03-12-2011, 09:31 PM
Sad news.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/16017071.stm

03-12-2011, 09:36 PM
Sad news.

Indeed. A wonderful footballer who apparently smoked a fag at half time in games!

03-12-2011, 09:39 PM
Fond memories of Socrates and the Brazilian team.

03-12-2011, 09:44 PM
A wonderful footballer, the like of which we don't see much of in the modern game.

Hope he can get through this.

And what a handle!..
Socrates Brasileiro Sampaio de Sousa Vieira de Oliveira

7 Hills
03-12-2011, 10:05 PM
One of my favourite players - Ever! The 1982 Brazilian side must be The Greatest Ever International Team NOT to win the World Cup! Get well soon, Socrates!

03-12-2011, 11:24 PM
Blummin BBC amateurs once again - can't even get the city name right "Sao Paolo" indeed later in the text.
Next they'll be telling us the capital is Rio (again)!

He was actually a doctor you know. Quality name but you do find them sprinkled here and there my wife's uncle is called Archimedes (Arquimedes in Portuguese)

AK86
04-12-2011, 12:51 AM
He was nearly as good as Sauzee :wink:

He was the coolest dude i ever saw play fitba. Master of his craft Would stroll :agree: into any all time world 11
good luck to him

SurferRosa
04-12-2011, 01:19 AM
As has been said, integral part of the greatest team never tae win the world cup......Brazil of `82..:not worth

Wonderful player.....Thoughts and prayers are with ye, get well soon son....

04-12-2011, 08:43 AM
http://www.caughtoffside.com/2011/12/04/brazilian-legend-socrates-dies-57-year-old-passes-away-in-sao-paulo-hospital/ Passed away sadly

R.I.P Socrates

04-12-2011, 09:18 AM
http://www.caughtoffside.com/2011/12/04/brazilian-legend-socrates-dies-57-year-old-passes-away-in-sao-paulo-hospital/ Passed away sadly

R.I.P Socrates

Sad week for football.

04-12-2011, 09:23 AM
R.i.p.

04-12-2011, 09:27 AM
The 82 world cup was the first one that i remember watching most of the games (first one to have every game shown on TV perhaps?), and he and his team lit it up. The Italy game was football at its best.

RIP.

04-12-2011, 09:33 AM
A wee bit too early for me to remember his playing days but the footage I've seen of him since then definitely puts him right up their.

Apart from Pele his is the name that first comes to mind when thinking about Brazilian superstars (and that itself is quite a big thing)

04-12-2011, 09:35 AM
The 82 world cup was the first one that i remember watching most of the games (first one to have every game shown on TV perhaps?), and he and his team lit it up. The Italy game was football at its best.

RIP.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qgRpRTbk1oo

04-12-2011, 09:43 AM
He was a big fan of Sir Albert too.

04-12-2011, 10:43 AM
Saddened that he was before my time, from videos I've seen he really did seem like an incredible player, another footballing legend lost, R.I.P Socrates.

04-12-2011, 11:09 AM
Sorry to take this in a 'man love' direction but how damn handsome was he? If Mrs Bollah had run off with Mr Socrates i would have shrugged my shoulders and said "fair play, sensible decision".

04-12-2011, 11:20 AM
:agree:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qgRpRTbk1oo Great footage. Only gripe is the clip doesnt show the initial build up of the first Rossi goal...an Italian defender retrieves it from his own bye line and then they pass it through the entire defence before the footage picks up in midfield. Brilliant team goal and just as good as that Jairzinho goal in the 70 Final that you see so replayed so often.

oldbiker
04-12-2011, 11:47 AM
sad just really sad

04-12-2011, 01:05 PM
Great footage. Only gripe is the clip doesnt show the initial build up of the first Rossi goal...an Italian defender retrieves it from his own bye line and then they pass it through the entire defence before the footage picks up in midfield. Brilliant team goal and just as good as that Jairzinho goal in the 70 Final that you see so replayed so often.

Exactly.

That was a top notch Brazilian side which tells you just how good Italy were, beating both the Yellow Hibernian and the West Germans to win the tournament. What a lot of people don't get is that when you like at things like Altobelli's celebration after scoring against the Germans in the final what was coming out there was 12 years of waiting to pay back the 1970 final footage which was repeated endlessly. The tournament triumph of Paolo Rossi - who else scores a hat-trick against Brazil? - must be one of the World Cup's all time enigmatic stories.

Socrates' goal in that game was a thing of beauty. Outstanding player.

04-12-2011, 01:11 PM
A true footballing great from possibly the best team ever. RIP

Sodje_18
04-12-2011, 01:42 PM
Socrates died age 57 of an intestinal infection today. R.I.P to a true great :not worth:not worth:not worth

Apologies if this has been posted elsewhere

04-12-2011, 01:49 PM
:boo hoo: An absolute hero of mine. I sat enthralled in front of the TV as a 15 year old watching his performances in the 1982 world cup. This was a time when the only live games on tv were the Scottish Cup Final, European Cup Final and Scotland v England so every world cup game was unmissable. Bossed the midfield alongside Zico and Falcao.

RIP to an all time great :not worth

04-12-2011, 01:58 PM
A brilliant player, and also a great campaigner to try and clear up the corruption in Brazilian football. He will be very sadly missed, RIP.

04-12-2011, 03:16 PM
A great player in a great team. When you look at the ordinary teams who have won the WC in the last few tournaments, with the possible exeption of the current Spanish side who won a poor world cup. The Brazil team of 82 would have wiped the floor with the lot of them. Mind you the French team of circa the same time were pretty damn good too.

Anyway ..... Farewell to a legend, who remembered what so many have forgotten ...... That playing football should be fun.

R.I.P Socrates.

Sorry about the smily at the top, cant get rid of it !

04-12-2011, 03:38 PM
Socrates Brasileiro Sampaio de Sousa Vieira de Oliveira that's some name:confused:

04-12-2011, 07:56 PM
Socrates played in the first ever football game I watched (albeit on telly); Brazil v Scotland in the 1982 World Cup. What a team they had. I remembered being mesmerised by the Brazilians and was hooked on football henceforth. RIP Socrates.

04-12-2011, 08:47 PM
Sad news. Just realised I'm older than him. That's pretty sad too.