View Full Version : Training Cancelled (high winds) merged

08-12-2011, 10:39 AM
Not going to be much use trying to prepare on the grass there today :rolleyes:...will keep my eye out for the odd mis hit making its way across the county

08-12-2011, 11:03 AM
Not going to be much use trying to prepare on the grass there today :rolleyes:...will keep my eye out for the odd mis hit making its way across the county

If you get down to Dunbar you might just catch a few balls.:agree:

08-12-2011, 11:16 AM
Hibs football training was stopped half way through at Ormiston in East Lothian due to "unbelievable wind and rain".

08-12-2011, 11:20 AM
jessies. its a stiff breeze nothing more. PETRIE!!!

08-12-2011, 11:25 AM
jessies. its a stiff breeze nothing more. PETRIE!!!
exactly. isnt that why he built indoor facilities. :greengrin

08-12-2011, 11:26 AM
It was actually due to unbelievable pish and wind, in terms of the squad.

Delboy4
08-12-2011, 11:36 AM
exactly. isnt that why he built indoor facilities. :greengrin

Have you seen the size of the indoor football court? 3-a-side max

08-12-2011, 11:37 AM
the safest thing to do in these winds is to stand next to a tall tree or a building with slates on the roof. Thats what im telling my jambo friends anyway :aok:

08-12-2011, 11:40 AM
the safest thing to do in these winds is to stand next to a tall tree or a building with slates on the roof. Thats what im telling my jambo friends anyway :aok:

Sound advice.

I've also heard Salisbury Crags is the safest part of Edinburgh in strong wind. :agree:

Kaiser_Sauzee
08-12-2011, 11:40 AM
"...I'd have had them train in any weather,
Hail or snow or thunderstorms I'd go...."

:cb

08-12-2011, 11:42 AM
Get them into the classroom and go through some tactics

Or use the indoor facility and do some passing exercises

We all know they need it

08-12-2011, 11:44 AM
"...I'd have had them train in any weather,
Hail or snow or thunderstorms I'd go...."

:cb

Hail or snow or gusty winds

08-12-2011, 11:46 AM
Have you seen the size of the indoor football court? 3-a-side max
Got the tour when it was opened by SL himself.

As for the size of the pitch, close quarters, defensive keep-ball might do them some bloody good.

derekHFC
08-12-2011, 12:02 PM
Players went into the gym and some are still there now.

08-12-2011, 12:02 PM
If you get down to Dunbar you might just catch a few balls.:agree:

Rod being shrewed has probably insisted players pay a deposit on balls before them being issued....:greengrin

Seriously though its not going to help preparation...its been poor to shocking this week....

08-12-2011, 12:03 PM
During rain fog or falling snow - to the bothy we will go :wink:

08-12-2011, 12:10 PM
Players went into the gym and some are still there now. :rolleyes:

:devil:

08-12-2011, 12:12 PM
Wind is bad there at the tour they said it was an oversight and were planting trees to shield the pitches. We play there on Sundays and its been pretty bad on a couple of occasions also was off on Sunday due to snow

Lendo
08-12-2011, 12:18 PM
Don't we have an indoor pitch?

08-12-2011, 12:21 PM
Rod being shrewed has probably insisted players pay a deposit on balls before them being issued....:greengrin

Seriously though its not going to help preparation...its been poor to shocking this week....

To be fair that's what big teams do

08-12-2011, 12:23 PM
As above its very small

08-12-2011, 12:23 PM
Let's sell anyone we can and get a decent indoor pitch built there. :wink:

forthhibby
08-12-2011, 12:26 PM

i'd advise them to head to the PBS :greengrin

calmacuk
08-12-2011, 12:30 PM
http://news.bbcimg.co.uk/media/images/57200000/jpg/_57200421_hibs_rain.jpg

This image from East Mains was posted on the BBC.

down the slope
08-12-2011, 12:33 PM
Always wondered why we built a training centre in one of the bleakest parts of East Lothian ?, as one who tries to golf in those parts a calm day is one to put in the calendar !. I also think we should have built a TC nearer the fan base, it is a wasted asset that could have been used by many communities if it had been built closer to home.

08-12-2011, 12:41 PM
I also think we should have built a TC nearer the fan base, it is a wasted asset that could have been used by many communities if it had been built closer to home.

We tried to but our maroon pals at City of Edinburgh Council blocked us at every turn.

Brebners Bookie
08-12-2011, 12:49 PM
Always wondered why we built a training centre in one of the bleakest parts of East Lothian ?, as one who tries to golf in those parts a calm day is one to put in the calendar !. I also think we should have built a TC nearer the fan base, it is a wasted asset that could have been used by many communities if it had been built closer to home.

Hibs wanted to but Edinburgh council couldnt find the land for them so they had to go to East Lothian. Surprise.

08-12-2011, 12:51 PM
http://news.bbcimg.co.uk/media/images/57200000/jpg/_57200421_hibs_rain.jpgThis image from East Mains was posted on the BBC. Good footage of Brian Kerr in action.

08-12-2011, 12:52 PM

I believe the club spent years working with STF to find an Edinburgh site and even had a prosposed joint venture at Craigmillar turned down.

EM was given the green light in a board meeting where the directors views were 'what we really need is to build something somewhere that will wind up DTS and the boys'

'Furthermore', said another,'We need to avoid all chances of commercial exploitation by having it nearby. We need to build it in a remote place where no one goes and make it as inaccessable to future income as possible.'

'Hear, hear' said all and the motion was carried.

08-12-2011, 12:52 PM
fair comments but the flip side is spreading the Hibs goodwill to less Hibs minded communitys so maybe increasing fanbase

08-12-2011, 12:53 PM
Good footage of Brian Kerr in action.
Not sure I can make him out.

Is that him at the back, dressed as a tree?

08-12-2011, 01:00 PM
Not sure I can make him Is that him at the back, dressed as a tree?I dunno, cannae see him now.

down the slope
08-12-2011, 01:12 PM
Wee souls, i have played in worse at Hawkhill !.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-16086959

big-mo
08-12-2011, 01:13 PM
It even made it onto the BBC national one o'clock news. Pictures of a player chasing a ball being blown across the pitch with no chance of catching it.

08-12-2011, 01:18 PM
I just hope none of them appear on Twitter at any point today. If they do I demand justice.

Petrie should have them scrubbing toilets or something in a similar vein.

08-12-2011, 01:19 PM
It even made it onto the BBC national one o'clock news. Pictures of a player chasing a ball being blown across the pitch with no chance of catching it.

So it was Brain Kerr then?

08-12-2011, 01:21 PM

Michael or Bobby?

08-12-2011, 01:31 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xoc46dzsEoU

Calvin
08-12-2011, 01:38 PM
I saw that, looks shocking! What I want to know is why were Hibs training in Edinburgh though?

08-12-2011, 01:42 PM
The clip chasing the ball was actually a wayward pass and nothing to do with the wind :wink:

08-12-2011, 01:43 PM
I saw that, looks shocking! What I want to know is why were Hibs training in Edinburgh though?

Typical BBC. Could have been worse....if they had called us Heart of Midlothian.

08-12-2011, 01:44 PM
The clip chasing the ball was actually a wayward pass and nothing to do with the wind :wink:

If you slow it down enough you might just be able to make out Ivan chasing an empty packet of cheese and onion crisps.

08-12-2011, 01:45 PM
Wimps.

Try working in it for 4 hours :greengrin

08-12-2011, 01:46 PM
Does anyone know if the Main Stand at PBS has fallen to the ground because of the wind

08-12-2011, 01:48 PM
Wimps.

Try working in it for 4 hours :greengrin

You could have just gone home with your delivery and done it tomorrow. :wink:

08-12-2011, 01:50 PM
You could have just gone home with your delivery and done it tomorrow. :wink:

Or nip intae the burds hoose for an hour or 2 :hilarious

:shhhsh!:

08-12-2011, 01:52 PM
I thought we had indoor training facilities at EM?

08-12-2011, 01:54 PM

We do and apparently we have been using it. Gym work and maybe some short sided games.

Tha Cabbage Kid
08-12-2011, 01:55 PM

thats what i thought

08-12-2011, 02:03 PM
Does anyone know if the Main Stand at PBS has fallen to the ground because of the wind

I've found two large chunks of asbestos in my back garden and I'm sure they weren't there last night. :greengrin

08-12-2011, 02:34 PM
I would keep my head down if I were you, guys - Fir Park just flew past my window...

08-12-2011, 02:45 PM
What are the odds on the floodlight pylons at the PBS being blown down?

08-12-2011, 02:51 PM

We did but that's some wind out there. :greengrin

08-12-2011, 02:56 PM
Holy moses that wind is surely picking up now. I'm tempted to tell the wife to pack away the lawnmower and come indoors. Och I'll give it another hour. :greengrin

HibeeMG
08-12-2011, 02:59 PM
All it needs is someone shouting 'FENTON...... JESUS CHRIST!' when he's running after the ball. :greengrin

08-12-2011, 03:00 PM
Theres wires dangling down from the roof and I don't even know what they are mean't for! :boo hoo:

08-12-2011, 03:03 PM
All it needs is someone shouting 'FENTON...... JESUS CHRIST!' when he's running after the ball. :greengrin

:hilarious :hilarious

08-12-2011, 03:40 PM

You do realise that that poor guy's now trying to hitch-hike back to East Mains from Rotterdam?

Kammy1875
08-12-2011, 03:41 PM
Why did they not train indoors? :confused:

08-12-2011, 03:49 PM
Wimps.

Try working
Fixed that for you :wink:

08-12-2011, 03:56 PM
Why did they not train indoors? :confused:

Where in the gym or on the pitch ?

Kammy1875
08-12-2011, 03:58 PM
Where in the gym or on the pitch ?

Yeah, in the gym or the indoor synthetic pitch?

08-12-2011, 04:01 PM

Could be Fenlon instead...Was that the Hibs player chasing after him or was it a football ?

(http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3GRSbr0EYYU)

08-12-2011, 05:24 PM
Think it was Agogo.. fastest i've seen him run, must have had the wind behind him.

HibeeMG
08-12-2011, 05:36 PM

Could be Fenlon instead...Was that the Hibs player chasing after him or was it a football ?

I shouldn't have put this on a separate thread but here you go! :greengrin

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JZK-rqUPY2g

Mikeystewart
08-12-2011, 05:49 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-16086959

08-12-2011, 06:15 PM
Made the main national news too!
No hiding place for Hibs training slackers now. :greengrin

08-12-2011, 06:37 PM
You really have to question the insanity of the decision to even try and train outdoors in these conditions. Madness.

08-12-2011, 07:53 PM
Does that mean it was taken from a recent game rather than this morning's training?

08-12-2011, 08:36 PM
Yeah, in the gym or the indoor synthetic pitch?

Well it was mentioned earlier that they were in the gym. Also mentioned the indoor pitch is very small

08-12-2011, 08:59 PM
I shouldn't have put this on a separate thread but here you go! :greengrin

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JZK-rqUPY2g

:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth

Genius!

hibby67
09-12-2011, 05:21 AM

i'll let you know there is no bleak parts in god's county.........:thumbsup:

Septimus
09-12-2011, 07:45 AM
Watched the clip here in Cyprus on BBC World news. Hope Petrie has extracted the appropriate fee for this world wide exposure.