View Full Version : Pat Fenlon now favourite

15-11-2011, 03:30 PM
Latest odds on Paddy Power as O'Neill (O@@neill) goes out

Pat Fenlon

4/7 (http://javascript<strong></strong>:void(0);)

Derek Adams

20/1 (http://javascript<strong></strong>:void(0);)

Chris Coleman

33/1 (http://javascript<strong></strong>:void(0);)

Michael O'Neill

13/8 (http://javascript<strong></strong>:void(0);)

Billy Stark

Nigel Worthington

Jim Jefferies

13/2 (http://javascript<strong></strong>:void(0);)

Stephen Pressley

Kevin Keegan

Billy Brown

12/1 (http://javascript<strong></strong>:void(0);)

Danny Lennon

Chris Sutton

Jimmy Calderwood

14/1 (http://javascript<strong></strong>:void(0);)

Terry Butcher

Craig Brown

John Robertson

Roy Aitken

Brian Kerr

40/1 (http://javascript<strong></strong>:void(0);)

John Collins

Gary Bollan

Alan Curbishley

50/1 (http://javascript<strong></strong>:void(0);)

Steve Clarke

Henning Berg

Franck Sauzee

Phil Brown

Paul Sturrock

John Hartson

Gordon Strachan

Paul Cook

25/1 (http://javascript<strong></strong>:void(0);)

Tony Mowbray

66/1 (http://javascript<strong></strong>:void(0);)

Paul Hartley

Iain Dowie

John Hughes

Jim Magilton

John McGlynn

Henrik Larsson

Billy Davies

Aidy Boothroyd

Martin O'Neill

100/1 (http://javascript<strong></strong>:void(0);)

Gary McAllister

Jim Gannon

Neil Lennon

15-11-2011, 03:38 PM
He's come in from 20/1 yesterday to 1/2 with sky bet. Is that the guy Dundee Utd were interested in but wouldn't pay the compo. BB drifted right out to 12/1.

15-11-2011, 03:40 PM
Same man, his record reads like an experienced M O'Neill though must admit I amn't overly excited by prospect

15-11-2011, 03:50 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pat_Fenlon

Here is his wiki page. Bohemians had him on a 3 year deal in Jan 10 when they were looking for 250k compensation fro him so he will have approx 14 months left on current deal. No idea about the guy but he used to be scout for Celtc in Ireland so probably has a decent network of contacts which cant be a bad thing. I would imagine he is looking for a change of scene and the Hibs job may come at the right time for him.

15-11-2011, 03:52 PM
Somebody's obviously stuck a wad of cash on today or the bookies have heard a whisper. Can't say i know much about him so can't comment. Bohemians finishing 5th in the table this year.

15-11-2011, 03:53 PM
He's still 4/1 on McBookie.

Purple & Green
15-11-2011, 03:55 PM
Did Bohs free all their players? If so, it's interesting timing. Also, last seasons squad seems to have been built around a majority of Irish players primarily from Dublin.

If he could do the same for us (primarily Scottish squad centred on Edinburgh), add in some quality Irish players and ditch the overpaid under performing foreign journeyman that pollute our squad then that might work.

I wonder if he's good at sorting out defences, and adding a spine to a team.

15-11-2011, 04:05 PM
He's still 4/1 on McBookie.

http://www.skybet.com/betting/football/manager-specials/t10002896.html

Pat Fenlon 1/2
Michael O'Neill 15/8
Jim Jefferies 7/1
Billy Brown 12/1
Jimmy Calderwood 14/1
Ian McParland 14/1
Paul Cook 16/1
Terry Butcher 16/1
Gordon Strachan 16/1
Mark Venus 16/1
Paul Sturrock 20/1
John McGlynn 20/1
Brian Kerr 20/1
Derek Adams 20/1
John Collins 20/1
Roy Aitken 20/1
Billy Davies 20/1
Billy Stark 20/1
Gary Bollan 20/1
Neil Lennon 25/1
John Hughes 50/1
John Hartson 50/1
-

15-11-2011, 04:13 PM
I just stuck £20 on Michael O'Neil on Paddy Power at 15/8... worth a punt now the value has came back for him.

CyberSauzee
15-11-2011, 04:17 PM
Prices slashed at Skybet, Paddy and Sid James. Sky now going 1/6

15-11-2011, 04:23 PM
Might the Fenlon as favourite not be just a Bookies' ploy to take the heat out of O'Neill and rack in some cash to cover the huge amount put on O'Neill in the last couple of weeks? :dunno:

15-11-2011, 04:24 PM

The "Tash" stuck a big wad on just before the odds were slashed.

CyberSauzee
15-11-2011, 04:27 PM
Might the Fenlon as favourite not be just a Bookies' ploy to take the heat out of O'Neill and rack in some cash to cover the huge amount put on O'Neill in the last couple of weeks? :dunno:

It's unlikely they would lose much if anything with their margin they have on these markets as more often than not several selections will be favourite at one time or another. So in answer to your question, no, they would only slash their prices if money was coming in. He was 25/1 this morning at Paddy and Stan James.

persevere1875
15-11-2011, 04:28 PM

Might suggest more than just a big bet, perhaps someone is in the know

Any rumours of this on the private members forum ???

15-11-2011, 04:33 PM
It must be the only time in the last ten years there's been a vacancy at Hibs or Hearts and Nevio Scala hasn't been mooted!

15-11-2011, 04:33 PM

That price would suggest that he is nailed on for the job IMO.

persevere1875
15-11-2011, 04:35 PM

Its certainley not a price thats going to entice the average punter to have a punt :wink:

scuttle
15-11-2011, 04:43 PM
Apart from Jeffries and Pressley i would probably take everyone on that original list before Fenlon

Sergio sledge
15-11-2011, 04:54 PM
Apart from Jeffries and Pressley i would probably take everyone on that original list before Fenlon

John Hughes? Henning Berg? Paul Hartley?

Out of interest, what are your reasons for preferring everyone on that list to him? From his wikipedia he appears to have proven himself in Ireland more than MO'N has, and has a proven record of success there.

Musselbound
15-11-2011, 04:56 PM
Doesn't appear to be anyone in the know on the Boh's forum either but it might be interesting to follow developments there:

http://www.thebohs.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=17224

15-11-2011, 05:01 PM
Fenlon, O'Neill and Danny Lennon to be interviewed this week.

Fenlon will be fav because his Irish mates like a punt...

15-11-2011, 05:01 PM

My exact sentiments :agree: With those odds the job must be his.

nortonhibby
15-11-2011, 05:04 PM
Latest odds on Paddy Power as O'Neill goes out

Pat Fenlon

Derek Adams

Chris Coleman

Michael O'Neill

Billy Stark

Nigel Worthington

Jim Jefferies

Stephen Pressley

Kevin Keegan

Billy Brown

Danny Lennon

Chris Sutton

Jimmy Calderwood

Terry Butcher

Craig Brown

John Robertson

Roy Aitken

Brian Kerr

John Collins

Gary Bollan

Alan Curbishley

Steve Clarke

Henning Berg

Franck Sauzee

Phil Brown

Paul Sturrock

John Hartson

Gordon Strachan

Paul Cook

Tony Mowbray

Paul Hartley

Iain Dowie

John Hughes

Jim Magilton

John McGlynn

Henrik Larsson

Billy Davies

Aidy Boothroyd

Martin O'Neill

Gary McAllister

Jim Gannon

Neil Lennon

Kevin Keegan at 33/1 id just looove it looove it if KK Got the Gig.

scuttle
15-11-2011, 05:06 PM
John Hughes? Henning Berg? Paul Hartley?

Out of interest, what are your reasons for preferring everyone on that list to him? From his wikipedia he appears to have proven himself in Ireland more than MO'N has, and has a proven record of success there.
Wow he has proven himself in Ireland,hardly a name to get the crowds flooding back. This is Petries chance to gain some respect back by appointing someone to galvanise the club and not someone who is going to be a cheap option again and probably knows very little of Scottish football

15-11-2011, 05:07 PM
Said to an oirish mate I'd be pissed off if we got him as he sounds like a poor man's Michael o Neil but he thought that was bit unfair as he's got a proven history of success over there while having the same budget as other teams while MoN has been a short term success while spending way more than anyone else.

Id still be totally underwhelmed though

15-11-2011, 05:14 PM
A couple of quotes from their forum:

"huge burden off the close season wage bill can only be a positive"

"Please God let this happen http://www.thebohs.com/forum/images/smilies/adore.gif"

Hmmm.

Sergio sledge
15-11-2011, 05:17 PM
Wow he has proven himself in Ireland,hardly a name to get the crowds flooding back. This is Petries chance to gain some respect back by appointing someone to galvanise the club and not someone who is going to be a cheap option again and probably knows very little of Scottish football

So you'd rather Yogi back than him? Hardly the cheap appointment if the compensation figures quoted for Dundee Utd were correct, we'd still be likely to have to pay £100k.

You'd take Michael O'Neil over him purely because he has "knowledge of Scottish football" then? Despite that fact that Fenlon has more experience and a longer track record of success in the same leagues. You'd take John Hartson over him? Gary McAllister?

For the record, I have no idea if Fenlon is the right man for the job or not and have a poor track record of working out if a manager is going to be a success or not....:greengrin

15-11-2011, 05:18 PM
Id back whoever comes in but No disrespect to Pat Fenlon the way things have been will he if given the job be any better than last three managers :confused:

Hardly inspiring imo

hibby67
15-11-2011, 05:45 PM
Fenlon, O'Neill and Danny Lennon to be interviewed this week.

Fenlon will be fav because his Irish mates like a punt...

source.......

vein
15-11-2011, 05:49 PM
My exact sentiments :agree: With those odds the job must be his.

Not a definite, guus hiddink was long odds on for the chelsea job before the Portuguese lad got it.

15-11-2011, 05:50 PM
His wiki page says that he has agreed a 3 year deal ????????????

15-11-2011, 05:53 PM
His wiki page says that he has agreed a 3 year deal ????????????

Or it did.. Somebody is mucking about with the wikipedia....

Purehibee_MYB
15-11-2011, 05:54 PM

Was Steve Clarke not on something similar to 1/6 last time round though?

15-11-2011, 05:55 PM
Looks like Chic Young is about to break the big announcement on our new Manager at 6:10pm on Radio Scotland Medium wave.

15-11-2011, 05:55 PM
Come on chaps, when do the bookies ever know anything about the Hibs job?

Anyone that leaks anything about interviews will soon not be any part of the process I'd imagine!

Edit: I might take that back!

ancienthibby
15-11-2011, 05:56 PM
According to el Chico on the upcoming Sportsound on Beeb 810!!??

15-11-2011, 06:01 PM
can we listen to this online?

15-11-2011, 06:02 PM

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/scotland/6407137.stm

15-11-2011, 06:04 PM

Cheers. :aok:

15-11-2011, 06:04 PM

Should get it here about 10 past 6

15-11-2011, 06:08 PM
I am quite excited.

I've got 20 on Chic Young @ 50's...

15-11-2011, 06:11 PM
Chick Young in hoovering information from hibs.net shock. Prick.

15-11-2011, 06:12 PM
Nought new :rolleyes:

15-11-2011, 06:13 PM
18:13,,,,,,has chick said anything then????

15-11-2011, 06:14 PM
Great appointment :rolleyes:

15-11-2011, 06:15 PM
More top class reporting from dick young, a quick look at hibs.net and a couple of bookies sites equates to 'rumours sweeping Edinburgh'. Danny Lennon states he has not been contacted.

15-11-2011, 06:15 PM
18:13,,,,,,has chick said anything then????

Pretty much summarised this thread. The man is to journalism what Vanessa Feltz is to weight loss!

15-11-2011, 06:16 PM
Great appointment :rolleyes:

Who? :confused:

15-11-2011, 06:20 PM

Don't worry. Even Chic can't get the name right despite him having it written down in front of him.

15-11-2011, 06:24 PM
The only thing of note was a "Beeb understands" that no announcement about the new Manager would be forthcoming this week and it was fully expected that Billy Brown would be in charge for Saturday's game.

15-11-2011, 06:25 PM
Don't worry. Even Chic can't get the name right despite him having it written down in front of him.

It was a genuine question.

Did Chic give any substantive, new information or did he just pass on forum gossip, the latter of which I suspect to be the case from the posts on here?

To think that the BBC used to be renowned worldwide for the quality of its journalism!

15-11-2011, 06:26 PM

Did Chic give any substantive, new information or did he just pass on forum gossip, the latter of which I suspect to be the case from the posts on here?

To think that the BBC used to be renowned worldwide for the quality of its journalism!

What was the question?

15-11-2011, 06:30 PM

He said Pat Fenlon is "front runner" for the job. That's pretty much it, he might've said that it's unlikely we'll make an announcement this week, don't know if I heard him right.

15-11-2011, 06:31 PM
Aye. Thought as much.

15-11-2011, 06:37 PM
" Dundee United (http://www.hibs.net/wiki/Dundee_United_F.C.) attempted to appoint him as their manager in January 2010, although their compensation offer of £90,000 was rejected, with Bohemians looking for over £200,000 "

15-11-2011, 06:39 PM
He won the league with Shelbourne in 2003, 2004 and 2006, and with Bohemians in 2008 and 2009 so seems quite decent.

15-11-2011, 06:45 PM
Wow. Underwhemed to say the least.

15-11-2011, 06:46 PM
He won the league with Shelbourne in 2003, 2004 and 2006, and with Bohemians in 2008 and 2009 so seems quite decent.

He also managed Boh's to the brink of financial mealt down. They've had the biggest player budget by a country mile, three times that of Shamrock Rovers. Who has won the league the last two years? Oh yeh, Michael O'Neill's Shamrock rovers.

No contest IMO!

yekimevol
15-11-2011, 06:49 PM

id prefer.

j.calderwood, p,brown, B.DAVIS !, b.stark,

15-11-2011, 06:54 PM
I would prefer MON....Who was the favorite when Mowbray got the job??

15-11-2011, 06:54 PM
What was the question?

15-11-2011, 07:03 PM

Kernaghan

15-11-2011, 07:05 PM
If this happens, I'd like to know how this appointment would "unite the supporters"...

15-11-2011, 07:06 PM
Might suggest more than just a big bet, perhaps someone is in the know

Any rumours of this on the private members forum ???

Noone's got a clue mate, not even the PMs. They will know 1st though...:rolleyes:

Kernaghan wasa stick on, just like Steve Clarke was last time.

15-11-2011, 07:07 PM
No odds for Didi Hamman or Paul Ince?

15-11-2011, 07:07 PM
Kernaghan

Oh yeah, cheers.......I think I was backing him at the time too :wink:

15-11-2011, 07:08 PM
If this happens, I'd like to know how this appointment would "unite the supporters"...

Are you suggesting that some fans won't get behind the next manager unless he's really famous?

15-11-2011, 07:12 PM
Are you suggesting that some fans won't get behind the next manager unless he's really famous?
No, I'm saying it's uninspiring and generally 'meh' in nature. I reckon most fans will be underwhelmed.

15-11-2011, 07:14 PM

Huge amounts? Do you think that many people are punting on this?

15-11-2011, 07:25 PM
No, I'm saying it's uninspiring and generally 'meh' in nature. I reckon most fans will be underwhelmed.

Wee bit like when Mowbray got the gig then?...

15-11-2011, 07:31 PM
Pretty much aye.

francobaresi
15-11-2011, 07:34 PM
Hughes and Hartley, lol, priceless...

Hibees07
15-11-2011, 07:37 PM
The bit in bold's a bit worrying, this was a post on the Bohemians Fans Site:

Re: Pat FenlonTramwayTramp wrote:
he's now favourite @ 4/7 from 25’s earlier for the Hibs managerial position

hmmmmmmmm

Please God let this happen

15-11-2011, 07:42 PM

Yep. I was raging. Until I heard him talking at the press conference and then seen his team trying to pass the ball in his first game.

Just seen a few interviews and q and a 's on YouTube with Fenlon and although I've never really paid any attention to him before I quite like how he comes across. Twice won back to back titles. Not bad.

CapitalHibs
15-11-2011, 07:43 PM
The bit in bold's a bit worrying, this was a post on the Bohemians Fans Site:

Re: Pat FenlonTramwayTramp wrote:
he's now favourite @ 4/7 from 25’s earlier for the Hibs managerial position

hmmmmmmmm

Please God let this happen

Maybe the guy's an undercover Hibee:wink:

The Hurricane
15-11-2011, 07:44 PM
[QUOTE=offshorehibby;2989314]He's come in from 20/1 yesterday to 1/2 with sky bet. Is that the guy Dundee Utd were interested in but wouldn't pay the compo. BB drifted right out to 12/1.[/QUOTE

Pat Fenlon was shown round East Mains at the weekend Heard he is one of 4 we have spoken to with 2 more this week

15-11-2011, 07:47 PM
mrewanmurray Ewan Murray
Possible link between Hibs and Pat Fenlon is John Park. The pair are close, Park still well regarded at Easter Road. Word put in maybe?

15-11-2011, 07:54 PM
He also managed Boh's to the brink of financial mealt down. They've had the biggest player budget by a country mile, three times that of Shamrock Rovers. Who has won the league the last two years? Oh yeh, Michael O'Neill's Shamrock rovers.

No contest IMO!

I never said i preferred Fenlon, i just said he knows how to win. Yeah Boh's he had money (kind of) but what about Shelbourne?

15-11-2011, 07:55 PM
Must admit I'd be thoroughly underwhelmed if Fenlon was given the job, we need someone to get punters back to ER and give us some hope.

15-11-2011, 08:02 PM
Must admit I'd be thoroughly underwhelmed if Fenlon was given the job, we need someone to get punters back to ER and give us some hope.

Who is going to guarantee that though? I think we need to be realistic and the Mowbray thing is a reminder that it's about the right person and not how well known they are. Doing and saying the right things and getting results and playing good football will get people back.

I mean you have people questioning Strachan who has won SPL titles been in the last 16 of the Champions League twice and is also a Hibby!

We averaged around 12,000 under Hughes and most people didn't think it was great. It doesn't take too much success to turn the tide again.

15-11-2011, 08:02 PM
Is the choice to dig deep and get a big-ish named manager to try his hand at shuffling the pack we akready have, or is it to take a lower profile body and give them some funds to play with?

nortonhibby
15-11-2011, 08:03 PM

Got to give the new guy who ever he is our full support.:flag:

15-11-2011, 08:04 PM
Is the choice to dig deep and get a big-ish named manager to try his hand at shuffling the pack we akready have, or is it to take a lower profile body and give them some funds to play with?

What big-ish names did you have in mind that would take the Hibs job?

15-11-2011, 08:08 PM

A couple of people have said something along these lines and it surprises me to be honest.

I'll admit that I don't know much about PF but it'll take more than a big name to get punters back. We need someone to bring performances and results so who's to say PF(or any other unknown manager) won't be the man to do that.

Also we know what happens when we bring in ex hibs players.

15-11-2011, 08:09 PM
If we've got any sense we'll leave this one well alone. Fenlon bankrupted two clubs over a decade, Shelbourne Rovers and Bohs to fund his dream of taking an Irish club into the group stages of a European tourney. O'Neil comes along and does it with Shamrock in a year, spending next to nothing.

15-11-2011, 08:12 PM
A couple of people have said something along these lines and it surprises me to be honest.

I'll admit that I don't know much about PF but it'll take more than a big name to get punters back. We need someone to bring performances and results so who's to say PF(or any other unknown manager) won't be the man to do that.

Also we know what happens when we bring in ex hibs players.

Of the last 3 one won us a cup, one was top six twice in a row and the other got fourth and Europe. We'd take any of those things just now.

Bobby W and CC are amongst those who were not Hibs players and were decent names.

nortonhibby
15-11-2011, 08:20 PM
If we've got any sense we'll leave this one well alone. Fenlon bankrupted two clubs over a decade, Shelbourne Rovers and Bohs to fund his dream of taking an Irish club into the group stages of a European tourney. O'Neil comes along and does it with Shamrock in a year, spending next to nothing.

With the odds so low at the bookies he looks a stick on for the job the bookies seldom get it wrong.

15-11-2011, 08:24 PM

If the new manager who ever he is, gets the results and the performance from the players then surely that's what will get the punters back and give them hope. A "big" name doesn't guarantee that!

Melvin Hibs
15-11-2011, 08:25 PM
If the new manager who ever he is, gets the results and the performance from the players then surely that's what will get the punters back and give them hope. A "big" name doesn't guarantee that!

nortonhibby
15-11-2011, 08:30 PM

Ask RP At the next Agm the day before he sacked him its like groundhog day every Agm.

15-11-2011, 08:36 PM
If he gets it ill be very underwhelmed. But it can't be any worse than the dross we wavered for the last two years

15-11-2011, 08:37 PM
With the odds so low at the bookies he looks a stick on for the job the bookies seldom get it wrong.

I don't know. This one doesn't smell right to me. Paddy Power were giving big odds on Fenlon going to Dundee United some time back, and although circumstances were different regarding compo, it never happened. I don't think there's a great deal of interest in this appointment outside the Hibs community, and a syndicate of Irish punters having a stick on PF could make a big difference.

nortonhibby
15-11-2011, 08:47 PM
I don't know. This one doesn't smell right to me. Paddy Power were giving big odds on Fenlon going to Dundee United some time back, and although circumstances were different regarding compo, it never happened. I don't think there's a great deal of interest in this appointment outside the Hibs community, and a syndicate of Irish punters having a stick on PF could make a big difference.

They must have inside info to slash his odds so much, i agree he would be a very disapointing appointment though.

15-11-2011, 08:48 PM
If the new manager starts to win games and have us playing well to boot, thats what will see fans starting to come back.

PolmontHibby
15-11-2011, 08:54 PM
Fenlon? Had never heard of him, but if my quick search is correct he manages a team that averages a crowd of 2,000, in a stadium that holds 3,000.

We could save a bus fare and recruit direct from a Scottish junior team.

15-11-2011, 08:55 PM
They must have inside info to slash his odds so much, i agree he would be a very disapointing appointment though.

Even if he turned us around and the results and performances were good?

15-11-2011, 08:59 PM
If Fenlon was any good, he wouldn't still be at Bohs. He'd be an absolute catastrophe of an appointment.

15-11-2011, 08:59 PM
:faf: this is a load o pish, not saying fenlon is not in the running but we are no where nearer picking a new manager than we were this time last week, BB is going to be given a crack of the whip and if succesfull be offered the post till the season end and then we will see from there. i can defo confirm that we wont be waking up in the next few days to fenlon's announcement :wink:

nortonhibby
15-11-2011, 09:02 PM
Even if he turned us around and the results and performances were good?

A Yes the word If hmm if only we had not appointed YOGI, If only we had not appointed CC, If only we had backed JC.

IF ONLY.

sixtwo
15-11-2011, 09:02 PM
I would be very disappointed if he was appointed. It would highlight the clubs lack of ambition and increase the sense of apathy with lapsed supporters. At a Time when we need a spark and a boost an appointment like this could be catastrophic. A big name will bring the fans back, wil bring the feel good factor back and will get us on the right track. A nobody will be fighting a losing battle before the letters are sewn into his jacket
Davies has more experience than any manager in this league. He has achieved more as a manager and has a desire to get back to management. He should get the job and the backing. It's a no brainer

15-11-2011, 09:03 PM
Never played at a high level nor even managed at a higher level, if this is the level we are going for thn god help us and I'm an athiest too.

Surley we can attract a manger with a better reputation than him, I'd go for FJK before him anyday, or even give BB the job 1st.

15-11-2011, 09:05 PM
I had never heard of him until he was linked to a couple of other scottish clubs? Cant say he does much for me, does not get the juices going.

15-11-2011, 09:09 PM
Pat Stanton was also called Pat.
Therefore it would surely be a good appointment.

15-11-2011, 09:13 PM
Just spoken with a couple of the players and they appear to be none the wiser than we are as to who is coming in !!
" More names being bandied about than Hertz have creditors " was the brilliant quote from them

:greengrin:wink:

Ferryhibby
15-11-2011, 09:14 PM
whats the fascination with managers from the irish league?....theyr standard of football is worse than ours, none of their teams set the heather alite as do any of their players.....get them out of the picture...quickly

15-11-2011, 09:22 PM
"Underwhelmed" seems to be the buzz word on this thread. All from a bunch of managerial afficionados.

I can't recall a massive outpouring of overwhelming emotion when Mowbray was appointed.

If he's half as underwhelming as Mowbray was then he'll do for me.

nortonhibby
15-11-2011, 09:26 PM
Does anyone know if we would have to pay compo to get him ?

Gordy M
15-11-2011, 09:27 PM
Seen it on here and bounce that Fenlon is one of four or five being interviewed. I assume Michael O'Neil is another. Anyone confirm this, and who the other three may be?

15-11-2011, 09:27 PM
"Underwhelmed" seems to be the buzz word on this thread. All from a bunch of managerial afficionados.

I can't recall a massive outpouring of overwhelming emotion when Mowbray was appointed.

Agreed. One things for sure, and if past experience is anything to go by, if hibs.net supports a managerial appointment he's bound to be absolutely ****ing gash.

MotherSuperior
15-11-2011, 09:31 PM
Does anyone know much about what style and formation this Fenlon gadgie gets his teams playing? I know you get the Irish league on sky, but I've never actually watched a game myself.

15-11-2011, 09:32 PM

Perhaps those who are underwhelmed should just lie, and once they have managed to climb down from the ceiling, they will let you know how happy they are to be linked with this managerial giant?

As for him being half as underwhelming as Mowbray, that certainly would not do for me. I want our new man to make us harder to beat, and challenge for europe. Also semi's and finals too. If he's only half as good as Mowbray, we wont be doing any of that.

15-11-2011, 09:36 PM
Never played at a high level nor even managed at a higher level, if this is the level we are going for thn god help us and I'm an athiest too.

Surley we can attract a manger with a better reputation than him, I'd go for FJK before him anyday, or even give BB the job 1st.

Unlike the last three who fulfilled at least one of those criteria, in CC's case arguably both.

15-11-2011, 09:36 PM
Perhaps those who are underwhelmed should just lie, and once they have managed to climb down from the ceiling, they will let you know how happy they are to be linked with this managerial giant?

As for him being half as underwhelming as Mowbray, that certainly would not do for me. I want our new man to make us harder to beat, and challenge for europe. Also semi's and finals too. If he's only half as good as Mowbray, we wont be doing any of that.
You're never happy unless you're whingeing. CC has gone. You got your wish. So if it's not Pat Fenlon, who would get your juices running?

And continuing on the TM theme, he wasn't eactly a managerial giant when he came here. In fact it was his first gig. Never did too badly imo. Clearly not good nough for you though. :rolleyes:

15-11-2011, 09:45 PM
You're never happy unless you're whingeing. CC has gone. You got your wish. So if it's not Pat Fenlon, who would get your juices running?

And continuing on the TM theme, he wasn't eactly a managerial giant when he came here. In fact it was his first gig. Never did too badly imo. Clearly not good nough for you though. :rolleyes:

Blah blah blah, you are correct i got my wish with the sacking of CC, there was nothing to moan about him was there? Just because Fenlon does not get my juices flowing does not mean he's not a good manager. I have already said on this thread i know nothing about him apart from knowing he's been approached by 2 other SPL clubs.

And where did i post Mowbray was not good enough?

Rather than get all annoyed at what you think i said, actually read WHAT i said before you post.

chriswood1401
15-11-2011, 09:46 PM
Not altogether sure what to make of this one.

Fenlon is neither my ideal choice for the job (O'Neill is) but at the same time I'd prefer him to some of the other names that have been linked with us (Jimmy Calderwood being just one).

It just strikes me as strange that, if we were gonna go down the Irish route, that we'd knock back a guy who's just won back to back titles and has achieved relative European success for a guy who yes, has won some trophies, but not in the last few years. Add on the fact that Bohemians could command more compensation than Shamrock Rovers could and it just doesn't make sense knowing our notoriously frugal board. I still think that the likelihood is BB to be in charge with MON coming in once his contract's up, or just before.

Like I said, Fenlon's certainly not the worst name I've heard linked with the job. I remember being slightly jealous when it looked as though Dundee Utd were gonna be getting him last year.

Wouldn't say I'd be over the moon with him but I'd certainly be willing to give him a chance.

Glory Glory

15-11-2011, 09:52 PM
Where's Hibernian Dub when you need him for some insider information from Dalymount:dunno:

Probably at the Aviva Stadium doing the hibee bounce:partyhibb

Billy McKirdy
15-11-2011, 09:53 PM
Before I read this thread I was going to post just one word..underwhelmed..looks like I was beaten to it by a few of you :wink:, very dissapointed if true though!

15-11-2011, 09:55 PM
Before I read this thread I was going to post just one word..underwhelmed..looks like I was beaten to it by a few of you :wink:, very dissapointed if true though!

Give yourself a slap. :wink:

Wellbankhibby
15-11-2011, 10:03 PM
I have been on holiday and on a peronal note I was happy CC got his marching orders while I was away. Now I await in anticipation for the Board to appoint the best manager for Hibernian FC. There are some excellent candidates and I for one have always said we should aim as high as we can my preference has to be Gordon Strachan if this is a non starter, Billy Stark, Billy Davis or terry butcher would be alright. I am some what bemused now to see that Pat Fenlon is odds on to get the job. The Man may prove me wrong and like tony mobray be a breath of fresh air to us but the last thing this club and we suffering supporters need is more uncertainty. PLEASE FOR HEAVENS SAKE GIVE US STABILITY with a Manager who has a proven track record.

Pat Fenlon

Derek Adams

Chris Coleman

Michael O'Neill

Billy Stark

Nigel Worthington

Jim Jefferies

Stephen Pressley

Kevin Keegan

Billy Brown

Danny Lennon

Chris Sutton

Jimmy Calderwood

Terry Butcher

Craig Brown

John Robertson

Roy Aitken

Brian Kerr

John Collins

Gary Bollan

Alan Curbishley

Steve Clarke

Henning Berg

Franck Sauzee

Phil Brown

Paul Sturrock

John Hartson

Gordon Strachan

Paul Cook

Tony Mowbray

Paul Hartley

Iain Dowie

John Hughes

Jim Magilton

John McGlynn

Henrik Larsson

Billy Davies

Aidy Boothroyd

Martin O'Neill

Gary McAllister

Jim Gannon

Neil Lennon

[/QUOTE]

15-11-2011, 10:08 PM
Blah blah blah, you are correct i got my wish with the sacking of CC, there was nothing to moan about him was there? Just because Fenlon does not get my juices flowing does not mean he's not a good manager. I have already said on this thread i know nothing about him apart from knowing he's been approached by 2 other SPL clubs.

And where did i post Mowbray was not good enough?

Rather than get all annoyed at what you think i said, actually read WHAT i said before you post.

It was implied. When I said I'd be happy if he was "half as underwhelming (i.e. good in the context of the conversation) as Mowbray" it was using a well known figure of speech. You implied that Mowbray wasn't quite good enough - but I may have been misinterpreting what you were meaning. Many of your posts are full of negative stuff. Anyway, I don't like folk shooting someone down before they've even got here. Let's get behind the new man - whoever it might be. Hopefully he will shut your moaning up for a bit at least.

15-11-2011, 10:18 PM
It was implied. When I said I'd be happy if he was "half as underwhelming (i.e. good in the context of the conversation) as Mowbray" it was using a well known figure of speech. You implied that Mowbray wasn't quite good enough - but I may have been misinterpreting what you were meaning. Many of your posts are full of negative stuff. Anyway, I don't like folk shooting someone down before they've even got here. Let's get behind the new man - whoever it might be. Hopefully he will shut your moaning up for a bit at least.

When Mowbray was appointed i did not know what to think, but when i heard him speak i was hooked. Mowbray was appointed, and nobody had any clue it was him until he walked through the door.

There might have been threads like this if there had, i will ask you again. Do you want folk to lie when talking about this speculation, or do you want them to say what they feel?

I think you are another who has selective reading, many of my posts are full of negative stuff you say. Yet when i supported the man before the last incumbent, i was called a happy clapper. Which one is it?

What makes you think i wont get behind the new man, even if its Fenlon?

15-11-2011, 10:37 PM
Was Michael O'Neil not shorter odds than this yesterday?

15-11-2011, 10:39 PM

Not a managerial giant but a track record as a top rated player and was coaching at a decent championship club.

15-11-2011, 10:44 PM
I had never heard of him until he was linked to a couple of other scottish clubs? Cant say he does much for me, does not get the juices going.

Just what we need - a guy who can convince a chairman to spend cash the club doesn't have, yet still produce stunning mediocrity.

15-11-2011, 10:46 PM
Agreed. One things for sure, and if past experience is anything to go by, if hibs.net supports a managerial appointment he's bound to be absolutely ****ing gash.
:tee hee: Very true.

In which case this could be a very encouraging rumour! :greengrin

15-11-2011, 10:49 PM
Regarding compensation Bohs need 4million euro by June or they go bust. Reckon they will be glad to get a manager off their wagebill especially considering they have no players just now as they freed the first team squad. This then makes him level with MON in these stakes, A lot may come down to the interview and we shall never know what happened there, I have done interviews where the cv really favoured one candidate who was blown out the water by other candidates

15-11-2011, 10:53 PM
Regarding compensation Bohs need 4million euro by June or they go bust. Reckon they will be glad to get a manager off their wagebill especially considering they have no players just now as they freed the first team squad. This then makes him level with MON in these stakes, A lot may come down to the interview and we shall never know what happened there, I have done interviews where the cv really favoured one candidate who was blown out the water by other candidates

I suspect that Pat Fenlon really interviews well. But his reputation for leaving a string of bankrupt clubs behind him should set off Petrie's warning bells.

15-11-2011, 10:57 PM
On Beeb..

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/15744981.stm

15-11-2011, 10:58 PM
If you only get a 10 point deduction why not?

darwenhibby
15-11-2011, 11:13 PM
On Beeb..

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/15744981.stm

Crikey when I saw the picture I thought it was Pat Nevin at first.

Before CC was appointed I mentioned on here to go for Billy Brown.

If the board want to show ambition and want a young and up coming manager sound out Solksjard.

If they want controversy and sombody to shake the club up go for Jefferies.

I wish we could get Saturday out of the way and we can geta better idea if BB can motivate and organise what he has at his disposal.

If he can it may lay the fears of the support at such a crucial time for the club.

Roll on Saturday.

Lets all go and get behind the team.:flag:

15-11-2011, 11:49 PM
I would be very disappointed if he was appointed. It would highlight the clubs lack of ambition and increase the sense of apathy with lapsed supporters. At a Time when we need a spark and a boost an appointment like this could be catastrophic. A big name will bring the fans back, wil bring the feel good factor back and will get us on the right track. A nobody will be fighting a losing battle before the letters are sewn into his jacket
Davies has more experience than any manager in this league. He has achieved more as a manager and has a desire to get back to management. He should get the job and the backing. It's a no brainer

With his abilities to 1) organise a team and 2) motivate a team Billy Davies would get any SPL team into the top 3.

16-11-2011, 12:10 AM
FENLON last night emerged as the red-hot favourite to become the new manager of Hibs.The Bohemians boss has spoken to the Easter Road board as they chase a successor to Colin Calderwood.
Former Hibs star and Shamrock Rovers boss Michael O'Neill remains a contender for the post but SunSport can reveal Fenlon flew to Edinburgh yesterday to meet a Hibs delegation, including chairman Rod Petrie.

Read more: http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/3937921/Fenlon-in-talks-to-be-new-Hibs-boss.html#ixzz1dp2whNuN

16-11-2011, 12:13 AM

16-11-2011, 12:18 AM

Agreed x 2

16-11-2011, 12:34 AM
Crikey when I saw the picture I thought it was Pat Nevin at first.

Before CC was appointed I mentioned on here to go for Billy Brown.

If the board want to show ambition and want a young and up coming manager sound out Solksjard.

If they want controversy and sombody to shake the club up go for Jefferies.

I wish we could get Saturday out of the way and we can geta better idea if BB can motivate and organise what he has at his disposal.

If he can it may lay the fears of the support at such a crucial time for the club.

Roll on Saturday.

Lets all go and get behind the team.:flag:

16-11-2011, 12:38 AM
Agreed x 2

I watched Fenlon ruin Shels and Bohs so I couldn't stand going to see Hibs under his tenure. He'd have to convince me. Not just an uninspired appointment, a potentially very, very bad one.

16-11-2011, 01:44 AM
source.......

Or Rooney Senior?

16-11-2011, 01:55 AM
Fenlon still 20/1 with Scotbet, i noticed too that Mark McGhee is now 4/1 he was at least 33/1 a couple of days ago

http://www.scotbet.com/betting/index.asp?sl=sltc&gi=6&sltc=78575.1&sle=807902.18&slmt=9180.18

roondheid
16-11-2011, 02:34 AM
Fenlon v O'Neill interview head to head.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UYDoa0yede0&

Think both come across as quite honest. Not sure what their teams are like to watch though.

Hibby cal
16-11-2011, 05:25 AM
The bookies & the sun newspaper seem to have pat fenlon as odds on favourite
To land the top job at hibs . Is this really the man to take us forward and develop
The new crop of youth players coming through the ranks ???? .mr Petrie said he would deliver
A manager that would put bums on seats and unite the fans ??? Could this be him ??????????

Petrie's Tache
16-11-2011, 05:40 AM
The bookies & the sun newspaper seem to have pat fenlon as odds on favourite
To land the top job at hibs . Is this really the man to take us forward and develop
The new crop of youth players coming through the ranks ???? .mr Petrie said he would deliver
A manager that would put bums on seats and unite the fans ??? Could this be him ??????????

NO:grr:

huggie1875
16-11-2011, 05:46 AM
Well no but then i was raging when we hired Mowbray so you never know but it wont put bums on seats unless he gets of to a flyer

16-11-2011, 05:58 AM
Depends on the alternatives. JJ, Tangoman, Strachan etc etc, no bloody thanks. Need a change from all them.

16-11-2011, 06:46 AM
Fenlon, seriously?

'only at Hibs' as big Nish would say.

16-11-2011, 07:00 AM
I don't tend to get inspired or otherwise based on bookies odds.

Can I come back to you when we have an official appointment pal as I prefer to wait (patiently) till then?

Many Thanks & Kind Regards

16-11-2011, 07:05 AM
I suspect that Pat Fenlon really interviews well. But his reputation for leaving a string of bankrupt clubs behind him should set off Petrie's warning bells.

RP's no involved :wink:

HUGE budget compared to MON's, and he finished behind MON for two seasons. I sincerely hope that's ringing RP's bell in a positive way of course.

16-11-2011, 07:07 AM
To be fair sounds like those odds have come crashing down as they've got wind of his interview, he won't be the only one being interviewed he'll just be the only one they definately know about so I don't think its the stick on the bookies are suggesting

16-11-2011, 07:12 AM
[QUOTE=Mainboy;2990056]FENLON last night emerged as the red-hot favourite to become the new manager of Hibs.The Bohemians boss has spoken to the Easter Road board as they chase a successor to Colin Calderwood. Former Hibs star and Shamrock Rovers boss Michael O'Neill remains a contender for the post but SunSport can reveal Fenlon flew toEdinburgh yesterday to meet a Hibs delegation, including chairman Rod Petrie. And there was me believing Rod wasn't involved in recruiting our new manager !

16-11-2011, 07:22 AM

HUGE budget compared to MON's, and he finished behind MON for two seasons. I sincerely hope that's ringing RP's bell in a positive way of course.

Thats absolute nonsense, he was working on a fraction of what MON was. I wish ppl would check what they are about to spout as this will suddenly become another "fact" that becomes bomb proof on .net.

16-11-2011, 07:27 AM
When we played his team last season I was totally unimpressed. They made a very poor Hibs side look good.

16-11-2011, 07:30 AM
Pat Fenlon ...... Not for me ta:na na:

16-11-2011, 07:39 AM
I don't tend to get inspired or otherwise based on bookies odds.

Can I come back to you when we have an official appointment pal as I prefer to wait (patiently) till then?

Many Thanks & Kind Regards

Aye, but it's a good excuse for a :grr: in the meantime.

16-11-2011, 07:44 AM
Who do people actually want that will inspire them? The likes of Billy Davies and Gordon Strachan are not going to take the job.

16-11-2011, 08:01 AM
Who do people actually want that will inspire them? The likes of Billy Davies and Gordon Strachan are not going to take the job.

Bath of beans? :thumbsup::wink:

16-11-2011, 08:03 AM
With his abilities to 1) organise a team and 2) motivate a team Billy Davies would get any SPL team into the top 3.

Yet he didnt manage that with Well finishing 4th and then 8th nor could he get Forest out of the Championship? While he managed that with Derby I dont get why folk rate him so highly, or Strachan for that matter, while so quick to diss the LOI managers Fenlon or O'Neil.

16-11-2011, 08:06 AM
Thats absolute nonsense, he was working on a fraction of what MON was. I wish ppl would check what they are about to spout as this will suddenly become another "fact" that becomes bomb proof on .net.

Why make the effort when you can just make things up. :rolleyes:

Don Giovanni
16-11-2011, 08:07 AM
Fenlon still 20/1 with Scotbet, i noticed too that Mark McGhee is now 4/1 he was at least 33/1 a couple of days agohttp://www.scotbet.com/betting/index.asp?sl=sltc&gi=6&sltc=78575.1&sle=807902.18&slmt=9180.18 Nooooooo! Those odds are the most scary thing Iv read on .net. Underwhelmed? Appointing Mark McGhee would gies the boak. I'd rather we appointed Debbie McGhee - that'd be magic :greengrin

16-11-2011, 08:10 AM
Personally i think the bookies and pundits have got hold of the story that Fenlon might have been spoken to, put 2+2 together and got 5. With supposedly a couple of interviews still to go i can't see how they can say he's the one. Out of Fenlon & O'Neill it's O'Neill for me.

16-11-2011, 08:24 AM
No. But 3 other SPL clubs wanted him so he must have something. I would rather have Jimmy Calderwood or MoN

16-11-2011, 08:29 AM
The bookies have probably listed all possibilities and decide Fenlon would have the lowest wage demands so made him favourite.

16-11-2011, 08:31 AM
The bookies have probably listed all possibilities and decide Fenlon would have the lowest wage demands so made him favourite.

Yes because we are so tight !!! :rolleyes:

16-11-2011, 08:32 AM
Too much of a gamble, the guy appears to have achieved little with big budgets, smacks of the cheap option again but going by his history he wouldn't be a cheap option.

He may talk a good game but so did Yogi and look where that got us.

A definite no from me.

GreenPJ
16-11-2011, 08:33 AM
So inspiring fans is now number one priority for a new manager. Maybe Ron Atkinson or Barry Fry or Neil Lennon :devil: might be interested :rolleyes:

16-11-2011, 08:33 AM
FFS mark mcgee. If that clown is appointed there will chaos at ER. No way will the fans accept him. He is probably the only appointment that would anger me more than FJK or the fascist Di canio

16-11-2011, 08:37 AM

Really?!? Not what I was told. How'd Bohs get in such a financial mess - and why has Fenlon got a reputation for spending a fortune?

16-11-2011, 08:42 AM
Really?!? Not what I was told. How'd Bohs get in such a financial mess - and why has Fenlon got a reputation for spending a fortune?

It could be pointed out that Hearts are working on a fraction of what Celtic spend. Depends on you're starting point really. :dunno:

16-11-2011, 08:51 AM

Who told you that? Maybe you should take some time to read instead of coming on here (taking time out of your hectic schedule) and posting negative nonsense.

Its not hard to find reports or discussions about MON having the largest budget in LOI. There was a link on here to the Shamrock Rovers forum and they openly discussed and admitted that MON had by far the largest budget and was able to cherry pick the best players in LOI, i hasten to add this is not a resource he will have at Hibs!!

happiehibbie
16-11-2011, 09:02 AM
Nope but i hope if he gets the job I hope he gets us playing good football and some wins

TrickyNicky
16-11-2011, 09:08 AM
So inspiring fans is now number one priority for a new manager. Maybe Ron Atkinson or Barry Fry or Neil Lennon :devil: might be interested :rolleyes:

What about Anthony Robbins and Yogi as his number 2? - They could shout at David Wotherspoon " Get confidence , stupid " !!

andudare2
16-11-2011, 09:10 AM
I just stuck £20 on Michael O'Neil on Paddy Power at 15/8... worth a punt now the value has came back for him.if what i was told today is correct, then i think you have lost your cash m8. :violin:

16-11-2011, 09:12 AM
Who told you that? Maybe you should take some time to read instead of coming on here (taking time out of your hectic schedule) and posting negative nonsense.

Its not hard to find reports or discussions about MON having the largest budget in LOI. There was a link on here to the Shamrock Rovers forum and they openly discussed and admitted that MON had by far the largest budget and was able to cherry pick the best players in LOI, i hasten to add this is not a resource he will have at Hibs!!

Calm down FFS. Your BP must be through the roof.

Re-post the link - thanks :aok:

16-11-2011, 09:14 AM
Too much of a gamble, the guy appears to have achieved little with big budgets, smacks of the cheap option again but going by his history he wouldn't be a cheap option.He may talk a good game but so did Yogi and look where that got us.

A definite no from me.

Watch now the messiah will be after you! :wink: :greengrin

16-11-2011, 09:16 AM
The vast majority of people wanted change and will get what they wished for.

16-11-2011, 09:49 AM

The general consensus amongst Bohs fans seem to be that Fenlon overspent and that they'd be well rid. I think we should snap him up pronto - he sounds magic.

16-11-2011, 10:27 AM
So one of Scotlands top teams in terms of setup, infrastructure, finances and resources will be digging ourselves out the **** ,getting punters back in and making a real difference.....by aquiring a manager from bohemians????

If true, very disappointed. Lack of vision and cheap option AGAIN for thee most important role at Hibs.

16-11-2011, 10:33 AM

I'm not taking sides here but you say that you have read/heard info to substantiate your claims/counter claims. Are either of you able to post or state where your info is from? As I say, i'm not having a go at either but it sounds like you are both party to info that we would all like in order to make our minds up (not that us fans matter) over which may be the best candidate.

Cheers.
:hibees

16-11-2011, 10:35 AM
I'm pretty sure that the board are aware that they're not going to be able to appoint a manager who will unite the support purely by the announcement his name - it is my belief that they will go for another Mowbray style appointment, someone who can inspire the fans with their words and style of football.

Easier said than done, obviously.

16-11-2011, 10:36 AM
Personally i think the bookies and pundits have got hold of the story that Fenlon might have been spoken to, put 2+2 together and got 5. With supposedly a couple of interviews still to go i can't see how they can say he's the one. Out of Fenlon & O'Neill it's O'Neill for me.

I think you are probably right and with his initial price at 20s it wouldnt take too much for a snowball effect to take place. Listened to the two interviews on one of the links and to me MON came over much better though if he is to be Hibs boss he will need to tone down on his comments re officials. :greengrin

RedandBlack
16-11-2011, 10:41 AM
As a Bohs fan I can tell you Fenlon did not run Bohs into the ground. The board managed to do that all by themselves by crazy land deals and borrowing. No fault of Fenlon’s.

You could also say at Shels money was just thrown at him by the late Ollie Byrne to qualify for the CL. A manager is never going to refuse cash to buy??

Out of the 2, Fenlon or MON there isn’t a massive difference, Fenlon has the experience. MON has been close to the boot a couple of times with them.

16-11-2011, 10:43 AM
I keep hearing we need or deserve a big name.

Who do people have in mind? I think we need to appreciate that proper big names will have no interest in a team a point off the bottom of the SPL and anyone who may have been a big name and is now available has probably failed somewhere or regularly.

When the board talked about a leader and someone to unite the club I believe hey were talking about ability and character as opposed to reputation or whether hibs.net has heard of them before.

Fenlon has won four titles as far as I can see. If he has had a big budget fair rnough, I wish we'd had someone recenty who could get us playing in realtion to our budget.

He wouldn't probably be my choice, never knew much about him but some of these comments leaves me wondering who on earth we think we are. For what its worth I think Michael O'Neill will be ahead of him.

16-11-2011, 10:44 AM
As a Bohs fan I can tell you Fenlon did not run Bohs into the ground. The board managed to do that all by themselves by crazy land deals and borrowing. No fault of Fenlon’s.

You could also say at Shels money was just thrown at him by the late Ollie Byrne to qualify for the CL. A manager is never going to refuse cash to buy??

Out of the 2, Fenlon or MON there isn’t a massive difference, Fenlon has the experience. MON has been close to the boot a couple of times with them.

Cheers mate, thanks for a bit of perspective.

16-11-2011, 10:45 AM
I'm pretty sure that the board are aware that they're not going to be able to appoint a manager who will unite the support purely by the announcement his name - it is my belief that they will go for another Mowbray style appointment, someone who can inspire the fans with their words and style of football.

Exactly. I mean even Strachan's record is getting criticised here so there's not many that would come into the category of geeting us excited just by the name. If any. Certainly not mnay that would come to us.

16-11-2011, 10:51 AM
I keep hearing we need or deserve a big name.

Who do people have in mind? I think we need to appreciate that proper big names will have no interest in a team a point off the bottom of the SPL and anyone who may have been a big name and is now available has probably failed somewhere or regularly.

When the board talked about a leader and someone to unite the club I believe hey were talking about ability and character as opposed to reputation or whether hibs.net has heard of them before.

Fenlon has won four titles as far as I can see. If he has had a big budget fair rnough, I wish we'd had someone recenty who could get us playing in realtion to our budget.

He wouldn't probably be my choice, never knew much about him but some of these comments leaves me wondering who on earth we think we are. For what its worth I think Michael O'Neill will be ahead of him.

Tend to agree we arent in a particularly advantageous position in terms of attracting real quality managers. Looking at decent managers in a league which OF apart isnt much different to the SPL would sound to me like a sensible route to take. Who knows who will get the job however I would far prefer someone hungry with something to prove rather than a well known has been who isnt that good. The Irish league is also IMO a decent pool for picking up players and if either Fenlon or O'Neill got the gig they would be able to have a reasonable network and contacts. I think Fenlon used to be a Celtc scout and knows John Park well so if he can tap him for a few players win/win.

16-11-2011, 10:55 AM

Do I recall you backing Fenlon for the job prior to Hibs appointing either Yogi or CC, TQM...?

16-11-2011, 11:00 AM

Number one priority? I don't think so - but it always will be one of a number of priorities and so it should be in what is an entertainment business - especially at the moment with attendances well down on where they should be and general supporter mood coming in at somewhere between exasperation and dismay.

Of course, boosting attendances in the short term through supporter approval should not be the main motivator in signing a manager, but it should not be dismissed as of no significance. The enthusiastic backing of the fans could help make the new manager's job considerably easier - both in terms of matchday atmosphere and of fiscal resources at the next transfer window.

16-11-2011, 11:07 AM
I'm not taking sides here but you say that you have read/heard info to substantiate your claims/counter claims. Are either of you able to post or state where your info is from? As I say, i'm not having a go at either but it sounds like you are both party to info that we would all like in order to make our minds up (not that us fans matter) over which may be the best candidate.

Cheers.

http://srfcultrasforum.eu/forum/showthread.php?3156-O-Neill-I-m-happy-at-ROVERS./page2

16-11-2011, 11:08 AM
If we really wanted Strachan or Billy Davies, then the pay-off for that would perhaps need to be no transfer funds for the length of their tenure. That can't be dismissed out of hand however, because either of those guys may have the ability to turn around what we already have.

16-11-2011, 11:10 AM
If we really wanted Strachan or Billy Davies, then the pay-off for that would perhaps need to be no transfer funds for the length of their tenure. That can't be dismissed out of hand however, because either of those guys may have the ability to turn around what we already have.

I just do not get this argument with Strachan at all, he has an average at best record and his real period of success arguably came at Celtic where he had the resources to beat any team in the SPL.

16-11-2011, 11:11 AM
My first thoughts were "Pat Who???" and that this rumour is totally out of left field, but as you have a look at his record, you tend to think that if MON's a serious candidate then why not Fenlon as well?

MON's recent record in the LOI is the strongest although Fenlon's is also impressive with both Shelbourne and Bohemians.

What Fenlon lacks though is experience of playing football at a higher level than LOI (MON played at international and senior English and Scottish levels), experience of the Scottish league as either a manager or player and (I know some posters will poo poo this but...) experience of playing for Hibernian FC and the resultant knowledge of the club's history and culture and the fans' expectations.

Putting all this together, Michael O'Neill would still be my favourite - I think the suddenly short odds on Fenlon have much more to do with Irish punters taking a punt on the previously long odds than any inside knowledge re the thoughts of the Hibs board on the matter.

16-11-2011, 11:21 AM
I just do not get this argument with Strachan at all, he has an average at best record and his real period of success arguably came at Celtic where he had the resources to beat any team in the SPL.

He has experience of playing at the very top level and managing bigger clubs in bigger leagues - sure his track record is not one of absolute success but he is a highly rated manager with a charisma and aura about him nevertheless.

His record at Celtic should not be belittled at all, as many managers have shown that an OF management job is as easy to get wrong as it is to get right (the well supported Lennon for example is struggling to buy a trophy despite the well publicised problems at Castle Greyskull).

More than anything though, Strachan is only being linked with the job because of his Hibs supporting history and resultant affection for the club - if this were not the case he would probably be seen as out of our price range and would hardly be quoted.

16-11-2011, 11:28 AM
Nooooooo! Those odds are the most scary thing Iv read on .net. Underwhelmed? Appointing Mark McGhee would gies the boak. I'd rather we appointed Debbie McGhee - that'd be magic :greengrin

:agree: Mark McGhee can GTF - would be guaranteed to pish the fans off even more than if they appointed FJK with Hartley as his assistant :jamboak:

16-11-2011, 11:29 AM
My first thoughts were "Pat Who???" and that this rumour is totally out of left field, but as you have a look at his record, you tend to think that if MON's a serious candidate then why not Fenlon as well?

MON's recent record in the LOI is the strongest although Fenlon's is also impressive with both Shelbourne and Bohemians.

What Fenlon lacks though is experience of playing football at a higher level than LOI (MON played at international and senior English and Scottish levels), experience of the Scottish league as either a manager or player and (I know some posters will poo poo this but...) experience of playing for Hibernian FC and the resultant knowledge of the club's history and culture and the fans' expectations.

Putting all this together, Michael O'Neill would still be my favourite - I think the suddenly short odds on Fenlon have much more to do with Irish punters taking a punt on the previously long odds than any inside knowledge re the thoughts of the Hibs board on the matter.

Certainly appears to be the case. Latest odds suggest that Fenlon's odds are drifting while MON's are coming in.

http://www.oddschecker.com/football/football-specials/hibernian-specials/next-permanent-manager

16-11-2011, 11:39 AM

That's exactly what they'll try and do and like you say, it's a lot easier said than done. I think both MON and Fenlon are seen as Mowbray types, with MON more than PF.

Ultimately, I think that whoever the board end up appointing as manager will be in charge of the first team for the fixtures that come up after his appointment.

16-11-2011, 11:42 AM

Cheers.

Info was from (informed :confused: I thought) poster on here - may still be case as see next comment

http://srfcultrasforum.eu/forum/showthread.php?3156-O-Neill-I-m-happy-at-ROVERS./page2

I cannot read that at work - will view later though.

Do I recall you backing Fenlon for the job prior to Hibs appointing either Yogi or CC, TQM...?

Think I said we shouldn't discount him pre selecting CC. Our game is heading the same way as Irish game and is of a comparable standard in the main IMHO. I wouldn't discount him now. But facts are MON has outgunned him recently.

16-11-2011, 11:47 AM
That's exactly what they'll try and do and like you say, it's a lot easier said than done. I think both MON and Fenlon are seen as Mowbray types, with MON more than PF.

Ultimately, I think that whoever the board end up appointing as manager will be in charge of the first team for the fixtures that come up after his appointment.

Funnily enough, I've formed that impression, too. :greengrin

16-11-2011, 11:52 AM

Cheers mate, thanks for a bit of perspective.

:agree: Although, perhaps, he's trying a double bluff by pimping his own manager that he doesn't rate to get shot of him:wink:

Only pulling your leg R&B:agree:

Thanks for your info.

Wellbankhibby
16-11-2011, 11:53 AM

as Hibs fans we are all entitled to our opinions of who should take up the reigns at ER. The old saying of if you pay peanuts you will get Monkeys is very apt at Easter Road. The board are forever looking for the cheap option, this is false economy on and off the park. They employ a very poor standard of manager and end up sacking them resulting in having to pay compensation. On the park we struggle to get results resulting in supporters becoming dissilusioned resulting in falling attendances. We need stability at our club just now and the facts are Gordon Strachan would bring this. He has a proven record in the SPL, ok he had the resources at Celtic but results dont lie. i have no doubt that his appointment would be a Huge boost to the vast majority of Hibs Fans, I also think he would turn our fortunes around reasonably quickly. He is also very highly thought of in footballing circles and he would attract better players to our club. As i said He is without at doubt the Best candidate for the job the Board must go for a Manager with a proven record, we cant afford any more unstability and unrest. If GS is not available we surely have to look at Billy Stark, Terry Butcher or bringing back John Collins if he would return. If its true about Pat Fenlon I think this is yet again another risk that we cant afford to take. APPOINT A MANAGER WITH EXPERIENCE who will take us forward and encourage the Fans back to Easter Road. :flag:

16-11-2011, 12:09 PM

Maybe against a Ferguson his record is average but we are talking about candidates that would be interested in the Hibs job.

He kept coventry up when they looked doomed when he took over. Kept them up for another 3 years. where are they now?

Southampton were also going down. He turned them around to 8th place, the FA cup final and Europe.

At Celtic he won a couple of titles with a bit to spare. Rangers also had a budget.

Last 16 of Champions league twice. went out to winners over extra time, beat the holders the next year.

Celtic might look an easy gig compared to us but the realtive success he had was better than they have achieved recently.

Who else that would come to us had a record close to it?

This is my point, we are dismissing records like this, what chance have the realstic names got? If we are looking for a bigger, more successful name than this then forget it.

16-11-2011, 12:15 PM
as Hibs fans we are all entitled to our opinions of who should take up the reigns at ER. The old saying of if you pay peanuts you will get Monkeys is very apt at Easter Road. The board are forever looking for the cheap option, this is false economy on and off the park. They employ a very poor standard of manager and end up sacking them resulting in having to pay compensation. On the park we struggle to get results resulting in supporters becoming dissilusioned resulting in falling attendances. We need stability at our club just now and the facts are Gordon Strachan would bring this. He has a proven record in the SPL, ok he had the resources at Celtic but results dont lie. i have no doubt that his appointment would be a Huge boost to the vast majority of Hibs Fans, I also think he would turn our fortunes around reasonably quickly. He is also very highly thought of in footballing circles and he would attract better players to our club. As i said He is without at doubt the Best candidate for the job the Board must go for a Manager with a proven record, we cant afford any more unstability and unrest. If GS is not available we surely have to look at Billy Stark, Terry Butcher or bringing back John Collins if he would return. If its true about Pat Fenlon I think this is yet again another risk that we cant afford to take. APPOINT A MANAGER WITH EXPERIENCE who will take us forward and encourage the Fans back to Easter Road. :flag:

Keep saying it and it will become true. Just for the record do you think you could tell us how little we paid for and then paid in salaries for our last 4 or 5 managers?

16-11-2011, 12:22 PM
Think I said we shouldn't discount him pre selecting CC. Our game is heading the same way as Irish game and is of a comparable standard in the main IMHO. I wouldn't discount him now. But facts are MON has outgunned him recently.

Cheers. I reckon I would prefer MON too. Strachan over the pair of them though.

16-11-2011, 12:27 PM
Please no, Boh's "expect an approach within next 24hrs from Hibs".

Really, just gonnae no make that call.

16-11-2011, 12:31 PM
Reading the Bohemians forum most of them think he would do well over here.

Still i will form my opinion based on this forum where people who know nothing about the guy queue up to slate him.

16-11-2011, 12:33 PM

I really don't get this train of thought. When we did take a gamble before with Mowbray it turned out just fine.

On the other hand when we picked solid, safe appointments like Yogi, Mixu and CC it ended in tears.

16-11-2011, 12:36 PM
Cheers. I reckon I would prefer MON too. Strachan over the pair of them though.

Would get bums on seats IMHO.

Green_one
16-11-2011, 12:45 PM

:agree: What he says. Except the betting bit. Never trust bookies or punters.

I still think the decision has to be made. Soon I hope.

16-11-2011, 12:48 PM

Still i will form my opinion based on this forum where people who know nothing about the guy queue up to slate him.

Not slating here, uninspiring absolutely.

Wellbankhibby
16-11-2011, 01:06 PM
I really don't get this train of thought. When we did take a gamble before with Mowbray it turned out just fine.

On the other hand when we picked solid, safe appointments like Yogi, Mixu and CC it ended in tears.

I accept Tony Mowbray was a shock and a gamble when he was appointed and I would say I was very happy with his management style, he also had the team playing attractive football the hibs way. as for your other comments I dont really get them, Yogi and Mixu were appointed as Fans favourites from their playing days with us. I for one Never slated Yogi, he made it clear that he needed a further two seasons to build a good side far too many fans hounded him out. Yes our results were poor and fans were frustrated but I would have taken a chance on keeping him for another season as for Mixu again he had poor results with us but look at the job he did with killie, he is now an international Manager. As for Colin calderwood he just did not have a clue and I have said for at least nine months that we should have got rid of early. My point is we cant afford to gamble anymore we need stability at the club and a manager with a proven track record to lead us there. If the board appoint Pat fenlon ( Which they probably will ) this is a Gamble and the Cheap option yet again. Lets get it right this time. Gambling may bring some rewards but more than likely it always ends in tears lets go for the safe bet for a change. :agree:

16-11-2011, 01:17 PM
I would like to think that we are at least speaking to Strachan and Davies...

16-11-2011, 01:20 PM
Where is this guff coming from that Hibs pick the "cheap option" when it comes to managers?

CC was on £285k a year and at the AGM the board said in a league table of manager's wages, Hibs were "nowhere near" the bottom 6 so presumably 4th after Hertz and the Old Firm.

Our appointments have been poor recently but they certainly haven't been cheap or underpaid.

calumb
16-11-2011, 01:22 PM

I don't think its fair to be critical of Fenlon for spending a fortune as he was a manager in a league at a time when all the clubs were spending money that they did not have, MON arrived as the spending spree was over and to a club that had already taken its financial haircut.

When Fenlon was being quoted for the Dundee job sports writers in Ireland were asking why he would want to go there as he would have less of a budget to work with in Scotland than he would in Ireland. Now i know Dundee United are not the best supported team but they still average more than LOI teams and the financial rewards for being in the SPL greatly out weigh that of the LOI, but the Irish teams were operating with bigger budgets by doing what the whole of Ireland was doing at the time - speculating and spending borrowed money. Bohs in paticular i think were going to sell there stadium for about 50 million and move to a new stadium at the edge of Dublin for a fraction of the cost so of course they believed that they could spend that they did not have on players etc as they thought they had a big payday coming.

Fenlon would not be my choice for manager as he has never left Ireland in a footballing sense so i would worry if he would have the contacts etc over here to make a real go of it. But Fenlon has shown in the last year or so that despite serious financial burdens and by that i mean having to sell your whole team he has managed to keep Bohs competitive.

16-11-2011, 01:27 PM
I would like to think that we are at least speaking to Strachan and Davies...

What makes you think either of them would have any interest in the job at all?

Neither of them would take it, imo.

16-11-2011, 01:29 PM
I accept Tony Mowbray was a shock and a gamble when he was appointed and I would say I was very happy with his management style, he also had the team playing attractive football the hibs way. as for your other comments I dont really get them, Yogi and Mixu were appointed as Fans favourites from their playing days with us. I for one Never slated Yogi, he made it clear that he needed a further two seasons to build a good side far too many fans hounded him out. Yes our results were poor and fans were frustrated but I would have taken a chance on keeping him for another season as for Mixu again he had poor results with us but look at the job he did with killie, he is now an international Manager. As for Colin calderwood he just did not have a clue and I have said for at least nine months that we should have got rid of early. My point is we cant afford to gamble anymore we need stability at the club and a manager with a proven track record to lead us there. If the board appoint Pat fenlon ( Which they probably will ) this is a Gamble and the Cheap option yet again. Lets get it right this time. Gambling may bring some rewards but more than likely it always ends in tears lets go for the safe bet for a change. :agree:

OK you keep repeating and so will I. If you keep saying this it will become true (in your own mind). Could you please give us the figures for fees paid and salaries of the last 3 or 4 managers to prove this cheap philosophy.

16-11-2011, 01:33 PM

Correct, and if they did how long before Strachan did a Middlesburgh & walked ?

16-11-2011, 01:35 PM
Correct me if I'm wrong but he hasn't been inteviewed as yet has he? How can he be possibly be nailed on for the job?

Wellbankhibby
16-11-2011, 01:36 PM
[QUOTE=dryan;2990478]Where is this guff coming from that Hibs pick the "cheap option" when it comes to managers?

CC was on £285k a year and at the AGM the board said in a league table of manager's wages, Hibs were "nowhere near" the bottom 6 so presumably 4th after Hertz and the Old Firm.

Our appointments have been poor recently but they certainly haven't been cheap or underpaid.

Im sorry if you didnt understand what Im on about, its not Monitary value im on about its the standard of manager Im on about the Cheap Option regards they wont appoint the Big Names required to give us all a boost. FOR EXAMPLE, STRACHAN,Stark, Davis. When JC was the manager he had a few players lined up and the tash would not give him the money. Hope I have explained my Point.

16-11-2011, 01:45 PM
[QUOTE=dryan;2990478]Where is this guff coming from that Hibs pick the "cheap option" when it comes to managers?

Im sorry if you didnt understand what Im on about, its not Monitary value im on about its the standard of manager Im on about the Cheap Option regards they wont appoint the Big Names required to give us all a boost. FOR EXAMPLE, STRACHAN,Stark, Davis. When JC was the manager he had a few players lined up and the tash would not give him the money. Hope I have explained my Point.

Nope, not for me. Cheap option does mean monetary value in this case as far as I am concerned. Not sure how else to possibly read it?

16-11-2011, 01:46 PM

Davies said a couple of weeks ago that him and his backroom staff were ready to get back working in football again, he did say that he would preffer a job down in England, but would not rule out a move to Scotland, Davies would know that Lennon and McCoist were safe in there jobs so it would suggest that he would be willing to take a job with another team in the SPL.

Even if Davies was to only stay for a couple of seasons and get us back to winning ways and then move on to better things, then i have no problem with that, as long as when he leaves that wee are in a good position on the pitch and ready for our new manager to take over and continue hopefully the good work that Davies brought.

16-11-2011, 02:03 PM
Davies said a couple of weeks ago that him and his backroom staff were ready to get back working in football again, he did say that he would preffer a job down in England, but would not rule out a move to Scotland, Davies would know that Lennon and McCoist were safe in there jobs so it would suggest that he would be willing to take a job with another team in the SPL.Even if Davies was to only stay for a couple of seasons and get us back to winning ways and then move on to better things, then i have no problem with that, as long as when he leaves that wee are in a good position on the pitch and ready for our new manager to take over and continue hopefully the good work that Davies brought.

I would disagree that either of them are safe in their jobs. Lennon because of results must be under pressure and McCoist because of the new ownership at Rangers.

16-11-2011, 02:07 PM

You don't know that they wouldn't.

16-11-2011, 02:09 PM
I would disagree that either of them are safe in their jobs. Lennon because of results must be under pressure and McCoist because of the new ownership at Rangers.

I read it as Davies not just considering the Old Firm.

16-11-2011, 02:09 PM

Agreed. In fact wasn't there 'paper talk' that Lennon may have got punted had they lost to us in the cup the other week?

16-11-2011, 02:19 PM
Agreed. In fact wasn't there 'paper talk' that Lennon may have got punted had they lost to us in the cup the other week?

Davies wouldn't have a hope in hells chance of the Celtc job. Not 'Celtc minded'.

16-11-2011, 02:40 PM

:agree: Unbelievable really. Guy is crucified by some without even being appointed.

Wellbankhibby
16-11-2011, 02:45 PM
[QUOTE=Wellbankhibby;2990497]

Nope, not for me. Cheap option does mean monetary value in this case as far as I am concerned. Not sure how else to possibly read it?

I dont really think you know what your talking about but I must say its refreshing to know that you know all about me. I have made my point regards our appointments and I stick by them. I can understand how our club are in such a state when there are so called supporters as you only want to argue instead of making sense. You tell me who you want as manager please. At Least I have made it clear where I think the Board should be going when appointing the new Boss. :rolleyes:

16-11-2011, 02:46 PM
I cant see why either Davies or Strachan would come here (thankfully IMO) because it would be a lose lose situation for them. They are not going to get into the top two, in fact it is unlikely they will get within 30 points of the title, they are not going to split the OF and anything less than 3rd is classed, by some, as abject failure. So the question is whats in it for them and why should they risk their reputations, which IMO are not great anyway, with a move to a league with no money with such narrow criteria for success and failure?

calumb
16-11-2011, 02:53 PM
I cant see why either Davies or Strachan would come here (thankfully IMO) because it would be a lose lose situation for them. They are not going to get into the top two, in fact it is unlikely they will get within 30 points of the title, they are not going to split the OF and anything less than 3rd is classed, by some, as abject failure. So the question is whats in it for them and why should they risk their reputations, which IMO are not great anyway, with a move to a league with no money with such narrow criteria for success and failure?

because its easier to get a job when your in a job

16-11-2011, 02:55 PM
Terry Butcher a big mover in the odds from 20/1 to 8/1 on Paddy Power.

Any ideas why, anyone?

16-11-2011, 03:09 PM

Any ideas why, anyone?

Someone putting a tenner on at those odds would probably drive the price down. Cant see Butcher getting the job, he's been a failure with every club he's managed. He has even taken inverness down.

He sounds good on the telly, seems like he's a good motivator, but he's done nothing as a manager.

16-11-2011, 03:12 PM
Now 1/2 so going back in, Butcher 6/1 now...

16-11-2011, 03:15 PM
GS would be more expensive, but he would have Easter Road back to 13/14k every game in no time.

16-11-2011, 03:20 PM
[QUOTE=Lucius Apuleius;2990506]

I dont really think you know what your talking about but I must say its refreshing to know that you know all about me. I have made my point regards our appointments and I stick by them. I can understand how our club are in such a state when there are so called supporters as you only want to argue instead of making sense. You tell me who you want as manager please. At Least I have made it clear where I think the Board should be going when appointing the new Boss. :rolleyes:

Wow, tempted to be nasty here, but I won't. I will ask you to define what supporters like me actually are though. I would also have to question a lot about you if you have to ask what I am talking about. Too many people shout for financial input to Hibs and therefore constantly bleat about the cheap option. Also your words. You mean cheap in an emotional sense? That makes absolutely no sense to me whatsover. I am a subject matter expert in my field. I have not a clue about picking football managers. Who would I like? Nobody we can afford. Who do I not want? any of the Largs merry go round managers currently touting themselves. You say it is not monetary yet you throw in a dig regarding Collins not being given the money by RP so I really do think you need to work out in your own little head exactly what cheap option means. And no I do not fancy any of the 3 you have named. If you don't like a difference of opinion, don't bother posting on message boards. Of course we are going to "argue". It is what life is all about.

16-11-2011, 03:26 PM

Any ideas why, anyone?

I think when nobody's that bothered and somebody then gets pished and obsessed and rushes to the bookies to put on 500 quid the've just won on the nags, the picture can change drastically.

Bohstron
16-11-2011, 03:47 PM
Afternoon Hibee's, just wanted to join the chat re Fenlon to put right a few of inaccuracies here about Fenlon and especially the comparisons to MON, Fenlon has been the top manager in the League of Ireland for over 10 years winning 5 titles with 2 different clubs before his 40th birthday.

Yes both Clubs he managed ended up in financial trouble but to suggest Fenlon was responsible is complete nonsense, both clubs got into trouble because of mismanagement in the boardroom, Fenlon can only spend what he is given and that is what he done, but he also delivered his end of the bargain by landing trophies on consistant basis if the respective boards **** up the club's in the background, it's hardly Fenlon's fault.

An example of the club's shambolic methods was Bohs crazy compensation demands from Dundee United at a time the Club could hardly afford Fenlon's wages (which are 100k+ and he is also owed 50k+ in bonus payments) at the time, Now the club just want him off the wage bill as soon as possible and its highly unlikely Hibs will have to pay a pound in compensation because Bohs are so desperate to off load his wage bill and what is the point in having the most succesful Manager in Irish Football when he has no Squad??

Michael O'Neill is regarded as a spoofer in Irish Football who got lucky taking over Shamrock Rovers who were the only Club left who could afford to pay any sort of decent wage after all the Clubs who had been at the top of the table in previous years had hit the rocks financially (Cork City, Shelbourne, Derry City, St Patricks Athletic and Bohemians) Yes, O'Neill got Rovers to the group stages of the Europa League but for all the hype, in the whole campaign they actually only won 1 game against a ***** Estonian team.

Fenlon would be a superb appointment by Hibs, he will bring you success, for anyone to suggest he would be a "gamble" should really look at medals on the table, I understand many Scottish fans dont rate Irish Football highly but look at the Irish Squad that just qualified for the Euro's last night, 'packed with players who learned their trade in the League of Ireland including Stephen Ward who played under Fenlon at Bohs.

As Bohs fans we know our "Glory" days are over for while as we look after bigger fish like keeping the banks from closing us down (mostly as a result of a collapsed property deal) so wanting Fenlon out of our hair is nothing to to do with his ability as a Manager.

Good Luck with the appointment, but as a Bohs fan I can promise you Fenlon wont let you down.

16-11-2011, 03:53 PM
Good post. Thanks for the info

Afternoon Hibee's, just wanted to join the chat re Fenlon to put right a few of inaccuracies here about Fenlon and especially the comparisons to MON, Fenlon has been the top manager in the League of Ireland for over 10 years winning 5 titles with 2 different clubs before his 40th birthday.

Yes both Clubs he managed ended up in financial trouble but to suggest Fenlon was responsible is complete nonsense, both clubs got into trouble because of mismanagement in the boardroom, Fenlon can only spend what he is given and that is what he done, but he also delivered his end of the bargain by landing trophies on consistant basis if the respective boards **** up the club's in the background, it's hardly Fenlon's fault.

An example of the club's shambolic methods was Bohs crazy compensation demands from Dundee United at a time the Club could hardly afford Fenlon's wages (which are 100k+ and he is also owed 50k+ in bonus payments) at the time, Now the club just want him off the wage bill as soon as possible and its highly unlikely Hibs will have to pay a pound in compensation because Bohs are so desperate to off load his wage bill and what is the point in having the most succesful Manager in Irish Football when he has no Squad??

Michael O'Neill is regarded as a spoofer in Irish Football who got lucky taking over Shamrock Rovers who were the only Club left who could afford to pay any sort of decent wage after all the Clubs who had been at the top of the table in previous years had hit the rocks financially (Cork City, Shelbourne, Derry City, St Patricks Athletic and Bohemians) Yes, O'Neill got Rovers to the group stages of the Europa League but for all the hype, in the whole campaign they actually only won 1 game against a ***** Estonian team.

Fenlon would be a superb appointment by Hibs, he will bring you success, for anyone to suggest he would be a "gamble" should really look at medals on the table, I understand many Scottish fans dont rate Irish Football highly but look at the Irish Squad that just qualified for the Euro's last night, 'packed with players who learned their trade in the League of Ireland including Stephen Ward who played under Fenlon at Bohs.

As Bohs fans we know our "Glory" days are over for while as we look after bigger fish like keeping the banks from closing us down (mostly as a result of a collapsed property deal) so wanting Fenlon out of our hair is nothing to to do with his ability as a Manager.

Good Luck with the appointment, but as a Bohs fan I can promise you Fenlon wont let you down.

16-11-2011, 03:56 PM

Welcome to the site Pat! :greengrin

16-11-2011, 03:57 PM

Hi Pat, welcome to the board. Killing some time before your interview?

Only kidding, thanks for your post, interesting.

16-11-2011, 04:09 PM

thanks for the info mate, I count myself as one of the guys who know little about the LOI. So i am heartened by your info.

16-11-2011, 04:14 PM
Excellent post young man. Hope your predictions come to pass if he gets the gig.:agree:

Wellbankhibby
16-11-2011, 05:41 PM
[QUOTE=Wellbankhibby;2990575]

Wow, tempted to be nasty here, but I won't. I will ask you to define what supporters like me actually are though. I would also have to question a lot about you if you have to ask what I am talking about. Too many people shout for financial input to Hibs and therefore constantly bleat about the cheap option. Also your words. You mean cheap in an emotional sense? That makes absolutely no sense to me whatsover. I am a subject matter expert in my field. I have not a clue about picking football managers. Who would I like? Nobody we can afford. Who do I not want? any of the Largs merry go round managers currently touting themselves. You say it is not monetary yet you throw in a dig regarding Collins not being given the money by RP so I really do think you need to work out in your own little head exactly what cheap option means. And no I do not fancy any of the 3 you have named. If you don't like a difference of opinion, don't bother posting on message boards. Of course we are going to "argue". It is what life is all about.

i would define you as all talk and no action, someone who is happy to settle for second, third or fourth best in life. as for Hibs i want the best for hibs and i will always state my case whether anyone, especially you is happy or unhappy about it. Im afraid you are one of the people on this site who when he knows he has lost the argument you go in a huff and make silly comments like "if you dont like a diffrence of opinion dont post messages" My goodness my daughter used to carry on like that when she was young, mind you she was only 5 years old. I have stated my case clearly and my opinion that Strachan would be my choice, the vast majority of hibs fans would support him and the crowds would return to ER in numbers. i think i will close now as you dont even want to share your opinion who you would want at ER could this be that you dont want anyone else to give their opin ion regards your choice. :thumbsup:

Ultra Hibee
16-11-2011, 06:01 PM
Michael for me, from what i have heard BOH's are in real trouble of going into admn and this is partly due to the fact that Fenlon has some players on 3 times the salary of most players at Shamrock.

Gordon strachan, no chance. He will earn more money with BBC than with Hibs and that is just 6 month's a year, one programme a week.

Butcher nope!

What we need to do, and so far seem to be doing is taking our time and getting the right man for the job, not just for now but for a 2-3 year period.

16-11-2011, 06:01 PM

Cheers for the cv, Pat.

16-11-2011, 06:06 PM
Michael for me, from what i have heard BOH's are in real trouble of going into admn and this is partly due to the fact that Fenlon has some players on 3 times the salary of most players at Shamrock.

Gordon strachan, no chance. He will earn more money with BBC than with Hibs and that is just 6 month's a year, one programme a week.

Butcher nope!

What we need to do, and so far seem to be doing is taking our time and getting the right man for the job, not just for now but for a 2-3 year period.

Fenlon surely just works with the budget he has been given? The board have to make the call on whether he gets it or not.

We've had a few locals now telling us that the admin danger is due to poor property deals as opposed to anyhting caused on the playing front.

Ultra Hibee
16-11-2011, 06:42 PM
Fenlon surely just works with the budget he has been given? The board have to make the call on whether he gets it or not.

We've had a few locals now telling us that the admin danger is due to poor property deals as opposed to anyhting caused on the playing front.

Yeah, he has to work within the budget, however if your budget is 3 times more than another club you are also expected to be above this team etc.

jonny
16-11-2011, 06:44 PM
Shamrock Rovers beat Copenhagen and Hadjuk Split as well as the Estonian team to qualify for the Europa group stage, notable scalps for a tea Shamrocks size

16-11-2011, 06:48 PM
Pat Fenlon sounds like a good shout to me, fairly impressive record on the face of it.

Bohstron
16-11-2011, 06:49 PM

Just a few facts on this...

Bohs agreed the sale of their stadium for €60 million euro + a new stadium about four years ago, part of the deal included annual payments (deposits) of 2 million per year while all the legal stuff was sorted out, at that time everything seemed rosey in the garden and Pat was given a very healthy playing budget of €1.9 million, It is important to note that even though that was a very good budget by LOI standards it was still not the highest in the League at the time, it was actually 3rd highest, Cork City at the time were spending well over 2 million a year on wages (with famously one player Joe Gamble on 3k a week) and Drogheda United were spending big in a quest for European glory, both Cork and Drogheda went bust and both were relegated and reformed as new companies.

The Bohs deal to sell the ground collapsed as did pretty much every major property deal at the time in Ireland, this culminated in Bohs having to release all its highly paid players at the end of last season (anyone who wasnt released took substantial pay cuts) Bohs borrowed heavily based on the sale of the ground including a 4 million loan to Zurich bank which is the creditor most likely to close the club.

Despite this Fenlon stayed on to rebuild a team from scratch on a fraction of previous budgets with a mixture of the few experienced pro's who stayed and brought through a talented bunch of kids, the team ended up finishing 5th which was regarded a major achievement by Fenlon, considering he had no team at all and no pre-season games. Many Bohs fans regard what he achieved last season even higher than the Double winning seasons and League wins, because he had always been unfairly tagged as a "cheque book manager" his success last season with a bunch of unknown kids getting to a cup semi final and finishing 5th put that myth to bed.

16-11-2011, 06:57 PM
i would define you as all talk and no action, someone who is happy to settle for second, third or fourth best in life. as for Hibs i want the best for hibs and i will always state my case whether anyone, especially you is happy or unhappy about it. Im afraid you are one of the people on this site who when he knows he has lost the argument you go in a huff and make silly comments like "if you dont like a diffrence of opinion dont post messages" My goodness my daughter used to carry on like that when she was young, mind you she was only 5 years old. I have stated my case clearly and my opinion that Strachan would be my choice, the vast majority of hibs fans would support him and the crowds would return to ER in numbers. i think i will close now as you dont even want to share your opinion who you would want at ER could this be that you dont want anyone else to give their opin ion regards your choice. :thumbsup:

What action would you suggest he takes?

The majority of Hibs fans will support whoever gets the post and, my opinion is, that Strachan has done nothing that suggests he would be any good at Hibs.

16-11-2011, 06:59 PM
Sportsound reporting that Fenlon had been given permission to talk to Hibs, no compensation would be due and that he is speaking with Bohs just now. I'm not sure if they said he had already been interviewed or not, anyone else catch this?

hibsforchange (whoever they are?) issued a statement asking RP and the board to appoint Michael O'Neil. Bizarre.

MON supposedly a front runner for the NI job.

scuttle
16-11-2011, 07:05 PM
Who do people actually want that will inspire them? The likes of Billy Davies and Gordon Strachan are not going to take the
job.
Agreed neither would probably want the job. But wouldnt it make a refreshing change if after a new manager is appointed the board tell us who actually applied and who they actually asked themselves

16-11-2011, 07:08 PM
Sportsound reporting that Fenlon had been given permission to talk to Hibs, no compensation would be due and that he is speaking with Bohs just now. I'm not sure if they said he had already been interviewed or not, anyone else catch this?

hibsforchange (whoever they are?) issued a statement asking RP and the board to appoint Michael O'Neil. Bizarre.

MON supposedly a front runner for the NI job.

This hibsforchange mouthpiece (Keith Sands?) appeared on STV news saying Pat who? and reckons the board lack ambition. I want it made clear this trumpet does not speak for me.