View Full Version : Player on trial

leithsansiro
30-12-2011, 02:53 PM
Heard a rumour from a decent source that Brendan McGill (winger from Shelbourne) is on trial, or is going to be coming for Fenlon to have a look at - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brendan_McGill

Not sure if we need 30 year old wingers, but nevermind.

30-12-2011, 02:56 PM
Heard a rumour from a decent source that Brendan McGill (winger from Shelbourne) is on trial, or is going to be coming for Fenlon to have a look at - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brendan_McGill

the lack of creativity in our squad is scary, i can see why he would look at that position

30-12-2011, 02:57 PM

He'd better hurry up.. Thing is it will take the SFA about 4 days to process the necessary paperwork

30-12-2011, 03:01 PM
Thought I recognised the name before I checked his wikipedia page.

Ex-Gretna player from a few years ago.

leithsansiro
30-12-2011, 03:02 PM
Thought I recognised the name before I checked his wikipedia page.

Ex-Gretna player from a few years ago.

Aye, doesn't thrill me, being honest.
Personally, I reckon someone like Gary Twigg would be a good shout as a forward for us, though it'd be unlikely given his form for Shamrock in Europe. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gary_Twigg

30-12-2011, 03:07 PM

The current two we have are useless so yes, we do :greengrin

30-12-2011, 03:24 PM

We haven't got any wingers so why not, while we are at it we should try and do a swap involving the useless Ivan Sproule though I doubt Shelbourne is his level either!

Niffy
30-12-2011, 03:52 PM
Thought this was another Gary O'Conner thread.

yekimevol
30-12-2011, 07:39 PM
great another midget unless he is a nigel de jong or a claude makelele im not looking forward to him much :\

30-12-2011, 08:07 PM
great another midget unless he is a nigel de jong or a claude makelele im not looking forward to him much :\

Crunchie was no too bad and no too tall :wink:

30-12-2011, 08:11 PM
Crunchie was no too bad and no too tall :wink:

Great point.

Also, don't see the fascination about having under 30 year old players..

We've had a few young, fast ineffective wingers in recent years. Give me a slightly slower, but more effective and smarter player every time :agree:

30-12-2011, 08:11 PM

Not sure if we need 30 year old wingers, but nevermind. the name Brendan McGill sounds more like a singer from Wellborne.

30-12-2011, 08:28 PM
the name Brendan McGill sounds more like a singer from Wellborne.

Nah mate, he's a Minger from Eastbourne

30-12-2011, 08:38 PM
Nah mate, he's a Minger from Eastbourne:greengrin

30-12-2011, 09:55 PM
Aye, doesn't thrill me, being honest.
Personally, I reckon someone like Gary Twigg would be a good shout as a forward for us, though it'd be unlikely given his form for Shamrock in Europe. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gary_Twigg

Garry Twigg eh? Good to see Fenlon BRANCHING out. If he signs, he boy will be a STICK on for the teamsheet every week.

30-12-2011, 09:59 PM
Garry Twigg eh? Good to see Fenlon BRANCHING out. If he signs, he boy will be a STICK on for the teamsheet every week.

I think it's time you leaf.

30-12-2011, 10:00 PM

Why not? An older wide player, even if they have lost a bit of pace, should have the experience to still be able to beat a man and put in a good ball (something our 'wingers' seem incapable of). We need a proper team, that works together and has the right balance. At the moment its just a collection of players, most of whom have been awful.

30-12-2011, 10:02 PM

You're barking up the wrong tree here mate. Need to take a leaf out of an auld soak down at Leef Links. Goes by the name of Yogi, but I've also heard he couldnae see the wood for the trees.

30-12-2011, 10:06 PM
You're barking up the wrong tree here mate. Need to take a leaf out of an auld soak down at Leef Links. Goes by the name of Yogi, but I've also heard he couldnae see the wood for the trees.

Ronaldo7 i am not sure how cool it is to put your pun's in bold. Have faith man if they are funny people will notice them, you don't need to point them out.

30-12-2011, 10:27 PM

Ronaldo7 i am not sure how cool it is to put your pun's in bold. Have faith man if they are funny people will notice them, you don't need to point them out.

:agree: Yew should just log-off right now.

30-12-2011, 10:33 PM
Steve Jones at Motherwell strolled the SPL at 34 according to a friend of mine who follows 'Well home and away. He played wide.

real red
31-12-2011, 12:09 AM
Ya's don't wanna sign Bren. He's an average LOI first division player. As a Shels fan I wouldn't mind to see him re-sign because he'd be a decent squad player, for cups and the last 10 mins of games but if he was in our starting eleven I'd be worried.

31-12-2011, 12:35 AM
Ya's don't wanna sign Bren. He's an average LOI first division player. As a Shels fan I wouldn't mind to see him re-sign because he'd be a decent squad player, for cups and the last 10 mins of games but if he was in our starting eleven I'd be worried.

That's just a waste of a wage. Why sign someone for cup games? we're only in one and can't see us being in that long with our history with it. Move on from former players and sign someone hungry and who want's to play every week and will give their all.

real red
31-12-2011, 01:03 AM
We've got the League, Cup, League Cup and Leinster senior cup. One thing that helped us last year was the fact that we could rest players for the cup games and the competition for places. First eleven would play on the friday and there'd be 8 or 9 changes for the game on the monday. Don't forget that these are part-timers so a few of them would be injury prone or just aren't able to do the 40-45 games a season.

31-12-2011, 01:18 AM
I'd like to think that Pat is casting his net beyond the League of Ireland in the search for additions. I suppose it's a case of better the devil you know at this point with bringing in a couple of guys he maybe knows well enough to feel they can do a job, but when it comes to the Summer and the time for major surgery to the squad, the horizons will obviously have to be broadened.

31-12-2011, 09:23 AM
If he can bring a bit of creativity, sign him up.