View Full Version : Am I missing something

happiehibbie
20-12-2011, 10:36 AM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20111220/club-membership-out-now_2262950_2550030

how does this make hibs money ?

1 free ticket, the derby for £20.00 and a voucher for £20.00 all for £20 quid :confused:

hughio
20-12-2011, 10:42 AM
It gets people going to the game and to the shop.

Two things essential to the club which are not happening at the moment.

Good marketing I would say.

:cb

20-12-2011, 10:52 AM
It makes Hibs £40.

20-12-2011, 11:27 AM
[QUOTE=Hibbyradge;3042099]acording to the article hibs wont make a penny unless you take ticket for the derby

HibeeMG
20-12-2011, 11:45 AM
It's what's called a 'loss leader'.

Hibs might not, on the face of it, make money from the deal itself. However what if the person spends more money in the shop? What about them spending money on catering and programmes at the game? They might even (hard to believe, I know!) come back for more games because of it.

I think, though, that Hibs will make money on it anyway. I wasn't planning on going to the Inverness game but I am now. They're now £20 up on where they would be. I'm sure there's other fans like me as well.

20-12-2011, 12:17 PM
I have already got tickets for the ICT game under the 3 for 2 promotion. If I join membership scheme does anyone know if would I get a refund?

20-12-2011, 12:21 PM
It's what's called a 'loss leader'.

Hibs might not, on the face of it, make money from the deal itself. However what if the person spends more money in the shop? What about them spending money on catering and programmes at the game? They might even (hard to believe, I know!) come back for more games because of it.

I think, though, that Hibs will make money on it anyway. I wasn't planning on going to the Inverness game but I am now. They're now £20 up on where they would be. I'm sure there's other fans like me as well.

This. Sometimes you need to take a hit short-term (although I don't think that they will take a hit with the memberships) in the hope of making more money long-term.

20-12-2011, 12:24 PM
I have already got tickets for the ICT game under the 3 for 2 promotion. If I join membership scheme does anyone know if would I get a refund?

I think thats called "having your cake and eating it"

patlowe
20-12-2011, 12:34 PM
On the back of this deal I am going to both the ICT and Hearts games, neither of which I was planning to go to. £40 for two games (including a derby), a clubshop voucher and no booking fees on future purchases makes good sense to me and I am happy to shell out for something I see as good value. The club should be applauded for trying to make the whole ticket-buying process as flexible and appealing as possible.

20-12-2011, 12:53 PM
Deal works out fine for me as I'm being refunded a tenner for the ICT and Hearts tickets I'd already bought. Wasn't planning on buying the away shirt but now I can get £20 off then I probably will do, so that's money made for the club I'd say. Not as if you don't have to pay out first before getting the benefits.

97hills
20-12-2011, 12:53 PM
Does anyone know what the T&C's of the clubshop voucher are? For example, spend over £40 and get £20 off?

If it's just a £20 no strings voucher then it seems like a very good deal

20-12-2011, 12:59 PM
Does anyone know what the T&C's of the clubshop voucher are? For example, spend over £40 and get £20 off?

You have to buy one of Calderwoods signings. They're cheap though. I think you can get Agogo for £20, or there's a good deal on Palsson and a "I ordered an ex Liverpool Reserves captain, and all I got was this ****" with a wee arrow pointing left (you have to stand to the right of him for it to work).

TheEastTerrace
20-12-2011, 01:07 PM
One of the most important tools to an organisation is it's customer database. With this membership card, they can pull out all sorts of customer information and insight to drive marketing and promotion initiatives.

kennyh
20-12-2011, 01:25 PM
It should also make more people use the online booking system as they will have the card and no longer need to pay booking fees. Taking that cost away from fans with this card is brilliant.
I think this is a great offer from Hibs, enticing us in, giving us a voucher for the shop where you will probably spend more than £20 and sad to say it probably also shows there is no demand for the New Years day game as they are slashing the price for a T for that too so by offering T's at £20 they will inevitable sell more derby T's.

Hibs win with bigger crowds as a result of the streamlined ordering system moving forward and in the short term get a few more bums on seats for two vital games. They may lose some money up front right enough if a fan was going to PATG for both games and buy something in the shop as well, but this is great goodwill to many loyal fans.

Nice one Hibernian...

20-12-2011, 01:36 PM
Thanks for posting this! I was planning on going to both the ICT and Hearts games and that would of cost me 48 pounds! So i now pay 20 pound and i get a free ticket for the ICT game, my Hearts ticket for now only 20 pound AND a 20 gift voucher for the club shop, saving me a total of 10 pounds and gaining a 20 quid voucher!! Absolutely fantastic offer from Hibs!! :thumbsup::thumbsup:

Well done to Hibernian on this one! :agree:

patlowe
20-12-2011, 01:37 PM
It should also make more people use the online booking system as they will have the card and no longer need to pay booking fees. Taking that cost away from fans with this card is brilliant.
I think this is a great offer from Hibs, enticing us in, giving us a voucher for the shop where you will probably spend more than £20 and sad to say it probably also shows there is no demand for the New Years day game as they are slashing the price for a T for that too so by offering T's at £20 they will inevitable sell more derby T's.

Hibs win with bigger crowds as a result of the streamlined ordering system moving forward and in the short term get a few more bums on seats for two vital games. They may lose some money up front right enough if a fan was going to PATG for both games and buy something in the shop as well, but this is great goodwill to many loyal fans.

Nice one Hibernian...

100% agree. It also indicates that the club is genuinely willing to implement innovative schemes to entice people back to ER. In the current economic climate, that is absolutely vital in maximising attendances. For someone like me who, rightly or wrongly, had completely lost interest in watching Hibs this season, I feel the club has finally done something to get me back on track.

20-12-2011, 01:47 PM
One of the most important tools to an organisation is it's customer database. With this membership card, they can pull out all sorts of customer information and insight to drive marketing and promotion initiatives.

Customer database should have been built on in the Mowbray/Collins era if you don't know who your customers are/were how do you reach out to them to get them back?
I understand it was patchy for a while
Good initiative tying it to Christmas.

happiehibbie
20-12-2011, 02:05 PM
am glad they dont market my company

20-12-2011, 02:34 PM

What's your company?

20-12-2011, 02:42 PM
happy to say i bought one of there bad boys today, dont think im making the caley thistle game as i am working but i will definitely be taking up the offer of the £20 derby ticket, haven't been along as much as i would have liked to have been due to work and being skint half the time! but goign to make the effort from now on

TheEastTerrace
20-12-2011, 03:05 PM

The driver is to get this membership card into as many Hibby hands as possible. If that means a loss making promotion in the short term then that's the hit they will take.

What it does mean is that Hibs will collect useful customer information at the purchase stage to be loaded onto the database (email/postal address for marketing communications) and because the membership card is unique to that supporter, Hibs will track ticket purchases, club store purchases and any other financial transaction with the club to build a profile for each fan. They can then start data mining each season to look at customer trends and patterns. In a climate where consumer spending and confidence is at an all time low, the more insight the club has, the stronger position it will be in to take decisions in trying to retain and grow its fan base.

I would stress that this exercise, in my eyes, is not about making lots of money

happiehibbie
20-12-2011, 03:08 PM
If you don't know about the cost of attracting new business, I'm surprised you have a company.

Aye very good !! New business so lets break it down,

you pay £20.00 you get a ticket for ICT game then you get a voucher for £20.00 so far the club has paid out £40.00 for your £20.00 then you are able to buy a ticket for the derby for £20.00 again less than market value.

Catering we dont make money on catering we subcontract this out so if we sell a million pies it makes no diffrence.

so we make a profit on the HOPE that people buy from the shop !!

What about us season ticket holders what do we get !!!

happiehibbie
20-12-2011, 03:09 PM
The driver is to get this membership card into as many Hibby hands as possible. If that means a loss making promotion in the short term then that's the hit they will take.

What it does mean is that Hibs will collect useful customer information at the purchase stage to be loaded onto the database (email/postal address for marketing communications) and because the membership card is unique to that supporter, Hibs will track ticket purchases, club store purchases and any other financial transaction with the club to build a profile for each fan. They can then start data mining each season to look at customer trends and patterns. In a climate where consumer spending and confidence is at an all time low, the more insight the club has, the stronger position it will be in to take decisions in trying to retain and grow its fan base.

I would stress that this exercise, in my eyes, is not about making lots of money

I agree

speedy_gonzales
20-12-2011, 03:18 PM

You have to spend £50 in order to use the voucher.

hibeeleicester
20-12-2011, 03:22 PM
Love how i get this for a tenner :aok:

For being a "student"

20-12-2011, 03:33 PM

you pay £20.00 you get a ticket for ICT game then you get a voucher for £20.00 so far the club has paid out £40.00 for your £20.00 then you are able to buy a ticket for the derby for £20.00 again less than market value.

Catering we dont make money on catering we subcontract this out so if we sell a million pies it makes no diffrence.

ST holders already pay less per match than walk up spectators.

When the club first had a pay-in-instalments ST scheme, the individual finance deals were with a company called the Associates. There was no interest applied, but they took a £25 (IIRC) admin fee from each customer. They knowingly ran these packages at a loss, simply to have an extra few hundred new names on their database.

Online casinos all offer free money/bets to new customers.

It's standard business practice to get new customers.

In Hibs case, they know fine that their best shot of increasing income is to have a (relatively) succesful team, but in the meantime getting a few more bodies through the turnstiles won't do any harm.

20-12-2011, 03:55 PM
Customer database should have been built on in the Mowbray/Collins era if you don't know who your customers are/were how do you reach out to them to get them back?
I understand it was patchy for a while
Good initiative tying it to Christmas.

Tracking customer behaviour ala loyalty cards is also valuable knowledge who buys what where ms how then tailor services accordingly I'd imagine the aim is to get a certain % of folks onto the cards nd get them in the habit of using with every interaction with hibs

97hills
20-12-2011, 04:12 PM
You have to spend £50 in order to use the voucher.

Well then its a bit sneeky and I believe they should be a bit more upfront than that. Additionally, have just tried calling '0844 844 1875 option 1' as advised on the website and they don't know anything about it. Have advised me to call the club direct.

Nice idea Hibs but try and get the finer details right to actually allow it to work

97hills
20-12-2011, 04:18 PM
Well then its a bit sneeky and I believe they should be a bit more upfront than that. Additionally, have just tried calling '0844 844 1875 option 1' as advised on the website and they don't know anything about it. Have advised me to call the club direct.

Nice idea Hibs but try and get the finer details right to actually allow it to work

Moreover, can't see the T&C's online anywhere, anyone help me? And the direct line to the club is now closed

20-12-2011, 04:37 PM

It encourages membership holders to attend ER and may eventually lead to them buying an ST. You need to think a wee bit longer-term than the next two games.

Us ST holders get what we paid for - an ST.

tynesideirish
31-12-2011, 04:06 PM
The thing is though it's b*llocks. As a Saturday worker and thus not a ST holder or regular attender, I was persuaded to join this scheme. It seemed like value for money. However my card came too late to attend the ICT game free. Not really a fuss due to the nature of the Royal Mail's busiest time. I might get to St.J. tried to buy a derby ticket online and was informed this game was not available to new members! Naturally I rang up and again I was unable to buy a ticket for the game as it's not open to new members! Despite this being on the website at this moment:
Join our new Club Membership before Monday 2January and you will be entitled to £8* off your Edinburgh Derby ticket. The new Club Membership will entitle you to the following:
Hibernian Club Membership package - £20 Annual Membership*
A ticket for the New Year Derby for just £20 (normal price £28)
A free ticket for St Johnstone on 21 January
Voucher for £20 off in the Clubstore (terms and conditions apply)
Your unique Club Membership Access Card
No booking fees (for Member ticket only) for buying tickets in the future
Priority purchasing for away, Cup, European tickets (after Season Ticket Membership period)
Weekly E-news direct to your in-box

Trying to get through to option 2 helpdesk, complete waste of time and money. On hold for operator for ages then call terminated, repeatedly... So there you go great scheme, guaranteed ticket reduction, but we'll not sell you a ticket despite the blurb.

Suppose there is little point turning up on the day even if there are empty seats as I'm likely to just be sent away.

31-12-2011, 04:10 PM
Suppose there is little point turning up on the day even if there are empty seats as I'm likely to just be sent away.

This might seem like a stupid question, but have you bought tickets for games before from the Ticket Office before you bought the membership thing?

If you have, you'll be on the database and will be able to buy a ticket on the morning of the game as it's not going to sell out.

31-12-2011, 05:13 PM

Nice one Hibernian...

Yep.....and with no sweeteners for ST holders they may well lose mine next season..........

....why show loyalty and faith up front pnly to be forgotten when the chips are down? Nope, seems better to hedge ones bets before the season starts, then enjoy being wooed back to the fold later with perks and good deals to make me part with my money :rolleyes::rolleyes:

tynesideirish
03-01-2012, 03:05 PM
Sorry for bringing this back to the top but felt it needed a reply.

I had a previous client number but the card gave me another. All turned out OK in the end as I got a ticket no problem. The fact that I now probably wish I didn't after that game is another story...

Once again it's the Supporters Club that made it a good day. The football was pish, though 4 goals normally can't be sniffed at. Pity 3 were against us. Great game ref, hope you're proud today!

This thread can now die a death. Thanks.