View Full Version : Those who voted with their feet

green glory
10-11-2011, 11:48 AM
Now that CC is gone, how many here stopped going to ER in protest? And will you be back for the Killie game?

10-11-2011, 11:50 AM
I'm not sure many stopped going in protest but out of complete boredom. It may take a while to get these people to start going again, only if it's proven that the team is actually worth watching.

10-11-2011, 11:50 AM
I think folk voted against the crap football on offer rather than against CC specifically.

If things improve, I'll be back.

10-11-2011, 11:56 AM
Crowds have been on the slide since the 2007 cup win because of the poor quality on offer, it's not just related tae CC, he's just the last in line of numerous poor choices. Other have left because of somebody else who is still there and winnae be back 'til he is gone. I doubt there'll be much of an increase if any until folk see who gets the job and whether the fare on offer improves. These people winnae be back over night, some might no be back at all because of the overall poor quality on offer and the expense of SPL fitba.

10-11-2011, 12:00 PM
.... it's not just related tae CC, he's just the last in line of numerous poor choices....

Unless you're the world's biggest optimist, I'm sure you meant to say Latest, not Last :wink:

10-11-2011, 12:01 PM
Now that CC is gone, how many here stopped going to ER in protest? And will you be back for the Killie game?

gg the apathy over attending isnt down to just CC it has been going on for a long time, IMO the problem is still there, some folk just have problem with CC I am sure and will be back, but Hibs crowds have been not as good as should be from before CC.

10-11-2011, 12:06 PM
Unless you're the world's biggest optimist, I'm sure you meant to say Latest, not Last :wink:Optimist? :hmmm: I better change that tae latest then :greengrin

10-11-2011, 12:07 PM
Optimist? :hmmm: I better change that tae latest then :greengrin

Cmon Dan your letting us moany bar stewards down with that.

10-11-2011, 12:11 PM
I think folk voted against the crap football on offer rather than against CC specifically.

Thats my stance, but just been reading in the Daily Record good news (If True) that the Board will speak to respective figures in the game "Pat Nevin" was mentioned before appionting a new manager.

Franck is God
10-11-2011, 12:22 PM
There is time for an appointment before the Killie game but even if there isn't surely a bumper crowd is more likely to spur on the team and make the club a more attractive option for any prospective manager?

10-11-2011, 01:58 PM

As above ^ ^

I'm working next week so can't attend if I wanted to anyhoo

patlowe
10-11-2011, 02:12 PM
I stopped going after several years of holding a season ticket as I found attending a Hibs game had slowly developed (over a number of years) from a fun experience to a thoroughly dull and depressing one. However, it doesn't take much to fire the optimism of football fans and I'm intending to get along to ER more often this season in the hope that things will improve under the stewardship of someone more inspiring.

10-11-2011, 05:24 PM
..........should be careful not to get their toes stuck in the ballot box!!

10-11-2011, 05:30 PM
One of the benefits of the membership scheme and customer database if that the lapsed
Folks should from now be more trackable. Through new media and email the club have the possibilty to reach the support more easily and in a more cost effective manner.

Pity the database was not started earlier and was for a while a bit patchy I understand dunno the current state.

I was a club member before and it had some perks but it appears to have disappeared IMO.

Hibeesreunited tried to take some steps to getting folks back but whilst there were challenges the. There are even more now and quite possibly understandably though.

The key is sustained, consistent and remarkable improvement.

10-11-2011, 05:37 PM
Unless you're the world's biggest optimist, I'm sure you meant to say Latest, not Last :wink:

Get where you are coming from, but CC is the last in the list as it stands at this moment.:wink:

10-11-2011, 05:41 PM
If the players get a grip and decide to turn up for the fixtures then I'll be back myself.

10-11-2011, 06:34 PM
I'm not sure many stopped going in protest but out of complete boredom. It may take a while to get these people to start going again, only if it's proven that the team is actually worth watching.

:agree: Thats me, me and my son have got Season Tickets but have hardly been this season, its just become so boring, a dull and depressing experience generally, usually better way for us to spend a Saturday.

10-11-2011, 07:12 PM
I agree with all the comments above.

A bright new manager with enthusiasm and some kind of vision for the club will probably get me fired up, but the biggest issue is the product on the park. It's been getting steadily worse over the last four years.

G15 Hibs
10-11-2011, 08:05 PM
Aye, like previous comments its not really to do with the manager as such. I stopped going when the money I was paying far far outwieghed the enjoyment I was getting from being there. Paying twenty odd quid to sit and be bored to tears didn't seem worth it at all, and still doesn't. Until that changes in some way I canny see me being back, which given the years I had a season ticket for and the enjoyment I got from that, is really sad. And ultimately I can't see them bringing the prices down, so its going to take something special qualitywise.

10-11-2011, 08:50 PM
There is time for an appointment before the Killie game but even if there isn't surely a bumper crowd is more likely to spur on the team and make the club a more attractive option for any prospective manager?
a bumper crowd is more likely to get on the players backs, its the players who have been under performing for months now, supporting a poor product perpetuates a poor product.

10-11-2011, 08:53 PM
Whatever happened to "we'll support you evermore", or supporting through thick or thin? :confused:

10-11-2011, 09:00 PM
Whatever happened to "we'll support you evermore", or supporting through thick or thin? :confused:

Apparently there was small print next to those particular phrases, stating it only applied in the later stages/finals of cups, when the team is beating every other team in the league 5, 6 nil week in week out and when we have a manager and squad/youth academy of players that every single supporter unanimously loves (like is not good enough).....oh and we are playing football that Barca would be jealous of, just winning is not good enough, it has to be with flare and style etc etc.

10-11-2011, 09:02 PM

There's been far too much thin recently.

Been to one match this season although I was away for a month at the start so I probably would have been to two if hat hadn't been the case.

Intending going next week to support the club and the team. Didn't stop going because of CC personally but what with so much thin over the last few years it was getting too painful to watch.

10-11-2011, 09:05 PM
There's been far too much thin recently.

Been to one match this season although I was away for a month at the start so I probably would have been to two if hat hadn't been the case.

Intending going next week to support the club and the team. Didn't stop going because of CC personally but what with so much thin over the last few years it was getting too painful to watch.

But going through the thin, makes you enjoy the good times all that much more......

I am praying that the new Manager, can get the feelgood factor back, get the squad together, harmonise the camp and get us playing as a team.....Is that being to optimistic?:pray:

10-11-2011, 09:12 PM
a bumper crowd is more likely to get on the players backs, its the players who have been under performing for months now, supporting a poor product perpetuates a poor product.

The way the team's been this season we'd be doing them a favour by staying away. Either that or disguise the stadium to make it look like St Mirren Park.

10-11-2011, 09:16 PM
But going through the thin, makes you enjoy the good times all that much more......

I am praying that the new Manager, can get the feelgood factor back, get the squad together, harmonise the camp and get us playing as a team.....Is that being to optimistic?:pray:

First game was 1968. For years I didn't know thin existed. Ate a **** of lot since 1979 and the thick was fantastic when it came along. Since the League Cup Final the menu has been thin, fair do's to Hughes result wise but the style flattered to deceive and when he (and Mixu) lost Zoomer - cue the "thin". Too painful.

10-11-2011, 09:20 PM
First game was 1968. For years I didn't know thin existed. Ate a **** of lot since 1979 and the thick was fantastic when it came along. Since the League Cup Final the menu has been thin, fair do's to Hughes result wise but the style flattered to deceive and when he (and Mixu) lost Zoomer - cue the "thin". Too painful.

You were spoilt getting to watch the Tornadoes, jammy git :wink:

10-11-2011, 09:22 PM
You were spoilt getting to watch the Tornadoes, jammy git :wink:

I wasn't spoilt.

I was educated. :flag:

To a very high degree. :flag::flag:

10-11-2011, 09:24 PM

We also sing about playing in south Morocco, :wink: yet we never have? People will naturally save their money, and spend it differently if they are not enjoying what they see.

Not everyone who goes to football are as staunch a supporter as others, i doubt very much those who sing the song think, well i might not be going next week, i better not sing this one? :greengrin

Folk will prioritise where they spend their money, and it looks like football and Hibs is way down that list just now. :boo hoo:

Having a dig at those fans who feel this way is only alienating them further imo, and does not help bring them back Brockie.

As for albions comments, well he's just an erse. Thats one uberfanny too many for me. Everyones to blame for our form, bar the team and management, hell he's even blamed the fans, those that dont go and those that do????????:faf:

10-11-2011, 09:45 PM
Crowds have been on the slide since the 2007 cup win because of the poor quality on offer, it's not just related tae CC, he's just the last in line of numerous poor choices. Other have left because of somebody else who is still there and winnae be back 'til he is gone. I doubt there'll be much of an increase if any until folk see who gets the job and whether the fare on offer improves. These people winnae be back over night, some might no be back at all because of the overall poor quality on offer and the expense of SPL fitba.

I don't think thats right. Our average gate was going great until CC arrived.

10-11-2011, 10:38 PM
I don't think thats right. Our average gate was going great until CC arrived.

What about actual gates?

11-11-2011, 12:54 AM

I am praying that the new Manager, can get the feelgood factor back, get the squad together, harmonise the camp and get us playing as a team.....

Is that being to optimistic?:pray:

Short answer - probably.

I haven't been for a while now - this has been a very bad year for me so far and at times football has been the last thing on my mind.

However, if, as Farmer and Petrie seem to think, football clubs should run just like any other business except that the customers still turn up and buy the goods regardless of how totally substandard and rubbish they've become, I guess I can take them at their word and decide not to buy their product until they get themselves organised to offer a product worth buying.

It's called commercialism, I think.

11-11-2011, 07:49 AM
What about actual gates?

Eh?

11-11-2011, 08:26 AM

Apart from the brave few at every club, when have you ever known that to be a fact rather than just a song?

11-11-2011, 08:50 AM
Probably does not apply to me but I shall continue to go when I am at home, unless of course FJK gets the gig that is.

11-11-2011, 10:38 AM
Whatever happened to "we'll support you evermore", or supporting through thick or thin? :confused:Unfortunately when you have a board who refuse tae act until they are hit in the pocket some people see not going as the only option tae force change. Mixu was removed because of the drop in ST sales, had that drop not happened he would likely have been in the job longer than he was. When people just keep turning up this board seem tae take that as tacit approval that what is happening is good enough and do nothing.

Persevere80
11-11-2011, 03:11 PM
Good question from the OP, i have not been to ER since Stokes scored the fastest goal in the SPL (Which i missed BTW) and i walked in to see Rangers put 4 past us. The main reason for me not returning was the money. I now have a 2 year old son with another one on the way, but now calderwood is out the picture and the excitement building on our next manager i will have to get my ass back to ER to cheer on the mighty hibs. I don't think it will be as soon as the Kilmarnock game but maybe santa will bring me a half season ticket for the new east stand that i have not even been to see yet.

11-11-2011, 03:21 PM
Apart from the brave few at every club, when have you ever known that to be a fact rather than just a song?

There's a hard core at every club that will continue to support it through thick and thin. These are the people who keep the club alive and make sure it can be passed into the hands of future generations.

11-11-2011, 03:47 PM
There's a hard core at every club that will continue to support it through thick and thin. These are the people who keep the club alive and make sure it can be passed into the hands of future generations.

Yes & there comes a time when even some of them have had enough. I would have been termed as hard core at one time, not missing a game home or away in years and now some try and give me a hard time because I won't continue to go religiously and watch the crap.

Although those type of people believe themselves to be all our saviour, in reality, they'd need to be doing it from a kid until the age I'm now for them to be taken seriously.

11-11-2011, 04:44 PM
TBH I'm going to wait and see who's appointed first before I decide whether or not to return this year, money has also been a big part of the problem and paying £25 to see dross didn't help either.

11-11-2011, 05:15 PM
Unfortunately when you have a board who refuse tae act until they are hit in the pocket some people see not going as the only option tae force change. Mixu was removed because of the drop in ST sales, had that drop not happened he would likely have been in the job longer than he was. When people just keep turning up this board seem tae take that as tacit approval that what is happening is good enough and do nothing.

I keep turning up, but I let the Board know on Tuesday at the AGM, that I was far from happy, and changes had to occur.....I am fed up with performances and the crap that the Board feed us, but I cant stop myself from going....Must be crazy:greengrin

11-11-2011, 06:12 PM
I keep turning up, but I let the Board know on Tuesday at the AGM, that I was far from happy, and changes had to occur.....I am fed up with performances and the crap that the Board feed us, but I cant stop myself from going....Must be crazy:greengrin

At least you made time, and were not too busy to do so Brockie. :agree:

11-11-2011, 06:41 PM
I keep turning up, but I let the Board know on Tuesday at the AGM, that I was far from happy, and changes had to occur.....I am fed up with performances and the crap that the Board feed us, but I cant stop myself from going....Must be crazy:greengrinAye but if 12,000 were turning up every week instead of 7000/8000 they'd be very much less inclined listen tae you or anybody else and/or take any action tae remedy the situation. Clueless would probably still be in the hot seat. This lot only start listening when the money starts tae dwindle significantly.

11-11-2011, 07:48 PM
Aye but if 12,000 were turning up every week instead of 7000/8000 they'd be very much less inclined listen tae you or anybody else and/or take any action tae remedy the situation. Clueless would probably still be in the hot seat. This lot only start listening when the money starts tae dwindle significantly.

Well they better take cognaissance of this year, as we lost £900,000 even with £1.25m loan pumped in as working capital. There is nobody left with a decent sell on value (Hanlon and Booth maybe, but not for millions), and another poor league finish might see even less season tickets than this season purchased.....The Board have to ensure they pick the right man to turn things around, or they can expect an even more fiery AGM next year....

francobaresi
12-11-2011, 12:48 AM
Well I voted with my feet and mainly through sheer frustration and boredom rarely go these days... However, my daughter (6yo) keeps asking me to take her to ER so I'll be dragging her away from her gymnastics next week to catch the Killie game... If we can't show some fighting team spirit while trying to impress whatever potential manager is sitting in the stand then I may have to start gymnastics too on a Saturday... Heaven forbid, I have no leotard :wink:

:bgwa:

12-11-2011, 10:23 AM
Well I voted with my feet and mainly through sheer frustration and boredom rarely go these days... However, my daughter (6yo) keeps asking me to take her to ER so I'll be dragging her away from her gymnastics next week to catch the Killie game... If we can't show some fighting team spirit while trying to impress whatever potential manager is sitting in the stand then I may have to start gymnastics too on a Saturday... Heaven forbid, I have no leotard :wink:

:bgwa:

12-11-2011, 11:12 AM
How about a cut in prices to say £15
(sorry season ticket holders)
But the fare on offer aint worth £22-£28
New manager + reduction could see a large crowd
But i doubt either will happen
Bt

12-11-2011, 11:19 AM
What about actual gates?

The decline in crowds started before Calderwood took over. He just did nothing to stop the decline.

12-11-2011, 11:40 AM
Being registered disabled, I was only £10 to get in. Under CC, that still was too much for the "entertainment" on offer. The money wasn't a problem but i'd rather sit and watch Soccer Saturday.

I'm going next week though and looking forward to it.

:hibees:flag::hibees:flag::hibees

12-11-2011, 01:54 PM
Bt

So Season Ticket holders who have stumped up cash in advance should be penalised? Not on your nelly :rolleyes:

12-11-2011, 02:06 PM
I'm a Scottish-Cup-is-in-the-bag/top-the-league-next-season-carry-home-the-flag sort of a guy so I can't see why the new manager won't be able to carve out a dynasty that will dominate the game globally over the next twenty or so years.

12-11-2011, 02:21 PM
Bt

What they could do something I'm sure they did last year, anyone going with a season ticket holder, gets in for £10, this will bolster the crowd and hopefully get these people to come back more regularly, also kids in for £5 with a full paying ticket.

12-11-2011, 02:40 PM
There is the 3 for 2 offer. Board surely deserve credit for that. In answer to the original question I plus at least 3 others will return.