View Full Version : Top 10 funniest scottish footballer nicknames

iainmacivertodd
22-12-2011, 09:59 AM
These have been chosen as the top 10 funniest scottish footballer nicknames. Do you think they are the best? If not then please let me know better ones! Thanks.

http://scottishcomedyfc.wordpress.com/2011/12/20/top-10-scottish-football-nicknames-iain-todd-picks-the-funniest/#more-982

Alex Toastie Burns (Motherwell/St Mirren)
Abel The Flask Thermeus (Motherwell)
Olivier Bombscare Tebily (Celtic)
Darren Robocop Dods (Falkirk)
Nuno aw-no Capucho (Rangers)
Neil McVittie Biscuits (Aberdeen)
John Budgie Burridge (Hibs)
Greenock Morten Wieghorst (Celtic)
Thomas Tam Flogel (Hearts)
Neil Disa Pointon. (Hearts)

22-12-2011, 12:10 PM
Stevie "you ugly ****" Fulton (HoMFC - recently deceased)

22-12-2011, 12:31 PM
Dirty Dirk the Pornstar. :greengrin

22-12-2011, 12:36 PM
These have been chosen as the top 10 funniest scottish footballer nicknames. Do you think they are the best? If not then please let me know better ones! Thanks.

http://scottishcomedyfc.wordpress.com/2011/12/20/top-10-scottish-football-nicknames-iain-todd-picks-the-funniest/#more-982

You sure this is the funny list?

22-12-2011, 12:39 PM

Shouldn't that be Greenock Morten Wieghorst?

Somebody called Thomas nick-named Tam is funny?

Bombscare? Robocop? Well, they say it's the way you tell em.

----

This list must be up there on the scale of funnies with "The Ten Best German Jokes".

scuttle
22-12-2011, 01:01 PM

Welcome to the forum mate I see its your first post,you need thick skin on here at times but dont let the negativity put you off

22-12-2011, 02:37 PM
'Sloop' John B(lackley) and 'Jukebox' Durie two of the 'better' ones...

Number69
22-12-2011, 02:47 PM
Is it any wonder that some people dont post much any more?

Click the link the OP provided before shooting him down, Thomas "Tam" Flogel was Austrian, dont think they would have called him Tam back home, so I would say that did raise a smile.:na na:

hibby al
22-12-2011, 02:50 PM
i remember they did a piece in probably the evening news listing all the nicknames
of the tornadoes
jim herriot ?????
john brownlie .....onion
erich shaedler.......shades?
pat stanton.........niddrie
jim black..........cilla
john blackley.......sloop
alec edwards ........mickey/poison dwarf
jim orourke..........corky??
alan gordon.........posh ?
alex cropley.......sodjer
arthur duncan.......nijinsky
can anyone fill in the blanks or amend where ive gone wrong

22-12-2011, 02:50 PM
Is it any wonder that some people dont post much any more?

Click the link the OP provided before shooting him down, Thomas "Tam" Flogel was Austrian, dont think they would have called him Tam back home, so I would say that did raise a smile.:na na:

I don't think he is aiming to be a long term poster. It looks like he has posted a link to get traffic for a site. A site that seems to be about comedy. If this was the funny list I'm not sure I'd want to see the rest.

crash
22-12-2011, 03:20 PM
i remember they did a piece in probably the evening news listing all the nicknames
of the tornadoes
jim herriot boab
john brownlie .....onion
erich shaedler.......shades
jim black..........cilla
alec edwards ........mickey
jim orourke..........wee jimsie
alan gordon.........tosh
arthur duncan.......flier
:thumbsup:done

22-12-2011, 04:29 PM
Passenger Pat McGinlay?

22-12-2011, 04:58 PM
Great thread! We used to call Alan Cousin "Gously" because of a misprint in a match prog circa 1966.

We used to call Hearts right winger Johnny Hamilton "the rat" because he looked like a rat.

big-mo
22-12-2011, 05:05 PM
Peter Corky Cormack
John Bacardi Fraser
Gary Liability Caldwell

22-12-2011, 05:12 PM
Passenger Pat McGinlay?

What could that possibly mean?

Re: Tornado's. Was Jim Herriot not named Geronimo, on account of his habit of wiping mud around his eyes to reduce glare from the sun ?

22-12-2011, 05:17 PM
I always liked Davie "Elephant Man" Dodds, although that moniker was also attached to Sandy "Elbows" Clark. Seem to remember that super "swally" McCoist was also named "Louganis", after some famous diver or a submarine or something. "Geebs" was fairly apt for Gordon Hunter, as was the "Hulk" for Tony Higgins.

22-12-2011, 07:24 PM
Passenger Pat McGinlay?
I remember him being referred to as Psycho-Pat :confused:

Sergeant Hibs
22-12-2011, 07:38 PM
Colin Pish Nish

22-12-2011, 07:43 PM
of the tornadoes
jim herriot ?????
john brownlie .....onion
erich shaedler.......shades?
jim black..........cilla
alec edwards ........mickey/poison dwarf
jim orourke..........corky??
alan gordon.........posh ?
arthur duncan.......nijinsky

Jim Herriot was Bob because he alegedly looked like actor Robert Mitchum
Alan Gordon was called Tosh after John Toshack (i.e. both good in the air)
Cropley called sodjer because he was born in Aldershot.
I've heard both Corky and Rocky for Jimmy O'R
Arthur Duncan was either Nijinski (the racehorse) or The Flier (That's what Alan Gordon said he called Arthur)
I never heard Edwards being called the Poison Dwarf - he was always Mickey as far as I can recall

Funny nicknames of OF players ...
Derek Johnstone (Rangers) "Tadpole" because he was aw heid and nae feet
Stuart Slater (Celtic) "Jigsaw" because he goes to pieces in the box

22-12-2011, 07:49 PM
Can't remember his first name but didn't Hearts have a player call Fitzhall whose nickname was "Onesize"

22-12-2011, 08:42 PM
Can't remember his first name but didn't Hearts have a player call Fitzhall whose nickname was "Onesize"Simpson???

Bunter
22-12-2011, 08:43 PM
Can't remember his first name but didn't Hearts have a player call Fitzhall whose nickname was "Onesize"You almost got his first name... He was called Fitzroy Simpson.

22-12-2011, 08:50 PM
Fitzhall was Simpson, no fitzroy, surely!!

22-12-2011, 09:12 PM
Maybe got the wrong player but remember hearing this on a commentary once a player called Fitzhall with the nick name onesize , maybe I dreamt it , it's an age thing you know , never mind back to the bar.

22-12-2011, 09:15 PM
I remember him being referred to as Psycho-Pat :confused:

Not really. The original psycho-Pat was Pat van den Hauwe, a defender for Everton when they peaked in the 80s.

22-12-2011, 09:53 PM
Andy "mabawsa" Ritchie

Ted "Tin man" McMinn

Jim_in_Canada
22-12-2011, 09:57 PM
Eric Stevenson AKA "The Rebel"
Willie Hamilton AKA "The Wino"

My God, I'm showing my age !!!!!

Billy McKirdy
22-12-2011, 09:59 PM
Can't believe that Ally 'Benny, Brazil hasn't got a mention, always think of Ms Diane and a wooly hat when I think of him :D was he really that hapless??

22-12-2011, 10:04 PM
Dino Zoff used to get called Suki by his Napoli team mates.

Lyndon Andrews - the club
Didier Agathe - Meat
Eduardo Hurtado - Log
Gary Caldwell - Peewee

Number69
22-12-2011, 10:33 PM
Can't remember his first name but didn't Hearts have a player call Fitzhall whose nickname was "Onesize"

From the link in the opening post.

ngland has produced many great nicknames over the years. Martin“Chariots” Offiah, Marc “Freezer”Goodfellow and “one size” Fitz Hall all come to mind but one of the most famous nicknames in football was Disa. He may have been a solid

alfieboi75
22-12-2011, 11:13 PM
Steve "Scratchybaws" Archibald....deft his nickname....

22-12-2011, 11:34 PM
Dino Zoff used to get called Suki by his Napoli team mates.

And once more I have hot coffee coming out my nose.

22-12-2011, 11:52 PM
Jimmy Boco
Le God
Basher Lavety
Paul "The Mountie" Fenwick

23-12-2011, 12:13 AM
Maybe got the wrong player but remember hearing this on a commentary once a player called Fitzhall with the nick name onesize , maybe I dreamt it , it's an age thing you know , never mind back to the bar.

Yup the wrong player, the guy is Fitz Hall who is at QPR, sure he has a Scottish granny and Bertie/Waldo/Burley considered him for Scotland.

gackohibs
23-12-2011, 07:23 AM
Filop "hes *****e!!" Sebo?

gackohibs
23-12-2011, 07:26 AM
Eduardo "the tank" Hurtado? haha

23-12-2011, 08:24 AM
I always liked Davie "Elephant Man" Dodds, although that moniker was also attached to Sandy "Elbows" Clark. Seem to remember that super "swally" McCoist was also named "Louganis", after some famous diver or a submarine or something. "Geebs" was fairly apt for Gordon Hunter, as was the "Hulk" for Tony Higgins.

I'm sure I read somewhere a long time a go that Gordon Hunter's nickname was Bambi. No idea why.

23-12-2011, 08:44 AM
I'm sure I read somewhere a long time a go that Gordon Hunter's nickname was Bambi. No idea why.

Maybe because his mum was rifled by a "Hunter"? :dunno:

23-12-2011, 01:43 PM
Maybe because his mum was rifled by a "Hunter"? :dunno:

:not worth

24-12-2011, 03:09 AM
My favourite was Everton forward Stuart Barlow who was called 'jigsaw'.

He went to pieces in the box!

cad
24-12-2011, 07:12 AM
When Stuart McCall was at Rangers he was called "Dug S..t " they reckoned he was everywhere :agree: