View Full Version : Liam O'Brien appointed Hibs Coach

Jack Ferrigan
29-11-2011, 08:02 AM
Liam O' Brien has been appointed Hibs 1st Team Coach according to TV3 news in Dublin this morning.

29-11-2011, 08:14 AM
Change is coming

Thank ****

Kammy1875
29-11-2011, 08:29 AM
Great news. Welcome to the club.

29-11-2011, 09:53 AM
Good stuff. Out with the old and in with the new.

29-11-2011, 10:00 AM
The manager has to have all his own team around him, good to see this has been done right away.

29-11-2011, 10:04 AM
And so another media myth that any new manager would need to work with the current back room staff is dispelled.

29-11-2011, 10:08 AM
And so another media myth that any new manager would need to work with the current back room staff is dispelled.

Was it a media myth? IIRC it was started on here...

29-11-2011, 10:12 AM
Was it a media myth? IIRC it was started on here...

Smurf's thread on here referred to reports in the press about it.

Reaper
29-11-2011, 10:13 AM
Change is coming

Thank ****

This :top marks

29-11-2011, 10:19 AM
Good news:agree: :aok:

29-11-2011, 10:19 AM
Smurf's thread on here referred to reports in the press about it.

Oh yeah, so it did. I don't remember reading any reports in the press though.

Any links?

29-11-2011, 10:45 AM

Any links?

http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?221241-Unless-The-New-Guy-Can-Discard-And-Bring-In-His-Own-Backroom-Staff..

Mentioned in here that the reports were in the Sunday Post. No links though.

29-11-2011, 10:45 AM

Any links?

It was in the Sunday Post, so for what it's worth the info will have been checked out before being published. My guess is that the board are keeping a keen eye on what the fans' reactions to things are, and also Fenlon was insistent on being able to make the changes he felt necessary, so any decision to make the manager work with the existing set up was changed.

Riordans Boots
29-11-2011, 10:48 AM
Just found this ... http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/spl/hibernian/o-brien-in-at-hibernian-as-two-lose-jobs-1.1137077

Don Giovanni
29-11-2011, 10:50 AM
Good stuff. Glad that Pat appears to have the authority to make whatever changes he feels are necessary. Welcome to the club Liam.
The manager has to have all his own team around him, good to see this has been done right away. :agree:

29-11-2011, 10:53 AM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20111129/management-team-confirmed_2262950_2531554

Liam OBrien joins the management team as first team coach and BB remains as assistant manager.

29-11-2011, 10:58 AM
thats good to hear!

onwards and upwards from now on :thumbsup:

29-11-2011, 11:12 AM
Welcome to hibernian, liam

29-11-2011, 11:15 AM

Any links?

I can confirm that it WAS in the Sunday Post. Although I believe that the article did not appear in the online version.

29-11-2011, 11:18 AM
Glad to see Fenlon being given the opportunity to bring in some of his own staff which should certainly help in getting his ideas across to the players. How it will work with BB is an interesting one but we've got to give them the benefit of the doubt and assume that they will have a good working relationship, as you'd expect with any manager and his assistant.

29-11-2011, 11:42 AM
Liam O'Brien, Andy O'Brien
Any any any O'Brien
Who put the ball in the makems net
O'Brien .. O'Brien!!

29-11-2011, 12:36 PM
Great news.

Change is most definitely needed and heres hoping it will help us get back to where we belong - nice football and finishing within the top four.

Funkydunc
29-11-2011, 01:01 PM
Any any any O'Brien
O'Brien .. O'Brien!!

Ha ha! I was just going to put that in!!

Purehibee_MYB
29-11-2011, 03:30 PM
glad to see backroom changes, as I believe that was a factor in the struggling team...now to remove deadwood from the team and it's onwards and upwards...

Welcome to Hibernian Liam! :flag:

29-11-2011, 06:45 PM
The bint oan bbc refers to Obrien as ' obreen'

Seriously why do woman that ken ****all about fitba get jobs on the tv as sports journalists..Utterly cringeworthy constantly listening to her refer to Obrien as 'o breen'...Poor poor journalism.

29-11-2011, 06:50 PM
Any any any O'Brien
O'Brien .. O'Brien!!

It wisnae Alan tho wiz it?

29-11-2011, 07:01 PM
The bint oan bbc refers to Obrien as ' obreen'

Seriously why do woman that ken ****all about fitba get jobs on the tv as sports journalists..Utterly cringeworthy constantly listening to her refer to Obrien as 'o breen'...Poor poor journalism.

How do you know that's not how he pronounces his name?

CallumHibs07
29-11-2011, 07:37 PM
"With Billy (Brown), I don't think that decision needs too much of an explanation. He has vast knowledge of the game, especially in Scotland, again he's good around the training ground and we seem to have it off quite well."

What have they been doing on his first day? :hmmm:

29-11-2011, 08:17 PM
Welcome to Hibernian, Liam.

Judging by the looks of the big fella, I wouldnae want to cross him.

29-11-2011, 08:53 PM
Probably only a temporary position until Brown moves on, but a good move and one that was expected.

:pfgwa

29-11-2011, 08:54 PM
"With Billy (Brown), I don't think that decision needs too much of an explanation. He has vast knowledge of the game, especially in Scotland, again he's good around the training ground and we seem to have it off quite well."

What have they been doing on his first day? :hmmm:

AAAAALL THE HIBEES ARE.... :wink:

29-11-2011, 09:05 PM
Glad to see Fenlon being given the opportunity to bring in some of his own staff which should certainly help in getting his ideas across to the players. How it will work with BB is an interesting one but we've got to give them the benefit of the doubt and assume that they will have a good working relationship, as you'd expect with any manager and his assistant.

You'ld have thought that Fenlon would have been more sympathetic to the feelings of the Scottish media and punditry by opting for requisite indigenous appointments. We slip deeper into the bad books. ...... Great. :greengrin:

thekaratekid
29-11-2011, 09:13 PM
A freudian slip from the official site:

"he's good around the training ground and we seem to have it off quite well"

29-11-2011, 09:19 PM
At least we know our manager and assistant have a strong relationship. I just hope they score on their first date on Friday evening.

29-11-2011, 09:29 PM
At least we know our manager and assistant have a strong relationship. I just hope they score on their first date on Friday evening.

You can't beat playing away from home(one for the oldies).