10-12-2011, 05:00 AM
****ing typical!!!!!!

10-12-2011, 05:18 AM
Gutted. :spider:

just_joe
10-12-2011, 05:25 AM
Hopefully it will stop and the groundsmen can do a good job but even with that im sure traffic will be considered. Im gutted as I was so up for this one!

10-12-2011, 05:36 AM
Not so heavy in East Lothian now. Hopefully heading towards ER way.

northgreen24
10-12-2011, 05:37 AM
i am out in Bo'ness and looks bad, not sure what edinburgh is like but the trqvel is normally what gets the game put off not the pitch

10-12-2011, 05:45 AM
Wasnt too bad in Narnia(think Harthill but Higher)at half four but it looked to be spreading west

10-12-2011, 05:48 AM
Wasnt too bad in Narnia(think Harthill but Higher)at half four but it looked to be spreading west

Av just had a power cut in Leith. My whole area is out.

10-12-2011, 05:49 AM
Definitely no snow here.

haggisbaws
10-12-2011, 06:00 AM
Quite a lot of it down porty way hopefully it will thaw unless it freezes now

10-12-2011, 06:06 AM
7.05 and West Lothian is in white out conditions.

Was going to Easter Road today but even if the games goes ahead i'll be staying at home

gackohibs
10-12-2011, 06:07 AM
Av just had a power cut in Leith. My whole area is out.

im restalrig way and my power is fine.

good couple of inches of snow so hopefully not too bad come lunchtime.

10-12-2011, 06:19 AM
Nothing at all 20 miles south in Peebles (yet), surprised to read this. Fingers crossed we can get the environs cleared, assuming the pitch is fine.

10-12-2011, 06:25 AM
im restalrig way and my power is fine.

good couple of inches of snow so hopefully not too bad come lunchtime.

Am down the shore. My whole area is off. Just in the middle of a shower then boom, cut off. Had to get dressed using the flash on my phone.

10-12-2011, 06:27 AM
Summer football.... Really dont see why this isn't being planned asap.

10-12-2011, 06:32 AM
The TV companies usually put pressure on everyone to get the game on.......

Hopefully it will as Hibs need to get back playing after what happened at Motherwell :agree:

10-12-2011, 06:34 AM
Gutted if it's off. I am already on my way.

10-12-2011, 06:38 AM
Just on the radio- Heavy Snow affecting M8 Eastbound nearing Edinburgh

10-12-2011, 06:38 AM
7.05 and West Lothian is in white out conditions.

Was going to Easter Road today but even if the games goes ahead i'll be staying at home

You are joking right? It's nothing compared to last year and I expect to get in no problem from the livi area.

10-12-2011, 06:39 AM
nae snow here....:wink:

but its supposed to be on Setanta at 1200 midnight, so be peeved its off.

10-12-2011, 06:40 AM
Power fine in abbeyhill Ours normally goes at the droP of a hat something like 7 powercuts in 11 years it's like living in a non 1st world country

10-12-2011, 06:43 AM
i have mates coming up from newcastle for this one. its forecast to clear up by 9am, the trains arent delayed, so hopefully it'll still be on.

10-12-2011, 06:47 AM
You are joking right? It's nothing compared to last year and I expect to get in no problem from the livi area.

eh NO i'm not joking why would I :confused:

Wednesday my windscreen was damaged due the wild weather so I would have to make the journey by train- so can you guarantee the trains will be running after the game.

Listen let me worry about how I get to and from games. :agree:

10-12-2011, 06:54 AM
eh NO i'm not joking why would I :confused: Wednesday my windscreen was damaged due the wild weather so I would have to make the journey by train- so can you guarantee the trains will be running after the game. Listen let me worry about how I get to and from games. :agree:Ya big blouse.

10-12-2011, 06:56 AM

Wednesday my windscreen was damaged due the wild weather so I would have to make the journey by train- so can you guarantee the trains will be running after the game.

I assumed you were driving in, but clearly not so wrong on my part to make that assumption.

10-12-2011, 06:56 AM
Ya big blouse.

Its an age thing :greengrin

10-12-2011, 06:59 AM

There will be thousands of them making it through from Glasgow, pretty sure you could make it through from West Lothian.

10-12-2011, 07:01 AM
I stay a snowballs chuck away from the ground and from first glance there's no way it'll be off, only reason it'll be off is if the rangers team bus cannae get through but it'd have to be A LOT worse elsewhere than it is here for that to be the case

10-12-2011, 07:01 AM
Fairly hefty amount of snow fallen during night but as long as there is no more, it ER will be fine probs just the streets a bit slushy.

The problem will be the M8 and them coming Eastside.

Doubt it's bad enough for the game to be off.

10-12-2011, 07:03 AM
7.05 and West Lothian is in white out conditions. Was going to Easter Road today but even if the games goes ahead i'll be staying at home You do know what 'whiteout conditions' are dont you? (cant see the hirizon line or the hand in front of your face, get a sense of disorientation. If its that bad in Livvy this morning im surprised....

10-12-2011, 07:07 AM
The misses telling me that there is a light covering of snow on ER but she can still see the pavement. It is not snowing at the moment. Oh i and her lecy is still on.

10-12-2011, 07:07 AM
I assumed you were driving in, but clearly not so wrong on my part to make that assumption.

On a different note like most fans I’m interested to see how Pat Fenlon shapes this side and see what he changes. The Motherwell game which I attended look good in parts and for once the defenders look like they knew what they we doing.

Todays game "if it goes ahead" should give us an insight into how Fenlon is going to move this team forward.

10-12-2011, 07:16 AM
Game should be fine, there is about an inch of snow lying around Easter Road but that won't be enough to see the game called off.

10-12-2011, 07:17 AM
Whiteout in Alloa, several inches of snow. Not sure i would make it now for early kick off.:grr:

wearethehibs
10-12-2011, 07:20 AM
There will be thousands of them making it through from Glasgow, pretty sure you could make it through from West Lothian. He should just try and hitch a ride with 1 of the many huns that'll be coming from west lothian.

10-12-2011, 07:20 AM
You do know what 'whiteout conditions' are dont you? (cant see the hirizon line or the hand in front of your face, get a sense of disorientation. If its that bad in Livvy this morning im surprised....

Thanks for the Education regarding weather conditions. Outside my house you can’t see where the pavement ends and the roads starts- further a field I can see Cars and lorry’s stuck.

I should have said conditions Outside are” horrendous” which they are so that means transport will be effected.

10-12-2011, 07:22 AM
Would be surprised if Rangers were not staying through Edinburgh way to prepare properly, what with the early KO?

10-12-2011, 07:26 AM
Just dropped my daughter of at Livingston North station. Roads are fine as usual west lothian council been caught out. But major roads clear for to cars clearing it and trains are running.
Bring on summer football

10-12-2011, 07:27 AM
Probably, but they would call it off if the hun fans couldn't make it.

10-12-2011, 07:30 AM
Not a flake up here!

10-12-2011, 07:34 AM
Where abouts TQM?

In Inverness it is not snowing atm but the ground is covered from last night.

Jay
10-12-2011, 07:34 AM
We are getting the train through from West Lothian, I think it will be fine. Rarely cancelled last year and it was much worse than this.

10-12-2011, 07:37 AM
We had a game against rangers last season, also an early kick off, where the conditions were much worse than this. Trains were cancelled, etc. we struggled to get there in time for kick off. Wish I hadn't bothered :wink:

10-12-2011, 07:42 AM
Not a flake up here!

Seriously :rolleyes: we were due a 'flurry' or 2 in deepest EL....currently 3 inches (7.2 cm for those younger than 40 ) and sky is that heavy grey snowy type so more to come...just a case of how much....AND school Christmas fair in an hour...and Mother in Law coming to stay for a few days....wait a minute...if there is much more she might not make it

10-12-2011, 07:47 AM
Where abouts TQM?

In Inverness it is not snowing atm but the ground is covered from last night.

Monifieth - 6 mile east of Dundee city centre.

10-12-2011, 07:49 AM
We need an announcement from authorities and we need it quick it would seem, on or off.

10-12-2011, 07:52 AM
We need an announcement from authorities and we need it quick it would seem, on or off.

Sports news on radio forth at 0830 said the game was on.

10-12-2011, 07:53 AM
Yip none here either TQM. was gona leave at 10 but might have a quick s£\t, shave,shower now.

10-12-2011, 07:56 AM
Probably, but they would call it off if the hun fans couldn't make it.

It'll be fine, most of the Huns there today will be from the Edinburgh area anyway.

HibeeEmma
10-12-2011, 07:59 AM
It'll be fine, most of the Huns there today will be from the Edinburgh area anyway.

:agree: precisely what I was thinking

10-12-2011, 08:01 AM
Thanks for the Education regarding weather conditions. Outside my house you can’t see where the pavement ends and the roads starts- further a field I can see Cars and lorry’s stuck.

I should have said conditions Outside are” horrendous” which they are so that means transport will be effected.

:agree: For all he knows someone could just have painted your windaes white overnight :wink:

10-12-2011, 08:03 AM
Would be surprised if Rangers were not staying through Edinburgh way to prepare properly, what with the early KO?

They're too skint to have stayed through here last night.

10-12-2011, 08:07 AM
Whiteout in Alloa:grr: No it isnt a 'whiteout' :grr::wink:

10-12-2011, 08:08 AM
Well i made it out of Penicuik so it canny be that bad!

10-12-2011, 08:13 AM
Bunch o fairies....against

10-12-2011, 08:16 AM
Summer Football :agree:

Snow on the ground in Edinburgh but surely not enough to cancel and I would hope they had the undersoil heating on.

Would advise decent shoes for walking in the sludge though on way to the ground!

10-12-2011, 08:19 AM
Live near the Gyle. A small amount of snow but it's starting to melt

10-12-2011, 08:20 AM
Here we go again!
Snow in Scotland in December shocker, how many games at Easter Road are ever off after these sort of threads which appear as soon as a snow flake appears?

Mark79
10-12-2011, 08:21 AM

They haven't got a pot to pee in. Only way they stayed in Edinburgh last night was camping. Fingers crossed.

PiemanP
10-12-2011, 08:30 AM
Come on the hibees!

10-12-2011, 08:35 AM
10am pitch inspection

10-12-2011, 08:36 AM
I love it when travelling becomes a hardship for the Hun hordes. let them toil and freeze in winter hell !!!

10-12-2011, 08:37 AM
10am pitch inspection

Is this defo?

10-12-2011, 08:39 AM
I love it when travelling becomes a hardship for the Hun hordes. let them toil and freeze in winter hell !!!

There's a good few Hibees travelling as well. Hilarious ain't it?

10-12-2011, 08:41 AM
Is this defo? Pretty sure. Someone on FB phoned the club who said that.

10-12-2011, 08:43 AM
There's a good few Hibees travelling as well. Hilarious ain't it? Exactly. Getting from the house to the station was bad enough, never mind a 4 hour journey down.

hibbybob
10-12-2011, 08:44 AM
Seriously :rolleyes: we were due a 'flurry' or 2 in deepest EL....currently 3 inches (7.2 cm for those younger than 40 ) and sky is that heavy grey snowy type so more to come...just a case of how much....AND school Christmas fair in an hour...and Mother in Law coming to stay for a few days....wait a minute...if there is much more she might not make it

OR - she might make it ...... conditions deteriorate ........ she's stranded ..... and with you for weeks!!!

10-12-2011, 08:44 AM
Pretty sure. Someone on FB phoned the club who said that.

OK Cheers.

vercol36
10-12-2011, 08:50 AM
:agree: Rangers stayed in Edinburgh last night as they do for every Edinburgh game regardless of KO time so no problem with travel for them.

Yup, at the Caledonian Hotel :rolleyes:

At work near Abbeyhill just now, seems to be warming up a tad, a lot of the snow is turning to slush. If a game got called off for this, I would be sending my half-season ticket right back. Especially since pre-match boozing time has already been significantly cut by the stupid kick-off time.

10-12-2011, 08:55 AM
No they never stayed at the Caledonian Hotel last night but did stay in Edinburgh.

Premier Inn I heard. 4 to a room

10-12-2011, 09:00 AM
game cant be off surly, i live at the bottom of st clair street right next to the stadium and your lucky if there 2millimetre of snow on the ground here, im sure the undersoil heating and groundstaff will have no problem getting the pitch ready :aok:

Billy
10-12-2011, 09:02 AM
Just driven down the M9 and no problems.

10-12-2011, 09:04 AM
game cant be off surly, i live at the bottom of st clair street right next to the stadium and your lucky if there 2millimetre of snow on the ground here, im sure the undersoil heating and groundstaff will have no problem getting the pitch ready :aok:

The only way it will be off is if travelling is hazardous or further forecasts of snow I would think.

Calvin
10-12-2011, 09:04 AM
No they never stayed at the Caledonian Hotel last night but did stay in Edinburgh.

They usually stay at Malmaison or am I thinking of another team?

10-12-2011, 09:05 AM
You're all over exaggerating! It's no that bad! :grr:

http://www.alaska-in-pictures.com/data/media/9/log-cabin-heavy-snow_398.jpg

Dr Jimmy
10-12-2011, 09:05 AM
game cant be off surly, i live at the bottom of st clair street right next to the stadium and your lucky if there 2millimetre of snow on the ground here, im sure the undersoil heating and groundstaff will have no problem getting the pitch ready :aok: A lot if cancellations are due to the roads, pavements etc. So if only a couple of mm then we should be ok.

10-12-2011, 09:06 AM

Its actually 7.62cm :wink:

7.2 centimeter = 2.8346456693 inches

10-12-2011, 09:06 AM
Wow your house is covered FH! :greengrin

10-12-2011, 09:09 AM
Wow your house is covered FH! :greengrin

That's just the tip of the house you're seeing. I actually live in a mansion. :wink:

10-12-2011, 09:12 AM

vercol36
10-12-2011, 09:15 AM

Oh. Well they always used to stay at Caledonian Hotel, I used to work at the Calton and we often had to borrow stuff portable heaters and things from the Caly. Often ended up sharing an elevator with players.

10-12-2011, 09:26 AM
Hibs Twitter just confirmed the game is on!

:pfgwa

10-12-2011, 09:28 AM

Don't you just hate it when people are so pedantic?

Oh and I think you meant 'affected', not 'effected'.

10-12-2011, 09:30 AM
They might normally stay, but there is a refurbishment going on that might have prevented them staying this time :wink:

FFS! One thing being in the know but being in the know about where that stinking mob rest their flea-bitten heads?
Hotel folk ken whit's gaun oan.
I'll pass on that.
Looks like the game's on and that's what matters in the thread!

10-12-2011, 09:36 AM
It was snowing in Dalkeith this morning :greengrin

10-12-2011, 09:36 AM
Come on Hibs :pfgwa:pfgwa Game on! :thumbsup:

10-12-2011, 09:39 AM
Game on, Photo of the pitch and quick report on the official website.

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20111210/rangers-game-going-ahead_2262950_2543425

vercol36
10-12-2011, 09:49 AM
"Despite the snowfall, don't fall victim to Hibernation - become part of the new Hibee Nation!"

:sick:

10-12-2011, 09:49 AM
COME ON HIBS! :flag:

10-12-2011, 09:53 AM
Oh. Well they always used to stay at Caledonian Hotel, I used to work at the Calton and we often had to borrow stuff portable heaters and things from the Caly. Often ended up sharing an elevator with players.

They normally stay at Holyroodhouse courtesy of the Queen. Hopefully flags will be flying at half mast come 2.15pm.

magpie1892
10-12-2011, 09:54 AM
"Despite the snowfall, don't fall victim to Hibernation - become part of the new Hibee Nation!"

:sick:

I think that's not bad actually. :wink:

10-12-2011, 09:59 AM
On train in from Livingston . Train full of Huns singing sectarian songs and drinking buckfast. These people have no class

10-12-2011, 10:02 AM
On train in from Livingston . Train full of Huns singing sectarian songs and drinking buckfast. These people have no class

Record them :wink:

YouTube :wink: then Polis :wink:

10-12-2011, 10:04 AM

Pull the emergency cord and look all innocent. :wink: They'll all get chucked off.

10-12-2011, 10:05 AM
Mostly Hibees on my train. :flag:

10-12-2011, 10:05 AM
On train in from Livingston . Train full of Huns singing sectarian songs and drinking buckfast. These people have no class waverley crawling with them now.

10-12-2011, 10:10 AM
Pull the emergency cord and look all innocent. :wink: They'll all get chucked off.
Rather not can't wait to get off and away from obnoxious morons. This train has non football fans on it including families.

10-12-2011, 10:11 AM
Item on website says "Please come through.........." If you live nearby don't bother???

10-12-2011, 10:17 AM
Item on website says "Please come through.........." If you live nearby don't bother???

Where? Had a quick look and can't see it.

10-12-2011, 10:40 AM
Record them :wink:

YouTube :wink: then Polis :wink:

This :aok: