View Full Version : Hibs best XI of the 80s

CFC
21-12-2011, 03:29 AM
Taking into consideration any player who played for Hibernian in the 1980s, what would be your best XI of the decade?

green glory
21-12-2011, 10:42 AM
Alan Rough
Jackie McNamara
Arthur Duncan
Gordon Rae
Tommy Craig
George Best
John Collins
Gordon Durie
Steve Archibald
Willie Irvine
Steve Cowan

Open to much argument I'm sure.

21-12-2011, 11:03 AM
Alan Rough
Jackie McNamara
Arthur Duncan
Gordon Rae
Tommy Craig
George Best
John Collins
Gordon Durie
Steve Archibald
Willie Irvine
Steve Cowan

Open to much argument I'm sure.

Replace Best with Benny and you're about right :wink:

Joe Baker II
21-12-2011, 11:11 AM
Goram

Snedden (did we have any other right back that decade - possibly end of Brownlie's career?)
McNamara
Rae
Hunter

Collins
Kane
May

Durie
Archibald
Irvine

supershotmo
21-12-2011, 12:26 PM
GK. Andy Goram
RB. Allan Sneddon
LB. Graeme Mitchell
CH. Craig Paterson
CH. Tommy McIntyre
LW. Joe McBride
CM. John Collins
CM. Pat McGinlay
RW. Michael Weir
CF. Gordon Durie
CF. Steve Archibald

scuttle
21-12-2011, 12:26 PM
You must include Mickey Weir in any team

Sweep
21-12-2011, 01:02 PM
GK. Andy Goram
RB. Allan Sneddon
LB. Graeme Mitchell
CH. Craig Paterson
CH. Tommy McIntyre
LW. Joe McBride
CM. John Collins
CM. Pat McGinlay
RW. Michael Weir
CF. Gordon Durie
CF. Steve Archibald

Callum Milne for me.

Tollhouse Hibee
21-12-2011, 01:15 PM
goram

willie miller
gordon hunter
gordon rae
Graeme mitchell

john collins
paul kane
pat mcginley
mickey weir

gordon durie
steve archibald

micka_weer
21-12-2011, 01:18 PM
You must include Mickey Weir in any team

Mickey would be the first name on the sheet for me

21-12-2011, 01:51 PM
Can't believe Joe Tortolano hasn't rated a mention? :confused:

Joe Baker II
21-12-2011, 02:12 PM
GK. Andy Goram
RB. Allan Sneddon
LB. Graeme Mitchell
CH. Craig Paterson
CH. Tommy McIntyre
LW. Joe McBride
CM. John Collins
CM. Pat McGinlay
RW. Michael Weir
CF. Gordon Durie
CF. Steve Archibald

Think McIntyre selection depends if he is judged on his play in the 1980s (poor and rarely a starter) and from 1991 onwards when he became an exceptional player.

Retirspectively would maybe swap Weir (or maybe Rice) for Irvine in my team.

21-12-2011, 06:02 PM
Think McIntyre selection depends if he is judged on his play in the 1980s (poor and rarely a starter) and from 1991 onwards when he became an exceptional player. Retirspectively would maybe swap Weir (or maybe Rice) for Irvine in my team.Would that not be the same of pat mcginley, I thought it would be early 90s he turned into a proper footballer?

21-12-2011, 06:52 PM
GK. Andy Goram
RB. Willie Miller
LB. Graeme Mitchell
CH. Craig Paterson
CH. Gordon Hunter
LW. Joe McBride
CM. John Collins
CM. Paul Kane
RW. Michael Weir
CF. Gordon Durie
CF. Steve Archibald

I'd put Pat McGinlay in but he played his best football in the 90's. All Scottish team too! Nae chance of that ever happening again.

nortonhibby
21-12-2011, 07:10 PM
Replace Best with Benny and you're about right :wink:

Id have Benny on the bench.

Highland Hibby
21-12-2011, 08:53 PM
Sorry to bring this one back to the top but I couldnt resist it.

Rough
Schaedler
Rae
Mcnamara
Sneddon/kane
Thomson
Callaghan
Collins
Weir
Irvine
Durie/archie

I think thats maybe my favourite side rather than the best one. Beating the yams in the Tom Hart Cup in my first ever Hibs game, killie 8-1, celtic 6-3 with benny getting a hat trick, joe getting 2 in the last 15 mins at tynie after blobbo had herts 2-0 up (with me in the herts end coz i was only allowed to go with my older mate who was a jambo) Standing in the shed at tynie with a hibs scarf on hoping rough wouldnt lose a goal in the edinburgh select v bayern munich was it? Bobby Thomson doing a de canio on the linesman in the days before it was fashionable! Oh the glory days of the eighties when the streams of pish at tynecastle were round your feet at half time not on the park sneaking another win against us.

Sorry got lost in nostalgia, hi im Highland Hibby, just joined so its nice to meet you all and a pleasure to be onboard :pfgwa

Highland Hibby
21-12-2011, 09:03 PM
oops didnt mean to post that twice!

Mixu62
21-12-2011, 10:41 PM
Goram
Miller
Mitchell (did we have any other LB's in the 80's?)
Rae
McIntyre
Collins
Weir
Kane
Archibald
Durie
McCluskey

Subs - Beadie, Sneddon, Tortolano!! (IIRC you could only have 2 subs on the bench in the 80's eh?)

21-12-2011, 10:48 PM
Rough
Sneddon
Rae
Chisholm
Mitchell

Weir
Kane
May
Collins

Houchen
Archibald

21-12-2011, 11:14 PM
Goram

Kane
Rae
Hunter
Mitchell

Collins
Weir
Milne

Archiegoal
Durie
Cowan

21-12-2011, 11:58 PM
Archibald seems to be the common denominator.

What a fantastic thing it was to have him as a player.

nortonhibby
22-12-2011, 12:12 AM
Goram

Kane
Rae
Hunter
Mitchell

Collins
Weir
Milne

Archiegoal
Durie
Cowan

nae Benny you are having a laugh top man was Benny.

darwenhibby
22-12-2011, 12:21 AM
The team that beat hertz 2-1 at ER to end a barren spell against them. 17 October 1987

I remember Goram, Sneddon, Rae? Hunter? Mitchell? Possibly Chisolm?

Kane May Watson Collins,

Strikers cannot remember. Cowan?

Main things I remember are May and Kanes goals.

And a couple of saves by Goram near the end.

The pitch invasion

What a day

Gala Foxes
22-12-2011, 05:34 AM
with my tongue firmly in my cheek

Dave Huggins

Ian Hendry
Jim Brown
Mark Fulton
Rikki Fleming
Billy McLaren

Jas Brown
Billy Kirkwood
Stewart Beedie

Bobby Torrance
Joe Ward

SUBS - Mark Caughey, Stuart Turnbull, Gary Murray

Manager - Bertie Auld

Money could'nt buy that team !

Gala Foxes
22-12-2011, 05:36 AM
with my tongue firmly in my cheek

Dave Huggins

Ian Hendry
Jim Brown
Mark Fulton
Rikki Fleming
Billy McLaren

Jas Brown
Billy Kirkwood
Stewart Beedie

Bobby Torrance
Joe Ward

SUBS - Mark Caughey, Stuart Turnbull, Gary Murray

Manager - Bertie Auld

Money could'nt buy that team !

Although to be fair one of my most memorable Hibs goals was a Stuart Turnbull diving header at Tannadice early 80's in what was our first win at that ground for donkey's years

23-12-2011, 11:47 AM
The team that beat hertz 2-1 at ER to end a barren spell against them. 17 October 1987

I remember Goram, Sneddon, Rae? Hunter? Mitchell? Possibly Chisolm?

Kane May Watson Collins,

Strikers cannot remember. Cowan?

Main things I remember are May and Kanes goals.

And a couple of saves by Goram near the end.

The pitch invasion

What a day

That was some night. I thought it was a re-arranged new year's day fixture? The crowd was massive and we were rammed on the old east terrace. Official attendence was around 26,000-my erchie.

Nae suggestion's for Brian Rice's inclusion? He was one the better player's in our midfield of the mid eighties?