View Full Version : Shambles tonight

woody47
02-12-2011, 09:25 PM
It was just as well there was not a real danger in our stand tonight as NO ONE around where I was standing could make out one word on the pathetic excuse for a tannoy system. 'Mumble mumble mumble' then we see Motherwell fans starting to leave. Still had no idea what was going on. If that had been a real fire I doubt we would have known a bl00dy thing until it was too late.
As for handing out tickets at the end. FFS it was a free for all with a couple of guys backed into a corner handing out tickets.
Organisational skills - NONE

stuartmcdee
02-12-2011, 09:32 PM
It was just as well there was not a real danger in our stand tonight as NO ONE around where I was standing could make out one word on the pathetic excuse for a tannoy system. 'Mumble mumble mumble' then we see Motherwell fans starting to leave. Still had no idea what was going on. If that had been a real fire I doubt we would have known a bl00dy thing until it was too late.
As for handing out tickets at the end. FFS it was a free for all with a couple of guys backed into a corner handing out tickets.
Organisational skills - NONE

I have to say well done to the balloon that set off the smoke canister as the stewards were telling fans there was a fire smart thinking i think not

02-12-2011, 09:35 PM
I have to say well done to the balloon that set off the smoke canister as the stewards were telling fans there was a fire smart thinking i think not

It was obvious it was a flare, not a fire.

02-12-2011, 09:41 PM
Agreed

Me, my dad and my sister had no idea what was going on, embarrassing.

02-12-2011, 09:41 PM
It was chaos. The tannoy was a joke. The pushing and shoving to get a ticket for rearranged game was a joke.

hiberactive
02-12-2011, 09:42 PM
Saw the match inspector being interviewed on sky and he said there was no fire but there was smoke coming from the electrics in one of the generators operating one of the flloodlights.I would have thought there would be some kind of back up system in place???

02-12-2011, 09:44 PM
The evacuation of the stand started before the smoke canister was set off. No idea what tonight was all about but there were a few folk smoking in the toilets at half time.

Having said that, about half way through the first half, I could smell burning plastic.

But yes, Motherwell as an organisation tonight were an utter shambles.

cam75
02-12-2011, 09:50 PM
Did same thing not happen at *********** last season anyone remember who they were playing ?

cam75
02-12-2011, 09:51 PM
Swine castle that's ment to be

stuartmcdee
02-12-2011, 09:55 PM

So this makes it ok then !!:confused:

02-12-2011, 09:55 PM
Just back and what a shambles.

We had to queue to get OUT the stand and the end. The people handing out the vouchers ran out, and so we've come away without anything(Points included).

Good numbers of fans through for Paddy's first game in charge, and nice touch when he led the Team out to applaud the fans.

02-12-2011, 09:58 PM
So this makes it ok then !!:confused:

It makes your point a classic hibs.net over-reaction.

02-12-2011, 10:00 PM
Total farce as to the tannoy message relayed to the away fans,could not hear a word of what was said.

On leaving the ground the aggressive behaviour of the police was a massive overreaction.

Policeman says "There was a fire in the away stand and we have to get the stand evacuated"
Must be some fire officer ah said to him, Take it all they people looking out the windows are still trapped then ?
Just move yer erse and dont be so cheeky he replied.

02-12-2011, 10:02 PM
what irriates me is seeing wee idiots walking away chuffed to bits that they've taken 5 tickets for the replay and turning to see a couple of older blokes quietly complaining about not getting a ticket themselves. really ticked me off, didn't even get a ticket myself. :grr:

Makaveli
02-12-2011, 10:05 PM
The police are a joke. That was them evacuating us? Nobody knew what was going on until the home fans started leaving. The tannoy was inaudible and the pigs were standing about picking their erses!

If there had been a real fire we'd all be deid with them in charge!

02-12-2011, 10:07 PM
Totally agree about the tanoy system. They should not be allowed to open the stand again untill an audable system is in place. Only people with smart phones seemed to know what was going on. What would have happened if there had been a serious fire and supporters were instructed to leave the stand via the pitch? Full marks to Motherwell for handing out vouchers but no points for leaving a young girl struggling on her own handing them out to a far from happy visiting support as they left the stand.

02-12-2011, 10:14 PM
Be as well not having a tannoy , even if the whole crowd went silent you could not make out what was being said , thing is what if that was a REAL emergency ?, especially as not all exits were open in the away stand .

Pish stadium , pish set-up , my kids words to me on leaving (without the sweary's)

BurghHibby
02-12-2011, 10:14 PM
Was in the upper tier for the first half and vaugely made out out tannoy announcement for Constable Innes to report to police control room which was obviously a coded message.
Moved to lower tier for second half and the tannoy was unintelligible, not just me as nobody had a clue what was said or knew what was going on, eventually sussed when saw 'Well fans leaving.
Now having a working and clearly audible tannoy system is part of the safety certificate requirements that all clubs must have.
Questions should be asked of Motherwell why I and nobody around me heard the fire alarm or Public Address Voice Evacuation (PAVE) system, these are basic safety systems that should be operational.
BTW I did smell smoke during the first half.
Hibs were well worth their lead and wee Lewis was outstanding.

02-12-2011, 10:15 PM
Total farce as to the tannoy message relayed to the away fans,could not hear a word of what was said.

On leaving the ground the aggressive behaviour of the police was a massive overreaction.

Policeman says "There was a fire in the away stand and we have to get the stand evacuated"
Must be some fire officer ah said to him, Take it all they people looking out the windows are still trapped then ?
Just move yer erse and dont be so cheeky he replied.

He had a point but that was funny.

At The Edge
02-12-2011, 10:16 PM
Got to agree on the PA system they have in place, its a joke, even at the start when there was a minutes applause for Gary Speed, i only knew about it as the players had went to the centre circle, then spent 5 minutes working out the team when they kicked off.
Never got a ticket for the replay, had no idea what was going on, only saw one guy handing out tickets and the mob round him was unreal, if i go to the replay i hope its only a tenner again.
i did wonder why they kept doing the hi-di-hi tone during the game.

Non shambles- the excellent Hibs support :thumbsup:

02-12-2011, 10:19 PM
Fir Park is a disgrace of a stadium :agree:

02-12-2011, 10:22 PM
Didn't see anybody handing out tickets or refunds. Should be free admission for everyone for the replay (which, knowing our luck, will be a 4-0 defeat)

02-12-2011, 10:24 PM

And how were folk supposed to know that? Smoke belching out as the fans were leaving

02-12-2011, 10:41 PM
And how were folk supposed to know that? Smoke belching out as the fans were leaving

Were you there Johnny? I wasnt particularly near the flare but it was obvious it was a flare.

02-12-2011, 10:55 PM
Were you there Johnny? I wasnt particularly near the flare but it was obvious it was a flare.

I was there yes but whether it was a flare or a gas canister isn't really the point. The stand was being emptied due to a fire in a floodlight. Not everyone knew that but some did and the belching smoke could easily have created a panic. I was quite near where it was set off and some youngsters who were filing down the stairs looked really worried.

02-12-2011, 11:21 PM
I was there yes but whether it was a flare or a gas canister isn't really the point. The stand was being emptied due to a fire in a floodlight. Not everyone knew that but some did and the belching smoke could easily have created a panic. I was quite near where it was set off and some youngsters who were filing down the stairs looked really worried.

I disagree, it was a flare, it was obviously a flare, and almost every person there knew (or should have knew) it was a flare.

02-12-2011, 11:24 PM
I disagree, it was a flare, it was obviously a flare, and almost every person there knew (or should have knew) it was a flare.

That's quite an assumption to make! There were kids there, do you reckon they knew or should have known? Do you reckon that as the news filtered through that there had been a fire that the smoke might just have raised concerns?

Johnny0762
02-12-2011, 11:34 PM
I'm uploading a video from my phone to youtube (it's taking ages) which I shot as we waited for the players to come out for the second half which shows the confusion as the muffled tannoy announcement was served, and as the crowd eventually start to file outside.

There was a loud bang, like a loud firework which sounded as though it came from up behind us. Minutes later several fire appliances could be seen descending on the ground. I realised then there was a serious incident going on and was very surprised that the match wasn't abandoned before then. It just felt so unusual to see all the blue lights converging on the stadium as play raged on.

Half time came and it seemed like it was taking ages for the teams to come back on to the pitch. I then seen one Hibs player come out the tunnel and look around only to disappear back out of view again, and then I knew for definite that something wasn't right.

The crowd were just getting tazzed up again for the second half with a loud chorus of "Bring on the Hibees", then confusion reigned with the muffled tannoy announcement. It was a few minutes before we realised the Motherwell fans were leaving and that confirmed to us that the game had been abandoned.

I witnessed some poor behaviour tonight from a few very drunk PITAs. One guy couldn't hold his head up straight as the match kicked off and he was eventually escorted out of the stand followed my another a few minutes later from the same seating area. Some fans in SECT43 still singing "for we will be mastered, by no orange *******...." then the same fans singing "we are not sectarian". Come on lads, wise up. Drunk idiots were poking people in the face with flag sticks and had to be told to ******* stop it.

The flare was lit by the laddies in the SECT43 crowd and they all but lamped a steward as he attempted to clear the area where the flare was lying. They stole his cap from his head. Others were beckoning aggressively in his face.

I think I'll delete the pics I took of all this happening.:cb

Outside in the concourse there were idiots shouting and swearing and hassling one older steward handing out tickets. It was disorganised chaos fuelled by idiots. I told one drunk Hibs fan that if he did not get his hand away from the pocket area of my jacket that I would knock him the **** out.

Argylehibby
02-12-2011, 11:49 PM

Well that's OK then isn't it! The old codgers with asma that could hardly breathe or the young kids who dont know the difference between a flare and a fart really shouldnt be there if they dont know the difference or cant handle the situation eh? IF that had been a real fire tonight do you honestly think that setting off that flare was going to help anyone? The muppet that set it off was a disgrace and cr@p excuses like this are as pathetic as the @rse that set it off. I knew what it was, the 67 year old guy with me knew what was hampering his breathing and the parents of the young kids that were frightened by it knew what it was too. It was still stupid to set it off and the only thing that is remotely less sensible than setting the flare off is trying to defend it.

02-12-2011, 11:53 PM
I'm uploading a video from my phone to youtube (it's taking ages) which I shot as we waited for the players to come out for the second half which shows the confusion as the muffled tannoy announcement was served, and as the crowd eventually start to file outside.

There was a loud bang, like a loud firework which sounded as though it came from up behind us. Minutes later several fire appliances could be seen descending on the ground. I realised then there was a serious incident going on and was very surprised that the match wasn't abandoned before then. It just felt so unusual to see all the blue lights converging on the stadium as play raged on.

Half time came and it seemed like it was taking ages for the teams to come back on to the pitch. I then seen one Hibs player come out the tunnel and look around only to disappear back out of view again, and then I knew for definite that something wasn't right.

The crowd were just getting tazzed up again for the second half with a loud chorus of "Bring on the Hibees", then confusion reigned with the muffled tannoy announcement. It was a few minutes before we realised the Motherwell fans were leaving and that confirmed to us that the game had been abandoned.

I witnessed some poor behaviour tonight from a few very drunk PITAs. One guy couldn't hold his head up straight as the match kicked off and he was eventually escorted out of the stand followed my another a few minutes later from the same seating area. Some fans in SECT43 still singing "for we will be mastered, by no orange *******...." then the same fans singing "we are not sectarian". Come on lads, wise up. Drunk idiots were poking people in the face with flag sticks and had to be told to ******* stop it.

The flare was lit by the laddies in the SECT43 crowd and they all but lamped a steward as he attempted to clear the area where the flare was lying. They stole his cap from his head. Others were beckoning aggressively in his face.

Outside in the concourse there were idiots shouting and swearing and hassling one older steward handing out tickets. It was disorganised chaos fuelled by idiots. I told one drunk Hibs fan that if he did not get his hand away from the pocket area of my jacket that I would knock him the **** out.

I was right in where the SMOKEBOMB was set off and it was just a bit of fun. Some people need to chill.

02-12-2011, 11:54 PM

I was right behind whoever set it off and it is just a bit of fun. Jumping up and down in the smoke adds to an already fun atmosphere.

hibeeliam
02-12-2011, 11:56 PM

It was "No jambo *******" by the way. that's not sectarian is it?
Don't blame all bad behaviour on Sect43, we can't choose who sits next to us or among us.

Johnny0762
03-12-2011, 12:12 AM
It was "No jambo *******" by the way. that's not sectarian is it?
Don't blame all bad behaviour on Sect43, we can't choose who sits next to us or among us.

No offence buddy but SECT43 invites people, publicly, to come sit with you, as did I, for the singing. Others will confirm that a large section of the crowd sitting near me sang "orange ". I have no doubt many sang "Jambo ", but I know what I heard.

That said, I love the sterling work you guys are doing to inject some energetic enthusiasm into our matches, but I heard what I heard, and it's going to be difficult for a group to distance themselves from people whom they invite to sit with them.

And the smoke flare was set off on the very same rows of seats which was displaying the SECT43 banners (very nice by the way).

The video doesn't tell lies. :wink:

http://www.youtube.com/user/OldGuyFaeRez?feature=mhee

hibeeliam
03-12-2011, 12:18 AM
No offence buddy but SECT43 invites people, publicly, to come sit with you, as did I, for the singing. Others will confirm that a large section of the crowd sitting near me sang "orange ". I have no doubt many sang "Jambo ", but I know what I heard.

That said, I love the sterling work you guys are doing to inject some energetic enthusiasm into our matches, but I heard what I heard, and it's going to be difficult for a group to distance themselves from people whom they invite to sit with them.

And the smoke flare was set off on the very same rows of seats which was displaying the SECT43 banners (very nice by the way).

The video doesn't tell lies. :wink:

http://www.youtube.com/user/OldGuyFaeRez?feature=mhee

Cheers for joining in with the singing.
As for the "orange/jambo *******" bit of the song. we have advised people to sing either "jambo/rangers" as we want to distance ourselves from the sectarian ***** that the OF do. However we can only ask people, we cannot force them. The group around me sung "jambo" at the end of the row, opposite to you.

03-12-2011, 12:19 AM
Jambo was sung by all those around me.

Johnny0762
03-12-2011, 12:25 AM
So, as you can see, there were people choking on the smoke, there was confusion as to what was happening, and for people with kids, or old gents exiting down the staircase to be told there's a fire somewhere in the stadium, after watching the fire service arrive at the ground, then see the smoke from the flare, it could have been quite worrying for them. I'm not too old to understand the reckless drunken behaviour on away trips, I was a young mental Hibee myself some time ago, but just saying, you know?

Johnny0762
03-12-2011, 12:30 AM
Cheers for joining in with the singing.
As for the "orange/jambo *******" bit of the song. we have advised people to sing either "jambo/rangers" as we want to distance ourselves from the sectarian ***** that the OF do. However we can only ask people, we cannot force them. The group around me sung "jambo" at the end of the row, opposite to you.

Cheeky git, thanks for joining in..... :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

I was startin songs when the away fans at Easter Road were all wearing bright yellow macintoshes lol. You remember that? Ano ye don't.:cb:pfgwa

03-12-2011, 12:39 AM
So, as you can see, there were people choking on the smoke, there was confusion as to what was happening, and for people with kids, or old gents exiting down the staircase to be told there's a fire somewhere in the stadium, after watching the fire service arrive at the ground, then see the smoke from the flare, it could have been quite worrying for them. I'm not too old to understand the reckless drunken behaviour on away trips, I was a young mental Hibee myself some time ago, but just saying, you know?

I can understand some people didn't like seeing colourful smoke, but it was just a load of fun, and a lot of us hadn't drunk at all.

Todays trip would've been **** normally, but the atmosphere made it great, i hope smoke bombs are taken more to add to the fun tbh.

hibeeliam
03-12-2011, 12:39 AM
Cheeky git, thanks for joining in..... :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

I was startin songs when the away fans at Easter Road were all wearing bright yellow macintoshes lol. You remember that? Ano ye don't.:cb:pfgwa

you may well have been starting songs in the stone age but i was purely thanking you for giving our group a bit support

Johnny0762
03-12-2011, 12:47 AM
you may well have been starting songs in the stone age but i was purely thanking you for giving our group a bit support

Ano mate. What a gentleman.:top marks:na na:

03-12-2011, 02:17 AM
That's quite an assumption to make! There were kids there, do you reckon they knew or should have known? Do you reckon that as the news filtered through that there had been a fire that the smoke might just have raised concerns?

I reckon most kids would know aye. I used to be one, I knew what a flare was. (that said I'm a child of Broomhouse....:greengrin)

Well that's OK then isn't it! The old codgers with asma that could hardly breathe or the young kids who dont know the difference between a flare and a fart really shouldnt be there if they dont know the difference or cant handle the situation eh? IF that had been a real fire tonight do you honestly think that setting off that flare was going to help anyone? The muppet that set it off was a disgrace and cr@p excuses like this are as pathetic as the @rse that set it off. I knew what it was, the 67 year old guy with me knew what was hampering his breathing and the parents of the young kids that were frightened by it knew what it was too. It was still stupid to set it off and the only thing that is remotely less sensible than setting the flare off is trying to defend it.

:rolleyes: :yawn2:

Gorgie Green
03-12-2011, 02:21 AM
I can understand some people didn't like seeing colourful smoke, but it was just a load of fun, and a lot of us hadn't drunk at all.

Todays trip would've been **** normally, but the atmosphere made it great, i hope smoke bombs are taken more to add to the fun tbh.
I suffer from asthma, and choked a bit on the smoke. I take you would not object to my punching you to add to the fun, if it happens near me again? I only ask this question, as your fun caused me some discomfort tonight (and I am sure others), so this would surely make punching you a fair compromise?

03-12-2011, 02:23 AM
I suffer from asthma, and choked a bit on the smoke. I take you would not object to my punching you to add to the fun, if it happens near me again? I only ask this question, as your fun caused me some discomfort tonight (and I am sure others), so this would surely make punching you a fair compromise?

Aye, thats the same. Christ sake.....

03-12-2011, 02:25 AM
Im not even sure why I'm defending the smoke bomb, it was nothing to do with me, it wasn't something I thought was fun even...

I just get sick fed up of the whinging we get on here about every bloody thing....tedious.

Gorgie Green
03-12-2011, 02:35 AM
Aye, thats the same. Christ sake.....

If he is happy to cause other fans in his area discomfort, is it not fair he receives some back?
I suffer from asthma, and was not really enjoying dancing about in the smoke to add to the fun, whilst struggling for breath.:bitchy:
Leave this nonsense to the yam fuds.:jamboclow

Gorgie Green
03-12-2011, 02:39 AM
Im not even sure why I'm defending the smoke bomb, it was nothing to do with me, it wasn't something I thought was fun even...

I just get sick fed up of the whinging we get on here about every bloody thing....tedious.
I am only whinging as I was struggling for breathe, what was fun to them, was discomfort for me.
I would rather the performance on the park left me breathless!!!

HNA6
03-12-2011, 02:46 AM
I suffer from asthma, and choked a bit on the smoke. I take you would not object to my punching you to add to the fun, if it happens near me again? I only ask this question, as your fun caused me some discomfort tonight (and I am sure others), so this would surely make punching you a fair compromise?Jeez, ive read some utter pish on here tonight & this tops the lot ..

Gorgie Green
03-12-2011, 03:02 AM
Jeez, ive read some utter pish on here tonight & this tops the lot ..

Not at all, would just defend my freedom to breathe.
Do you condone the smokebomb being set off, when it would clearly cause some people discomfort breathing?

HNA6
03-12-2011, 03:11 AM
Not at all, would just defend my freedom to breathe.
Do you condone the smokebomb being set off, when it would clearly cause some people discomfort breathing?No I dont condone it but wanting to punch someone "for fun" doesnt show you up in a good light either does it ..

Gorgie Green
03-12-2011, 03:14 AM
Jeez, ive read some utter pish on here tonight & this tops the lot ..

Go hardman go ..
I liked the way you highlighted the negative part of my post, but left out the fact it caused me breathing difficulties.
I only asked if it would be acceptable for me to cause discomfort to someone that caused discomfort to me?
Maybe not the best example I could have used, but I think it was obvious I was pointing out that what is fun to them, isn't for everyone.
Maybe it wasn't?????

Gorgie Green
03-12-2011, 03:20 AM
No I dont condone it but wanting to punch someone "for fun" doesnt show you up in a good light either does it ..
Was only trying to point out that what is fun for one person can be far from it for someone else.
Hands up to it being a bad example

HNA6
03-12-2011, 03:23 AM
Was only trying to point out that what is fun for one person can be far from it for someone else.
Hands up to it being a bad exampleIm not disagreeing mate, just not sure about your "compromise" that's all ..

Gorgie Green
03-12-2011, 03:36 AM
Im not disagreeing mate, just not sure about your "compromise" that's all ..
As I have admitted, it was a bad example

Johnny0762
03-12-2011, 05:18 AM
Tell yous lads what... If you think it is harmless fun then why doesn't the wee guy who sparked the smoke bomb stick his hand up and admit to it?

After all, it's just harmless fun, and whoever is going to bother about it?

Didn't think so lads.

03-12-2011, 05:38 AM
Flares don't bother me personally and the atmosphere looked great.

However, the timing was rotten. That could have caused a serious incident if people had panicked...FFS people were evacuating the ground!

03-12-2011, 05:41 AM
Was in the upper tier for the first half and vaugely made out out tannoy announcement for Constable Innes to report to police control room which was obviously a coded message.

It's actually 'Constable ERIS' (Emergency Response In Stadium) which is the coded announcement and yes, its secret squirrel bull*****. It gives the stewarding company and Safety/Security personnel employed by the club an aggrandised idea of their own importance.

Bottom line, fans should have been informed at the earliest opportunity in unambiguous language what was happening which would easily have averted any subsequent problems.

03-12-2011, 08:36 AM
It makes your point a classic hibs.net over-reaction.

Try telling that to a relative of a Bradford victim. :confused:

03-12-2011, 09:13 AM
I was sitting just down from the sect43 lot and in general I thought they did a lot of things right in terms supporting the team and improving the atmopshere. Lots of flags, streamers (which would have had a better effect if thrown in unison as the team came out), balloons and noise.

So well done to everyone involved for that. It definately made the experience more enjoyable.

However the sect43 folks need to do a wee bit growing up. Yes, it looks good. Yes, it makes you look like european ultra's. If it was in a standing zone where the singing crew were gathered, yes, crack on.

But it was done in tne midst of a game just abandoned, with absolutely no regard for those around them. No concern for old Hibs fans who needed time to exit a packed stadium. No concern for young Hibs fans who may have been frightened seeing the smoke. No concern for those Hibs fans with medical issues who may have had issues with smoke and or panic attacks.

When you are 19 / 20 years old, none of those concerns would have entered my head either. Especially after a few beers which Im sure you all had. But someone in your group needs to understand it WASN'T a good idea last night and re assess. You guys are going a lot right.

Stay on the right track.

03-12-2011, 09:21 AM

And that'll be another classic hibs.net over-reaction.

The incidents weren't really the same at all, were they?

Makaveli
03-12-2011, 09:25 AM

Disgusting comparison.

wearethehibs
03-12-2011, 09:51 AM
Properly laugh out loud at the over reaction's you get on .net. A lot of people on here must no be getting any ;-)

03-12-2011, 09:57 AM
Disgusting comparison.

? I'm talking about the need to take stadium safety seriously you and easty can have a debate about the merits of your stance but I'm out. not even sure if you were born when Bradford happened but no excuse. my point still holds and if you want to ask someone who was there look no further than the Motherwell manager who mentioned it in his interview.

So stick that in you pipe and don't smoke it till you're in a designated area;)

03-12-2011, 10:00 AM
Properly laugh out loud at the over reaction's you get on .net. A lot of people on here must no be getting any ;-)

And you obviously dont get it.

Posh Swanny
03-12-2011, 10:16 AM
So someone set off a smoke bomb/flare as the stadium was being evacuated because of a fire and people can't see how that may have caused a problem? What do you think would have happened had one person of a nervous disposition shouted "FIRE! GET OUT! QUICK!!" as fans were walking down the steps? It doesn't take much for a confused crowd to panic. It was I'll-advised at best, reckless at worst. Just because nothing bad happened as a result last night doesn't make it OK.

Makaveli
03-12-2011, 10:16 AM
? I'm talking about the need to take stadium safety seriously you and easty can have a debate about the merits of your stance but I'm out. not even sure if you were born when Bradford happened but no excuse. my point still holds and if you want to ask someone who was there look no further than the Motherwell manager who mentioned it in his interview.

So stick that in you pipe and don't smoke it till you're in a designated area;)

Ah, age! About as lofty a stance as using 56 deaths to back up your unrelated online argument. :rolleyes:

03-12-2011, 10:23 AM
Ah, age! About as lofty a stance as using 56 deaths to back up your unrelated online argument. :rolleyes:

Read up then and perhaPs listen to Stuart McCall as you're obviously never going to pay attention to me and that's your choice. as I said I'm out I'll leave it for others if they want to state the case.

wearethehibs
03-12-2011, 10:36 AM
Just seen a picture of sect43 singing behind green smoke. Looks smart as. More flares at football the better IMO. Get them into ER and really cause some moaning :)

03-12-2011, 10:46 AM
I have this morning sent an e-mail to the person at Fir Park responsible for Health & Safety regarding the inadequate tannoy system which is an integral part of them initiating their stadium emergency response plan. I will also be highlighting the same issues to the relevant safety authorities, if there had been cause for an emergency evacuation of the stadium last night the inaudibility of the tannoy system offered no means of vital communication what so ever!

wearethehibs
03-12-2011, 10:51 AM
I get what people are saying about the tannoy system. But if a game was cancelled well in advanced because a tannoy is rubbish I'd be raging.

03-12-2011, 10:54 AM
I have this morning sent an e-mail to the person at Fir Park responsible for Health & Safety regarding the inadequate tannoy system which is an integral part of them initiating their stadium emergency response plan. I will also be highlighting the same issues to the relevant safety authorities, if there had been cause for an emergency evacuation of the stadium last night the inaudibility of the tannoy system offered no means of vital communication what so ever!
To be fair "muffled" tannoys are an issue at a few grounds and there have been times at ER I've thought them a bit pointless.

Maybe just one of these things but wonder if the mothers inspection recOrd will be included in the report remember their undersoil heating was in some state have they been cutting corners?

03-12-2011, 10:54 AM
I get what people are saying about the tannoy system. But if a game was cancelled well in advanced because a tannoy is rubbish I'd be raging.

You'd be more than raging if you or someone with you was hurt, there can be no compromise on safety ever!

03-12-2011, 11:04 AM
To be fair "muffled" tannoys are an issue at a few grounds and there have been times at ER I've thought them a bit pointless.

Maybe just one of these things but wonder if the mothers inspection recOrd will be included in the report remember their undersoil heating was in some state have they been cutting corners?

Fair point, I suppose it's incidents last night which make you realise how valuable an audible tannoy system can be.

wearethehibs
03-12-2011, 11:17 AM
You'd be more than raging if you or someone with you was hurt, there can be no compromise on safety ever! I get what your saying. But if you were on your way to a game and you hear the game has been called of so you start to go home. Then you find out it was called of cause a tannoy was inaudible would you be happy with that? I know I wouldn't

03-12-2011, 11:17 AM
Comments from the managers...

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spl/hibs_lights_dimmed_on_bright_beginning_1_1990750

03-12-2011, 11:24 AM
I get what your saying. But if you were on your way to a game and you hear the game has been called of so you start to go home. Then you find out it was called of cause a tannoy was inaudible would you be happy with that? I know I wouldn't

As a Health & Safety Manager (my job) emphatic!

As a Hibee on the way to the game most definately pi**ed off :greengrin

03-12-2011, 02:34 PM
I suffer from asthma, and choked a bit on the smoke. I take you would not object to my punching you to add to the fun, if it happens near me again? I only ask this question, as your fun caused me some discomfort tonight (and I am sure others), so this would surely make punching you a fair compromise?Go for it if you want. It would probably lead to many around me jumping you and you being banned for good, so go for it.

03-12-2011, 02:37 PM
Tell yous lads what... If you think it is harmless fun then why doesn't the wee guy who sparked the smoke bomb stick his hand up and admit to it? After all, it's just harmless fun, and whoever is going to bother about it?Didn't think so lads. I know who did it, and i am grateful for him making it an even better night. No reason why he should 'hold his hands up' because no wrong doing occured.

03-12-2011, 02:40 PM
I know who did it, and i am grateful for him making it an even better night. No reason why he should 'hold his hands up' because no wrong doing occured.

Letting a smoke bomb off during an evacuation was just plain dumb. Still as long as you are having fun why not eh?

(And before you start I generally don't mind seeing them let off, time and place though.)

03-12-2011, 03:02 PM

Mandatory, is it, to be able to distinguish a flare from a fire in a crowded football stand? :rolleyes:

03-12-2011, 03:07 PM
Is it not illegal to take a smoke cannister into a football match? :confused:

03-12-2011, 03:18 PM
I know who did it, and i am grateful for him making it an even better night. No reason why he should 'hold his hands up' because no wrong doing occured.

Are you Tony Blair in disguise?

03-12-2011, 04:17 PM
Letting a smoke bomb off during an evacuation was just plain dumb. Still as long as you are having fun why not eh?

(And before you start I generally don't mind seeing them let off, time and place though.)

That pretty much covers it for me, though I do think it's only in the aftermath that the true gravity of what last night's situation could have been and it wasn't really known at the time, with most just thinking the game was abandoned once the light went out.

Is it not illegal to take a smoke cannister into a football match? :confused:

Yes, but there seems to have been plenty of instances in recent years with the derbies certainly springing to mind.

03-12-2011, 06:17 PM

Yes he made it a great night, please print the wee fanny's name so those affected can thank him personally for his efforts!

03-12-2011, 06:31 PM
Yes he made it a great night, please print the wee fanny's name so those affected can thank him personally for his efforts!

By 'wee fanny' i can clearly see you hate the person having never met them. I don't see how having a great time and making it fun for others who chose to sit in that section, a 'wee fanny'.

03-12-2011, 06:39 PM
By 'wee fanny' i can clearly see you hate the person having never met them. I don't see how having a great time and making it fun for others who chose to sit in that section, a 'wee fanny'.

Nah hate is too strong a word especially as I don't even know him/her! It was more a response to their irresponsible actions, the consequences of which will never be known but may have been dire had last night's incident developed into something far more serious.

Don't give me the fun angle again, I enjoy a laugh and mess about about with the best of them but the actions last night were akin to throwing a flour bomb during a white powder incident..................totally irresponsible how ever you dress it up.

03-12-2011, 06:49 PM
I can lend a shovel ;)

03-12-2011, 06:54 PM

It may have been fun for some but not all, why do you keep ignoring that?:confused:

03-12-2011, 06:59 PM

You are clearly just on the wind up now. Either answer the counter arguments or give it up.

03-12-2011, 07:01 PM
It may have been fun for some but not all, why do you keep ignoring that?:confused:

I did mention people "others who chose to sit in that section", and all of the people around me were having a great time. If i didn't enjoy it i would just sit elswhere.

03-12-2011, 07:10 PM
I did mention people "others who chose to sit in that section", and all of the people around me were having a great time. If i didn't enjoy it i would just sit elswhere.

During an evacuation though? I notice you claim on Chat that every single member of Sect43 thinks the smoke bomb was a great idea. If that's true then the sonner the club disowns you lot the better. That would be a shame because I generally support what you guys do and as for smoke bombs/flares, I know they are illegal but in the right time and place I kinda enjoy them. And it's good to see young guys bring a bit of boisterous fun to fitba. It's just a shame you can't see that your desire to have fun doesn't over ride legitmimate concerns.

03-12-2011, 07:10 PM

During an evacuation though? I notice you claim on Chat that every single member of Sect43 thinks the smoke bomb was a great idea. If that's true then the sooner the club disowns you lot the better. That would be a shame because I generally support what you guys do and as for smoke bombs/flares, I know they are illegal but in their right time and place I kinda enjoy them. And it's good to see young guys bring a bit of boisterous fun to fitba. It's just a shame you can't see that your desire to have fun doesn't over ride legitimate concerns.

03-12-2011, 07:13 PM
During an evacuation though? I notice you claim on Chat that every single member of Sect43 thinks the smoke bomb was a great idea. If that's true then the sonner the club disowns you lot the better. That would be a shame because I generally support what you guys do and as for smoke bombs/flares, I knowe they are illegal but in ther right time and place I kinda enjoy them. And it's good to see young guys bring a bit of boisterous fun to fitba. It's just a shame you can't see that your desire to have fun doesn't over ride legitmimate concerns.

I said everyone that i spoke to in the singing section last night enjoyed the smokebomb, which we did.

Darth Hibbie
03-12-2011, 07:16 PM
I said everyone that i spoke to in the singing section last night enjoyed the smokebomb, which we did.

I have not read through the full thread yet Fraze. Would it still be a good laugh if you get lifted for it?

03-12-2011, 07:16 PM

Address the point. Is your fun the only thing that matters?

03-12-2011, 07:22 PM
During an evacuation though? I notice you claim on Chat that every single member of Sect43 thinks the smoke bomb was a great idea. If that's true then the sonner the club disowns you lot the better. That would be a shame because I generally support what you guys do and as for smoke bombs/flares, I know they are illegal but in the right time and place I kinda enjoy them. And it's good to see young guys bring a bit of boisterous fun to fitba. It's just a shame you can't see that your desire to have fun doesn't over ride legitmimate concerns.

I agree with every word, i have enjoyed what they have brought to easter road, but if it means folk are going to be frightened by their actions, then they have no place at the club.

03-12-2011, 07:35 PM

No. But every single game this season i have been surrounded with fans shouting abuse and has been pretty dire tbh, but last night it was absolutely amazing so i hope that every game in the future has an atmosphere like this.

So i can see where you are coming from and that you do not like it, but it isn't going to change my views.

03-12-2011, 07:40 PM
No. But every single game this season i have been surrounded with fans shouting abuse and has been pretty dire tbh, but last night it was absolutely amazing so i hope that every game in the future has an atmosphere like this.

So i can see where you are coming from and that you do not like it, but it isn't going to change my views.

As you say nothing is going to change your mind, what i cant understand is you think its wrong for folk to abuse the team, but not wrong for some fans to frighten other fans?

Very strange?

03-12-2011, 07:54 PM
Not sure if section43? equates to the singing section and things are probably a bit more mixed up with away games.

I did sit in with the section for the Celtic cup game result excepted good atmosphere.
I'd probably do so again but this incident and quotes seemingly associated with it are concerning.

Gorgie Green
03-12-2011, 08:10 PM

I admitted my example was a very poor one to make, but thanks for giving me permission anyway.:wink:
2 questions
1. Is your fun more important to you, than potential risks to other fans health?
2. Do you think it is acceptable setting off a smoke bomb, just as the stadium was being evacuated?
Yes, or no answers please

03-12-2011, 08:13 PM
I don`t mind smoke and what-not as part of the atmosphere, but as others have stated, to let one off last night under the circumstances was foolhardy with no consideration for their fellow fans, many with children, and pensioners in the midst of confusion over what was going on and rumours of fire.

I notice that many on here were poking fun at Motherwell`s "ultras" or whatever they call themselves, but I fail to see the difference between theirs and ours? Few kids, a few that are old enough to know better, few flags, few songs. A smokebomb doesn`t make ours any better by any stretch of the imagination.

This sect 42 or whatever is in reality pretty **** and a bit lame. I`d be quite happy for them to knock it on the head and let the match-day atmosphere develop naturally in tandom with what`s happening on the park. From the whole ground, not just a small corner of the ground by a group who have an enormously over-inflated opinion of themselves.

03-12-2011, 08:30 PM
I admitted my example was a very poor one to make, but thanks for giving me permission anyway.:wink:
2 questions
1. Is your fun more important to you, than potential risks to other fans health?
2. Do you think it is acceptable setting off a smoke bomb, just as the stadium was being evacuated?
Yes, or no answers please

1. No
2. Yes

I don`t mind smoke and what-not as part of the atmosphere, but as others have stated, to let one off last night under the circumstances was foolhardy with no consideration for their fellow fans, many with children, and pensioners in the midst of confusion over what was going on and rumours of fire.

I notice that many on here were poking fun at Motherwell`s "ultras" or whatever they call themselves, but I fail to see the difference between theirs and ours? Few kids, a few that are old enough to know better, few flags, few songs. A smokebomb doesn`t make ours any better by any stretch of the imagination.

This sect 42 or whatever is in reality pretty **** and a bit lame. I`d be quite happy for them to knock it on the head and let the match-day atmosphere develop naturally in tandom with what`s happening on the park. From the whole ground, not just a small corner of the ground by a group who have an enormously over-inflated opinion of themselves.

I take it you were not there last night?

03-12-2011, 08:34 PM
I take it you were not there last night?

I was, yes.

03-12-2011, 08:39 PM
I was, yes.

Well then i am bemused to say the least.

Thomson1875
03-12-2011, 08:42 PM

The last bit - if we are so **** then why don't you come and help sort it out? Yes I do agree it was maybe a very bad time for someone to let a smoke off but learn from mistakes.

We have the same people posting on our forum all the time so we are only getting about 20 peoples input to the group which all seems the same, we really do need older people to lead us in the correct direction. We have some big plans for the future and we need fellow hibs fans on our side. Yes we will likely make a few more mistakes, but we are relatively new and we are taking most things as a learning curve.

Minus the smoke that was let off folk around us where saying great effort to them, with our banners flags , couple 2 sticks and streamers. The atmosphere would have been good none the less if we never took our full group through down to the pleasure of a new manager and the team showing improvement. We did keep the singing going at times also stayed away from the anti hearts songs bar one or two (clap your hands/sit down if you hate jamtarts) which for us was good as its one of the things we want to here less of.

People will put us down, but I know we won't give up until we achieve where we want to be in the future.

I don't think many/any of our members have an over inflated opinion of themselfs either.

03-12-2011, 08:47 PM
The last bit - if we are so **** then why don't you come and help sort it out? Yes I do agree it was maybe a very bad time for someone to let a smoke off but learn from mistakes.

We have the same people posting on our forum all the time so we are only getting about 20 peoples input to the group which all seems the same, we really do need older people to lead us in the correct direction. We have some big plans for the future and we need fellow hibs fans on our side. Yes we will likely make a few more mistakes, but we are relatively new and we are taking most things as a learning curve.

Minus the smoke that was let off folk around us where saying great effort to them, with our banners flags , couple 2 sticks and streamers. The atmosphere would have been good none the less if we never took our full group through down to the pleasure of a new manager and the team showing improvement. We did keep the singing going at times also stayed away from the anti hearts songs bar one or two (clap your hands/sit down if you hate jamtarts) which for us was good as its one of the things we want to here less of.

People will put us down, but I know we won't give up until we achieve where we want to be in the future.

I don't think many of our members have an over inflated opinion of themselfs either.

Good stuff :aok: Post a link please :wink:

03-12-2011, 08:53 PM
From what I heard on the radio the hibs fans where in good voice, ok somebody stupidly set off a smoke bomb at the wrong time. Lets get past it and not have a 50 page thread in true hibs.net styley getting all ridiculous as we try and outdo ourselves to be the best most moral PC person in the world. Lets just focus on the facts

Good performance in the first game for Fenlon
Good Support travelled through
Good noise made by the fans
I had a cracking donner pizza

All in all a good night so please lets enjoy us doing something good for once.

Thomson1875
03-12-2011, 09:04 PM
Good stuff :aok: Post a link please :wink:

Our forum is www.sect43.co.uk

We all know we are around 40 people out of what 8/9000 average crowd this season? Sorry if I'm out with my estimates. There's never going to be an amazing atmosphere from us its about overall, other section joining in. Its not always the singing its the roars from the crowds booing the ref,linesmen,opposition players and try and make it an intimidating place.
We want hibs fans in general to like us (will always have some moan against us) but aslong as we are backed by a big majority of our fellow support we will get somewhere. Without fan backing we will always be how we are now as none of us are going to give up.We want to build on it step by step, never was going to be perfect takes time as many things do.

03-12-2011, 09:06 PM
Our forum is www.sect43.co.uk

We all know we are around 40 people out of what 8/9000 average crowd this season? Sorry if I'm out with my estimates. There's never going to be an amazing atmosphere from us its about overall, other section joining in. Its not always the singing its the roars from the crowds booing the ref,linesmen,opposition players and try and make it an intimidating place.
We want hibs fans in general to like us (will always have some moan against us) but aslong as we are backed by a big majority of our fellow support we will get somewhere. Without fan backing we will always be how we are now as none of us are going to give up.We want to build on it step by step, never was going to be perfect takes time as many things do.

Thanks for the link :aok:

03-12-2011, 09:15 PM
Well then i am bemused to say the least.

As bemused as some of us are to your attitude no doubt. It's a funny old game eh :greengrin

03-12-2011, 09:51 PM
One thing i have not seen mentioned was the Gary Speed minutes applaud. Very well done by all there. :agree:

Johnny0762
03-12-2011, 10:23 PM

Correct. This young team seem to think it is perfectly acceptable (and fun) to carry of ***** like this and boast about it. Do they think it makes them 80's style Hibs bandits? No, letting a smoke bomb off during an evacuation was crass stupidity and one that the club will take a dim view of.

You lot are meant to be trying to build relations with the club to have privileges such as the flags, getting let into the ground early to tart the place up etc, yet you think it's a great idea to boast in public, that each and everyone of one you lauded this carry on. I think you lot just marked your cards with Hibs. How foolish is that?

03-12-2011, 11:09 PM
Come on down fraze your numbers up
yer either on the windup or have dug yourself into a hole so big it's disrupting the tram timelines :wink:

Johnny0762
03-12-2011, 11:15 PM

I don't think many/any of our members have an over inflated opinion of themselfs either.

This is the biggest loady *****e I have ever read on an internet board.

People go to jail every day for first time mistakes.

03-12-2011, 11:16 PM

How? What is wrong with it?

03-12-2011, 11:17 PM

You obviously haven't been on here that much then:greengrin

Johnny0762
03-12-2011, 11:25 PM
You obviously haven't been on here that much then:greengrin

You're right on, I haven't lol.:na na:

03-12-2011, 11:29 PM
How? What is wrong with it?

Maybe you've just been rumbled at your own game...?

Thomson1875
04-12-2011, 12:25 AM

Fair point, but we aint exactly robbing banks are we, bar the smokebomb that someone let off then I was happy with everyone waving flags, banners and bringing general colour back to games.

We won't give up cause of people on a forum, stuff is done by getting off your arse and doing something. If more people helped us out / input to our group then we would get somewhere, we have achieved quite a few personal goals and we do stuff day to day to try and improve our group. The amount of folk that will look for one bad thing to start slating it off on a messageboard is unreal. Let's be honest -smokebomb use would probs not all be moaning, mind you someone would probs come out with 'why where your group waving nigerian flags'

If anyone wants to help our group go in the right direction then join us and have your say.

Will I wait for the people who don't see any good in our group attacking this post or, is there ever going to be a positive about it.

Johnny0762
04-12-2011, 12:38 AM
Fair point, but we aint exactly robbing banks are we, bar the smokebomb that someone let off then I was happy with everyone waving flags, banners and bringing general colour back to games.

We won't give up cause of people on a forum, stuff is done by getting off your arse and doing something. If more people helped us out / input to our group then we would get somewhere, we have achieved quite a few personal goals and we do stuff day to day to try and improve our group. The amount of folk that will look for one bad thing to start slating it off on a messageboard is unreal. Let's be honest -smokebomb use would probs not all be moaning, mind you someone would probs come out with 'why where your group waving nigerian flags'

If anyone wants to help our group go in the right direction then join us and have your say.

Will I wait for the people who don't see any good in our group attacking this post or, is there ever going to be a positive about it.

Positives? Oh aye. Mixed age group (mainly led by the young dogs) of mental Hibees in distress about what's happening on the park and behind the scenes, all wishing to help create a positive bouncing atmosphere at games. :pfgwa

But steady on though. All people are saying is that it was totally stupid to let off a smoke bomb when their were families and elderly descending their way out of a stadium hearing rumours that there is a fire. Why won't SECT43 accept this? Are there any brains working in there?

But instead of "aye mate, you might have a wee point there, never thought about it that way", all we're getting is two fingers and "we were right to do it" and "we're proud we done it" and "we will do it again" and " all the SECT43 were happy about it".

Those comments will see the club move to distance themselves from your wee group, and quite rightly so. Listen, if yous want to fill a void in your lives by creating a volatile Partisan Ultras atmosphere and egg each other on to be braver and bolder then be my guest, I'm sure it could be fun lol.... But it's been done before. :na na:

04-12-2011, 02:55 AM
But steady on though. All people are saying is that it was totally stupid to let off a smoke bomb when their were families and elderly descending their way out of a stadium hearing rumours that there is a fire. Why won't SECT43 accept this? Are there any brains working in there?

But instead of "aye mate, you might have a wee point there, never thought about it that way", all we're getting is two fingers and "we were right to do it" and "we're proud we done it" and "we will do it again" and " all the SECT43 were happy about it".

In the guys last two posts, ones which you have quoted, he's said he wasn't happy about the flare being let off.

Those comments will see the club move to distance themselves from your wee group, and quite rightly so. Listen, if yous want to fill a void in your lives by creating a volatile Partisan Ultras atmosphere and egg each other on to be braver and bolder then be my guest, I'm sure it could be fun lol.... But it's been done before. :na na:

I think that's out of order. The only void they are filling is the void in atmosphere in our end. They've stated countless times what they are all about and how they will try and learn from their mistakes. They've even come cap-in-hand to their fiercest critics to try and get ideas to help them improve the atmosphere. You're quite right to pick up on the idiots who boast about squaring up etc...but you can't lump them all in together.

I really don't know what you want from all this.

wearethehibs
04-12-2011, 03:14 AM
Again you have to laugh at some people on here. Dot net is full of ********s who just like to moan. You'd all prefer us sitting on our hands and shutting up. Sect 43 lads I hope we bring more smoke bombs and continue to improve the rubbish atmosphere among the Hibs support. Say what you want about me cause I'm no looking at this thread again. GGTTH

04-12-2011, 04:30 AM

Spot on that man. :agree:

04-12-2011, 04:36 AM
Again you have to laugh at some people on here. Dot net is full of ********s who just like to moan. You'd all prefer us sitting on our hands and shutting up. Sect 43 lads I hope we bring more smoke bombs and continue to improve the rubbish atmosphere among the Hibs support. Say what you want about me cause I'm no looking at this thread again. GGTTH

Just the screw the nut a bit then and think about the circumstances when you decide to let them off eh?

04-12-2011, 08:49 AM

That's a shame as you've plainly missed the point - a point at which people have been at pains to express.
Seems that the schools of thought are dug in and whilst it might not completely be a case of "ne'er the twain shall meet" were at a bit of loggerheads.

Eitherway something for the s43 to perhaps debate internally and see what direction they want to take if any.

04-12-2011, 10:06 AM

And it would appear sect43 is full of muppets who are unable to digest and debate points on a mesageboard.

You are either thick or unwiling to understand what this is all about. With an attitude like that, good luck in trying to engage with the wider support.

04-12-2011, 10:10 AM
Think the S43 guys are clearly putting a load of work in to their displays, organising a bus etc but agree with the post above - you've really got to take on board people's suggestions and, sadly, gripes or all that will happen is that you will alienate the wider support and we will end up with a split that doesn't help anybody. I think Friday's smokebomb is definitely a case in point and all it takes is for whoever let it off to admit that the timing was a mistake and to learn from it and move forward. The atmosphere was great on Saturday - let's not ruin it by squabbling on here and creating an "us and them" thing.

04-12-2011, 11:02 AM
They've even come cap-in-hand to their fiercest critics to try and get ideas to help them improve the atmosphere. You're quite right to pick up on the idiots who boast about squaring up etc...but you can't lump them all in together

Unfortunately they're setting themselves up to be lumped together, because it seems like there's not one of them prepared to admit they might have even in the slightest been in the wrong on Friday.

They've also come cap in hand to other Hibs fans to fund flags. Maybe they need to have a wee think if their antics with the smoke bombs and boasting of squaring up to stewards and opposition fans will help them to get donations in the future?

04-12-2011, 06:54 PM

After you posted the link I registered and started an hello thread. I took up the offer of an older head to join in the debate.

Problem is, when I logged on tonight there is no sign of my thread :confused:

05-12-2011, 07:10 AM
So someone set off a smoke bomb/flare as the stadium was being evacuated because of a fire and people can't see how that may have caused a problem? What do you think would have happened had one person of a nervous disposition shouted "FIRE! GET OUT! QUICK!!" as fans were walking down the steps? It doesn't take much for a confused crowd to panic. It was I'll-advised at best, reckless at worst. Just because nothing bad happened as a result last night doesn't make it OK.

Exactly what I was thinking, it only takes one idiot in our support,(and we have a few ot them) it was a stupid time to set off a smoke bomb. Although I have to say, I quite like smoke bombs in stadiums, it adds to the atmosphere, this one was ill timed.