View Full Version : Ogs 20 & other random names

darwenhibby
07-11-2011, 03:52 PM
If I was the Hibs board I would be sounding out Ole Gunnar Solksjard

Now that would be a coup.

Brilliant with the reserves at Man United, just lead Molde to their first title.

If he was good we may only hold on to him for a couple of years but would certainly create a bit of interest and give him the chance to cut his teeth in British football.

07-11-2011, 05:06 PM
If I was the Hibs board I would be sounding out Ole Gunnar SolksjardNow that would be a coup.Brilliant with the reserves at Man United, just lead Molde to their first title.If he was good we may only hold on to him for a couple of years but would certainly create a bit of interest and give him the chance to cut his teeth in British football. I agree.. However the only problem I see is that he might have his sights set a bit higher than Scottish football...

07-11-2011, 05:08 PM
I like yer thinking

Would certainly boost the club's image and bring back the crowds

JCHibby
07-11-2011, 06:32 PM
If I was the Hibs board I would be sounding out Ole Gunnar Solksjard

Now that would be a coup.

Brilliant with the reserves at Man United, just lead Molde to their first title.

If he was good we may only hold on to him for a couple of years but would certainly create a bit of interest and give him the chance to cut his teeth in British football.

100% great shout!!!

07-11-2011, 06:36 PM
He would definately command the respect of the players and fans.

Some of the players might adjust their attitude for someone like him

07-11-2011, 06:39 PM
Great idea - We need a big Household Name to get everyone to Look at Hibs.. Loads of folks from england would probably be interested if a celebrity football player gets the hibs job .... :greengrin

07-11-2011, 06:57 PM
I'm sure he's sitting waiting on the phone to ring........

This will be my last shoot down as theres going to be so much *****e on these boards until its 100% official.

JCHibby
07-11-2011, 07:03 PM
I'm sure he's sitting waiting on the phone to ring........

This will be my last shoot down as theres going to be so much *****e on these boards until its 100% official.

Did the OP suggest he is getting the job? I thought he purely stated an opinion that OGS is worth a shout. :agree:

07-11-2011, 07:31 PM
Funnily enough this was who i thought would be a good shout, don't see why he wouldn't come here, he'll get more exposure than he would in the tippeligaen. Go get him Petrie eh I mean Scott Lindsay of course.......

07-11-2011, 07:34 PM
He wouldnt come to us. No chance. We're not even as good as a step sideways for him right now.

07-11-2011, 07:34 PM
Why on earth would he step down to Hibs?

07-11-2011, 07:54 PM
I suppose if Sir Alex reckoned the SPL was a good place for him to go, didn't he recently come out telling him that he shouldn't rush into English football? The SPL could be a good in between point for him with less media attention than he'd get at a Championship club.

OGS may like the idea of following in the footsteps of his mentor too?

He'd be a cracking appointment, and would bring knowledge of Man Utd's world class youth system and presumably make us a potential destination for young Utsd players...

07-11-2011, 08:20 PM
Would love him here but cannae see him giving up leading Molde into Europe again next season to come here for a relegation battle

07-11-2011, 08:26 PM
Did the OP suggest he is getting the job? I thought he purely stated an opinion that OGS is worth a shout. :agree:

No he never.

I'm purely stating he's mare chance of winning Mastermind than we have of getting OGS 20 (plus points for the abbreviation to avoid making a c of spelling his name by the way!!)

07-11-2011, 08:26 PM
Would love him here but cannae see him giving up leading Molde into Europe again next season to come here for a relegation battle

True, but doing well up here seems to have become a good route to a decent job in England, hell even Hughes was being touted for jobs when he had us on a run...

09-11-2011, 08:40 PM
Over on bounce on the ever reliable 'Someone In The Know' Paulo Di canio is seemingly being mentioned in the Naples Press as being in the frame for the Hibs job

Has anybody heard anything along these lines and if he did come what would be the thoughts on him

09-11-2011, 08:46 PM
Over on bounce on the ever reliable 'Someone In The Know' Paulo Di canio is seemingly being mentioned in the Naples Press as being in the frame for the Hibs job

Has anybody heard anything along these lines and if he did come what would be the thoughts on him

Aye but only to spar with Stacky.

09-11-2011, 08:46 PM

Give fascism the red card

09-11-2011, 08:47 PM
:brickwall

Makaveli
09-11-2011, 08:47 PM

Unlikely, unwelcome.

Call me old fashioned but his "I am a fascist, not a racist" stance and the Dux tattoo on his arm are dealbreakers.

09-11-2011, 08:48 PM
Nooooo

09-11-2011, 08:50 PM
A facist Hibs manager? Williamson all over again...

09-11-2011, 08:51 PM

09-11-2011, 08:54 PM

Was the question hold your hand up if you thinks Hearts are shiiite?

09-11-2011, 08:56 PM
Was the question hold your hand up if you thinks Hearts are shiiite?

:top marks:aok:

09-11-2011, 09:07 PM

Did they mention anything about the 5-0 hammering and did they include a pic of Bobby Duncan?

09-11-2011, 09:10 PM
Did they mention anything about the 5-0 hammering and did they include a pic of Bobby Duncan?

:aok: Like it man

09-11-2011, 09:11 PM
Did they mention anything about the 5-0 hammering and did they include a pic of Bobby Duncan?:aok: Like it man

HibeePaj
09-11-2011, 09:22 PM
no

09-11-2011, 09:35 PM
Right wing fascist at ER is just not acceptable. My ST would be going back.

09-11-2011, 09:39 PM
i thought he was at swindon? didnt last long there then,

09-11-2011, 09:45 PM

A wee bit perspective needed.

If he can get a couple of decent crosses and provide a bit width, he should be considered.

09-11-2011, 09:49 PM
on a side note, would anyone consider zola for the new job?

09-11-2011, 09:49 PM
A wee bit perspective needed.

If he can get a couple of decent crosses and provide a bit width, he should be considered.

at a time when we remember our dead who gave up theirs lives fighting fascism. Your comments are in poor taste and not funny. Fascism is not a topic of humour and goes against the Hibernian way

09-11-2011, 09:55 PM
at a time when we remember our dead who gave up theirs lives fighting fascism. Your comments are in poor taste and not funny. Fascism is not a topic of humour and goes against the Hibernian way

OK.Sorry if I've offended you.

09-11-2011, 10:04 PM

Good call and maybe left field.

Likeable guy who didn't get the treatment he deserved when West Ham were taken over by Sullivan and Gold. Fortunately they got what they deserved by sacking Zola and bringing in Avram Grant.

I like it and he would have good contacts. Well with the exception of Ray Wilkins of course. :devil:

09-11-2011, 10:08 PM

The joke wasn't about facism.

I think you need to get over yourself and stop trying to apply your double standards on here like you're the Hibs.net Police.

Engels74
09-11-2011, 10:20 PM

Couldn't agree more!

Fisherrow Harp
09-11-2011, 11:06 PM

First post, but feel compelled to. The thought of him at Easter road disgusts me, the man is a fascist of that there is no doubt. I love Hibs ( like we all do) but if he was to get in, i really don't know if that love would ever be the same. I think part of the reason we all love our club is because of it's origins and it's principles, Of course not always of the board and/or owners, but of us the fans. If he ( and it is only speculation, if that) was to get the job and be accepted by us the fans there would surely something fundamentally lost in what it means to be Hibs and more over in us the fans. Also after fire bombing ER because it had became an abomination i would have to live out the rest of my life supporting Livorno, exiled in Italy :wink:

:flag::hibees

09-11-2011, 11:11 PM
Paulo Di Canioooo, Legend. Would give these wasters a good kick up the arse too.:aok:

10-11-2011, 03:03 AM

Get a grip FFS!:rolleyes:

10-11-2011, 04:26 AM
Well, we keep saying we should not bring religion or politics into football, so????????

10-11-2011, 07:21 AM

10-11-2011, 07:52 AM

Depends. What's his politics?

JoeTortolanoFanClub
10-11-2011, 08:37 AM

Nah...he was never quite the same after the Dreyfus affair...

10-11-2011, 08:48 AM
Just say no to nazis and racists at Easter Road...

10-11-2011, 08:53 AM
Di Canio?

Yeah, great call.

Perhaps we could get John Terry in as captain too?

10-11-2011, 08:54 AM
Does anyone want to write to the board asking the politics of everyone at Hibs? :confused:

10-11-2011, 09:01 AM
i used to like the Right Wing, decent beer :greengrin

10-11-2011, 09:03 AM

Have a word with yourself :faf:

Simon70
10-11-2011, 09:59 AM

:agree: Yip, I'd rather that Fat Fattries got the job than this right-wing nutjob - and that's saying something.

10-11-2011, 10:06 AM
If Di Canio gets the job I would want nothing to do with the club whatsoever.

10-11-2011, 10:20 AM
Unlikely, unwelcome.

Call me old fashioned but his "I am a fascist, not a racist" stance and the Dux tattoo on his arm are dealbreakers.

:agree: This!

10-11-2011, 10:23 AM
Does anyone want to write to the board asking the politics of everyone at Hibs? :confused:

I think theres a major difference between someone supporting a right or left wing party being in the employ of Hibs and a man who proudly declares 'I'm a Fascist'.

The salutes whilst at Lazio and the DUX tattoo would be too much for me, if he got the job i wouldn't be back.

10-11-2011, 10:33 AM
I think theres a major difference between someone supporting a right or left wing party being in the employ of Hibs and a man who proudly declares 'I'm a Fascist'.

The salutes whilst at Lazio and the DUX tattoo would be too much for me, if he got the job i wouldn't be back.

:agree: Great footballer but the man has shown himself to be a complete ersewit at Lazio - he has made his bed trying to bum up to the Mussolini-phile gumbies there so now he'll just have to lie in it - which means NOT being even considered for jobs like Hibs IMO.

He has completely zero track record as a manager anyway.

vla_di_vla
10-11-2011, 10:37 AM

I think there's a massive over reaction on this thread. Lots of Italians still admire Mussolini so i'm not sure what the problem is. Does anyone seriously know the political beliefs of any of the candidates? If it doesn't interfere with their job then it's got nothing to do with us. I'd be more concerned if someone liked Berlusconi tbh!

10-11-2011, 10:38 AM
Di Canio would certainly be a godsend to the weegia. Lots of controversial baggage.

Also his appointment would break the long tradition of revolutionary socialist Hibs managers that we have had. :cool2:

10-11-2011, 10:57 AM
Keep that fascist prick well away from ER.

Engels74
10-11-2011, 11:00 AM
I think there's a massive over reaction on this thread. Lots of Italians still admire Mussolini so i'm not sure what the problem is. Does anyone seriously know the political beliefs of any of the candidates? If it doesn't interfere with their job then it's got nothing to do with us. I'd be more concerned if someone liked Berlusconi tbh!

There is no over reaction. its people that understand what fascism actually stands for and promotes that are angry that some ignorant few think it 'does nae matter what his politics are'

'No pasaran'

10-11-2011, 11:15 AM
Would it be OK to have a communist?

10-11-2011, 11:16 AM
Would it be OK to have a communist?

Why wouldn't it be?

Kaiser_Sauzee
10-11-2011, 11:18 AM

Oh for heaven's sake. It was a joke about the right wing on a football pitch, he was not condoning fascism.

It's no wonder I never post on this board any more. :dunno:

vla_di_vla
10-11-2011, 11:32 AM
There is no over reaction. its people that understand what fascism actually stands for and promotes that are angry that some ignorant few think it 'does nae matter what his politics are'

'No pasaran'

So i presume you know the difference between Italian fascism and Hitler? His Roman salutes and beliefs however questionable have no bearing on his ability to manage. And it's a dangerous precedent to set asking people's political beliefs before considering them for a position. And im no way a right wing sympathiser btw

10-11-2011, 11:39 AM
Nice to see that free speech is being promoted on Hibs.net

10-11-2011, 11:42 AM

At The Edge
10-11-2011, 11:45 AM
Di Canio would certainly be a godsend to the weegia. Lots of controversial baggage.

Also his appointment would break the long tradition of revolutionary socialist Hibs managers that we have had. :cool2:

ahhh i remember the dream team in the ER dugout that was Karl Marx and Frederick Engels, the football we played was indeed revolutionary, the team working for each other ,it was total football before Cruyff claimed to have invented it :wink:

10-11-2011, 11:46 AM

I don't think anyone is dismissing Di Canios right to free speech and to support whatever political party he wishes.

However I think people are expressing the view they would rather our club didn't attract the kind of attention it would bring. If Hibs choose to employ Di Canopy fine, there's no legal reason they shouldn't. I wouldn't support the decision or him though.

10-11-2011, 11:47 AM
I seem to remember that Jackie McNamara was punted to us from Celtic because of his left wing views and affiliations. :dunno:

10-11-2011, 11:52 AM
I don't think anyone is dismissing Di Canios right to free speech and to support whatever political party he wishes.

However I think people are expressing the view they would rather our club didn't attract the kind of attention it would bring. If Hibs choose to employ Di Canopy fine, there's no legal reason they shouldn't. I wouldn't support the deciding or him though.

I'm not referring to Di Canio's right to free speech. I was meaning the predictable chastising of some light hearted banter from the PC brigade that seems to patrol the threads on here. I have no strong political beliefs and I really couldn't care less about the Hibs managers either. he needs to get us challenging for honours and play good football. I really don't care which side of the Italian political spectrum he endorses.

10-11-2011, 11:57 AM
In fairness the one person who had a go at someone for making a joke has been pretty much roundly ignored or laughed at.

The rest of the thread has been a reasonably sensible exchange of viewpoints.

10-11-2011, 12:06 PM
I'm not referring to Di Canio's right to free speech. I was meaning the predictable chastising of some light hearted banter from the PC brigade that seems to patrol the threads on here. I have no strong political beliefs and I really couldn't care less about the Hibs managers either. he needs to get us challenging for honours and play good football. I really don't care which side of the Italian political spectrum he endorses. There is no such thing as a PC brigade, it is a media invention designed to stifle sensible debate.

Engels74
10-11-2011, 12:40 PM
So i presume you know the difference between Italian fascism and Hitler? His Roman salutes and beliefs however questionable have no bearing on his ability to manage. And it's a dangerous precedent to set asking people's political beliefs before considering them for a position. And im no way a right wing sympathiser btw

first of all i was not accusing you or anyone of being a right wing sympathier.

My point is that my opposition and those that are also angered that a self declared fascist is being touted as the next Hibs manager is that we are aware of what facism is and want nothing to do with it. Hibernian is a multicultural community based family football club founded on a principle of helping the less fortunate something i'm proud of.

As for my knowledge on the subject, I study History and know the differences between italian fascism and German National Socialism but this is not the time or place to have political theory discussion.

10-11-2011, 12:43 PM
Agreed, we do not want an Italian in charge at Easter Road.

Engels74
10-11-2011, 12:44 PM
There is no such thing as a PC brigade, it is a media invention designed to stifle sensible debate.
This :agree:

10-11-2011, 12:50 PM

Mussolini was no Hitler, but he was hardly all sweetness and light.

This is not a dangerous precedent at all, Di Canio has made his questionable views public, therefore they must be considered. Nobody is talking about asking about people's political beliefs, because they should be kept to ones self in this context. Di Canio running around pulling salutes and cosying up to the Ultras makes his beliefs a valid point of discussion and not something I, or it would seem, most other folk would want near the club.

10-11-2011, 01:08 PM
Apart from his dubious beliefs - to which he is entitled - he's a rank rotten football manager.

So on that basis, no.

10-11-2011, 01:55 PM
Apart from his dubious beliefs - to which he is entitled - he's a rank rotten football manager.

So on that basis, no.

What are you basing that on?

10-11-2011, 02:14 PM
i fully back freedom of speech.

However, there are certain views, that if in the public domain, can affect the perception of a manager by his staff.

How are black players supposed to feel if their boss has made a very public Facist / Roman / Nazi salute to a group of fans known for racist abuse?

If he kept it private then fair enough maybe but it's not a great statement from a man manager...

10-11-2011, 02:23 PM
Why wouldn't it be?

Just asking. If it is important we don't have facists if people would welcome a communist.

10-11-2011, 02:34 PM
Just asking. If it is important we don't have facists if people would welcome a communist.

I don't understand the connection.

What would be wrong with a communist?

10-11-2011, 02:41 PM

Well the USSR was guilty of murdering more people than Nazi Germany, and it at the least claimed to be Communist. China, North Korea and Cuba aren't exactly havens of safety for those deemed undesirable either.

Of course, fascism is unseperateable from racism and the like, communism could be argued to be seen as seperate from the disasters it created.

10-11-2011, 03:49 PM
According to the Guardian's Fiver...

And former Man Utd and Pope's O'Rangers defender Henning Berg wants the vacant Hibernian manager's job. "I know they have great facilities at the stadium and training ground," he said, conspicuously failing to mention the players.

HKhibby
10-11-2011, 03:53 PM
please no! no experience of the spl whatsoever!!

10-11-2011, 03:56 PM
It's also reported in today's Daily Record.

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/2011/11/10/ex-rangers-man-utd-star-henning-berg-let-me-boss-hibs-86908-23551063/

10-11-2011, 03:57 PM
Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

TamHibs
10-11-2011, 04:05 PM
Not a chance

10-11-2011, 04:14 PM

Nah - would be right up there with employing a kiddie fiddler as manager IMO which no club in Scotland would ever consider doing even in their wildest... no wait a minute....

10-11-2011, 04:23 PM
I wouldn't say he's in the frame. He's got himself in some of the hun news papers to say he interested. I think if SL & FH take one look at his managerial record they'd see he couldn't manage a weekly shop never mind Hibs.

10-11-2011, 04:30 PM
I have to admit to liking Paolo Di Canio the footballer. F****n top player and an absulute character. Idolised the man as a kid from the Football Italia days, mind getting a pair of Pantofola d’Oro boots - cool as hell :cool2:

Then he went through that mad spell with the Lazio's ultras and his political beliefs circa 2004. :violin:

10-11-2011, 04:50 PM

Fair question as both are extreme forms of politics.

For my money if someone is a full on revolutionary communist, believing in forced redistribution of wealth, collectivisation, suppression of private commerce, religion etc then I would say they were pretty naive as well as ignorant considering the spectacular and disastrous failure of such experiments in the 20th century and I doubt if I'd want such a person managing the Hibs.

If someone claims to be a full on white supremicist facist then I'd consider them to be an odious morally bankrupt bigot and there's NO WAY I'd want them anywhere near my club.

I suppose the important thing is what they know about football more than anything else, but people's political beliefs do say something about their character and if someone wants to go shouting it from the rooftops then you can't blame the rest of us for drawing our own conclusions.

PS - Re DiCanio, I suspect that more than anything else he's just more than a little bit stupid - genius on the ball likes but not manager material.

howdenthehibby
10-11-2011, 04:54 PM
No thanks!Experience please.

10-11-2011, 04:55 PM
Well the USSR was guilty of murdering more people than Nazi Germany, and it at the least claimed to be Communist. China, North Korea and Cuba aren't exactly havens of safety for those deemed undesirable either.

Of course, fascism is unseperateable from racism and the like, communism could be argued to be seen as seperate from the disasters it created.

And Jackie the Red was our Club captain and assistant manager.

Idolised in the former role, vilified in the latter... and, in both cases, nothing to do with his political beliefs.

If di Canio was to deliver the Holy Grail, I'm sure we would be able to forgive a little peccadillo or two, no? :greengrin

10-11-2011, 04:58 PM
Went for promoting youth in his teams so far, would consider him.

10-11-2011, 05:00 PM
please no! no experience of the spl whatsoever!!Like that's a bad thing, is the limit of your ambitions some spl journeyman that'll come in and 'Do a job' for a few months till we get bored again and finally find some ambition.Is experience of being average in a pish league the best some people aye looking for?

10-11-2011, 05:02 PM
Who has he managed?

10-11-2011, 05:11 PM
FFS a tennis player ? :wink:

hugo boss
10-11-2011, 05:16 PM
what bout ole gunnar solskjaer as manager i know he is not long in management.....:flag::agree:

10-11-2011, 05:18 PM
If the new man isnt Jean Pierre Papin I will never set foot in Easter Road (or Crabbies Alcoholic Ginger Beer Stadium) ever again. PETRIE!

HibeeMG
10-11-2011, 05:19 PM
http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?220710-Ogs-20

10-11-2011, 05:19 PM
His name is being touted down here for the blackburn job once Keane gets the bullet, we are probably on the small side for him now i'd imagine?

darwenhibby
10-11-2011, 05:56 PM
His name is being touted down here for the blackburn job once Keane gets the bullet, we are probably on the small side for him now i'd imagine?

Steve Kean has just been given another new contract by the Venky's

Venky's EPLs version of Romanov.

Blackburn a bigger club than Hibs:LOL:

10-11-2011, 06:11 PM
A classic thread. Politics, football. what more do you want?

11-11-2011, 04:51 AM

Opposite ends of the political spectrum? One is acceptable, t'other isn't ? Seems strange to me. Not for one minute saying facism is acceptable by the way but really do not see why we would bring politics into who we want as a manager.

11-11-2011, 06:49 AM
Scotland needs a new devil to slaughter. Sectarianism is boring, lets be the first fascist football club in Scotland, and see if it brings us a new stream of income like rantic have had for years?

:devil:

11-11-2011, 07:20 AM
Ive stopped looking at any speculation as some of the nonsense that is posted beggars belief.As usual
hibs will surprise us with the name im sure.The only thing im bothered is they get the right manager who can unite the club and develop the youngsters.Michael oneil to me seems and ideal candidate as what he has done in ireland but as he has been overlooked twice and might not get it.We need to be realistic in who we might get but with so many managers out of work you never know.Well have a couple of weeks of henning berg,di canio stoies before its all over and we can get on with getting our wonderful club up the league.

Persevere80
11-11-2011, 11:10 AM
He has bags of experence with the youngsters, has played and managed in the SPL. I would like to think he would have a good idea of any young up and coming players within Scotland waiting to get there chance. I like the idea he knows the likes of Wotherspoon and Hanlon. I would imagine he has seen some talent abroad that me be a cheap option for us and could maybe help build the next "golden generation". The U21's seems to have progressed well over the past couple of years and some breaking into the first team and EPL clubs. Stark must make some kind of an impression on these youngsters and i cant see him putting up with any attitude as they board planes flying out on european competitions. Im not sure who he has as an assistand under the Scotland set up, but if he was looking for a No2 our very own Billy could do the job.

11-11-2011, 11:13 AM
He has bags of experence with the youngsters, has played and managed in the SPL. I would like to think he would have a good idea of any young up and coming players within Scotland waiting to get there chance. I like the idea he knows the likes of Wotherspoon and Hanlon. I would imagine he has seen some talent abroad that me be a cheap option for us and could maybe help build the next "golden generation". The U21's seems to have progressed well over the past couple of years and some breaking into the first team and EPL clubs. Stark must make some kind of an impression on these youngsters and i cant see him putting up with any attitude as they board planes flying out on european competitions. Im not sure who he has as an assistand under the Scotland set up, but if he was looking for a No2 our very own Billy could do the job.

Hello Billy, welcome to the board. Never knew you drank in the persevere :greengrin:wink:

11-11-2011, 11:15 AM
Thanks for that Billy, we'll let you know :devil:

11-11-2011, 11:15 AM
Away you go, everybody knows you don't win anything with youngsters. :wink:

11-11-2011, 11:26 AM
Away you go, everybody knows you don't win anything with youngsters. :wink:

ach away wi you...........kindergarden folk ken whits going on like :wink:

11-11-2011, 11:34 AM
Ive seen Billy Stark in action with the scotland set up and wouldnt touch him. He has a job under the old pals act . Scotland have produced better players recently but the clubs take the credit for this. Ive seen him a couple of times and both times the youngsters had no respect for him and he never seemed to utter a word of advice/ encouragement. It is at these times youngsters need talked through games to understand postional sense etc. They also need discipline and the manager should command respect. Stark offered neither.

His club record speaks for itself and id rather Ricky Sbragia who has recently become involved in youth set up be handed u21's than stark

Ferryhibby
11-11-2011, 03:35 PM
Why has his name not been linked with the job? are things that bad that even he doesnt want he post:greengrin

11-11-2011, 03:53 PM
Why has his name not been linked with the job? are things that bad that even he doesnt want he post:greengrinPost 219 (http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?220607-O-Neill-Sven-Hartson-Strachan-Jeffries-Kano-Weir-Redknap-Souness-Martinez-amp-more&p=2975462&highlight=#post2975462) :greengrin only one mention though, I'm surprised, I thought he'd be in the running :agree:

11-11-2011, 04:05 PM
Heard he has applied for the Hibs manager's job, as he has done a few times now (lets face it, it is a vacancy that you get plenty of opportunities to apply for!) but concedes he doesn't have much chance so would also be very interested in being number 2 to BB should he get it. BB said to rate him highly as a coach.

Apparently Robertson was close to getting the job in 2004 before Mowbray but the board shat it because of a fear of how the fans would have reacted.

Obvious uber-yam connections aside, I wouldn't have minded him back then as he was an up and coming young coach who had done well with ICT. Now I wouldn't want him as number 1 as he has done nothing of note for years and we needed an experienced man at the helm.

No problems with him as an assistant though as he may be a decent coach rather than manager.

11-11-2011, 04:05 PM
Noooooooooooooo

11-11-2011, 04:11 PM
Noooooooooooooo

:agree::agree:

1 ex yam at club (BB) is still 1 too many for me.......

11-11-2011, 04:14 PM
Can we stop this love in with Jambo rejects. This little ******* spoiled more derby days for us than any other in recent times. So he can just **** off.

11-11-2011, 04:16 PM
Can we stop this love in with Jambo rejects. This little ******* spoiled more derby days for us than any other in recent times. So he can just **** off.

11-11-2011, 04:17 PM

I suppose that now isn't the time to tell you that I'm hoping for the Gary MacKay/Kenny Black dream team?

11-11-2011, 04:20 PM
Nobody fancy Allan Preston as number 3 to BB and JR then :devil:

11-11-2011, 04:20 PM
I actually don't mind Robertson.

I've met him a few times and he's a pretty decent guy. However every time he scored against Hibs he loved it and he he hated us with a passion after we 'rejected' him. He nay have mellowed as he's aged but I still wouldn't have him here.

Oh and the story about him being one of us as a boy is a total myth.

huggie1875
11-11-2011, 04:23 PM

I agree its starting to make me feel sick as does this graphic :bgwa:

huggie1875
11-11-2011, 04:26 PM
I actually don't mind Robertson.

I've met him a few times and he's a pretty decent guy. However every time he scored against Hibs he loved it and he he hated us with a passion after we 'rejected' him. He nay have mellowed as he's aged but I still wouldn't have him here.

Oh and the story about him being one of us as a boy is a total myth.

well i worked with both his brothers and was on holiday in dublin with george a couple of years ago and he would disagree he has pics of him in the hibs strip wouldnt let me put it on a t-shirt though:thumbsup:

11-11-2011, 04:29 PM
well i worked with both his brothers and was on holiday in dublin with george a couple of years ago and he would disagree he has pics of him in the hibs strip wouldnt let me put it on a t-shirt though:thumbsup:

Ach maybe he has a few different stories.

I knew Chris quite well a few year ago and he was as big a jambo as they came and he was adamant John was the same.

11-11-2011, 04:33 PM
Petrie will be trying to recycle Calderwood's old clobber so Robbo, Tangoman and FJK will definitely not in the running for the job.

11-11-2011, 04:53 PM
Say what you like about Robbo - and we have/do - but you have to give him his due for attending the Hands Off Hibs rally at the Usher hall and stood with us against Mercer.
Doesn't mean I want him as manager think - there are surely better options.

11-11-2011, 05:02 PM
Petrie will be trying to recycle Calderwood's old clobber so Robbo, Tangoman and FJK will definitely not in the running for the job.

Chris Coleman :aok:

11-11-2011, 05:07 PM
John Robertson - manager
Billy Brown - Assistant
Jim Jeffries - Director of Football
Alan Preston - 1st team coach

Can you imagine anything worse that THAT ??????????

Kaiser Sauzee
11-11-2011, 05:25 PM
Name not mentioned yet, but was reading something about him recently.

Former reserve team manager at Man ure then in his 1st season as manager at Molde he won the league.

Would command instant respect due to his impressive career at utd. Win in mentality, would surely be a step up.

Might be worth a punt as an outsider.

Thoughts?

Kaiser Sauzee
11-11-2011, 05:29 PM
No mentioned this time a he's getting the gig? You know how rod likes to keep things on the Q.T:wink:

11-11-2011, 05:34 PM
No chance.

11-11-2011, 05:34 PM
There was a thread about him earlier but it was merged with numerous other random suggestions. I would be happy to see it but very surprised.

11-11-2011, 05:47 PM
Not mentioned yet?

He's had 2 threads started about him!

Cool_Hand_Luke
11-11-2011, 05:47 PM
John Robertson - manager
Billy Brown - Assistant

Yes...you've missed out Garry Locke in some capacity.....

11-11-2011, 05:50 PM
Yes...you've missed out Garry Locke in some capacity.....Boot cleaner? :dunno:

11-11-2011, 06:03 PM
John Robertson - manager
Billy Brown - Assistant

Get Chris Robinson and Leslie Deans in as the board room dream team to replace Rod and we are sorted.

11-11-2011, 06:12 PM
Yes...you've missed out Garry Locke in some capacity.....

Fluffer.

Kaiser Sauzee
11-11-2011, 06:19 PM
Not mentioned yet?

He's had 2 threads started about him!

Must've missed them, apologies!

11-11-2011, 06:29 PM
Must've missed them, apologies!

I don't blame you for not noticing to be honest, every man and his dug have been touted for the job on here.

11-11-2011, 07:06 PM
It doesn't seem to be wring out for him at international level.

If he suddenly became available...

:jamboak:

This post is for anyone daft enough to consider Jefferies. Levein is just a younger, better version. Would you accept him?

11-11-2011, 07:11 PM
I was going tae post something then I noticed the bit at the bottom about finding that fat po faced h****s **** acceptable. I'll no need tae bother now.

Rossco1875
11-11-2011, 07:17 PM
gary locke..... a wouldnt even have that c*** cleaning the toilets at easter road

11-11-2011, 07:26 PM
Might have some difficulty raising a team of non-Hibs players out of our squad :dunno:

11-11-2011, 07:57 PM
Was it him that was close to getting the Celtic job but fell through as he had a contract with the Finland team?

I know he's always a tongue and cheek suggestion but could he actually be a serious possibility?

Deeklipse
11-11-2011, 08:00 PM
Rod tweeted earlier that his application had arrived.

LincolnshireHib
12-11-2011, 04:52 PM
Fresh out of work. Got NI to play half decent football and did a cracking job at Norwich City when he was there.

12-11-2011, 05:04 PM
Fresh out of work. Got NI to play half decent football and did a cracking job at Norwich City when he was there.

No he didn't.

13-11-2011, 06:45 AM
It doesn't seem to be wring out for him at international level.

If he suddenly became available...
:jamboak:

This post is for anyone daft enough to consider Jefferies. Levein is just a younger, better version. Would you accept him?

To be honest, I would have accepted Levein before he became Scotland manager. His tactics and general ****wittery since have changed that though.

Worthington took an over-performing NI side and got them back to performing at their own level.

13-11-2011, 09:33 AM
Nobody fancy Allan Preston as number 3 to BB and JR then :devil:

Nah, he is definitely a "number two"

Hibtastic
14-11-2011, 04:53 PM
I think somebody is winding me up here but I have just been told that Martin O'Neill will be our next manager by a Hibby mate who is apparently in the know. I'd love to see it but I just cant see that happening!

14-11-2011, 05:00 PM
I think somebody is winding me up here but I have just been told that Martin O'Neill will be our next manager by a Hibby mate who is apparently in the know. I'd love to see it but I just cant see that happening!

I highly doubt it. Sure he's not just getting Michael and Martin mixed up?

Hibtastic
14-11-2011, 05:02 PM
I highly doubt it. Sure he's not just getting Michael and Martin mixed up?

No, I said that to him - his reply was "big bucks involved"!!

14-11-2011, 05:24 PM
Would obviously be fantastic but

I smell poo :greengrin

14-11-2011, 05:25 PM
Never happening. He is still a Celtic shareholder. He has knocked back bigger clubs than us. Dream on.

14-11-2011, 05:26 PM
Aye, and I'm richer than Bill Gates.

14-11-2011, 05:27 PM

14-11-2011, 05:35 PM
Were you aware that the word gullible doesn't appear in any English dictionary?

Hibtastic
14-11-2011, 05:49 PM

I didn't say I believed him!!!!

Walter
14-11-2011, 05:53 PM

Saying sausages really fast sounds like gullible

14-11-2011, 05:55 PM
cannae see it masel' - how good a mate is the one that told you this? Has he gave you any "scoops" in the past?. Not knocking you, after all, you are just posting what you have been told, just wondering how much weight you put behind the info

14-11-2011, 05:57 PM
he had an interview, but as far as i'm aware it was more the case of his agent interviewing us. but he definately sat down with hibs.

as did russell latapy.

Walter
14-11-2011, 06:07 PM
As much as I'd love this to be true, and as much as the dreamer in me is trying to rationalise ways for it to be true, I find it hard to believe that a man who could almost have his pick of jobs in the UK, and potentially around Europe, would be interested in coming to us.

I hope its true though!!!!

(I did take the Hibs job after winning the premiership with Newcastle in Football Manager)

14-11-2011, 06:10 PM
he had an interview, but as far as i'm aware it was more the case of his agent interviewing us. but he definately sat down with hibs.

as did russell latapy.

Failed to impress i heard.

14-11-2011, 06:11 PM
Is this not maybe a case of the 'we will consult widely' statement from the board?

14-11-2011, 06:26 PM
So a man who walked from Villa due to lack of player budget............:rolleyes:

Nah.....

14-11-2011, 06:28 PM
This smells of a yam rumour

14-11-2011, 06:33 PM
So a man who walked from Villa due to lack of player budget............:rolleyes:

Nah.....

But there would be no lack of budget players for him ay ER.

The only credence I would give to any Hibs-Martin O'Neil contact is I think if in some crazy fit Petrie contacted his agent, MON is gracious enought to decline respectfully.

But I don't think RP would ever have sought him out as an 'applicant' just in case he said yes !!! :wink:

14-11-2011, 06:35 PM
No, I said that to him - his reply was "big bucks involved"!!

That confirms it is a wind up !! RP and Big Bucks to the manager will never appear in the same sentence

14-11-2011, 06:44 PM

Well, you will know for certain in a few days if he is or not.

14-11-2011, 06:45 PM
No disrespect to the OP but ....

I smell Karen Dunbar :rolleyes:

Hibtastic
14-11-2011, 07:01 PM
To be honest so do I now lol

14-11-2011, 07:06 PM
As much as I'd love this to be true, and as much as the dreamer in me is trying to rationalise ways for it to be true, I find it hard to believe that a man who could almost have his pick of jobs in the UK, and potentially around Europe, would be interested in coming to us.

(I did take the Hibs job after winning the premiership with Newcastle in Football Manager)

:pray: Maybe Sir Tom has promised him 10m for new players :na na:

14-11-2011, 07:10 PM

Lol somebody's at the lash with this one.:rolleyes:

14-11-2011, 07:10 PM
TBH thought he would of put in for the Leicester City job... They have big bucks to spend. Not dissing the OP but don't think Martin would come to us.

I will say this that it would be a major coup for RP and the board. Would want some dosh for transfers though.

Defo would put bums on seats tho.

14-11-2011, 07:20 PM
Baws.

14-11-2011, 07:37 PM
TBH thought he would of put in for the Leicester City job... They have big bucks to spend. Not dissing the OP but don't think Martin would come to us.

I will say this that it would be a major coup for RP and the board. Would want some dosh for transfers though.

He wouldn't got near celtc, they're way below the level he wants.

This is right up there with Jamie Redknapp and Graeme Souness.

14-11-2011, 07:44 PM
Sure it isnt the Lord Martin O neil that used to be on the board that he was thinking of?

Gala Foxes
14-11-2011, 07:50 PM
M O'Neill Walked away from a possible job with open "King Power" cheque book at Leicester so a job with a Petrie controlled "budget at Easter Road is a non-starter

edwards
14-11-2011, 07:58 PM
Hasn't been in a job for a while but honestly can't see it, only him being oirish and our name is the only connection, mind you accross on mad they are sayin that McClaren's name is getting touted about er on real radio.
And someone on Sayin Ian Mcparland has got the job now that one would make more sense as Brown and Mcparland were close friends when they were younger and Mcparland would keep Brown on as assistant.

14-11-2011, 08:07 PM
More chance of Brian Rice holidaying in Barbados without sunscreen.

Melvin Hibs
14-11-2011, 08:12 PM
more chance of brian rice holidaying in barbados without sunscreen.

:lol:

14-11-2011, 08:57 PM
Will NEVER happen. Would be good though.

Lang Toun Hibs
14-11-2011, 09:18 PM
Could it be Martin O'Neill the MSP?!

More importantly.....

Saying sausages really fast sounds like gullible

No it dosen't!

Melvin Hibs
14-11-2011, 09:29 PM
I would love to see this happen. That would definately put bums back on seats and would also show massive intent by the board. It would also send shockwaves through the football world and most definately piss the Mhanky Mob off. As much as I would like this to happen, I just can't see it!

14-11-2011, 10:17 PM

Were you sacked after a year, because we were flirting with relegation again, by any chance? :greengrin

14-11-2011, 10:19 PM
It would also send shockwaves through the football world

Really?

Melvin Hibs
14-11-2011, 10:24 PM
Really?

I think so. Who would have possibly predicted that we, (if it happens that is) would get a manager in of the calibre of Martin O'Neill.

14-11-2011, 10:28 PM
I actually don't like Martin O'Neill... I'd rather we got Michael O'Neill - honestly

14-11-2011, 10:47 PM
I think so. Who would have possibly predicted that we, (if it happens that is) would get a manager in of the calibre of Martin O'Neill.

Probably no one, but who outside of Scotland would take any notice?

Melvin Hibs
14-11-2011, 10:50 PM

Ok, maybe world football was the wrong choice of words, but I am sure it would raise more than a few eyebrows down England way as well.

14-11-2011, 10:50 PM

Villa fans? :wink:

14-11-2011, 10:54 PM

14-11-2011, 10:56 PM
Villa fans? :wink:

Any Villa fans that know anything of Edinburgh would kill themselves rather than return to Brum...

Walter
14-11-2011, 11:00 PM
Could it be Martin O'Neill the MSP?!

More importantly.....

No it dosen't!

how does one do a smug face?

this will do :aok::aok::aok::aok::aok::aok:

ya melt

Walter
14-11-2011, 11:01 PM
Were you sacked after a year, because we were flirting with relegation again, by any chance? :greengrin

Nope. Didn't get that far. Lost the game due to having to restore the laptop. something to do with visit dodgy websites.............

14-11-2011, 11:03 PM

Jeeeeeeeeesus christ...dreamland

14-11-2011, 11:05 PM
how does one do a smug face?

:smug:

15-11-2011, 12:09 AM

Nah, he plays hoofbaw!

Not Hibs class.

Gala Foxes
15-11-2011, 04:56 AM
Nah, he plays hoofbaw!

Not Hibs class.

I followed Leicester to Wembley 4 times (winning League Cup twice) & wins at Anfield & Old Trafford under Martin O'Neill - can't remember "hoofbaw" but can remember attacking teams through midfield through Izzet & Savage and down the wings through Impey & Guppy. And he could organise a defence, unlike any of our last 6/7 managers - Taggart , Walsh & Elliot knew how to clear their lines. He got Celtic's defence water tight as well.

15-11-2011, 05:51 AM
No disrespect to the OP but ....I smell Karen Dunbar :rolleyes: Something fishy about this post?!

Skanko79
15-11-2011, 05:58 AM
Never in a million years.

huggie1875
15-11-2011, 06:19 AM
Never in a million years.

make that 2 million

Auckland Hibs
15-11-2011, 07:02 AM
make that 2 million

Petrie would never pay 2 million years - tight sod......

This place is getting worse than Football Rumours or someone's been :drunk::bevvied!::smokin

15-11-2011, 07:38 AM
Martin O'Neil servered his apprenticeship years ago, scraping around the lower leagues looking for bargains that he could maybe work with. Given his fairly recent walk out on Villa would suggest that he dosent want to do it again. I also suspect Martin ON wants to be challenging for honours these days.

That said we were very (very) close to signing Kenny Dalglish in the nineties. :wink:

greiang
16-11-2011, 03:52 PM
Guus Hiddink has been released from his contract with Turkey....is this in preparation for his unveiling at ER?!!:wink:

Come on, surely we can aim higher than the manager of an Irish league team?

16-11-2011, 10:54 PM
Budgie is apparently interested :greengrin

http://www.express.co.uk/posts/view/283918/John-Burridge-confident-he-can-save-Hibs-but-only-if-asked-