View Full Version : Should Mr Petire Have Left Too?

08-11-2011, 02:22 PM
With CC going a lot have said Petrie should have gone too. Simple yes or no please and lets see how much backing he has.

For me i think YES he should have gone.

08-11-2011, 02:33 PM
Nope.

Overall his report card would read "good" but his choice of recent Managers has been disappointing to say the least.

Hindsight is a wonderful thing however.

08-11-2011, 02:41 PM
Nope.

Overall his report card would read "good" but his choice of recent Managers has been disappointing to say the least.

Hindsight is a wonderful thing however.

Yeah i agree, but don't you think he's taken us as far as he can? Once the stadium was complete he could have walked then and been held in very high regard by pretty much all the fans.

08-11-2011, 02:55 PM
Yeah i agree, but don't you think he's taken us as far as he can? Once the stadium was complete he could have walked then and been held in very high regard by pretty much all the fans.

Maybe after tonight we'll a clearer understanding on his thoughts and vision of the future.

08-11-2011, 02:55 PM
I think his time is up, he did a very good job bringing the club back from all that debt. Yes you can argue he was in charge when we acquired that debt, but he did see the collapse coming early, and did the drastic cuts when needed.

While doing all this, we have built the new stand and training ground, that probably was the time to leave?

I think he has failed with the managerial appointments, and there is a feeling among more and more fans he's not listening, and just a puppet for STF.

With him owning 10% of the club, i'm not sure how he can leave, but while he's still at the club, unless things improve, he will get the stick for it.

08-11-2011, 03:00 PM
I think his time is up, he did a very good job bringing the club back from all that debt. Yes you can argue he was in charge when we acquired that debt, but he did see the collapse coming early, and did the drastic cuts when needed.

While doing all this, we have built the new stand and training ground, that probably was the time to leave?

I think he has failed with the managerial appointments, and there is a feeling among more and more fans he's not listening, and just a puppet for STF.

With him owning 10% of the club, i'm not sure how he can leave, but while he's still at the club, unless things improve, he will get the stick for it.

Pretty much all this!

08-11-2011, 03:01 PM
Can't believe 9 of his family have managed to vote to keep him in a job

08-11-2011, 03:03 PM
I voted no as I would miss that mowser.

pentlando
08-11-2011, 03:04 PM

One was me and i have no relation to the man. Just pure respect for the way the club has been run the past 20 years. Agreed managerial choices have not always been up to scratch, but i can't remember a manager there was much disapproval for from the supporters. Hopefully now the task has been delegated we can have the best of Petrie whilst losing the worst.

AndyM_1875
08-11-2011, 03:04 PM

Well he's not going to be involved in the recruitment of the new manager so perhaps his remit will now be to represent the club with the various SFA things. If that is the case so be it.

Perhaps this is him 'kicking himself upstairs'. Dunno.

08-11-2011, 03:08 PM
Well he's not going to be involved in the recruitment of the new manager so perhaps his remit will now be to represent the club with the various SFA things. If that is the case so be it.

I certainly would not believe that, and i'm sure there are many more who feel the same? And that is part of the problem while he still holds on to that 10%.

08-11-2011, 03:08 PM

Sadly i don't believe for one min he will have nothing to do with the appointment of a new manager.

08-11-2011, 03:11 PM

Nowhere in the Hibs article does it say Petrie will not be involved in the management selection. It states who will be involved in Initial stages. He will without doubt be involved in the latter stages and based on past performance.......

I do agree he has done a great job in the past but his time has come and he is now past his sell by date.

08-11-2011, 03:12 PM
I voted no. With all the SPL clubs who are really struggling financially, we are quite lucky that Petrie and the board have managed to keep us in quite a good situation, with good facilities, a top notch stadium etc.

Things on the pitch really havent been great over the last few years however, and the little hints by ex-managers about the involvement by those above is quite concerning, so that needs to be sorted. If they can make the right appointment and keep out of first team affairs, we could find ourselves in a much better situation than most.

08-11-2011, 03:14 PM

Perhaps this is him 'kicking himself upstairs'. Dunno.aye, andhttp://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/smilies/flyingpig.gifjust went past my windae.

08-11-2011, 03:16 PM
http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/smilies/flyingpig.gif

Can I guess how you voted?

08-11-2011, 03:18 PM
Can I guess how you voted?suppose you could give it a go :agree:

08-11-2011, 03:19 PM
No?

08-11-2011, 03:21 PM
No?only two choices and you got the wrong one :wink: :greengrin

08-11-2011, 03:30 PM
Guess why I never go to the casino and it's not cause I'm colour blind

08-11-2011, 03:34 PM
No from me

08-11-2011, 03:35 PM

I voted "NO" as sometimes it's a case of the devil you know.

Until such time we have a willing and competent successor then the Tache is probably the best we can expect right now.

HibeeMG
08-11-2011, 03:36 PM
One was me and i have no relation to the man. Just pure respect for the way the club has been run the past 20 years. Agreed managerial choices have not always been up to scratch, but i can't remember a manager there was much disapproval for from the supporters. Hopefully now the task has been delegated we can have the best of Petrie whilst losing the worst.

I voted no too and for pretty much the same reasons.

08-11-2011, 03:59 PM
Yes he should go his time has come and gone, we are going round in circles now and we need to progress.

08-11-2011, 04:16 PM
Yes he should go his time has come and gone, we are going round in circles now and we need to progress.

Good comment from a crab!

08-11-2011, 04:18 PM

A relation of Barry methinks.

08-11-2011, 04:58 PM
Voted no. Keep him for his good points let others take on his areas for improvement unless he is truly impeding progress.
Be interested in the vision presented tonight.

08-11-2011, 05:01 PM
I think be will step down tonight. It was hinted at long before Calderwood failed.
Will it be a good thing? We will have to wait and see.

08-11-2011, 05:06 PM

I have the odd good one now and again :greengrin

08-11-2011, 05:07 PM

A relation of Barry methinks.

How very dare you! :na na: :no way: :tee hee:

08-11-2011, 05:15 PM
With CC going a lot have said Petrie should have gone too. Simple yes or no please and lets see how much backing he has.

For me i think YES he should have gone.

Depends on who you think is willing to buy his stake in the club.

08-11-2011, 05:17 PM
If he was to step down, wouldn't he just be replaced by another Business minded individual?

08-11-2011, 05:22 PM
Aye him and his mini me club.

08-11-2011, 05:28 PM
I voted no.

I really believe history will be far kinder to Rod Petrie than we as fans are now. During his tenure we have won a national trophy, qualified for Europe three timee as well as building state of the art training facilities and a cracking stadium. All this whilst undergoing a huge cost cutting excercise to bring debts to an acceptable level.

You only have to look at the state of Hearts, Aberdeen, Kilmarnock or Rangers to see how we could have ended up. With the exception of Rangers none of the above clubs have massively overshadowed us on terms of success on the park whilst operating with ridiculous debt levels. With the exception of Kilmarnock and Rangers none of them have a stadium to compare to ours and only Rangers can compete in terms of training facilities.

Rod isn't perfect but he's been pretty good for Hibs and until a credible alternative is identified he'll do.for me.

08-11-2011, 05:35 PM
Sadly i don't believe for one min he will have nothing to do with the appointment of a new manager.

Correct, and anyone who does believe he wont is living in cloud cuckoo land. This statement was issued to get the fans off his back prior to the AGM, just like the timing of CC's departure.

08-11-2011, 05:37 PM
I've already voted "NO" but it's obvious that RP does have his shortcomings.

The Sports show on Beeb Radio Scotland tonight said that they had extended an invitation to the Hibs board to provide someone for a "live" interview but they never even got the courtesy of a reply. Which, apparently, is not uncommon under RP's tenure. He's certainly not a popular guy with the media.

EuanH78
08-11-2011, 05:41 PM
Voted No,

I think the club are still in a very good position compared to most and though managerial appointments and team performance have been dissapointing, I dont remember too much dissent at any of the selections at the time from fans.

Lots of the 'Petrie out' arguements seem to be quite inconsistent, not backing managers or allowing them to spend too much money on kak, which is it? Allowing managers too much time or not enough? Blah..

Either that or the 'undefined' insinuations from some (who may or may not have an axe to grind :dunno: or those that it might suit to allow someone else shoulder the blame for their own failings without having to overtly state anything,) Hearsay and pish IMO.

I remember not so long ago, the Dundee Utd. Job seemed like a poison chalice, eventually they seemed to get the right man in Levein and kicked off from there, I feel the same about Hibs right now. With the right manager I think we will be in as strong a postition as I have ever known in my time as a Hibee. No need for board upheaval, again IMO.

EuanH78
08-11-2011, 05:42 PM

The Sports show on Beeb Radio Scotland tonight said that they had extended an invitation to the Hibs board to provide someone for a "live" interview but they never even got the courtesy of a reply. Which, apparently, is not uncommon under RP's tenure. He's certainly not a popular guy with the media.

See my post above on hearsay and insinuation.

08-11-2011, 05:46 PM

I'd rather Hibs kept quiet when the meejia come calling rather than take Hearts stance of calling them "mafia".

08-11-2011, 06:19 PM
I voted no - he's already scaling back his responsibilities anyway and should stay on board to continue the handover process to new hands.

That's not to say he is above criticism aqnd that some sort of change would be unwelcome - just that his sudden departure would cause unneccessary disruption.

08-11-2011, 07:20 PM
See my post above on hearsay and insinuation.

That wasn't a personal opinion - it was a view expressed by the pundits on the radio program.

HibsMax
08-11-2011, 07:40 PM
Voted NO for many of the same reasons already given.

I find it quite surprising that people think that firing / leaving is the ONLY option. It's not like he's run our club into the ground. Yes, the football has been drivel for long enough and perhaps he's been a little too involved (all speculation because I don't know the facts) but that can be turned around with the correct manager / players. He's a businessman and as such seems to have done a pretty decent job of running the show. Good teams come and go but our facilities are here to stay and that's a good thing (unless they were built on the cheap and will require major investment in the near future).

My major concern is related to how much involvement he's had with the management of the team (not the business) and how much that has influenced our last few years of crappy football. If it is possible to link RP's actions to our poor performances then I would say that it's time for him to step back and adopt a more hands-off approach, or chuck in the towel. The former for me.

08-11-2011, 07:42 PM
"Mr" Petrie? and you didn't even spell his name right.

LTYF

EuanH78
08-11-2011, 08:41 PM
That wasn't a personal opinion - it was a view expressed by the pundits on the radio program.

Wasnt suggesting you were at the hearsay and pish, more of a indication of that if RP is unpopular with journalists and pundits (personally I wouldnt like to be popular with them either) and they arent getting interviews. Then it's more likely they will carry unsubstantied pish without ever actually saying anything.

08-11-2011, 08:48 PM
St Rod of Easter Rd......gets my vote any time.

Why ar'nt there any posters of him in the club shop ?

PETRIE !!!....get it sorted.

Capt Mainwaring
08-11-2011, 09:48 PM
I think be will step down tonight. It was hinted at long before Calderwood failed.
Will it be a good thing? We will have to wait and see.

No chance going by his performance tonight. Quite right too. Some people need to be very careful what they wish for.

08-11-2011, 10:03 PM
No chance going by his performance tonight. Quite right too. Some people need to be very careful what they wish for.

I expected him to but am pleased he didnt.

09-11-2011, 12:28 AM
Voted NO for many of the same reasons already given.

I find it quite surprising that people think that firing / leaving is the ONLY option. It's not like he's run our club into the ground. Yes, the football has been drivel for long enough and perhaps he's been a little too involved (all speculation because I don't know the facts) but that can be turned around with the correct manager / players. He's a businessman and as such seems to have done a pretty decent job of running the show. Good teams come and go but our facilities are here to stay and that's a good thing (unless they were built on the cheap and will require major investment in the near future).

My major concern is related to how much involvement he's had with the management of the team (not the business) and how much that has influenced our last few years of crappy football. If it is possible to link RP's actions to our poor performances then I would say that it's time for him to step back and adopt a more hands-off approach, or chuck in the towel. The former for me.

I think he should get until xmas. :wink:

erskine-hibby
09-11-2011, 07:21 AM
George Osborne could have done a good a job with the finances, but would you want him in charge??
He has done all he can and must make way for someone with a bit more vision other than that of watching the pennies and the pounds all the time.

hibee81
09-11-2011, 07:41 AM
Petrie could appoint sir alex as manager (possibly the greatest manager in world football) and it doesnt guarentee that he would do well with the hibs, the hole manager appointment thing is imo a mass lottery, if a guy comes in does well, its almost inevitable thay will leave to a bigger club and maybe not do well there, so unless the manager in charge comes in does well and wants to stay that is all the board can hope for.for me petrie has done well, and appointed who he beleives will take the club forward, unfortunately for hibs this has not happened.

09-11-2011, 07:47 AM
Petrie could appoint sir alex as manager (possibly the greatest manager in world football) and it doesnt guarentee that he would do well with the hibs, the hole manager appointment thing is imo a mass lottery, if a guy comes in does well, its almost inevitable thay will leave to a bigger club and maybe not do well there, so unless the manager in charge comes in does well and wants to stay that is all the board can hope for.for me petrie has done well, and appointed who he beleives will take the club forward, unfortunately for hibs this has not happened.

Yes we had a manager whom wasnt exactly doing well and we were offered a chance to get rid which wasnt taken when it looked to me he would never work, 4 months later he is sacked we get nothing and possibly owe money now. Yes managers are a gamble but they actually had this one here for 10mths and thought he was alright, that is frightning. Knocking back any offer then wasnt a gamble it was a bad mistake.

Petrie could appoint Sir Alex and it is a gamble but 10mths down the line it really isnt working so you get chance to end it and dont that is the error.

hibee81
09-11-2011, 08:19 AM
Yes we had a manager whom wasnt exactly doing well and we were offered a chance to get rid which wasnt taken when it looked to me he would never work, 4 months later he is sacked we get nothing and possibly owe money now. Yes managers are a gamble but they actually had this one here for 10mths and thought he was alright, that is frightning. Knocking back any offer then wasnt a gamble it was a bad mistake.Petrie could appoint Sir Alex and it is a gamble but 10mths down the line it really isnt working so you get chance to end it and dont that is the error. IMO petrie was right to stick by his guns and have the trust in CC to turn it around, yes he turned down offers from teams in a much better league than ours who obviously wanted him for a reason and must see something that alot of others on here don't. somethings work out and some things dont, in football nothing is certain.

09-11-2011, 08:22 AM
IMO petrie was right to stick by his guns and have the trust in CC to turn it around, yes he turned down offers from teams in a much better league than ours who obviously wanted him for a reason and must see something that alot of others on here don't. somethings work out and some things dont, in football nothing is certain.

Well it turns out you were both wrong then as after the offer for him he still did not manage to do the job, we saw something then in CC that he didnt that he was not right for job. If he saw something he would still be here.

hibee81
09-11-2011, 08:46 AM
Well it turns out you were both wrong then as after the offer for him he still did not manage to do the job, we saw something then in CC that he didnt that he was not right for job. If he saw something he would still be here.As a queery who do you want placed in charge at easter road???

09-11-2011, 09:06 AM
I voted no.

I really believe history will be far kinder to Rod Petrie than we as fans are now. During his tenure we have won a national trophy, qualified for Europe three timee as well as building state of the art training facilities and a cracking stadium. All this whilst undergoing a huge cost cutting excercise to bring debts to an acceptable level.

You only have to look at the state of Hearts, Aberdeen, Kilmarnock or Rangers to see how we could have ended up. With the exception of Rangers none of the above clubs have massively overshadowed us on terms of success on the park whilst operating with ridiculous debt levels. With the exception of Kilmarnock and Rangers none of them have a stadium to compare to ours and only Rangers can compete in terms of training facilities.

Rod isn't perfect but he's been pretty good for Hibs and until a credible alternative is identified he'll do.for me.

Whilst you are right about the infrastructure and the fact that the debt has been reduced, a huge amount of Rodders' legacy will be based on the 'golden generation'. If they hadn't happened, we'd still be suffering from the profligacy of the McLeish era (under Rodders). Aberdeen or Killie wouldn't be in the mess they are if they had been able to sell as many youths as we did. The issue now is that our saleable players are no more - now and in the next few years are the times that we'll see what Rodders and co are made of and how competent they are.

And I'm ignoring the manager record....(although, in Rodders' defence, he was one of the few who didn't want Sauzee sacked)

Oh, and I'm fairly sure that one of those times that we qualified for Europe was when we were massively overspending.

09-11-2011, 10:00 AM
As a queery who do you want placed in charge at easter road???

I do not have that answer but that therefore doesnt mean that what we have is working. I have said before there is lots in life you believe wrong and would like to change but might not have a soloution doesnt mean you shouldnt still say.

09-11-2011, 10:32 AM
NO !
but he should stick to the money side and leave the footballing side to others .

09-11-2011, 10:40 AM
As a queery who do you want placed in charge at easter road???

That's some assumption you're making about Carlsberg. :bitchy:

I'm sure he's as straight as a totem pole. :redindian:

09-11-2011, 10:43 AM
That's some assumption you're making about Carlsberg. :bitchy:

I'm sure he's as straight as a totem pole. :redindian:

Indeed shocking assumption :greengrin

09-11-2011, 11:19 AM
yes we had a manager whom wasnt exactly doing well and we were offered a chance to get rid which wasnt taken when it looked to me he would never work, 4 months later he is sacked we get nothing and possibly owe money now. Yes managers are a gamble but they actually had this one here for 10mths and thought he was alright, that is frightning. Knocking back any offer then wasnt a gamble it was a bad mistake.

Petrie could appoint Sir Alex and it is a gamble but 10mths down the line it really isnt working so you get chance to end it and dont that is the error.

Not just missing the chance to punt CC for good money, but to allow the uncertainty to go on and on for as long as it did, disrupting the pre-season and interfering with the process of bringing in badly-needed new players. It was a complete mess that should have been handled far more decisively than it was, and responsibility for it rests with Petrie.

NO! But he should stick to the money side and leave the footballing side to others.

I don't know how you keep a major share-holder involved in the finance away from footballing matters. He's going to have a great deal of influence over every aspect of the club as long as he's actively involved in running things.

But at least we now know for sure - Farmer and Petrie are joined at the hip, and Farmer thinks Petrie's been doing a great job lately. :rolleyes:

09-11-2011, 11:22 AM
"Mr" Petrie? and you didn't even spell his name right.

LTYF

Second the motion. :agree:

hibee81
09-11-2011, 11:34 AM
Indeed shocking assumption :greengrin Apologies, is should really rename myself dyslexic hibee.

09-11-2011, 12:09 PM
Some good points from both sides to be fair.

I have noticed that before the AGM the poll was in favour of him leaving. Since then it's turned.

What ever happens i will fully back the new man no matter who it is, as much as i think Petrie should step down, i think now is the time maybe we put these issues aside and try and get back to fully backing Hibs football club. We all want hibs to compete and do well.

09-11-2011, 12:17 PM
Some good points from both sides to be fair.

I have noticed that before the AGM the poll was in favour of him leaving. Since then it's turned.

What ever happens i will fully back the new man no matter who it is, as much as i think Petrie should step down, i think now is the time maybe we put these issues aside and try and get back to fully backing Hibs football club. We all want hibs to compete and do well.Aye, folk have been told the same story as at the last AGM and it seems tae have done the trick again, pity nothing changed after the last AGM, I wonder if it will this time, I'll no be hauding my breath.

09-11-2011, 12:27 PM
Aye, folk have been told the same story as at the last AGM and it seems tae have done the trick again, pity nothing changed after the last AGM, I wonder if it will this time, I'll no be hauding my breath.

I don't agree with the sentiment, but your signature is class. :greengrin :top marks

seven nowt
09-11-2011, 07:15 PM
Never heard of him.

Maybe Petrie should go though