View Full Version : Good evening Pat...

leithsansiro
03-01-2012, 06:11 PM
Hi Pat,

Let's not kid ourselves about trying to snap up the best talent from other SPL clubs, as I know has been suggested in other posts on this site. They're not going to want to get involved in our ridiculous situation. Looking to the Irish League and to the lower English leagues is probably actually the answer. Young, hungry players who have a point to prove or who want to build on themselves. How about any of the following?

David Hutton (Hamilton), 26 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/David_Hutton_(footballer_born_1985)), reliable consistent keeper
Conor Powell (Sligo Rovers), 24 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Conor_Powell) out of contract soon, former Irish Young PLayer of the Season
Jim McAllister (Hamilton) 26, (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jim_McAlister_(Scottish_footballer)), attacking right back
Stephen Rice (Shamrock Rovers), 27 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stephen_Rice_(footballer), good ball winner midfielder and a natural leader
Stuart Dallas (Crusaders) 20,(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stuart_Dallas) skillful creator and winger, tipped for big things. Current Young Player of the Year in NI :agree:
Danny Crow (Luton), 25 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Danny_Crow), small skillful striker
James Collins (Shrewsbury) 21 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/James_Collins_(footballer_born_1990)), powerful forward, out of contract in the summer

Go on, you know you want to...

03-01-2012, 06:12 PM
I'm glad your not in charge

leithsansiro
03-01-2012, 06:14 PM
I'm glad your not in charge

Really?

03-01-2012, 06:17 PM
So 2 Hamilton players and a bunch of Irish players along with a non league player will solve our problems. We would be relegated for definate. You set your sights lower than Rod Petrie in the transfer budget

03-01-2012, 06:21 PM
Hi Pat,

Let's not kid ourselves about trying to snap up the best talent from other SPL clubs, as I know has been suggested in other posts on this site. They're not going to want to get involved in our ridiculous situation. Looking to the Irish League and to the lower English leagues is probably actually the answer. Young, hungry players who have a point to prove or who want to build on themselves. How about any of the following?

David Hutton (Hamilton), 26 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/David_Hutton_(footballer_born_1985) (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/David_Hutton_%28footballer_born_1985%29)), reliable consistent keeper
Conor Powell (Sligo Rovers), 24 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Conor_Powell) out of contract soon, former Irish Young PLayer of the Season
Jim McAllister (Hamilton) 26, (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jim_McAlister_(Scottish_footballer) (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jim_McAlister_%28Scottish_footballer%29)), attacking right back
Stephen Rice (Shamrock Rovers), 27 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stephen_Rice_(footballer), (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stephen_Rice_%28footballer%29,) good ball winner midfielder and a natural leader
Stuart Dallas (Crusaders) 20,(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stuart_Dallas) skillful creator and winger, tipped for big things. Current Young Player of the Year in NI :agree:
Danny Crow (Luton), 25 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Danny_Crow), small skillful striker
James Collins (Shrewsbury) 21 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/James_Collins_(footballer_born_1990) (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/James_Collins_%28footballer_born_1990%29)), powerful forward, out of contract in the summer

Good evening leithsansiro,

Thanks for taking the time to pull yourself away from football manager on your PC in order to post this. Unfortunately I am managing in the real world and not the cyber fantasy world that you and those like you love to dream about. Now away and play with yer keyboard.

Regards

Pat (The real Hibs manager)

leithsansiro
03-01-2012, 06:22 PM
So 2 Hamilton players and a bunch of Irish players along with a non league player will solve our problems. We would be relegated for definate. You set your sights lower than Rod Petrie in the transfer budget

Pretty much, yes. I wouldn't be so quick to dismiss Irish League players as being poor quality, their league is pretty much on a par with the SPL. Out of curiosity, whose the non-league player in my list? I'm assuming you mean the boy at Luton? He won't be there for long...

People are far too short sighted and assume that just because they've never heard of a player that he must be rubbish. Stuart Dallas, for example, has been tipped for great things and it's widely assumed in Ireland that he'll be in the EPL in a few years time.

leithsansiro
03-01-2012, 06:23 PM
Good evening leithsansiro,

Thanks for taking the time to pull yourself away from football manager on your PC in order to post this. Unfortunately I am managing in the real world and not the cyber fantasy world that you and those like you love to dream about. Now away and play with yer keyboard.

Regards

Pat (The real Hibs manager)

Sadly not mate. I, unlike loads of others who post here, actually go to games and have a decent knowledge of football. I've watched loads of Irish League games and you'd be shocked.

03-01-2012, 06:26 PM
Sadly not mate. I, unlike loads of others who post here, actually go to games and have a decent knowledge of football. I've watched loads of Irish League games and you'd be shocked.

Did I forget the :greengrin. Okay we'll keep your list and watch the progression of said players, you might even be able to use it on your application just after this years AGM :wink:

leithsansiro
03-01-2012, 06:31 PM
Did I forget the :greengrin. Okay we'll keep your list and watch the progression of said players, you might even be able to use it on your application just after this years AGM :wink:

Fab! :thumbsup:

Joking aside, I'm being quite genuine. I am shocked at the level of players that people think we could attract to our club. Whilst I don't quite think we want to go do Duff Jimmy's Lee Power/ Paul Tosh route, I think we need to cast our net wider than wishful thinking about young EPL players on loan or cast offs that the Yams can't afford to keep.

03-01-2012, 06:43 PM
hmmmmmmm interesting post. Not sure about most of them . Sorry, ..but had to say who ? pretty much after each. :agree:

Except Jimbo " The Ger" McAlister. I know the boy well and been following his career. Rothesay > Morton > Hamilton. He's not as good as he thinks he is and defo not worth a punt. We're in too precarious position in the league to be gambling with this guy. Nice enough bloke and no doubt he would give 100%. Unforntunately I dont think the boy's 100% is an improvement on what we already have.at ER

Also, ..................................he has a very silly chin ! :greengrin

Keep firing names into the pot though. Always good to hear of players that HIBS.NETTERS might think can do a job :aok:.

Just coz I dont agree disnae mean i'm right. If i could buy a team of players, mould them into a fantastic team playing sexy football and compteing for trophies it would be be me in the dugout not PF.

Hmmmm :scarf:Big Phil's Green and White Army???? has a ring to it right enuff :scarf:

woodyloon
04-01-2012, 09:57 AM
Hi Pat,

David Hutton (Hamilton), 26 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/David_Hutton_(footballer_born_1985)), reliable consistent keeper
Jim McAllister (Hamilton) 26, (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jim_McAlister_(Scottish_footballer)), attacking right back
Stephen Rice (Shamrock Rovers), 27 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stephen_Rice_(footballer), good ball winner midfielder and a natural leader
James Collins (Shrewsbury) 21 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/James_Collins_(footballer_born_1990)), powerful forward, out of contract in the summer

As much as I would want as mainly high profile or even experienced pro's signed, I also think that just signing 4 to 6 new players, just some fresh blood that are not wei
ghed down with the current issues that the Hibs squad are experiencing.

IMO I feel that a vast majority of the current squad are a lot better than the current performance level they are offering at the moment, I feel that if or when we start to win games then the players will gain some much needed confidence, then you will see them playing with a lot more freedom, and instead of players just trying to go through the motions they will play with more purpose, with more movement off the ball instead of players hiding or scared to try something that might not come off. I just feel some fresh faces could give some of the current group an option to sit out until the team starts to turn results round , which I think PF will do, hopefully in the near future.

1875 NO 1
04-01-2012, 11:56 AM
Hi Pat,

In his 1st TV interview he said best talent is already been picked up and irish league is poorer standard to SPL.

What concerns me in the days before the ICT game on the 28 Dec he and O'Brien went home. Left BB in charge. Not a commited signal to the players.

Also, the night before the Utd game he and O'Briem are bevvying up in the Old bell. Not a good example to set players.

04-01-2012, 12:35 PM
In his 1st TV interview he said best talent is already been picked up and irish league is poorer standard to SPL.

What concerns me in the days before the ICT game on the 28 Dec he and O'Brien went home. Left BB in charge. Not a commited signal to the players.

Also, the night before the Utd game he and O'Briem are bevvying up in the Old bell. Not a good example to set players.

The Old Bell on Causewayside??

04-01-2012, 12:46 PM

Is this really true - shades of Calderwood all over again. Rather be somewhere else...

04-01-2012, 12:51 PM
Is this really true - shades of Calderwood all over again. Rather be somewhere else...

No, of course you aren't just looking to get into Fenlon for anything and everything.

Are you really looking to make matters worse here? What for?

I'm sure you will tell me you are just looking for him to prove himself, will give him a chance etc etc but all your posts on this tell a different story.

04-01-2012, 01:01 PM
No, of course you aren't just looking to get into Fenlon for anything and everything.

Are you really looking to make matters worse here? What for?

I'm sure you will tell me you are just looking for him to prove himself, will give him a chance etc etc but all your posts on this tell a different story.

Yet again - Black or White no shades of Grey.

If he was back in Ireland before the ICT game then that ain't good, no matter what anyone else wants to tell me. Sure it's Christmas, it's also a crucial time of our Season. I'd have thought he'd be busting a gut to make a difference, get his points across, work on set plays, defensive pieces, not be rushing back home leaving BB in charge.

But it's OK - I know the drill - he needs time and the chance to get his own players in. Just like his lookalike Martin O'Neill has needed.

PS - I hope this isn't true.

Hibiza
04-01-2012, 01:09 PM
lay of pat . thread starter,

down the slope
04-01-2012, 01:21 PM
Big deal, manager has a few pints !, manager returns to Ireland for a few days, so what , maybe the guy has hardly been home since he moved here , maybe he was looking for new players ?. The list is endless but never let that get in the way of some on here who are ready to put him down.

leithsansiro
04-01-2012, 02:50 PM
Big deal, manager has a few pints !, manager returns to Ireland for a few days, so what , maybe the guy has hardly been home since he moved here , maybe he was looking for new players ?. The list is endless but never let that get in the way of some on here who are ready to put him down.

I wasn't trying to put him down, I was simply highlighting a few players that I've watched in the flesh that would be decent additions to our team. I fully support him, but as you rightly point out, there are far too many on here (but not at games at Easter Road perhaps?) who want him to be another casualty so that they can sit back and say "told you so" :hmmm:

04-01-2012, 03:01 PM

I wasn't trying to put him down, I was simply highlighting a few players that I've watched in the flesh that would be decent additions to our team. I fully support him, but as you rightly point out, there are far too many on here (but not at games at Easter Road perhaps?) who want him to be another casualty so that they can sit back and say "told you so" :hmmm:

LSS, I think downtheslope was referring to the post by 1875 NO1.

04-01-2012, 03:20 PM
Pretty much, yes. I wouldn't be so quick to dismiss Irish League players as being poor quality, their league is pretty much on a par with the SPL. Out of curiosity, whose the non-league player in my list? I'm assuming you mean the boy at Luton? He won't be there for long...

People are far too short sighted and assume that just because they've never heard of a player that he must be rubbish. Stuart Dallas, for example, has been tipped for great things and it's widely assumed in Ireland that he'll be in the EPL in a few years time.

Yes the Luton player is currently playing in non league football so that makes him a non league footballer. We tried that with Clayton Donaldson and he didn't have an immediate impact (which is what we need). He may turn out to be a great player and perhaps we should sign him but not for the short term.

As for all these other players very few of them play in the Irish League. They mainly play in the League of Ireland. (Think there was one from Crusaders being the exception) If you really did follow them you would know that it is a massive insult to the Irish to call their league by the wrong name. Have you ever seen any of these players in the flesh and if so how often and how recently? If you had watched Hart once I'm sure you could have caught him on a good day. How do you know any of these players would be better than Spoony, Booth or Hanlon who have all had the tag promising or the next Whittaker, Fletcher or Brown attached to them? I think that these youngsters might still make it if they played in a better side

What Hibs need now is not potential but proven, good quality, experienced, professional players such as Ryan Stevenson, Sean Dillon, Jonny Hayes, David Weir, Andy Webster, Danny Swanston and Sandaza to build the side around. I'm sure these type of players would be within our budget and would be the better way forward than picking up potential at this time.

leithsansiro
04-01-2012, 03:44 PM
Yes the Luton player is currently playing in non league football so that makes him a non league footballer. We tried that with Clayton Donaldson and he didn't have an immediate impact (which is what we need). He may turn out to be a great player and perhaps we should sign him but not for the short term.

As for all these other players very few of them play in the Irish League. They mainly play in the League of Ireland. (Think there was one from Crusaders being the exception) If you really did follow them you would know that it is a massive insult to the Irish to call their league by the wrong name. Have you ever seen any of these players in the flesh and if so how often and how recently? If you had watched Hart once I'm sure you could have caught him on a good day. How do you know any of these players would be better than Spoony, Booth or Hanlon who have all had the tag promising or the next Whittaker, Fletcher or Brown attached to them? I think that these youngsters might still make it if they played in a better side

What Hibs need now is not potential but proven, good quality, experienced, professional players such as Ryan Stevenson, Sean Dillon, Jonny Hayes, David Weir, Andy Webster, Danny Swanston and Sandaza to build the side around. I'm sure these type of players would be within our budget and would be the better way forward than picking up potential at this time.

Sligo Rovers play in the League of Ireland, which is the top flight, as do Shamrock Rovers. Crusaders play in the top flight in Northern Ireland. I watch both leagues fairly regularly as I do a lot of work both north and south of the Irish border. I have seen all of those I mention in the flesh about five or six times over the last year and a bit. :shhhsh!:

And I doubt I'd ever see Hart have a good game. At least, not at Hibs whilst fans are always giving him pelters and wrecking his confidence.

04-01-2012, 03:55 PM
Sligo Rovers play in the League of Ireland, which is the top flight, as do Shamrock Rovers. Crusaders play in the top flight in Northern Ireland. I watch both leagues fairly regularly as I do a lot of work both north and south of the Irish border. I have seen all of those I mention in the flesh about five or six times over the last year and a bit. :shhhsh!:

And I doubt I'd ever see Hart have a good game. At least, not at Hibs whilst fans are always giving him pelters and wrecking his confidence.

I know which clubs play in LOI and Irish League. Point I was making is you said all these players played in Irish League and that Luton boy isn't playing in non league as he is better than that. These statements were factually incorrect which lessened your argument as to why they should come to Hibs and led me to believe you hadn't seen them. If these players are any good I am sure PF will know all about them and what it would take to get them. I don't think filling our team with untried potential is what is required just now. By all means sign some or all and develop them into first team players if they are that good..............but not from Saturday!

Re my point about possible signing targets do you not think these type of players are better equipped to get us out this mess? It is the way Dundee Utd and Motherwell have had relative success by blending experience and potential over the last few years.

leithsansiro
04-01-2012, 04:03 PM
I know which clubs play in LOI and Irish League. Point I was making is you said all these players played in Irish League and that Luton boy isn't playing in non league as he is better than that. These statements were factually incorrect which lessened your argument as to why they should come to Hibs and led me to believe you hadn't seen them. If these players are any good I am sure PF will know all about them and what it would take to get them. I don't think filling our team with untried potential is what is required just now. By all means sign some or all and develop them into first team players if they are that good..............but not from Saturday!

Re my point about possible signing targets do you not think these type of players are better equipped to get us out this mess? It is the way Dundee Utd and Motherwell have had relative success by blending experience and potential over the last few years.

I think we have to be realistic over how much money is available. There's a reason that teams like DU and Motherwell have had decent success. Typically, good players from the leagues in Ireland have been well suited to playing the Scottish game, certainly more so than those from more glamourous leagues. I've watched a fair bit of these boys and reckon that their potential could be blended with what we already have. I'm not advocating chucking out the baby with the bathwater, simply suggesting that there's diamonds to be had in the lower leagues and elsewhere. Where did Hearts get Stevenson from? Where did Willo Flood come from? There's good deals to be had, and I suggested some who I think could do a job for us.

Out of curiosity, do you watch much football that isn't Hibs? No that it's a problem, but I think that people need to be more aware of what else is out there in terms of talent.

04-01-2012, 04:07 PM

Ehhhh...

Stevenson - Ayr
Dillon - Shelbourne
Hayes - Last seen at Cheltenham before ICT
Swanson - Berwick Rangers
Sandaza - Valencia Mestalla (Spanish Third Division)

And if you seriously think we could now afford Stevenson, Webster and Weir then you need to have a wee look at the clubs they play for and see if you think we can compete with them!

You seem to like players who have come from relative obscurity given the list you provided, so why are you confident that other LOI players, or lower division players, won't come good as these players have pretty much immediately?

04-01-2012, 04:48 PM
Ehhhh...

Stevenson - Ayr
Dillon - Shelbourne
Hayes - Last seen at Cheltenham before ICT
Swanson - Berwick Rangers
Sandaza - Valencia Mestalla (Spanish Third Division) Dundee Utd before that

And if you seriously think we could now afford Stevenson, Webster and Weir then you need to have a wee look at the clubs they play for and see if you think we can compete with them!

You seem to like players who have come from relative obscurity given the list you provided, so why are you confident that other LOI players, or lower division players, won't come good as these players have pretty much immediately?

I don't have a problem signing potential but potential isn't what we need just now. We need to spend our budget on experience. I know we can't afford all these players on our budget and if we were lucky could get 3 as a core of the side. As I have said by all means sign young talent but that will see us in the first division next season.

All the players I have mentioned have developed over a few years and are near the finished article. We could have 2 or 3 good seasons out of them or maybe even move them on at a profit. What we need now are role models who know what the game is about. With the exception of Weir all of these players could be sold on potentially at a profit having made a step up. As far as wages go Stevenson is meant to be in discussions with St Johnstone, Hibs have supposedly approached Hearts about Webster twice in the past month and Weir wants first team football not to sit on a bench and is financially secure. All of these will be cheaper than being relegated.

04-01-2012, 04:51 PM
I don't have a problem signing potential but potential isn't what we need just now. We need to spend our budget on experience. I know we can't afford all these players on our budget and if we were lucky could get 3 as a core of the side. As I have said by all means sign young talent but that will see us in the first division next season.

All the players I have mentioned have developed over a few years and are near the finished article. We could have 2 or 3 good seasons out of them or maybe even move them on at a profit. What we need now are role models who know what the game is about. With the exception of Weir all of these players could be sold on potentially at a profit having made a step up. As far as wages go Stevenson is meant to be in discussions with St Johnstone, Hibs have supposedly approached Hearts about Webster twice in the past month and Weir wants first team football not to sit on a bench and is financially secure. All of these will be cheaper than being relegated.

United signed Sandaza from Valenica Mestalla. The rest of your points I agree with apart from I won't budge on the 3 named players :greengrin

04-01-2012, 04:55 PM
[QUOTE=leithsansiro;3062528]I think we have to be realistic over how much money is available. There's a reason that teams like DU and Motherwell have had decent success. Typically, good players from the leagues in Ireland have been well suited to playing the Scottish game, certainly more so than those from more glamourous leagues. I've watched a fair bit of these boys and reckon that their potential could be blended with what we already have. I'm not advocating chucking out the baby with the bathwater, simply suggesting that there's diamonds to be had in the lower leagues and elsewhere. Where did Hearts get Stevenson from? Where did Willo Flood come from? There's good deals to be had, and I suggested some who I think could do a job for us.

That is the part we disagree on, I don't think we have the experienced pros to delelop these players, hence the reason I want some better non Old Firm SPL players.

For your interest, have watched number of other SPL games not featuring Hibs, Scottish cup involving non SPL teams, Junior, Champions League at Old Trafford, EPL, English First Division and English Conference over last 2/3 years. Probably about 15 games in total.

By the way did Flood not start his professional career at Man City? (Stand to be corrected)

04-01-2012, 05:23 PM

Well said that man, christ he is allowed a life outside Hibernian FC, - those that are decrying him for it should stop and think for a moment, after their days / weeks work don't they like a wee drink to socialise/unwind ?

04-01-2012, 05:27 PM
Well said that man, christ he is allowed a life outside Hibernian FC, - those that are decrying him for it should stop and think for a moment, after their days / weeks work don't they like a wee drink to socialise/unwind ?

:agree: - just like all our hard-grafting players.

leithsansiro
04-01-2012, 05:39 PM
[QUOTE=leithsansiro;3062528]

By the way did Flood not start his professional career at Man City? (Stand to be corrected)

Aye, signed as an 18 year old from Cherry Orchard in Ireland. Clearly, not my best example, but never mind :wink:

04-01-2012, 05:46 PM
[FONT=arial][SIZE=2]Hi Pat,

Let's not kid ourselves about trying to snap up the best talent from other SPL clubs, as I know has been suggested in other posts on this site. They're not going to want to get involved in our ridiculous situation.

They would get involved if we actually offered them the money that we could afford to pay them, instead of trying to get a "bargain".

leithsansiro
04-01-2012, 05:55 PM
They would get involved if we actually offered them the money that we could afford to pay them, instead of trying to get a "bargain".

Where does this come from that somehow Hibs have a mysterious huge amount of unused cash set aside for wages that RP just holds back? Hibs pay what we can afford, unlike our mucky neighbours, and we certainly don't want to end up like them.

Chicken and egg. Hibs pay reasonable and realistic transfer fees and wages, fans don't think that's good enough (comparing with those paying outwith their means a la Hearts), less fans go to games, Hibs have less in the kitty to spend.

04-01-2012, 05:59 PM
Where does this come from that somehow Hibs have a mysterious huge amount of unused cash set aside for wages that RP just holds back? Hibs pay what we can afford, unlike our mucky neighbours, and we certainly don't want to end up like them.

Chicken and egg. Hibs pay reasonable and realistic transfer fees and wages, fans don't think that's good enough (comparing with those paying outwith their means a la Hearts), less fans go to games, Hibs have less in the kitty to spend.

Of course we don't have the cash, because we're paying far more for players with "no ability" instead of paying less for players who are actually proven at this level. :confused:

The point i'm trying to make is that a club of our size should be bringing in players who can clearly play at SPL level, instead of forking out even more on hopeful journeymen.

leithsansiro
04-01-2012, 08:25 PM
Of course we don't have the cash, because we're paying far more for players with "no ability" instead of paying less for players who are actually proven at this level. :confused:

The point i'm trying to make is that a club of our size should be bringing in players who can clearly play at SPL level, instead of forking out even more on hopeful journeymen.

Don't really think I'd describe any of the boys I highlighted as journeymen. Mind you, I agree with your point - there is no point in bringing in a series of cloggers or boys looking for one last payday.