View Full Version : Idea for a pub name

24-11-2011, 05:14 PM
Why doesn't someone buy a pub and call it "THE KNOW".
You could start any ridiculous rumour you want in it and all the punters would go and say to their mates
"Someone in The Know told me ........"

Maybe this has already is such a pub - judging by some of the crazy rumours that are banded about. :wink:

24-11-2011, 07:56 PM
There's a pub in Leeds called "Duncan".

Not The Duncan, just Duncan.

I loved that name. (The pub was a sheethole.)

It got me thinking that I should open a boozer and simply call it Church.

"Where are you going dear?"...

24-11-2011, 08:00 PM
There's a pub in Leeds called "Duncan".

Not The Duncan, just Duncan.

I loved that name. (The pub was a sheethole.)

It got me thinking that I should open a boozer and simply call it Church.

"Where are you going dear?"...That was my experience of just about the whole place when I was there.

25-11-2011, 11:23 PM
Spit or Swallow seems popular in some parts

26-11-2011, 06:40 AM
Along the same lines, I've always loved the name of 'That Bar' in Perth

26-11-2011, 07:50 AM
Along the same lines, I've always loved the name of 'That Bar' in PerthUsed to be a pub in Perth called "Fanny By Gaslight" ....:greengrin

26-11-2011, 08:19 AM
That was my experience of just about the whole place when I was there.

I'm going on a stag do there in Feb :taxi:

26-11-2011, 05:10 PM
Like the sound of "The Stoater".

26-11-2011, 07:34 PM
the one in portobello "Tides Inn"........

27-11-2011, 09:12 AM
Used to be a pub in Perth called "Fanny By Gaslight" ....:greengrin

Don't remember one in Perth called that, but there's one by that name in Kilmarnock beside the train station.

27-11-2011, 10:50 AM
'Middle shoap'

Thats the name of the boozer in Loanheid cause its, Well. In the middle :greengrin

Barry name, Barry pub anaw :agree:

27-11-2011, 10:55 AM
'Middle shoap'

Thats the name of the boozer in Loanheid cause its, Well. In the middle :greengrin

Barry name, Barry pub anaw :agree:

On a similiar note you've got the Bottom shop at the bottom of restalrig road anaw.

It's never actually officially been called that to be fair but thats what the locals call it so that'll do for me.

Also a barry wee boozer

27-11-2011, 11:01 AM
On a similiar note you've got the Bottom shop at the bottom of restalrig road anaw.

It's never actually officially been called that to be fair but thats what the locals call it so that'll do for me.

Also a barry wee boozer

Aken what you mean :agree:

The middle shops i refer to is actually called 'Middleton's'... But if your localish then you ken it as 'the middle shoap'.

Bottom shop sounds barry tae :thumbsup:

27-11-2011, 11:16 AM
I know the patrons of the bottom shop won't appreciate it, but, its a great name for a gay bar!

27-11-2011, 12:24 PM
the one in portobello "Tides Inn"........Thats quite fitting since it was formerly the public bogs ...:greengrin...another name I like, The COCKWELL INN in Tuebrook Liverpool ...:greengrin

27-11-2011, 12:28 PM
I know the patrons of the bottom shop won't appreciate it, but, its a great name for a gay bar!

My mate stays in Reading and used to live round the corner from the local gay bar (the rainbow) if I recall anyway, the front doors were always closed with a permanent sign "Enter At Rear" always found it amusing :-)

27-11-2011, 12:49 PM
I stayed in Reading for a few days when Hibs played Millwall, it was like a refugee camp for the world!

27-11-2011, 01:04 PM

Also a barry wee boozer

There's a bottom shop in Nitten as well

27-11-2011, 02:13 PM
I stayed in Reading for a few days when Hibs played Millwall, it was like a refugee camp for the world!

Like anywhere its got its good bits and its bad bits, its very racially diverse but I go down to visit quite often and have always found it a very nice place to be. On a football note they also have a great set up and are very fan friendly

27-11-2011, 02:27 PM
Dunfermlinehas a pub called 'Somewhere Else'.

27-11-2011, 04:28 PM
Dunfermlinehas a pub called 'Somewhere Else'.Just up the road from the "Creepy Wee Pub" ...which is opposite "Tappie Toories" ...great pub names ..:greengrin

27-11-2011, 05:45 PM
Like anywhere its got its good bits and its bad bits, its very racially diverse but I go down to visit quite often and have always found it a very nice place to be. On a football note they also have a great set up and are very fan friendly I never said it was a bad place to be. 1 of the natives was extremely welcoming!

30-11-2011, 11:04 AM
Was there not a pub at the bottom of Lothian Road with the brilliant name of "The Ferrett and Trouser Leg" ?

01-12-2011, 08:00 PM
Thats quite fitting since it was formerly the public bogs ...:greengrin...another name I like, The COCKWELL INN in Tuebrook Liverpool ...:greengrin

:agree: It's in Townsend Lane which is Anfield, that if it's still there?

01-12-2011, 08:11 PM
My brother always says he would name his pub "The Flange and Spigot" (sp?)... being an engineer in the Merch explains that!