home but St J a better team than Killie or Dundee though Yams a better team than us so really a leveler there. That said come first weekend in Feb, the yams may not have a better squad than ours!

Saturday 4 February hopefully at 3.00pm. Scotland playing England at eggball same day.

Would think either our game or hearts game will be moved as both been drawn at home.

nortonhibby
09-01-2012, 02:55 PM
Home draw and avoided Old Firm so no complaints.

09-01-2012, 02:55 PM

Inverness/Dunfermline v Celtic
Hearts v St Johnstone
Hibs v Dundee/Kilmarnock
Motherwell v Morton
Ayr v Falkirk
Rangers v Dundee Utd

09-01-2012, 02:57 PM
Would think either our game or hearts game will be moved as both been drawn at home.

More likely Hearts due to proximity to Murrayfield or if Tynecastle has fallen down by then.

09-01-2012, 02:58 PM
More likely Hearts due to proximity to Murrayfield or if Tynecastle has fallen down by then.

That would be the logical move, but we all know it doesnt always work like that.

HibeeEmma
09-01-2012, 03:01 PM
Hibernian v Dundee/Kilmarnock
Motherwell v Morton
Inverness/Dunfermline v Celtic
Ayr v Falkirk
Rangers v Dundee Utd
Hearts v St Johnstone

09-01-2012, 03:04 PM
I knew that free Cup Top Up for renewing early was a good deal!

09-01-2012, 03:07 PM
We're gonna win the cup, we're gonna win the cup, :pfgwa

:flag::flag:

09-01-2012, 03:11 PM
That would be the logical move, but we all know it doesnt always work like that.

No way will our game be moved.

It will be them who have to move, as mentioned the Scotland v England game at Murrayfield will mean they wont want the two crowds in the same area at the same time.

09-01-2012, 03:11 PM

More likely us as it's easier to rearrange a crowd of less than 10 thousand than one of more than 400 thousand.

Septimus
09-01-2012, 03:15 PM
What price Deano now?

09-01-2012, 03:17 PM
What price Deano now?

If we did sign him, he wouldn't be eligible to play as he would be cup-tied after playing on Saturday for Kilmarnock.

09-01-2012, 03:18 PM
No way will our game be moved.

It will be them who have to move, as mentioned the Scotland v England game at Murrayfield will mean they wont want the two crowds in the same area at the same time.

I wouldnt be too sure. The rugby isnt on until 5 and Hearts could play at 1 as they have done in the past I think in similar circumstances. I would assume that both Killie and Dundee (1-2k??) would bring a decent crowd through in the cup I dont think the old Bill would want all this in the city so think one of the games will be moved and wouldnt be surprised if it was our game moved which would be nonsense IMO.

09-01-2012, 03:22 PM

With the rugby being on common sense would dictate they move the Yams game to the Sunday or at least an early KO.

Rugby KO is 5pm

Hearts game at 12.15pm and Hibs at 3pm would not cause any trouble. Or move Hearts to Sunday.

TV as ever will have the final say and if they have a three game pick like this round they may go for one or both of these games. Actually, scrub both, they will probably pick the two games involving the OF and one of these games.

09-01-2012, 03:31 PM
I reckon wi' the egg chasers starting at 5.00, they'll bring our match forward and have us kicking off at noon wi' the Yams playing on the Sunday.

09-01-2012, 03:32 PM
Would make perfect sense to move the Hibs game to 12:30 or even to the Sunday in my opinion.

Nothing to do with the fact I've got Scotland v England tickets mind you :greengrin

09-01-2012, 03:48 PM
I reckon wi' the egg chasers starting at 5.00, they'll bring our match forward and have us kicking off at noon wi' the Yams playing on the Sunday.

Not sure they have ever moved the KO of a Hibs game for egg chasing :dunno:, games at Tynecastle yes but not ER.

sure we usually kick off home games at 3pm irrespective of the time the rugby is on.

09-01-2012, 04:09 PM
Looking at the draw and taking a guess at potential winners it is a pretty strong round next time out, it will be a really tough road to victory.

Ayr United v Falkirk
Rangers v Dundee United
Aberdeen v Queen of the South[/QUOTE]

09-01-2012, 04:17 PM
Seeing as Rugby is a Tam Kite 'sport' for Middle-class dobbers, I'd like to see that moved to the Sunday and the Fitba' take precedence.

09-01-2012, 04:18 PM
Seeing as Rugby is a Tam Kite 'sport' for Middle-class dobbers, I'd like to see that moved to the Sunday and the Fitba' take precedence.

about as much chance as Hearts finding a buyer!

09-01-2012, 04:23 PM

I used to think like that until I met a lot of decent normal folk from the Borders etc and I now think it's a good day out!

09-01-2012, 04:26 PM
I used to think like that until I met a lot of decent normal folk from the Borders etc and I now think it's a good day out!

You're just a wannabe middle class dobber Jamsie :wink:

09-01-2012, 04:30 PM
You're just a wannabe middle class dobber Jamsie :wink:
He will be changing his name to Farquar or Tarquin before we know it.:agree::agree:

09-01-2012, 04:35 PM
Ayr United v Falkirk
Rangers v Dundee United

happy with a home tie against killie pies/dundee billy boys :agree: st.mirren/hamilton wont get it easy against ross co,
caley(probably) against sellick tricky one for sellick,
rankgers a tough one and i bet they are glad they are at bigotbrox,
hertz, very tough against st.johnstone

TheEastTerrace
09-01-2012, 04:37 PM

Not a chance - it's 5pm due to the TV schedule.

09-01-2012, 04:50 PM
Last time, both the rugby and hearts game went ahead at the same time.

09-01-2012, 04:58 PM
Not a chance - it's 5pm due to the TV schedule.

Aye, I was clearly being serious right enough.

09-01-2012, 05:11 PM

Have to agree, Jamesie, been to a few games at Twickers and the tottie is excellent, not to mention that it's compulsory to drink shedloads of beer!

And no chance of a punch in the face either...:wink:

vanNISHtelroy
09-01-2012, 05:15 PM
Reasonable draw...was hoping for A$r so we could beat them twice in a season if we got past Dundee though!

:)

09-01-2012, 05:57 PM

Have to agree, Jamesie, been to a few games at Twickers and the tottie is excellent, not to mention that it's compulsory to drink shedloads of beer!

And no chance of a punch in the face either...:wink:

I would have agreed with you til the last time I was at Twickenham for a Calcutta Cup game and some muppet wanted a square go in the toilets - "where's your Braveheart now then" etc etc. T0sser!

09-01-2012, 06:22 PM
I would say a favourable draw, well compared to getting one of the OF or Hertz but then I said that when we got Ross County and Ayr Utd so I'll keep my trap shut.

But it's in the bag, gents. It's in the bag.

09-01-2012, 06:38 PM
I would say a favourable draw, well compared to getting one of the OF or Hertz but then I said that when we got Ross County and Ayr Utd so I'll keep my trap shut.

But it's in the bag, gents. It's in the bag.

:pray: :pray: :pray:

09-01-2012, 06:52 PM
I'm equally surprised to hear that " His Eminence Ego Man" Salmond is not trying to rig the draw :greengrin

Heard he was going to actually win the cup himself, do a solo lap with the cup at each ground in the country then, Kim Jong Il style, declare himself the greatest footballer ever and retire after the giant statue of him with the cup has been erected atop Arthur's Seat. :wink:

09-01-2012, 06:58 PM
At least 3 SPL sides will be knocked out in this round, which is also excellent. QoS in the next round, please.

09-01-2012, 08:00 PM
Good draw for us.

And I'd also like to wish St Johnstone, Dunfermline and Dundee Utd well in making the quarters.

09-01-2012, 08:16 PM
Good draw for us.

And I'd also like to wish St Johnstone, Dunfermline and Dundee Utd well in making the quarters.

:rules:

This is the all new POSITIVE Hibs.net. I'm sure what you actually meant was "congratulations to St Johnstone, Dunfermline and Dundee Utd for making it to the next round already"

09-01-2012, 08:34 PM
:rules:

This is the all new POSITIVE Hibs.net. I'm sure what you actually meant was "congratulations to St Johnstone, Dunfermline and Dundee Utd for making it to the next round already"

:hnetinq:

Caught me. I'm positive I'll do better in future.

09-01-2012, 08:50 PM
At least 3 SPL sides will be knocked out in this round, which is also excellent. QoS in the next round, please.

Aaaaggggghhhhhhh thats put the tin hat on things - next round ? - can I please remind everyone that we are talking about the Scottish Cup here, you know , that thing wehaven't won for a wee while [ as the ****mies keep reminding us], to hope for drawing someone the round after the next one is, imo , just a wee bit premature.

09-01-2012, 09:02 PM
Aaaaggggghhhhhhh thats put the tin hat on things - next round ? - can I please remind everyone that we are talking about the Scottish Cup here, you know , that thing wehaven't won for a wee while [ as the ****mies keep reminding us], to hope for drawing someone the round after the next one is, imo , just a wee bit premature. No dice, I'm fed up of our usual modesty and self-deprecation and I'm sure our annual write-off of our chances becomes a self fulfilling prophecy. I'm going full on positive from now on (although I do realise that our form and squad don't actually merit it). Incidentally, Hills make us 16/1 this year so far. Not as long odds as I thought considering our form and history with this competition. Therefore, it's in the bag. You can thank me in May.

09-01-2012, 09:31 PM
Not bad. Could have been a lot worse. From what I saw of both teams on Saturday, if Fenlon can get us playing reasonably well, neither should I've is much of a problem.

09-01-2012, 09:37 PM

Last 16:

None of my predictions were right :greengrin

09-01-2012, 10:43 PM
I`m going to stick my neck out and predict that the next round will not feature either of the Old Firm.

10-01-2012, 09:00 AM
Maybe our chance to try Friday Night football?

10-01-2012, 09:20 AM
Maybe our chance to try Friday Night football?

Why? What's wrong with Saturday at 3pm.

10-01-2012, 09:24 AM
Why? What's wrong with Saturday at 3pm.

Nothing