View Full Version : Your favourite non Hibs goal of all time

goosano
04-12-2011, 12:04 PM
The death of Socrates brought back memories of his screamer against the USSR (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H8Qlsw8FtIg)

It also made me wonder what your favourite non Hibs goal of all time is

Two of mine are Argentinian

Cambiasso (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q5W6vBI3mGE)

Maradona (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xfwFg7n92Ck)-dislike the man with a passion but what a goal

04-12-2011, 12:08 PM
Albert Kidd x 2 v Hearts in the Dens title clincher (for Celtc)

04-12-2011, 12:09 PM
Any goal against Hearts but the one that sprung to mind was Van Baston's volley in the Final of the European Championship versus Russia (may have still been the Soviet Union at the time).

Best nearly goal, Pele versus Uraguay in the quarter or semi of the Mexico WC where he dummied the keeper but put the ball past the far post.

HibeeMackenzie
04-12-2011, 12:17 PM
Stevie Gerrard's header in the 2005 champions league final, kickstarted the greatest comeback in history

hibsdaft70
04-12-2011, 12:18 PM
Dave Narey's "toe poke" v Brazil, Spain 1982. Jimmy Hill.......You're a poof!

http://bit.ly/4vJAj8

04-12-2011, 12:19 PM
Archie Gemmil against Holland in 1978.

millarco
04-12-2011, 12:20 PM
Zidane at Hampden, beautiful strike: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E3BLrgvgHnE

04-12-2011, 12:20 PM
Roberto Mancinis backheeled volley direct from a corner while playing for Lazio. A thing of beauty.

goosano
04-12-2011, 12:26 PM
Roberto Mancinis backheeled volley direct from a corner while playing for Lazio. A thing of beauty.

You mean this (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vHbTHaJIM4U)-indeed!

Big Ed
04-12-2011, 12:27 PM
Dennis Bergkamp's goal at St. James' Park when he receives the ball on the edge of the box, deftly sends the ball one way whilst going the other; leaving his marker before sliding the ball past the keeper.
Genius. :aok:

04-12-2011, 12:30 PM
certainly NOT my favourite, but hows about this crackin goal for FC Liege in 1989

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4vHS_aIKHVw

a (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4vHS_aIKHVw)gainst US unfortunately :boo hoo:

04-12-2011, 12:34 PM
Zola for Chelsea FA cup early nineties forget who against. Kinda ack heel flick from a corner into the top right.

Edit - Norwich. Just watched it in a Zola compilation on youtube. Top twenty tremendous finishes. Top of the pile.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rkJOWuP8VeE&feature=related

Every one a winner

Rougier45
04-12-2011, 12:37 PM
Marradona V the auld enemy or gasgoine against us

04-12-2011, 12:42 PM
Archie Gemmil against Holland in 1978.

Closely followed for me by Kenny Dalglish v Spain at hampden (84 ish?)

then

Kenny Dalglish V Wales (at Anfield in '77) "and it's Argentina, here we come!"

BurghHibby
04-12-2011, 12:43 PM
George Best for Man U against Spurs when he lobs Pat Jennings and half the Spurs defence into the far top corner

04-12-2011, 12:51 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uTYq9PEJkC4

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eENUIMGq0LE
Canny whack these two

bringbackbenny
04-12-2011, 01:10 PM
Loving this thread, some real beauties :thumbsup:

How this one? Trevor Sinclairs overhead kick from outside the box QPR vs Barnsley 1997

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y2KeX7nhZRY

04-12-2011, 01:27 PM
Stevie Gerrard's header in the 2005 champions league final, kickstarted the greatest comeback in history

:agree: Beat me to it!

04-12-2011, 01:38 PM
Best goal ? No contest , each and EVERY goal scored against the hertz irrespective of which team score it, even own goals count.

Mark79
04-12-2011, 01:57 PM
This one

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XsZkCFoqSBs&feature=youtube_gdata_player

04-12-2011, 02:03 PM
Di Canio's volley for The Hammers v Wimbledon.

04-12-2011, 02:04 PM
This one

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XsZkCFoqSBs&feature=youtube_gdata_player

Dennis Bergkamp, Dennis Bergkamp, Dennis Bergkaaaaamp!

West Upper
04-12-2011, 02:04 PM
Steven Gerrard against West Ham in the FA Cup Final.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IXUWFIVNqpY

04-12-2011, 02:05 PM
Neil McCann scoring a beauty against Hearts for Dundee in one of the cups, and Les Ferdinand scoring a beauty against Blackburn for QPR.

04-12-2011, 02:23 PM
Ernie Hunt volley for Cov City v Everton in about 1970. Ball knocked up from free kick outside box two-footed by Willie Carr. Controversial at the time.

04-12-2011, 02:28 PM

99 Champions League Final. I hate Man Utd. But those 2 goals were brilliant. :not worth

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XuPrhvBP0B0&feature=related

Mikeystewart
04-12-2011, 02:47 PM
Not a big Man United fan but always thought this goal from Rooney against Newcastle United in his first season at Old Trafford was a beauty.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UH2Szm9Ert0

CFC
04-12-2011, 02:47 PM
Ironically enough its a Socrates goal v Italy 1982. Zico gets the ball with his back to goal near the halfway, at this point there are about 8 Italians behind the ball, he turns, beats a couple of players and runs toward goal. At this point Socrates makes a superb diagonal run and Zico picks him out in stride with the best through ball you have ever seen in your life. Socrates then proceeds to beat Zoff on his near post. The whole goal is a thing of beauty.

04-12-2011, 02:51 PM
Thierry Henry ( How can i possibly pick one) The 'wassup' goal v Man u.

Nuff said really.

04-12-2011, 03:01 PM
Ryan Giggs' goal against Arsenal in the FA Cup in 1998.

kentao
04-12-2011, 03:03 PM
Loved the Rooney one against Newcastle, But my all time favorite. Eric Cantona against Sunderland with that "chip".

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WmDTh-hlL8A

(http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WmDTh-hlL8A)

04-12-2011, 03:03 PM
Ryan Giggs' goal against Arsenal in the FA Cup in 1998.

Screamer :agree:

Bergkamp missed a penalty in the last minute of normal time to win it tae:rolleyes:

04-12-2011, 03:04 PM
Speaking of Bergkamp, 'That' goal against Newcastle.

Nae other player would have the audacity to try that.

Vintage vintage Bergkamp.

CFC
04-12-2011, 03:06 PM
Ryan Giggs' goal against Arsenal in the FA Cup in 1998. 1999.

04-12-2011, 03:07 PM

Some Man u fan he is :greengrin

04-12-2011, 03:13 PM
The first palace goal at old trafford other night, falkirk will be able to describe it....... Different class.

04-12-2011, 03:14 PM

Sorry, I actually pressed submit before I was ready. I mean to say "in 1998/1999 season".

Trying to watch the tennis at the same time as this, which isn't easy!

Of course, I knew it was 1999. :wink:

04-12-2011, 03:14 PM
The first palace goal at old trafford other night, falkirk will be able to describe it....... Different class.

Speculative.

04-12-2011, 03:15 PM

:agree: Darren Ambrose take a boo son.

04-12-2011, 03:18 PM
Speculative.

I agree and so were all 6 city goals at old trafford.

04-12-2011, 03:19 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5WtvgGFqG4M

04-12-2011, 03:27 PM
http://www.youtube.com/embed/bEB2lVaUNmI

arsenal winning the league at man utd

04-12-2011, 03:30 PM
I agree and so were all 6 city goals at old trafford.

04-12-2011, 03:31 PM
Many of the aforementioned are on my list particularly Socrates v USSR '82 (the ITV commentary still gives me goosebumps)

This from Bergkamp v Argentina in '98 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XsZkCFoqSBs

(http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XsZkCFoqSBs)And , if nowt else, proving I can cast an objective eye - Gascoigne v Scotland '96, at once gutted and enthralled. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g0NT6aUwN8c

04-12-2011, 03:35 PM
http://www.youtube.com/embed/bEB2lVaUNmI

arsenal winning the league at man utd

Dinnae even have tae click oan the link.

Sylvain Wiltord :not worth:not worth

Hibbie_Cameron
04-12-2011, 04:20 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tCNSS2o9Gyg

:top marks:top marks

Love the Green
04-12-2011, 04:23 PM
Ya Ya sticking it in the United net in last years FA cup semi

shut them right up

"keep the faith"

04-12-2011, 04:26 PM
McFaddens goal against France.

04-12-2011, 04:30 PM
There's far too many to choose from and that makes it virtually impossible to say which is my favourite non hibs goal.

One I did particularly like however was

Netherlands - Argentina: Bergkamp Goal 1998

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XsZkCFoqSBs

Brilliant first touch and a well taken goal.

04-12-2011, 04:58 PM
Toss up between;

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-J_DwsO9bIY

and;

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zO9f_2xOJXA

heidtheba
04-12-2011, 05:06 PM
George Weah doing this
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5UlPrWnXlqs&feature=related

(http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5UlPrWnXlqs&feature=related)

04-12-2011, 05:10 PM
You mean this (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vHbTHaJIM4U)-indeed! Thanks for that...well found!

hibsfan7
04-12-2011, 05:16 PM
Carlos alberto in the 1970 world cup final

04-12-2011, 06:07 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BfB2wYdmiPE

Was in Ayr on a training course when this was on - sat in a bar with a whisky, and two yams also sitting at the bar to laugh at when it unfolded.

None of the five are brilliant goals, but not many other goals have given me as much satisfaction as these.

:brokenyam:

Kammy1875
04-12-2011, 06:12 PM
Screamer :agree:

Bergkamp missed a penalty in the last minute of normal time to win it tae:rolleyes:

:agree: That match was on ESPN classic yesterday :hibees

CFC
04-12-2011, 06:19 PM
Sorry, I actually pressed submit before I was ready. I mean to say "in 1998/1999 season".Trying to watch the tennis at the same time as this, which isn't easy! Of course, I knew it was 1999. :wink:Never in doubt, was just being pedantic FH :greengrin: That was a great goal (and game).

04-12-2011, 06:29 PM
Bergkamp, at St James' was a great goal but for me this just beats it...

As much as I hate this player what a goal, Zlatan while playing for Ajax beats the NAC defence and keeper while making it look as though he wasn't even trying... Wonderful goal.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G_lqMi4ykxg

TheMentalHibees
04-12-2011, 07:07 PM

Steady on.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uh6vgkgQ2Ww

Tha Cabbage Kid
04-12-2011, 07:45 PM
one of the most CLASS (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZgqsaDnsEq8) goals ive seen

:top marks:top marks:top marks:top marks:top marks

dar
04-12-2011, 07:48 PM
Denis Law's goal v Man Utd :greengrin

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aXpF2v0Kgvk

04-12-2011, 07:51 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CMYXB15i73c

So good they named him twice :not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth

04-12-2011, 07:52 PM
Platini goal in the European Championships in the 80's. I think it was against Portugal. I'm sure it ended 3-2. The most fantastic game ever

04-12-2011, 08:01 PM
Some crackers there and some crackers here too :greengrin

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m3jVh_IJwO0

CFC
04-12-2011, 09:06 PM
Ironically enough its a Socrates goal v Italy 1982. Zico gets the ball with his back to goal near the halfway, at this point there are about 8 Italians behind the ball, he turns, beats a couple of players and runs toward goal. At this point Socrates makes a superb diagonal run and Zico picks him out in stride with the best through ball you have ever seen in your life. Socrates then proceeds to beat Zoff on his near post. The whole goal is a thing of beauty.

Had to give this a wee bump, Here it is:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ck6swtUa1Ok

04-12-2011, 09:23 PM
An absoulute raker.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pl0LHM-33Iohttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pl0LHM-33Iohttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pl0LHM-33Iohttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pl0LHM-33Io]

Also the Faddy goal against France. Obviously not the best goal in the world, but it felt like it at the time. :agree:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2nmtB7rBs3M

04-12-2011, 09:29 PM
In response to above post re: James McFadden.

Agree not the greatest goal but the commentary does it for me in this clip. 45 seconds onwards. :hilarious

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=23W4ZVv7MXA#!

04-12-2011, 09:46 PM
In response to above post re: James McFadden.

Agree not the greatest goal but the commentary does it for me in this clip. 45 seconds onwards. :hilarious

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=23W4ZVv7MXA#!

"I don't belieeeeeve it!" :greengrin

Purple & Green
04-12-2011, 09:48 PM
Van Bastens winner v Germany in the Euro 88 semi final, midweek before he hit *that* strike v Russia in the final:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NoRqbDYzFBw - 5 and a half minutes in.

7Hero
04-12-2011, 09:53 PM
My favourite goal other than Scotland (mcfadden in Paris)has to be del piero semi final world cup against Germany...absolute peach and secured a world cup final place....

04-12-2011, 10:19 PM
Got to be this for me http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WmECazR7jyA

04-12-2011, 11:41 PM
Got to be this for me http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WmECazR7jyA

Coops was an absolute magician :agree:

05-12-2011, 11:34 AM
Any goal I score!

05-12-2011, 12:02 PM
Too difficult...however Id have to have Kenny Dalglish's goal against chelski when the reds took the double in 86 up there. Chests it down and banjo...have that ya bass.

Ian Rush also scored some fekers....

And whislt recent ,makes it no less braw...McFadden versus France with unlimited beer, watching the game in Spain on hols. ***** magic it was.
(Not forgetting the Don's goal against england at Wembley).

See...theres much much brawness before we even get to the world of seven nil and six two :greengrin

05-12-2011, 12:11 PM
George Weah's mazy dribble from a corner he collected in his own box, thing is, he used to do this every week!

Also a mention of Roberto Carlos' weird "bending outside of the boot, going towards the corner flag then bends back on itself" freekick against France circa 97/98?, still can't work out how he done that or how it went in?!!!

stu in nottingham
05-12-2011, 12:55 PM
That Eddie Gray goal.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ttftahFMteY

Hibs On Tour
06-12-2011, 09:27 AM
Far too many candidates as to what is the best ever goal but then again the question wasn't that was it? :wink:

My favourite goals would include the likes of Berkamp's round-the-defender-the-other-way one, Van Basten's in the Euro final, Tardelli's in the WC final of 82 [Italy v Brazil semi is the best game of football I think I have ever seen] but for me it'd be Dave Narey's goal v Brazil in the group stages of 82. 'Wee' Scotland playing the best team in the world back then and standing tall - for a while at least :agree:

Just about wrecked DaveF's living room when the ball hit the back of the net with us all jumping around like 12-13 yr old maddo's but was just one of those beautiful youthful moments where you really *do* think - even if just for a short while - that anything is possible :greengrin