View Full Version : Your most obscure Hibs game

tanfield
08-12-2011, 08:06 PM
Just wondering what has been the most obscure Hibs game you have attended.

For me it would have to be a friendly against Albion Rovers probably December 90 IIRC. 1-0 win with Houchen scoring but Goram pulling off a couple of one on one saves.

08-12-2011, 08:09 PM
I think Hibs P-P Barnsley has to be up there from a personal point of view...did get absolutely stinking drunk in the Four in Hand and Hibs Club to make up for it though! :wink:

08-12-2011, 08:13 PM
A 3-3 draw between Hibs and Aberdeen under 19s in Aberdeen. Hibs were brilliant then 2 David Grof howlers let Aberdeen back in. Allistair Stevenson was going nuts at him.

Not so much obscure football wise but remember pretty big bother before a friendly away to Telford that must rank as the most unexpected football violence I can remember.

Twa Cairpets
08-12-2011, 08:21 PM
Hibs: pre-season friendly v NEC Nijmegen last season, having arranged a meeting in Breda specifically to take in the game.

Any game: Driving 70-odd miles each way to watch Brentford v India pre-season friendly.

Series of games: Monday Luton v Tranmere, Tuesday Northwich Victoria v Hereford, Wednesday Burton Albion v Chester City.

08-12-2011, 08:26 PM
Not hibs related but a few years back me and mate was watching a pre- season game Hamilton V Halifax Town (midweek daytime game :confused:)and we were chatting so some chaps, before we knew it we were in their car and ended up going to watch Dunfermline V Bristol Rovers (One was a Rovers fan and the other a City fan :confused:).

The following Evening we went to Hibs v Bolton...... Funny though.

08-12-2011, 08:39 PM
Probably Dinaburg v Hibs in Latvia only 120 Hibs fans there and a certain Hibs fan broke a few seats when he sat on them. 80p a beer and the vodka nips came in a pint glass :greengrin. A 4 hour bus journey from Riga with plenty booze and Coleen Paterson And that boy donkey that used to be on forth fm. Great trip for meaningless game. IIRC a double from Konte and Sproule added a 3rd with an 8-0 agg win. Great trip great fun. :thumbsup:

joe t
08-12-2011, 08:41 PM
1987 Pre Season - Isle of Man XI v Hibs

Played on a public park pitch no better than leith links.

Hibs went 7 - 0 up and there was a pitch invasion.

Joy Zipper
08-12-2011, 08:51 PM
1987 Pre Season - Isle of Man XI v Hibs

Played on a public park pitch no better than leith links.

Hibs went 7 - 0 up and there was a pitch invasion.

I was there too! I remember the pitch invasion!

joe t
08-12-2011, 09:14 PM
I was there too! I remember the pitch invasion!

I am aware of that. I was with you.

I'm your brother.

fud. :confused:

08-12-2011, 09:16 PM

I'm your brother.

Best reply on here, ever! :)

08-12-2011, 09:17 PM

I'm your brother.

*******......... I just pished myself!!!

08-12-2011, 09:18 PM

I'm your brother.

For me it was a friendly in Germany against Mainz which was played in a tiny regional team's ground miles away. Les83 was asked to read the Hibs line up as the announcer was struggling with the names. Emilio Bottiglieri was in the squad to be fair.

08-12-2011, 09:20 PM

I'm your brother.

:faf::faf::faf::not worth

08-12-2011, 09:26 PM
perhaps the game that never was.......AEK v Hibs.

Flights from Zante to Athens all paid for but we never did board that plane to Athens.....

Still, 7 days wi the lads on a sunshine holiday in Laganas was fantastic :greengrin

08-12-2011, 09:29 PM

I'm your brother.

08-12-2011, 09:32 PM
Hibs v The Royal Scots in Verl Germany. Hibs won the fitba but the Jocks trounced them on the assault course.

08-12-2011, 09:36 PM

I'm your brother.

http://img839.imageshack.us/img839/7618/laughingoutloudsmiley12.gif (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/839/laughingoutloudsmiley12.gif/)

08-12-2011, 09:48 PM
Skiving off school around 2006 with my mate to go and watch a Hibs Rangers reserve game at Meadowbank as Tam McManus was playing. At half-time we were allowed to go across the road to the McDonalds and we sat and watched the second half munching a Big Mac sitting beside John Collins.

08-12-2011, 09:51 PM
I am aware of that. I was with you. I'm your brother.fud. :confused: Haha! Thats magic!In terms of obscure football...mosr Hibs games for the past season have been pretty obscure

08-12-2011, 09:56 PM

For me it was a friendly in Germany against Mainz which was played in a tiny regional team's ground miles away. Les83 was asked to read the Hibs line up as the announcer was struggling with the names. Emilio Bottiglieri was in the squad to be fair.

If I remember correctly we were asked to sing the hibs song at the end of the game using their microphone. and on the pitch.... our reward was a crate of beer:thumbsup:

Nitten Hibee
08-12-2011, 09:59 PM
would have to say watching hibs v cowdenbeath via a beam back to murrayfield ice rink was a surreal and ****** cold experience :greengrin

08-12-2011, 10:01 PM
would have to say watching hibs v cowdenbeath via a beam back to murrayfield ice rink was a surreal and ****** cold experience :greengrin

Stenhousemuir, I was lucky enough to get a ticket for the game a 4-0 win:greengrin

08-12-2011, 10:05 PM
Been to many irrelevant games but a pre season friendly away to Forces Mechanics about 30 years ago sticks in my mind.

Dr Jimmy
08-12-2011, 10:08 PM
I am aware of that. I was with you. I'm your brother.fud. :confused: Funniest post ever....take a bow son.

08-12-2011, 10:11 PM
Skiving off school around 2006 with my mate to go and watch a Hibs Rangers reserve game at Meadowbank as Tam McManus was playing. At half-time we were allowed to go across the road to the McDonalds and we sat and watched the second half munching a Big Mac sitting beside John Collins.

That's one helluva Big Mac if it had it's own seat. :greengrin

08-12-2011, 10:11 PM
1989 Hibs reserves v Rangers reserves at Jordanhill college (where I was doing my PGCE) playing field. Only notable for the fact that the trialist up front for Hibs that day was one Ronnie Rosenthal.

08-12-2011, 10:12 PM

Was he flashing his pack and telling you and your mate off for being slackers? :greengrin

08-12-2011, 10:14 PM
Probably Dinaburg v Hibs in Latvia only 120 Hibs fans there and a certain Hibs fan broke a few seats when he sat on them. 80p a beer and the vodka nips came in a pint glass :greengrin. A 4 hour bus journey from Riga with plenty booze and Coleen Paterson And that boy donkey that used to be on forth fm. Great trip for meaningless game. IIRC a double from Konte and Sproule added a 3rd with an 8-0 agg win. Great trip great fun. :thumbsup: That was a fine trip! We watched the World Cup Final in a knocking shop in Riga! The birds werenae too happy at being ignored when the 2nd half started!

Calvin
08-12-2011, 10:15 PM

I was in exactly the same boat on that day (school skiving and McDonald half-time snacks). There was a huge turnout for a reserves game that day!

I enjoyed a few years ago when Hibs Reserves played at ER and we could go along for free. One particular game I remember was v Falkirk featuring Yogi at centre half.

08-12-2011, 10:16 PM
perhaps the game that never was.......AEK v Hibs.Flights from Zante to Athens all paid for but we never did board that plane to Athens.....Still, 7 days wi the lads on a sunshine holiday in Laganas was fantastic :greengrin God bless Zero's nightclub!

08-12-2011, 10:16 PM

I'm your brother.

08-12-2011, 10:18 PM
Being allowed into the Rot Weiss Essen supporters club before the 50th anniversary match was a magic laugh too.Hibernia na Eir forming part of some newlyweds wedding photos as he was wearing a kilt is more nonsense from the pointless Intertoto Cup jaunt in Vilnius!

sadtom
08-12-2011, 10:22 PM
Must have been about '78/'79. i was about 13/14. A Hibs XI v's Coldstream on a public park. Probably about 20 Hibs fans there. I was only there cause i had gone camping down that way wi some mates.
It was all youth/fringe players with the exception of John Brownlie.
We were sitting behind the goals when Brownlie just managed to cross the ball before it crossed the bye line. His momentum sent him careering into us and landed on top of me. As he got up he 'ruffled' my hair and asked if i was ok. Later that week he left the club, so i'm pretty sure it would have been his last ever game in a Hibs shirt.

08-12-2011, 10:43 PM

I'm your brother.

:faf::faf::faf:

Dnipro

We were standing in the square. Then Old Grannys came out of nowhere picked up every empty bottle of beer that was in the square.

08-12-2011, 10:50 PM
Mainboy - were you still in the square when the young school kids came around asking us to write things in English in their jotters? Some of the things that had been written were disgusting! I remember one wee girl telling us we were like pop stars to them! How long until that opinion changed!

Kammy1875
08-12-2011, 10:53 PM

I'm your brother.

Absolutely golden reply hahahaha.

08-12-2011, 10:57 PM
Mainboy - were you still in the square when the young school kids came around asking us to write things in English in their jotters? Some of the things that had been written were disgusting! I remember one wee girl telling us we were like pop stars to them! How long until that opinion changed!

I think i was. I can't remember :wink:

Nitten Hibee
08-12-2011, 10:58 PM
Stenhousemuir, I was lucky enough to get a ticket for the game a 4-0 win:greengrin

Aw aye thats right a was only about 10 mind you :wink:

HibbyDave
09-12-2011, 11:03 AM
Deveronvale away in the seventies. It was arranged as part of the deal to get Des Bremner to hibs. I met Alan Gordon in the Gateside Inn on the way up to Banff.

I also went to see Ferranti Thistle play Partick Thistle in a Scottish Cup match at Firrhill ( think it ended 7-0 to Partick)

OxoHibby
09-12-2011, 11:16 AM
Pre season freindly Kelso United Hibs in the late 80's. Went along expecting a Hibs 11 and Alex Miller put out the entire first team. Remeber the local yams in the crowd giving Hibs loads of stick until Mickey Weir the, smallest man on the park turning round and offering a group of them out. His language was fairly impolite.

09-12-2011, 11:36 AM
Hibs U-16s 11 - 0 New Brighton - 1988

Our goalkeeper was less than 2ft tall and didn't even need to be on the pitch.

Danny_Hibee
09-12-2011, 03:32 PM
Mine would have to be the Shamrock Rovers friendly in 2009 - quite possibly the worst game of football I have ever witnessed but without a doubt the most hilarious in terms of singing and shouts from the stand. Also the very day that the infamous Nade song was invented! Went out into Dublin right after the game then straight to the airport, flight got back to Edinburgh about 7:30 and me and my mate got a taxi right to work. Safe to say it wasnt my most productive day!

09-12-2011, 03:35 PM
Marsailles 1, Hibs 2 in Brittany in Sauzee era. Fine food, wine, fillys etc.

09-12-2011, 03:38 PM
A hastily arranged friendly away at Leicester mid to late 70s. I think it was our only away win that season, 0-2 i have a feeling we were relegated if my memory is correct, and this was the same season?:confused:

Top Pans Hibby
09-12-2011, 03:57 PM
Over 30 years ago my mate sneaking into Fir Park under a fence and then having the audacity to claim a bottle of whisky because he held the lucky programme!!

Years ago watching an Airdrie supporters double decker getting the upstairs window getting kicked out from the inside by a Hibby...simply because the bus was parked outside the old Sunblest factory.

HibeeMG
09-12-2011, 04:12 PM
Macclesfield 0-0 Hibs

I was living in Bolton at the time. I'd got my days mixed up and only realised we were playing in Macclesfield at tea time. I quickly got in the car and drove there. I had to stop off at friends of the missus to find out where the ground was.

I eventually got there at half-time. Spoke to a steward who led me around the ground to the away end. Weirdly, when I got in, I bumped into Simon Stainrod who was wearing a BIG hat for some reason :confused:.

Because I'd left in a hurry and was in the car, I hadn't grabbed a coat. There was an icy wind blowing straight down the ground :idiot:.

To top it all off, the 2nd half (as with the 1st seemingly) was garbage!

E10 Rifle
09-12-2011, 04:26 PM
Stenhousemuir v Hibs to switch on their new floodlights I think. We lost 2-1..it was murder :rolleyes:

09-12-2011, 07:27 PM
Hibs v The Huns at 1pm on a Wednesday afternoon in 1974 when the Miners Strike caused power cuts that led to no floodlights.
The one and only game I ever attended with my dear old mum god rest her soul!

Newcastlehibby
09-12-2011, 08:37 PM
1999. South Shields V Hibs as we came up from the 1st division.

09-12-2011, 08:40 PM

I'm your brother.

:not worth:faf::faf::faf:

09-12-2011, 09:46 PM
A hastily arranged friendly away at Leicester mid to late 70s. I think it was our only away win that season, 0-2 i have a feeling we were relegated if my memory is correct, and this was the same season?:confused:I was at this one and you`re right it was only away win of relegation season . Jackie McNamara scored , maybe his first goal for us . Loads of snow ( Leicester were famous for inflatable pitch protector in pre -undersoil heating time but maybe didn`t use it ) . One of many games when George Best was a late calloff . We`d beaten Leicester 3v2 at ER earlier the same season with Ally MacLeod hattrick . Can remember Hibs team were on train home from Birmingham ( with sleepers while fans sat ) .

09-12-2011, 09:51 PM

I recall signing a photograph of Edwin Van Der Saar for one lucky youngster :greengrin

09-12-2011, 11:18 PM
A cold winter Monday during "The Great Adventure" we played a testimonial in Inverness. First time we played ICT, about 6 Hibs fans at the game and the start of our dreadful run of results up there. Had a great night with the team in Jonny Foxes after the game. Le God had just signed for us and the players were VERY excited about him coming. I didn't get what all the fuss was about...........I did a few weeks later!

10-12-2011, 12:20 AM
Nothing obscure about them but I got headerd in the face (by accident) when we scored in the league cup final against rangers when we scored to make it 1-1. Fell down the old terracing at firhill and broke my ankle when we beat Thistle on penalties when Leighton saved three :thumbsup:.

erin-go-bragh87
10-12-2011, 08:29 AM
Hibs v The Royal Scots in Verl Germany. Hibs won the fitba but the Jocks trounced them on the assault course.

I was there, would have been about 4 years old, my dad arranged it and played for the Royals!

Most obscure hibs game for me was a friendly in South Sheilds, hibs won about 10-0 and there was a massive ruck in the middle of the game in the club bar.

10-12-2011, 10:19 AM
I recall signing a photograph of Edwin Van Der Saar for one lucky youngster :greengrin

I know. I bought it on Ebay. :doh:

WellingtonHibby
10-12-2011, 11:02 AM
*******......... I just pished myself!!! I have never actually laughed out loud at something on here. Superb

Hillsidehibby
10-12-2011, 11:03 AM
Hibs v Buckie Thistle. Around 1992. 3-0 Hibs.

10-12-2011, 01:37 PM
I was there, would have been about 4 years old, my dad arranged it and played for the Royals!

Most obscure hibs game for me was a friendly in South Sheilds, hibs won about 10-0 and there was a massive ruck in the middle of the game in the club bar.

I was only a young squaddie myself at the time and went along with my old man who was then manager of the Hibs Shop. Enjoyed a nice meal with the team afterwards as well which was interesting due to the lads being out of the public eye and letting their hair down a bit. Must have been around 87/88.

10-12-2011, 01:47 PM
:faf::faf::faf:

Dnipro

We were standing in the square. Then Old Grannys came out of nowhere picked up every empty bottle of beer that was in the square.
And the grandpa's
You could chuck a bottle towards the bin and they'd catch them mid-air en-route. :greengrin
And take the bottles off you before you'd finished them.

Armed guard escort to the stadium was a bit bizarre though

AllyF
10-12-2011, 02:31 PM

I was in exactly the same boat on that day (school skiving and McDonald half-time snacks). There was a huge turnout for a reserves game that day!

I enjoyed a few years ago when Hibs Reserves played at ER and we could go along for free. One particular game I remember was v Falkirk featuring Yogi at centre half.

Snap... although I actually had the day off school anyway. Cracking day out - half-time MacDonalds and a photo with the failed trialist Tam as he boarded the bus back.

10-12-2011, 02:54 PM
And the grandpa's
You could chuck a bottle towards the bin and they'd catch them mid-air en-route. :greengrin
And take the bottles off you before you'd finished them.

Armed guard escort to the stadium was a bit bizarre though

H18S NX
11-12-2011, 11:31 AM
trinidad and tobago v hibernian in the carribean,january 2000 weather was brilliant:aok:

11-12-2011, 11:45 AM
Haiti National Team Vs Hibs in Port au Prince, Haiti in summer of 1981. The place was'nt even good enough to be called Third World.

Baby Doc was still in charge of the country and there was a Voodoo Witch Doctor at the match who seemed to terrify everyone.

Only one word for it --WEIRD !