View Full Version : AGM and Protest/Updates
09-11-2011, 11:43 AM
You're confusing salary and remuneration are you not? Still means someone was earning less than RP's £75k and is now someone (not RP) is on £88k. That's a rise and - in context we are in - unacceptable IMHO.
What I find unpalatable is that a simple question was not answered by a director, and another stepped in with another non answer - hence I'll email the club. For the the sakes of transparency, I will share the email and the answer - that's all I am looking for.
Sorry Garry but this is becoming pathetic
I know you are a bean counter and this is your "bag" but if this is what some people think is the biggest issue facing the club we are totally *****ed and whats more deserve to be.
Like any business they have a remuneration committee, which decides salary and other bik let them get on with it.
My remuneration deosnt suffer such scrutiny, I bet yours doesnt
FFS even Fred Goodwin's didnt.
If we are going to keep squabbling about petty irrelevances like this we are doomed.
All its doing is sowing more discontent between the club, board and factions of fans.
We need to get behind the team and focus on what really matters, no carry out petty crusades on our personal hobby horse subjects
09-11-2011, 11:45 AM
Great post from true. Have to agree with Blackpool and Foghron also.
09-11-2011, 11:46 AM
Not dismissing the posters heartfelt and astute post but it seems to ignore the fact this Great club is very close to relegation, losing money and losing supporters to an overwhelming apathy.
I'm getting fed up of the 'cornershop mentality' we seem to revere. Nothing wrong with thinking big and a instilling a bit of passion around the club, surely.
Totally agree spike, but I was just putting my own perspective on things. For what it's worth I totally agree we should always be thinking a lot bigger and wanting success. But again, to counter that, sometimes I think us Hibs fans think we are bigger than we actually are in the football pecking order. Every club in Scotland is losing money, not just Hibs. Teams from Hearts down (in the current SPL) are 'facing relegation'........and every side in the SPL is losing fans. Look at Celtic for example. League One teams in England can outpay and outgun us for signing targets, it's the way it is at present. Some are now having that bite them on the backside.
I know what you mean and understand where you are coming from. But mine is far from a 'cornershop' mentality. I would like to think of it just as a realisitic one when you consider our fanbase, income, team and where we play our football. As I say a lot of times, I'd watch Hibs on the Meadows if it all went belly up. I think we have to start falling in love with the club again that's all. That's where the passion starts for me...........and that can infuse into the team.
09-11-2011, 11:49 AM
Yip Dave, nothings changed. And yes you are right the manager will hopefully make those changes for the better.
The AGM every year seems like groundhog day, we have some Churchillian speeches from those in charge, which fair do's we as fans like. Then we get nothing, we get no comments from them or we get the odd youtube post now stating the bleeding obvious.
Leadership should start at the top, and while not wanting the crazy talk like we get from the other side of town, we do not appear to have any at Hibs. Our Chairman has never been one for the press, we rarely hear what he thinks apart from the AGM?
We need our club in the press telling us just what they are about, telling us their goals. Talking us up, letting folk know we are up for this fight.
Yes the new manager has to change things, and he too should also be pumping us up through the media, galvanising the club and its support, getting us all working together. Thats not the case now, before or after the AGM.
This is make or break time, although this was said the last time.
Well, maybe Leadership from our new manager will include doing all of the things you suggest. Perhaps the Board realise we need a 'figurehead'. I hope so. Good times could be just around the corner.
09-11-2011, 11:52 AM
It seems to me, nothing much was answered, there wont be much change, and its up to the new manager to pull us out of this mess?
Good on Petrie for taking no wages, you have to take your hat off to him for that.:top marks
As someone else has said, STF gave a rousing speech as did Rod. And reading what some are saying it seems to have worked, have they pulled the wool over our eyes again?
I'm fed up with words, it was the same at the last AGM.
We need action, leadership and results. Still not convinced this lot have the ability to deliver it.
I think it has passed make or break BH, they have had their chances and failed to deliver on various fronts over last few years with one 4th to boast of. I do not today have all the answers but what we have now has made to many mistakes to be allowed the chance to continue and I am dissapointed to hear STF describing RP.
We're no farther forward now than we were a year ago - looking for yet another manager, with Petrie running the show and Farmer backing him to the utmost. None of the outstanding urgent questions hanging over us then have gone away.
We couldn't have a better man in charge of our football club - did I get that right, Sir Tom?
So why are we looking for our fifth manager since 2007? How come the quality of the team and results have been steadily deteriorating over that period? Why is the attendance at matches dropping like a stone? You really care about Hibs - so how often exactly do you come to the games?
Roll up, roll up! Come and see the amazing Farmer and Petrie Perpetual Motion Machine!
The more it changes, the more it stays the same!
Thrill to the Amazing Vanishing Manager Illusion! Cast of thousands - now you see him, now you don't! One moment he's in the dugout, the next he's nowhere to be seen....
Or something to that effect.
As Spike says - we're in real danger of relegation, and I for one ain't as stupid as Farmer and Petrie think I am.
09-11-2011, 11:54 AM
I think many have been doing that for long enough, RP and co have had plenty of time to have the team stable and running well, I have or had already reached my tolerance of it all, maybe they will go on to do well maybe its more the same, I am looking for change asap, some people will think it is ok but they will have a tolerence too. I do not want any more seasons wasted with dreadfull decision making like we have seen, and I have seen nothing to suggest they should continue on.
I hear exactly what you are saying and to be honest wouldnt disagree with much of it.
But what you and I think, feel or wish for is an utter irrelevance if you dont have any power to influence change.
As STF & RP own Hibs virtually lock stock and barrell we dont.
So IMO you have two choices.
You decide whether you can stand the fact that you cant influence things as you would want and are prepared to live within those strictures and get behind the team, club, board or whatever
or
You decide you cant and its causing you too much angst and walk completetly away
Adopting the outside the tent pissing in approach is doing us no good at all and by the time it influences any change we will be a basket case and totally unsaveable
I dont believe any Hibs supporter truly wants that
09-11-2011, 11:54 AM
Yep, very true Iain - it's the example that I would expect from Fyfe (if asked).
But in these recessionary times, I am utterly convinced that with a bit of thought, inspiration and research, Hibs could come up with novel ideas how to reduce costs and increase attendances. Fyfe and SL are bang on the money by saying that it's form on the pitch that will attact folk back. But they IMHO underestimate the power of a bigger, positive support.
They always talk about 'tempting fans back' and never about growing the support. If we're ever going to fill ER regularly, they need to get lapsed supporters back and get new people attending. There is plenty of stuff they could be doing whilst they wait on form to improve.
09-11-2011, 12:02 PM
Totally agree spike, but I was just putting my own perspective on things. For what it's worth I totally agree we should always be thinking a lot bigger and wanting success. But again, to counter that, sometimes I think us Hibs fans think we are bigger than we actually are in the football pecking order. Every club in Scotland is losing money, not just Hibs. Teams from Hearts down (in the current SPL) are 'facing relegation'........and every side in the SPL is losing fans. Look at Celtic for example. League One teams in England can outpay and outgun us for signing targets, it's the way it is at present. Some are now having that bite them on the backside.
I know what you mean and understand where you are coming from. But mine is far from a 'cornershop' mentality. I would like to think of it just as a realisitic one when you consider our fanbase, income, team and where we play our football. As I say a lot of times, I'd watch Hibs on the Meadows if it all went belly up. I think we have to start falling in love with the club again that's all. That's where the passion starts for me...........and that can infuse into the team.
Spot on again truehibernian.
Check out the banner at the top of this page. Mixu and Franck doing their wee jig infront of the terracing; happy faces in the background; the Jambos being trounced by a club - manager, players and supporters - united as one.
That's what we need to get back. At the moment we have torn-faced moaners hurling abuse at players who couldn't really care less and a manager who can't wait to get down the road to see the missus.
We need to get this club back together again and whinging and bitching on this forum about whether Petrie has a car allowance or not is not going to help.
The best thing I've read about last night is that the board recognise that they need a leader. We need someone to come in and make this "his" club. He needs to eat, sleep, breath Hibernian from the moment he confidently marches into the press conference right through to when he comes onto the park and acknowledges the fans after his side takes Hearts apart on New Years Day.
Sir Tom Farmer is here to stay. Rod Petrie is here to stay. The rest of the board are here to stay. It's time we all set aside our differences and got right behind all of them, and the new manager.
09-11-2011, 12:05 PM
Check out the banner at the top of this page. Mixu and Franck doing their wee jig infront of the terracing; happy faces in the background; the Jambos being trounced by a club - manager, players and supporters - united as one.
That's what we need to get back. At the moment we have torn-faced moaners hurling abuse at players who couldn't really care less and a manager who can't wait to get down the road to see the missus.
We need to get this club back together again and whinging and bitching on this forum about whether Petrie has a car allowance or not is not going to help.
The best thing I've read about last night is that the board recognise that they need a leader. We need someone to come in and make this "his" club. He needs to eat, sleep, breath Hibernian from the moment he confidently marches into the press conference right through to when he comes onto the park and acknowledges the fans after his side takes Hearts apart on New Years Day.
Sir Tom Farmer is here to stay. Rod Petrie is here to stay. The rest of the board are here to stay. It's time we all set aside our differences and got right behind all of them, and the new manager.
09-11-2011, 12:09 PM
As STF & RP own Hibs virtually lock stock and barrell we dont.
So IMO you have two choices.
You decide whether you can stand the fact that you cant influence things as you would want and are prepared to live within those strictures and get behind the team, club, board or whatever
or
You decide you cant and its causing you too much angst and walk completetly away
Adopting the outside the tent pissing in approach is doing us no good at all and by the time it influences any change we will be a basket case and totally unsaveable
I dont believe any Hibs supporter truly wants that
But I'm standing in the door of the tent with ma legs crossed hauding the pee in, as I will do my supporting away from home.
I'm always gonna be a Hibby - and I am always going to go and support the team.
I am sadly too peed off with Board, its performance and more so the atmosphere at ER.
I'll be at Perf, Eberdeen and Tannadeeche this side of Christmas :thumbsup: Glory Glory!
And when you put it that way, JJ must be odds-on favourite to fit that job description. :rolleyes:
09-11-2011, 12:11 PM
And when you put it that way, JJ must be odds-on favourite to fit that job description. :rolleyes:
Hopefully after last night, the board have been left in no doubt as to how stupid an appointment that would be...
09-11-2011, 12:12 PM
So what was it they were looking for before? somebody that couldnt be arsed, I would assume you would have been looking for these qualities every time they interviewd a possiblr manager if not then what are they doing then? They should have hired that man last time and maybe CC came across that way but he failed, I was not impressed with much of what was said and if now they are looking for a leader I find it a worry on what they were looking for before.
09-11-2011, 12:30 PM
Hopefully after last night, the board have been left in no doubt as to how stupid an appointment that would be...
By attempting to place restrictions on the Board's decisions and not just supporting what they decide, aren't you just one of the 'torn-faced moaners'? I'm not sure you can have it both ways.
09-11-2011, 12:36 PM
By attempting to place restrictions on the Board's decisions and not just supporting what they decide, aren't you just one of the 'torn-faced moaners'? I'm not sure you can have it both ways.
I've never blindly supported the board. I would always champion the right of supporters to ask questions of their performance or to scrutinise their decisions.
There's a difference between making a reasonable point (i.e. that Jim Jefferies should not be considered for the post of Hibernian manager), and hurling abuse at kids trying to make their way in the game.
09-11-2011, 12:39 PM
12 protestors, or can we include the dog :dunno:
http://www.snspix.com/image/detail_5758023.jpg
I can count 13 protestors there, not including fido. :na na:
Joe Baker II
09-11-2011, 12:50 PM
The oft quoted example of this is Motherwell under John Boyle, dropped ticket prices but failed to get the hike in attendances they expected by making it more affordable and lost money! Hibs may be different as we have a bigger latent fan base and it may entice some back, but perhaps not enough to make up for the shortfall in ticket revenues lost by the 7 or 8000 regular goer getting in for cheaper prices.
Motherwell's attendances did increae as you acknowledge so that example does not really support Hyland's case - in his flawed view he is seeing making money as be all and end all when boosting interest is more important. And does not really addressed lapsed season ticket holders like me who find it represents poor value for money when there is prospect of half empty stadium for games against Old Firm.
09-11-2011, 03:38 PM
STF was talking about investment wasn't he? How he was willing to consider investment from someone else. Well any businessman would welcome that, but did he indicate whether this was likely to happen or if he's willing to invest more.
You have to speculate to accumulate. And I'm talking about points!
In the SPL its been proven to be an abject failure. Any money STF puts in is not an "investment" as such given that there will be no return, financially at least, on his outlay.
STF showed last night he certainly still has it. If the team had half the gumption and drive of our 71 year old owner we would not be in the position we are in. Eye of the Tiger right enough, but it's in a pensioner.
09-11-2011, 04:13 PM
09-11-2011, 04:45 PM
Nice one, the Baw felly! :aok:
09-11-2011, 04:47 PM
Motherwell's attendances did increae as you acknowledge so that example does not really support Hyland's case - in his flawed view he is seeing making money as be all and end all when boosting interest is more important. And does not really addressed lapsed season ticket holders like me who find it represents poor value for money when there is prospect of half empty stadium for games against Old Firm.
Motherwell's income fell.
09-11-2011, 05:02 PM
You could have been descibing John Hughes there, he did all that but couldnt manage footballers very well. The man needs to do all you say, but he also needs to be good at his main job too. :agree:
DCI Gene Hunt
09-11-2011, 05:04 PM
Have quietly sat back and watched with much interest the developments of the past few days, in addition to reading with great interest my fellow Hibbies' comments and views on here.
Truehibernian's and Bawheid's comments were by far the most sensible, reasoned and mature posts I have read within the past few days and seem to reflect on my own feelings. It disappoints me when sections of the support start splitting and start to tear lumps out of our football club. I see it on here quite often, although there are some good points raised it does seem that the support appears to be increasingly fracticious. It was a bit embarrassing to see some protests outside the AGM last night and it doesn't look good on us as supporters when instead of getting behind our club completely we decide to very publically rip into them on a fans' forum, make noises about getting shot of our directors and protests outside the stadium. What good does this do? That's what idiots like the Yams, Celtc etc. do FFS! :rolleyes: So who would you get in place of RP et al? Some nutter like Tsar Romanov who comes in with bizarre ideas, phecks up the club with debt and is a phecking laughing stock? It's all very well calling for someone's head but it's a pointless exercise unless you can name someone to replace him!
Bawheid's closing statement sums it up well for me. RP, Tom Farmer and the rest are all here to stay. Unlike what many seem to think RP is not an idiot and he does care about the club. I think the board are under no doubt that in football terms the club is performing poorly and this needs sorted with an experienced manager who will get us results. We know that, they know that and that is exactly what they are working on right now. 40 applications for the managerial post says it all; Hibs are still a respected and attractive club with a lot of potential, and I rest assured that the board are sifting very carefully through those applicants to find the best man for the job. Yes, the previous three appointments didn't work out; they are no doubt very aware of that and therefore will be very careful in whom they choose.
Time of us all to grow up, get behind our club and stop bickering like a bunch of bloody Yams/Smellies/Gerz.
Gene
Dirkster23
09-11-2011, 05:07 PM
But I'm standing in the door of the tent with ma legs crossed hauding the pee in, as I will do my supporting away from home.
I am sadly too peed off with Board, its performance and more so the atmosphere at ER.
I'll be at Perf, Eberdeen and Tannadeeche this side of Christmas :thumbsup: Glory Glory!
It's good to see your finally looking to attend your first game of the season TQM! And to think you laughed last year when i suggested your sat nav only gave you directions to Perth, Dundee and Aberdeen :wink:
09-11-2011, 05:15 PM
Who do you think you're fooling with that, and I paraphrase your good self here, load of pish? :faf:
You aren't mounting any sort of protest by not going to home games. You rarely go to games at Easter Road anyway, cos a) it's a 130 mile round trip and it might cost you petrol money or a train fare and b) you'd have to pay to get in!
Your blind anti-Petrie persona may be irritating and predictable, but at least it's got some sort of basis in authenticity.
This new martyr/protester image is pure fantasy and has no credibility.
PS I'll be at the home games once MON is installed as manager. I'll be going nowhere near the place if FJK gets the gig.
LALthehibeeGAL
09-11-2011, 05:31 PM
Frankly whether we like it or not , we have no choice
RP will leave Hibs at a time of his and only his choosing.
Now there is a school of thought that says lets make life so uncomfortable for him that time will come sooner rather than later.
I dont hold with that at all
Hibs needs to be run as a business to ensure we are always here
That means that there is always going to be a tension between what the business needs to do and what the fans want to happen
That wont change whether RP is Chairman, or anyone else
These though are really dangerous times for Hibs in particular and Scottish Football in general
Relegation is absolutely unthinkable, but a real possibility
We need to unite behind the team, the board and each other
LALthehibeeGAL
09-11-2011, 05:35 PM
Sir Tom Farmer is here to stay. Rod Petrie is here to stay. The rest of the board are here to stay. It's time we all set aside our differences and got right behind all of them, and the new manager.[/QUOTE]
:agree: couldnae put it better myself
Lal:wink:
ancienthibby
09-11-2011, 06:14 PM
Lal:wink:[/QUOTE]
100% correct!
Most folks need to just accept this and move on!
STF gave a huge blessing to RP last night, alongside his own cash injection of £1 million last year!!
09-11-2011, 06:51 PM
100% correct!
Most folks need to just accept this and move on!
STF gave a huge blessing to RP last night, alongside his own cash injection of £1 million last year!![/QUOTE]
I think most people recognise STF and Petrie will be here for the foreseable future. Although why do folk have to accept it and move on? Thats like saying this is how its going to be, like it or lump it. There are more and more people not prepared to just like it or lump it, thats why there's folk speaking out against them, and vast empty spaces in the stands.
Maybe we should just hand our money over, bow and curtsey when being blessed with Rods presence on matchdays behind the goals?
DCI Gene Hunt
09-11-2011, 07:03 PM
I think most people recognise STF and Petrie will be here for the foreseable future. Although why do folk have to accept it and move on? Thats like saying this is how its going to be, like it or lump it. There are more and more people not prepared to just like it or lump it, thats why there's folk speaking out against them, and vast empty spaces in the stands.
Maybe we should just hand our money over, bow and curtsey when being blessed with Rods presence on matchdays behind the goals?
Okay, well lets put it this way... who would you suggest getting in place of The Tache then?
Until someone comes out with a better idea then we are merely farting in the jacuzzi.
Why don't we put our efforts into supporting our club rather than bickering like little girls?
Gene
nortonhibby
09-11-2011, 07:07 PM
Lal:wink:[/QUOTE]
Can we vote with empty green seats ?
09-11-2011, 07:09 PM
Can we vote with empty green seats ?[/QUOTE]
Who would you have in place of RP?
And what would they bring?
09-11-2011, 08:38 PM
Can we vote with empty green seats ?
Who would you have in place of RP?
And what would they bring?[/QUOTE]
I dont know who.
RP has brought to table already but not anymore, he brings not a lot now other than bad choices in key areas.
09-11-2011, 08:41 PM
I dont know who.
RP has brought to table already but not anymore, he brings not a lot now other than bad choices in key areas.
Anyone but Rod?
Really?
Romanov mark II?
09-11-2011, 08:44 PM
I dont know who.
Anyone but Rod?
Really?
Romanov mark II?[/QUOTE]
No just not Rod, why do I need to have a replacement in mind just because I do not think Rod is up to it? I am sure there are people capable in this world of doing better than Rod.
09-11-2011, 08:46 PM
I dont know who.
And thats just it.
The bottom line is that Farmer pays the bills and Farmer wants him there. Folk can argue yay or nay till the cows come home.
09-11-2011, 08:47 PM
And thats just it.
The bottom line is that Farmer pays the bills and Farmer wants him there. Folk can argue yay or nay till the cows come home.
And we will continue to do so probably, and the manger picks the teams that ok to discuss?
09-11-2011, 08:51 PM
No just not Rod, why do I need to have a replacement in mind just because I do not think Rod is up to it? I am sure there are people capable in this world of doing better than Rod.
Sure there are. None of them appear to employed at football clubs though.
09-11-2011, 09:42 PM
Who do you think you're fooling with that, and I paraphrase your good self here, load of pish? :faf:
You aren't mounting any sort of protest by not going to home games. You rarely go to games at Easter Road anyway, cos a) it's a 130 mile round trip and it might cost you petrol money or a train fare and b) you'd have to pay to get in!
Your blind anti-Petrie persona may be irritating and predictable, but at least it's got some sort of basis in authenticity.
This new martyr/protester image is pure fantasy and has no credibility.
PS I'll be at the home games once MON is installed as manager. I'll be going nowhere near the place if FJK gets the gig.
:faf: Err., have you checked the mileage to Eberdeen? Monifieth lies between it and Edinburgh.
And I'll be paying at Perf, Eberdeen and Tannadeechee :wink:
09-11-2011, 09:51 PM
Okay, well lets put it this way... who would you suggest getting in place of The Tache then?
Until someone comes out with a better idea then we are merely farting in the jacuzzi.
Why don't we put our efforts into supporting our club rather than bickering like little girls?
Gene
I dont have a scooby just who would be better at doing the job than Petrie would, and it appears STF wont be getting rid of him any time soon.
As for putting effort into supporting our club, i do most weeks. It still wont stop me discussing or airing my opinion of things i regard as wrong at Hibs on a Hibs message board.:confused:
09-11-2011, 09:54 PM
And I'll be paying at Perf, Eberdeen and Tannadeechee :wink:
Woah. That's gotta hurt and I do sympathise, Garry.
Still, it doesn't justify your all new martyr/protester status, which after all, was my point.
09-11-2011, 10:01 PM
Woah. That's gotta hurt and I do sympathise, Garry.
Still, it doesn't justify your all new martyr/protester status, which after all, was my point.
It won't hurt honest :wink: Thanks for your ongoing concern though. It is touching.
Like you, MON and a winning team will probably mean I too relent. We're mugs! Hibs have us by the heart - and that's more dangerous than by the wallet :wink:
09-11-2011, 10:19 PM
It won't hurt honest :wink: Thanks for your ongoing concern though. It is touching.
Like you, MON and a winning team will probably mean I too relent. We're mugs! Hibs have us by the heart - and that's more dangerous than by the wallet :wink:
Glad to see you admit that you're touched. :crazy:
However, I'm baffled as to what you would be relenting if MON gets the job.
Will you not go to the away games you have planned? :confused:
09-11-2011, 10:25 PM
I dont have a scooby just who would be better at doing the job than Petrie would, and it appears STF wont be getting rid of him any time soon.
As for putting effort into supporting our club, i do most weeks. It still wont stop me discussing or airing my opinion of things i regard as wrong at Hibs on a Hibs message board.:confused:
:top marks:top marks:agree:
09-11-2011, 10:37 PM
However, I'm baffled as to what you would be relenting if MON gets the job.
Will you not go to the away games you have planned? :confused:
Of course I'll be there .. unless JJ gets the gig! :wink:
I meant relenting in getting back to ER
09-11-2011, 10:47 PM
Of course I'll be there .. unless JJ gets the gig! :wink:
I meant relenting in getting back to ER
Jeez. You'll come back to Easter Road? After all these years?
Really? Like more than once a season?
10-11-2011, 05:13 AM
Has anybody logged in to the website of the protest group yet?
http://www.hibsforchangeeasterroad.co.uk/
10-11-2011, 06:05 AM
Jeez. You'll come back to Easter Road? After all these years?
Really? Like more than once a season?
Aye its been what .. A few months :wink:
Will I meet you in Dundee or Eberdeen for a drink? :dunno:
Dirkster23
10-11-2011, 07:59 AM
Aye its been what .. A few months :wink:
C'mon TQM, who are you trying to kid? Your make it to ER once or twice a season if your lucky :rolleyes:
10-11-2011, 08:23 AM
C'mon TQM, who are you trying to kid? Your make it to ER once or twice a season if your lucky :rolleyes:
Gets a nose bleed driving over the Forth Road Bridge. :agree:
10-11-2011, 09:04 AM
This season being the exception. I cannot think of a season when it's been less than three.. Was always more when I lived in Fife - pre third child in 2000 and before. However, I do love the irony that I get pelters for limited games at ER when for example we get a piss poor support at Tannadice .. which is the equivalent journey (probably less - given I am 20 mins further away/East of Tannadump) and a max. of twice a season :cool2: Some real hypocrisy therein :wink:
10-11-2011, 09:56 AM
Has anybody logged in to the website of the protest group yet?
http://www.hibsforchangeeasterroad.co.uk/
It's had less hits than Michelle McManus.
10-11-2011, 10:40 AM
It's had less hits than Michelle McManus.
10-11-2011, 11:24 AM
There are positives and negatives to take from last night to be honest.
The positives are that there are 40 people interested in the Hibs job :greengrin This dispels this commonly used phrase amongst certain fans and pundits alike 'who would want the Hibs job'. I am certain that amongst the 40 there will be some very good candidates (unless of course 39 applications have gone in from Yogi, the other being from McGhee :faf:).
STF clearly has solid affection and indeed faith in RP. The positive I take from that is that they are not split.....the reason I say that was due to STF's message to fans that he was not against further investment. I thought that comment would have been picked up on more.....it's the first I have heard him say directly that it would never be ruled out. Is he thinking of putting more money in ?
SL seems to have come across well and has a vision of who he wishes to appoint (character wise) and where the club is going. I actually like Scott, I think he speaks well, is articulate and he does listen to fans. I am not a great fan of Fyfe sadly. I have just never taken to him (really cannot explain why.....strange).
Whilst we made a loss, we are still solid financially, there are income streams being generated, and through contracts we are getting little drip feeds of money from player sales beyond the sales. That could be crucial when the likes of Stokes goes down south, or say Leicester or Boro get promoted.
The other positive was that there was no hysteria. I had a vision that there would be frothing at the mouth and that it would descend into a big 'bun fight' and get personal. Things were calm, composed and constructive. That is the atmosphere we need right now. So well done those who attended who remained cool and were frank with their views (but constructive).
The negatives - I am not satisfied that as a club they appreciate that players off field antics are both damaging and divisive (both for the team and the fans). Yes GOC needed support, but come on, he is an adult with riches beyond most of us. Whilst it is admirable that RP was emotional and supportive, I wanted to hear RP, SL and STF (especially) say that the behaviour has been unacceptable and acknowledge that it affects the way we look at the players and the club.
Calderwood - they were as ever coy and rightly protective (of their positions), but I think more could have been said with regards his time at the club. The summer nonsense for me was brushed over. The commitment issue was so damaging I don't think they realise. Fans are intelligent, and answers were needed then. His attendance at training and the club was glossed over. The photos in hotels with McLaren. I really think that needed to be raised as an issue that fans were deeply deeply upset about (and rightly so).
RP's position - they claimed we have a chairman who cares more than we realise. Well that for me is a must for that position anyway - we as fans care the same, some more. I think that was an unneccesary 'tug of the heart strings' comment that again glossed over the cracks. The fans and Rod are divided. This was a night for Rod to step up to the plate and answer all the questions we as fans have had once and for all. Not to be dramatic, but so it could be on record. If RP is now not taking a salary, then sorry - he has his shareholding, please step aside, watch from afar as an investor, and hand the reigns over to someone else. Someone who we as fans can relate to and unite behind. As long as he is there, people will turn their backs now (sadly).
The last negative was that they seemed to justify the cost of going to games. It is still way too expensive and it truly does need looked at. Fyfe stating that it is a myth that lower prices mean greater attendances.........well if you make statements like that Fyfe, you really must come up with some empirical evidence to show it is factually correct ?? There was none. Prove it and I will shut my mouth - don't prove it, well at least try a novel way to reduce entry prices.
Anyway, my mind is always made up regardless of AGM's, managerial vacancies, defeats or wins. I love this club of ours and I will always (finances permitting) go along and support them. I do think as fans we could be more positive and supportive (not just in numbers, I mean at games). Our mindset needs refreshed as well, that's just my opinion. The younger lads especially need our positivity. We have cracking ones waiting to come through.
And in a strange wee way, it's at times like this where there is gloom and apathy that I become more in love with Hibs. It's like having kids.........they can be a right pain in the behind at times, but one wee smile, quote and laugh and you remember why you love 'em. We really are a great wee club you know :agree:
Top Post sir.
So i suppose you could say the AGM was a bit of a pick and mix. :greengrin
10-11-2011, 11:28 AM
Top Post sir.
B'twix and between SH.....covered all topics and hopefully the new guy will give us a boost too :greengrin
10-11-2011, 11:43 AM
Top Post sir.
Mare like Revels - some you like, some you don't.
Dirkster23
10-11-2011, 01:13 PM
This season being the exception. I cannot think of a season when it's been less than three.. Was always more when I lived in Fife - pre third child in 2000 and before. However, I do love the irony that I get pelters for limited games at ER when for example we get a piss poor support at Tannadice .. which is the equivalent journey (probably less - given I am 20 mins further away/East of Tannadump) and a max. of twice a season :cool2: Some real hypocrisy therein :wink:
Seriously, three games a year?
Your missing the point, there's plenty of guys that won't travel to away games as they've already forked out for a season ticket at ER. These are guys that have paid hundreds to Hibs before you start on your 20 minute drive to Dundee for a game. You come on hear and continually moan about how Hibs are run, but contribute nothing to the Club. You had the chance to attend the AGM and put your points directly to RP, but as Bawheid said, you bottled it.
hibbyhabit
10-11-2011, 07:05 PM
My lad lives in St Albans, and he makes more games than you. :faf:
10-11-2011, 08:51 PM
Seriously, three games a year?
Your missing the point, there's plenty of guys that won't travel to away games as they've already forked out for a season ticket at ER. These are guys that have paid hundreds to Hibs before you start on your 20 minute drive to Dundee for a game. You come on hear and continually moan about how Hibs are run, but contribute nothing to the Club. You had the chance to attend the AGM and put your points directly to RP, but as Bawheid said, you bottled it.
Keep up - 3 games at ER. And many more for many years before now. Even paying walk up when a ST would have been cheaper.
You must tell me the criteria for having an opinion though :wink:
I was only ever making the AGM via proxy, and if a business meeting could be doubled with it. As for bottling it - spare me. I plan to be there next year.
Wish someone would give me SL's email - I couldn't find it on the fishy site.
10-11-2011, 08:53 PM
My lad lives in St Albans, and he makes more games than you. :faf:
Aye I have too much on my plate sadly - kids, work, directoirships, club committee work - to do more. Fair play to yer lad - that's some journey!
Dirkster23
10-11-2011, 11:08 PM
Keep up - 3 games at ER. And many more for many years before now. Even paying walk up when a ST would have been cheaper.
You must tell me the criteria for having an opinion though :wink:
I was only ever making the AGM via proxy, and if a business meeting could be doubled with it. As for bottling it - spare me. I plan to be there next year.
Wish someone would give me SL's email - I couldn't find it on the fishy site.
Keep up? I was referring to your 3 games a year at ER :rolleyes:
Everyones entitled to their opinion, just as others are allowed to question what they say.
You did bottle it! You've been telling anyone who would listen for ages all the things that RP's been doing wrong. You then get a chance to confront him at the AGM and crash :na na:
Your visits to ER are that infrequent that you post on the PM board asking what pubs are decent around ER and is there a pay gate in the west :faf:
11-11-2011, 05:17 AM
Deary me - you're easily amused.
Clearly we've established I've a busier life and more responsibilites than you have. Maybe when you grow up you'll appreciate things differently.
The AGM has been explained - still you believe what you wish. Wrong as it is.
Re the pubs - I drive to ER, so it rare that I go to a pub. The actual question was about a pub where I could take my son. - so again you're avoid the facts. As for the pay gate, due to having a busy life I hadn't been organised and bought tickets. Simples.
Let's speak again when you're older and wiser :wink:
11-11-2011, 05:27 AM
Deary me - you're easily amused.
Clearly we've established I've a busier life and more responsibilites than you have. Maybe when you grow up you'll appreciate things differently.
The AGM has been explained - still you believe what you wish. Wrong as it is.
Re the pubs - I drive to ER, so it rare that I go to a pub. The actual question was about a pub where I could take my son. - so again you're avoid the facts. As for the pay gate, due to having a busy life I hadn't been organised and bought tickets. Simples.
Let's speak again when you're older and wiser :wink:
I don't want to jump on the 'pick on TQM' bandwagon (although you're big enough to deal with it) but if you're really the busiest man on the planet, how the hell do you find the time to post 27,000 times in 8 years?! I feel like I post too much on here but I'm a novice in comparison.
11-11-2011, 05:38 AM
I don't want to jump on the 'pick on TQM' bandwagon (although you're big enough to deal with it) but if you're really the busiest man on the planet, how the hell do you find the time to post 27,000 times in 8 years?! I feel like I post too much on here but I'm a novice in comparison.
It's not that time consuming to post "I hate Rod" 25,999 times to be honest...
11-11-2011, 05:38 AM
'Busiest man on the planet' .. Busier than some on here who don't appreciate I cannot put myself or Hibs first
This is my escape/guilty pleasure - I've always got my BB, and never far from a PC/laptop :wink: Too many of the 27,000 posts are answering dafties - if I could stop that..
Dirkster23
11-11-2011, 09:05 AM
'Busiest man on the planet' .. Busier than some on here who don't appreciate I cannot put myself or Hibs first
This is my escape/guilty pleasure - I've always got my BB, and never far from a PC/laptop :wink: Too many of the 27,000 posts are answering dafties - if I could stop that..
Deary me TQM, three different excuses in the one thread- It's a boycott because of Petrie/ You don't like the atmosphere at ER/ Your the busiest man on the planet.
Your right, I've nothing to occupy my time. Between working full time, kids sports/ social events, running a sports team/ training and going to Hibs games. Everyone's got busy lives these days, it's all down to how you decide to spend your spare time.
You keep picking fault in how the Clubs run while contributing absolutely nothing to it. You'll maybe manage to grow a pair before next year and actually face RP at the AGM with all your searching questions.
I'll bow out now, don't want to take up anymore of your precious time.
11-11-2011, 10:03 AM
You keep picking fault in how the Clubs run while contributing absolutely nothing to it.
Proven not to be the case .. still you keep believing it :rolleyes:
You'll maybe manage to grow a pair before next year and actually face RP at the AGM with all your searching questions.
Again -you chose to ignore what I've said on the matter :rolleyes:
I'll bow out now, don't want to take up anymore of your precious time .
Excellent - me too. Now please keep to your word :bye:
11-11-2011, 01:04 PM
There's a much shorter version of this thread, with just the notes taken, in The Vault...........
http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?220889-Notes-From-The-2011-AGM