View Full Version : Hibernian Supporters Code Of Conduct - sign up

13-12-2011, 12:31 PM
Following the fine the thick got from UEFA I was encouraged to go away and look up this rule what done them. It covered a lot of what we have discussed on numerous threads recently.

UEFA Disciplinary Regulations
Article 11 Other offences

2 The same disciplinary measures may be taken against member associations or clubs in case of inappropriate behaviour on the part of their supporters, including:

a) the invasion or attempted invasion of the field of play;
b) the throwing of objects;
c) the lighting of fireworks or any other objects;
d) the use of laser pointers or similar electronic devices;
e) the use of gestures, words, objects or any other means to transmit any message that is not fit for a sports event, in particular if it is of a political, offensive or provocative nature;
f) acts of damage;
g) any other lack of order or discipline observed inside or around the stadium.

So taking from that why don’t we have a Hibs Supporters Charter

Hibs Supporters Charter

I am a Hibs supporter. I will not;

a) invade, or attempted to invade, the field of play;
b) throw objects;
c) light fireworks or any other objects;
d) use laser pointers or similar electronic devices;
e) use gestures, words, objects or any other means to transmit any message that is not fit for a sports event, in particular if it is of a political, offensive or provocative nature;
f) deliberately damage any part of any stadium;
g) take part in any other lack of order or discipline observed inside or around the stadium.

Condone the actions of any 'Hibs supporter' doing any of the above.

I can sign up for that.

Copy, paste and sign the green bit and sign too, if you can :aok:

13-12-2011, 12:34 PM
I can't sign up to not being offensive or provocative at a football match.

13-12-2011, 12:42 PM
I'm far too hot headed to sign any stuff like that :wink:

And will this apply to nut case hooligans from Turkey, Greece, Serbia, Poland etc that seem to get away with it every game?

No thanks

13-12-2011, 12:44 PM
I hereby sign up tae be a Trappist Monk. :agree:

13-12-2011, 12:45 PM
Points "E" (in particular) and also "G" are far too vague and would need some clarification before most people would be willing to sign up to that I would imagine.

BurghHibby
13-12-2011, 12:45 PM

Or not to invade the park should Hertz ever get to six nil!

13-12-2011, 12:46 PM
Is this for real? How about playing matches in a library.

13-12-2011, 12:47 PM
Michty me, the last thing we'd want is any young cad being "provocative" at a fitba' match. Anything above a mild "drat, dash and blast" or "what a load of piffle Hibernian" should result in immediate ejection.

Good idea in principle, but that bit has to go.

13-12-2011, 12:51 PM

I'm far too hot headed to sign any stuff like that :wink:

And will this apply to nut case hooligans from Turkey, Greece, Serbia, Poland etc that seem to get away with it every game?

No thanks

Points "E" (in particular) and also "G" are far too vague and would need some clarification before most people would be willing to sign up to that I would imagine.

Or not to invade the park should Hertz ever get to six nil!

Is this for real? How about playing matches in a library.

There is nothing in the charter that stops anyone from supporting our team or that would make Easter Road quiet, or even require you to become a monk J. :wink:

13-12-2011, 12:56 PM
Are these rules (or something similar) not in the small print on match tickets? If so, by purchasing the ticket and entering the ground, you're tacitly accepting them.

13-12-2011, 12:56 PM
I find the Yams existance provocative and offensive. Good to see Vlad's doing something about it.

13-12-2011, 12:58 PM
I applaud your ultimate aim, of encouraging fellow Hibs fans to have a higher standard of behaviour at football games. However, I think this will fail for two reasons:

1) As others have already said, some of the points are far too vague, e.g. what does provocative mean? Wearing a short skirt and high heels to the fitba'???

2) The people that let us down, for instance the idiots that think it's OK to throw coins and sing the Edinburgh Song, will have no interest in signing anything like this. The only people that will sign are the ones that most likely wouldn't do any/most of the things listed anyway.

13-12-2011, 01:04 PM
I applaud your ultimate aim, of encouraging fellow Hibs fans to have a higher standard of behaviour at football games. However, I think this will fail for two reasons:

1) As others have already said, some of the points are far too vague, e.g. what does provocative mean? Wearing a short skirt and high heels to the fitba'???

2) The people that let us down, for instance the idiots that think it's OK to throw coins and sing the Edinburgh Song, will have no interest in signing anything like this. The only people that will sign are the ones that most likely wouldn't do any/most of the things listed anyway.

Agree, if I'm not able to wear a short skirt and heels to the the games then I'm out.

13-12-2011, 01:11 PM

Thank you :aok:

1) The provocative one is quite simple and only needs a low level of understanding. If someone did it to me would I find it provocative in that setting? Yes or no? I appreciate people will be at different levels of understanding just as there are, thankfully, different levels of skirts and high heels. :greengrin

2) Oh and don’t I know it. We used to sing IRA songs, I fuel my aspirations on the fact that we no longer do so and that if anyone was to throw a banana at a coloured player the Hibs support would quickly point out the offender. There has already been progress :agree:

13-12-2011, 01:16 PM

1) The provocative one is quite simple and only needs a low level of understanding. If someone did it to me would I find it provocative in that setting? Yes or no? I appreciate people will be at different levels of understanding just as there are, thankfully, different levels of skirts and high heels. :greengrin

2) Oh and don’t I know it. We used to sing IRA songs, I fuel my aspirations on the fact that we no longer do so and that if anyone was to throw a banana at a coloured player the Hibs support would quickly point out the offender. There has already been progress :agree:

Personally, the thought of Andy turning up in short skirt and high heels is offensive to me!

Maybe if we could have something a bit more specific as regards some of the statements. I think there actually already is a 'code of conduct' of sorts on the official site (could be wrong).

13-12-2011, 01:25 PM

We would ed up not being able to sign about hating Hearts or about Steve Fulton being ugly.

There are certain things that need to be eradicated but let's not chuck the baby out with the bath water.

13-12-2011, 01:29 PM

I'm surprised you wasn't the first one to sign up to be fair :greengrin

13-12-2011, 01:33 PM
Hopefully the erse who sits in the seat in front of me and my auld boy, a middle-aged self-proclaimed 'Rebel' signs up for this. He spoils the game for everyone in the vicinity and quite a few folk have had a pop at him recently because of this.

13-12-2011, 01:55 PM

I'll sign up right after I've finished off this delightful prawn sandwich.

13-12-2011, 01:58 PM
Following the fine the thick got from UEFA I was encouraged to go away and look up this rule what done them. It covered a lot of what we have discussed on numerous threads recently.

So taking from that why don’t we have a Hibs Supporters Charter

Hibs Supporters Charter

I am a Hibs supporter. I will not;

a) invade or attempted to invade the field of play;
b) throw objects;
c) light of fireworks or any other objects;
d) use laser pointers or similar electronic devices;
e) use gestures, words, objects or any other means to transmit any message that is not fit for a sports event, in particular if it is of a political, offensive or provocative nature;
f) do any deliberately do damage;
g) take part in any other lack of order or discipline observed inside or around the stadium.

Condone the actions of any 'Hibs supporter' doing any of the above.

I can sign up for that.

Copy, paste and sign the green bit and sign too, if you can :aok:

Sorry, but how can you sign up to something that doesn't let you sing "you're *****he and you know you are"? (Sorry for bypassing the swear filter, but it wouldn't make any real sense without the offending word.

13-12-2011, 02:04 PM
Loadypish!

13-12-2011, 02:09 PM
Ken what you can do with your charter pal?

No offence like.

13-12-2011, 02:09 PM
I'll sign up if Michael Hart signs up to rule one.

13-12-2011, 02:14 PM

At The Edge
13-12-2011, 02:25 PM
I guess that means 'sit down shut up and if you hate the f****** 'insert team name here', clap your hands' are out as well then?
Are they of a provocative nature?

13-12-2011, 02:29 PM

I'll sign up right after I've finished off this delightful prawn sandwich.

Loadypish!

Ken what you can do with your charter pal?

No offence like.

So you think its acceptable to act at a football match in a way that it would be unacceptable anywhere else in society? Do you think its acceptable that a very small minority spoil, in any way, a days entertainment for so many thousands of others?

Do you think its OK to throw stuff that causes injury to others indiscriminately?

Was the guy who tried to attack Lennon a good guy?

Do we not roundly condemn the OF for their bile, but its apparently OK if its only one or two in our support?

Its OK to damage our own stadium or damage another where Hibs have to pay the repair bill?

Its OK to be a complete and utter erse?

Silly me, of course it is.

13-12-2011, 02:35 PM
i'm washing my hair, far too busy for signing anything

13-12-2011, 02:50 PM
Supporters code of conduct. LOL.

13-12-2011, 02:52 PM
Why would UEFA ever be looking to fine Hibs FC, we are never in there competitions to get fined, :rolleyes:, so we will never have a problem with them taking us to task.

And if the SFA/SPL dont have the balls to act against the Old Firm for the songs that they sing at games, did you hear the blue noses on Saturday singing away to there merry horrible songs, they know them and celtc are not going to be punished by the people who run our game, the SPL/SFA have gave them the green or blue light to do as they want when the come visiting other clubs in Scotland.

Sorry Jack not for me.

13-12-2011, 03:01 PM
So you think its acceptable to act at a football match in a way that it would be unacceptable anywhere else in society? Do you think its acceptable that a very small minority spoil, in any way, a days entertainment for so many thousands of others?

Do you think its OK to throw stuff that causes injury to others indiscriminately?

Was the guy who tried to attack Lennon a good guy?

Do we not roundly condemn the OF for their bile, but its apparently OK if its only one or two in our support?

Its OK to damage our own stadium or damage another where Hibs have to pay the repair bill?

Its OK to be a complete and utter erse?

Silly me, of course it is.

Yawn. Let's all sit down and be quiet. No swearing either. No drinking before games. No nothing.

13-12-2011, 03:09 PM
Jack,

Do you seriously think no one should swear in a football ground?

Next we'll be talking about having a beer before the game as a bad thing............

Most of your points no one would ever think of doing at a football match anyway.

Sodje_18
13-12-2011, 03:10 PM
Not for me, our standard of football is ***** so the only way to entertain myself right now is in the singing section. Offensive behaviour is just a normal part of football, in fact certain behaviour deemed offensive outside the stadium is probably not thought of offensive inside :agree:

13-12-2011, 03:19 PM
Yawn. Let's all sit down and be quiet. No swearing either. No drinking before games. No nothing. Who said that sleepy boy?

13-12-2011, 03:19 PM
No thanks!

Fantic
13-12-2011, 03:22 PM
This is a wind up - right?

13-12-2011, 03:29 PM
Jack, understand your sentiments behind this but football does still have some passion. Yes sometimes fans go OTT. What happens in a game can wind up fans and we have all jumped to our feet and shouted something inappropriate to the ref, linesman or opposition player. The raw emotion of a football stadium is part of the draw of the game. If all grounds and fans signed up to this then the game would die. No one on here is advocating violence of invading the pitch but uncouth behavior is part Scottish football.

13-12-2011, 03:38 PM
I'm surprised you wasn't the first one to sign up to be fair :greengrin:wink:

13-12-2011, 03:40 PM
By abuse, does this only mean racist etc, or would "Dave MaCkay you prick" for example also come unfr this?

Joe Baker II
13-12-2011, 03:42 PM
Could I add "Spectators should not open your mouth for the duration of play, and are encouraged to report anyone who does so to the nearest steward." and then I will sign up to it. As currently proposed it it too liberal.

13-12-2011, 03:45 PM
Jack,

Do you seriously think no one should swear in a football ground?

Next we'll be talking about having a beer before the game as a bad thing............

Most of your points no one would ever think of doing at a football match anyway.

As I said earlier HH

The provocative one is quite simple and only needs a low level of understanding. If someone did it to me would I find it provocative in that setting? Yes or no? I appreciate people will be at different levels of understanding …

[same goes for language. The odd expletive is a different thing entirely from a crowd of folk ****ing the queen for half a quid or up to their knees in ****ing fienian blood, if you know what I mean.]

Perhaps your second points illustrate how anti-social the other parts can be to many.

H113EE5
13-12-2011, 03:52 PM
What's the Edinburgh song?

13-12-2011, 03:54 PM
Jack, understand your sentiments behind this but football does still have some passion. Yes sometimes fans go OTT. What happens in a game can wind up fans and we have all jumped to our feet and shouted something inappropriate to the ref, linesman or opposition player. The raw emotion of a football stadium is part of the draw of the game. If all grounds and fans signed up to this then the game would die. No one on here is advocating violence of invading the pitch but uncouth behavior is part Scottish football.

If the crowd can begin to police themselves then I personally wouldn’t see anything wrong with what you are saying.

It’s the orchestrated abuse; the incessant bile. Shouting ‘the referees a *******’ is different from tracking the linesman up and down his line hurling abuse at him for 2 x 45 minutes. What I see this about is bringing football to an age where anti-social behaviour is not acceptable; its not called anti-social behaviour because its acceptable!

There can still be plenty of noise.

13-12-2011, 04:17 PM
Perhaps you are watching the wrong sport.

13-12-2011, 04:41 PM
Perhaps you are watching the wrong sport.

Why?

Because I gave up going to the chasing children up the chimney races?

Maybe you're in the wrong century.

13-12-2011, 04:48 PM
Why?

Because I gave up going to the chasing children up the chimney races?

Maybe you're in the wrong century.

I think Rugby might be more up your street. Who are you to tell people how to behave at the football?

13-12-2011, 04:48 PM
You know something, rather than have codes of conducts, specialist legislation and that, why can't we just have a bit of ****ing common sense? If someone's spouting some sectarian or racist nonsense, then report them to a steward. If someone's singing "You're **** and you know you are" or similar, accept that it's a fitba match and it will happen.

Why can't we use existing laws against racism and sectarianism etc. to police the troublemakers?

13-12-2011, 04:59 PM
I think Rugby might be more up your street. Who are you to tell people how to behave at the football?

I'm not telling anyone to do anything, I'm asking if they wish to consider signing up to a normally acceptable standard of behaviour while at a football match.

… and as for thinking of an alternative sport on my behalf; who are you to, ach never mind, I can think for myself thank you. :aok:

13-12-2011, 05:02 PM
You know something, rather than have codes of conducts, specialist legislation and that, why can't we just have a bit of ****ing common sense? If someone's spouting some sectarian or racist nonsense, then report them to a steward. If someone's singing "You're **** and you know you are" or similar, accept that it's a fitba match and it will happen.

Why can't we use existing laws against racism and sectarianism etc. to police the troublemakers?

Maybe if we, as a support, got our house in an acceptable order, and I don't mean specifically or only the Hibs support, although we do have naughty folk, then all the things you’re saying wouldn’t be necessary.

13-12-2011, 05:17 PM
Why? Because I gave up going to the chasing children up the chimney races? Maybe you're in the wrong century. Maybe you are right, however your moral superiority and patronising posts on this thread stink.

13-12-2011, 05:24 PM
Maybe if we, as a support, got our house in an acceptable order, and I don't mean specifically or only the Hibs support, although we do have naughty folk, then all the things you’re saying wouldn’t be necessary.

Exactly what I'm saying. If someone is shouting something racist, or sectarian, we should report them.

Where's the need for a 'code of conduct' to do that?

13-12-2011, 05:41 PM

Pretty much agree with this.

13-12-2011, 05:43 PM
Maybe you are right, however your moral superiority and patronising posts on this thread stink. Only patronising of you don't think yourself able to attain an acceptable level of behavior. I am only suggesting a level that is normally socially acceptable.

13-12-2011, 05:45 PM
Aye ok then.

13-12-2011, 05:46 PM
Exactly what I'm saying. If someone is shouting something racist, or sectarian, we should report them.Where's the need for a 'code of conduct' to do that? Absolutely. Where IMO such a charter would help is in further marginalising those who think its acceptable to act in an unacceptable manner.

13-12-2011, 05:47 PM
Aye ok then. Cheers :-)

13-12-2011, 06:29 PM
There's enough folded arms in the stands at ER as it is so you really can't wake the dead :confused:

13-12-2011, 06:38 PM
There's enough folded arms in the stands at ER as it is so you really can't wake the dead :confused:

This isn’t about shutting everyone up or getting them sitting on their hands – its just taking out the garbage. The stuff that would make even a fairly earthy man blush in the pub. Cut out the rubbish that includes throwing coins – that actually only ever seem to hit our own support. Keep the good stuff :aok:

There's plenty left to support the Hibs with. :flag:

13-12-2011, 06:39 PM
If only changing the society we live in today was as easy as signing a charter eh!

13-12-2011, 06:42 PM
This isn’t about shutting everyone up or getting them sitting on their hands – its just taking out the garbage. The stuff that would make even a fairly earthy man blush in the pub. Cut out the rubbish that includes throwing coins – that actually only ever seem to hit our own support. Keep the good stuff :aok:

There's plenty left to support the Hibs with. :flag:

Would have loved to see your face Jack when the old east was standing only, it really was nuts in there at times and the snowball that hit Willie Miller of Aberdeen directly on the coupon was a truly priceless moment in ER history.

13-12-2011, 07:49 PM
Would have loved to see your face Jack when the old east was standing only, it really was nuts in there at times and the snowball that hit Willie Miller of Aberdeen directly on the coupon was a truly priceless moment in ER history.

My first games were in the earlyish 60s. :shocked: Other than being decanted when they rebuilt my East I’ve been at less than a handful of games in other parts of the stadium.

Aye I looked a bit nonplussed when the first guy pissed down my leg. My face was screwed up with pain as the scalding hot grease from my pie slavered down my chin. It turned blue when I was crushed at the Leeds game. I was in tears during a certain Celtc game and I had a smile as wide as new pitch when we paraded the first Hibs cup I’d ever seen in 1972.

There have been many great memories I’d like to see again from the East, many I’m glad to see the back of. We’ve moved on. Easter Road isn’t as it was in those days, neither is Leith, both still have their character and their characters, but most parts of Scotland have moved into the 21st century. No reason why Hibs, the innovators, should be left behind.

13-12-2011, 07:53 PM
e) use gestures, words, objects or any other means to transmit any message that is not fit for a sports event, in particular if it is of a political, offensive or provocative nature

Totally unworkable.

Discipline?

How would that be defined and who would be in charge of defining it?

No problem with the rest of the list.

13-12-2011, 08:13 PM
Totally unworkable.Discipline? How would that be defined and who would be in charge of defining it?No problem with the rest of the list. I used the wording in the UEFA articles. They don't seem to have any problems interpreting them to the extent celtc lawyers, who have successfully taken on the Scottish football authorities*, haven't challenged the fine.* admittedly no big deal when its the OF FA ;-)

13-12-2011, 08:17 PM
Absolutely. Where IMO such a charter would help is in further marginalising those who think its acceptable to act in an unacceptable manner.

You really think so?? - the folks that think it's acceptable in the first place aren't going to start a journey of self-improvement just cos you can reel off the cutting one-liner of "Listen mate, your conduct contravenes paragraph 4, line 33 of the Hibernian Football Club supporters charter"

Unless I'm much mistaken, you couldn't make the charter a legally binding document. The monkeys in hi-vis jackets/police helmets we get blessed with at SPL games rarely enforce the laws that are written into the legal statute of the land.

How could you make a "Supporters Charter" worth anything more than the paper it's written on?

13-12-2011, 08:47 PM
You really think so?? - the folks that think it's acceptable in the first place aren't going to start a journey of self-improvement just cos you can reel off the cutting one-liner of "Listen mate, your conduct contravenes paragraph 4, line 33 of the Hibernian Football Club supporters charter"Unless I'm much mistaken, you couldn't make the charter a legally binding document. The monkeys in hi-vis jackets/police helmets we get blessed with at SPL games rarely enforce the laws that are written into the legal statute of the land. How could you make a "Supporters Charter" worth anything more than the paper it's written on? Its OUR charter made up by us, for us. We own it, not the Club or the authorities. As an example of peer pressure working I will give again the examples of IRA songs and what would happen if any of our support threw a banana at a black player - people are currently being hounded out of the stands for shouting racist comments. All it is is putting the values of the majority of the support in writing and believing in it.Its a charter against anti-social behaviour. We all know where the line is, none of us want to be subject to it.

13-12-2011, 09:07 PM
The grammar in points a, c and f is appalling.

13-12-2011, 09:23 PM
The grammar in points a, c and f is appalling. Bloody hell so it is :-D