View Full Version : AZ Players leave pitch!

hibeeleicester
21-12-2011, 09:36 PM
After keeper is sent off for booting an ajax fan!

http://www.goal.com/en-gb/news/2557/news/2011/12/21/2813341/ajax-vs-az-abandoned-after-goalkeeper-esteban-alvarado-gets-sent-

hibeeleicester
21-12-2011, 09:36 PM
Sorry forgot the NHC!

El Gubbz
21-12-2011, 09:43 PM
Should have done that on saturday

21-12-2011, 09:52 PM
All these pitch invading numpties look the same.

I can understand the GK knocking him onto the ground, but he shouldn't have persisted IMO. Let the relevant authorities do their jobs and get on with the game.

21-12-2011, 11:11 PM
Video footage here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5o_33OUDOSo

21-12-2011, 11:14 PM
fair play on the keeper.

The mug has run on the pitch trying to give him a kick, deserves a few boots himself.

21-12-2011, 11:56 PM
Keeper went well beyond the line of self defense and could well face legal action, let alone footballing consequences.

I've no time for these idiots who invade the field of play, especially when their aim is to injure players/officials, but the AZ keeper lost the plot.

No doubt that Ajax will be awarded the game, as AZ effectively failed to fulfill the fixture, following a legitimate red card under the laws of the game.

22-12-2011, 01:56 AM
Keeper went well beyond the line of self defense and could well face legal action, let alone footballing consequences.

I've no time for these idiots who invade the field of play, especially when their aim is to injure players/officials, but the AZ keeper lost the plot.

No doubt that Ajax will be awarded the game, as AZ effectively failed to fulfill the fixture, following a legitimate red card under the laws of the game.

Disagree 100%

The keeper was at his place of work and would quite rightly be startled by someone invading his space never mind physically attacking him.
The whole incident took place over a period of around 6 seconds. You don't have a clue what's happening until much later on and people have fought on not knowing they have been fatally stabbed due to pure adrenaline.

Anything less than a replay would be an injustice. If anyone should be awarded the game it should be AZ...they were the ones who were physically attacked in another clubs ground...and if it comes down to it Ajax surely have a duty to ensure their safety.

22-12-2011, 03:34 AM
I (if I was the player in question) would argue that the 2 kicks that some say are over the score simply kept my attacker grounded 1 kick to the body and 1 to the legs does not seem over the top , the attacker has just run 30 yards to launch his attempted kick after all and could easily be in possession of a knife. Had he have booted the guys head twice my view may be different

22-12-2011, 06:06 AM

How's the keeper supposed to know that the "fan" doesn't have a weapon?

If Ajax are awarded that game it sets a really dangerous precedent in terms of what happens in light of a pitch invasion.

22-12-2011, 06:32 AM
I support the goalie the guy could have had a knife...also heat of the moment in self defence you have to go radge just in case...

I like Ajax too, what an erse of a guy

22-12-2011, 08:52 AM
Disagree 100%

The keeper was at his place of work and would quite rightly be startled by someone invading his space never mind physically attacking him.
The whole incident took place over a period of around 6 seconds. You don't have a clue what's happening until much later on and people have fought on not knowing they have been fatally stabbed due to pure adrenaline.

Anything less than a replay would be an injustice. If anyone should be awarded the game it should be AZ...they were the ones who were physically attacked in another clubs ground...and if it comes down to it Ajax surely have a duty to ensure their safety.

How's the keeper supposed to know that the "fan" doesn't have a weapon?

If Ajax are awarded that game it sets a really dangerous precedent in terms of what happens in light of a pitch invasion.

Doesn't matter if he possibly had a weapon or not - he had taken the guy to the ground already and was laying into him (i.e., beyond the level of reasonable force), even after the other fan (steward maybe?) who was on the pitch was holding the guy down until the police escorted him away. If the police walked by someone doing it in the street, they'd arrest them without question. By law, it's considered an aggravated assault in the UK and in some US states, it can be considered as assault with a deadly weapon if you're wearing shoes.

Regardless, the game wasn't abandoned because someone invaded the pitch - the game was abandoned because AZ walked off the pitch after the referee quite rightly sent the keeper off. There's precedent for players being sent off after attacking people who invade the pitch and it's covered by FIFA's rules of the game under violent conduct:

A player who commits a cautionable or sending-off offence, eitheron or off the field of play, whether directed towards an opponent, a
team-mate, the referee, an assistant referee or any other person, is
disciplined according to the nature of the offence committed.

...so AZ walking off the park wasn't a justified response and they'll probably be punished for failing to fulfill the fixture.

22-12-2011, 09:00 AM

The keeper was pretty restrained I thought. I'd draw that line at tearing the guys face off to wear as a mask, I think anything up to that point is justified.

22-12-2011, 09:16 AM
He was hardly laying into him, it was handbags at ten, two girly kicks to the shins isn't on a par with giving him a doing to the ribs and heid.

22-12-2011, 09:33 AM
Regardless, the game wasn't abandoned because someone invaded the pitch - the game was abandoned because AZ walked off the pitch after the referee quite rightly sent the keeper off. There's precedent for players being sent off after attacking people who invade the pitch and it's covered by FIFA's rules of the game under violent conduct:

...so AZ walking off the park wasn't a justified response and they'll probably be punished for failing to fulfill the fixture.

That depends on your definition of "any other person". The fan had no right to be there. I think "any other person" should only cover people who have permission to be on the field (ie coaches, physios), not some nutter who may be armed.

22-12-2011, 10:15 AM

Are you for real? You have no idea how someone would react if a total nut job runs at you with intent to hurt. Like another poster said he may have a weapon. You're reply to that was "doesn't matter if he has or not" or something like that. Course it matters. I'll tell you what if that was me i'd be punching and kicking lumps out him to make sure he didn't get back up. I honestly can't believe you're having a go at the kepper!! :confused: For me the keeper done everything right.

22-12-2011, 10:41 AM
Doesn't matter if he possibly had a weapon or not - he had taken the guy to the ground already and was laying into him

The keeper defended himself against an attack and then kept the guy on the ground by the safest means possible until help arrived (kicking his legs to prevent him getting to his feet).
That's the defence that would, and should, be used.
There is no way on earth that the guy on the ground should be getting any benefit of the doubt and deserved everything he got.

AZ could easily argue that they left the pitch because the safety of the players could not be guaranteed. They'd already had their keeper attacked and the atmosphere is only likely to get more volatile after such an incident.

They might well get fined for leaving the field of play but I'm sure they'd be willing to take a hit for that given the circumstances.

There is no way that AJAX getting the points for this game should even be considered, it should be replayed, and possibly even behind closed doors (or neutral venue).

22-12-2011, 03:09 PM
There is no way that AJAX getting the points for this game should even be considered, it should be replayed, and possibly even behind closed doors (or neutral venue).

No-one will get any points.

It was a Cup match!

dwlt
22-12-2011, 03:26 PM
That depends on your definition of "any other person". The fan had no right to be there. I think "any other person" should only cover people who have permission to be on the field (ie coaches, physios), not some nutter who may be armed.

That's the point, though - no one has permission to be on the field of play unless the referee grants it. So the definition of "any other person" in the laws of the game is pretty clear - it's anyone (or animal) that isn't a currently active player. That's why physios have to wait to be waved on, for example.

I also remember Paul Hartley got booked a few years ago for kicking a ball that was going out of play (but hadn't crossed the line yet) to the keeper when he was warming up behind the goals. Same principle, since he came onto the pitch to do it.

22-12-2011, 03:36 PM
Doesn't matter if he possibly had a weapon or not - he had taken the guy to the ground already and was laying into him (i.e., beyond the level of reasonable force), even after the other fan (steward maybe?) who was on the pitch was holding the guy down until the police escorted him away. If the police walked by someone doing it in the street, they'd arrest them without question. By law, it's considered an aggravated assault in the UK and in some US states, it can be considered as assault with a deadly weapon if you're wearing shoes.

Ha Ha would love to see you reaction is someone sprinted up to you in your work place intent on attacking you...to say that the keeper then inflicted an aggravated assault on the pitch invader is taking it to the extreme.

Jeez you have to wonder what the world is coming to...the guy ran onto the pitch with the clear intention of attacking the player, the player then defends himself and lands a few on the attacker...sounds like just deserts has been done.

For AZ then to have to play the match with 10 men because their keeper was attacked is the injustice here not the fact the attacker got a couple of kicks when on the ground.

22-12-2011, 04:03 PM
The guy clearly jumps at the keeper, so as far as I'm concerned he's fair game after that; he was launching an attack, and made the first move.

Now, whether the keeper then goes a bit far in his defence is the question, he hits him to the ground, then hits him again, keeping him there. It's a shame that the law of the land isn't that if someone attacks you for no reason whatsoever, you get to give them what they deserve. Certainly if that was this country the moron would be in court snivelling about the mental trauma he's been through...

dwlt
22-12-2011, 04:08 PM
BBC are reporting that the red card has been rescinded. The Dutch FA move quick, unlike certain other authorities I could mention.

22-12-2011, 05:10 PM

Jeez:confused: i'm baffled you could defend that red card decision.

22-12-2011, 05:25 PM
BBC are reporting that the red card has been rescinded. Quite right too IMO :thumbsup:

The Dutch FA move quick, unlike certain other authorities I could mention.Cannae think who you could possibly be talking about in that line :rolleyes:

22-12-2011, 08:25 PM
Game goes to AZ as Ajax can't control their supporters. Any other decision makes the nutters start scheming.

22-12-2011, 09:22 PM
Had a wee debate about this with the wife over this...
Think its a bloke / wummin thing
But really the guy comes on from behind which I think is the key then he deserves what he took

Once we were in Curitiba a city in south brazil and one of these mimics came up from be hind me - you may have seen them in Barca copying people's mannerisms from behind well this guy got so close I felt something behind me I turned round and was about to smack him and he pulls a face and honks funny to watch but believe me that guy was seriously close to a broken nose. Now I'm pretty much a pacifist never looked for a fight in my life but I thnk knowing that crap happens in brazil I was primed

So I know how I might have reacted if it was me. So you can't really judge unless you've been put in a similar position.

29-12-2011, 08:35 PM
Game goes to AZ as Ajax can't control their supporters. Any other decision makes the nutters start scheming.

Game to be replayed in January behind closed doors. Hooligan apparently sentenced to six months in jail.